At least 3 DAP MPs each from Sabah and Sarawak – provided no split votes

It is regrettable that the understanding between DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) for a “one-to-one” contest against the Barisan Nasional (BN) could not be extended from Peninsular Malaysia to Sabah and Sarawak, resulting in three or multi-cornered contests in the two East Malaysian states.

After the 12 days of campaigning, it is clear that in both Sabah and Sarawak, where DAP candidates are involved in three or multi-cornered contests, the real battle is between the DAP and the BN candidates.

In the 2007 general election, where every parliamentary and state assembly seat counts in the national objective to smash Umno political hegemony, it is imperative that the voters in Sabah and Sarawak are fully conscious and mindful that they should not allow any BN candidate in the two states to win because of split Opposition votes – which could only prevent the DAP candidate from winning by allowing the BN candidate to slip into victory by minority votes.

We can look forward to at least 3 DAP MPs from Sabah and Sarawak each in the general election tomorrow, provided there is no split votes to let the BN candidate win by default of split majority votes.

In the circumstances, I call on voters in Sabah and Sarawak to vote solidly for DAP in three or multi-cornered seats wherever DAP is contesting to prevent any BN candidate winning because of split votes.

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 7:44 pm

In the broader context, and in the interest of democracy, the presence of a third party contesting the elections should be encouraged. There are voters who neither support BN nor DAP; many of these voters would not participate in the process. Democracy is about mass participation in the democratic process, about being able to choose who should run the government; and with only two parties to choose from, and neither has their support, it would be as if these voters have been disenfranchised.

As for the argument that it splits votes and reduces the chances of a victory for the DAP, there is nothing inevitable about that! Rather than split votes three ways, it could end up splitting votes meant for BN only, which would be good for the DAP.

2. #2 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:05 pm

visit http://www.myoe.wordpress.com for more views about tomorrow’s election!

Forward the link to others too. Thanks.

And guys, keep up the good work alright :)

3. #3 by StevenT on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:07 pm

Theoratically you are correct undergrad2 but politically not feasible. The objective is to deny BN 2/3 majority and having one more opposition contesting the seat will no doubt reduce the chances of that happening. BN is the incumbent and therefore has the advantage. Any vote that will be defected from BN will be faced with 2 choices and when those choices are split, BN will continue to be the incumbent and therefore not the actual will of the public.

In politics, there will always only be 2 factions – the Government and the Opposition. The question is whether the parties involved will be united before the election or after the election to play their respective roles. So the thought of having a 3rd party candidate will only jeopardize the equation and swing the seat involves back to the incumbent.

4. #4 by bolehlandor on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:16 pm

As Pete of Malaysia Today has commented the Opposition parties are not smart enough to exploit the full advantage offered to them. Instead they damage their chances to some extent.

Not to worry the rakyat is fully supporting the Opposition and will be sufficiently wise not to jeopardise the opportunity to deny BN their victory. All the very best to all the Opposition parties and may BN candidates fall like ten pins all over bolehland. With the Opposition to be more influential then maybe BOLEHLAND will finally be recognised as a worthy nation in the eyes of the world instead of being a sub-standard pariah state worse than Zimbabwe.

5. #5 by deepthroat on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:18 pm

Hi Guys,

I saw some documents from reliable sources in the housing ministry.

The government is planning on implementing a solid waste management fee for every house. we would have to pay about RM50 – RM 100 in ADDITION to the current quit rent!!!!!!

Can some press folk ask Badawi this tonight? And also ask Badawi and Ong Kah Ting why did they postphoned the implementation till April. (initially it was supposed to be announced in the beginning of the year) . and when they air their obvious denial in TV, lets record it and use the video against them once the roll the tax out!!!!!!!!

the document i saw also list who will benefit from the program… mostly glc.. DRB is one of them that i remember….

another reason i am giving my vote to opposition this year!!!!!

6. #6 by slashed on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:22 pm

Good luck for tomorrow!!

Unfortunately most of us here in London cannot vote; apparently we missed some registration dateline that was due before the election date announcement. I don’t understand it. But go figure. -_-

7. #7 by alaneth on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:33 pm

Also Don’t forget Johor – the Winds of Change here is Very Very BIG from what I see & hear in all constituencies.

Don’t be surprised for Ghani Othman will see at least 2 DAPs in the Johor State Assembly.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:45 pm

“Any vote that will be defected from BN will be faced with 2 choices and when those choices are split, BN will continue…” Steven T

Your analysis is premised on the assumption that voters who would otherwise not vote for BN would vote for DAP. If that assumption does not hold true, then what we are likely to see is a split in the votes for BN.

9. #9 by ktteokt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:54 pm

I just received an SMS saying Hishamuddin announced that BN is not hard up of Chinese and Indian votes this election. If that is so, it means they have lost 40% votes. They are only left with 60% which would have to be share out among BN, Keadilan, PAS, DAP and the few opposition parties. Can they expect to win this way????? Mathematically speaking, this is a bad situation.

10. #10 by pwth888 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

Yes! Voters in Sabah will solidly vote for Dr. Hiew in P172 Kota Kinabalu, Shanty Chong in P186 Sandakan and Chan Fong Hin in P190 Tawau. Don’t forget for those in P171 Sepanggar and P180 Keningau. Bring all DAP candidates to Parliament.

11. #11 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 8:59 pm

The performance of the government of the day should be measured in the following way :

REAL PERFORMANCE = PERFORMANCE – PERFORMANCE CONTRIBUTED BY LUCK

The claim of positive growth(GDP/GNP) by BN must be view from the aspect of contribution by luck (rising petroleum and oil palm price).

Less this two commodities , how is the performance of the BARISAN NASIONAL ? –

SUCCESS DUE TO LUCK IS NOT A REAL SUCCESS.

Without this luck factors, Malaysia could be worst than The Philippines or MYammar..

So.. BN is not indispensable…….. vote wisely

WE don’t needs many BN MPs who just function as YES man to mark 2/3 majority to support their leaders’ wrong decision/lousy motion…..

BN claims that they performed well….

but… it is not good enough!! The rakyats deserve more.

IT IS SAD THAT SARAWAK only given 5% of oil royalty from the Barisan Nasional Federal government…..

5% …….JUst 5% ….. Even the ‘BRITISH PENJAJAH’ ARE WILLING TO GIVE 5 % royalty…

SArawak being one of the biggest OIL revenue contributor of the nation lags behind many other state in Malaysia……

The notorious LAPOK ROAD which is less than 100km from oil-rich city of Miri, is probably one of the worst road in the who ASIA…..

While controlled price for chicken is RM6.50 In Peninsular Malaysia,
    it cost about RM10.00 in Miri, SARAWAk. A set of egg grade c cost RM8.80, grade a cost RM10. Miri/Sarawak people don;t earn more than peninsular-Malaysian -but we have to pay more for our essential needs….

continue voting the same party, means statue quo remains- suffering remains…….

We must not entertain the Barisan Nasional governments excuses….we want solutions , we want results….

together , let us send the right signal to BARISAN NASIONAL

Together we tell them ……..

BARISAN NASIONAL, after we assess your performance (minus contribution from OIL and PALM OIL GOOD PRICE), we have come to conclusion that you are not good enough for Sarawak and Malaysia…….

Barisan Nasional, ….. YOU ARE FIRED!!!!

12. #12 by hiro on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:27 pm

GOOD LUCK DAP! GOOD LUCK UNCLE LIM. I HOPE AND PRAY THAT YOUR BIRTHDAY WISH WILL COME TRUE!

13. #13 by toyolbuster on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:28 pm

I wish I could agree with undergrad2 about the splitting of votes involving 3 or more corner contest in the democratic process, but we are dealing with BN, a dictatorship government party. The 3rd party involvement in elections is unique to Sabah and Sarawak traditionally. Likewise, the individual candidates, regardless of which party they belong to, are well known to switch sides without warnings. Almost all does it for money. They know its a lucrative business if they can win in any elections by selling their seats. BN is also well known to plant “spoilers” if their candidates are weaker in a particular constituency. Also we have characters, as we found out after nomination day, being paid to withdraw from the contest thus giving a prostituted win to the BN cheat. Its all about money, and these 3rd party candidates have no conscience and they can even sell their own mothers.

14. #14 by malaysiaalwaysboleh on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:49 pm

I believe that tomorrow will bring about a change.
    Vote wisely, everyone.

For last minute thoughts about tomorrow’s polling day, check out http://www.myoe.wordpress.com

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:50 pm

That’s true. This crossing over by so-called independent candidates makes a mockery of the democractic process. They contest on an independent ticket and win but then go on to ignore the interest of their voters and cross over! Why else would they want to do that but for the money! To them ‘loyalty’ comes with a price tag! However, this is a different issue.

16. #16 by edmund on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:15 pm

I did NOT believe it myself at first. After I key in the IC number as stated below, I got a shock of my life!
    This shows that our hero, son in law of Pak Lah, KHAIRY will WIN irregardless of the support from the rakyat.
    Now you know how our so called Barisan Nasional win with the support from the supernatural.

Please click at the link below:-
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftarbi.aspx
    Type the following IC number below without ‘-‘
    Look at the date of birth. Thats the GHOST VOTER for you.

890211-05-0014 @ 1307762
    961022-50-5236 @ A7023350
    971219-75-0079 @ 0902843
    991230-71-0156 @ 2024648
    991025-74-0081 @ 0216550

Parlimen 131 – Rembau NS. – Khairy Jamaluddin

P/S You will find the oldest Malaysian recorded in history.

17. #17 by concerned_citizen on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:40 pm

Together we fight for the truth. Tomorrow do not forget to cast your vote to DAP or Keadilan or PAS.

It’s time for a better Malaysia and end the racist problem in our beloved country.

18. #18 by highhand on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:42 pm

ghani speak big…………

he might as well volunter to paint the flats himself

but perhaps u forget he is the chairman for idr-nusajaya, no time for you flat people

you might as well wait for earthquake in indon to flatten your flats…… ha ha ha

19. #19 by highhand on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:43 pm

in my place kepala kerbau also i will X tomorrow

20. #20 by Godson on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:00 am

GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.

GOD BLESS DAP.

21. #21 by wargabebas on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:17 am

undergrad2,

You are either very naive or dead down ignorant. Malaysian politics is not like in some western countries where people have the luxury to practive idealism. This is a pivotal moment for Malaysia. If we don’t break umno strangle hold in Parliament this time, Malaysia will have no chance for change in the future. Unlike Razaleigh who only had Malay support, DSAI support base has gone further to encompass all races in Malaysia. With such a leader and if we still can’t break umno, we are done for.

In Malaysia, not all voices are equal. A voter in Putrajaya has ten times more voice than a voter in PJ. This is why it is pertinent that BN must be defeated at any given opportunity and there can never be a more opportune time than this general elections. A 3rd candidate is a spoiler for sure. umno has spoilt the Malays to the point that they have become dependent on the DEB. Their thinking is inward looking so they don’t know anything about international competitiveness. So they remain steadfast with umno less DEB be taken away from them. On the other hand, the opposition is divided and this doesn’t help.

Fortunately today, DSAI have awaken some Malays. And today we see a new kind of proud Malays who say they don’t need this special treatment. They want to compete on even playing field so that they are not looked down upon by other communities. DSAI and PAS can win some support from the Malay base. The rest is up to the other communities. We need solidarity not split votes.

22. #22 by offspring on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:26 am

Got an SMS saying: Sengaja Aku Keluar BARISAN Ikut ROKET Kerana KEADILAN.

This must be recited before casting your votes!!! hehehe….

23. #23 by wargabebas on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:28 am

concerned_citizen Says:

“Together we fight for the truth. Tomorrow do not forget to cast your vote to DAP or Keadilan or PAS.”

You are right on track. Vote for PAS if there is no other choice for defeating BN. PAS religious laws are for Muslims ONLY. Non-muslims have nothing to fear. It is highly unlikely that PAS can dominate Parliament anytime soon to turn this country into a theocratic state like Iran or the Vatican. Lets say they manage to do so. So what? The second largest Jewish population outside Israel in the Middle East is in Iran. If jews can live peascefully in Iran why, can’t non Muslms live peacefully in PAS controlled Malaysia? We have nothing to fear of PAS, They never threaten other communities with a kris. That is umno. First, Najib want to bath his kris with the blood of the Chinese. Now it is Hishamudin’s turn. For sure, umno is a bigger threat to non-Malays than PAS.

24. #24 by goldenscreen on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:38 am

I am bloody damn angry now!! Just got information that DAP Ceramah in Miri, Sarawak today was disturbed by gangsters. The ceramah was held at a cross-junction and suddenly 10 cars came driving around revving up their engines, driving very fast and frightening the people. They came close to hitting people a few times.

Things got out of hand when the ceramah crowd got fed up with the gangsters tactic and started throwing rocks at them. The gangsters then came out and started to pick a fight with the crowd. Pushing and shoving, but luckily didn’t go beyond that. The DAP people tried calling the Miri Police Station but nobody picked up the damn bloody phone! Finally they had to call 999 and Bukit Aman, then only was police cars sent to the scene. They took down the gangsters car plate numbers and say they will investigate..but no one is pinning their hopes on that. It will be another kes tutup!

Damn angry..people could have been hurt! Is this the tactic of SUPP, so desperate and low character. Well, SUPP go and suck shit you party of tycoons and gangsters! Chinese of Sarawak, send the toilet soup to the rubbish bin..vote DAP!

Last night also, got people called DAP and said that the gang bosses in Miri have instructed their lakias to vote for Barisan Nasional and to disturb the DAP. Well, they must be doing something right to spook the low-life triad gangsters.

25. #25 by AhPek on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:23 am

Under most circumstances and in many places I would certainly agree with you undergrad 2 that in the interest of democracy third party participation should be encouraged.But in Malaysia’s case she has been under the grip of two thirds majority rule (we can equate this situation as dictatorial rule) since Independence thro all kinds of foul means to ensure this dominance by the BN.Under this condition the first priority is to get rid of the two thirds majority and the best way to do it is to have some form of coalition between PKR and DAP as is done in Peninsula.If there is any split votes that split would certainly work in favour of BN and therefore reduces the chance of breaking that two thirds majority grip.Thus the interest of democracy is not served.

26. #26 by all ready on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:37 am

malaysiaalwaysboleh are you from Malaysia Boleh land? What are you trying to prove?

27. #27 by P.O.T.S on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:52 am

Perhaps the winds of change have finally arrived in Ipoh:

30,000? 50,000?

It’s anyone’s guess….

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/03/jalan-kampar-ipoh-timur.html

28. #28 by Come2Papa on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:07 am

The only way to crush BN is to X out BN tomorrow!

29. #29 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:18 am

Get the peninsula malaysian experience, learnt from the local people of their plights, suffering, injustice, unfair treatment, marginalisation,
    get it from the man in the street not the one in an mpv, bmw, or merz

go to the old malaysians streets compare them with old photos , peer through those photos, dont look at the buildings , street lamps, seek out behind , where are the people, identify change in the people.

in doubt go ask the locals.

Talking can do only that much, see for your self, find out yourself

People dont just cry foul for nothing.
    People cry foul when there is unfairness, humilated, conned, coerce into submission.

THINK FOR YOUR YOURSELF FELLOW MALAYSIANS IN SABAH, SARAWAK
    land of opportunity and resources, dont like it be misuse any further.

I say VOTE FOR CHANGE in MALAYSIA deny that 2/3 majority and take part in that CHANGE , a CHABGE you can participate and not be told and TOLLed.

CHEERS OPPOSITION PARTIES OF MALAYSIA

30. #30 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:19 am

The oldest people on earth, 128 years old, are in Malaysia
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article3508364.ece

And many Malaysians believe that, faced with this unprecedented threat, the ruling camp will attempt to cheat its way to victory. The group Human Rights Watch said yesterday that the ballot could be the “dirtiest ever”, condemning the Government for manipulating the voting process.

Campaign speeches by the opposition have already been rife with allegations that the Government will use the ballots of tens of thousands of “phantom voters” in closely contested seats. Local campaigners have also said that the electoral rolls also include about 9,000 voters born more than a century ago, including two who would, at the age of 128, be the oldest people on earth.

31. #31 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:33 am

From the vantage point of central Kuala Lumpur, the country appears to be booming. The sounds and sights of jackhammers, cranes and backhoes across the city are testament to the continued transformation of what was once a sleepy backwater into a thriving, cosmopolitan Southeast Asian capital.

But many Malaysians say they are worried about the country’s economic prospects. In a survey of 1,026 registered voters released by the Merdeka Center in January, only 19 percent of ethnic Chinese, who form the cornerstone of the country’s business community, said they expected the economy to improve in the coming year.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/07/world/asia/07malay.html?_r=1&ref=world&oref=slogin

32. #32 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:45 pm

Honestly, i think dap should back out from sabah & focus on s’wak

33. #33 by nck1188 on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 5:20 am

Now that DAP have won a significant amount of seats in the state assembly and parliament, I hope you do what you promised to do… or else the next election will be your graveyard.

34. #34 by lopez on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 7:25 am

it was 1969, i learnt that East malaysia is part of malaysia,
    i cannot use my brothers books because of the change.

I also learnt later there is some disfavour of malaysian gomen by east malaysians because ripping of timber by BN cronies.

I also learnt the word Sarawakians were commonly used in visitors register of public places in the UK. that was 70s.

I believe if sarawakians want development, they can do it , the resources are there, the people are there and if they want expert advice and experience just advertise lah.

the model used by BN is not the only way, there are more ways to skin a cat.

Dont be glamourised by twin tower and all, in fact it only houses petronas and the maintenance is not good to our income taxes, just because a few foolish and selfish fool wants to be know around the world, and say it differently on our tv.

malaysia is known to the world now but for the wrong reason because it is a nation of foolish leaders dragging a bunch of paranoid blind fools.
    Many states in peninsula has awakened up, thanks to internet.

Wish you were here.

35. #35 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 8:41 am

If opposition parties DO NOT work together against the BN, how to win seats and overthrow the BN?

Learn from your expereince in West Malaysia.

Start planning for the 13th GE!

36. #36 by vckc72 on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 10:49 pm

Uncle Kit

Heartiest Congratulation! DAP finally make it!

But sorry to say that, Sarawakian are a bit ignorant and innocent when come to politic. Sarawak should have at least sent another 2 more MPs to the parliament if not because of misunderstanding between PKR and DAP in the state.

Uncle Kit, you must help this in the Federal level, Sarikei was won by BN with only 51 votes more than DAP.

Prior to the election, there is a businessman openly support BN and he personally promised to build TAR collage at that constituency if BN won.

We rakyat want to know if our money being spend over such project? Why is that there isnt any tender at all for such project? Was the project approved? And if it is a personal promise, we rakyat feel that the businessman himself should personally liable for any consequences. Including building the collage at his own pocket.

Uncle Kit, your call now!

37. #37 by Sarikei Son on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

The opposition really have to fight really hard and win big. Postal votes the bane of the opposition really have to change. The police and armed forces really have no privacy when they cast their votes. So the opposition cannot afford to have multi cornered fights. The presence of multiple candidates will only strengthen BN as the DAP candidate of Sarikei found out to his dismay. The seat of P172 in Kota Kinabalu is one seat where a rocket flew to Putrajaya but that is a sad story in itself. There the DAP locked horns with PKR the DAP candidate won by a mere 106 votes. However both beat the BN candidate by about a thousand votes. But why play this dangerous game? They were lucky that the independent candidate got 341 votes. If the independent is another Fong Vun Fui of Sandakan they would be finished. In this country we have the first pass the post system of vote tallying. You cannot afford to have this type of bickering. Imagine if SPDP and SUPP candidates were locking horns with each other. Learn from your opponents BN. The opposition did that in the west and look at the results. The opposition candidate in KK could have won by a crushing figure on par with Chong Chieng Jen or Nga Kor Ming. DAP was lucky very lucky to win otherwise Sabah would have not even 1 opposition voice in Putrajaya. It seems that the DAP and PKR leaders in Sabah and Sarawak got problems. Whether both parties or one party had been compromised we don’t know. Something is wrong with the opposition here. The PKR man in Sibu Lim Chin Chuang together with DAP traitors Ting Chek Ming and Kung Chin Chin even attacked DAP candidates and top leaders during the campaign! Where is the spirit of cooperation? They got to get their act together otherwise there is no hope for the “wind of change” to blow here. I am not Anwar or Lim Kit Siang so who am I to judge. With so many odds against you why do you want to make it harder? Anyway its over better luck next time.

38. #38 by Sarikei Son on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 1:38 pm

I am afraid the simple folks of Sarikei and Bintangor are gullible and docile. The businessman now want students to start at a row of shophouses he owned in Sarikei town. So much for “Lan Man” College. I am afraid it will one of those low cost jobs like Cadas Business School(Closed). Well I look forward to China girls coming in. At least that is one consolation.

39. #39 by johnson chong on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:16 pm

Congratulation to DAP & their alliance for their splendid performance in this recent general election. But the same cannot be said of Sabah as you could only managed 1 state & parliment seat. There can be at least 6 seats for the opposition if you could all co-ordinate your candidate so as not to go against each other. But sadly Sabahan never learn & they all want to be ‘taiko’ in their own respective parties. Your candidate had given a luck lustre performance & during your 13 days campaigning period I never once saw your candidates for the Sandakan, Tanjung Papat & Karamunting seat. So to translate into votes nobody know who they are except Shanty Chong with her profile as ex judge. I was a volunteer seconder for your candidate Anthony Teo in the Tanjung Papat seat & until election day I did not even received a single phone call by your people to help out in the campaigning. With your campaigning in such disarray its not surprising that you lose against the mighty BN. During your trip to Sandakan except for your speech I did not heard other candidates giving any speech which reflects poorly on their leadership quality. Now with the election over DAP instead of sitting on their laurel waiting for the next election you must now start cracking & search for future candidates especially those with higher profile like doctors or lawyers instead of grabbing any Tom, Dick & Harry that comes along.