Judicial renaissance – start with retirement of judges who deliver “cut-n-paste” judgments or those written by others

Let the annual conference of judges this year, held after the March 8 “political tsunami”, be really different from the annual conferences of judges in the past two decades – when the judiciary except for a very brief period was smothered by a cloud of denial that it had increasingly lost national and international confidence in its independence, integrity and competence with one judicial crisis after another.

The most infamous Judges’ Conference was the one held in Kuching in March 1996 where the then Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah shocked Malaysians with the revelation of a 33-page poison-pen letter which made 112 allegations of corruption, abuses of power and misconduct against 12 judges, together with his directive to the police to launch investigations to “ferret out” and “bring to justice” the “conspirators” and “brutish beasts” so as to strike “at the venomous elements who are out to discredit the judiciary and subvert justice in our beloved country”.

Four months later, Mohtar Abdullah announced the close of the case when he revealed that a high court judge was the one behind the 33-page poison-pen letter against the judiciary and that the judge concerned had resigned.

The judge was then High Court Judge Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid Syed Abdullah Idid, who became a victim to a Malaysian system of justice which was completely bereft of the most rudimentary concept of justice.

Syed Ahmad Idid came out of the woodworks more than a decade later, to reveal that his allegations were never really investigated.

In contrast to the infamous 1996 Conference of Judges, let the 2008 Conference of Judges be remembered in history as one which marked the start of the judicial renaissance – the call of the Regent of Perak, Raja Dr. Nazrin Shah in his key-note opening address at the conference yesterday.

After two-decades “judicial darkness”, there are many things crying out to be done to start the “judicial renaissance”, in particular:

• A just and proper closure to the 1988 judicial crisis over the sacking of Tun Salleh Abas as Lord President and Datuk George Seah and the late Tan Sri Wan Sulaiman Pawanteh as Supreme Court judges;

• Constitutional amendment to restore the doctrine of the separation of powers by reinstating the inherent judicial powers of the judiciary as entrenched in the Merdeka Constitution but which was taken away in a constitutional amendment in 1988.

• A Judicial Appointment and Promotions Commission.

There can be a faster start to the “judicial renaissance” with the retirement of judges guilty of misconduct such as not delivering judgments, giving “cut-and-paste judgments” or delivering judgments written by others.

This is a consensus which the ongoing Judges Conference can reach at the end of its three-day conference to demonstrate the commitment of the serving judges to a judicial renaissance as a direct result of the March 8 “political tsunami”, where Malaysians have spoken loud and clear for institutional reforms, including the judiciary.

1. #1 by merdeka on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 1:58 pm

YB Lim,

Until the day Pakatan Rakyat form new govt, basically the so called “Judicial Renaissance” is mere LIP SERVICE !!!!!!!!!!!!

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 2:09 pm

the Gomen is spending RM5.8 Bil of our money to build 23,000 units of Gomen quarters for Gomen staff. We, the Taxpayer, must fork out RM5.8 Bill so that these same Gomen staff can live in super luxury housing in Putrajaya.

23,000 houses = RM5,800,000,000. This means the average cost of each Gomen quarters = RM 5,800,000,000 / 23,000 = RM252,173.00 per apartment…

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5762/84/

3. #3 by BlackEye on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 2:24 pm

“…..the retirement of judges guilty of misconduct such as not delivering judgments, giving “cut-and-paste judgments” or delivering judgments written by others.” Kit

What of the lawyer who writes judgments for a certain since-retired-judge? Shouldn’t he be elevated to the status of judge?

4. #4 by ngahc on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 2:48 pm

In Malaysia, rakyat do not have high regard for judges. The perceived low status of judges in society is mainly due to the followings:

1) Chief judges could be fired by Prime Minister as happened in 1988. Therefore, CJ has to kowtow to PM. Judges are politically correct rather than upholding justice.

2) Incompetency of some judges – no written judgements?

3) CJ and lawyer travelled together.

4) Some VIPs got scot free from crimical charges. Rakyat doubt about the judgment…

5. #5 by novice101 on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 2:49 pm

From the cautious statements (e.g ‘ultimately it is a policy decision for the government”) made by the CJ, it looks like the judges’ conference this year won’t be much different from those of the past 20 years, unless the speech by the Regent of Perak has given the CJ some insight and has emboldened him!

6. #6 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 3:08 pm

THERE are good judges and not so good judges , in similar note, there are good lawyers and ROTTEN LAWYERS.

Judges must have law degree and legal background.
    Most cases, JC are promoted from the AG office or those working in legal firms ? right ?

While we harp on the Judiciary and so called Renaissance , may the Bar Counsel and especially the LEMBAGA TATATERTIB PEGUAM at wisma maran please buck up too.

Care to check how many complains were made to the Disciplinary Board ?
    the procedures for lodging an official complain is equally like making a police report and worst.

the complaint must be under oath and one gotta pay RM50.00, was in 2006, for the lodge. imagine those who are rip off by the learned lawyers are illiterate. I was once at wisma maran, and there was these poor indian man , who had wrote in to complain for four years, but no reply from the ASDB.

next, the queue number may take years, and depending whether the firm is large or just a lawyer plus an associate.

next, the lawyer are given priviledge , to respond and the right not to respond.

come to the hearing date, one would expect some fair hearing, but hei, you need another lawyer to attend to protect one’s right.

I had one lawyer who requested panelship from a leading bank, and when i was not helping her , she discharged herself. BUT, I did file affidavits and not agreeing to the discharge. Imagine, the registrar, could only say, “well, since she has lost interest, it is in my interest to engage another lawyer”. Cost borne by her.

MANY LAWYERS , MAKE A MOCKERY OF THEIR PROFESSION.
    there was another lawyer, who would assist the client, being developer, to fraud purchasers .and when deals goes wrong, the S&P is merely waste paper. get another lawyer to sue.

I DOUBT THE LEGAL PROFESSION IS AS CLEAR AND CLEAN AS THE MEDICAL CODE OF CONDUCTS AND ECTHICS.

7. #7 by alistaire on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 3:15 pm

I agree with Adam Yong.

Being someone in this line of work, I agree that the Bar Council should do less talking and more action. Right now its commenting on things not within its place, such as the voting age and, much to the chagrin of Selangor residents (myself included) the status of foreign workers and illegal squatters!

As for judges, indeed there is the “cut and paste” problem and it is very widespread. Read any Malaysian court judgment and you find long lines of quotes from UK or judgments of other common law jurisdictions and mere applying point blank the perceived law without any creativity involved.

8. #8 by allasstra on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 3:43 pm

9 officers !

9. #9 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 3:50 pm

BTW, Has the Bar Counsel and ASDB initiated hearing proceeding against the famous judge fixing lawyer ?
    IF NO ? WHEN
    IF YES ? OSA . cannot disclose. !!members only.

10. #10 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:02 pm

Kit,
    I will go one step further. Yes, these cut and paste judges must go but what about the AG and the IGP.
    This is one complete link that functions to ensure we have a judicial system with integrity.
    The IGP can close files at his whim or the AG can choose to put up a half hearted prosecution against preferred individuals.
    So, a complete overhaul is called for. The AG and the IGP too must go.

11. #11 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:40 pm

12. #12 by BlackEye on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:40 pm

The AG prosecutes cases and the IGP is in charge of law enforcement but judges preside over cases. The AG and IGP are part of the executive branch but judges make up the judiciary which is the third pillar of government. Without an independent judiciary the executive is left to its own excesses.

The priority therefore is clear.

13. #13 by john yap on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:41 pm

Uncle Kit,
    Pakatan rakyat intend to table a no confidence motion to Abdullah at Parliment. This is not wisely and it might cause the government and country in not stable. Why Pakatan can’t wait for next general election? This already humiliate the wisdom of the voters. If the motion really pass, the opponent sure make trouble. Especially next month is a sensitive month. DAP should think wisely about this.

14. #14 by Rockit on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:45 pm

Now what we need is to wait for the out come of the V.K Lingam case. Let see what the RC verdicts are?.Let grant them another two weeks,it make not diffrent.Let people be the Judge now.

15. #15 by sleepless sleep on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:51 pm

Dear YB,

Your comments have at the right time in the sense the judiciary (as well as the whole nation) is at a crossroad. Despite various calls for refrom from the opposition and recently from the Perak Regent, the BN is unlikely to do much.

The party that is going to be the most disadvantaged from a fiercely independent and just judiciary is the ruling party. Serious and true reform , i believe are unlikley to happen despite the recent political tsunami.

A full change of the Federal Goverment is the only way true reforms can take place in the judiciary and other instituitions that are supposed to safeguard civil leberties.

16. #16 by Killer on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 4:58 pm

I tend to agree with Adam Yong and alistaire….

Bar Council seems to be issuing statements and expressing their opinion on issues that are not even remotely connected to their profession.

An overhaul and clean up should also apply to Bar Council as the quality and the performance of Malaysian legal profession has declined in the last several years. It seems to be that every other person is studying to be a lawyer these days and this has contributed to poor quality of lawyers.

Bar Council should rein in the rogue, dishonest and sub standard
    lawyers.

Talking about CAP (Cut And Paste) judges, I think this particular disease is not limited to the judiciary but a reflection of a larger problem that afflicting our society.

In the age of YouTube, Facebook, MySpace, MTV and Google, old fashioned traits such as patience, quest for knowledge, wisdom, analytical skills,original thinking and hard work have become uncool and unfashionable.

Just look at our youths and graduates now, they go to college, university or working place not to contribute or benefit intellectually but to socialise and enjoy. Respect for and commitment to their profession /education is nil.

17. #17 by Killer on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:16 pm

PENANG, April 9 — PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang yesterday admitted that the People’s Alliance was trying to persuade Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament to join the alliance so that it can form the federal government but wanted the effort to be free of money politics.

“We hope the BN MPs will join on their own free will,” he told reporters after paying a visit to Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng at the latter’s office.

The alliance, consisting of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), DAP and PAS, won 82 of the 222 Parliament seats in the March 8 general election. It needs a minimum of 30 BN MPs to cross-over to have a simple majority in the Dewan Rakyat. The BN won 140 seats.

Asked when the alliance expected to realise the goal, Hadi said he could not say for sure.

“It might be earlier than six months, maybe longer. Man proposes but God disposes,” he said when asked to comment on remarks by Penang Deputy Chief Minister 1 Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin that the alliance would oust the BN government in the next five or six months. — Bernama

Kit :
    This is not just a slap but a brutal rape of the lady Democracy. How can PR claim to fight for democracy on one hand and on the other hand conduct such an illegal, unethical and totally undemocratic campaign to “persuade” the BN MPs to join PR?

It goes without saying that some sort of “incentives”, monetary, positions or others have to be exchanged for such party-hopping.

If PR assumes power through such means, for all intents and purposes it would be an insult to the rakyat and an illegal act of power grap.

Imagine the damage it would cause to the image of DAP and the nation in the eyes of rakyat and the world.

18. #18 by gofortruth on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:23 pm

We will know the sincerity of the BN gomen in cleanin up this judiciary mess by the RC report on Lingam. Remember in the eyes of the public, this is very much a BN controlled RC.
    All eyes on Lingam!

19. #19 by pkrisnin on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:32 pm

Killer face facts, DAP or PR does not have enough seats to do anything in the gov. If getting BN MPs to jump is the only then so be it. There’s is nothing illegal about it. BN did it in Sabah. Let PR take over the gov. then do all the rules they want.

20. #20 by strupper2003 on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:34 pm

Msians,

The reforms is a direct result of u voting for the opposition. U hv kicked the BN govt into action.

21. #21 by kickbutt on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:39 pm

“Pakatan rakyat intend to table a no confidence motion to Abdullah at Parliment. This is not wisely and it might cause the government and country in not stable. ”

You’re living in a democracy. If the head of the executive branch has lost the confidence of his own party and also that of the majority of the legislators, the common sense thing to do is to get him replaced by someone who has. It will be more unstable to allow the situation to continue. It is not as if the country will be without a Prime Minister.

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 8:05 pm

YB LIM.

Another institution that needs a total overhaul and revamp is the attorney general office. to charge or not to charge even in corruption cases are refered to the AG chambers.

And looking at who are charged with corruptions, it appears that the AG practice selective prosecution and persecution.

And most of the DPPs are contract employee , so the morale of the Dpps at the AG chamber is questionable. remember how the AG changed the lead prosecutor the eleventh hour into the trail of the Mongolian beauty.

23. #23 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 8:07 pm

YB Lim.

If you want more lead and abuse of power at the AG office, i am prepared to forward to your good office, a senior DPP, hiring a chauffer for a promoted high court judge.

24. #24 by allasstra on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 8:11 pm

for all those of you who had shouted for AAB to step down, please hold on a moment and take a look at the org chart,…and see who’s is in line. can you say that there’s a better candidate than him ?

honestly, i like AAB. i have lots of long,soft and beautiful hair, and i would like to be represented by some1 with good hair……and not some semi-bald-headed,pot bellied middle aged man.

and personal feelings aside, i can really felt the grip of .gov tyrany loosening up, altough much more could be desired….

thanks to him, we had early election, a little improvement in SPR, some net neutrality, little bit more press freedom,

i dont know if any you of felt it or not,but it is almost impossible to see r-kit getting onto mainstream tv/media pre-04 era.

and so far i have not seen a single .url that has been blocked,unlike other “nation”.

and now to ppl who has so much fuss on the lingam tape and this “crtl-c,crtl-v” judges, i dont really see this how emphasising on theese issues could really have an impact on the AVERAGE r-beng and r-lien on the street.

the lingam tape is a by-gone issue, has already happened a long-long time ago.

the retired judges,as stated in the title of this article, has already RETIRED !!!

yes,they should be delt and held accountable, but there’s more pressing issues at hand…..the issues that indeed have an impact on average r-beng/r-lien like me…

for example, how about reviewing the “jugdement” of those judge that has been found to be “crtl-c/-v” cases ?

how about our current labour laws ? the current labour law has failed to really protect the workers from abusive employer, un-fair overtime rate, and even job opportunities due to the loop-hole in immigraton related laws.

how about a review on the current immigration laws, if there’s still such a thing. a sunday cruise around penang for example, will make one feels like being in indonesia. the street are filled with hoards of indonesians, and we ask ourself why the job opportunity are diminishing…

how about protection from the evil coporates ?
    are we getting a fair deal from theese greedy blood suckers ? one good example being the ISP. when ever we sign up for a package,there’s always an asterisk* disclaiming thier responsibility to provide the service as advertised…..all due to thier [on a best effort basis] and there’s nothing we can do about it….

*—not sure i spelled asterisk correctly, what an irony

they even go as far as selling your personal information to the 3rd parties.

fron the sell.com sign-up form, clause 16:

[ By signing our application form, you have given us your consent to use your personal information for lawful purposes, including but not limited to, providing assistance to law enforcement or other government agencies, TO OUR RESEARCH COMPANIES, FOR JOINT PROMOTIONAL ACTIVITIES, for managing bad debt and preventing fraud. You also authorize us to SHARE our customer database with our RELATED AND ASSOCIATED companies, corporate shareholders, THIRD PARTIES and/or relevant authorities for the provision of integrated or related services, Celcom marketing programs, and/or towards the detection and prevention of crime in the manner specified in our privacy policy posted on our official website at http://www.celcom.com.my as amended from time to time.]

to verify yourself,go to :

h??p://www.celcom.com.my/cep/xresources/CelcomCORP/consumer/postpaid/tnc/tnc.html.

i mean,how could any1 let them get this far ?

that brings me to the question, what are judicial reform/renaisance going to do to protect our private infos, and are those issues less important due to the fact it only concerns low income r-beng like me ?

renaisance are the process of improving the current condition for a better tommorow,…not digging up dead issue for a re-autopsies.

i hope DAP and it”s coalition consult thier doctors frequently to see what’s wrong rather than wait for a team of C.S.I to come and perform thier thing, cos by then, it’s too late….

by the way, C.S.I are already in the other camp……the navy-blue one… :-p

25. #25 by Damocles on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 8:15 pm

“Kit :
    This is not just a slap but a brutal rape of the lady Democracy. How can PR claim to fight for democracy on one hand and on the other hand conduct such an illegal, unethical and totally undemocratic campaign to “persuade” the BN MPs to join PR?” – Killer

I think that we may not have the luxury of waiting for the next GE.
    The longer we wait, the deeper we sink into the quagmire of BN rule.
    Remember that everything is fair in war & politics!

26. #26 by showsomemercy on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 8:52 pm

Wow… I thought only university students cut and paste! Judge also cut and paste? Shame on you!

Cut and paste the out come will become:- Corek, Corek, Corek!

27. #27 by dap-for-pj on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 9:22 pm

For those of you who wants AAB out of the way. Just think of the consequence if this happens in the next months or so, who will take over him? There maybe GREATER evils in the current stocks of hopefuls/wanna-be’s in UMNO. We may end up with a paralysed half government if none of them can gain enough majority control of the government machinery. Its better for PR to spent sometime learning the ways and means of a clean and efficient government while waiting to take over in the next election. To be a government in waiting is better than to fumble on the first step and be doomed for life.

28. #28 by alistaire on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 9:24 pm

The Bar Council should not think that just because they always criticise the BN they are in the right. Many are angry with their urge on the current Selangor Government not to use the Essential (Clearance of Squatters) Regulations 1969. Fight against the ISA for sure, but here is a law the people actually want the government to use and they tell the government not to use it.

As such someone should organise a “Bar Council should just shut up and do its job” rally. I’ll happily join.

I sympathise with Damocles position on the PR planning to seize control of the Federal Government. Already Muhd Muhd Taib is acting the gangster by threatening village heads to quit and getting them under the Federal Government, totally disrespecting and bypassing the Federal structure we have in this country.

No where in the world except for Malaysia do people get punished for exercising their democratic right to change their government.

No reforms be they at the judiciary or any other branch of government will be meaningful unless we have a change of government at the Federal level. There is just so much wrong to righted and PR should be given an opportunity to stop the rot now!

29. #29 by joehancl on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 9:30 pm

The horrors and sufferings as a consequence of the manipulation of the judiciary by mahathir can NEVER be over exaggerated. The anguish of the poor housewife whose husband died was not allowed to bury him because Syariah law is twisted to fit the occasion. This is only one example of the consequences flowing directly or indirectly of his action. Emboldened judges became mini gods if not GOD. The curse is on mahathir no matter how you judge.

30. #30 by kickbutt on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 11:33 pm

Don’t forget the Mother of all Gods who is waiting in the wings for his day to come. When it comes it is nothing less than Judgment Day for many who are waiting for their cases to be heard.

31. #31 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 11:42 pm

Can someone find out who got the contract to build 23,000 unit of apartment/houses at a cost of $253,000 per unit. At the price I can build a bungalow .So who is beneficiary of this contract.There is no doubt the lucky contractor will reap at least 50% profit or $2.8 billion.Looks like B.n is back to their old ways again. Business as usual.

32. #32 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 12:11 am

I consider the collapse and the bastardization of the judiciary much worse than the swindling in the PKFZ! The later participants were and are crooks, we all knew; whereas the former actually killed the very soul of the country, coming from a bunch we took for granted all our life!
    Those named by the judge who was forced to resigned should be publicly queried by a Royal Commission with the Raja Nazrin in the Chair. AAB, don’t say heaven never gave you a chance to prove that you are man enough to do at least a good turn for the country just before you go!!

33. #33 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 1:32 am

I agree with damocles and all those like-minded bloggers.

Can we wait another 5 years ,the way BN is now behaving despite being given a clear message by the Rakyat?

I cannot, in my wildest dream ,imagine what will happen to our country if BN is allowed to govern another 5 years.

Do you honestly think that UMNO can be reformed to be a party doing good for the Rakyat?

If UMNO cannot be reformed, BN and the federal govt. cannot be reformed because UMNO call the shots in BN.

Although, I am generally in principle not quite agreeable to have PR form the federal govt. with cross-over MPs, given the extraordinary circumstances, I feel that PR now has to form the federal government as soon as possible with or without cross-over MPs.

If we let BN continue another 5 years, they will use all resources at their disposal to try to kill off PR – I do not have to elaborate on this, you can imagine all options available to them.It is just a matter of whether they have the “Mahatir” guts to do it.

I doubt BN has the sincerity to carry out genuine reforms that our country so urgently needs.

Only PR can and will do it!!!!!

Extraordinary times demand extraordinary actions!!!!

34. #34 by kickbutt on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 5:59 am

I don’t kill flies but I like to mess with their minds. I hold them above globes. They freak out and yell, ‘Whoa, I’m way too high!’
    -Bruce Baum

35. #35 by dap-for-pj on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:12 am

Only uncle kit can honestly tell us, do PR have the resources, capability and competencies and preparedness to form the Federal Government? If yes, you have my support. However, we don’t want jumping frogs in the government, they will do the same thing to you the next time BN turns around.

36. #36 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:12 am

MALAYSIAKINI REPORTED:

1. Abdullah Badawi reported that the issue of the government APOLOGISING TO TUN SALLEH DOES NOT ARISE.

2. AG said that the case against Yab Tun IS CLOSED , till fresh evidence is provided.

BN -the federal government had not listened to the raayat, and will not listen to the raayat.!!!

Senator Zaid Ibrahim – should resign as de facto law minister and return to Zaid & co.

MENANG ATAU MATI COMMENTS MADE SENSE.
    in politics and wars, one can never underestimate the enemies and what they will do NEXT. Extraordinary times demand extraordinary actions.

Even YAB LIM GUAN ENG, has stated that he maybe arrested for his remarks on NEP.

Any pro Pakatan Raayat may be consider a threat to National Interest and branded a terrorist.

37. #37 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:16 am

dap -for-pj.

Sir, if you dont try you will never know.

if we can accept that DSAI is a changed man, maybe the kataks will be changed after the formation of PR government and the passing of the law of “ANTI KATAKing” ( no such word anyway ). sorry – anti hopping.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:46 am

If PKR/PAS of Pakatan Rakyat plays this game of using crossovers to pass sucessfully a vote of no confidence on the Prime Minister and his cabinet, what happens?

Article 43(4) of Federal Constitution stipulates that “If the Prime Minister ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives, then, unless at his request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament, the Prime Minister shall tender the resignation of the Cabinet.”

This means that the Prime Minister could request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to dissolve Parliament and because Article 55(4) of the Federal Constitution stipulates that “whenever Parliament is dissolved a general election shall be held within sixty days from the date of the dissolution” we will be cionfronted with another general election – the 13th (Badawi’s lucky number!) shortly after the 12th on 8th March.

The message from Pakatan Rakyat to Rakyat will clearly be : “We’re not waiting for the General Election to be called by the Prime Minister in the ordinary course of convention within the next 5 years; we’re not inclined to show you how we could run the 5 state governments controlled by us up to next 5 years; we want to take over the federal government now……”

Leaving aside the issue whether this backdoor attrempt to take over the government vis no confidence motion backed by crossovers serves or undermines, in principle, the Cause of Democracy, Other Questions to be raised are:-

1. are Pakatan Rakyat coalition parties sure that in this 13th General Election they will do far better than the 12th GE on 8th March 2008? What happens if Opposition parties don’t do better, or wors still, do worse than March 8th and BN still get more than 51% majority in 13th GE???

2. if Pakatan Rakyat coalition parties get slim majority to form next government and instal Anwar, what is there to stop BN to play the same game of enticing crossovers from Pakatan Rakyat and usher another – the 14th General Election – by the end of 2008, and this game keep on being played to and fro, ad infinitum?

There will be no political stability in the country – because of this new game of buying or enticing crossovers to repeatedly change government! Yes BN also bought cross overs in the past, so is it tit for tat now???

It is not so simple then and now are different. Now the BN and PR are neck to neck, neither having very clear majority to buffer crossovers from precipitating a motion of no confidence and change of government!

You can kiss goodbye to foreign investors – even domestic ones. Who can deal with a government that changes every six months depending on the vagaries of crossovers? And we’re having all this instability amid a looming economic malestorm on the international front???

There is a further asumption that against backdrop of such tactics, BN will not try to stem this kind of “new politics” by invoking ISA or some mischeivous elements will not capitalise on the fluid situtation to instigate riot like May 13 for their own agenda!

Sorry for being out of topic but this important issue has been raised and commented upon by serveral posters here.

Where do you YB Kit – and DAP – stand on this issue that your partners PKR and PAS are instigating???

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:58 am

Apologise for several typos/mis-spellings – “….backdoor ATTEMPT to take over the government VIS-À-VIS no confidence motion…” and”, “worse still”, “maelstrom”, “assumption”, “mischievous” “situation” and “several”.

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:17 am

YB Kit,

I think you have to respond to Tun Dr Mahathir’s allegations against you, Karpal and DAP published on page 57 of today’s The Star – under “A political Mystery is finally solved”..

TDM alleges: There is “pakat” (conspiracy) involving DAP and PM Abdullah Badawi; that DAP is friendly with PM, won’t criticize PM, Karpal would criticize TDM instead – why, because (the gist of it as I understand what TDM is saying) you’re using PM’s continuance and ineptness to buttress Opposition gains, as happened in last election. What is insidious is TDM’s statement that “Certainly Opposition Parties knew that Malays, including UMNO members, were strongly critical (read: opposed) of Datuk Seri Abdullah…”

Kit – he is playing racial card by trying to whip up Malay support against the PM by imputing that DAP (which Malays are generally not inclined to support) is “pakat” with the PM.

I think you need to give a strong response to TDM’s making this kind of racial appeal for his agenda against the PM!

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:27 am

Today’s The Star also featured Anwar Ibrahim saying that “the Opposition will not table a motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister in Parliament becuase it is not neccesary or critical at this point of time…..”

Fine : what about the cross overs if they are canvassed by PKR/PAS? What is the position if Pakatan Rakyat canvasses crossovers, BN in minority in Parliament, yet no motion of no confidence, with this no-confidence motion or threat thereof hanging at all time like axe or guillotine over BN’s head waiting for “the critical time” as Anwar said, critical being defined and determined by him & Pakatan Rakyat? Situation (of political stability or absence thereof) hasn’t really changed with Anwar’s public assurances, and will TDM further say Anwar (besides DAP) is in ‘pakat’ to prop up our PM as a puppet to do Opposition’s biddings, now that the “axe” is ever hanging over his head? TDM will have a field say since his opening salvos in Today’s Star against DAP!

42. #42 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:28 am

Jeffrey:

You say that if there are sufficient cross-overs to Pakatan to form the federal government, then Badawi will have the option to resign with his entire cabinet, or ask the Agong to dissolve Parliament and call for fresh elections. The only reason why Badawi would call for fresh elections would be if he (and the 4th floor) think that they can do better than the March elections or if they want to use this as an opportunity to destabilise Bolehland.

Surely then our hopes will rest with the Agong to prevent dissolution of Parliament and instead demand that the Badawi administration resign ?

43. #43 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:28 am

SIR Jeffrey,

WAS not the state of Sabah ruled by PBS ( last minute opposition ) and then switched camp to BN. ?

what happened thereafter.
    1. umno set base in sabah.
    2. flood of approved ” malaysians” that were once illegal.
    3. what happened to the supposed cm rotation system.
    4. which party has the most state seats now.

SIR jeffrey.

may 13 is not a taboo now. it was 40 years ago. THE POOR will be the one that the Government need to fear. there are poor malays, chinese and many poor indians, poor orang asli, poor dayaks, poor kadazans, poor ibans, poor sino- kadazans dll.
    because , when you are poor, you have nothing to lose.

BTW, LEARNED JEFFREY.
    the bar counsel and the asdb may need your help to improve their delivery system to those that lodge complains against lawyers.
    thank you.

44. #44 by gofortruth on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:36 am

Be exceedingly careful with TDM. He reigned for 22 years & was not ousted but willingly retired, that shows his “capability” in getting the Malays behind him. As such it is best to let PKR & PAS to deal with him through Pakatan Rakyat to avoid falling into his deadly racial trap!!!

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:40 am

TDM is really good strategist . If you come out with a strong public response to rebut his allegations – and in the process be even seen defending directly or indirectly Abdullah Badawi against TDM’s assaults – TDM would secure partial victory round one to tell Malaysian Malays that they should act against the Premier (in furtherance of TDM’s agenda) who is “in pakat” with DAP, a chinese chauvinist party having subterranean motives not to criticise the PM, in fact to support the PM for the DAP’s or Opposition’s ulterior motives. You have to thread carefully here in your response to TDM. He will twist your response. He loves the fact that The Sun published his first letter, now The Star maybe tomorow another letter for NST, delighted that Maintream Media is venting his views to national audience.

I know I have said in my postings before that DAP should support the premier for reasons alluded to by TDM. But I am only a commentator here expressing my view. I am not DAP!

It is not DAP’s position, and Tun should not go public to attribute to DAP, Karpal and you that position!

He is out of line here, especially the insidious motives of whipping up Malay support for his cause of deposing the curtrent incumbent by deliberately saying that DAP is ‘in pakat’ with Ahmad Abdullah Badawi!

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:41 am

sorry – “tread” not “thread”

47. #47 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:48 am

No, we should just “hentam” Badawi as hard as we “hentam” Mahathir. After all, it is obvious that Badawi furthered the injustices created by Mahathir and is perpetuating the “U Must Not Object” culture.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:53 am

Godfather,

I may be wrong but I really think in the scenario outlined, by convention and constitution, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong cannot, will not and ought not to demand that the Badawi administration resign and just substitute it with an “Anwar administration”. It won’t work that way. If Badawi’s administration does not resign on own accord in a certian eventuality as that outlined, the Agong cannot allow such a state to continue where PM does not command majority in Dewan Rakyat and will have to dissolve parliament for another election to determine afresh the rakyat’s renewed mandate. I think Westminister Parliamentary convention all around commonwealth countries including those of constitutional monarchy (Australia for example) dictates such a course. In Australia, some years back, then Governor-General, Sir John Kerr, had dismissed Gough Whitlam and his Labor government after their failure to secure supply in the Senate in the constitutional crisis of 1975, appointed Opposition Liberal leader Malcolm Fraser as only “caretaker” Prime Minister to advise the Governor on dissolution of both houses and the calling of an early election, the outcome of which in that case saw Opposition Liberal party returning with clear majority and Malcolm Fraser’s leading it.

49. #49 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:55 am

Whatever happens, it will take months or years to clear the judicial rot especially since judges enjoy security of tenure unless removed at the pleasure of the Agong. But how? How to prove their corruption?

50. #50 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:57 am

Jeffrey Says:

Today at 08: 40.13 (15 minutes ago)
    “TDM is really good strategist . ”

TDM’s evil genius is running on overdrive!

51. #51 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:58 am

I meant “Tragedist” if there’s such a word! :)

52. #52 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 8:59 am

Sir Jeffrey.

please do not change the agenda of Judiciary and all to do with laws and lawyers into Tuns’ AGENDA.
    BY doing so, you have distracted the public off- course. like what Mahatir did. ” distraction “

53. #53 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 9:01 am

Returning to the subject of the judiciary, Badawi is quoted as saying that the government will not apologise to Tun Salleh Abas and the other judges, but “will make amends”. He said that the issue of the apology to the judges dismissed in 1988 “does not arise”. What the heck does this mean ? If someone has been wronged, you apologise and make amends. You don’t make amends if you had wronged the other party in the first place.

Zaid Ibrahim has been silenced, and I wonder how long he will last in this administration.

54. #54 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 9:02 am

sorry, should be “..if you had NOT wronged the other party….”

55. #55 by wtf2 on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 9:55 am

getting the apology is like asking japan to apologise for the wwII massacres….Yes they are wrong, but their history books say otherwise and they will not apologise.

56. #56 by ablastine on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 10:10 am

That Mahathir dictator is at it again as he always has in his entire life and that is stir up trouble and get the country into greater trouble that it is now. I am just wondering why this guy is not dead after all his heart problems. If he will not die so soon. I really think the Government should dig up his dirty linen and throw him into jail to rot before he screw the country up further. Use the same copy and paste judges to do that. Just let him have a taste of his own medicine.

57. #57 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 10:11 am

Is there anyone from Penang, signed the S&P agreement with Pernas (before it winds up) Teluk Air Tawar, Butterworth? It has delayed too long, i would like to engage an opposition lawyer of Karpal Singth caliber to sue the developer. It is still OK to sue because the company already winds up. I think Goh Choon Lai no longer the managing director. Can i get back my 10% downpayment and the interested accumulated?

Pls advise what can i do?

58. #58 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 10:12 am

on the same subject of Judiciary and laws and lawyers.

Learned Ambiga said ” when lawyers walk , something is …..”

Dear Ambiga, lawyers walk and climb almost daily. my dear.
    Lawyers have taken onto themselves many cases, which involve different courts. and if mine happened to be a session court matter, the plaintiff and even defendant PLUS Yang Arif the magistrate is made to wait if the solicitor is somewhere in another High Court hearing.

lawyers will charge their clients( bankers mostly ) a mere 50 sen to a ringgit for every nod. but will intimidate and threaten the poor guy that received the nod a $100 ringgit fee. i have personally received a Notice of Demand from a legal firm demanding payment to astro for a sum of rm45.80, and a fee of rm100.00 to settle. i called up, and asked that writ of summon to proceed.

THIS MUCH I AGREED WITH YAB TUN, THAT EVEN SHAKESPEARE SAID LAWYERS SHOULD BE HANGED.

BTW, there are the bar counsel, and muslim lawyers association. if lawyers who studied law, and is to practice law are into racial/religious lines. than i hope lawyers can really comes to good sense that they are under one COUNSEL too. why the two separate bodies ?

AND is must be informed that dear ambiga have called for an urgent mode to starve off the bar counsel lack of funds !!

SO IF JUDGES , WERE LAWYERS. ( THEY NEED LAW DEGREE ) the root cause is that the criteria for law studies must start from there. included in the syllabus of torts and others, have a moral lesson too.

59. #59 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 10:18 am

lakilompat.

if the company has wounded up, there is nothing left for you. the paid up capital of the company is probably GONE. and the first to get hold of any remaining assets from Pernas, would be the bankers.
    sorry mate.

60. #60 by Killer on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 10:25 am

Jeffrey raised some good points regarding PR’s attempt using “back door” approach in taking over the Federal Govt. I would like to add a few more.

1. PR has committed to the principles of democracy and human rights. Does this attempt reflects PR’s core values ? What kind of message this will send to Malaysians and the rest of the world ?

2. Despite PR’s significant gains, a majority of Malaysians still voted for BN. Such an attempt is clearly an act of in contrary of the rakyat’s wishes and undemocratic.

3. Would BN, their supporters and the more nuetral minded Malaysians accept a governement that came to pwer by illegal means ? I am fairly certain that UMNO would not look at this kindly and their reaction would be very forceful. Even if this government gains power, it would be powerless and paralysed with the strong resistance that it would face from internal and external forces. The country will be plunged into chaos.

4. In case many people are still under the mistaken illusion that many Malaysians voted for PR, the truth is majority of nuetrals voted AGAINST BN, especially UMNO and MIC. In many other cases there were internal sabotage. It is almost certain that if there going to be 13GE, PR will see a significant erosion of support. And if Anwar intends to contest in a by-election, be prepared for a surprise. As such, any illegal attempts by PR to form the Federal govt will lead to an instant loss of credibility of PR.

5. Anwar has no intention of bringing up a motion of no confidence not out of democratic reasons but because he feels that is a waste of time as he is up to a bigger prize, the Federal Govt.

PR’s supporters might feel that the end justifies the mean that PR should use whatever methods, legal or illegal, to make a power grab. But I can tell you this, that such an attempt will only bring one thing, DOOM. That’s will be the beginning of the end for Malaysia.

61. #61 by limkamput on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 11:28 am

You’re living in a democracy. If the head of the executive branch has lost the confidence of his own party and also that of the majority of the legislators, the common sense thing to do is to get him replaced by someone who has.

gimme me a break, we living in a democracy? which democracy? and how do you know the head of the executive branch has lost the confidence? yes how do you know? a common sense thing to do? what common sense? you got common sense?

62. #62 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 11:51 am

“///….please do not change the agenda of Judiciary and all to do with laws and lawyers into Tuns’ AGENDA ….///” – ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

The agendas are inter-connected. Tun is whipping up Malay support to depose the incumbent (eg his letter to The Star about DAP & Badawi ‘pakat’. Already many UMNO divisions led by Ghani (sympathetic to TDM’s call) are lobbying for Pak Lah to go on leave. Then 15 Umno divisions in Kedah were beginning to make calls for Najib to challenge Abdullah for the Umno presidency in the party polls scheduled for December 16-20.
    If Pak Lah is out due to gathering of momentum of TDM’s call, do you foresee whosoever the successor getting the top slot position because of TDM’s help and hence beholden to TDM will be interested to continue or press for judicial reforms that are being discussed in this thread when it will put his patron TDM in bad light? You’d noticed that whatever criticisms TDM throws at the present BN administration, he has never included criticisms that there is a need for judicial reforms – because if there were a need for reforms then that implies he is accountable for the resons why judiciary needs reforms.

So you have to look at the bigger macro picture of TDM’s on-going challenge against Pak Lah in the context of the prospects of rakyat’s agenda for judicial and other reforms in this country, and whether these reforms will take place if TDM’s agenda is successful.

63. #63 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 1:20 pm

If we are to have judicial renaissance, then what are we going to do with Zaki Tun Azmi as the President of the Court of Appeals ? Force his retirement ?

64. #64 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 1:35 pm

First thing they should do is just get rid of Zaki. He already has no credibility with the public regardless whether he is guilty of any improprieties. It would restore faith that judges should not get close to politicians..

65. #65 by Godfather on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 1:42 pm

Badawi had a golden opportunity to put it on the right path – but he went ahead and appointed Zaki, which meant that the protection of UMNO’s interests are more important than judicial reform. Having appointed Zaki, what is he going to do now ? Admit that he has made an error and ask Zaki to take a pension ?

66. #66 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:11 pm

To ADAM, is it a joke, a lawyer from the receiver company called each individual buyers of the T.A.T. Condo telling us don’t sue them they will soon re start the project.

67. #67 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:17 pm

To Killer, BN did not get the majority votes from Rakyat, also bear in mind that there are too many voids vote abt 56K dumb Malaysian who waited for 4 yrs to become an idiot doing their stunts. Don’t forget Johor has the most armies camp, each army postal votes can vote twice, if you don’t believe try the below check in SPR, same person, same address one is using T ID the other is using the so called Kad Pengenalan. Why postal vote not using Kad Pengenalan?

Go to SPR site:-
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/

Then try check one by one ID
    T715511

T719756

This dirty tactic allowed certain individual remain in power.

68. #68 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:18 pm

I’ve sources from armies, that they are never allowed to vote! well who dare to cabar?

69. #69 by allasstra on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:38 pm

qoute:
    # lakilompat Says:
    Today at 14: 17.25 (17 minutes ago)

To Killer, BN did not get the majority votes from Rakyat, also bear in mind that there are too many voids vote abt 56K dumb Malaysian who waited for 4 yrs to become an idiot doing their stunts. Don’t forget Johor has the most armies camp, each army postal votes can vote twice, if you don’t believe try the below check in SPR, same person, same address one is using T ID the other is using the so called Kad Pengenalan. Why postal vote not using Kad Pengenalan?

Go to SPR site:-
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/

Then try check one by one ID
    T715511

T719756

This dirty tactic allowed certain individual remain in power.

—lakilompat, document it and put it on u-tube.

70. #70 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:46 pm

I don’t think it will help, i’m just a minority, my little voice is of no use or concern. Opposition leader at this stage still unable to free the Hindraf 5 despite attempt by YB LKS, Karpal Singth, and many others.

Do you know how many buses of armies BN uses to capture Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah, Johor etc.?

Soldiers have 2 votes, each soldiers paid RM 200, include meals etc, how much rakyat money is used up by BN?

71. #71 by allasstra on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:54 pm

errr; jefferey,…..

u said :

“I think you need to give a strong response to TDM’s making this kind of racial appeal for his agenda against the PM!”

followed by:

“If you come out with a strong public response to rebut his allegations – and in the process be even seen defending directly or indirectly Abdullah Badawi against TDM’s assaults – TDM would secure partial victory round one to tell Malaysian Malays that they should act against the Premier”

i didnt really get what u are trying to suggest,
    appears like the old chinese saying that u r trying to sell ammo at one hand,and armour in the other,…

one hand trying to sell the best armour piercing bullet,

while the other hand promoting the best anti-anti-armour-piercing bullet armour… =/

and when u said :

“I think Westminister Parliamentary convention all around commonwealth countries including those of constitutional monarchy (Australia for example) dictates such a course. In Australia, some years back”

— i kind of disagree with this,b’cos, u see; those white nations are more or less kind of homogenus, 90%+ made up of white with more or less the same religion and culture,….

while we are living in a plural,multi-cultural,multi-religious society,….

so, imho, stuff that worked for them fine might not works for us,….just my 0 cents.(due to the rounded-up system since 1 april…hehe.

72. #72 by harrisonbinhansome on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:01 pm

What ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH spoke about (some)unscrupulous lawyers is beyond a reasonable doubts TRUE. I have an experience with a lawyer. At the time he’s so friendly, persuasive to take my case. The agreement, signed between us did not show the amount I should pay even if I asked how much.

But when he was charging me called” interim deposit” it was a large sum even if I contented, he strongly assert that I have agreed in a signed agreement to engage him.

Depriving of how the legal things works, I submitted to his demands. The case never materialized, but when I asked for some refund, he accused me with all sorts of lies.

It’s about time to have an FULLY independent Commission to oversee the conduct of these lawyers.

73. #73 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:04 pm

Dear Jeffrey,

Fear holds us back.

Fear freezes us.

If we had allowed fear to take control; 5 states would not have fallen!!!

Why let fear chart our destiny?

Let fear be our slave and take extraordinary actions in extraordinary times!!!

74. #74 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:07 pm

lakilompat.

read your posting on the penang forum to discuss how to improve the state of penang by civic group and ngo. syabas. hope other pakatan states can emulate same.

i wont trust the lawyer calling you and other not to sue. i suggest you get the lawyer to give it to you in black n white. otherwise it is hearsay. i doubt the lawyer will provide one in writing. or the lawyer may deny it later. but you lost your ten percent n interest. the lawyer doesnt care. re start ? 2020! i will be dead.

every vote counts. every voice counts. you are not alone in this journey to defend the country from Corrupts and Simpleton.

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:18 pm

Hi,allasstra

Yes I thought YB should give a strong response to what TDM wrote but on second thought a balance between strong and yet measured and considered response knowing that TDM would be good at twisting it like you said, on one hand, to sell the best armour piercing bullet, and on the other hand, promoting the best anti-anti-armour-piercing bullet armour… :)

Though we’re not homogenous, I would think that if a government elected to power loses on a vote of confidence, it would be fair to have another election to determine who has clear mandate, it being of no consequence what kind of society, homogenous, or multiracial etc. It is move in quest for political stability that hopefully a fresh election would bring.

76. #76 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:18 pm

Dear Killer,

If parliament is dissolved and there is a re-election ,I will still vote PR.

You got your answer from me , which I believe is typical of the Rakyat.

Perhaps you may want to organise a survey or poll on this website?

Perhaps the Administrator should hold such a poll here,in malaysia today etc.

77. #77 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:44 pm

Dear all,

Can come to my site at jbozz23.proboards105.com i will put up a voting panel if re election.

78. #78 by Killer on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 3:48 pm

Menang atau mati

Isn’t it a bit too much to claim that you represent the whole electorate ? In any case, that Anwar will contest in a by-election is a foregone conclussion. Let’s see what happens then.

lakilompat

Debate is most welcome but you have this tendency to make sweeping statements and the proclivity to resort to rheotics…

This subject of phantom voters, army votes being used to support the BN government, etc are stale and a much-flogged (but dead) horse.

This betrays a lack of understanding of the election process and such abuses is rather easy to detect. That’s why the EC rightly consider such accussations as baseless and politically motivated.

EC has explained many times the issues that you had brought up. Yet if for some reasons you are unhappy and unconvinced, please yourself and the rest of Malaysians a favour by initiating a class action suit against the EC. Ranting and raving without end will not solve your problem or spare us the agony of putting up with this.

To me, such a claims are baseless and idiotic. Even a bit of a thought would indicate that such things are not possible.

79. #79 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:00 pm

Yes is baseless, believe it or not i won’t talk much, test it out yourself.

I still remember the nasty EC chief throwing the letter saying it is not written in the letter how many seats opposition won when reporter asked him how many seats the opposition has won, this type of monkey deserve a bullet in the head.

We already wasted so much money to the silly govt. who wasted our money for the BN campaign, billboards, newspapers, radio and everywhere, all those are our money. Do you think i will want to waste money to sue this rubbish EC?

80. #80 by allasstra on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:11 pm

# Jeffrey Says:

Yes I thought YB should give a strong response to what TDM wrote but on second thought a balance between strong and yet measured and considered response knowing that TDM would be good at twisting it like you said, on one hand, to sell the best armour piercing bullet, and on the other hand, promoting the best anti-anti-armour-piercing bullet armour… :)

—but considering the delicate situation, it’s just like getting caught up in in a gun-fight while driving, with AAB as the windscreen, u cant try to shoot the car infront without breaking ur windscreen,and if u didnt shoot back,sooner or latter, the car infront is going to shoot thru ur windscreen anyway,(discounting u have the super action hero capability to shoot of the window).

nothing can really be done exept to hit the brakes and hide….and let the thing blows over…especially when “certain” cards are being pulled out….

trying to protect something without being seen as protecting it directly or indirectly is just not logically possible,not even cia is capable of that :)

“Though we’re not homogenous, I would think that if a government elected to power loses on a vote of confidence, it would be fair to have another election to determine who has clear mandate, it being of no consequence what kind of society, homogenous, or multiracial etc. It is move in quest for political stability that hopefully a fresh election would bring.”

—but malaysians have so much point to flip-flop around,as we’re not homogenus, even just days after the 3-8, there have been sounds of voters flip-floping around based on the axis of “the Being above” and the “saturation one’s epidermis pigment”…and that makes it hard to predict the outcome, a grave unstability in the eyes of foreign capitalists…..

the best way of making long lasting paint job is to paint a multiple thin layers,one at a time rather than a thick single coat….

and to adress “menang/mati”‘s idea of making a survey, a credible survey needs to be done on the both side of the opposing force really,….would u like to go to the “blue-camp” to collect ur survey ? hehe..

81. #81 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:13 pm

BN spent too much to cater buses and military man to these polling station in PAS controlled regions because they wanted to control the Malays unfortunately it is themselves hurt in Kelantan & Kedah, they can’t afford to secure Gerakan victory in Penang not even the ex CM can secure the Batu Kawan seat, that’s the result foreseen before the election. Army camps are concentrated in the Southern region, this is a must to secure foreigner inflow & syndicates money. Johor is a hotbed for crime, this open up to big business opportunities, hence this is a state where the BN cronies must secured. Johorean are simple they are not so educated but they are pretty rich and responsible home people. In Kluang, Johor alone there are so many houses even the commercial area they plan to convert to housing area but this project was a failure, then look at Kluang city building build by the BN contractor, this is worst and don’t think any foreigner supermarket will be interested to set business there.

82. #82 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:19 pm

What the BN govt. has done to Kluang. My uncle’s residing in Kluang, they have a pretty comfortable life there, a big bungalow of 5000 sq feet, more than 2 cars or so. But the problem is they don’t have to worry much abt the poor there. Those poor Malay are still living in Atap house Kampong style. I can take so many pictures when i go back Kluang to visit my uncle.

83. #83 by Killer on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:27 pm

lakilompat

EC had many times said that their data is from NRD and they are not responsible to maintain the database. So if there is an error, it is from the NRD.

I have seen tons of accusations and EC had answered each and every one of those in a logical and factual manner. This example that you had provided merely shows that the same person has 2 IDs, one is the usual MyKad and another one the Army ID.

If you understand the election process you would understand that to vote you need to be physically present with ID which will be verified by EC personnel as well as being watched by reps of political parties. As such, chances of fraud is (almost) nil.

As for army votes being used to prop up BN, this is silly. The strength of army and the police is less than 200k and the logistical aspect of such exercise is beyond even the best supply chain experts in the world. Just think through it logically instead of making such a sweeping and base statement.

As for army camps are mostly in Johor, this is yet another statement without factual basis. The camps are located in areas of strategic military importance and not political one. Please tell me how did you arrive at this conclussion ? How many military camps and troops are there in Johor vis a vis other states ? Unless you can back your statement, you should refrain from making these claims in the future. If you don’t then I would assume these are merely speculative ramblings from a die-hard DAP / PR supporter.

84. #84 by allasstra on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:39 pm

killer, u said:

If you understand the election process you would understand that to vote you need to be physically present with ID which will be verified by EC personnel as well as being watched by reps of political parties. As such, chances of fraud is (almost) nil.

—but as i saw on the tv,the army/police has voted early, does that means once they has voted in thier camp,thier .mil id and nric would be marked as voted too ? and vice versa…

i’m not accusing anything, just asking for more nfos…

85. #85 by lakilompat on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 4:56 pm

Killer, it is becos a person like u are able to think it is impossible, that is why there is another opposite thought of person who think it is possible, and that’s why they are doing it what is impossible.

In this world there is Yin and Yang, u said is impossible then ppl will use this impossible to make it possible.

Is Pak Lah clean? or is Tun Dr. Mahathir clean? Is Taib clean?
    who want to sue them? if no one wanted to sue them even the ACA scared Tun, then why not to cheat?

86. #86 by Killer on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 6:07 pm

allasstra

The short answer is yes.

Of course the manipulation of army/police votes are possible due to this loophole of voting early.

But why I am saying this is unlikely is due to the complexities involved in the logistics. Let’s say someone wants to cheat by using the army votes.

Firstly, this person has to decide where to send these votes to. Since this voting happens before the actual GE, this person has to decide where to send in advance. OK, let’s say this person thinks that BN is weakest in Kelantan. So he/she has to decide which particular constituency that these votes need to go and in what quantity.

Since the votes are only around 100 to 100k, there is not much can be done to influence the outcome of the election in such big state as Kelatan. So this person’s alternative strategy is to focus on a few critical constituency that BN is weak. This means a large number of votes (perhaps several thousands) for a small number of seats.

However, the problem of this approach is that when there is a huge number of postal votes in a constituency, the reps of political parties will be alerted and smell a rat.

So the only way to abuse this system is in distributing in small quantities over many seats where there is a keen fight between BN and non-BN parties so that these votes will turn the tide for BN. However, again the politicians from non-BN parties are not fools. When there are significant postal votes that determines the election result, there will be definitely be an outcry and protest.

I agree that there is a chance for manipulation in the postal votes process where the possibilities for the authorities to “vote” on behalf of these security personnel exist. It could have happened in the past but those I spoke in the forces dismissed this allegation. However, as I had outlined earlier, any attempts to influence election outcome using postal votes will be quickly detected. And as far as I recall, there were no cases where the political parties detected such incidents in the last several elections (as far as I can remember).

87. #87 by kickbutt on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 6:54 pm

I don’t kill flies but I like to mess with their minds. I hold them above globes. They freak out and yell, ‘Whoa, I’m way too high!’
    -Bruce Baum

88. #88 by limkamput on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:12 pm

ad neauseam already, but then what can we expect a person who can only hold two variables.

89. #89 by kickbutt on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 7:37 pm

You can’t blame me for not getting the spelling right. Neither do I know the meaning! Just to impress lar! Why cannot arr???

90. #90 by kickbutt on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 11:09 pm

“Charge every one of them to the full extent of the law. It is an evolving culture in many countries where corrupted government leaders were allowed …” product of NEP.

Charge them??? It takes someone really naive as much as he is dumb to think the IGP, the ACA and the AG could all work together to charge “them”. Who is “them”?? In the same breath, this dumb nitwit suggests corrupt government leaders be allowed to retire! Sheesh! You make me want to puke!

91. #91 by limkamput on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 11:50 pm

Of course I know for sure you don’t know the meaning. You think you are smart, don’t you. My foot, my dog is smarter than you.

Yes charge them, including all the scumbag lawyers who just know how to profit out of the misery of others. Yes, charge them, every one of them.

92. #92 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:00 am

1. Killer Says:
    Today at 15: 48.24 (7 hours ago)
    Menang atau mati
    Isn’t it a bit too much to claim that you represent the whole electorate ? In any case, that Anwar will contest in a by-election is a foregone conclussion. Let’s see what happens then.

Dear killer,

What was the exact words I used.Here are the exact words:

If parliament is dissolved and there is a re-election ,I will still vote PR.

“You got your answer from me , which I believe is typical of the Rakyat.”

I used the words : “which I believe ”

I never claim that I represent the whole electorate.

Repeat:”which I believe ” – which means it is my opinion.

Is your understanding of English the same as mine.

If we differ on the meaning of the word ” I believe”, then let the other bloggers determine who has got the meaning right.

I am sure we do not need an English professor to decide on this issue.

I further suggested that we have a poll to determine how the Rakyat actually feels.

This strengthens my case that I did not claim that I represent the whole electorate.

For reference, I am pasting that section of my post here again:

“Perhaps you may want to organise a survey or poll on this website?

Perhaps the Administrator should hold such a poll here,in malaysia today etc.”

93. #93 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:05 am

Wannabe, over the next few days I know you wouldn’t be giving any more opinion because you know I am watching. It is sad but true. You thought you have succeeded in kicking me out so that you can swarm this place with your stupid views. Look like now you have to watch every line you write, right? See the power I have over you.

94. #94 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:24 am

Dear Killer,

Way before 8th April ,2007, polling day,I believed Penang would definitely fall.

I also believed that somewhat about 70 to 80% of the Chinese voters would vote for the opposition and 85% of the Indian voters would vote for the the opposition.

I further believed that BN would lose its 2/3 majority.

I speculated that Anwar and his party needed about 20 – 30% of the Malay votes to cause huge losses to the BN and big gains for PKR and PR parties.

Initially, it was not possible to gauge the inclination of the Malay voters.However, come campaigning time, as feedback from ceramahs came in, I believed that as much as 25 % of the Malay voters would go to PR parties.

As it turned out, I was not optimistic enough.

Initially ,when I expressed my beliefs to others including some DAP members, all of them disagreed with me.

Some DAP members even said I was dreaming!!!!

I never wavered in my beliefs.

The difference between them and I ;also you and I was I had ground level feedback.

I believe, with due respect Mr Killer, that you are out of touch with the Rakyat at the grassroot level.

For your information, Mr killer, I am not a member of any political party, but supporter of any front or party that will bring a better Malaysia for our future generations.

At my age (my secret), I care not much for myself.

95. #95 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:35 am

Dear Mr Killer and ALL,

I believe MCA, Gerakan and MIC is history.

They are GONE!!!!

They cannot and will not be able to make a comeback.

Frow now onwards, there is only one direction for them — downwards and downhill.

Although, I have my reasons to believe so, I will not bother to write them, as it will take quite a while to pen out my analysis, what more with my one finger typing skills.

So long as these parties are with BN/UMNO, it is a foregone conclusion that they will be moving towards the direction of the dodo.

My name is “Victory or Death”

96. #96 by Killer on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:37 am

Well Menang atau Mati

Well, if what you say is true, then you are the only person whom I know of with such an accurate reading of the grassroot’s sentiments…..

97. #97 by Menang atau mati on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:50 am

Dear Mr killer,

I do have witnesses.

Till today, I still cha( tease) them back for their lack of belief and confidence each time I bump into them.

Their only defence is that even Lim Kit Siang did not have the confidence and would not be able to imagine in his dreams that Penang would fall and the opposition would do so well.

98. #98 by bLOGGERHEAD on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 2:05 am

So we have judges who deliver ” cut and paste” judgments, or judgments written by others and in some cases,even no written judgments are delivered. That shows how incompetent and irresponsible some of our judges are. That also imply how sluggish and imperfect the way we appoint judges. It’s sad to think of the numerous number of cases been impartially tried by those incompetent judges for the past twenty years. The PM will announce the judicial reforms soon as acknowledged by the media yesterday. I hope this is not another lip service and he has some sense of urgency about it
    Correct! Correct!The world must be laughing at us for having such patchy judicial system.

99. #99 by greenacre on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 12:55 pm

I went through 3 stages of trial for my case on consumer law right up to court of appeal. this i will tell of the judges who handled them all ‘my foot’

100. #100 by lakilompat on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 3:58 pm

Dear Killer,

How do you explain Najib seat has tremendous increase in voters? Pak Lah seat vote swing to opposition? Rembau, initially Chegu BaB won by less than 1000, with 5000 postal votes going to Khairy? even a police report is lodged, but it is not enough to stop him from attending parliament.

101. #101 by lakilompat on Saturday, 12 April 2008 - 6:05 pm

Here in Malaysia, even OTK can become judge & Law

He said shooting outside KLIA is consider public area shooting this mean KLIA is not negligent, so if the bullet managed to shoot thru and hurt someone inside the KLIA is consider what?

There is no more LAW in Malaysia! I repeated no more law! what we have now is LAW that is only meant for the powerful & rich people, the poor people are been harassed, deceived, and denied the rights. A ministers can become law because of their authority, and speaking on behalf of the govt. The police are nothing but a tools used & fooled by them, the govt. can easily pushed everything to the police. Mean if govt. need money the govt. can easily arranged robbing at Bank or money exchange.

Be careful all Malaysian Banks, soon there will be 1 or 2 cases, there is no law to curb such controlled crime in Malaysia.