Abdullah’s new Cabinet – mixed signals with no luxury of political honeymoon

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s new Cabinet announced today sends out mixed signals – that he is starting to “hear the truth from the people” after failure to honour his pledge for 42 months and which was the cause of the Barisan Nasional’s devastating electoral defeat in the March 8 general election as well as the return to the old politics of patronage.

The surprise appointment of Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, who was dropped as an Umno candidate in the recent general election, as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department with the portfolio of legal affairs will be most significant if it reflects a belated commitment to institute far-reaching judicial reforms to restore confidence in the independence, integrity and quality of the judiciary to internationally-acclaimed world-class standards which it enjoyed until two decades ago when it suffered repeated assaults and rocked from one judicial scandal to another.

The appointment of Umno Information chief Muhammad Muhammad Taib as Minister for Rural and Regional Development however signifies a return to the old politics of patronage, completely at variance with Abdullah’s pledge 42 months ago to lead a clean, incorruptible and trustworthy government.

The relinquishment of one of the two key portfolios by Abdullah, who held both Internal Security and Finance under the previous administration, is a development in the right direction as it was clear that Abdullah was unable to do justice to the treble responsibilities of Prime Minister, Internal Security Minister and Finance Minister and was setting a bad example not only to other Cabinet Ministers but also to the entire government.

I hope the appointment of new Ministers in charge of key ministries, like Syed Hamid Albar as Home Affairs and Internal Security Minister, Ahmad Shabery Cheek as Information Minister, Abdul Shahrir Samad as Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, Khaled Nordin as Higher Education Minister, Rais Yatim as Foreign Minister and Azalina Othman Said as Tourism Minister is because of an equal commitment to “hear the truth from the people” and initiate reforms in their respective jurisdictions.

Time however is not on the side of the new Cabinet. The political tsunami of March 8 does not give to the new Cabinet the luxury of the usual political honeymoon for a new Cabinet such as the conventional first hundred days for a new government or new Cabinet.

One clear message from the March 8 election results is the pent-up demand for reform after 50 years of disappointment and disillusionment at the lack of meaningful changes in the country.

All the Cabinet Ministers, whether new Ministers or old Ministers in new or previous Ministries, have less than two months to present an overall national programme of reform in conformity with the national verdict for change in the March 8 election results when Parliament reconvenes for its first meeting in May.

Will the new Abdullah Cabinet present a far-reaching national programme for reform within two months to the first meeting of Parliament which involves:

• far-reaching judicial reforms to restore a world-class judiciary;

• a first-world Parliament with wide-ranging parliamentary reforms including having an Opposition MP to head the Public Accounts Committee and a full select committee system where every Ministry is shadowed by a Select Committee;

• creation of an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service with the immediate establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) as recommended by the Royal Police Commission;

• restoration of the independence, professionalism and impartiality of important institutions of state whether civil service, the Attorney-General’s Chambers, the Anti-Corruption Agency, etc.

• establishment of world-class education system at all levels distinguished by educational quality, excellence and meritocracy; and

• a just, efficient, progressive economic policy which closes the gap between the rich and the poor and enhances Malaysia’s international competitiveness to face the challenges of globalization.

The March 8 general election has removed the Barisan Nasional’s hitherto unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority, creating a more balanced and healthier Parliament.

Without parliamentary secretaries, the 27 Ministers should start a new political culture of placing their parliamentary accountability as among their top responsibilities, eradicating the undesirable past practice of Ministers playing truant from Parliament – with the Prime Minister himself setting an example by instituting a weekly Prime Minister’s question time where he appears in Parliament in person to lead the government in parliamentary accountability as is the norm in first-world developed countries.

1. #1 by longjaafar on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:00 pm

I still cannot get over the appointment of Tan Sri Mohamad Mohd Taib.
    My guess is that Mike tyson raised the most money for the BN election machinery recently.

2. #2 by warrior213 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:01 pm

Looks like Pak Lah short of suitable candidates. Will this new line up live to its expectation of the rakyat is yet to be seen. Give them 6 months or a year, only then we will see how it goes.

3. #3 by Wisdom above on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:05 pm

Lousy line-up

4. #4 by paupei on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:09 pm

just wait for them to do silly mistakes again! that’s for sure!

5. #5 by jennifer cheong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:11 pm

The new cabinet members – congratulations! AP Rafidah and Khairy – they deserved it ! Let all cabinet new faces contribute for REAL DEMOCRACY in Malaysia’s politic! DAP new MP/State Assembly man and woman : work smart, work all out for the RAKYAT! you have 3 or 4 years chances, people are observing your work and words! May God bless DAP,PKR and PAS to join hands for a better tomorrow!Cheers!

6. #6 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:13 pm

Congratulation to the ever sleeping PM for appointing the ex-MB with 2M in his name as cabinet minister. Bn is doomed.

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:16 pm

Sort of too little, too late.
    The Cabinet is still too large and should be about 15 portfolios at the most.

But the order to declare assets is a right decision.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/initial-reaction-to-new-cabinet.html

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:16 pm

Mat Tyson as Minister? So much for those lullabies on integrity!

The rest of the Cabinet is more of the same. Let’s give them 100 days to show some signs of life and brain activity.

9. #9 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:17 pm

New line up but same dirty rotten smell. ONe rotten egg spoiled the entire basket of eggs. THe egg by the name of Muhd Taik.

And PM says all new ministers must declare their assets but whether it will be made known to the public is anohter matter.

This exercise of declaration is only for new ministers? Ppl like AAB and Najib is off the hook? Hishamuddin also?

10. #10 by Rocky on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:19 pm

M.Taib as minister just made his whole cabinet loose credibility!!! Nila setitik rosak susu seluruh Msia. PM did not pick him for election but picked M.Taib as a cabinet minister. what a load of crap. What is he carrying in his briefcase this time?

Zaid Ibrahim and Amirsham Aziz have good credibility.Hopefully they will do a good job and speak their mind.Zaid Ibrahim we know will speak his mind.

Nazri- this loud mouth bugger. why do you need him.

Azalina – what can you say.Maybe she will build a new park for tourist since she is keen on building things…more contract ma.

Ong Ka Chuan – Brother hand to brother. OKT is not really sincere.

Ong Tee Keat – good guy. Hopefully becomes president of MCA soon.

Rais Yatim – good guy with credibility.

Muhyiddin – Rafidah did a great job no matter you say about her. Hope he can do a good job and there is a lot more non malays in her ministry like MITI and MIDA. Hope he will keep that as well and be fair in the hiring and promotion of staff.

Last but not least, not sure how long this cabinet will be around. I give them till end of the year before another revamp

11. #11 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:21 pm

These are my impressions:-

PM – for a man to have failed a statistic paper to still hold on to the Finance minister post (money) & let go of Internal security (peace) speaks much of what’s in the person’s heart. This is giving the rakyat the bad impression -‘Money man’.

Home affairs & internal security – As foreign minister in the last cabinet, the whole world has a real glimsp of Syed Hamid Albar in that infamous HALK TALK interview with BBC last year. His remark of ‘in our country, we do things our way’ has firmly made a lasting impression that in Malayisa the government can simply do things according to their wimps & fancies. Hope he has changed that image – ‘I do it my way man’.

Zaid Ibrahim – I can only say they think he is the savior now to right the arrogant wrong of that what’s his name Nazri and his moderate voice can now rescue the party to win back some votes – ‘the resurrected man’.

12. #12 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:27 pm

taib chief bn-umno strategist now a minister, oh dear………

after the massive debacle, now you know why he was not contesting……he would have lost

13. #13 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:27 pm

The new faces are like lambs being led to the slaughterhouse. Sitting duck together with the lame papa duck. BR pls make sure you guys get the parliament meetings up on youtube.

14. #14 by wag-the-dog on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:28 pm

Please it is not Hear but to Listen. Pak Lah is still not listening. Please read artical To Hear and To Listen in http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com

15. #15 by baoqingtian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:29 pm

Why Hesuckmudin / Krishishamudin is not dropped? He is one of the cause of BN election disaster!

16. #16 by baoqingtian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:32 pm

With that same person in the education ministry, chinese schools will suffer again!

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:33 pm

” establishment of world-class education system at all levels distinguished by educational quality, excellence and meritocracy; ”

I propose the 5 states under BR should take the lead – something like

20% of all state scholarships based purely on merit (open competition)
    50% awarded to poorer families (means test)
    15% awarded to Bumis (based on merit)
    10% awarded to Chinese (merit)
    5% awarded to Indians/others(merit)

or some acceptable ratio based on studies.

18. #18 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:34 pm

now u wil see who wil be waiving the kris next time…………..

samy once said bring on the army he has no fear

n his fate is sealed……….

now nazri, what say you…………..

19. #19 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:43 pm

20. #20 by showsomemercy on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:44 pm

RPK will surely have a field day shooting Muhd son of Muhd… How can such …be in the cabinet?
    Lau eh..

Why not pick me? I will be a better Cabinet Minister! :)

21. #21 by k1980 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:44 pm

There’s one person at least 100 years old on nearly every page of the voters’ roll… Old Moo Gabee got inspired by BN’s phantom voting
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/africa/article3571706.ece

22. #22 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:48 pm

Oops its “Hard Talk” interview –

http://bright-i.blogspot.com/2007/09/hard-talk-talk-hard.html

23. #23 by malaysiantruly on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:53 pm

Congratulation fellow Malaysians!

Finally we see changes in the mindsets of both sides, the B Nasional & Rakyat. BN learned and swallowed the bitterness of being defeated and making an attempt to show fellow Malaysians they mean business in reengineering their thinking and approach in dealing with issues we concerned about by inclusion of a few new young credible professionals in the new cabinet line up.

While BR from oppositions swapped into power overnight in a few states has to view and handle issues from the other side of the table with more careful and practical approach without upsetting we all Malaysians who voted them.

So, the winner of the whole political tsunami is Malaysians! We created the history and we will keep our eyes wide open to watch how the two Bs perform in the next few years. Let us, fellow Malaysian voters set the KPI and reward the deserving party with generous bonuses after 2011.

Cheers!

24. #24 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:54 pm

It is still the same old sandiwara. New actors but same storyline.

25. #25 by alancheah on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:54 pm

With this type of new line-up of Cabinet, having
    some people like who you all mentioned above,
    I can see that BN will KALAH EVEN a BIG TIME
    in the next election!

26. #26 by happyguy on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 4:56 pm

Well done. They have almost the same faces. So that Barisan Rakyat can easily dick the Being Naive (BN).

27. #27 by ngahc on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:00 pm

Glad to see those old faces were dropped from the cabinet. This cabinet line up offers fresh air to Malaysians. However, our perception is that corruption is still very much rampant across the board. I really hope that our country could measure up to Singapore / Hong Kong in terms of corruption index. Let’s get rid of those corrupted politicians once and for all. We want a clean, honest, incorruptipility and efficiency government just like Singapore / Hong Kong. I don’t agree with PM that we cannot compare ourselves with Singapore / Hong Kong as they are difference. Without a high bar benchmark, we can never progress by leaps and bounds. Do we want to benchmark with Africa?

28. #28 by chuchueey on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:02 pm

BN must really be scrapping the dregs to come up with a man like Mike Tyson to be minister again. This fossil should have been left in the freezer box and dumped into the deepest part of the Pacific Ocean. And he was not even fielded as a candidate in the election. Why let a man who was high profiled in the Australian newspapers year ago come back to embarass this country again. On the other hand I applaud the PM for dropping people like Rafidah Aziz and J Jarjis and also not letting KJ in.
    Anyway, congratulations to BN for shooting itself in the foot again!

29. #29 by digard on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:06 pm

Zaid Ibrahim is the remarkable position, after Badawi had him sent out for fabricated reasons, because Zaid has been his vocal critic.
    Remains to be seen, how much Zaid will be allowed to handle. He has a very clear opinion on some constitutional issues. If he doesn’t run into the concrete wall of the die-hard boys, he can score for BN. We’ll see.

If it wasn’t for the M**2, one could think Badawi had got the message. Probably they got a skeleton in the cupboard, though.
    In any case, the whole world knows how clean M**2 is; plenty of fodder for attacks. Just another sign of arrogance.

30. #30 by nahoda on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:09 pm

It is interesting to know PL requesting his cabinet members to declare their asset. Does he following the BR move or what he is trying to prove. Government is still them, if they want to hide or play false game still can. Why not they declare their asset and have a 2nd or 3rd party to check whether is actual or under declared.

For me, I can put my asset under wife, parents, brothers or 2nd isteri also can. It prove nothing by saying I want them to declare their asset. What about those in the passed…i.e Rafidah ? Who have to power or dare to question them upon their declaration. Believe me, their asset declaration is a list of fake and camouflage
    , who is so stupid to tell I got 1/2bil at swiss bank which is from the AP.

31. #31 by billgates on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:10 pm

The new cabinet is heading for doom. How can you trust Pak Lah when he can appoint people like Mike Tyson who was found guilty (but Aussie govt could not re-charge him) of money laundering. The big number of senators selected as members of the cabinet goes to show that the BN’s candidates in the 12th GE have no quality.

When DPP takes over, I hope people like Rafidah, Nazri, Mike Tyson, Tengku Adnan, Sami Vellu, Ling Liong Sik and Chan Kong Choy’s case be re-opened again.

32. #32 by Jimm on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:12 pm

KJ plan is working perfectly.
    With RA out of the picture, he will dominate the car industries under HICOM.
    We will enjoy another making of AirAsia … soon.
    By the way, Mike Tyson will bite some ears again this round….
    just be careful and take care of our own ears…

33. #33 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:13 pm

The entire cabinet has been sullied by the inclusion of the man with two Muhammads in his name.
    He lied to the Australian court that he could not understand English. He even lied to the sultan.

34. #34 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:18 pm

What new cabinet lineup? The Chinese calls this “changing the soup without changing the herbs”. There are no more talents in BN and the way things are going and winds are blowing, many BN members will “jump the fence” soon to join the opposition parties, now that “the grass looks greener on the other side”.

Most if not all the cabinet ministers have bad “track records” and are not fit to act as ministers for the nation. Not to mention even Pak Lah himself has outstayed his term.

35. #35 by dap-for-pj on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:24 pm

M(oney) Taib(ype) AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!! GIVE ME A BREAK………WHAT SIGNAL IS AAB TRYING TO SEND?

36. #36 by pgsilai on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:26 pm

Rocky, I fully agree with you, why Mike Tyson is chosen? What is he going to carry in his brief case, or much will he be carrying? Someone with bad track records and now in the cabinet? Let’s watch closely his movement.Why is Pak Lah still holding the Finance post, can’t he find anyone who scores distinction in numbers to replace him?

37. #37 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:29 pm

The new 27-seat cabinet has 66 MPs (out of 140 elected = 47%) and 2 senators appointed as ministers or deputy ministers. Wow!

More BN MPs will be appointed to hold other posts (eg, parliamentary secretaries) in various ministries. Looks like more than half of the elected BN MPs will be holding multiple posts and well paid.

It’s a pity KJ and AP Rafidah are not in the cabinet. They are good for target practice. KJ must be the shadow PM and Finance Minister.

Nazri Aziz is still there, wonderful, and, incredibly, Muhammad Muhd Taib is a minister! Wow! Does M2T require a bigger bag?

A suggestion: It’s time for Barisan Rakyat to set up their shadow cabinet to monitor BN’s cabinet.

38. #38 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:32 pm

From malaysiakini.com:
    Ministers, deputies to declare assets
    Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi says it is important that the public know how much his ministers and their deputies are worth.

I remember the last time you did ask for it but no walk and you yourself and families did not have to declare.

Now you are saying it again but will you walk the talk.
    And also you and your immediate families MUST ALSO DECLARE your assets. You cannot exempt yourself from declaring your assets.

We must not allow umno bn to regain the strength like they had for the past fifty years.

39. #39 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:38 pm

Now that the BN’s cabinet is out, with many Umno old guards not in there and with many of the cabinet members having skeletons in their cabinets, we will very soon see the beginning of the end of Umno and BN.

Expect the implosion of Umno, followed by the implosion of BN.

40. #40 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:52 pm

I think whilst there are many comments made here which criticizes BN’s Cabinet, my question to all is where is Barisan Rakyat’s “shadow cabinet”? Will PKR-DAP-PAS collaboration come out with a “shadow cabinet” in due time? I understand there may be speculations of higher priority activities at the moment but when things settle down in the next few days/weeks, I hope PKR-DAP-PAS (or Barisan Rakyat) will be a reality, and then, we will have a shadow cabinet that “shadows” BN ministers.

Imagine Anwar shadowing Pak Lah, YB LKS shadowing Najib and Najib only, and 80 other Opposition MPs shadowing this Cabinet which numbers less than 80. Keep shadowing them for 5 years, and it is only a matter of time before Barisan Rakyat becomes firmly entrenched in Rakyat’s minds over the next 5 years.

As for loud mouth Nazri, I truly hope there will be someone equally outspoken to shadow him. YB LKS has done an excellent job, but with his hugely limited resources previously, I hope there will be someone new who can lift some of the huge load off his shoulder which he previously carried. YB LKS deserves some rest to expose Najib, who may well one day become our PM if rumours are true.

Well, the main thing is I hope to see the day when one day, our country will have a shadow Cabinet to provide greater checks and balances to the BN government, if not to topple BN together with its huge excesses and corruptions that we’ve seen in the past.

41. #41 by Loh on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:59 pm

Would the government declare that government contracts and procurement are henceforth based on open tender system, as the norm for all governments, and in Malaysia before TDM became PM in 1981?

The position of PM itself might be too much for AAB. Was the position of finance meant for his SIL who as Deputy Youth Chief should have been but not made a deputy minister? Was AAB scared of TDM and dared not appoint his SIL? He might have bought TDM silence by appointing the MP from Jerlun to a deputy minister position. So the call for AAB to resign will continue.

42. #42 by Jong on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:06 pm

Wow, he’s not as stupid as he looks! At least he’s smart enough to make sure there’s always an experienced “courier” at hand to transfer all those ‘haram’ cash to Perth!

43. #43 by fed-up-Malaysian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:12 pm

I think let’s don’t waste too much energy in finding faults of the new ministers in the next 5 years.
    The people are wiser now to tell who have done a good job, who have screwed up.

The BR MPs should focus on their own jobs serving people well. This will enough win more heart of the people in the next GE. Then we will sit back and see the BN dominoes falling down south.

The people no longer judge PKR/DAP/PAS as oppositions. They will compare PKR/DAP/PAS with BN how well they run the states.

44. #44 by jetaime.f on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:12 pm

Lim Kit Siang: “…….with the Prime Minister himself setting an example by instituting a weekly Prime Minister’s question time where he appears in Parliament in person to lead the government in parliamentary accountability as is the norm in first-world developed countries.”

Mr. Lim, I happened to witness the obtrusive Mr. Samy Vellu when he yelled at you in one of the Parliament session and he made a comment about no countries in the world will have their PM and Deputy PM present at each Parliament session.

I trust from your comments above, that you knew that was not true, yet you held on and not waste time and energy retorting back at him on this point.

I was laughing to myself when I heard the comments made by a minister who has probably more than 30 years experience, as I watch the Parliament session twice a week.

The Prime MInister, his Deputy and all other members of parliament will always be present and same goes for the opposition party.

You have done an excellent job in defending your party members against attacks by the ministers of the ruling government….

One of the main reasons why Malaysia has not progressed is because the country has been experiencing the “brain drain” phenomenon diminishing the number of educated, well-exposed AND experienced PEOPLE.

45. #45 by mycroft on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:46 pm

Dropping Rafidah may or may not make sense. On the one hand, she has terrible baggage, especially with the AP issue. On the other hand, no one can deny that her Ministry had done pretty good and she was a capable minister. Removing her and keeping Keris Boy doesn’t make much sense at all.

46. #46 by Warrior of Cookies on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:48 pm

Hope none of them are like the menteri bodoh in Aljazeera’s episode…!!!

47. #47 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:52 pm

boh-liao Says:

“….and, incredibly, Muhammad Muhd Taib is a minister! Wow! Does M2T require a bigger bag?”

Yes, whenever he has to take some ‘spicy ingredients’ to Australia or for the Nasi Kandar outlet….is that in Perth? With diplomatic immunity too, perhaps?

And….Nazri Aziz – let’s see if this high-and-mighty clown still remain trisyllabic (‘racist,racist, racist’ fame) in Parliament.

I like Zaid’s book – available MPH (should get a commission from ZAid) for this. Let’s see him do some housecleaning with the judiciary, to begin with. Those ‘less-educated’ judges who don’t write judgments sshould be …well, leave that to Zaid. Oh, all judges should also declare their assets to the PM and Zaid, I think.

48. #48 by max2811 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:59 pm

LOL. The same type of cabinet which will cause BN to lose a few more states in the next GE. The inclusion of the most corrupt of the corrupts. OKC, 2 MOHDs, keris wielder.

I just hope the teachers will not raise their canes and say, “I will bathe this cane with Chinese blood”! Doesn’t UMNO has an educationist who really knows about education? He should hv gotten a Professor from one of our unis and make him/her as the MOE. At least he/she wouldn’t teach the children to raise crooked knives and say it is practically alright to raise knives and shout slogans.

Other than Husni, Rais Yatim and Zaid, I really don’t admire any of them. But then again, maybe the PM is plotting the downfall of BN.

49. #49 by darren sky on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:05 pm

Anyone can give me the blog address to PM which was launched recently.

50. #50 by year of snake on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:16 pm

What the PM had in his mind but could not do is to appoint the Oxford loudmouth as a Deputy Minister because of the dismal performance of BN in the election.

51. #51 by lohsh on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:34 pm

The PM tainted his effort in forming a reformed cabinet with the inclusion of MM.

Thanks to the good name of his forefathers, Hisham had had a narrow escape.

52. #52 by ian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:38 pm

The bitch Azalina is back. You’ll probably need to go London to Visit Malaysia 2009.

Zaid, though vocal, is too limp to do anything I suspect. There is only so much he can do in a system that is woefully lacking from the top tier judges right down to the prosecuting officers.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:48 pm

This PM is clearly not in control of anything.

He is forced to take on some UMNO heavyweights whose liability despite being obvious to all, whose support is crucial if he wants to survive the next party elections! Wouldn’t you do the same if your future hangs in the balance?

Obviously he feels the need to use the post of Prime Minister in the PM’s Department in his own backyard as training ground for some other posts. We can expect a cabinet re-shuffle not far down the line.

But why is there a need for him to retain the post of Minister of Finance? Does it mean he doesn’t trust the people who now serve as deputies but cannot drop them because they know too much??

54. #54 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:51 pm

In today’s Astro discussion, one of the panelist said that the reason why Mike Tyson was appointed as a minister of Rural and Regional Development is because he is always in the front line during any by-election and h reaches well into the rural Malay heartlands.

If that is true, they are making use of the rakyat’s money to pay this mule so that he can canvass for more votes from the Malay heartlands during election time. Well a person with zero credibility can still be a minister because he works hard during election time.

Is it not because of the rural voters that they are still running the govt. Most of the urban votes goes to the Barisan Rakyat. Obviously they know the educated and well informed will not bite the silly bait of the BN and now they need a crooked man to lie to the rural foilks..

55. #55 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 7:55 pm

Well for Zaid Ibrahim, they realized that it is better to put him in a cage than better let him roam outside the cage. Well lets see whether he will still be the same Zaid Ibrahim or be tamed by the whip.

56. #56 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:07 pm

Pak Lah has wisdom to doom UMNO.

Let him be.

57. #57 by ian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:09 pm

Haha. Shahrizat made adviser with minister status!

Who knows, next OKT, Samy, Rafidah and others will be made as advisers with minister status as well to keep them happy.

How stupid is our government.

58. #58 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:09 pm

Apart from Zaid Ibrahim, what do we have? The same bunch of ball lickers and corrupt sychophants in slightly different shades. Let’s see how much Mike Tyson declares his personal assests. Rural parents better lock up their daughters when he comes a calling.

59. #59 by Malaysia sayang on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:15 pm

Let this be a warning to those who have been given the responsibility to run this country…..either you do it right with a God fearing heart or get out while you have the time. Responsibility = Accountability whether to the Rakyat here or to God thereafter. Either way, you still have to be responsible for your actions. May God judge you according to what you sow in the thereafter and may HE protect the oppressed and down and out against the corrupt and evil authorities in this country. I rest my case.

60. #60 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:17 pm

61. #61 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:17 pm

our pm let go some of the big suckers but instead took in a bigger sucker in his cabinet.wats the use of having new faces at this time if u are true in pursuing wat u call urself a pm for every malaysians?u shud hv done dat ages ago.u slept thru out in most of ur meetings.u ignored peoples plights.u spend money like u think u its ur own.u dun even hv the wisdom of a mindful leader.u talk kok and u can even sound so threatening…”saya pantang dicabar”.
    so wat if u are being cabared?..hvnt u seen enough of wats been shown to u in the election?
    whn u shud keep ur promise to ur people u took these 4 years as ur honeymoon.u are only a servant of the people.respect comes with dignity but not pride fr a wise leader.u hv none of those either and zero respect most of the rakyat.as an elderly man whose behind hadhari and all ur preachings…u let a monkey out to make chaos and behave like a hooligan.so whos to blame?u got ur head so bloated up with the 4th floor information but instead u shud do ur homework urself.wat the hell hv u been thinking and doing all these 4 years for the people.
    dun u think its a bit too late for the damages u hv done in just these 4 years?we people were already being alienated during the mahathir era…u came and u made it worse.some people are born leaders but its just too bad u will never be one of them.

62. #62 by mobileworld on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:18 pm

Mike – Make sure when he declares his assets, it is written in Bahasa Malaysia becoz he CANNOT read English as was the case before. Some rubbish left and some old rubish is back, I guess PM needs his old horses to counter his own DPM! Cheers to BN!

63. #63 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:27 pm

Now why should the Opposition complain, whine and scream at the changes? We should support the ‘changes’ made to the Cabinet line-up. Apart from cosmetic changes here and there, Abdullah has got for himself a recipe for disaster even Jeanne could not contemplate in her cookery classes.

It will be more of the same, and come next general elections the take-over by the Opposition would be complete. We do not want to wake him up from his sleep walking so he could smell the fresh Sumatran coffee. We want him to continue his sleep walking only to wake up when smelling salt is put to his nostrils so he could be informed that he is the new opposition leader!

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:44 pm

It is a good thing that CBT like all other crimes, has no statutory time limit for prosecution. Those who have plundered the public’s coffers during Mahathir’s tenure and beyond, still have some time to get their ‘dream team’ ready to fight allegations of corruption. But the paper trails their activities leave behind do not change over time!

PKR led Selangor government is now in a position to start with some of those long awaited prosecutions; and PKR leaders must not shirk from their promise of not only a clean government but a government committed to uphold justice.

The AG should remind himself that his is not a political appointment and as a civil servant he is sworn to carry out whatever duties the public expects of him. Selective prosecution and prosecutorial abuse must be made practices of the past if he wants to leave the government with the kind of legacy his children could be proud of!

65. #65 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:51 pm

Does he have th caliber of an opposition leader? My guess is just as good as yours. He is where he is by default of our unusual political system here. That is why they are so reluctant to implement meritocracy as a yardstick. They know they are always falling behind others and need the tongkat. Most educated Malays do not need the tongkat now, except the UMNOputras.

66. #66 by bentoh on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Dear YB LKS,

I know one thing for sure that you should learn from the new cabinet lineup is to frankly work together with those who have unconventional view with you or within the party. Zaid and Shahrir being picked up is a good example that Pak Lah could allow people not so in line with him or the party to work with him…

And I hope you will learn this from him… :)

Cheers,

67. #67 by kslaw70 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:16 pm

One Big Buaya betina (RAFIDAH AZIZ) being drop with another bigger Buaya Jantan (M2T).

Syabas Paklah and BN.

68. #68 by fjjs on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:34 pm

Conventional wisdom holds that the desire to win re-election keeps politicians accountable for their policy choices. It is often suggested that term limits interfere with this mechanism by removing politicians’ incentive to maintain a favorable reputation.

The cabinet lineup announced by AAB is disastrous, appointing someone who has a reputation for corruption as well as someone not re-elected and rejected by the rakyat.

Instead of removing these politicians, our gorvenment is re-appointing them in the cabinet. What a joke.

69. #69 by penang308 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:35 pm

What different does it make?

They are just changing the guard, the uniform and weapon they carry still the same….”SPLIT THE RAKYAT ACCORDING THE RACE!”

The DUMB MCA still there, UMNO say “SIT”…THEY ALL SIT. UMNO say “STAND”…THEY ALL STAND.

I WILL STILL VOTE FOR BR!

70. #70 by simsimsim on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:46 pm

Give me abreak !!! M.Taib and N.Aziz both oso in the line !!! what a laugh !!! people with such background and minus credibility oso can be minster ?? same banana !!! let the mokey go around !!! many many sili remark and stupid policies will appear one by one !! ha ha , good luck P Lah

71. #71 by lbl on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:52 pm

Dear YB Lim,
    If BN is serious in making a new start, they should be putting people with a good history.
    Anyway let us see how the BN will act with the outstanding corruption cases.
    It is hoped when the BR settles down, they will let the public know about the shady contracts given out during BN’s rule.

72. #72 by mobileworld on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 9:53 pm

So far i see credibility only with Zaid and Sharir, the rest are write offs! Better pull up your socks BRakyat as these guys will be pounching on you, In any way these guys will not last as the rest are all corrupted and waiting to make big buck$

73. #73 by miwaki on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:00 pm

Very good line-up to ensure total failure before the next general election.When you have mediocre leader,experience is not important anymore because the end result is still mediocrity.

74. #74 by kopio2 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:08 pm

Y the person who bring the Kris still there! He should not be there any more, I think Pak lah still do not understand why he lost the 2/3 majority in the GE12.

75. #75 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:12 pm

great ! now u got nazri vs zaid

n taib in rural, surely umno is depending rural malay for ge13. xpect money splashing…….

n ng y. y. is she a full minister or what? got a ghost of yesterday haunting her

n desperate act of an indian in prime minister department….xpected

76. #76 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:14 pm

n the pemuda has become sissy on mukhriz, decades back his dad was expelled by tunku for the same reason. now the pemuda willingly let their back side stab with kris……….

77. #77 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

the new moh can u pls read the international labour law before taking office, please

78. #78 by alphoti on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:23 pm

When I see M2T name in the cabinet, I was trying to figure out if there is any other person with the same name. I just couldn’t believe it! PM is famous for making poor judgment, but this is really……

Zaid & Shahrir got credibility, but make sure that they are given free hands to carry out the badly needed reforms. Hope to see them in the old forms & nothing less.

79. #79 by highhand on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:26 pm

petrol price hit 120.

shahrir will lose hair

sure petrol will rise

80. #80 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:45 pm

One cannot deny that the BN must be in serious troubles. Look at the line up, none of the heads from the other major component parties namely, MCA, MIC & Gerakan is there!

After losing 5 states to the opposition you cannot but to fill in the best of your best and pull up your socks and start serving the rakyat in humility & meekness,hopeful you can win some back in the next GE. Instead they put in only their substitutes. What a GE 13th match to watch!

All the best to DPP (BR?) coalition! (Have you all agreed on a name & a common battle plan yet? No rush, take good time to think through)

81. #81 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 10:53 pm

Where’s Koh Tsu Koon?

Such a gentleman

I rather had 7 Koh’s
    than one Taib

Although he decline the senator’s post,Pak Lah can still choose to appoint him anyway.

good people dont get to share the pie hah?

82. #82 by controlnation1 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

Zaid,Shahrir and Rais,Amirsham are the good ones and probabily Muhyidin.Why retain Nazri when you got Zaid?Although Nazri did said “Modern malays” dont need NEP anymore as they can be succesfull based on merit.He is the single person in UMNO who actually had the guts to say that.His clowny action in The Linggam case hoever is so…so..

One interesting that we could see is how Pak Lah ends the Perlis confrontation Saga.No Shahidan as MB.No Radzi,No Azmi.No Perlis representative.End of the story.
    Azmi and Radzi’s probabily happy yesterday when their arch enemy Shahidan gets the boot yesterday only to find themselves in similar situation today.

Shahidan will have the last laught.

83. #83 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:42 pm

Now that OKT and Samy are sayonara, who will be appointed Minister of Buddhism and Minister of Hinduism?

Hey guys, stop complaining about Pak Lah appointing the M2T as a minister. In fact Pak Lah did the rakyat of Malaysia a huge favour. All we have to do is to keep reminding the people of M2T’s Australian court case and 5 years down the road, that will be the straw that break the camel’s back in the next Parliamentary election. This will be the final nail that will be hammered into the BN coffin. Unless of course, in one of his sleepy decisions, he appoints SIL to the Cabinet. Then he will self implode with C4.

I like AAB’s deliberate statement that all Cabinet appointees are corruption free. That is, BN style corruption free. Meaning the case is sent to the ACA who will dutifully announce 3 months later that the person has been investigated and he is clean. The ACA is not interested to know or to investigate why the person was carrying so much cash in a foreign country. Or how did that person came into so much cash and there is no rational explanation for it. This to AAB is “clean”. Ditto for the commissions collected for defence contracts. It is an open secret and proxies are used to do the collecting.

84. #84 by hiro on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:42 pm

The Gerakan Deputy Information Minister merely mentioned that her goal is to get “quality” information to target groups more effectively.

She may well be the very few Gerakan MPs who now bear the burden of proving to the people that they can trust Gerakan.

It is imperative for her to ensure that RTM is objective, and that news must be distinguished from propaganda/opinion of the ruling coalition. And she should also enforce this across TV3 and NTV 7.

Syed Hamid – I don’t have high regard for him, but he will be held accountable for UMNO’s performance in the next elections just like Zam, and he should, as Home Affairs minister be fair in respect of issuance of printing and publishing permits, and ensure fair reporting.

If he has guts, he should fight for the repeal of the Printing Presses and Publications Act and put in place an Independent Media Commission that is self regulating, as well as repeal the ISA and the Emergency Ordinance.

85. #85 by midnight_only on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:44 pm

Superb lineup, gradually will disappeared in end of May or beginning of June. More or less like death row inmates.

86. #86 by kritikus on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:47 pm

SYABAS BN FOR THE EXCELLENT CABINET LINE-UP,

GOOD AND PALATABLE RECIPE FOR ANOTHER POLITICAL SODOMY….

BRO KIT, YOU DONT HAVE TO TIRE YOURSELF OUT…….BN IS HELPING YOU WITH 2/3 MAJORITY IN THE NEXT GE….

BUT MAKE SURE BRO KIT, THAT ALL THE PNC DOCUMENTS ARE ALL INTACT AND NOT STOLEN BEFORE YOU MOVE INTO THE PMs OFFICE IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

FILES AND DOCUMENTS SEEMS TO BE VANISHING INTO THE BERMUDA TRIANGLE OR RATHER SOME PENYAMUN AND PENYANGAKS ARE CARRYING OUT THIS DESPICABLE AND STUPID WORK…..

CONCERNED VOTER

87. #87 by naked taliban on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 11:54 pm

CONGRATULATIONS PAK LAH, ANOTHER LOAD OF SHIT???

88. #88 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:02 am

This new Cabinet is going to be more a problem than the solution. Just look at the line up, why is that big old guy who doesn’t understand English, back and given a Minister job? Is there no one else in UMNO?

Sharizat has been rejected by voters and brought back as “Adviser” ? And tax-payers still need to continue ‘feeding’ her? Then what’s Ng Yen Yen doing in Women Affairs Ministry, …coffee girl?

89. #89 by mendela on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:08 am

Have you guys read Raja Pete’s last year funny articles about Mike Tyson?

If answer is no, pls go dig them out yourself from Malaysia Today. Or could someone out there tell us the link to these extreme funny articles by Pete?

While reading those articles last year, I almost laugh till I became hysteria!

90. #90 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:11 am

AAB will claim that all Miniters are free of corruption, but just listen to their talks in the TVs,they put the blame on internal bickering and back stabbing except they refused to acknowledge that the people threw out BN because they were all corrupted. They avoided the corruption issue totally , yet every tom dick and harry knew that they should be thrown out because of their greed while paying lip services to maintain the NEP to help the Bumis.
    So unless they really change ALL their past practices, this bunch would be no different, come 2013 GE, whatever left of BN’s MPs, they will sit in the opposition bench! That is, provided, the new BARISAN RAAYAT do not screw up these 5 years in the 5 States under their control!

91. #91 by Noor Aza Othman on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:20 am

I feel like vomiting! That despicable Muhammad Taib is elected as a Minister despite of the corruption scandal which strangely was closed – maybe the Opposition can demand for this case to be reopened again. And that most useless female there is Shahrizat appointed an adviser to the PM! Her salary of course paid with rakyat’s money! Please Opposition -fight on this issue! Plus, all the non-Malays/Muslims partners of Umno seem to be given only insignificant Ministerial portfolio posts. Why don’t they realize they are being played around like a sepaktakraw ball by Umno! They have really betrayed their communities’ who support them blindly! Time for revolt and switch to the Opposition; which I hope they would someday!

92. #92 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:31 am

Yes, the audacity to hope! Let’s hope that BN does more of the same for the next five years.

93. #93 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:36 am

“Its time the Prime Minister meet the people freely. As the government, we must go back to listening to the peoples problems.”-Muhammad Taib
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/NewsBreak/20080318195448/Article/index_html
    ——————————-
    Isn’t this a confession that they have not been listening to the plight of the people in the past???? If so, where is the rependence to put things right? Set our Indians friends free from the ISA camp quick la!!!!!Don’t talk talk only!

94. #94 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:41 am

Just like many of us who have earlier said to give DPP the time and the chance to perform when they formed the state governments, I think we should similarly wait and see whether any substantive change can come out of this new cabinet, although I must say it is four years overdue.

One thing we Malaysians must congratulate ourselves is that the March 8 election has really prompted a sleeping government to wake up from their slumber. Imagine personalities earlier dropped as candidates are appointed minister and deputy minister through the senatorial route. Imagine personalities like Sharir who was never given the opportunity to serve is now back to cabinet. All these go to show that if we the rakyat have not voted for change, the BN would probably go on as usual appointing half past six ministers to either go on sleeping or to continue milking this country dry. I am so glad we the rakyat have finally recognised the potency of our new found weapon.

For those ministers with chequered past, for those ministers who continue to utter racist and bigotry remarks and for those ministers who continue to play stupid politics to deny projects and allocations to states controlled by DPP, I hope we the bloggers here will continue to watch them like a hawk. One stupid statement they make or one false move they take, we shall hassle and ridicule them till they capitulate. For those who are willing to move on and serve the rakyat irrespective of race, religion and political leaning, I wish them all the best.

95. #95 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:45 am

“Sharizat has been rejected by voters and brought back as “Adviser” ? And tax-payers still need to continue ‘feeding’ her? Then what’s Ng Yen Yen doing in Women Affairs Ministry, …coffee girl?” Jong

Sharizat was spanked by the voters in Lembah Pantai but Abdullah Badawi saw it fit perhaps under advice from some very powerful vested interests to give her the ‘kiss of life’. She has been crucified but has risen from the dead to sit on the right side of the Prime Minister. Wonder what Jeanne has to say?

96. #96 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:50 am

What Mike Tyson was trying to say is that Badawi should free himself from the clutches of the 4th floor boys, and go out freely without having to be told what to say, what to do. Unfortunately this isn’t going to happen – the 4th floor boys are pretty much intact, and they still cannot risk Badawi saying things that are either contradictory or totally stupid.

This is a cabinet of convenience and I don’t think anything is going to change. The federal government goodies are still going to be controlled by KJ and Kamal, and it could even get worse without Semi Value there to bitch and complain.

97. #97 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:52 am

Yes, gofortruth, set free those under ISA. It is not right and it is immoral. If there are evidence against them, charge them in court. Otherwise, set them free, Mr. Prime Minister. We must show the world that this is country is on the threshold of becoming a mature democracy. If you set them free, it shows you have moral strength and you are in control.

98. #98 by novice101 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:53 am

contolnation1 says:

Modern malays” dont need NEP anymore as they can be succesfull based on merit.He (Nazri) is the single person in UMNO who actually had the guts to say that.”

Friend, I think you got Nazri wrong. He was trying to criticise and make fun of our fair-minded Malay frends. He was putting them to be in the same group as Khalib Ibrahim.

99. #99 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 1:07 am

“Anifah Aman springs surprise, declines deputy minister’s post
    Datuk Anifah Aman sprang a surprise tonight by turning down his appointment as Deputy Transport Minister in the new Cabinet line-up announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi earlier today.

By Bernama”
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/
    Tuesday/Frontpage/20080318235303/Article/index_html

And

11pm – Rafidah Aziz to hold press conference tomorrow
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/

——————–
    Wah looks like a lot of fire cracker shows tomorrow liao!
    Good night Malaysia, sleep well all!

100. #100 by Loh on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 1:23 am

Nazri is still needed to respond to criticism by TDM. M2T is needed for the coming August party election. To AAB his position comes first.

101. #101 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 1:45 am

There she was, Ng Yen Yen infront of tv proudly thanked her MCA President and the Prime Minister for the confidence in her leading the women’s ministry but is that so?

I take it as they lack confidence in her, reason for a later announcement Sharizat was to be “Full Minister Adviser” in PM’s Dept overseering Women, Family Community Development Ministry.

102. #102 by GradUnion on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:08 am

Aiyah ! The cabinet line up announcement in mid day got a minor tsunami in Bursa Malaysia when the stock market resumed its shares trading at 2.30 p.m. today. KLCI was down with instant 10.00 points when the investors started selling down their shares and also forced selling from brokers to cover their position in anticipation of worst tsunami news from the cabinet line up. Mike Tyson appointment as a Minister in the cabinet caused a jittery and shocked in most foreign and local fund managers to selldown their shares and no confidence in Pak Lah line up.

Nevertheless, the KLCI down was well supported by local institutions and govt GLC companies to push up the index linked stocks and closed with minimal gain as compared with other regional brouses. We, investors are very shocked to hear about Mike Tyson empire strike back that Pak Lah has failed again to keep his promise for a new clean faces and keep the good Ministers in his cabinet. It is indeed glad to know that his ironlady Rafidah is finally retired that boosted the confidence of local investors but the appointment of ex-MB of Johor to replace her does not gone down well for the foreign investors. This is because the foreign investors prefer a better qualified Minister like Sharir to hold such important post and who is able to convince foreign investors. His failure to attract more foreign investors in Johor was a proven bad track record. As such, most fund managers are very selective in picking the right stocks to invest depend on the capabilities and quality of the Cabinet Minister who hold an important position in the respective field.

Finally, Pak Lah has failed again to convince the people that his cabinet is totally free of clean faces rather than new faces. Malaysian investors have nothing to say…No Bullish in Bursa market again ! MY GOD

103. #103 by novice101 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:09 am

Abdullah Badawi tried to make the necessary changes to meet the demand made by the rakyat on March 8. By the choices he has just made, it shows he has not really heard the message that is being sent. Or, he has not actually identified the real causes of his defeat.

Keeping Hishamuddin and Nazri shows he has not take cognizance of the damage these two individuals had done to his administration. Their arrogant, insensitive, bullying behaviour, and their threatening, abusive language alienated the Chinese and the Indians. The MCA, MIC, Gerakan and PPP have told him so.

Why he chooses to bring an ‘old damaged baggage’, in Muhammad Muhammad Taib, back defies logic. Muhammad M. Taib, when interviewed, said he will work hard for the people and the nation, and not for himself. Abdullah can surely do better than this!

Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is made a full minister in the PM’s dept. When he was in the previous administration, he, often played to the Malay gallery and used the Chinese as his punching bag. Hope he has changed or else Abdullah will find himself adding more weight to his already heavy baggage.

To his credit, Abdullah has appointed a few fair-minded, decent and acceptable people this time. Hope Shahrir Samad and Zaid Ibrahim will not lose their fair sense and ideals now they are in power.

If, the minuses outweigh the pluses, then this administration may alter the Malaysian political scenario once again.

104. #104 by clear conscience on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:53 am

Whatever Bodowi chooses will not make any difference.

Please see what is said of Semi Value first:-

Famous quotes by Samy “Supreme toll collector Commander in Chief of the Southeast” Velu, includes:

* Samy Velu on pos laju “BESOK KIRIM, HARI INI SAMPAI”

* Samy while ashamed “Kemaluan saya besar”

* Samy on drugs campaign, “Jangan hisap dada”

* Samy on a speech “Kita akan bina satu jambatan untuk orong-orong kampong disini”, one pakcik asked, “Datuk, sini takde sungai,buat apa bina jambatan?” and Samy glorious Replied,”Kalau takde sungai, Kita bina sungai!”

* Samy on national television “Toll naik sikit, Manyak marah saya. You ingat semua ini toll saya punya bapa punya kah!”

* Samy on the water shortage crisis “semua orang diminta jgn Membuang aiyerr..!”

* Samy on blood donation campaign in Sg Siput: “..marilah Kita semua Menderma dara..”

* Samy on opening ceremony: “mempersilakan datin paduka rafidah aziz naik ke pentas utuk membuka kain”

* Samy on his modesty: “sebenarnya, kemaluan saya Sangat-sangat besar”

* Samy on PLUS “PLUS = Pungut Lebih Untuk Samy”

* Samy on Sparta “Ini semua kerja orang gila punya la….sekarang banyak orang sudah gila…dia layak masuk hospital Tanjung Rambutan atau Tampoi la”

Later, there will be more on every Minister or Deputy Minister if they don’t do their job well.

105. #105 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 7:25 am

Come on……..lets give Pak Lah another chance to sleep…and by bringing in faded guys like Mat Taib in …he’s just getting a different guy to help him garner as much “monry in the bag” as possible before he goes to sleep permanently…..

This will be more added fire power for Barisan Rakyat to finally work with us rakyat to get its 2/3 majority in next GE and forever bury BN and UMNO in to oblivion.

I see it a blessing in disguise…..can’t blame him lah…cuz masih tidur….

Just can’t stop laughing why on earth he want to bring in he deadwood of Mat Taib???? Only reason I can think of is ….he is damn good in carrying briefcases of CASH…..on his behalf maybe???

GOD save Malaysia…..we have run out of real good men to govern the country…….I foresee Tomorrow will Not Be Good!

106. #106 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 7:36 am

“Imagine personalities earlier dropped as candidates are appointed minister and deputy minister through the senatorial route.” limkamput

For someone who talks down on the others here addressing us as “You people” numerous times like he is superior to the rest of us, and then pretend to profusely defend the principles of democracy and all, why is it not surprising that you fail to recognize that short-circuting the democratic process is anathema to all freedom loving people? Today it is Shahrir and Amir Sham appointed Senators so they could join the new Cabinet, the next time it could be the likes of Sharizat or Samy Velloo both soundly rejected by the people or worse.

Getting people in by the back-door and making them Ministers and Deputy Ministers over the heads of many Party loyalists who have devoted their entire lives working for the Party is not only unfair but a gross abuse of the democratic process.

107. #107 by cvl on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 7:49 am

PM new cabinet could have been lined up with the Towering Personalities to show case the success the NEP was tweaked for.

But for crying out loud, such personalities as M2M holding an important position as the Information Minister [after failing the Australian 101 English]! Would he lead Malaysians ahead in the process of the likes of IT? IT will require good graps of English and not just BM.

Did the NEP fail then, or is this the fruit of NEP success?

108. #108 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:05 am

The line-up clearly reflect’s Badawi’s mind as an administrator NOT a political leader.

To think you can bring in the likes of Zaid Ibrahim and retain Nazri in the same Cabinet and expect Zaid Ibrahim to carry out juidicial reform? I give Zaid 2 years max before he quits.

The appt of Amirsham is to push through projects with better argument rather than to strategically change the projects.

They bring in Shahrir who is better at maintaining subsidies than TO Sell price increases?

Its just a little bit more of the same idea. We are in for one more round of dissapointment.

109. #109 by controlnation1 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:10 am

Clar coscience,
    LOL very funny on the Samy Veloo part.

Its seems Pak Lah rather relinquish his position At Home rather than money….oops.finance.You know why?Because Pak Lah had been nominated as the Best Finance minister by…I dont remember is it Forbes or Bussiness week.Anyway we all know its Nor M Yakob who actually do the job yet Pak Lah takes all the credit.

pst:Why call Matmattype(MMT) Mike Tyson,when he look so much like hades in Disney’s Hercules.You know the main bad guy with blue fire hair?Anyone remember?That Disney animated film 12 years ago?

110. #110 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:11 am

This is indeed good news for the Opposition. I hope that Sleepy Head can continue as PM for another 4 years.

111. #111 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:12 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

I am waiting for some new slogans from Big Ears.

112. #112 by controlnation1 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:16 am

Too Bad for DR Chua.If not for his scandal he would have been the single MCA minister retained.And also the MCA president.
    The culprit remain at large
    I was surprise the MCA actually get the Woman and welfare portfolio.I thought Ng Yen Yen would be the first woman to become Health Minister.

113. #113 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:45 am

Ladygorilla says:…”and then pretend to profusely defend the principles of democracy and all, why is it not surprising that you fail to recognize that short-circuting the democratic process is anathema to all freedom loving people?”

I suggest you go back to my posting and read carefully, line by line, and then determine whether what I said have any resemblance of you inferred. I think it is not me having an attap school education. I think it is you having a “pua tang sai” education. From now on I suggest you spend more time monitoring the clogged drains in Penang and report to DAP administered MPPP to make sure quick remedial actions are taken. This place is too intellectual for you.

114. #114 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 9:03 am

Some new slogans from Big Ears:
    “I don’t only have Big Ears; I also have Thick Face and Fair Skin”

“Indonesia has Gus Dur, now Malaysia has its Pak (ti)Dur”

“To old coyotes like Chua Soil Leg and myself, I recommend Botox and SK II”

115. #115 by adamclp on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 9:16 am

Muhammad Taib is back. Alamak. Its like adding further shit onto a pile of shit. Wonder he was just remembered for the headlines in the Australian press or for the ‘saga’ he had with the royal household while he was MB (Main Bola) of Selangor.

116. #116 by Aki_matthews on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:13 am

Malaysia have their cabinet today…Wonder what took Selangor so long to decide. Why the delay????? read this article in mandarine and would like to share here…..

???????????????????3?17????????????????“??????????????????????????????????”?

??????????????????????????????“?????????????????????????????”?????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????n???????????????????

????????????“????????”??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

??????????

???????????“????????????”???????????????????????????????????????????”??????????????????”?

???????????????????????????“?????????”?????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????“????”?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????5????????50?????????????????????

117. #117 by Aki_matthews on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:27 am

My apologies…… seem to me that mandarine is not the language used here….. The article comment on the appointment of Teresa Kok as deputy CB…It is not that she is not good..She is Great..However, DAP themself have so long criticise our PM for holding too many Important post, why is DAP now do the same for Teresa??? Double standard of DAP??? Why leave a candidate with 4 term of experiences as state opposition leader Teng Chang Khim out totally??? he fought alone (2 actually, another one from Sekinchan) and won so many fight against the BN mighty team. For us, resident of Klang, DAP have failed to listen to us and they do not play their own rule: DAP appreciate talent. We dont see that, sorry. We only see preference…may be thios is why it is called “politic” ma….

118. #118 by oyster cove on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:42 am

Shahrizat appointed to Special Adviser with Minister status in charge of women and family affairs. This show that Ng Yen Yen is not capable to her new post as Minister in Women and family affairs. What a shame for her and MCA.

119. #119 by azam on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:43 am

No lah.

Zaid Ibrahim involve in Money Politics. Do you think this kind of person will against corruption?

120. #120 by happyguy on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 10:59 am

What has happened to fifty years?

What if your children at the age of 50 still take money from you and still can’t have their own stable job?

This is BN.

121. #121 by happyguy on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:09 am

Definately is running out of capable people!!!!!!

BN promotes lazy people.
    BN blames educated people for not voting BN.
    BN dares not say a word about all those missing documents.
    BN prefers uneducated people so that easy for telling lie.

122. #122 by PSM on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:38 am

I would like to wish Datul Zaid Ibrahim all the best. He will need it. I doubt Pak Lah will give him “free-rein” to do what needs done! Yes, I’m afraid Datuk Zaid Ibrahim will eventually have to resign or have his name smeared for good!
    As for Pak Lah, will someone please wake him up?!

123. #123 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:38 am

“Wonder what Jeanne has to say?” – undergrad2

– What would you say if you are Jeanne? Feeling jealous and insecured, bet will be the last thing on her mind! :D

124. #124 by highhand on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:39 am

abandon sinking ship……………

mayday… mayday….. mayday…….

125. #125 by PSM on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:40 am

And looks like Sabah & Sarawak got the “crumbs” for being faithful!!!!!

126. #126 by highhand on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 11:49 am

may i suggest a ministry for losers and finding missing kids, u should know who is the best person for the portfolio already

127. #127 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Politic is a game of deception. It looks good to declare, it sounds good to declare but it is not as clean as it should be.

Even when Taib was caught by Australian authority carrying million of ringgit currency, nothing can be done, he can still be MB, or Ministers, unless you can successful proof him guilty in court. All of them, corrupted leader has lots of supports from cronies, and authority, nothing much you can do. In Malaysia, if you are rich, law always protect the rich, how many Datuk or minister has been charged and successfully penalized in court? That’s the failure of Democracy without support from government. In China, if the bridge crack and causes fatality, the developer or the person in charge of approving the project will be shot, if this applied to Malaysia, how many Sammy’s head is needed? How abt the Belum 45 million building collapsed, who’s responsible for that?

128. #128 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 2:56 pm

Declaring the assets of all ministers and deputies is nothing but a jazz by AAB. Does he actually dare to declare his assets? If he does not, then don’t ask the rest to do it. He should take the lead since he said he was not corrupt. Let’s see how HALAL his money is!!!!!

129. #129 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:01 pm

UMNO will self-destruct sooner than we expect. With
    Datuk Seri Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, who was dropped from the Cabinet, has resigned as Umno and Barisan Nasional (BN) secretary-general with immediate effect, the former Home Affairs Minister announced today.

Datuk Seri Tengku Azlan Abu Bakar(former 2-term Deputy Transport Minister) and Datuk Anifah Aman(former Deputy Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities) met with the Prime Minister at Sri Perdana in Putrajaya to decline their new postings after the Cabinet line-up announcement yesterday.

Its president Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is now also under severe pressure to step down for his failed leadership, incompetency and inability to arrest corruption in his government.

It’s sounds rather ironic that there may be quarters who would be calling for his resignation when he was heard proudly telling the media that he loves challenges, they keep him young! I really wanted to puke! I’m still wondering if this guy’s having some mental problem or what?

130. #130 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:20 pm

“For those who are willing to move on and serve the rakyat irrespective of race, religion and political leaning, I wish them all the best.” Lim Kam Put

And he calls me a fanatical, brainless, ball carrying supporter of the Opposition coalition ! He even called me a Nazi for “blindly supporting” the DPP !

131. #131 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:26 pm

It’s surprising that East Malaysia got so little recognition and for the next elections, don’t be surprised if they also lose Sabah.

If only the Kadazahndusun(sp?)groups reunite they can rule Sabah without outside interference.

This is a colour chart of the new line-up.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/malaysias-cabinet-colours-paint.html

132. #132 by joejoe on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:50 pm

THERE’S A SAYING, “YOU ARE ONLY AS STRONG AS YOUR WEAKEST LINK”.

IT’S GREAT TO SEE M2T AS A MINISTER. IT’S A DREAM COME TRUE FOR PKR, DAP AND PAS. NO ONE CAN SINK THE UMNO SHIP ANY FASTER THAN THE MAN WITH 2 MUHAMMAD’S IN THIS NAME. HA HA HA … EVEN THE PERSON HE IS NICK-NAMED AFTER WAS A ROTTEN EGG, BECAUSE MIKE TYSON WAS CHARGED FOR RAPE.

IT’S WONDERFUL TO SEE NAZRI AND KERISHAMUDDIN STILL MINISTERS — WITHOUT THESE HOOLIGANS, MCA AND MIC MIGHT EVEN DO A GOOD JOB.

MUHIYIDIN — THE FAT LADY WILL SEEM TO BE AN ANGEL COMPARED TO HIM. WAIT FOR THE SKELETONS TO COME OUT OF THE CLOSET ON HIM.

SYED HAMID — HE LIED ON BBC. BUT HE’LL NOW HAVE THE POWER TO ARREST ANYONE WHO SAYS HE LIED OR THAT HIS BROTHER IS SELLING SAND TO SINGAPORE.

AZALINA — SHE’LL DO A GREAT JOB IN ATTRACTING A NEW KIND OF TOURIST TO COME TO MALAYSIA BECAUSE WE’LL LEGALIZE SAME-SEX MARRIAGES !

OKC — THE AH LONG TRADE WILL CONTINUE TO FLOURISH.

I AM ONLY WORRIED ABOUT THE FEW NEW MINISTERS WHO MIGHT REALLY DO A GOOD JOB , PEOPLE LIKE SHARIR, AMIRSHAM, ZAID. THEY MIGHT ACTUALLY RESTORE UMNO’S CREDIBILITY.

133. #133 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:14 pm

Godfather, this is what i wrote. May I know where you find it offensive, b*ll carrying, nazi, or fanatical? I think my comment is most fair.

“Just like many of us who have earlier said to give DPP the time and the chance to perform when they formed the state governments, I think we should similarly wait and see whether any substantive change can come out of this new cabinet, although I must say it is four years overdue.

One thing we Malaysians must congratulate ourselves is that the March 8 election has really prompted a sleeping government to wake up from their slumber. Imagine personalities earlier dropped as candidates are appointed minister and deputy minister through the senatorial route. Imagine personalities like Sharir who was never given the opportunity to serve is now back to cabinet. All these go to show that if we the rakyat have not voted for change, the BN would probably go on as usual appointing half past six ministers to either go on sleeping or to continue milking this country dry. I am so glad we the rakyat have finally recognised the potency of our new found weapon.

For those ministers with chequered past, for those ministers who continue to utter racist and bigotry remarks and for those ministers who continue to play stupid politics to deny projects and allocations to states controlled by DPP, I hope we the bloggers here will continue to watch them like a hawk. One stupid statement they make or one false move they take, we shall hassle and ridicule them till they capitulate. For those who are willing to move on and serve the rakyat irrespective of race, religion and political leaning, I wish them all the best.”

134. #134 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:18 pm

Take your medicine, read the thread at the top of this blog that talks about a reform cabinet or pseudo cabinet, then figure out where you have placed the words ball-carrying, blind, nazi-like, etc.

135. #135 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:20 pm

The last paragraph in your repost above – isn’t it fanatical and Nazi-like ? “Watch them like a hawk…”, “…hassle and ridicule them till they capitulate…”

Why the double standards ?

136. #136 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:22 pm

If you classify my passion for reform, for change, and for bashing the BN thieves as fanatical, then I am indeed guilty. You should, however, know that I am not alone.

137. #137 by lopez on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 4:50 pm

We voted for change and we got change but on the other side we get short change….using the same culprits
    Riot yahtim can BE history changer, even declared his own meaning of cultural heritage and man full of jealousy. He will be great clown in UN.
    Sad hamid looks more inteeligent then riot yahtim, well some people like to learn the hard way…and too bad for bodohland , people has to follow thriough…no choice , same circus, same clowns.

khalid is also share coomon traits with the riot and sad hamid never respect other peoples religion, culture and traditions.

Ask khalid on the amount of govt sponsored student to overseas uni. and publicly published the students’ applications and their academic results for all to see. Lets see the class distribution

And if he can, ask him for records of the students’ whereabouts?

Bee eNd is the end
    Dont let malaysia go with them.

138. #138 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:40 pm

What a superb lineup with the same “3 headed monster” heading the government – he wants to be PM, he wants to control finance, he also wants to control home affairs! Why not dissolve the cabinet and set up a “Multi Purpose Ministry” with AAB as its head – Menteri Serbaguna!

139. #139 by limkamput on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:45 pm

Godfather, please read carefully. I said we shall only hassle and ridicule them till they capitulate….. for those ministers who continue to utter racist and bigotry remarks and for those ministers who continue to play stupid politics to deny projects and allocations to states controlled by DPP. Please read in context.

140. #140 by sebol on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 2:17 am

Berikut adalah pandangan saya tentang barisan Kabinet “sementara” BN

http://sebolku.blogspot.com/2008/03/barisan-kabinet-adalah-pesta-kurniaan.html

141. #141 by catharsis on Friday, 21 March 2008 - 4:10 pm

WHAT POLITICAL HONEYMOON YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT…..HIS HONEYMOON IS NOT OVER YET

142. #142 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:24 am

Khairy – Pak Lah new cabinet will still enjoy themselves, same like Chen Sui Bien in Taiwan.

When 2013 GE they will still use postal votes to cheat ppl. See how postal vote help BN

Postal vote are a cheat, a soldiers will be able to vote twice! Because postal votes does not use Identity Card to identify themselves.
    Try it yourself go to
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/
    Then key in the below ID, notice both individual are the same person but one is postal the other is individual, mean same person can vote twice, that’s why they are paying RM 200 and buses to cater for these ppl to vote for BN.

and key in the following
    IC nos:-T715511
    THEN 670104075529

Not convinced? Try T719756
    THEN 750909035727

Now you believe how Khairy won his Rembau sit? Mat Rempit can be easily converted.