Anti-Corruption & Media Reform

The reform proposals announced by the Prime Minister in the fight against corruption are also most unsatisfactory, viz:

· The Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) to become an “independent” Malaysian Commission Against Corruption (MCAC) by year end, to be answerable to Parliament.

· Increase of the MCAC’s workforce to 5,000 officers over a period of five years, whistle-blowers protection legislation and improvement in the public procurement system.

An anti-corruption agency does not become “independent” just because the government describes it as “independent” – particularly when it continues to come under the Prime Minister’s Deparment instead fo operating as a completely autonomous organization, bereft of prosecution powers for corruption as this will remain the discretion of the Attorney-General.

Whether Malaysia can break the back of the problem of worsening corruption is not just through organizational or institutional changes but on whether there is the political will by the highest level of government to support an all-out war against corruption, vesting all the necessary powers to the anti-corruption institutions.

After his unprecedented landslide victory, Abdullah launched the National Integrity Plan which set the five-year target to improve Malaysia’s ranking in the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index from No. 37 in 2003 to at least No. 30 by 2008.

There is no more mention of this five-year NIP target for Malaysia’s ranking on the TI CPI had worsened by another six places from No. 37 to No. 43 in 2007 – giving former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad the justification to say that corruption under Abdullah’s premiership worse than under his administration, that corruption, which was under the table during his time, had come above the table under his successor!

How can Malaysians be convinced that there is now a new political will to fight corruption by giving free and unfettered powers to the MCAC at the end of the year when nobody in government dares to say a single word about creating a new political culture of zero tolerance for corruption starting from the Cabinet and to be reflected in improved rankings in the TI CPI?

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, should embrace press freedom reform to ensure that the reform measures he has announced on the judiciary and corruption is successful.
Furthermore, if Abdullah is serious about reform measures for the judiciary and anti-corruption, then it is time for him to embrace press reforms to ensure that these reforms are meaningful and sustainable.

Without a fair and independent media, no reform measures whether to restore public confidence in the independence, impartiality and quality of the judiciary or an all-out battle against corruption can succeed.

When Abdullah first became Home Minister eight years ago, he was presented with a memorandum by Malaysian journalists calling for press freedom reform. He had at that time promised to study the memorandum but nothing has come out of it so far.

The March 8 political tsunami should be a salutary lesson to the Prime Minister that it is time that he embrace press freedom reform although it is eight years late.

The latest press ranking for Malaysia being placed at 141 in the Freedom House survey report on Global Media is another adverse international verdict on the state of the media in Malaysia. Is Abdullah prepared to come to Parliament to announce bold measures on press freedom reform especially an end to the annual newspaper licensing requirement as well as the repeal of the Printing Presses and Publications Act?

(Speech [4] in Parliament on the Royal Address on Monday, 6th May 2008)

1. #1 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:17 pm

When I was young boy my dad gave me a Christmas present. It was a battery-operated teddy bear that beat the drum non stop until the battery runs out.
    To me it was fun. But try talking to the bear.
    This PM is no better than this bear. All drum beat.

2. #2 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:18 pm

Every time I read Nades and Terence’s report from the Sun paper I feel sad and disappointed. Today again on the Sun paper Nades and Terence were the targets of ACA instead investigating the real culprits. So what reform are they talking?

3. #3 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:18 pm

A government which has no confidence in itself will not embrace press reforms.

BN will never embrace press reforms as it will lose the support of rural Malays who rarely have access to internet or alternative media.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:18 pm

Uncle Kit, what’s up with the DAP chairman?

5. #5 by donplaypuks on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:41 pm

There is only one way we will see a truly independent ACA, Judiciary, AG, IGP & Police and the abolishment of the OSA, ISA, PPPA, arbitary remand & Rural banishment Order, racist Bumiputra policies, places in Unis & award of scholarships on meritocracy.

Those oy you who were not sure duing GE 2008, make sure that next time you vote for the Pakatan Rakyat. If you continue to vote UMNO, MCA, MIC, GErakan & PPP, you have only yourselves to blame for.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:45 pm

“Whether Malaysia can break the back of the problem of worsening corruption is not just through organizational or institutional changes but on whether there is the political will by the highest level of government to support an all-out war against corruption, vesting all the necessary powers to the anti-corruption institutions.” KIT

It is not just a matter of simply proclaiming that the newly revamped anti-corruption agency is now ‘independent’. Malaysians are not that naïve. Saying that someone who has always been paranoid and delusional is no longer paranoid and delusional doesn’t make him less so.

7. #7 by Humanrace on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:51 pm

I had blew whistle on abuses by departmental heads to the top leader of an organization once, not knowing that that top person was one orchestrating the whole dirty scheme. It was very ignorant, naive, and very stupid on my part, and had to change job for being conscientious.

It is very critical that the MCAC be totally independent from the goverment of the day as an imperative characteristic of check & balance and internal controls.

Otherwise, if anyone has evidences that any PM or his staff is on the ‘take’, who would dare to report to MCAC knowing the the job of the head of MCAC is under the control of the PM. For all we know the head of MCAC could even leak out the whistle blower’s name to be exposed to C4s.

At present i have evidence of abuses but I don’t feel secure nor confident of the current system and set-up of reporting it anywhere having experienced ‘backfirings’ previously.

While the need for a totally indpendent is critical, the focus of preventing abuses should not be on MCAC but should be tackled at source. There should be foolproof procedures within the goverment and its agencies’ management systems to ensure that abuses are not allow to sprout.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

The present culture of corruption took decades to take roots. It is not going to go away by the Prime Minister waving his magic wand a few times. It certainly will not go away by having politicians re-naming the organization dealing with this ‘lucrative’ business.

9. #9 by lopez on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

If we play a game, then mid way we found the current rules were not to our favour, since we have upper hand ,lets change the rules lah.
    ?ting? roll then dice
    Let start again ok , all previous games not counted , ah…
    everybody agree…….yes let play again now.

sound familiar…oh yes when we were……. kids

10. #10 by konek on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:20 pm

I cannot but agree with some writer. As I plan to move my family overseas, I feel really sad for my country and friends I am going to leave behind.

Mahathir was a great man and he could have done a lot for the country. He was determined, intelligent, sarcastic, well qualified and witty but unfortunately, somewhere along the way he succumbed to human failings like all of us.

He became a slave to ego and greed and as a result, his heart was corrupted and he could not see beyond himself. Alas, it is too late now.

I can see no great Malaysian leaders in the pipeline. Initially, I thought that Hisham could have been a great leader being a professional but after the ‘keris’ incidents and his racists remarks, I know he won’t be going far.

A great leader must be a leader for all, irrespective of race.

Life is full of regrets when we look back but the one regret I am not prepared to have is my children’s future as I may not be around to see the next generation lead their life. As parents, what are we working for if not for our children, the next generation?

Sad to say, most of our leaders cannot see that and ironically, they are the one blessed with the power to shape the future generations, including their children.

11. #11 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:25 pm

Sorry the impression the public is getting is we have a BN’s ACA, BN’s AG chamber, BN’s Police force, BN’s Judiciary ,BN Election commission etc, there is NO independence!

Looks like change is only possible when there is a change of federal government.

12. #12 by Godfather on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:26 pm

They have yet to learn their lesson. Right now they are angry because of the extra scrutiny on the contracts that they thought they could get without tender of with “negotiated” tender. Right now they are trying to figure out how else they could steal so that they can remain in power through the dispensing of contracts to their cronies and relatives.

13. #13 by Godfather on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:27 pm

….without tender or with “negotiated” tender….

14. #14 by Godfather on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:42 pm

Without money from contracts, the existence of UMNO will be called into question. The system of patronage, where the President decides who gets what, simply falls apart.

We can tighten our belts, but they can’t. They can’t because they have to keep dishing out the goodies to maintain the support for their positions.

15. #15 by seals on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:49 pm

the only way to solve problems is for DAP/PKR to rule as Federal Gov.

16. #16 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:51 pm

The PDRM wants the Malaysian citizens to cooperate with them in solving crimes. Indirectly, Raja Petra is helping them to solve the crime of the murder of Altantuya. He should be praised and not be charged. What sort of a world is this when an innocent man is handcuffed and somewhere out there, a criminal is free ? Indeed, the justice system in Malaysia is screwed, is upside down and inside out. Malaysians, do you want to see the law being manipulated until it works for the sinful people ? If you say you believe in God, then know that God is for the good people and He will punish the evil. You all should turn to the alternative media and read things which will never be found in the Barisan Nasional’s newspapers.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 9:53 pm

When we marry business to politics, we have corruption – a politically lucrative business.

The agency we thought was engaged in fighting corruption instead became nothing more than a corporation whose ‘business’ is to protect the lucrative business of the shareholders.

A former CEO of the corporation has found another just as important and new role for the organization he supervised i.e. to keep the board directors in line and not let them stray too much lest they develop the desire for a hostile take-over. The current CEO continues in his footsteps by continuing to sow the seeds of corruption but he himself is unable to control those who sow the seeds with him.

18. #18 by limkamput on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 10:41 pm

I think we are dealing with a very complex issue here. As much as “political will” to eradicate corruption can not and will not come naturally, we also can not assume that when business and government intertwined, it will ipso facto breed corruption.

Political can only be nurtured and inculcated through proper and vigorous selection process of men and women for leadership positions. If the present leaders are hopelessly corrupted, no amount of talk will bring about change in political will.

On the other hand, government and business can co-exist without automatically giving rise to rampant corruption as shown in Singapore. Successions of good leaders through years of nurturing plus a robust mechanism put in place to seek out corrupt practices and bring quick end to those involved are shown to be effective in combating corruption.

19. #19 by badak on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:12 pm

Our PM himself had said in parliment that, he had spent RM790,000 of goverment funds. For him to use the goverment executive jet for the last general election. As far as i know it is wrong to use goverment funds and machinenery for campaigning .If that is correct then the ACA and EC MUST LOOK INTO IT.

20. #20 by hiro on Wednesday, 7 May 2008 - 11:42 pm

Although I felt nice after March 8 elections, I felt that it is a long road ahead for fair minded, thinking Malaysians, simply because ultimate power rests at federal level.

Can you all sense it? BN is back on its feet, thinking that out of 3 layers of defences, the first has been breached – but they will survive. In fact, they have settled into that pattern of thinking, because otherwise they would still be busy making amends to Malaysians right now.

What we need is a total transformation, for Pakatan Rakyat to rise from the opposition into the government. Then, just maybe then, we get to see some real changes. And I mention some, being the real skeptic that I am – but that would still be better than what we are getting now – more hot air with absolutely zero to show.

21. #21 by limkamput on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 12:11 am

Sorry, have to repost because of mistakes earlier.

I think we are dealing with a very complex issue here. As much as “political will” to eradicate corruption can not and will not come automatically or naturally, we also can not assume that when business and government intertwined, it will ipso facto breed corruption.

Political will can only be nurtured and inculcated through proper and vigorous selection process of men and women of character for leadership positions. If the present leaders are hopelessly corrupted, no amount of talk will bring about change in political will.

On the other hand, government and business can co-exist without automatically giving rise to rampant corruption as shown in Singapore. Successions of good leaders through years of nurturing plus a robust mechanism put in place to seek out corrupt practices and bring quick end to those involved are shown to be effective in combating corruption.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 12:43 am

A foreign media once said “PL was hopeful of wiping out corruption when he first took over from Tun. But suddenly PL found it was not so easy to do that!”

I believe that fear of losing support from UMNO members and fear of being blackmailed by them are the two main obstacles that have prevented PL from executing his anti-corruption plan.

PL has said he would contest for UMNO presidency in December 2008. Surely he cannot come down hard on UNMO members who are now enjoying all the “perks” and “goodies”, or else he will lose in the presidential election.

Tun said PL’s son obtained a 1 billion ringgit contract from the government but Tun did not mention how the contract was awarded. Could this contract be the basis of a blackmail if PL pushes too hard on UMNO members to stay away from corruption – no one knows.

23. #23 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 2:15 am

24. #24 by taiking on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:37 am

I am a typical bumiputra chinese. I am very stupid. When the ACA was first set up it was declared to be an independant body. Now the goberment said that it is to be independant. What is going on? I am very confused. I dont understand.

25. #25 by lakilompat on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 9:00 am

PL is jus a puppet, those who control him is the UMNO MPs, these are the influential ppl. We have the 6 millions dollar man (Pasir Salak MP) in parliament today. The head should be getting more than a billion. Else how come they always give excuse saying Malaysian have no money? where is our country oil revenues, project savings and EPF money goes, it is not clear what happen?

26. #26 by kenyalan08 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 12:23 pm

With the world riches unemployed man under him , how to do reform ? Digging his own grave and nail his own coffin ? He is now thinking of a win-win situation , cannot be rush and need times . Will announce in 2012 with a lavish dinner , so be patient …. it takes times……

27. #27 by Humanrace on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 1:10 pm

KUALA LUMPUR: Barisan Nasional needs the co-operation of the Opposition to fight graft, said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohd Nazri Aziz.
    Thursday May 8, 2008: The Star
    ——————————————-

This sounds stupid and ignorant (intentional or otherwise).
    The opposition had already realized and proposed a near ideal and effective solution to prevent corruption by suggesting total independence of the MCAC.

Rats are very good at sensing a lembek-cat-leader and they will come out to play in full force even taunting the leader, catch me if you can.

Asking the opposition or public to fight graft without total independence of the MCAC is like asking everyone to use bucket to scoop away water from severe floodings instead of preventing the flood in the first place.

LKS, you must persist in pushing for absolute independence of the MCAC. With a critical moral problem like corruption, we cannot compromise there must be a near perfect and foolproof solution to fight corruption.

When that happens, i will blow whistle again.

28. #28 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 3:24 pm

Malaysiakini report that whistleblower act and freedom of information act not going to happen. I can even accept freedom of info act being postphone for now BUT why not a whistleblower act?

Its the first crack on promises again. Here we go again, the same thing four years ago – all promises and then backtracking. I say the opposition should ask for election in two years and we will see a “Typhoon” next election…

29. #29 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:06 pm

Given that the IPCMC has not been rolled out but more likely booted out, any other laws are not going to improve things much.

Remember the IGP made a public statement a few weeks back they are ready for IPCMC but so far it seems to have gone with the wind.

Maybe this reflects the degree of corruption in the police and other bodies?
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/05/does-this-reflect-corruption-in-police.html

30. #30 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:18 am

Now with the increase in living cost, stop dreaming about a day where there will be no corruptions.

“the police and other bodies” rely on basic funds provided by the govt.

Their children oso need pocket money to buy a new computer or buy a motorbike, or toys.

This is the best move by BN, to inflate the cost of living, so that life will be difficult, the only way to have an easier life is to obey the BN govt. or thru other channels.

In Penang, already BN NGOs & BN opposition are working together to catch any weakness in Opposition leader like Karpal Singth.

31. #31 by cheng on soo on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:21 pm

Don’t think & don’t expect any REAL reform as long as we hv the same Fed govt. All these are for show only.

32. #32 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 3:33 pm

“All these are for show only.”

Where is PL in the parliament? omg, sleeping or travelling overseas with his own private jet again.

When can PR leader ride on that private jet?