Believe it or not – Malaysia’s improved anti-corruption performance

May 14, 2008 21:28 PM

Malaysia’s Anti-Corruption Performance Has Improved – Abdullah

KUALA LUMPUR, May 14 (Bernama) — Malaysia’s fight against corruption has shown a marked improvement and it is placed among countries which had succeeded in tackling the menace, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

He said the Corruption Perception Index (CPI) by Transparency International last year showed that Malaysia had done better than 76 percent of the 179 countries listed in the report.

“There was a 73.1 per cent improvement from 2006 while from 1995 it was 43.9,” he said in reply to a question by Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur).

Lim had urged the government to form a royal commission to find reasons for Malaysia’s drop in the CPI ranking from 23 in 1995 to 44 and 43 respectively in 2006 and 2007.

Abdullah said the government had no plans to form the commission as a study of the CPI showed that Malaysia had performed better.

He added even Transparency International had admitted the rise or drop in the CPI should not be based on the annual ranking.

“This is because the number of countries taking part in the index differs annually. In 1995 there were 41 participating countries, rising to 163 and 179 in 2006 and 2007.”

Abdullah said a more accurate way to gauge the performance trend was the score where Malaysia had consistently scored five points since 1995.

“It is a good and stable performance. If we calculate from the percentage of countries, Malaysia has in fact done better.

“Although public perception on corruption is taken into account, the government believed substantive efforts must be undertaken to stamp out corruption and uphold integrity among the people.”

He added the government would take positive measures in the fight against corruption including improving and restructuring the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) into a commission.

BERNAMA

1. #1 by lopez on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:40 pm

Face to face is best policy, maybe our folks went over to have chats with them people and were convinced.

2. #2 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:46 pm

maybe we should to get external auditors to become our spies. then they will no that we are not much better than any lowest ranking countries. in Malaysia , u give duit kopi to police when they ask , they say thank you and please come again. in Singapore, they also say thank you but please go to jail. in Indonesia …. the police will ask

3. #3 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:49 pm

“It is a good and stable performance. If we calculate from the percentage of countries, Malaysia has in fact done better.”

Ok. Then we don’t need you Mr Prime Minister, you are totally out of touch. Do you know why BN lost 2/3 majority in the parliament? You can say whatever you want, nobody is going to believe you.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:00 pm

“Although public perception on corruption is taken into account, the government believed substantive efforts must be undertaken to stamp out corruption and uphold integrity among the people.”

The Prime Minister is talking cock!

5. #5 by ipohites on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:08 pm

Could we have our fellow government to speak their truth… We had enough of the lies…

6. #6 by hotsync on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:11 pm

Bloody fool! Pls explain about your house in Australia, yacht, plane, SIL business dealings, scomi, UMNO payouts, election indelible ink, PDRM, ACA, oil royalities, project IC, all the doggy deals in Selangor and Penang states, super corridor, land scams etc.

7. #7 by LALILOo on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:23 pm

BTW, weren’t they talking about emulating Hong Kong’s ICAC to the extent of Musa going all the way to HK to do a study tour?

And what did they come up with? A new ACA body that cannot do any prosecution! What a toothless tiger. A separate body will do the prosecution. And worst of all, it is under the jurisdiction of the PM.

You see, they go all the way to HK to learn from the world’s most efficient corruption agency, and came up with something that is ENTIRELY DIFFERENT! What a waste of tax-payers money.

8. #8 by kingkenny on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:29 pm

“Although public perception on corruption is taken into account, the government believed substantive efforts must be undertaken to stamp out corruption and uphold integrity among the people.” – PM

Integrity should be uphold among the leaders, community leaders, political leaders, you and your cabinet. TQ

9. #9 by kingkenny on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:38 pm

Can’t say I disagree with LALILOo here.

YB Kit, what’s the use of ACA without prosecuting powers??! Don’t let this happen YB.

A lot more Citizens would suffer if this NONSENSICAL & FARCICAL wayang kulit are allowed to continue!

Before long, those who can afford will migrate. And, when my aunt and her young family of 7 people migrated, they stated the country’s condition as one of the factor in their decision. They wanted the kids to have a much much better future, of which they are convinced this country could not offer them! Just like Kamine, the Indian girl who scored 10A1s!

Speechless……………..

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:39 pm

You believe a guy who failed Arithmetic?

Whats the point if you are better than say, Nigeria?

11. #11 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:48 pm

Generally most of the developed countries have a very high score in the Corruption Perception Index (CPI). If PL claims to make Malaysia a developed country and wants Malaysians to have a First World mindset, then he should strive hard, in whatever way possible, to further improve Malaysia’s CPI. PL must not feel satisfied with the current score and stop taking further action for improvement.

12. #12 by badak on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:53 pm

Hahahahawahkahhhh i fell of my chair laughing…When corruption is every where in MALAYSIA …Rakyat can see its only that the ACA AND THE POLICE are blind ..OHHH forgot and all the BN YB,s.

13. #13 by smeagroo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:50 am

Our PM is a dimwit.

When ranking dropped, he said “rankings” cant be trusted.

When ranking improved, “see we hv done so well”

Heads u win, tails also u win.

Take my brains as well la Pak Blah.

14. #14 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:50 am

four years ago did phak or, now improve ah, shhhhhhh…….

15. #15 by KS R on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:02 am

PM Never learn his lesson. He keeps on bullshiting the rakyat. Top crooks is still swindling. What about the rice purchase from the farmers. ACA only looking for small fish, Big fish bn umno case close thats what AG use to state

16. #16 by harrisonbinhansome on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:41 am

If AAB can concur and argue Malaysia’s position based on the Corruption Perception Index by Transparency International, is it not a very clear facts that we in an abysmal position, considering Singapore has scored higher than 9 out of 10?

The proposal to fully ensure the ACA into an independent Commission is laughable when the ACA has to report and answerable to the PM reflected the elusiveness of the formation of the IPCMC.

If the BN Government endorses the IPCMC and a totally independent ACA who is answerable to the Parliament then most of the BN chaps who siphoned off hundreds of milliions from sweet-heart-deals, nepotisms, cronyisms will be spending their time in jail.

The only way for these two primal bodies- the Police and the ACA to be independent is when Pakatan Rakyat wins the next GE.

I also want to migrate lah.

17. #17 by passerby on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 2:10 am

Receiving payments by the umnoputras are not corruptions – it is a transfer of wealth under the nep. That’s is why the richest unemployed doesn’t have to explain his ill-gotten wealth and that goes with the rest of the umnoputras.

18. #18 by Concerned Malaysians on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 2:59 am

Just STOP listening to this man! Lots of LIES & BULL SHITS!!!

A word from the LORD…”Stay away from a foolish man, for you WILL NOT find knowledge on his lips”, “The house of the WICKED WILL BE DESTROYED, but the tent of the UPRIGHT WILL FLOURISH”

“When the storm has swept by, the WICKED are gone, but the RIGHTEOUS STAND FIRM FOREVER” “The fear of the LORD adds lenght to life, but the years of the WICKED ARE CUT SHORT!”

May GOD save Malaysia!!!

19. #19 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 3:06 am

I’m not sure the basis of this report especially it was one of the worst year in the history of this country.
    PR should check its’ authentication.

20. #20 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 5:04 am

What can I say …..

He is now aka Dr Spin, good at spinning webs over facts. Not too bad for a guy who have failed his Statistics.

This guy has never stop entertaining me on his naiveness. This will not be his last spin.

21. #21 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 5:14 am

Pak Lah so cute…haha…i wonder which PM in any other countries on earth failed their statistic during high school?..from what he said..he is like ….abit improvement = thats it= proud…= can continue sleeping

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 5:39 am

YB Lim,

Malaysia Book of Record has the :-

Richest Unemployed in the Country. as in YB Rembau
    Richest Beggar in the Country. as in X Beruas.

This only shows that the CPI ( Corruption Index ) is CORRECT.

The truth is , corruption among the lower rungs of officers have been reduced. The traffic officer no longer demand or request money in exchange for non issue of summons. They just issue or move on.

Those days, if the sum total of corrupt exchange of monies is RM1000.00, it is shared unequally by 50 masters and 50 slaves of the masters. Today, the amount of Rm1500.00 is distributed among the top 30 masters ONLY.

The YAB Prime Minister is quite right here , that the index has improved .The number of corrupts have reduced because the sum pay out has increased to the lesser numbers. We must accept the CPI report as accurate.

We cannot be always anti establishment for the sake of anti establishment. I must admit, there have been improved efficiency at the Immigration Departments and even the Police Traffic Departments in delivering services. I cannot even talk my way out of a traffic summon this days, and i fear offering in as much as the officer fear accepting. Lets be fair about this.

THe quantum of millions of ringgits wasted and drained , for example by YB Azalina in the London Sport Complex , the Port Klang Free Trade Zone , The tourism board fiasco in Korea by YB Tengku Adenan, The Monsoon Cup in KT and many others hugh sums by the TOP leaders may or may not have been accounted for in the CPI audit.

Btw, with rising cost faced by the raayat, i dont think i have the extra pocket money to go into someone else’ pocket.

thank you.

23. #23 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 5:41 am

with rising cost faced by the raayat, i dont think i have the extra pocket money to go into someone elses’ pocket.

24. #24 by Godfather on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 6:59 am

All 82 Opposition MPs should have simply rolled on the parliament floor in laughter. He may have failed entrance statistics, but he sure has mastered the art of lying.

25. #25 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 7:23 am

“Abdullah said the government had no plans to form the commission as a study of the CPI showed that Malaysia had performed better.”

What kind of bull cr*p is this? So basing on this argument, the country can afford to just sit on its bum and do nothing because bodoh-land is still more economically advanced than most African countries. Malaysia is economically better than Zimbabwe so no plans to expand economically.

This pee-em is really a retard! Even if you did perform better than last year, it does not mean that you can just stop there. No wonder so many people want him to step down. He is just too retarded to lead a country. Not that there any anyone better in Barisan Neraka.

26. #26 by LALILOo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 7:39 am

What is all this talking?

Whatever that the Umno do is correct, correct, correct. And that includes taking commision, kickbacks, corruption, derhaka kepada sultan, doing street demonstration, etc.

But if other people were to do that, then it will be wrong, wrong, wrong!……and is punishable under ISA.

You see. Nothing vague but a very clear line has been drawn here. Either you see it or you don’t.

27. #27 by oct on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 7:59 am

Hei Pee M. Malaysia is not among the top 10 countries. So how do you say that you are satisfied with the rating. Even those in the top 10, they would also want to improve. This is the vision. Looks like you don’t have any vision and is satisfied with the result.

For your info, the reason you gave is flawed. Yes the previous position is based on few countries. Now the result showed that more countries are assessed. This also means that the previous result is not complete. If we are good, it doesn’t matter how many countries are assessed. Look at the top 10 countries, did they drop their position.

Our Pee M has no logic when thinking. No wonder all his remarks are all bulls**t. How to trust him to run the country when he can’t interpret the result and instead give an answer which shows his stupidity. He has no credibility in his speech.

28. #28 by catharsis on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 8:02 am

…………….Malaysia’s Anti-Corruption Performance Has Improved – Abdullah…………………………………………………………………… HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA AHAHAHAHAHAHHH………………………………………………

thanks for the LAUGHS, YB……you are such a clown………………..

I am looking forward to more LAUGHS from you, YB

29. #29 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 8:32 am

The Penang Philharmonic Orchestra has been in existence for 10 years now and the total amount spent on this orchestra has been a staggering RM500 million. Hang the swindlers!

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/81872

30. #30 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 8:59 am

It’s like a doctor telling a cancer patient that his conditions have improved from having six more months to live to eight months.

31. #31 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:06 am

Lives lost due to corruption. The school collapses were due to poor-quality construction or the builders’ shoddy compliance with building rules.
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/347776/1/.html

32. #32 by caishen on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:18 am

Can we trust our ‘ Guardian of Malaysia’?
    “Work with me, don’t work for me…” quoted our PM.
    If we work with him, we can easily become reactive, boring, no hype and getting more sleepier day by day……and counting.

In Mahathir’s era, one can sensed the vibration of ‘go for it’ and ‘semua boleh’…

But today…ah…balik kampong cucuk tanam le..

Ada project, ada commission.
    Tiada project, corruption lah…

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:27 am

However he puts it, we are still at number 43 or 44.

Can’t change this fact can we?

34. #34 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:32 am

Believe it or not – Malaysia’s improved anti-corruption performance?

THE BEST PERSON TO ANSWER SHOULD BE MR. R NADES FROM THE SUN.

PLEASE CHECK WITH HIM, IF HE SAY BELIEVE THEN EVERY BODY SHOULD ACCEPT IT.

35. #35 by oknyua on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:36 am

As usual, YB Lim KS, our friend would fly the report.

Every single attempt to improve that ranking was the work of DAP, KeADILan, PAS and Raja Petra. Look at some of them:

1. Judiciary – Keadilan and DAP
    2. PKFTZ – DAP.
    3. PDRM – DAP and Raja Petra.
    4. Land Office – DAP, Keadilan and PAS
    5. Gov’t Offices (eg. Kuala Lumpur DBKL) – Raja Petra.

Name one incidence where BN’s effort exposed the dirt of corruption? None, and they are still asking why the people reject BN?

36. #36 by Swordsman on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:38 am

By declaring that there is marked improvement in the fight against corruption on the basis of the “improvement” in the Corruption Perception Index (CPI), Pak Lah kas shown himself to be both stupid and ignorant. He just has no clue as to why the CPI has “improved”.
    In computing the index, one of the inputs is the “number of reported/new corruption cases” during the year of evaluation. We all know that our economy and the overall business climate had slowed down considerably. This has resulted in none of the 9th Malaysian Plan projects being implemented, except for the numerous “corridor” projects which are merely hot air proganda to fool the Rakyat that the economy is still OK.
    The lack of Govt projects naturally results in less opportunity for corruption to manifest openly, and therefore this fact alone would bring about “improvement” in the CPI.
    The real fight against corruption must be seen, not in a stand-alone statistics like CPI, but in independent Govt institutions/more stringent laws/enforcement capability:

1. An Independent ACA with prosecutorial powers like the ICAC of Hong Kong, answerable to a Parliament Select Committee.
    2. An Independent Judiciary that acts without fear or favour.
    3. Parliament to enact laws to enhance the punitive punsihment for corruption, including the consfication of assets equivalent to the assessed quantum of monetary benefits acquired through the corrupt act being convicted.
    4. Enactment of a “Whistleblower Act” to enhance social and peer pressure to curb corruption. To incorporate an incentive award for those cases successfully convicted.

I shudder at the uncomfortable thought as to where our country is heading with a PM whose intelligence and administrative capability are undoubtedly doubtful.

37. #37 by atlk on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:40 am

oknyua… TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU! This improvements belongs to Pakatan Rakyat! BN wouldn’t have dig out all these…

remember the first corruption case that was brought to court when Pak La la la la became the PM? where is the culprit now? FREED! lol…the rakyat ain’t dumbos! don’t fool us..

and improvements does not mean we can stop here and let the current rate of corruptions go on!!! better than 75% of the countries in the world doesn’t mean we can start let Malaysia rot now!!!! what a stupid remarks@

38. #38 by Swordsman on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:40 am

Sorry.

“proganda” should be “propaganda”

39. #39 by Swordsman on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:43 am

Sorry too many typo errors:

“punsihment” should be “punishment”

“consfication” should be “confiscation”.

40. #40 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:46 am

Didn’t someone said the CPI rankings can’t be trusted because they are only perceptions???

41. #41 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:58 am

k1980 Says:

Today at 08: 32.01 (1 hour ago)
    The Penang Philharmonic Orchestra
    , Hey, It should be Malaysia Philharmonic Orchestra lah! This RM500 million can be better spent otherwise, these foreign musician are highly paid to do very little works which do not benefit more than 99.9% of Malaysian at all !

42. #42 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:07 am

This CPI is unfair, they should put Msia with countries that hv more than 20 million population, then Msia ranking would be higher, sure can kick out Spore, NZ, Denmark, Belgium, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, Austria, Hong Kong, Luxemburg, Ireland, Iceland, Netherland, Czech Rep, etc. Sure to be in top 30 list !

43. #43 by ch on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:07 am

Dear All,

The average factor calculation method adopted by our Malaysian government may very well one day go against them similar to the jolt that BN had experienced in the recently concluded General Election. We can continue to ignore the facts written on the wall but face the possibilty of running into deep trouble like Enron had, i.e. believing that everything is fine and dandy.

44. #44 by Godson on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:23 am

Guess his days are numbered….Talking in his sleep……Nobody would believe what he says anymore. Just like a child learning to talk. Making noises only. ZZZZZzzzzzzz…………..Dream on PM.

45. #45 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:26 am

by only group Msia with countries with 20 million population or, more, Msia would be in top 12 list, can also kick out Chile, Barbados, St. Vincent, Uruguay, Slovenia, Portugal, Israel, Estonia, St. Vincent, UAE, Dominica, Botswana, Cyprus, Malta, Qatar, Macau, Hungary,
    Like that only fair mah ! These ‘small’ countries easy to govern lah, cannot compare !

46. #46 by msian_msia on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:27 am

QUOTE: “Malaysia’s Anti-Corruption Performance Has Improved – Abdullah.”

THE GREATEST JOKE OF THE MILLENIUM!! HAHAHA…..

Our PM should definitely get the Noble “prize” for “good governance.”

47. #47 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:27 am

Sorry, St Lucia also out,

48. #48 by atlk on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:29 am

to be fair… they should also only compare malaysia to other countries with the same races of ppl… malay, chinese, indian and lain lain…

becos different races have different characters…and will do things differently… so we’re not comparing apples to apples…

49. #49 by Godfather on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:30 am

Will the gomen account for what happened to the oil royalties paid by Petronas to the various states, particularly Trengganu ? Will the gomen tell us who approved the PKFTZ deal, and where the instant profits went to ? Will the gomen tell us who got the RM 2.1 billion equipment supply contract for schools ? Will the gomen tell us if there is investigation by the ACA or the SC against Equine Capital for launching the PGCC project without planning consent being obtained ? Will the gomen tell us who is behind the concession for certifying halal products and how the concession is priced ?

No increase in corruption ? Phtui !!!

50. #50 by caishen on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:44 am

Malaysia’s corruption don’t start from the bottom but top…especially the Umnokuraps!

Not sure how much percentage gathered by this idiots?

Corruption will not stop as long as the UmnoKuraps are in control!!

Umnokuraps are the Junta of Malaysia!! Kurap-tion is my new phrase!

51. #51 by Tickler on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:50 am

Another one:

Wednesday, May 14, 2008
    Malaysia’s halal connection, Badawi and Temasek

Is there conflict of interest in halal corporation?
    Malaysia’s plan to develop internation Halal certification and halal food industrial parks, is raising a web of sinister conflicts. The newly-formed Halal Industry Development Corp or HDC is under the auspices of the Prime Minister’s office, although ownership of the company is unclear. HDC even processes foreign direct investment (FDI) for the halal sector, a role designed for the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (Miti).

HDC, and its links to Badawi’s family, got a lot closer when HDC signed up with Tamadam Bonded Warehouse, a company which is being taken over by the PM’s brother Ibrahim to develop halal parks.
    http://rockybru.blogspot.com/2008/05/malaysias-halal-connection-badawi-and.html

52. #52 by Tickler on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:55 am

Transition costs to teach Science/Maths in English – 317 million for teachers, 2.21 BILLION for.. computers?
    ….And of course, the Education Ministry can’t afford a scholarship for a student with 10 A1’s to go to medical school.
    http://jelas.info/2008/05/14/transition-costs-to-teach-sciencemaths-in-english-317-million-for-teachers-221-billion-for-computers/#comments

53. #53 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:01 am

So can spent, RM40 million or more a yaer on Msia Philharm… Orche… but no money to give scholarships to outstanding, deserving students for further studies

54. #54 by Jong on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:02 am

HDC connection – I notice government is used for publicity and free advertisement at Malaysian rate-payers expense, involving those under government payroll! Son&Son Incorporated?

55. #55 by pjboy on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:02 am

Unrelated but will PM agree that the recent GE & denial for BN 2/3 majority was also due to many more new voters? Imagine if there was more new voters allowed to vote. Many complaint no forms, too late, etc. Why can’t we have automatic vote system? If the person has moved & want to vote elsewhere, just notify the nearest post office or police station, what’s so difficult about it. It’s only “made” difficult.

Coming to the CPI, I think our PM need to be advised the definition of INDEX. Previous index & current index cannot be compared with in terms of %. So, in a class of say 20 people, you are 3rd in class means you are worst off than say being 20th in a class of 100 people? Think it is important to value the 20 students & the 100 students whether the students are genius/average/idiots.

The question/answer we should be seeking is: how are we going to improve on the CPI for next year? Don’t tell me there will be over 400 countries next year & if we are at 100th, we are still good coz the % of new countries included are higher than the % of position lost. Now we know why we are doomed.

56. #56 by concerned_citizen on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:04 am

Is a consistent rate every year reflects improvement? Consistent means stagnance! Or for better words, while the world getting in front, you are getting behind.

Anyway, we must not not behave naively. How the performace of the country and those corruptions scheme involved has already made sense, but the rakyat couldn’t do more than agree than what those people up there has said. Just the practice of Boleh Land.

– Perjuangan anda tidak pernah bermula, sila balik ke tempat asal dan beri peluang kepada perjuang yang berkebolehan. Bukan itu, dan itu dan itu, aha yang ini, yang pernah ditumbuk di matanya.

57. #57 by badak on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:12 am

What a good move ACA now directly under PM…AG under PM Now he has the full power for selective prosecution.This is the guy who used goverment funds for his G.E campaing.I wonder how much in total the goverment spent on BN ,s Election campaign during the last G.E.Remember BN IS A POLITICAL PARTY FIRST.BN got no right to use my hard earn money for their own use.

58. #58 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:17 am

Yes, I do feel there are less road blocks nowadays and traffic policemen seem to be more cautious in carrying out their duty.

It is good for us and also good for BN/UMNO, because these police force are the front line (interaction with the populace).

Our ultimate aim is the BIG BIG FISH, PKFZ, AZALINA LONDON ADVANCED SPORTS INSTITUTE, PDRM, GOVERNMENT PROJECTS, ACA, LINGAM, ALTANTUYA, SPACE EXPERIMENT REPORT (WHERE?) & ETC.

As we can see, HUGE HUGE AMOUNTS are used (or wasted) on this kind of projects, if the reverse was employed, resources saved SHOULD & COULD BE used to help Malaysians improve infrastructure (less dependency on toll concessionaire), promote tourism, eco-tourism, education, medical, and many more.

Please look at real BIG picture Malaysians!

FREE MALAYSIA FROM TYRANNY & CORRUPTION!

59. #59 by Tickler on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:18 am

Platitude Minister (PM) says no one has a right to stop him.

60. #60 by grace on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:18 am

Talking to Pak Lah is ‘kek khi’ you know.

Mr Lim is an ‘A’ class material and won’t be satisfied with just scoring first in the class. Mr Lim wants to score all A1s.

But Pak Lah is a third rated material. Just like LAT portrayed in his cartoon, Pak Lah would jump with joy if he scored a grade 3 with all P7s and P8s.

So susah la if you wantto debate with him.
    Tomorrow if MU is placed in position 500, Pak Lah would give a standing ovation to himself and the VC.
    Forever we would remain behind.
    Look at Singapore. They are never satisfied with their excellent achievements. If they have the best, they still strive to improve further.

61. #61 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:23 am

And of course, I missed out ONE which matters most, that is the welfare of and standard of living for Malaysians!

FREE MALAYSIA! FREE MALAYSIA!

62. #62 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:48 am

The old desperate swindler is just trying the fool the warlords in umno who are braying for his ouster. Who knows, he may yet succeed considering the low mentality of those warlords

63. #63 by Jong on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:49 am

“You see, they go all the way to HK to learn from the world’s most efficient corruption agency, and came up with something that is ENTIRELY DIFFERENT! What a waste of tax-payers money.” – Laliloo

Much of tax-payers money would have been saved if IGP Musa Hassan just walked across the Causeway eh?! Pakatan Rakyat’s Lim Guan Eng, Penang’s Chief Minister flies ‘economy class’ whilest Perak MB Nizar Jamaluddin takes a bus to attend Parliament! See the difference? IGP Musa behaves more like a BN politician now, don’t you all agree?

64. #64 by Justicewanted on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 11:57 am

A sad case of self comforting or shoik sendiri.

Some spin doctors must have convinced the PM that if we are consistently bad or not so good, it is okay.

What an idiot……..

65. #65 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:03 pm

Another way to look at this is that Malaysia has always really been the same ALL this time which means nothing has changed. The question is were/are we bad or not. Is falling in just inside the first 25% quartile bad, OK or good?

Generally I use the 80/20 rule. 20% are good, 80% are not good. We are definitely NOT good..Hmmm.. Haven’t I heard that before? yeah. Throughout my freaking life!!!!

66. #66 by kingkenny on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:04 pm

To BN “Gomen”:

Had a dream last night, DSAI -PM, LKS – DPM, KS – ISA DIRECTOR, guess what KS did to you guys!

I hope it will come true! :)

67. #67 by Cinapek on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:06 pm

Pak Lah said:

“….In 1995 there were 41 participating countries, rising to 163 and 179 in 2006 and 2007.”…. suggesting that Malaysia’s ranking dropped because the base of counntries ranked had increased.

Can someone please enlighten him that the bigger the base sample used, the more accurate the ranking?

As for the IGP visiting HK to learn from the ICAC, my first question is why the IGP? Is he in charge of the ACA too or is the ACA independent? Nazri went to great lengths to explain the separation of powers in Parliament just a few days ago and it seems to me that is just hogwash because clearly the IGP is also involved with the ACA. All this talk about the independence of the ACA is just a bunch of crap. And last but not least, you can copy the best system in the world but at the end of the day if the people who are implementing it are not sincere and honest, then it is just a waste of time. The extra layers we are adding to this whole shit mess is simply to allow more opportunities for manipulations. And already we can see the seeds of that rot being planted here in the “new” MCAC system.

68. #68 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:12 pm

Perak DAP headquarters in Ipoh town was hit by Molotov cocktails, causing two loud explosions, early this morning.
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/NewsBreak/20080515120921/Article/index_html

69. #69 by beankadok on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:33 pm

Inspector General of Police(IGP) Musa Hassan has been behaving like he’s a Umno politician long ago. Any case against Umno or any of its members, swift actions will be taken eg the arrest/intimidation of those “voices of conscience” – RPK and Karpal Singh “sedition” cases, to silence them.

What about the illegal transfer rm9.9 by those desperate Balkis wives – one day after their husbands cease to be the people’s choice of “elected representatives”? Same goes to those at Penang’s end, how come the police have not gone for KTK’s annoying wife for doing the same? Look at the many thefts/robberies, mat rempit and missing children cases that have remained unsolved and forgotten.

70. #70 by beankadok on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 12:50 pm

Sorry, should be – “rm9.9 million” .

71. #71 by pky103 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:27 pm

– I find Badawi’s response on corruption specious, if not misleading.

– No doubt the number of countries included in CPI survey increased tremendously from 1995 – 2007. Subsequently, it may be argued that better performing countries may have lowered the rank of Malaysia.

– Notwithstanding the fact that new countries have been added, our score has remained stagnant, if not decreased, over the last 10 years.

– This is indisputable since our CPI score in 1995 and 2007 was 5.28 and 5.10 respectively.

– By way of example, Taiwan (28; 5.08) was below Malaysia (26; 5.28) in 1995. But in 2007, the former scored 5.7 and ranked 34 while Malaysia with 5.1 and ranked 43.

– On a separate note, I have NEVER trusted Bernama’s pro-government news reports.

72. #72 by UtopiaInJapan on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:32 pm

How can 1995 figure be compared with 2007 figure when there was a huge difference in number of countries taking part in the index survey?

For comparision purpuse, the common denominator should be used. Otherwise, the performance of index for the last 5 years can be used to deduce the conclusion, provided the number of participating countries must be relatively constant.

73. #73 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:47 pm

We are STILL at number 43.

74. #74 by pgsilai on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:56 pm

We are in no 43, how about revealing in terms of amount corrupted?

75. #75 by LALILOo on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 2:23 pm

“How can 1995 figure be compared with 2007 figure when there was a huge difference in number of countries taking part in the index survey?” – UtopiaInJapan

In 1995, the PM was a different person using a different denominator to calculate that.
    In 2007, Pak Lah used yet another different denominator to calculate that. You know lah, his arithmatics is “setengah masak”, so his figures are diffferent lah.

“IGP Musa behaves more like a BN politician now, don’t you all agree?” – Jong

He thinks he is smart. He thought that he was smart enough to be an IGP but his current position was given to him on a silver platter. He was nothing but a mattress salesman during Anwar court case time.

Just like Mansion King Zakaria, he used to be nothing but a railway gatekeeper. But how did he ended up with his riches and giant mansion, you know I know lah.

76. #76 by oknyua on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 3:41 pm

Reading this reminds me of an incidence where the speaker bragged the Ringgit was gaining strength against the US. “It was RM3.8 and through the effort of the government we are seeing RM3.00 as a possibility.”

One attende asked in the question time. “How is our currency aginst the neighbours for example Singapore? Has it changed that much?”

That is Malaysia boleh, shiok sendiri.

77. #77 by limkamput on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 5:11 pm

No matter how we study corruption, real or perception, no body is telling you for sure. That is why is it called corruption – it is supposed to be “under the counter” and opaque. But then some years back, I read about this concept known as the “geography of corruption”. It is simple according to this guy. There is a landscape of corruption that most of us can quite easily discern. If you see a building that is not supposed to be there but it is there, it is corruption. If you see a project where the cost has escalated beyond reason (like PKFZ), it is corruption and not mere incompetence or lack of monitoring. If you see extreme opulent living, it is corruption because those who build their wealth in the hard way will certainly learn to appreciate it more. If you see uncollected rubbish, clogged drain and filthy rivers and housing estates, it is corruption because someone is getting paid without doing the job. If you see an exorbitant toll increase, it is corruption because I have not seen the price of a product or service rendered by a monopoly increased by 60% without an explanation or justification. So my dears friends, there is no need for Transparency International or other indices. We know it, we can smell it, we can feel it.

78. #78 by jumpingjack on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 6:00 pm

It is so obvious that all these BN goons are desperate. Trying all means to fool the nation that they are capable in running the country with AAB trying to show that he is “walking his talk” as promised 4 years ago.

79. #79 by subject on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 9:12 pm

Hey, PM…what else you know others than sleep???? If you are smart enough, you shouldn’t answered such idiot way to YB Lim..Such simple -minded idiot also can be PM…..world is up-side-down..

80. #80 by pjboy on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:57 pm

Surely the CPI would have taken into consideration the number of countries, the working population, etc etc…then come out with an index. Point is, we did not improve on our position – regardless of how many countries…even if there was only 2 countries, & we are at no.2…we are still the more corrupt! What it means is that we are still so & so times more corrupt than the country with index 1. Not the other way around. How can we be comparing with a more corrupt country? We should be comparing with the least corrupt. Having index 1 does not define a corruption-free country. Thus, we are 43 times more corrupt than the least corrupt. Can someone drill this into our PM brains. Since it was such a big improvement from 44 to 43, why not have a national holiday to celebrate!!! with fireworks & all that.

81. #81 by HB Lim on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 12:59 am

It is just a matter of relativity; so long as there are more countries below us than those above us, we are fine. It is all a numbers game or a matter of statistics – the quota system, acceptable level of deaths in the NS, the number of acquittals in courts etc. Values are not important. There is no remorse, no sense of shame.

I was caught in a very bad traffic jam in the Serdang area this evening and could manage less than a couple of hundred meters in half an hour and decided to call the Serdang Police Station. I was informed that just in front of the South City Plaza, there was an overturned truck which had caused the jam and that the police were there to control the situation. All the way to the Mines and beyond, I could not see any overturned truck nor any policeman. I called again after about an hour while still caught in the jam and after identifying myself as the same caller who called before, I was promptly told that I should have contacted the traffic department. I asked for the number of the department and he could not give me and after some wranglings, he said he would call for me.

This is but a microcosm of the general state of the present government – no sense of responsibility, no sense of any loyalty to or any desire to serve the people, no sense of governance, no sense of shame, no sense of urgency at all except to jump into the gravy train. And the PM says we have improved in our Corruption Perception Index! Numerically, we may have been placed above many other countries but ask any right thinking Malaysian, he will tell you Mr PM, “come on-lah, you must be kidding.”

82. #82 by taiking on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 8:42 am

Improve corruption rating?
    Its easy.
    It is just a number game.
    Go after all the small fish and small cases.
    Charge them and then get them convicted and sentenced.
    There.
    Good Results.
    Can someone pls pat me.
    Yes my back please.

83. #83 by lakilompat on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 2:37 pm

Najis babi announced that the purchasing of scorpene does not arise to commission, then who the hell is A.R.B. is he, a minister, MB, prime minister, or a politician, or merely owner of a registered company who facilitate the transfer of scorpenes & shukoi jet for the BN goons?

84. #84 by lakilompat on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 2:40 pm

Looks like the lies are getting bigger now, this is what Tun Dr. M told Najis babi to do. Also to tell PL and KJ men’s who wanted to topple him, who care, i don’t give a shyt anymore i will go ahead to announced the world this case does not relate to me even though that C4 & commandos are authorize by me in Malaysia.

85. #85 by DG on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 7:09 pm

To be truly un-corruptable we had to have the government answerable to many other parties of non-govt. and also citizens and the process is long but its worth it int he long run. Everything on policies changes and why is transpired must be compiled and posted online and had one dedicated channel like channelnewsasia on news solely on malaysia news and political situations, there must be more check and balance! Politics is not about the status and also money abuse it needs to change for the better and more transparent! We citizens had every right to know what happened to our money and also land tittles, projects, all events and seminars attended right to the cost of purchase of toilet paper used in government offices. Also why continue with the space program when the money can be put to better use! We as a normal citizen check on prices of rice and food and ect. why can’t the government check every cent of theirs, its the citizen money for gods sakes! Had not the recent polls shows a wave of change?