Abdullah could only think of seven priority reform measures…

Yesterday, my parliamentary question (No. 5 on the Order Paper) asking the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi “to outline the top ten priority reform measures which his government will implement in the next 12 months to demonstrate that he has heard the voices of the people in the March 8, 2008 ‘political tsunami'” was not answered as only three got replied.

From the answer Abdullah would have given (reproduced below), the Prime Minister could only think of seven priority reform measures (many of which are quite unsatisfactory) although he had promised Malaysians wide-ranging reforms since he took over from Tun Dr. Mahathir Mahathir more than four years ago.

May be you can outline more reform measures which deserve Abdullah’s top priority in the next 12 months.

Abdullah’s answer:

Seperti yang telah saya nyatakan sebelum ini, pihak Kerajaan menghormati keputusan rakyat sebagaimana yang telah dizahirkan dalam Pilihanraya Umum ke-12 baru-baru ini, dan kita menerima keputusan tersebut dengan hati yang terbuka. Pada masa yang sama, kita juga akan memastikan agar mandat yang telah diberi oleh rakyat, untuk terus mentadbir Negara ke arah kejayaan dan kegemilangan tidak akan disia-siakan.

Kerajaan yang saya pimpin adalah kerajaan yang berpengalaman; kerajaan yang terbukti. Namun saya percaya bahawa Kerajaan yang saya pimpin ini tidaklah bersifat jumud. Saya yakin bahawa Kerajaan pimpinan saya akan terus bersedia untuk menjiwai hasrat rakyat, serta menangani isu-isu yang menjadi bebanan serta menimbulkan kegusaran rakyat.

Atas dasar itu lah, maka saya telah mengumumkan sebuah agenda pembaharuan bagi memenuhi hasrat rakyat. Butiran agenda tersebut adalah seperti berikut:

• Pertama: menangani impak kenaikan harga barang, terutamanya makanan, akibat arus pasaran global;

• Kedua: mengkaji semula pelaksanaan pelan-pelan ekonomi negara bagi memastikan agar faedah pembangunan negara akan dinikmati oleh setiap rakyat;

• Ketiga: mengurangkan jurang pendapatan dikalangan dan diantara golongan etnik, di samping memastikan kesaksamaan untuk semua rakyat Malaysia;

• Keempat: mengurangkan kadar jenayah;

• Kelima: meneruskan usaha kearah memerangi rasuah dan meningkatkan budaya integriti;

• Keenam: menyokong pembaharuan serta meningkatkan keyakinan rakyat terhadap institusi kehakiman dan

• Ketujuh: menangani isu sensitive berhubung agama termasuk pembinaan dan pemindahan rumah ibadat.

Setakat ini, saya telahpun membuat beberapa pengumuman berkaitan dengan agenda yang telah saya gariskan dan ianya telah diterima baik oleh rakyat. Pembaharuan-pembaharuan ini adalah tambahan kepada agenda pembangunan nasional seperti yang digariskan dalam Misi Nasional dan Wawasan 2020. Saya yakin bahawa agenda besar Kerajaan ini akan dapat menambah baik kualiti kehidupan rakyat, dan saya percaya rakyat akan terus memberikan sokongan kepada Kerajaan dalam usaha untuk melaksanakan pelbagai langkah bagi membawa Malaysia kearah era yang lebih gemilang.

1. #1 by billgates on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 2:40 pm

Hello Paklah,

How about NEP? When is it going to be reform? What about equal opportunity for all rakyats in education and economy? As I was born after 31 August 1957, may I know when we chinese baba will be given the bumi status?

You said you are committed to reducing the impact of price increase of essential goods, but we rakyat is seeing price increase almost every week such as rice, noodles, flour, and other essential goods.

Should we continue eating salted fish until your mechanism is in place?

pakatanrakyat-malaysia.blogspot.com

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 2:48 pm

From the BBC, are (were) there parallels here somewhere?

Kenya cash shortfall over cabinet

Kenyan coalition government incudes more than 40% of all MPs
    The allegations could cloud the new coalition government

Kenya needs to find another $300m to pay for the expanded coalition cabinet formed after a power-sharing deal.

Finance Minister Amos Kimunya says he may be forced to shift funding from vital programmes like resettling the displaced to pay for new ministries.

President Mwai Kibaki and Prime Minister Raila Odinga named a 42-member cabinet this month despite protests from civil society and tax payers.

The two leaders agreed to share power after disputed presidential elections.

Some 1,500 people died and another 600,000 were displaced during violence after the poll.

Kenyan politicians are among the world’s best paid MPs – each taking home about $17,000 in salaries and allowances each month.

The power-sharing agreement between President Kibaki’s Party of National Unity (PNU) and Mr Odinga’s ODM party required they share power on a 50-50 basis.

As a result, the two leaders were forced to create new portfolios and hive others from the existing ones. At least 40% of the 222 elected MPs are now ministers and deputy ministers.

Civil society groups complained that the cabinet – the largest in Kenyan history – will be a heavy burden to taxpayers already hit by high commodity prices.

But Prime Minister Odinga defended the size, saying they had to ensure all regions in the country got fair representation in government as a first stage to heal the deeply divided nation.

Mr Kimunya told parliament that despite shifting funds from existing programmes to fund the $500m cost of the expanded government, he still has to find another $300m.

This is required to fund priority programmes, which include resettling displaced families.

Estimates show that key ministries – among them Medical Services, Roads, Education and Finance – have had their budgets slashed to accommodate the increased government expenditure.

3. #3 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:15 pm

If Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim became the 6th Malaysian PM, who should be his deputy ?

Vote now at sonofpenang.blogspot.com

4. #4 by novice101 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:18 pm

To the PM and all the MPs!

With the basic staple food prices spiralling upwards, please spare a thought for the poor and needy senior citizens who have no income or whose incomes are barely sufficient for them to live by.

Please do not forget this group of our society.

5. #5 by kanasai on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:19 pm

With almost equal representatives from both BN and BA, there is no excuse for both parties to work together to achieve at least one of the many priorities? 1st parliment opening session ended with much less to be desired. Perhaps, we can come up with a probation period just like in the private sector to get rid of any non-performing parlimentarians who can’t put forward a more substantial with less unparlimentary or derogatory arguments. They are working for the betterment of the rakyat and not for the sake of pacifying their own high arrogance and egoistism or self-interest. Pls don’t try to cover up the weekness by ending the live tele-cast after just 1st session?

6. #6 by Sitiawan on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:34 pm

BODOHWI is uttering RUBBISH again!!!

7. #7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 3:57 pm

YB LIM,

THE last posting of YB have called for views and this posting, any further reform measures. Thank you YB, this is excellent form of engaging the voters among us, and also an oportunity to participate in making Malaysia a better country for all.

IT further reflects that you wanted us to share views with you and reform the country . It is a great move YB.

8. #8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 4:16 pm

YB LIM.

i feel that even the seven reform measures by Yab Abdullah Badawi is not even a reform. It is equating needs to wants , and basic needs are provided for and expected OF THE GOVERNMENT OF THE TODAY.

1.price impact of essential goods : with the increase in price or crude oil and global warming, the adminstration of the premier should have seen this coming. YET IRONICALLY, four years ago, when Tan Sri Muhiydeen was made agriculture minister to ascertain the modernisation of the agricultural sector,nothing was done. In the latest development, in KLUANG, food plantations were destroyed. this is not right YAB Abdullah badawi.

2.review of economic plans that benefits all malaysian : the near RM750,000 spent on the executive jet plane for the prime minister of Malaysia is back stabbing all poor Malaysian. On an average per capita income per annum of even RM50,000.00, thats a 15 years salary advanve for the middle income wage earner. what about the poor? this is not right Pak Lah.

3.inbalance of disposable incomes and for all Malaysian: the best foot forward, is that bank Negara be very honest about the inflation rate in Malaysia. If we skirt behind figures that are false, than we plan badly. failing to plan is planning to fail. i think all PakLah, all your corridors introduction programmes cost millions of ringgit of the taxpayer. Paklah you have fail us, the raayat. That was only the introduction, before the actual execution!

9. #9 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 4:26 pm

4.crime reduction.: hei MR.Prime Miinister. this is a security issue and a serious concern by all Malaysians. we dont have bodyguards like you,when moving around.we dont have police escort like you and even your spouse when go shopping. it will be interesting to know, how many officers of the PDRM, are seconded to attend to the security risk of our vvip. and we certainly have a lot of VVIPS in Malaysia. where is sharlinie now ? nurin case? Pak lah, we all have daughters and sisters too. This is not a request. this is a demand that crime reduction is a must.

5. national Intergrity and corruption. : YAB Perdana Menteri,We heard you four years ago.We gave you that swing of votes. You said that was your priority. but midway. you said it was perception.
    Why dont Mr. Premier, that asset declaration starts from you, and be honourable to walk the talk. Declare your assets and that of your immediate family members, and follow up with all ministers. otherwise, it is just fairy tales.

10. #10 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 4:36 pm

6. The judiciary : what ups now Yab Abdullah badawi. will you extend the term of Yang teramat Arif ketua Hakim Negara. i think you should. He is a great man and a humble man too. But I think the Lingham tape investigations and results have long overdue. eggs already hatched to chickens.

7.Religion and Places of worship : well, YAB Abdullah Badawi, if the spit spat between your two fallen leaders, ie Yang Berkhidmat dahalu toyol and samy, i wonder if you are aware that each are pointing fingers. Each man to his own God. Punitive measures do not maketh a saint. when i die, let God judge me. certainly not you paklah. and why dont you head the inter religious counsel meet for once, and hear out their views. please.

YB. LIM.
    thank you once again, and i have no further additional reforms measures to add. i will be already quite satisfied if YAB Abdullah Badawi fulfilled the seven as promised. If we add on, the cabinet size will be increased at the expense of the tax payer again.

11. #11 by gofortruth on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 4:36 pm

Everyone can see PL is grabbing whatever straw he can lay his hand on to stay afloat.

Sorry to digress:
    TDM’s blog is out. Now we can go over & give him a piece of our mind.

http://www.chedet.com

12. #12 by Blind Faith on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:12 pm

If Abdullah or anyone at all who really wants to see real reform for this country, then he has to get to the root of all the evil that’s got a strangle hold of this country – UMNO. Unless UMNO stands for United Malaysian National Organisation there can’t be any meaningful reforms.

13. #13 by lovemalaysiaforever on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:33 pm

I agree with Blind Faith, Bodowi just Bla, Bla Black Sheep again in the Parliament.

There is no active tone in his statement, Bla, Bla, Bla as before.

Remember, BN have many time flick their statements to what so ever reasons and excuses. Not like Mahathir, his statements are tangible solid and what he said he just do it although many dislikes him of his goodness or bad.

No wonder all the times people are saying sleepy heads BN in the Parliaments but not tho the Oppositions, they have flames inside.

Lets go for United Malaysian Organisation in another word of Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia (of all races in equal opportunities and without discriminations) BRAVO!

14. #14 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:44 pm

I will just focus on reform measures relating to economics or working of the economy.

As expected, if we read the reform measures stated by PM, one of them inevitably is concerned with income and wealth distribution (measures 2 and 3). I think since the advent of NEP, this policy has never left the lips of BN leaders. The pre-occupation with distribution, which to me is nothing more than cronyism favouring the well connected, is causing the Malaysian economy to grow much slower than it otherwise could. For the economy to growth faster, there is a need to re-emphasize efficiency, competitiveness and meritocracy. I think the government has emphasized too much on equity at the expense on growth. Between growth and distribution, growth must come first, for without growth there is nothing to distribute.

Another reform measure needed is globalizing the Malaysian economy. Again, very much governed by the need to protect vested interest groups, the Malaysian economy has not been able to globalize and liberalize much faster than it should. Continued protection without spelling out appropriate timeframe for its removal has caused the Malaysian economy to saddle with many unproductive and uncompetitive industries. For the sake of Malaysian consumers and for the sake of building up the resilience of Malaysian industries to compete globally, Malaysia must set unequivocal timeframe to gradually dismantle trade and investment protection and barriers. There is no further time to waste. It is time the vested interest groups who have enjoyed protection and collected “economic rent” for years to give up their privileges.

The next reform measure considered important is policy on energy and environment. Again, I find the government’s efforts in this area lacking. Our public transportation systems especially in major metropolitans remain rudimentary and hopelessly outdated. As a result, the reliance on private vehicles is excessive causing not only a big hole in our budget but also the environment. Rapid KL and Penang are at best stop gap measures. Even for this, the government has done it with exorbitant cost (I think someone must investigate the modus operandi of Rapid KL and Penang). If it is possible, I urge all PK MPs to watch the movie “The 11th Hours” (something like “The Inconvenient Truth”) which has provided very good insight to the need to growth the economy inconsonant with the environment.

The government must also fasten the pace of dismantling the rent seeking complexes and reexamine the excesses of privatization which have choked the economy for years now. If possible, the government should intervene less and allow the market economy to work a little bit more. Instead of myriad of price control, policy measures should be directed at ensuring competitive market. Prices generally will take care of itself if there is sufficient competition.

Finally government spending should rightly focus on long term sustainability rather than pre-occupied with short term expediency. The government has directed too much allocations for unproductive programmes and projects that have very little to do with building capacity or enhancing the efficiency of the economy. Instead of landscaping and building bridges over the man-made lakes (like those in Putrajaya), the government should be spending more to fill up potholes, building more roads and interchanges.

May be I have more, but I think the moderator may not be happy if the post is too long.

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:49 pm

We should not expect our PM to go beyond seven when he doesn’t know how to count beyond that number. He failed his Statistics paper, remember??

16. #16 by lovemalaysiaforever on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:50 pm

Remember the song : Bla Bla Black Sheep

Bla Bla Black Sheep have you any wool,
    Yes Sir, Yes sir 3 bags full,

One for the Master (His Ministers), one for my Dame (Wife of Ministers) and one for the Little Girl ( You know who ar) who laid down the lane. Hehehe…

17. #17 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:51 pm

i know that is a joke, But i think sometimes we ought to be serious, am i right, Mr. Undergrad2?

18. #18 by xplora on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:53 pm

• Keempat: mengurangkan kadar jenayah; <-

What i know is, Everyday the crime is increasing not decreasing since Dr.Mahathir is retired because all my friends is complaining about thief break in house, pickpocketed etc etc. Use Monorail for first time in 2008, then already got pick pocketed mobile phone and wallet, not to mention there is no security in the station during the midnight.

I still remember, when my mom I/C and bag got stolen after going out from bank, the police just ask my mom to report lost instead of stolen or they threaten my mom that she need to go to Bukit aman and Sri Petaling police station everyday.

Yes, BN has opened nice complain website and even the Police ask me to clarify the matter, but after the elections, all the email has been totally ignored by them.

Terima Kasih, Paklah. My family has been a voter of BN since their eligible for vote even cast their vote on them in 2008, It’s time to change directions.

• Kelima: meneruskan usaha kearah memerangi rasuah dan meningkatkan budaya integriti; <- come on, already 4 years, still not enough?

It is clear that the Malaysia is becoming Indonesia soon, if this Prime Minister still becoming Prime Minister with making so many accusation and fake statements that never going to be happen. You just know how to use our money like: (RM790,000 spent on jets) http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/2228628/Article/index_html

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 5:54 pm

What kind of Speaker do we have? He doesn’t speak the truth. He doesn’t listen to the truth and he certainly does not know how to see and identify what is true and what is not! The three wise monkeys would be laughing at how the Speaker tried to exert his control.

If I were the Speaker I’d throw all the MPs out and lock the door behind them until the end of the statutory cooling off period. [deleted]

20. #20 by voice on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:01 pm

Enough talk, I don’t see any changes.

21. #21 by lovemalaysiaforever on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:02 pm

I wonder the PM have really did his SWOT analysis for the country if not just let the Opposition do it!

New generations are always looking at efficiency and transparency to compete in this new Era for a better Malaysia.

Swipe out the rottens in the parliament and heal up with new medicine for Malaysia. No more ass covering.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:25 pm

“Between growth and distribution, growth must come first, for without growth there is nothing to distribute.” MP from Kg. Attap

We expect our MPs to go beyond rhetoric.

The concept of the expanding economic pie, and its equitable sharing (rather than distribution) is the only answer to political instability in a country with a population as diverse as ours in terms of ethnicity, culture and religion, in a country where the identification of economic functions with race after some five decades still remains a source of friction.

This nation was never founded upon capitalistic principles just like the United States is never founded on socialist principles. The rich in the United States resent at having what they earn through hard work re-distributed by their government. They don’t believe in big government. Our belief in big government is written all over our constitution.

Are we ready to re-write our constitution?

23. #23 by jyin on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:27 pm

jia you o uncle lim!!!

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:42 pm

“Another reform measure needed is globalizing the Malaysian economy” MP from Kg. Attap

You don’t globalize the Malaysian economy! You adapt to globalization which is the trend today.

But you may want to consider the fact that “globalization” is today fast becoming a dirty word. It is not the panacea that we once thought it to be. Capitalistic economies like the United States is at present teetering on the brink of what could well be an economic collapse as a result of free trade. Jobs are being shipped overseas. Mexicans are risking their lives by jumping over fences and digging tunnels only to find the jobs they are looking are fast disappearing.

Malaysians may have to go back to growing rice, and tapping rubber trees and in digging for tin.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 6:52 pm

“Malaysia must set unequivocal timeframe to gradually dismantle trade and investment protection and barriers.” MP from Kg. Attap

Setting a time frame for anything sounds good but it still is artificial and we would be setting arbitrarily self-imposed and artificially high standards for ourselves that we know we could not meet.

Remember how many times you’ve had to approach your teacher that you’ve not completed your homework and asked him or her for more time??

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:04 pm

“If possible, the government should intervene less and allow the market economy to work a little bit more.” MP from Kg. Attap

But we are not a nation founded on capitalist principles! The ravages that a laissez-faire market economy bring to an country like ours are too well known to need elaboration here.

27. #27 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:14 pm

unless all THINKING Malaysians can put their acts together, this country is certainly going down the cliff. From the performances of our YBs in the Parliament, it there any hope that sanity would eventually prevail? We keep reminding ourselves that we are going towards 1st world environment, yet we keep behaving like some African nations! We have ‘national’ leaders who aalways talk through the wrong ‘mouths’ of their bodies!
    Commonsense would and should prevail to overcome the national problems, issues like corruptions, crimes and environment; the average Malaysians are asking for things that are taken for granted in many like well endowed countries, where the population is permitted to best thehselves in a changing global scenario. And here we wasted time to argue over petty procedures which are aimed at covering and sweeping the real issues under the carpet! Our Gomen is lucky that Malaysians are actively endeavouring to improve their skills even without help from a Gomen to whom they faithfully pat their taxes!!
    Just look at those Mat sallehs who protested over the recent Olympic Torch runs, many did it without knowing what the F>>K they were protesting about! Hence of assisting Malaysians to be competitive, we find leaders creating road-blocks and talking C..Ks with only one aim, to dry up the the national coffer [ or did Nades of the SUN, said, Coffins??] Yes, they are planning to find the short cut, the word was right at the back of the speaker’s mind when he was confronted with truth and facts.
    We are so used to ‘sloganeering’, that the BN leaders think by repeating and shouting loud enough, we will be world competitors!!
    And these are the products of our educational system.
    They knew the truth as to why they failed to win over the younger set of really educated Malaysians, now they just bend on trying to RE-ENGINEER their propaganda on racial unity of one community!
    Hence their talk on globalization sounds real hollow!
    Unless, they listen tothe wke-up calls, especially the rumbling of changes now coming from India, we will lose many more jobs [ forget about China, she has taken off, now she is looking for off shore investments!!].
    May be we should listen to TDM, to invite Mugabe to come to Malaysia to learn how to screw up the economy real fast!!

28. #28 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:17 pm

Para 2 line 4. like should read’ less’

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:22 pm

“Finally government spending should rightly focus on long term sustainability rather than pre-occupied with short term expediency. The government has directed too much allocations for unproductive programmes and projects that have very little to do with building capacity or enhancing the efficiency of the economy. Instead of landscaping and building bridges over the man-made lakes (like those in Putrajaya), the government should be spending more to fill up potholes, building more roads and interchanges” MP from Kg. Attap

Long term sustainability as opposed to short term expediency? Oh no!! Not the same garbage all over again. Get over it!

Certainly “landscaping and building bridges over artificial lakes” are not examples of “long term sustainability” and “short term expediency”? You don’t know what you’re talking about, do you?

We don’t want our MPs to show up in Parliament in pin-striped suits screaming meaningless imponderables which nobody understood. If we need the use of bombastic words, we should call for Rev. Wright to start the country’s first acting school for our MPs.

30. #30 by LittleBird on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:33 pm

As far as I can tell, nothing is coming out from PM’s reforms. IPCMC, religious council, Article 121A, judicairy, corruption, North, South, West, East etc..etc corridors still no news. Either, he doesn’t know what’s he’s doing or his hands are tied. In both cases, he should resign, Is it so difficult to reform the judiciary? and the police? Just imagine the powerful Ramli was practical removed overnight rightly or wrongly so why taking so long to clean the police force which i believe they are too tied down by politicians. Or how about police reform the politicians, come hard on those intefering in your functions.

Tiredlah..almost two months since election not one postive thing happened!!! errr :-(

31. #31 by cancan on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:40 pm

Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political mind game?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com

32. #32 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:46 pm

What can I say, “A little learning is a dangerous thing”, who said that?

It is blatant manifestation of one’s inferiority complex, inadequacy and envy. I think everybody knows it.

33. #33 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 7:47 pm

PM AAB should set up a cabinet committee on the amendments and abolition of unjust and draconian laws such as ISA, OSA and UUCA. It is the wish of the people which we expressed through 8th March election which made BN a victory loser

34. #34 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 8:19 pm

Ok, you have one point, challenging me on the timeframe of protection. Precisely we have notion like you and that is why we continue to produce lousy students.

Continued wavering of timeframe only serves to perpetuate rent seeking mentality. Industries that enjoy protection will never “grow up” as manifested by our National Car Project because we continue to waver on the timeline to liberalise. If we have set an unequivocal timeframe to Proton to prepare for competition twenty five years ago, today Proton will be a different company. This is a fact as shown by the Korean car industry.

35. #35 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 8:30 pm

It is my considered view that Malaysia economic policies have skewed too much toward distribution at the expense of growth; too much toward protectionism at the expense of consumer welfare and industrial resilience; too much toward government intervention at the expense of market economy; and too much aiming at satisfying specific constituency rather than basing on economic rationale.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:02 pm

“Industries that enjoy protection will never “grow up” as manifested by our National Car Project because we continue to waver on the timeline to liberalise.” MP from Kg. Attap

The classic counter to the ‘infant industry argument’! But infants always grow up! This one does not qualify to be that infant in the first place.

I am against the country going into automobile manufacturing especially when it is managed by that guitar strumming fraud whose knowledge about cars is limited to how fast he could drive them so long as he does not need to pay for the petrol bill.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:07 pm

“Industries that enjoy protection will never “grow up” as manifested by our National Car Project because we continue to waver on the timeline to liberalise. If we have set an unequivocal timeframe to Proton to prepare for competition twenty five years ago, today Proton will be a different company.” MP from Kg. Attap

Let me know when you are able to move away from stringing two contradictory statements together.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

Waterfrontcoolie,

Do not hope to see your posting anytime soon! Mine has vanished into cyber space never to return to earth.

39. #39 by dapforever on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

We want fair entry to Local University / Higher Education regardless of races & religion

40. #40 by dapforever on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:16 pm

We want fair entry to Petronas, Government Sectors regardless of races & religion.

41. #41 by winsoontan on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:20 pm

The Star News:

DAP assemblymen arrested for damage to state property
    By MARTIN CARVALHO

MALACCA: Three DAP assemblymen were arrested but later released on police bail to assist investigations into damage caused to an abandoned lamp-cum-telecommunication pole in Bachang here on Thursday.

In the incident at about 10.30am Thursday, Bachang assemblyman Lim Jak Wong had gone over to Taman Kesidang, Kampung Lapan, with state party chairman Goh Leong San and Kota Melaka MP Sim Tong Him to remove several metal rods at the base of the proposed telecommunication pole.

Lim, who is also Malacca state DAP secretary, used an electric saw to cut off 10 of the 10cm metal rods protruding from the base after failing to break them off with a hammer.

However, he was arrested shortly after the incident and taken to the Melaka Tengah police station for questioning with Goh and Sim who were detained at about noon when they were called in by the police.

All three were released on police bail at about 5.30pm with Lim sent to the Malacca Hospital for a medical check-up following allegations that he was assaulted by the police while in lock-up.

All three are being investigated under Section 440 of the Penal Code for mischief during an unlawful assembly that carries up to five years’ jail and a fine.

Speaking to reporters later, Goh, who is also Kesidang assemblyman, said he was shocked over their arrest as they had merely gone over to address issues raised by residents from the area.

“We had finished at the site and gone for coffee at a nearby shop. However, I noticed several police personnel with Lim when I was walking to my car.

“It was later that I received a call from Lim saying that he had been arrested and assaulted by the police,” he said.

Goh said he lodge a report over the alleged assault against Lim.

Sim also expressed dismay at the action of the police to detain them as they were merely attending to woes raised by members of the public.

“The metal rods pose a danger to residents and school children from the nearby Tun Tuah secondary school. We had merely gone there to see how to resolve the issue,” he said, adding that there was no picket or demonstration.

It was learned that the proposed 30m-tall pole project belongs to the state government and it had received approval for construction in August last year with completion within two months. However, the project was subsequently shelved following the intervention of former Barisan Nasional Kesidang assemblyman Datuk Koh Nai Kwang due to objections raised by several residents before the general election.

Melaka Tengah OCPD ACP Johari Yahya declined to comment on the case.

42. #42 by winsoontan on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:22 pm

I wonder why police never take action to those really behave vandalism.

43. #43 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:44 pm

When an industry is chosen, there is no certainty it will succeed or otherwise despite the numerous studies. Therefore I disagree with your assertion that Malaysia’s car industry was a failure from day one. To say so only shows your lack of understanding that competitive advantage can actually be altered. What we need is appropriate policy to see the identified industry build up the capacity to compete during the protection period. If Malaysia has a proper automobile policy, today Malaysia would be the auto hub of South East Asia, certainly not Thailand.

We must understand, if an infant industry grows up, it is because it has finally left its nanny. And the only way to make the industry leaving its nanny is set the timeline. You name me of one infant industry that was able to stand on its own (after we remove the protection) despite the numerous years of protection.

Whatever industries we want to embark on, it is incumbent upon us to set an unequivocal timeframe to make sure that these industries work diligently toward it. What I am saying here is that if the unwavering timeline is there, everybody in those industries will work toward it. The urgency is different, the attitude is different, the quest for benchmarking with the best is there, and seeking global market will also be there.

You must understand within a country, there will be those calling for liberalisation and those call for continued protection. Whatever the call is really basing on one’s personal interest. What I am saying is we may need protection, but the protection is there only to provide us the window of opportunity to build up the capacity to compete. To be effective and to ensure it does not lead to excessive distortion and misallocation of resources, we must set specific timeframe for them to face competition. The timeframe of course may differ from industry to industry. But the most important thing is the timeframe must be there and it should not change once it is set. If we change the timeframe, then no body is serious. [deleted]

44. #44 by hiro on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:47 pm

Time is clearly running out for Pak Lah. Is he really serious about reform? If he is, he should be tabling amendment bills already. There’s obviously a long list of reforms that the people want from his government:

1) freedom of information and protection of whistle blowers

2) free the press from political shareholding, independent media commission – we want investigative journalism, not reporters/boot-licking editorials!

3) diminish ISA so that there is always judicial review for all decisions

4) IPCMC and public safety

5) judicial appointments commission – where PM has to use the recommendation of the commission on judges, or give a comprehensive answer in Parliament

6) Parliamentary reform – more question time, research assistance, development grants for ALL MPs, we want live telecast throughout the day!!

7) ACA should answer to Parliament and have independent prosecutorial powers – or if prosecutorial powers remain with AG, make AG answerable to Parliament

8) food scarcity – plant more! enforce against hording!

9) fuel – where’s our alternative energy source master plan?

10) human rights commission – need for teeth

11) open tender – for ALL MALAYSIANS if you’re not opening up to foreigners

12) NEP racist component must go, only retain the helping component for the poor across races

13) religious harmony – no syariah jurisdiction over non-Muslims, freedom of religion, stringent evidence for conversion

14) traffic woes in all major cities – it does not cost that much (as opposed to building LRT) to set up a workable, extensive public transport system – only willpower to do so

15) education reform – get rid of educationists who are not delivering, reward those who are, free up political participation of university students, link up industries with faculties for constant flow of human resource and research and development

16) tax reform – out of rebate over useless things like F1, in with more useful things like books, computers, medication, insurance

17) healthcare reform – make public hospitals as good as private hospitals – reward performers, boot out non-performers – and no piratisation

18) highway concession – review and renegotiation, buy out

19) DBKL Mayor-ship – we want election!, same with local authority elections

20) immigration – no discrimination against citizens of other countries associated with minority races in this country

45. #45 by balance88 on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:49 pm

The reforms stated by Pak Lah looks very superficial and sounds like the same old story. The reforms were too loosely and broadly phrased and seems to lacked substance, direction and yes, having a time line would add more commitment to the reforms.

For example, Pak Lah talks of fighting corruption. Obviously the starting point should be the ACA. I should think that putting the ACA under the ambit of Parliament is a top prioriy. Sure, he made a press statement to this effect. But, when does he intend to put the process into motion. And, by end of this year, at what stage will this process be and when does he sees this process comes to its fruition.

It is easy to say we want to fight corruption, have judicial reform, fight crime, bring down the cost of living, etc., etc., etc……..

He should also re-state his commitment to continue with reforms of the delivery system of the government. Improve govt. procedures, increase efficiencies and continue to cut red tapes and minimize processes.

He needs to address his economic reforms more specifically. Pak Lah should look at reforms to make the SMEs as one of the engine of growth. How efficient are loans distributed and what incentives and reforms are needed to spur the growth of this sector.

For any reforms, there need to ba a time line. Sure, we live in an imperfect world and reforms like eradicating corruption will not happen by the end of this year. But there has to be some mile stones as indicators that we are on the right track.

Sad to say, Pak Lah’s reforms to me are just reforms on paper and are only worth as much as the ink and paper that they are printed on. Utter lack of commitment. 4-5 years down the road, he will still be talking about the same old reforms just like he did when he won his first general election! Deja vu all over again!!!

46. #46 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 9:59 pm

“Let me know when you are able to move away from stringing two contradictory statements together.”

I think it is time to apply that Confucius saying to yourself – is it stupid is forever and ignorance can be fixed? Let me provide some value-add to the great Confucius. Only ignorance with humility can be fixed. If ignorance and yet proud like you, then it is also forever.

47. #47 by blablowbla on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

we rily dun need proton here,according to the most fundamental rules of economy,increase the supply to lower down the price of goods,instead,it increases all the auto-mobil prices about 50%,hence,increasing our loan amount from banks too,burdenned our liabilities,and the bankers are laughing all the way to the foreign banks,not us!

the way the hadhari head presented his speech,i m speechless,i think i can do better than him!

take for instance he said to reduce the crime rate!when a gomen wants to reduce the crime rate,tis stupid finance minister is using the DEMAND and SUPPLY rules ,that is ,to increase the police force!
    Who the hell doesnt know his belated mother was a female?

wat we want are the strategies,not quantity,with that type of police force that we have now,even we increase to 200,000 (100%),it doesnt help!we want him to answer this question,why,then only we accept him as our PM,or else,GET LOST!

48. #48 by kentutoyol on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 10:24 pm

limkamput,

Man who runs in front of car gets tired.

Man who runs behind car gets exhausted.

49. #49 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 11:06 pm

Our former PM Tun Mahathir launches his blog today (May 1, 2008).

For more details, pls visit sonofpenang.blogspot.com

50. #50 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 11:35 pm

Quotations after quotations from sage and statesman but without the humility and wisdom to discern the inner meaning is a waste of time. Knowing and not knowing enough to know the exception is half baked. That is why one wise man said, “a little learning is a dangerous thing.”

My dear friend it is bunkum again to say America is capitalist. Today, America is more socialist than socialist China and socialist China is more capitalist than capitalist America. Of course I don’t expect you to understand and I am not obliged to explain to you.

51. #51 by alancheah on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 11:55 pm

SICK with BN’s policies!

52. #52 by devilmaster on Thursday, 1 May 2008 - 11:59 pm

Abdullah could only think of seven priority reform measures…

His left brain does nothing right & and right brain has nothing left

53. #53 by leealex24 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:18 am

Devilmaster,
    I think the number of reforms is not important. I rather have the administration to successfully undertake these 7 reforms than having 20 but, all done half-heartedly. After all, quality is always better than quantity. After all, it’s “priority” reforms, right?

On another note, regarding the live telecast of the Parliamentary setting, I personally didn’t see it but, I believe this should go on. It may just be a one off thing and if these MP’s are as human as you and I, such rhetoric act will die down after some time. Further, it’s also a good way to see how our “chosen” leaders act in the Dewan Rakyat and also a good way for us to see who did a good job and who is sleeping..*wink*

54. #54 by AhStone on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 2:10 am

i like what u said devilmaster- His left brain does nothing right & and right brain has nothing left =)

i thought he said he had a thousand dreams.. if not to reform to make our nation better.. then what thousand dreams???? always sleeping on the job…. he is preciding over a rotten party- scUMNO. even if najib takes over whats different does it makes? we need a leader who can make our country a better place for all MALAYSIANS and not UMNO CRONIES. definitely not leader from UMNO…..

55. #55 by xplora on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 2:33 am

Hiro-> 11) open tender – for ALL MALAYSIANS if you’re not opening up to foreigners <- good point! another accusation made by PM in Parliament that “local company” cannot compete with the international company so they only will consider to give their “own” company.

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 5:25 am

Given the circumstances, it is unrealistic to expect that Parliamentary proceedings be televised under the present administration. However, it is hoped that this will change when the new coalition takes over. The sound bites are still useful to an information starved public who wants to know how taxpayers’ money is being spent. For me snippets of these proceedings are sometimes better than what you see on Saturday Night Live!

Go here: Whatzzup!

The other is the issue of televised court proceedings. The presiding judge in a case should be given the discretion to allow the photographing, electronic recording, broadcasting, or televising of court proceedings. In the U.S. Court TV has televised close to 1,000 trials and court proceedings. Yet no judgment has been reversed because of the presence of a TV camera in the court room. It has never been shown that the presence of a TV camera in the court room has inherently deprived the defendant of the right to a fair trial.

Imagine what the presence of a TV camera could do to the ongoing murder trial of Altantuya!

57. #57 by kentutoyol on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 6:26 am

Life is like a bus loaded with passengers. Each man to his destination. Whether we enjoy the journey or not; depends solely on the bus driver. Ours is to follow instructions and his is to get us to our destination.

Paklah is our bus driver. We are his passengers.

We need a good driver…….never mind a lousy passenger…!

58. #58 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 7:19 am

Good Morning Dear Kentutoyol.

a) i will take an alternative mode of transport from point A to B.

b) i will decide on the condition of the bus and ensure that the bus driver is neither intoxicated nor look sleepy.

c) if i am wearing a mu t shirt, i doubt i will board if the rest of the passengers are wearing chelsea’s .

thank you.

59. #59 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 7:32 am

YB LIM.

just quoting malaysiakini reports.

1) 3 elected dap state representative from the state of Melaka was arrested and will be charged for mischief. Apparently relocating the telco tower at macap. whats up YB ?

2) The police have asked that the x minister that molested the promoter at a five star hotel in the city be charged. Can you please follow that up in parliament. No one is above the law. Not even one that send ONE Malaysian to the space. lets see if the AG is firm on this. BUT, i am sure this is of public interest. thank you YB.

60. #60 by vehir on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 7:36 am

AP KING TAN SRI SM NASIMUDDIN AMIN DIES OF CANCER IN US.

refer: http://www.no2umno.blogspot.com

61. #61 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 8:20 am

Wow! PL agreed to stop live telecast. Nice scam by the Federal.

62. #62 by StevePCH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:04 am

For the 3 Pakatan Rakyat Assemblymen and MP of Melaka. All I could say is a BIG “Thank You” for helping Rakyat. If they are being fined or whatsoever which disqualifies them from DUN or Parliament, I think BN will face the wrath of Rakyat !!! I don’t know how to express my disappointment on how the police handled this case but it is so obvious a third and fourth and … hands is involved. Will they do the same to BN MPs or Assemblymen ??? Go to HELL !!!

63. #63 by Mr Smith on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:09 am

Some of the seven are NOT reforms but mere exhortations or ideals or dreams or mere desires.

PPPA, ISA, OSA, tertiary education like appointments of Vice Cancellors etc would be welcome. But then this man only talks. I don’t pay much attention to his mumblings.

64. #64 by StevePCH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:11 am

As I had mentioned in my earlier comments, if the present government doesn’t remove ISA, OSA or ….. wait until Pakatan come to power, put the then ” Opposition” into Kamunting !!! a tit for tat …. grim scenario for ( you know who ) , because from what that is happening , it is obvious that BN is never going to change ANYTHING. It is not and never will. But the abolishment or review of ISA blah…blah ,should be the main focus of the coming PRU13 because seriously I think BN will not do anything to it. It’s outdated and abused. No more communist, Pak Pandir/Lah !!!

65. #65 by taiking on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:11 am

billgates posed this question:

“As I was born after 31 August 1957, may I know when we chinese baba will be given the bumi status?”

My response is “Kami semua Anak Malaysia”. And “Anak Malaysia” ranks above “bumiputra” and the Government but below God and the Law of the Land.

“Bumiputra” as it is politically defined is only a subset of the GREATER “Anak Malaysia”.

What about the Government? Ah yes. They are our servants, arent they?

God and Laws of the Land! Oh, THEY are definitely above us. No elaboration is necessary here.

This logic is simple and beautiful isnt it?

BTW, about cancelling live telecast of Parliamentary debates. Pak Lah’s reason: “I am ashame[lah]”. So kena ada knee jerk reaksi. Sweep it under the carpet. Orang tak nampak orang tak tahu. Ini cara BN. We keep them all in the family.

Good day to all of you.

66. #66 by undergrad2 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:33 am

“Each (MP) wanted to make himself or herself seen debating or ‘aksi’ (acting) in the Dewan. That was how I felt,” Abdullah Badawi said. STAR

This is why MPs should be made to attend a course at an acting school for MPs. The solution is not to ban live telecast of such proceedings.

67. #67 by Bigjoe on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:37 am

I do agree that the fact he can come up with only seven points is a reflection of the dearth of ideas and lack of depth of his thinking on agendas. I don’t believe its just that its trying to keep things brief and to the point although no doubt it forms an excuse for him to have a shorter list.

But another thing that really worries me is you can tell his tendencies from his list and words. Its interventionist, arrogance in the power of government, lack of understanding in harnessing the power of natural laws, wrong sense of priorities.

After price increase, he want to intervene as priority No. 1? The US Fed, arguable THE most powerful govt agency in the world, just said this week out loud to the world that the best thing for govt to do is NOTHING. As powerful as they are, they humbly bow to markets and abilities of people to manage their own fate. As a result, prices have fallen more since well, ever…..

The man is a ideologically shallow. He has been well-schooled on certain fundamentals begin his English school teachers which is why he has shown some boldness in reform. But it lacks real intellectual depth.

So a short list is just not surprising for a shorted mind…

68. #68 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:39 am

“bumiputra” = Bumi UMNO putra

As a result Malaysian have to pay higher premium for their car, house, in return, they get lower quality or grades goods.

In Australia you can drive a HONDA while at that budget you can only drive a WAJA in Malaysia.

In Malaysia, to best way to make money 1) syndicates 2) UMNO politics.

1) Syndicates – Sales and distribution of Pirated VCD & DVD
    Gambling, “Ah Long”, “Friendly Loan”, Drugs, Vice
    Activities in Major Hotels in KL & Penang.

2) UMNO politics – PGCC, State land Son in law (K’airy), monorail expansion – son (K’ludin), relatives, friends (Mat D), Scorpene sub & shukoi jet (jib), collapsed building & cracked bridge (samy), tolls & bridge tolls,

69. #69 by undergrad2 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:40 am

For those MPs who insist turning Parliament into a circus, they should be sent to do a course at a New York-based “Circus Amok” which addresses various political themes and social justice issues.

70. #70 by Damocles on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:57 am

“ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says: ”

Adam, please get ALL your thoughts together BEFORE posting!
    Don’t let it dribble out bit by bit like someone having urinary problems!
    Don’t keep us in suspense!
    It’ll be appreciated.

71. #71 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:05 am

Anwar elected top 100 by TIME.

Monday, Apr. 28, 2008
    Anwar Ibrahim
    By Paul Wolfowitz

During the 1990s, Malaysian Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim and a group of U.S. Senators organized a forum to exchange views among East Asians and Americans. Asked at one session about the role of Islam in politics, Anwar replied, “I have no use for governments which call themselves Islamic and then deny basic rights to half their population.”

This devout Muslim leader was an impressive and eloquent advocate of tolerance, democracy and human rights. So we were shocked by his arrest and trial in 1998 on charges of corruption and sodomy. I felt his real “crime” had been to challenge Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad, whose impressive record will be forever stained by his treatment of Anwar. I joined Senator Sam Nunn and others to speak out in Anwar’s defense. When he was finally released from prison in 2004, U.S. policy on Iraq was unpopular in Malaysia, and Anwar was harshly critical. It would have been easy for him to disown our friendship, but he is not that kind of person. He kept the channels of dialogue open, even while making clear our disagreements.

Anwar, 60, is back in the center of Malaysian politics. The coalition led by his wife Wan Azizah has become the main opposition bloc. His future role can be determined only by Malaysians. One can hope that they will embrace his brand of tolerance, valuing dialogue across political differences, and that this courageous leader will continue to play a leading role on the world stage.

Wolfowitz is a former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Defense

72. #72 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:20 am

YB Lim,

AAB will have no face if he followed what you wanted him to do i.e. list out top 10 priority, so he came out with 7 only (70 Marks out of 100 marks!!!) and made you felt let down!!! if for other PMs, they will come out with not just top 10 priority that you asked for, they will come out with top 20 priority or more!!!

73. #73 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:20 am

Well, since PL remain speechless stance, and jib is in trouble of Atlantuya case. Is there anyone within UMNO taking up the PM post? UMNO still will be around with all those funds amassed during their tenure since independent. Anwar is influential as he can pull and influence Malay to make the right vote.

74. #74 by sam_marine2005 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:30 am

YB LKS,
    What say u on Dr. Mahathir’s Blog

75. #75 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:37 am

dear damocles.

point noted. however, i was made to understand that long postings are subjected to ” awaiting moderation “, so to avoid such, i have to break up my comments.

as for keeping you in “suspense”. i am sorry.
    seriously, i dont think it will keep you ‘suspense’, as what i wrote is just as normal as any ordinary folk.
    thank you.

76. #76 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:42 am

/// Adam, please get ALL your thoughts together BEFORE posting!
    Don’t let it dribble out bit by bit like someone having urinary problems!
    Don’t keep us in suspense!
    It’ll be appreciated. ///

Good one, Damocles. But I am afraid Adam isn’t the only one suffering from this ailment. There are others with bigger bowel problems if you just glance through the posts on this topic alone.

The suspense is not just from the drippings and droppings. It is more like your Sword, Damocles, hanging… and not knowing when it is going to drop, or drip…

77. #77 by limkamput on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:47 am

Paul Wolfowitz was not just the former Deputy Secretary of Defence but also the controversial former Head of the World Bank who gave a lucrative job to his girl friend and forced to resign. I would prefer someone else writing about Anwar than him. All those stupid right wing Republicans! Of course the one and only “know all” about everything that is US may have the last say on this again.

78. #78 by limkamput on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 10:52 am

“This is why MPs should be made to attend a course at an acting school for MPs. The solution is not to ban live telecast of such proceedings.” undergrad2

Ya, you are right. Surely I don’t want all the good for nothing MPs (from both PK and BN) to become worse after attending your good for nothing MPs acting school.

79. #79 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:03 am

Please remember YM Raja Petra. of malaysia today. now the deputy prime minister may take legal actions against him for his posting on the poor murdered mogolian lady.

80. #80 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:06 am

They are not acting, they are frustrated becos ppl. refer them as circus, should they all sit and shuddap? we obviously don’t want a silenced parliament. Parliament is a place for outspoken leader, not for big foot to mate call.

81. #81 by nkeng11 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:08 am

Honestly after 50 years very few of our Malaysian so called “Leaders” can think and act as a Malaysian.

Either they are out to make a lot of money or they became a racist Malaysian.

Nowhere in the world can one compare with our UMNOputras, MCA dogs and MIC tambis.

Shame on all the LEADERS.

Either you change or be changed.

PhackLah.

82. #82 by Loh on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:10 am

The first reform should involve correcting the mindset of BN ministers to consider all Malaysians equal citizens. Stop comparing the economic and social situation between different ethnic groups, but decide on how the governemnt can assist the needy citizens without taking into the consideration of race or religion.

The second reform should involve making governemnt service neutral to political parties, race and religion.

The third reform should involve the implementation of article 136 which reads “All persons of whatever race in the same grade in the service of the Federation shall, subject to the terms and conditions of the employment, be treated impartially” true to its spirit including promotion. Since NEP, government Departments have changed the basis of promotion from seniority to meritocracy which were subject to abuse not just based on race and religion but also on cronyism. Had the intake into government service been based on merit, the quality of the staff are assured. Though promotion by seniority might not promote efficiency, but in the case of government services which should be involved in fair and correct implementation of policies, efficiency could be a trade off for ensuring that Article 136 is seen to be implemented, and that cronyism would eliminated. In any case, meritocracy system if not monitored properly could be manupulated by the so-called superiors who are put in the position to have their words counted. This is especially in the promotion of judges in the judiciary services. The Lingam tapes show convincing proofs.

The fourth reform should involve bringing back the system of tender awards implemented prior to TDM’s reign.

The fifth reform should involve the establishment of IPCMC fully according to the recommendations of the Royal Commission.

The sixth: Outlaw all political parties having party membership closed to any one particular race, or religion.

The seventh: Review and close all institutions, established after 1970, that have its primary objectives of promoting the interest of any particular race.

The eight: All government servants should not hold any official position in any political parties.

83. #83 by oknyua on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:16 am

YB Lim, the first 3 items, I supposed any PM worth his salt (salaries) would implement pre-emptive measures – and I do not suppose what our PM had done are anything but reformative.

If you look at item 1, it is in inversely against 2 and 3. How can you control food prices with announcement of corridors and corridors? “Mengkaji semula” item 2, is that reformative? – it another word for goofing – “sorry I goof.”

Item 3, “mengurangkan jurang” is a clear proof that our beloved PM had lost touch with the struggles of ordinary mortals down here. We are struggling with prices of goods in the wet market, fees for our children in schools and universities, daily reports of crimes… the focus of the people all this while, but PM’s priority had been on the mega, mega, mega projects. How would a mega project benefit the ordinary pa’cik? The result, PM knows too well, a mega-man and a pa’ cik competing for the mee rebus and ikan pangang. How is he going to reduce the prices of goods?

No, I don’t think items 1, 2, 3 are reformative.

84. #84 by Godfather on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:18 am

1. He didn’t say that he will stop the stealing.

2. He didn’t say that he will prosecute those caught stealing.

3. Even if he did say (1) and (2) above, no one in their right minds would ever believe him.

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

85. #85 by sotong on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:27 am

The government had lost its integrity and credibility to lead for the benefit of the ordinary people.

Any well/reasonably informed person would not trust them anymore.

86. #86 by novice101 on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:28 am

nkeng11, many of our leaders became racists because they are out to make a lot of money. To consolidate their positions, to hold on to their power, they have to become racits.

87. #87 by badak on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:33 am

I pity all those non malays who scored 7 A,s and above and yet can,t get help from the goverment.Yet those Malays who scored much less are getting help from the goverment and some G.L.C.

Yet in 2004 PAK LAH said he will be fair to everyone.CORRUPT FREE goverment he said . Tell me the truth he said. Don,t hide things from me ,he said.Yet pak lah,s goverment is the most corrupted.How can pak lah launch a project in Penang when no approval was given by the local council. Pak lah should step down before he is voted out during the next UMNO AGM.

88. #88 by Godfather on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:36 am

“Stupid right wing Republicans”….”your good for nothing MPs acting school”…..

The usual abrasive stuff from the Mr Know All of Kg Attap. Really smart chap, this bloke.

89. #89 by Godfather on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:37 am

When Badawi said that he “is fair”, and “will be fair”, he was referring to some skin product.

90. #90 by oknyua on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:39 am

YB Lim, I posted this heart-wrenching story somewhere after the Chinese New Year. A few friends called to say they wanted to visit me on Day 2, CNY and the only wet market opened was in a Malay Kampung, not very far from the infamous Port Klang Istana. My wife wanted to prepare curry chicken.

Arriving at the stall I saw one Malay lady picking up pieces of legs and necks of chicken, the parts of a chicken we normally throw away. The seller looked a little impatience, so, I asked the buyer;

“Kakak, itu untuk apa?” She didn’t reply as she foraged for more pieces of bony parts.

“Lagi?” asked the seller, eyeing the lady and then looking at me. She picked up the plastic bag and weighted it. “Dua ringgit setengah,” said the seller.

The Malay lady paid and slowly picked up her purchase and walked slowly away. It dawn upon me then that she was buying FOOD for her family. The food; the necks, feet, tips of the wings of chicken.

It took me a while to recover and this was happening in Selangor, Malaysia’s richest and most modern state. Of course I defend her rights to buy those chicken parts and there is no shame in that. But if this was in Selangor, think about the other states; Sabah, Sarawak, Kelantan, Trengganu etc. Where is that government-paid blog reader? Please see the concern we bloggers post here.

91. #91 by Godfather on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 11:40 am

He didn’t say anything about ISA, Hindraf and the freedom of speech.

His Police goons are interrogating RPK right now.

92. #92 by desmondlee on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:03 pm

10 Questions for 2008 First Parliament Session
    April 17th, 2008 by Chong Eng

Attention: All Concerned DAP Leaders and People’s Representatives

I find extremely difficult to differentiate what is the role or the coverage as far as the country’s law is concerned in the Malaysia Royal Police Force. I saw police has the absolute 100% rights in dealing with all sort of disorder right from ISA to all sort the commercial licensing offends like shop entertainment license, religious affairs and etc. I noticed arrogant road block officers that causing miles away traffic congestion that seems to them is not of their business even if you are in emergency.

I own two cyber cafe shops and I find that even police has the rights to confiscate Desktop PC over the matter of commercial licensing and posting his right to the owner that police duty in MPSP valid license inspection and online gambling screening spot check. The worst thing is these officers took the PC for months without giving us a committed date when will the case be cleared and return that few Desktop to the shop owner.

These people is not serve the people in an people friendly orientated manner but rather like a ‘legal uniformed gangster’ and giive aggressive order to customer depleting my business premises which make cyber café operator getting tougher to sustain the invested business.

I also find it state like Penang, Perak in the previous BN state government admistration; cyber cafe license cannot be issued without a given reason. Cyber cafe business is not a crime and all cyber cafes are not allowed to smoke or consume alcohol! I really hope with the People’s of Penang wanted to have a change and this will be seriously look into it.

My question is that …..

1) Does Royal Malaysian Police Force has all the rights to act on any law in the country including commercial license, religious and etc?

2) If the answer is YES then what is MPSP, religious affair officer is doing in Penang?

3) Should there be certain coverage for JPJ, MPSP and Police rather then police seems like own every laws in the country and they do anything as they like?

4) Who decide these functions for the police? The Barison Nasional government or the Parliament?

5) There is also law that is very grey and unclear like the tinted glass? Why the citizens is not allowed to have tinted glass or allow to be tinted at certain permissible lightness and the government cars are all as black as the crow?

Can these be chaired in Parliament and bring up the concerned from the people.

Mr. P. Ramasamy & Mr. Lim Guan Eng,

I hope this can be tabled in the parliament and make a clear definition to the people where is the coverage of the police, JPJ, and the Penang MPSP.

Desmond (019 4485495)

Area: Penang, Batu Kawan (Parliament) & Penang, Sungai Bakap (State)

93. #93 by darcwil on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:03 pm

so many emotional comments about abdullah. some doesnt seem to be relevant, but sure everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

I guess it’s so easy for us to blame pak lah for every single thing that is going wrong in malaysia. But he’s not going to read all these anyway, so that should keep him focussed to getting BN back together. He still deserves a chance in my opinion.

94. #94 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

“correcting the mindset of BN ministers to consider all Malaysians equal citizens” UMNO is kind already, if it’s Iraq, some of these ethnic who oppose the ruling govt. will be buried in mass grave, in Cambodia remember Pol Pot? how many opposition, and its relatives were shot and buried. All non Malay should be thankful to them, becos they consider tis is their land, the petrol, and everything. And they are getting more and more arrogant each day they hold the 2/3 majority. When it reaches a boiling point, a big political tsunami, act of god, to remove their 2/3 majority.

95. #95 by lakilompat on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:12 pm

Why is tat stupid Proton so expensive? who is the malay man who enrish their pocket at the expense of all Malaysian who bought national car. Why certain Malay benefit at the expense of all Malaysian who ended up paying higher premium? our Proton car is more expensive than Honda? this is a joke? govt. is a liar.

96. #96 by Cinapek on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:13 pm

YB Kit,

He could only come out with seven because he has to start his globetrotting activities again. He is in Kuwait now. Even Rais Yatim has tried to advise him to delegate some of the less important overseas trip to Najib or other ministers. But Rais was realistic when he added a caveat “…of course it is up to the PM to decide…” meaning he knows his boss loves to travel and enjoys the attention he receives as a PM visiting.

The other reason is he learned his lesson. In 2004 he promised too much and delivered nothing. This time around he is playing safe by promising less and hope to deliver at least one promise, which would be a huge improvement.

If he really has the welfare of the rakyat at heart, he should start with the local councils. The actions (or the lack of it) affects the daily lives of the people. At the root of the problem is the politically appointed local councillors whose priorities are to please their political masters and not the people. Pak Lah, reinstate local council elections immediately and half your problems will be over. The people will make sure, just as they did on March 8, that only those who can deliver gets elected. Why, they will even help you to get rid of politicians who have overstayed that you cannot get rid of. Once the local govts deliver, the rakyat will have a good perception of the Govt. and you can try to claim credit for this. Gone will be the endemic corruptions in the local councils, the scandalous “lawatan sambil belajar” overseas trips, quick repairs of potholed roads, regular and prompt rubbish collections, well lit roads to prevent snatch thefts and robberies and the other local problems bugging our daily lives.

97. #97 by cheng on soo on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:42 pm

Just wonder how long he need to do this 7 priority reform measures, or if these measures will ever be materialized

98. #98 by kingkenny on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 12:48 pm

For reform “keempat dan kelima”:

AA Bodohwi,

I wonder how long this ‘2’ reforms would take you to implement. 4 years? 8 years? Are kidding? I don’t think that should even be in your reform list after your first term!!!

Guys, he is still at it! Talking rubbish again. Maybe he want to make up for lost time (due to sleep)! He is a dumb PM!

To lower crime: it is obvious that corruption is the main hindrance to the police force. If our top cops have even a bit or 30% integrity, crime “should” be lower. There is not enough empowerment to the junior ranks cops, any criminals they caught are referred to the seniors, who will then broker for truce or “deals” to settle the case with the criminal. The bloody criminal comes out & do it again! Simple as that. If our junior cops were given power to at least press charges and make an immediate report based on eveidence, it could help the Rakyat immensely. And if the seniors would reverse the charges, it must be reported and documented! They will then have to give an account of their actions to any commissions in power! Maybe Parliament too!

And it is also well known that our cops are “very sadly” low paid compared to others in the region. I have a suggestion, that the government should form some sort of monthly monetary reward based on merit, case solving abilities, charges pressed, criminals jailed & etc., also night shifts allowance & faster promotions!!

The government should also discuss, form and device a better compensation through insurance or likewise. Just like how the banks insure their money with the insurance people. That is why many insurance men form some of the world’s largest monetary body in the world!!!

Corruption: As I said, empower more junior to middle rank officer, whether police force or ministries to carry out justice and honest practice. We can be sure that not all of them are corrupted and stinks! If they are empowered to speak up against their boss without FEAR of RETRIBUTION, don’t you think that this corruption menace could be much much much lower???!!!

99. #99 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 1:01 pm

Dear Godfather.

spoken to marina , and it seems that Ym raja petra have to be at the commercial crime office ( somewhere near bank negara ) tomorrow at 11 am. what has commercial crime gotta do with his posting on the murder of the poor mongolian girl. are you with ym now?
    thank you.

100. #100 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 1:14 pm

Adam – it is from the Cyber Crime Division, not commercial crime…

/// At 9.00am today, seven police officers from the Cyber Crime Division, Bukit Aman, went to Raja Petra’s house to confiscate his PC and notebook computer. They left at 11.00am after issuing Raja Petra a notice to report to Bukit Aman at 11.00am tomorrow, Saturday, 3 May 2008. ///

101. #101 by ilovedap on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 2:26 pm

Why arrest Raja Petra? Oh God. What happen to this country again?

102. #102 by taiking on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 3:04 pm

WO WO WO. HOLD IT EVERYONE.

Parliamentery debates are suppose to be hot arent they.

Look at this forum.

Even without face to face encounter (i.e. without real-time audio and visual effect and response) the discussion can still heat up.

What more when one is arguing about critical and important national issues with those who have lost the ability to listen.

Now let us not forget. Parliamentary debates were never telecast live in this country. No doubt, parliament is physically assessible to the public, the effect in terms of info dissemination is less far reaching when compared to telecasting its proceedings.

But it never was telecast live before. So the proceedings have turned into something akin to a closed-door assembly – where one can say anything and misbehave in any way without the fear of suffering embarrassment and public scrutiny.

Keep it open man.

I am sure our parliamentarians will learn to behave.

I have faith in them.

Dont you pak lah?

If you dont’ then something somewhere is wrong or has gone wrong.

103. #103 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 3:40 pm

Yang Berhormat Lim Kit Siang.
    Yang Berusaha Ms. Moderator.

There are always exciting exhanges of comments and counter comments by many of us in blog.limkitsiang. And although each have different opinions, most are great comments.

Nevertheless, in view of the sensitiivity of certain words, and “play of words’ in relation to any persons’ name, i feel it is still best that we should refrain and avoid such words in this blog.

Even YB Lim, has always addressed the YAB Perdana Menteri with his title as Dato Seri. in blog or even in Parliament.

If we claim to love YB LIM, as we all so claim, it is imperative that YB lim, may not suffer consequences of legal actions of defamation, and or sedition , and or police investigation.

The political tsunami of march 8 th would be visited by further watching over bloggers , in particular political posting. My stand is still best be decided at the ballot box. And, hopefully, asterixs or other forms of names for any leaders be abstained. Lest, i may be misunderstood, i enjoy the writings of undergrad2 and limkamput more than anyone calling the premier uncouth names.

He is still the Prime Minister of Malaysia, and so are many x ministers or leaders. I am as guilty as many to be upset , bUT, the signs are out there. and i dont want to be a victim of ISA, neither do i want YB LIM to be another. or anyone of us here.

Ms.Moderator, i am very sure you do understand the issue.
    YM Raja Petra is called to be investigated for possible sedition.!!!!

thank you.

104. #104 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 3:55 pm

Why AAB wanted to stop the live telecast of Parliament sitting?
    Is he afraid of letting the rakyat know the Truth nothing but the Truth!!! I would say, let those monkies show their true colours that they are good for nothing but wasting the taxpayers’ money in the parliament!!! let the rakyat be exposed and unsensitised by debates in the parliament and they will grow up and face the reality, instead of thinking that every thing is fine and rosy in Malaysia!!!

105. #105 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 9:30 pm

Dear Wrathofgrapes.

thanks for the correction. the line was not clear and i was just informed by marina near bank negara. and on the line was with malaysiakini mate of mine.

its nice that we cooperate to improve each other for a common goal.

106. #106 by darcwil on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 1:25 am

adam, i agree with your disclaimer. Come on, we are all malaysians supposed to be proud of our sopan-santun-ness. If this is the way we show our respect to our leaders, we are no different to the MPs who name-call each other in the parliament. Shame on us!

Stop this silly and irresponsible name-calling of abdullah!

107. #107 by lopez on Saturday, 3 May 2008 - 2:44 pm

Enrich thy self before others while you still have the chance, but do it pandai pandai.
    b4 it is too late.

108. #108 by VoteDAP on Sunday, 4 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

I don’t even bother to read what the oldman answered. “Easier said than done” and he is not even good in “saying”. God bless Malaysia if we continue to have his administration.

109. #109 by lakilompat on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 9:24 am

“PL percaya bahawa Kerajaan yang dia pimpin ini tidaklah bersifat jumud.

Dia percaya pada anak dan anak in law lebih dari sesiapa pun yang hidup di bumi ini.

“PL yakin bahawa Kerajaan pimpinan dia akan terus bersedia untuk menjiwai hasrat rakyat”

Hasrat apa? semua harga barang sudah naik, siapakah yang susah sekarang?

“serta menangani isu-isu yang menjadi bebanan serta menimbulkan kegusaran rakyat.”

Diamlah, si penipu PL ni, harga harga barang semua sudah naik, rakyat sekarang hidup dalam delita, orang miskin menjadi lagi miskin kerana makanan asas dah naik berpuluh ganda, orang karya semua jadi outlaw boleh bunuh, boleh curi, boleh culik, boleh rogol, boleh buat apa apa jua.

110. #110 by lakilompat on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 9:25 am

Si pembohong ni bila nak turun?

111. #111 by ktteokt on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:58 pm

Promises! Promises! Promises! Nothing but empty promises!!!!