Second Abdullah Cabinet – no signs of “Point made and point taken”

The second Abdullah Cabinet is a disappointment all round with no signs from its first meeting yesterday that it will be reformist and get cracking to make up for the past four years of broken pledges of reform.

Even the promise of judicial reform which was the rationale for the surprise appointment of Datuk Zaid Ibrahim as the de facto Law Minister to undertake judicial and legal reforms to restore national and international confidence in the independence, integrity and quality of the judiciary after two decades of ravages of the cardinal principles of a truly independent judiciary and just rule of law has come up against a stonewall.

Zaid’s proposal that the government should apologise to the victims of the 1988 judicial crisis, which many have regarded as grossly inadequate to address the series of judicial crisis of confidence in the past two decades, could not find support in the Cabinet yesterday, with Zaid making the revealing comment after saying that he had presented his view that the government should apologise to Tun Salleh Abas, Datuk George Seah and the late Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Pawanteh:

“Well, I am afraid the view has yet to be considered.

“There are many people who are more experienced and who are wiser than me. So we have to wait.”

What Zaid meant is clear and simple – he has not received any support in the Cabinet to take the first step for meaningful judicial reforms, to rectify the wrongs and injustices which had caused the plunge of Malaysia’s judicial system from internationally-acknowledged as world-class two decades ago to its parlous state today.

It is also disappointing that the first meeting of the second Abdullah Cabinet yesterday gave no signs that it has heard the people’s voice in the March 8 general election and is seized of the urgency to make up for four years’ of failure to deliver the reform pledges made by Abdullah when he became Prime Minister, particularly:

1. Immediate and unconditional release of the five Hindraf leaders, P. Uthayakumar, newly-elected DAP Selangor State Assemblyman for Kota Alam Shah M. Manoharan, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and T. Vasantha Kumar from Internal Security Act (ISA) detention.

2. Full commitment to establish First-World Parliament.

3. All-out drive to eradicate corruption with the elevation of the Anti-Corruption Agency as an autonomous agency answerable only to Parliament.

4. Full implementation of the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service to reduce crime, eradicate corruption and uphold human rights, particularly the establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

5. All-party inquiry to enhance Malaysia’s international competitiveness including having a world-class education system to enable the country to successfully face the challenges of globalization.

All in all, it is a bad start for the second Abdullah Cabinet despite the claim of the Prime Minister that he has heard the “message” of the people in the March 8 political tsunami – that “Point made and point taken”. Clearly, the point made by Malaysian voters in the March 8 general election has still to be “taken” by the Prime Minister and his Cabinet.

1. #1 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:39 am

The formation of selangor exco line up is also a disappointment … we must have a mirror to see ourself before we can stand firm to go against the others …

2. #2 by AhStone on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:57 am

Apparently i don’t think he even knows what point to take. the mullah is absolutely oblivious to the reality of march 8. he does seem to know to say the right things but does the wrong things. was wondering how did the raising of the 8 issues went in parliament? did mullah paid any attention to those in the first place? even if he didnt its ok- it shows his incapabilities and that the opposition and championing for the right things though they are not perfect.

3. #3 by ablastine on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:00 pm

Good men do not last long in this type of environment. I mean it is fairly obvious that his only interest is to help out the Government do what is needed. How can he ever succeed when doing so will necessarily cause these bands of thieves to compromise in so many ways. What I suggest is to actively court Zaid to come over to Barisan Rakyat when he is thoroughly frustrated and that I suppose will not be very long. We need honourable and talented person like him to be in the BR team. I would rather a person like him jump boat than BN’s MPs whose royalty shift with the tides.

4. #4 by madmix on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:05 pm

YB Lim, can you make noise about the shiny little sticker thing that you find on all medicines, cigarettes and other stuff that amounts to nothing more than PRIVATE TAX COLLECTION by cronies, pushing up the price of goods for the sake of a few.

5. #5 by nus on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:06 pm

I have been experiencing problem of my antivirus capturing cookies:affiliate tracking cookie called C:\doc&setting\***\cookies\***@apmbf[1].txt and prompting need for removal.
    Question: Would these cookies cause my computer system to crash?
    Are these planted by entities in the cyber space trying to communicate to bloggers as announced by a minister? Any other reasons which would affect bloggers??

6. #6 by dawsheng on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:07 pm

In fighting for his political survival, Abdullah should take measures that must win supports for himself and his newly appointed cabinet, even if it means giving in to the demands of the opposition, especially when the opposition is given the mandate by the Rakyat to be their voices.

7. #7 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:11 pm

PL’s brain is getting old and malfunction sometimes, new genetically grown Khairy’s brain sap has been injected. What you see now is an experiment of half matured “Beruk” brain rejuvenation.

“Beruk” can be train to talk, but can’t walk the talk simply because no matter how they dresses they are still a banana beast.

8. #8 by dawsheng on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:13 pm

Abdullah is facing his enemies from within, and without any good words from the opposition for him, his days in office is numbered, only sooner.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

The detention of Hindraf 5 under ISA is illegal and it is inhuman nonetheless. There should be a nationwide demonstration to demand their unconditional release from the ISA.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:19 pm

I would not care too much about BN and Abdullah. Let them die naturally, instead of suggesting them to improve and to become stronger.

11. #11 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:24 pm

dawsheng, I will join the nationwide protest to free the Hindraf 5 detained under ISA. But i’m residing in opposition state, to whom i can stage the protest?

By the way, my friend already join DAP, the membership cost is RM 100 per annual? The place where i lived is controlled by PKR, i’m in dilemma whether to join PKR or DAP, i think PKR need more people now but i prefer DAP. How much is the membership cost for PKR is it annual?

12. #12 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:35 pm

Badawi,

Go now before we throw you out! You and your crooks in your cabinet are no longer wanted. We want you out and we want you out NOW.

13. #13 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:40 pm

The problem is that AAB has very EARS. He hears many things, in fact, too many. He is so confused all the time and can’t make any decision at all. Small is therefore better. Do we see any potential PM with small ears out there.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:58 pm

The lip-service kind of PL’s administration is nothing new!

I think BN needs more dynamic and proactive leadership. If the present leadership is not prepared to move, it will only be fair for other more qualified and visionary people like TR to take over.

15. #15 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:58 pm

To toyolbuster:- I think he make more blunder than before

1) Police new robe & weapon
    2) Merging of Mainboard + 2ndboard to benefit Khairy & his family
    3) Opposing the Sultan
    4) Allowed UMNO member to protest the Royal appointment. Who desgin this insulting banner “Kami nak Idris, Natang” and this “Anwar Pengkhianat Bangsa.”
    5) Sabotage Penang govt. “open tender policy” a Malay wearing giogio armani spec speaking on behalf of Cronies (Dwarf) opposing it because he said Cronies required protection against Giant! can Rakyat accept such statement? He’s insulting the Malay, mean the Malay are generally “Kerdil” or Dwarf, i believe only those UMNO cronies will benefit and suppress all the Malay from getting the benefit.

16. #16 by billgates on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:11 pm

When I was a little boy, my teacher used to ask me the following:

What have eyes that cannot see?
    What have mouth that cannot speak?
    What have ears but cannot hear?

Now I have found the real answer. That the big ears only have selective hearing and listening skills.

Wonder of he has read my email to him?

17. #17 by highhand on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:35 pm

the dumb n dumber n the dumbest

18. #18 by kerishamuddinitis on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:41 pm

Zaid : “I want an honest, corrupt-free government…people with integrity.”
    Bodowi : “Got. Nah, I got Mud Tahi on my Crapbinet – he got integrity, what.”

Zaid : “Let’s study the RC report on Lingam.”
    Bodowi : “Good idea. Make it a thorough 4-year study. We have not yet completed study on Port Klang FTZ, Altantuya case, Istana Zakaria and many, many others. Then, organise a review of the study.”

Zaid : “Better to have comprehensive plan than just views.”
    Bodowi : “That’s what I said. Kurang Jar also agrees. Comprehensive!Like Mud Tahi’s case – 10years old, now back in my Crapbinet”

Zaid : “Many more people wiser than me…give me time to be just like them-lah”
    Bodowi : “Very wise…talk a lot but don’t commit. Committee, can. Sub-committee, also can. Sub-sub-committee, even better. Commit, cannot.”

Zaid : “You cannot expect Tun to do that!”
    Bodowi : “Ahhh, soon you will be just like us. Yes, very wise. That Tun will stir up a lot of tahi – some legal, some contitutional, some not.”

19. #19 by gofortruth on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:51 pm

lakilompat Says:
    Today at 12: 24.02 (1 hour ago)
    By the way, my friend already join DAP, the membership cost is RM 100 per annual?
    ——————————

You can choose to be a life member or ordinary member of DAP.

Subscription fee for a life member is RM100 and you do not need to renew your membership if you are a life member.

As for ordinary member, the subscription fee is RM5 a year and it is subjected to annual renewal.

http://dapmalaysia.org/newenglish/contactus.htm

20. #20 by Toyol on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:55 pm

Lets us finish off BN in the next GE…once and for all. Enough of this nonsence. They have no intention of bucking up despite losing. After 2 weeks the government is still sleeping.

21. #21 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:58 pm

For the head of the biggest law firm in town, Zaid should know that in order to get something really big to happen, the first rule is never let thing stay idle i.e., there must always be a ‘next step’ either forward or backward it does not matter. The worst thing is “let us get back to you indefinitely”. NEVER NEVER take for granted the next step whether its forward or backward.

If there are views to be considered, then those views have to be identified and a time to be set to decide on those. But instead, leaving it in the hands of others just cannot be any worst. Excuses will always be many and its why it has to be sorted out as many and as quickly as possible.

Unbelievable Zaid makes such a rookie mistake.

22. #22 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:09 pm

The end of the road for Big Ears and his son in law— the president and deputy president’s posts be contested and the quota system for nomination for the top posts be abolished
    http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/bnm/20080327/tts-syed-ali-contest-bm-993ba14_1.html

23. #23 by gofortruth on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:16 pm

I think Zaid’s appointment was just a knee jerk reaction to cool down the public anger. He seems to be the only likable person left in UMNO. Remember Zaid was already dumped to contest in the 12th GE.Why brought him back? C4 & Lingam verdicts will be out soon, they need to have someone ready to face the crowd .

They also brought in someone who was heading Maybank. Now you see Maybank is investing more than 6 Billion ringgit in an Indonesian Bank. No doubt question will be raised as to why put the money oversea and not investing it in much needed local projects in our own country. It defies logic. What’s the gomen trying to do?

24. #24 by ypmeng on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:23 pm

“”All-out drive to eradicate corruption “” No way Uncle Lim as long as Bodohwi and all the suckers are up there. Just be patient, we are just waiting for the next GE. Meanwhile lay your ground work in the other states. Work closely with PKR and PAS, you will not regret it. On the ground the Malays are already questioning the Bodohwi’s derhaka towards the Agung.

25. #25 by tiger on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:26 pm

It is so sad that sometime people are so stubborn that they are in a state of denial. Their ego is so big and constantly need to be fed, hence they will not accept any criticism or suggestion. Of course for “these people” sorry it an absolute taboo and they will avoid. After 50 years of independence we are still stuck with these primadonas leaders running our goverment. No wonder we are “backward”

26. #26 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

Maybank represent Malaysian Bank, and Malaysian money, now tell me what’s the logic to take Malaysian money to exchange for Indonesian money? the amount is not small yet the govt. approved such move?

“Maybank falls 10.6% on concerns of RM8.6bil acquisition”

They would rather move the money to overseas rather than injecting back to stimulate the economy to opposition controlled states. The 5 states opposition held represent 60% of Malaysia Economy.

The govt. is kind of crazy at one point Pak Lah cabinet wanted to scrutinize foreigner worker, the indonesian, on the other point approve Maybank to transfer RM 8.6 billion to buy Indonesia bank, wow how much commission a middle man get this time? what is the name of the middle man who brokered such deals?

27. #27 by boilingmad on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:00 pm

We all see it very clearly the results of the last GE and what the rakyat wants. The fact that nothing has gone through AAB’s ears and head when even a ‘beruk’ can see it only means one thing: that a charm must have been used on AAB so that he becomes a sleeping “bodohwi”.

28. #28 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:00 pm

Who do you think he’s trying to fool?
    The rakyat or himself?
    Problem is that when he lied, he doesn’t even knows how to lie properly.
    When he wanted to do something right, he alway seem to do things wrong.
    What type of person is he anyway?
    Is he just a person who’s being used by someone or is he just a bit “cracked”?
    What’s going on anyway?
    Why are those so called “Umno” support him for?
    Can’t they differentiate what is right or wrong or are they just ignorant?
    Why are they still supporting him even though it’s a disaster for the country.
    Is “Umno loyalty” so important than that of the country’s future?
    What is so important about him that certain quarters are willing to see this country “wreck” apart?
    What’s the use of having opposition in this country if they are not allow to rule together side by side even if they’ve won?
    If that’s the case, what’s the difference between a communist country.

29. #29 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:09 pm

Well there are such leader in world history, take example of Adolf Hitler. You know him well from history, that he ordered and approved his followers to sent Jews into concentration camp and gas chamber. Yet his party “Nazi” still support him. This principle also happen in Malaysia, we have “UMNO” mean they placed their loyalty on party rather than whether the leader is doing the right thing or not. As long as they are in power, they will continue to rape you and me and our childrens and womans.

Fortunately he’s unlike Tun Dr. Mahathir style that’s to unite everything under one umbrella (MCA,Gerakan,MIC,UMNO,outliers Sabah & Sarawak) Tun style is more like “Qin shi huang” style, under his 22 yrs of ruling those who against him, will be throw to jail.

30. #30 by PSM on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:10 pm

Bro Kit,

I think this is not unexpected! We knew this would happen.
    As for Zaid, well, they would have told him “shut-up & follow instructions as you have been put here to cheat the Rakyat into thinking that we are going to do something about our corrupted Judiciary”!
    Zaid should quit while he has the chance before he gets “blamed” for the other “rubbish” that is sure to come along!

31. #31 by novice101 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:18 pm

Zaid has his baptism, yesterday, when the cabinet met for the first meeting .

Zaid said the apology was something “we can do if we want to, but it is up to the leaders (to decide).” It should be up to the leader, why up to the leaders, now? Isn’t it is up to the leader (the PM) to decide.? Isn’t the PM the one to set the tone and direction for his cabinet ? Or has he been upstaged again?

Wonder how long can last in such an environment, if he were to stick to his principles.

“Well, I am afraid the view has yet to be considered.

“There are many people who are more experienced and who are wiser than me. So we have to wait.”

The above 2 statements speak volume of Zaid’s frustration and the mindset the ministers take into the new government.

Looks like MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP which still want to hitch themeselves to the BN bandwagon, will have a doomed future.

32. #32 by novice101 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:20 pm

Worry should be ‘…how long Zaid can last….’

33. #33 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:44 pm

Will Zaid listen to his boss, or Sultan? Off course he listen to his boss! it has become obvious. Sometime boss give u nasty job u hate him but u still have to complete it. [deleted]

34. #34 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:50 pm

For the sake of the people and the country!
    Please call for the King and Sultan to interfere and put end to our misery.
    We really cannot wait for another day ‘cos our country’s hope is fading.
    Beside’s God, I’m sure there must be someone out there who is much more powerful and supreme than he is.
    We can’t wait for God to save us and we can’t really wait for the next GE either!
    Please bring democracy back!!!

35. #35 by year of snake on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:37 pm

What new Cabinet! Just new faces. It is still UMNOPUTRAS’ Cabinet. How can there be a new Cabinet when the important Ministeries of Finance, Trade and Commerce (International and Domestic), Home Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Education, Higher Education and Defence are reserved only for UMNO. I hope that the day will come when I can see a non-Malay holding one of these post.

36. #36 by Godfather on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 4:58 pm

Zaid is now backpedalling on his initial position, which was vague anyway, but sounded good when it came from a new kid on the block. We wanted to believe Zaid so desperately that we essentially “ignored” the vagueness of his initial comments. Some even hailed him as a savior !

Now the true colours of Badawi’s cabinet are exposed for all to see. Zaid has to produce a “first” paper but before he produces this, he needs to see the findings of the IC on the Lingam videotape case. Then the cabinet has to debate on the “first” paper, so that someone presumably will work on the “second” paper.

Already, Zaid has said that his personal opinion is that the government should apologise to the victims of the 1988 judiciary fiasco. Who are the victims ? Apparently, Zaid ignored the fact that we are all victims – having had to live through 20 years of a tainted judiciary. Who are the perpetrators of the crime then ? The then AG, and the former PM figure prominently, but then Zaid now says that the previous administration is “gone”, so bringing the perpetrators of this heinous crime to book would not be forthcoming. What about people like Badawi, Nazri, Syed Hamid, et al, who were members of that administration ? Even if they claim ignorance, there must be an inquiry to ascertain who committed the crimes in 1988.

37. #37 by Godfather on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:01 pm

Another signal that nothing has been learnt by the BN thieves is that the muzzling of the mainstream press continues to this day. No one is prepared to report on what has transpired between Badawi and DYMM Agong on the Trengganu MB issue. Isn’t this something of national interest ? The press played up the Perak MB issue but is totally quiet on the Trengganu MB issue. The rakyat knows the double standards applied, so this is another black eye in the administration of Abdullah Badawi.

Point made, point taken, the Badawi goes to sleep as usual.

38. #38 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:15 pm

Ever wonder why Johorean scared to vote for opposition.

Look here (2007)

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k278/v-k0/UMNOBlacklist.jpg

39. #39 by Malaysian For Equality on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:53 pm

Zaid should resign before his credibility is damaged by UMNO. When power and billions are at stake, who is Zaid to dictate anything? It would be sad if becomes another Chandra Muzzafar.

40. #40 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:09 pm

Another signal that nothing has been learnt by the BN thieves …….

Do we know what exactly transpired btw Khalid and the Sultan of Selangor with regard to appointment of DMB and Excos? Do we get to read what exactly is the situation/position of Teng in DAP and the Selangor state government other than Sdr. Lim statement here?

I think most of us are not capable of “learning” anything when it suits us!

41. #41 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

limkamput,

i will keep asking everyday in every thread for that issue

42. #42 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 8:29 pm

“Point made and point taken” means “I can’t wait to sleep now” – sleepy Bohongwi. PERIOD.

43. #43 by malaysiaunited on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 8:41 pm

Everyone seems to think Getting Badawi out of the way will solve all our problems! What is the immediate/near term solution to our problems? I guess ii’s easy to destroy a building in one day but to built a new one takes many days if not months. Lets see what is the realistic alternative? We are partly fortunate to express somuch due to the fact Badawi has been more liberal and loose on certain aspects which is why Anwar can canvass for the BR.

44. #44 by Damocles on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:36 pm

Don’t waste any more time on what the PM will do or will not do. He’s beyond redemption!
    The opposition just go on and do a wonderful job and they can be assured of blowing the BN away in the next General Election.
    That’s what we all want.

45. #45 by ppsbmy on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:58 pm

dollah should reshuffle his cabinet:

defense minister : hishamuddin hussein
    tourism : najib (attract space tourist)
    health : khir toyo (promote tempe)
    housing : zakaria deros (phantom voter can come , he also can come back)
    finance : muhd muhd taib – experience in dealing with cash
    youth : rafidah – she can bring along her grandchildren
    women, family : ka ting & ka chuan
    education : muhd muhd taib – fast track to learning english

46. #46 by Jamesy on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:11 pm

“All in all, it is a bad start for the second Abdullah Cabinet despite the claim of the Prime Minister that he has heard the “message” of the people in the March 8 political tsunami – that “Point made and point taken”. Clearly, the point made by Malaysian voters in the March 8 general election has still to be “taken” by the Prime Minister and his Cabinet.”

Oh yes, that’s very true.

Datuk Zaid,

What about the repeal and abolishment of the Internal Security Act(ISA)?

47. #47 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:13 pm

“I think most of us are not capable of “learning” anything when it suits us!” limkamput

What he is really saying is that he wants you to understand that you fellas are too dumb, would say anything to suit your case and that he alone knows how to think and knows what is best! Expect him to take you to task each time he thinks you fall out of line i.e. his line!

48. #48 by StevePCH on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:44 pm

I think Zaid will have to wait until he become Opposition first before BN apologizes.
    The EGOism in BN will never allow past mistakes admitted.
    At least Zaid in his ” personal ” capacity admitted the gross injustice made.
    He would then get the cabinet’s approval …. wow … going through Krismudin , Najib , AAB then Mike Tyson and finally Khairy’s approval. OMG impossible lei.
    Mat Tyson as KJ’s proxy is a BIG mistake. everyone can see through it.
    The crack in UMNO is getting wider and I think we can really forget about what AAB’s talking about bcos, soon he’ll be history.
    Point went in through right ear and went out through the left one.
    Bye Bye AAB you will be retiring soon or forced to.

49. #49 by pwcheng on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:57 am

“ Looks like there are plenty of euphoria especially from the legal fraternity after the appointment of Zaid Ibrahim as Minister in charge of legal and judicial reforms. Honestly I would like to put a brake on all these euphoria and ecstasy. Only time can tell as I am not sure whether he is put there to reform or to be reformed. Judging from precedents, in UMNO more often than not those who enter the “kandang” get reformed rather than making reforms. The crack of the whip will make them shiver and loose their bearing. I have seen many of his predecessors, who sounded so promising but eventually became a lamb and just followed the flock. If anybody can remember, Shahidan was one of them, outspoken when he was an ordinary MP, especially as a chairman of the backbenchers club. So is Shahrir but got reformed in the “one eye Jack” case. I really respected him (Shahrir) at one time and thought that he can deliver some changes for the betterment of the rakyat, but I am not so correct. His statement that he refused a minister post sometime ago does not really convince me now judging from his euphoria and statements made after he was offered a Minister post. Normally a person who has the conviction to decline but later changed his/her mind to accept does not behave that way, especially he only made that statement less than 2 yrs ago.

So let’s keep that euphoria under wrap first until we really see the transformation with our own eyes. Do not just get caught up on what he does or say outside. To be honest I had profound respect for Zaid Ibrahim and will continue with my respect until proven wrong. To this I hope he will lend credibility by making all the necessary arrangements so that there will be no conflict of interests with his Legal firm.

Till then I wish him all the best in his appointment as a Minister and hope that he will fulfill what the people and the country desire most, a sound and fair judiciary system which is a must for any democratic country to move forward and to be well respected internationally”.

This above is exactly what I had put in this blog about a 2 weeks ago and repeated last week. I have years of experience observing the antics of BN, I think I am not too far away to have my prediction fulfilled. Give 6 months to a year and he will be totally reformed instead of reforming. He will be hitting himself against a concrete wall and those wise men will finally tell him you are not so wise in coming through the back door.
    Anyway one consolation is that he had resigned from his Company as what I had expected him to do as cited in my second paragraph.

Good Luck Joe, do not knock your head too hard as we might need your brain in the BR and that is where you will stand at par with all the wise men and not let the wise men cow you as in BN.

50. #50 by pwcheng on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:05 am

Zaid, the above message is also from a wise old man. Quit while the going is still good and not quit when your “maruah” is already down the drain.
    I can more or less assure you, you will be hitting concrete walls and hard rocks at every corner you turn because what is good for the rakyat and the people is normally not good for your friends in the BN.

51. #51 by mycroft on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:20 am

Just a question here. If the govt. does issue an apology for the sacking of Tun Salleh Abas and the other judges, does it mean that the decision to sack them was wrong? If so, does it then mean that the decisions of the Supreme/Federal Court since 1988 would be thrown into question over that?

52. #52 by pwcheng on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:43 am

Zaid, the above message is also from a wise old man. Quit while the going is still good and not quit when your “maruah” is already down the drain.
    I can more or less assure you, you will be hitting concrete walls and hard rocks at every corner you turn because what is good for the rakyat and the people is normally not good for your friends in the BN.
    • Bring in Judiciary with integrity: Many will feel miserable without hard core protection
    • Eradicate corruption: Many will cry as there is no more easy money
    • Bring in transparency: Many will be feeling the heat as they have to “strip naked”.
    • Bring in accountability: Many will be shivering in fear as they may be out of a job.
    • Bring in integrity: This is a whole new world of experience for many and they will be at a lost of what to do.

This is the pathetic scenario of BN government and it is a Herculean task for anybody to remedy the malaise and worst still there are still many “wise men” in in UMNO.

THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN BRING CHANGES IS TO CHANGE THOSE WISE MEN FIRST.

53. #53 by pwcheng on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:52 am

mycroft Says:
    Today at 01: 20.41 (23 minutes ago)

I can assure you that your question won’t arise as the contagion effect slithers down to the present PM and revealed only via the LINGAM Tape. Otherwise it will be business as usual but after the tape, what is going to happen is any body’s guess as it is no easy to take away something what people had enjoyed for so long.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:39 am

I believe Zaid is sincere in trying to reform our judiciary. The reason for belief is based on his public advocacy in media (NST) and public forum (eg debate between him and Nazri organized by Bar Council) for such reform during the time before 12th GE, when he was just a BN MP for Kota Bharu and when he knew or ought to know that such activism to reform the judiciary would be viewed with suspicion and disapproval by the warlords and power brokers within the ruling coalition and his party. Then he had nothing to gain from such outspokenness. He risked his prospects of rising within UMNO’s hierarchy by such public advocacy of judicial reform. At that he had absolutely nothing to gain and much to lose from such public advocacy of judicial reform. After all he was then doing quite well from patronage of being an UMNO lieutenant in PAS territory. Indeed he was dropped from BN’s candidate list in the last GE without knowing why. The situation is quite different as regards premier AAB. Although credit ought to be given for his appointment of Zaid, fact remains it was an appointment was after – and not be – the debacle of 12th GE. So the issue of whether there was real commitment to judicial reform, in his case, is open to question whether, there were real commitment evinced in appointing Zaid or just a mere cosmetic gesture to assuage public disapproval evident from the recent results to salvage BN’s changing political fortunes for the worse.

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:41 am

“….Although credit ought to be given for his appointment of Zaid, fact remains it was an appointment after – and not before – the debacle of 12th GE….”

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:13 am

Zaid’s first proposal of an apology by the government for the 1988 judicial crisis has been criticized by United Nations special rapporteur Param Cumaraswamy has being “not sufficient to induce real reform”. Param said Zaid must understand that punitive measures must be taken against the perpetrators. “Glossing over the events of 1988 by a mere apology from the present government will be seen as subscribing to impunity of people in high places thereby defeating the very essence of accountability in public administration,” he added.

In Zaid’s defence I would say that whilst it is true that mere apology is “not sufficient to induce real reform”, there is also nothing to suggest that a mere apology is the last and only step Zaid would do.

It is after all just the beginning, and for starters it is necessary to get the present administration to admit and apologise for the wrong that had been done to Salleh Abbas and other judges in 1988 before other measures such as instituting an independent judicial commission for the appointment of judges can be proceeded upon. It is first things first. How does one expect Zaid to immediately do more when even the first token gesture of apology is already resisted by his cabinet colleagues as hinted by Zaid’s remarks, “I am afraid the view has yet to be considered. “There are many people who are more experienced and who are wiser than me. So we have to wait.”

Now Zaid can’t push his agenda (of judicial reform) through unless his patron the premier could give him strong backing relative to detractors.

Right now the patron himself is fighting for political survival. He could not prevail on Terengganu’s Ruler to accept Idris Jusoh as Terengganu’s MB, indeed it was the other way around he had to accept palace-backed Ahmad Said as MB; he also could not prevail on UMNO Supreme Council to agree deferring party polls (seen as offering avenues of leadership challenge by Ku Li) to next year, and further he could not control certain cabinet appointees like Ghapur Salleh from taking deputy ministerially positions, apparently for real reasons undisclosed.

57. #57 by Godfather on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:28 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005.

58. #58 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:43 am

However to the “many people”, who according to Zaid, “are more experienced and who are wiser than me. So we have to wait”, the question is whether there is “time to wait”.

Politicians do not turn down ministerial positions for nothing. Something is evidently brewing and afoot especially when main protagonist DSAI has been uncharacteristically quiet of late.

If there were going to occur a significant crossing over by BN’s MPs that causes the BN to lose command of majority in Dewan Rakyat in a time not too long from now, and ensuing from that, an Opposition backed vote of no confidence is successfully passed against the PM representing the BN government, what would be the scenario then?

One scenario is that the King could dissolve parliament the second to usher in the next 13th General Election.

The BN showing no will to reform after the 12th GE would, in line with the momentum of decline of popularity evinced in the 12th GE, llikely be trounced even more this time around, returning to parliament as a full fledged opposition coalition.

This is not something many within BN would relish or could afford because of vested interests and existing crony deals yet uncompleted and inchoate and the dire prospects of witch hunt when BR comes to power!

The real issue now is no more just whether the present cabinet has “taken well or not the point made” by voters during the 12th General Election.

The real issue is, if there were no immediate genuine reform, whether there is really still this same cabinet a few months down road for any point to be well taken, if at all! :)

For the first time, time is of the essence running against an imploding incumbent ruling coalition.

59. #59 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:53 am

Typo omission in preceding posting at 07: 13.45
    ” …..further he could not control certain cabinet appointees like Ghapur Salleh from NOT taking deputy ministerially positions…”

60. #60 by clear conscience on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:48 am

I agree with uncle LKS that the government of Abdullah is just a shadow of what we can deem as “Point not heard & Point not taken”. I say this based on my personal experience with the PM.

The PM had put up his brave website, the WarkahUntukPM (www.warkahuntukpm.com) where he had invited all Malaysians to write to him.

Just for the information of all here, I had written to the PM on 20th March 2008 via this website wherein I had highlighted to him the problem explicitly mentioned in my earlier emails sent to him and the Ketua Kementerian Keselamatan Dalam Negeri (Tan Sri Abdul Aziz) in August 2007. Till to-date from 20th March 2008, the administrator of the WarkahuntukPM website is either not functioning or if ever, it must be at snail-mail pace as no email reply to my whistle-blowing act was forthcoming nor any form of acknowledgment pertaining to that matter (as highlighted in my August 2007 emails) is being looked into.

The question here is:-
    i) Is the PM saying one thing and doing anything. On one hand, he said, ” Point noted & Point taken”,
    ii) Is the http://www.warkahuntukpm.com website merely an election gimmick (since it was launched on 1 March 2008) prioir to PRU12 on 8 March 2008, so much so it is now probably not functioning at all.

I had already resigned to the fact that my whistle blowing act would land on the deaf ears of the PM as I am convinced that the answer to the above (i) & (ii) would just be another chapter of disappointment to all Malaysians.

Let’s just take note of this. How this website (www.warkahuntukpm.com) would help us Malaysians be taken note of & heard.

If at all you need to test it, please try by all means to pose your comments or requests to the PM……just see for yourself what response would you receive. I gues you will be just another me.

LKS foresees many things far ahead by his above captioned headline here. I totally agree with uncle LKS

61. #61 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:20 am

“I believe Zaid is sincere in trying to reform our judiciary.” Jeffrey

I believe we should not come to this conclusion too quickly. I have seen many who say things very differently before holding a cabinet position but change completely after being appointed to a cabinet position. My observation is simple. Within the UMNO establishment, those holding positions are usually supportive of the present leadership. Those going against the present leadership are usually those “has been” politicians or those who were removed from or lost their positions recently. We shall judge the true intent of a leader from what he/she does, not what he/she says. This principle should be similarly applied to those from PKR, DAP and PAS who are now holding government positions.

Another issue we ought to ask concerning the appointment of Zaid and Sharir is whether UMNO as a political party is still capable of reform from within. Has UMNO reached a point of no return? If so, can good men (assuming they are good, but I am not sure at this stage) doing the right things in a wrong political party?

62. #62 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:23 am

It takes 4 yrs for a PM to realize it is important to hear what Rakyat said. I’m wondering is he lost in Disneyland?

63. #63 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:26 am

lakilompat,

Next 4 years, selangor ppl will ask DAP the same question …

“It takes 4 yrs for a DAP to realize it is important to hear what Rakyat said. I’m wondering is he lost in Disneyland?”

64. #64 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:57 am

ric23_my don’t be too sure, jus relax and watch the beginning.

65. #65 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:09 pm

lakilompat,

Opposition like DAP won in this election is becoz BeeAnn have too much weaknesses, NOT becoz DAP have good achievements in state governing (as we have no chance to prove it since past 50 years) …

this is a golden opportunity to convince selangor ppl that they did a right choice. Chances of BeeAnn take over Selangor in next election is very high … we have only have 4 years short period to perform …

The formation of Selangor exco line up show that DAP make use of Selangor ppl interest as “chip” to “gamble” for future with “uncertainty” … u think this is a poker game? If the consequence of this “gamble” is it lost, the ppl is the one who need to pay for it …

This is not about teng or anyone … this is about sidelined of potential and senior ppl that can bring ppl towards a brigther future …

66. #66 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:14 pm

If Teng is not satisfied with the exco appointment result he should be ranting or boycott DAP perhaps invite himself some spank from YB LKS. Or perhaps give up join BN, not sure! but the problem is it seems there are some hardcore fan who are upset by the decision simply the other candidates are new.

67. #67 by JDoe on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:19 pm

At least with BR, still got chances in winning this “poker game”. With BeeAnn, you are not even invited to the poker table.

68. #68 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:24 pm

JDoe,

if you play poker game, will u simply throw money with “uncertainty” in your mind whether it will win or lost? Unless the money (selanor ppl interest) throw is not so important to you.

for sure everyone will try to increase the chances of winning as much as possible.

and to judge whether someone can perform well compared to others, is not based on experience and achivement?

69. #69 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:34 pm

Zaid Ibrahim has to explained why he supported the tribunal and the sacking of the Lord President and the Judges then, as alleged by Mahathir in his article appearing in theSun newspaper on 28/3/08! Now he wanted to apologise, so there are many doubters of his sincerity in restoring the confidence and credibility of the judiciary of the country.

His hands were soiled and he has to clean up himself first before he can convince his colleagues in the new cabinet of Abdullah.

70. #70 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:37 pm

///Zaid Ibrahim has to explain why he supported the tribunal and the sacking of the Lord President and the Judges then, as alleged by Mahathir in his article appearing in theSun newspaper on 28/3/08!/// – shortie kiasu.

Don’t know what Mathathir is talking about. Zaid Ibrahim wasn’t a cabinet minister in 1988 when sacking of the Lord President and the Judges took place. In fact Zaid became active in politics after he joined Umno in 2000 way after the judicial crisis in 1988….

That in 1988 he enjoyed patronage from UMNO (Tun Daim) is not disputed though. His firm was the first Malaysian firm to get into privatisation work back in 1988 with its involvement in the North South Expressway.

Zaid is well known for his dissenting views from the government on various issues. Well before the last election, he was not afraid to speak his mind.

He couldn’t convince his colleagues in the new cabinet of Abdullah because some of his colleaques might be with Mahathir in 1988.

71. #71 by Godfather on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 5:12 pm

Jeffrey:

Zaid was at the time the President of the National Muslim Lawyers’ Association, and according to Mahathir, supported the establishment of the Tribunal against Tun Salleh and the others.

72. #72 by kingkenny on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:55 pm

We shouldn’t be telling BN to do this and to do that to improve whatever they needed to improve on…just let them die naturally or unnaturally

we should just keep on pushing and pushing & concentrate our mind & soul into ousting BN and all the slime in it!!!!!!!!

Increase the pace now PKR-DAP-PAS becoz now is the moment!!!!

73. #73 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 8:06 pm

74. #74 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:12 pm

75. #75 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:45 pm

I do not think the current Government will apologise to the judges who were removed by the recalcitrant Mahathir.

It is believed that Zaid Ibrahim will tender his resignation soon as the current government will not tolerate his views on the judiciary, ISA and other issues.

It is hoped that the current appeal court president Zaki should not be appointed as Chief justice of Federal court as quoted from Lord Denning, “the justice must not only be done but must be seen to be done”.

It is hoped that the president of the Bar council be given the chance to sit in the Cabinet meeting in order to advise the Cabinet ministers on various legal issues.

76. #76 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 7:56 am

///Zaid was at the time the President of the National Muslim Lawyers’ Association, and according to Mahathir, supported the establishment of the Tribunal against Tun Salleh and the others/// – Godfather.

So we note from what Mahathir said. I don’t recall or have any record of this other than and independent of what the Tun selectively remembers, amongst many things that he had apparently forgotten if you believe what he said in the Lingam’s Enquiry!

Yet I won’t discount what Mahathir said as a figment of his imagination.

It is well nigh possible, if not probable, that Zaid then in 1988 supported the establishment of the Tribunal against Tun Salleh and the others for reasons of self interest. If his firm was the first Malaysian firm to get into privatisation work in 1988 for North South Expressway, it would require Tun Daim’s patronage – and Daim being Mahathir’s crony, would imply Mahathir need to be ingratiated, which accounts why Mahathir remembers this so vividly!

However, I won’t hold this (point of inconsistency) against Zaid if by subsequent conduct and speeches he had “reformed” for the better to argue for an independent Judiciary.

If we were to use a person’s errant actions of the past as a bench mark to judge, doubt and discredit his present good deeds, we can’t move forward. We would also have to doubt Anwar Ibrahim and Khalid Ibrahim who at that time (1988) also supported and ingratiated supreme Mahathir.

On the cause of fighting for restoration of judiciary’s independence which Zaid, Anwar Ibrahim and Khalid Ibrahim all subscribe, the difference is that Zaid is prepared to advocate it publicly whilst still within UMNO’s firmament contrary to comfort of his party whilst the other two are outside the circle of power.

77. #77 by mycuntree on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 2:02 pm

The rejection of Zaid’s proposal by UMNO confirms that the BN goverment has learned nothing from the election. The rejection to freed the H5 continue to reaffirm the power that be will continue with their abuses of their authority. The people must act to remove that authority…… and that means get them out of the goverment.

78. #78 by mycuntree on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 2:05 pm

Sorry, I forgot to add. Zaid, to maintain his honour should therefore offer his resignation of Minister to the PM.

79. #79 by citizen86 on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 5:11 pm

I think abdullah badawi should just resign he and umno has done alot of damage to the countries image although i do agree cant blame badawi totally cz these disease of corruption started during mahatirs time but badawi if barisan wants to be strong you have to step down … as you n your umnoputras has done alot of damage..

80. #80 by citizen86 on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 5:16 pm

Badawi if u want to gain the respect and the trust of the people you should not just merely acknowledge the problems faced but take action …. ur a man of full of promises with not much action … you said you point made and point taken but i think ur more concern of your parties loss and how to overcome that issue as compared to the issues facing the nation as a whole and also i dont understand whats with the double standard practice as your fru team dispatched the bersih and hindraf rally without mercy and ur son in law kera jantan was acting like a hero in front of the american embassy and no action was taken against him and also what about ur umnoputras protesting in penang ?? shouldnt you throw them into isa as well since u mentioned that ” there has never been a peaceful protest”… i think despite mahatirs flaws he at least brought about lot of positive developments and badawi im sad to say ur cabinet has failed us miserably and also i would like to thank all opposition leaders esp sir lim kit siang,karpal singh,manoharan,anwar and all those who stood up against the tyranny of the federal government thank you very much

81. #81 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 7:53 pm

Ooooh, yes, DSAI is uncharacteristerically quiet, isn’t he? But then, while he hasn’t made too many statements, the ones he chose to make are rather telling, like “…we actually won the GE12…” and that too in a double page article in a BN controlled medium. Kudos to those brave enough to print DSAI’s views. Since it was a Q&A, it must have been pretty close to verbatim, meaning no hanky-panky. Now, even as he ‘is quiet,’ the EYE is popping up in some rather interesting places.

Oooooh, the by-election for DSAI to march into the Parliament is happening soon – I hope it will be in my constituency. I sure hope so. I would love to put that ‘X’ ONE MORE TIME against the tottering DACING. And the reason as I cross the box? – here’s the ‘X’ once again against Kerishamuddin, if nothing else. And I am hoping he is stupid enough to repeat his keris act again in the next UMNO GA. Then, we will know for sure that for UMNO, point is made but…not taken now, was not taken before and will not ever be taken.

So, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim for Prime Minister Now!

82. #82 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:52 pm

Pak Lah can be like George Bush, I’ve heard u, but in fact, it’s not important.