The Tale of the Rattlesnake

by M. Bakri Musa

Spring comes early in my part of California. Already there are exuberant splashes of dancing daffodils on the hillsides. Soon the colorful California poppies will pop up. With the weather becoming warmer, the rattlesnakes too will soon emerge from their winter slumber.

Talking of rattlesnakes, I am reminded of the story of the kindly lady who saw one such weakling that was dying from the long cold winter. Taking pity on the poor critter, she took it home and nursed it back to health. One day while she was feeding the now robust creature, it took a swipe at her hand and bit her.

As she lay dying she asked the snake why it had done that. “You should have known better, lady! You knew I was a rattlesnake, you should have killed me back then!”

On March 8, 2008, Malaysia will have a general election, with Prime Minister Abdullah seeking a second term, having secured an overwhelming mandate back in 2004. This will be the votersÂ’ collective judgment of what Abdullah did with that mandate.

If Barisan Nasional retains its supra-majority and Abdullah remains as Prime Minister, rest assured that he will continue the pattern he set in his first term. He will once again reward his cronies and family members with sweetheart mega billion contracts san competition, just as he has done during his first term. His excuse then was that he did not know that he was doing it! He will continue dozing off during meetings in the mistaken belief that Malaysians approve of such mediocre performances. Also, expect the bureaucracy to become even more bloated. This self-styled “number one civil servant’s” answer to every problem is to spend more money and employ more staff.

For Malays, expect more books on Islam to be banned and more raids by moral vigilante groups intent on keeping us on the “straight path.” And expect this Imam of Islam Hadari to lead even more prayers in public, with the television cameras rolling on, of course.

For non-Malays, expect more temples to be torn down to make way for “community development,” more cash demands from their insatiably greedy Ali Baba partners, and more reasons to take their children out of national schools.

In short, Malaysians would be like that innocent lady who took pity on the emaciated rattlesnake. Malaysians took pity on Abdullah and gave him another chance. Unfortunately, true to form, this rattlesnake Abdullah Badawi will bite us back with a vengeance.

Who Should We Blame?

There is a little bit of that kind lady in all of us, of wanting to be helpful, and yes, also to be forgiving, of wanting to give someone especially our leaders another chance. We believe in the basic goodness of our fellow human beings. We are generous and believe that goodwill begets more goodwill. In short, we are not rattlesnakes.

Unfortunately, there are the small minority amongst us who are indeed rattlesnakes. No matter how kind we are to them, their basic instinct is to bite back.

When I find a rattlesnake near my house, I remove it away back to the hills. If it returns, then I will not hesitate to kill it. I give that critter only one chance; it is too dangerous to have a rattlesnake crawling around near my house.

Malaysians have been too kind and for too long to this rattlesnake of a leader, Abdullah Badawi. He interprets the huge mandate he received in2004 not as a trust given by citizens to lead them to greater heights, but as a license to indulge his private fantasies. He is not at all embarrassed by being endlessly feted, or of him and his adult family members jetting off to far away destinations in his newly acquired (at taxpayers expense of course) luxurious Airbus. Where and when did this grandson of a pious and humble village imam acquire his extravagant tastes?

When Abdullah was appointed Deputy Prime Minister back in 1998, this is what I wrote in my book The Malay Dilemma Revisited: “Abdullah is not known for his intellect or sense of mission. Nor is he very inspiring. . . . He would be Malaysia’s Jimmy Carter, an honorable enough man but totally ineffective leader.” I was wrong about the honorable part.

I also wrote, “Abdullah’s only redeeming quality was his humility; a fine enough tribute for a friend but an overrated quality in a leader.” As we now know, Abdullah has a lot to be humble about, to borrow Churchill’s quote.

Democracy: Self Correcting

The mistake Malaysians made was in giving Abdullah that massive mandate in 2004. That however, was understandable, prompted no doubt by the kind lady instinct in us all. Unfortunately it cemented in Abdullah the delusion that his many inadequacies were indeed virtues. Our intellectuals and pundits too were also taken in, mistaking AbdullahÂ’s silence for substance, his humility for wisdom. Had Malaysians been less generous and our intellectuals more critical, Abdullah would have a far less inflated sense of his own capabilities and virtues. Who knows, we might be spared his vulgar excesses.

Even Prime Minister Mahathir was fooled by Abdullah to appoint him as MahathirÂ’s successor. At least Mahathir recognized his error of judgment (albeit belatedly) and is now working hard to remedy his greatest mistake.

The beauty of democracy is that citizens can (or at least are given a chance to) correct our collective mistakes, or even those of our leaders. In this upcoming election, voters in Kepala Batas could do a great national service if they were to boot Abdullah out. That would effectively remove him as Prime Minister. More significantly it would trigger a seismic shift in UMNOÂ’s leadership. With the partyÂ’s ban on contesting top posts effectively circumvented, it would get a chance to preview many other candidates.

If Kepala Batas voters were shy in exercising this historic opportunity, then Malaysians could still teach Abdullah a lesson by substantially reducing his coalitionÂ’s victories. That would also trigger a challenge to his leadership and we would have the same effect as the first scenario.

We Malays have a saying that sometimes we have to be unkind or even cruel in order to be kind. We may think that we are being kind by giving a five-ringgit note to a starving drug addict, but then he would just as quickly use that money to get his next fix.

In the social sciences there is the concept of an “enabler,” specifically referring to the battered wife syndrome, of the wife whose toleration of her husbandÂ’s abuses encourages him to be even more abusive.

In this election voters will have to be cruel in order to be kind to our leaders, ourselves, and our nation. Malaysians must be wise enough not to be inadvertent enablers of corrupt and incompetent leaders. We must get rid of the rattlesnakes among our leaders before they bite us.

If Malaysians were to continue on with business as usual with this election, then we have only ourselves to blame. It would not be the fault of the rattlesnake if it were to bite us back, as surely it would.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 6:24 pm

D-day -6: Yes, if voters give another >2/3 majority to BN again on 8.3.08, rest be assured that BN will cut up the constituencies again in the next 4 to 5 years (under the name of democracy) so that places with a small number of voters, but largely BN supporters, will have new parliamentary and state seats.

Furthermore, constituencies that voted for opposition parties will also be sliced so that areas within each of these constituencies with large number of opposition supporters will be isolated and remain to have one seat (parliament or state), while areas within each of these constituencies with large number of BN supporters will be carved out to have one or more seats (parliament or state).

In this way, mathematically, BN will always win in any GE.

Be warned, BN have all the resources to do this! BN have in fact been doing this all these years – gerrymandering districts to benefit BN!!

Read http://www.aceproject.org/ace-en/topics/bd/bdy/bdy_my

Voters, be merciless on 8.3.08, KILL the rattlesnake, OR BE KILLED by it forever and forever! Vote DAP/PKR/PAS!

2. #2 by matterofchoice2008 on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 7:00 pm

Well said boh-liao.
    “The non-Malay BN politicians there are spineless invertebrates like the blood-sucking mosquitoes (not leeches, as leeches are more beneficial than them). They play a decorative role that enables Umno to tell the world that Malaysia is multiracial. (When Umnoputras yelled “you pendatang, balik kampong, keluar” – the non-Malay BN politicians just nod and scuttle.)”

Yes, PUI and a big pui chau nuar to these BN Chinese MPs. These BN Chinese MPs are chau kow and they are BN parasites yang tak ada maruah langsung di Parlimen.

BN is very lansilanyeong. We need more oppositions in the Parliment to do check and balance for good governance.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 8:03 pm

“We Malays have a saying that sometimes we have to be unkind or even cruel in order to be kind. We may think that we are being kind by giving a five-ringgit note to a starving drug addict, but then he would just as quickly use that money to get his next fix.”

Very complex problem it seems, I think this is the cause of the dillemma that “we” have suffered for hundreds of years, after all “we” are all kind people, so the problems of the dillemma persist. But ever since the NEP, the “we” people has learned quite a deal, the are now very strong people because “we” have got the keris. “We” should just get real.

4. #4 by Loh on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 8:13 pm

PM AAB has proved to be useless as a PM, and he has just allowed the deformed government institutions to go on autopilot, apart from serving his personal needs. He has improvised it with making his son-in-law a buffer from other UMNO leaders, just like TDM making use of Gafar Baba as DPM.. Certainly AAB exhibited his honesty in exposing his desire to remain in power, and in enriching his immediate family members. Perhaps the word honesty might be better replaced with frankness out of inability to cover up his motive.

AAB would have been an acceptable PM if the government institutions had been allowed to perform what they were established to do; the Judiciary to maintain justice, the Attorney general’s office to maintain rule of law, the Police to ensure personal security, and the Election Commission to ensure that the people are facilitated to vote in a fair and free election to choose the government based on their performance, asking questions like is the country better off now than a few years ago, and who to elect into parliament to check government excess, and the government services are to perform functions treating all citizens equal, rather than partial to government racist policies. TDM had destroyed government institutions over his 22 years. rule. So the country has now to be run by rule of man rather than rule of law. A more capable person could make the rule of man looks like the rule of law by being opaque. AAB did not know even that basic requirement, and also as luck had it, he is coming into the age of internet where the printed media could not fool all the people all the time now. So, AAB proved to be weak in presiding the rule by man. We certainly do not want TDM to continue with ruling by man, no matter how good he was in comparison to AAB.

The problem we face today is the unquestionable support Malays give to UMNO, either because they do so out of gratitude to UMNO for making less man more share, and Malays are the beneficiaries, or they believe the objective of Ketuanan Melayu even though Melayu is not a race in the true sense, but a religious group together with other requirement as would a club similarly defined. When Malays are willing to condone the actions of UMNO leaders, including agreeing to conform to outside supervision of their practice as Muslims, then any UMNO representatives put up by the party would get elected. As money politics are controlling the outcome of UMNO party elections, and money are easily obtainable by those in position of power, the same group of UMNO leaders taking politics as the short-cut to wealth and power will continue to dominate political scene in the country.

The next in line to UMNO throne is the man who in 1987 wanted to soak Keris in Chinese blood. He is very specific that he wanted to soak Chinese blood to climb political ladder. He would certainly be qualified for trial on ‘ethnic cleansing’ or war crime when he has all the power to decide when killing would start, or when war with enemy states would be joined. The political structure in the country cannot hope to produce people who would see that the government institutions return to their roles, and allow people of different races to coexist as equal, living peacefully in obedience of the laws which are fair and just to all races in the country.

Onn Jaafar was said by his grandson to be ahead of his time. Onn‘s foresight could not be understood by his UK trained grandson 50 years later, as though his grandson was living toward the past, like into the history of USA. We need many more Onn Jaafar now, but they might have ended up under ISA. We are doomed.

5. #5 by alphoti on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 8:19 pm

Thanks M Bakri. We needs more such articles especially from educated Malays for this country. It would be viewed very differently if the same article is written by a non-Malay. In this sense, Malaysian Government has been very successful in creating mistrust & ‘fear of’ other races in this country.

I think a lot of Malaysian is wrong about Abdullah. What Malaysian thought of him when he initially became PM & now is world apart. Me, for one, is very wrong. But, where do we go wrong? Does our Media play a part or is it that our PM is a world class actor?

Democracy is self correcting, but Malaysian Democary is NOT! Can we even call Malaysia a democratic country? One can even be sent to jail for sending a rose to PM.

What IF Abdullah really got boot out this time, by either scenerio stated in the above article, what will happen next? Will it be better for Malaysia? Frankly, I don’t like Najib any better. Mr Bakri, can you write something on this? Perhaps ‘Malaysia after Abdulah’?

VOTE FOR CHANGE!
    VOTE FOR OPPOSITION!
    VOTE WITH CONSCIENCE!

6. #6 by theerga on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 8:28 pm

“The State, not family, faith or community, is the guarantor of personal liberty and intellectual freedom that all citizens need look to. While the state can oppress, it is only the state that can create the conditions for freedom and can protect people from those who would curtail that freedom. Other forms of social organisation, such as religions, tribes, gangs, political cults and companies, cannot do this and, in many cases, do just the opposite”.
    In Malaysia during the last few decades we have witnessed the unravelling of this core principle; the state as the sole temporal authority, protector of the Rule of law and arbiter of justice has been jettisoned summarily. Elected dictators have long dispensed with the liberties and rights of the citizens of the country they govern. All pretence of due process and the separation of powers ABANDONED; cynical, manipulative and contemptuous of voters, self-serving functionaries, fraudulent, patronising, self-aggrandising, unprincipled and steeped in the corruption.
    UMNO has cultivated and institutionalised both the feared and fearful client class of race and religious groups; its dependents, unable even to imagine standing on their own feet. A malignant force perpetuating a repressive retrograde Communitarianism; paralysing the social and intellectual development of very community it purports to champion. That slight of hand, that brandishing of swords, that jingoistic Nationalism – all a sham – to hold on to power to feed its cavernous greed. It has presided over the most shameful venal politics: Wealth without work, Pleasure without conscience, Knowledge without character, Commerce without morality, and Politics without principle.
    “It tells lies in an environment where alternative views are not heard. It tells people what they want to hear; give them simple solutions to complex problems, enemies on whom they can blame their discontents, promises to satisfy their narrow aspirations, spectacles and ceremonies to stir the emotions and suppress critical thinking”.
    It has undermined the very basis of the economic and social parity it proclaims.
    It engendered a breed of parasitic ‘hangers on’; a fractured and polarized society where the LINGHAMS’ and TANS’ tout and pimp for the amoral ruling elite. Vultures circling for rich pickings off rotting flesh.
    The outcome? Alienation and apartheid that has become the abiding state of affairs, where coercion, thuggery, intimidation are commonplace. Instead of providing the framework for the intellectual, economic and social advancement, it has shackled a community to defunct racial and religious ideology to bolster its own power crazed frenzy. It has deliberately crippled the ‘able bodied’ and handed it ‘faulty crutches’.
    “A society that puts equality – in the sense of equality of outcome – ahead of freedom will end up with neither equality nor freedom. The use of force to achieve equality will destroy freedom….” Milton Friedman.
    The world’s free societies are those where tribalism and religion has been tamed by the nation-state. In these countries, religion has been detached from the state by constitutional rules.
    It is time to unhitch this unholy, dysfunctional BN alliance. – CHANGE is long overdue!

7. #7 by For future on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:06 pm

The Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall (KLSCAH) has issued a public statement
    (http://www.merdekareview.com/news.php?n=6065) calling on the voters of the Kulim Bandar Baharu (P.18) parliamentary constituency in Kedah not to support BN candidate Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir for the latter ‘s role as a leader of an Umno Youth mob that threatened to raze the building of the Hall to the ground and also for screaming anti-Chinese slogans in 2000. Contesting against Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir is PKR’s Zulkifli Noordin.

http://jameswongwingon-online.blogspot.com/2008/03/first-umno-extremist-named-by-chinese.html

http://zul4kulim.blogspot.com/2008/03/first-umno-extremist-named-by-chinese.html

8. #8 by For future on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:07 pm

The Public Statement can be found here:

http://www.merdekareview.com/news.php?n=6065

9. #9 by grace on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:25 pm

Get the rattlesanke out!!!
    Just VOTE OPPOSITION!!! SAVE THE NATION FROM CORRUPT!!!

10. #10 by clear conscience on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:39 pm

An old priest lay dying. He requested to see Semi Value and Bodohwi before he dies. Semi Value and Bodohwi were delighted and thought that this shall be good for their image with the GE looming around the corner.

The priest held Semi Value’s hand in his right hand and similarly held Bodohwi’s in his left hand. Bodohwi, being the boss (Ketuanan Melayu) of the two, and as usual being the arrogant of the two, tried to show off to Semi Value that he has the first right of refusal to ask the dying priest.

Bodohwi said to the priest, ” Why did you choose us, amongst all the people in Malaysia?”.

The priest said, ” I have always tried to model my life after Lord and Saviour. He died between two dying thieves. I would like to do the same too!!.”

Dear saudara-saudara, fellow Malaysians. I hope the moral of this story tells us all what we would expect from BN leaders when the priest would not even let them off the hook, for what they have done and for what they would continue to do in the future if BN comes to power. Deny BN the votes and let them rest in peace with the priest.

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 10:13 pm

I am so tired of this Pak Lah and his lazy Cabinet. Pak Lah’s name is fast becoming anathema to my ears. And BN… may God wipe out this curse from the Malaysian map.

12. #12 by cherasusie on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

He can’t even take care of Komtar building, the landmark of Penang which has since become a smelly rubbish dump, I wonder how he can help the nation when he become a minister.

he should be voted out………. GO tsu koon, GO

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 10:43 pm

PAS President Abdul Hadi Awang dared Abdullah Badawi to hold a televised debate similar to those held by US presidential candidates.

But Rafidah Aziz said there was no place for such debates in Malaysia.

“We don’t follow the American system in our country. We (the country’s leaders) should be debating with villagers or town folks concerning local issues affecting them”.

Excuse me! But are they having debates with ordinary folks?? They are busy thinking what lies to tell them, and how to do it! If that’s not enough they will bribe them into it.

14. #14 by cfcluvdap on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 11:45 pm

Can’t imagine that Dr M also fooled by rattlesnake ( cobra here), let’s not be fooled for long and take 03 Mar 08 to remove the poison in the rattlesnake-cobra. Remove the poison we must, else rakyat be bitten time and again–causing higher “barang naik”.

15. #15 by fjjs on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:05 am

VOTE WISELY —– Enough of corruption, increased crime rate, marginalisation of minority groups and many known scandals. We Malaysians deserve a better quality of life.

“A wise man distrusts his neighbor. A wiser man distrusts both his neighbor and himself. The wisest man of all is to distrusts BN government.” – VOTE OPPOSITION

“Our whole nation must be organized.” – VOTE OPPOSITION

“Our power placed us above the rest.” – VOTE OPPOSITION

“Today we can declare: Government is the problem, and the government have no solution. We, the Malaysian people, we are the solution.” – VOTE OPPOSITION

16. #16 by pwcheng on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:16 am

I think these BN fellas especially Pak Lah or Pak Liar whichever name you like to use is more dangerous than a rattlesnake. At least a rattlesnake will make the rattling noise when you are near them to warn you. These are king cobras where they do not even need to bite you to kill you as they can spew poison at a distance of 2 meters to kill you. We have to kill them at any cost otherwise they will become more deadly as these snakes grow older.

17. #17 by choonchoy on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:30 am

Don’t only deny BN 2/3’s majority! So arrogant have they become, that they thing they own the country. Time for a reality check for BN. BN doesn’t own the country. BN is not royalty. BN as the govt have been bad to their masters, the rakyat. For servants who don’t serve but reach into the coffers of their masters there is only one place, PRISON.

Let show these servants who only serve their own interests, who’s the boss.

Rakyat of Malaysia, it is time to sack this greedy serves.

Makmal Computer, Roboh-Lah
    Jambatan Penang, Pelan Hilang-Lah
    Proton, Spare Part Hilang-Lah
    Renong, Wang EPF-Lah
    Highland Tower, Tak cukup orang-Lah
    Perwaja, Apa jadi-Lah
    MEC, Mana-Lah
    50 Tahun, Cukup-Lah
    BN, Pergi-Lah

Let’s give BN the Boot.

18. #18 by paix on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 7:33 am

The rakyat has been hit with a double whammy from all the looters and thieves aka BN politicians. The money that rightfully beongs to the rakyat to help with healthcare, schools, roads, etc. instead has been squirreled to some Swiss or Aussie bank accounts. The rakyat loses out on the beneficial multiplier effect had the money been spent locally. For example, if the money is being used to build a school here, the contractor gets paid a certain amount of money. He in turn pays his subcontractor who pays his suppliers. The subcontractor and suppliers also pay their employees who in turn will shop at the local martket. This ripple effect goes on and on to help stimulate the local economy. However, the money looted by the thieves most likely will end up in some foreign banks. The thieves, er politicians, will go on their overseas junkets and spend the money there to benefit the ang mohs. This multiplier effect is lost on the local economy forever to the detriment of the rakyat.

Throw the thieves and looters out of office. The rakyat should get back control of the money that is rightfully theirs.

19. #19 by k1980 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 8:44 am

Hey, I thought all along Malaysia’s Justice Bao has big ears and uses skin-whitening products to make himself fair. So what’s that Chinese idiot doing over there
    http://howsy.blogspot.com/2008/02/look-look-justice-bao-is-back-well-sort.html

20. #20 by Justicewanted on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:08 am

Let the rattle snake die.

Vote for any opposition except the Dacing.

Now the DPM announced that the PM has a website for us to write to the PM our hopes, opinions and suggestions for ACTION to be taken.

The website are MANAGED by Yayasan Kajian dan Strategi Melayu, National Council of Women’s Organisation, FOMCA, CUEPACS, Dewan Pernagian Melayu Malaysia, TAMU and YAYABAN.

Who the BN is trying to fool?

The website is not even the PM’s but managed by a few NGOs. Can the say or act on behalf of the PM.

Why the PM has not personally launched his website but ask the DPM to do so?

Even we recieve a reply for our opinions I am very sure it is not the PM’s reply……..

21. #21 by k1980 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:24 am

22. #22 by Evenmind on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:37 am

Rattle snake Chief has awakened from his slumber , the first thing he does is unleash the spineless manifesto to mislead the innocent citizens , to vote for BN just as he did in the last election and did nothing afterwards,
    And all of a sudden the indians in M’sia has become visible, and empty promises are again made to rectify their misfortunes, what a maverick, he shold be made NATO’s f(No Action Talk Only) chairman of the century.
    This is the chance to wipe out the the rattle snakes population in Malaysia, or else the nation will go to the dogs as most of the nation ‘s wealth will be plundered, as their commisions rate is now in the Billions , not millions anymore e.g. the submarine purchase commision., imagine that money if spent on the infrastructure, instead the public is made to pay the ever increasing toll charges , the 1 billion may have helped to offset this, and this is just the surface, only God knows what actually goes on there , and i bet ain’t sweet for the avereage tax paying Malaysian
    The sooner Malaysians realize that race based politics in this country is just a ruse for these rascals to enrich themselves , the sooner it will be for this nation to grow exponentially, otherwise all the remaining true talent will be brain drained , and this country can become another Zimbabwe or something similar in the next 50 yrs.

23. #23 by Evenmind on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:54 am

Talking about billion ringgit in commision, at that rate if 3/4 of the BN is corrupted , IMAGINE : if we manage to kick them out of power all that money can used, say to pay in cash all the infrastructure projects in the country , we may not even be required to pay toll, at the very least .
    Just imagining is not enough , kick them out show em the boot., VOTE the rascals out. Only then the wealth ofv this country can be enjopyed by all, irrespective ofd race , creed or colour.

24. #24 by ycchai62 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 10:34 am

The Christians, Hindus, and now a Muslim had made their stand or opinion heard. What happen to the Buddhists? Are u so hesitant or contented to become the silent majority. Our nation’s future is at stake, u must brave enough to stand up and be counted.
    No one saves us but ourselves. To defend the dignity and repay our gratitude to our nation is part of the duties expounded in the teaching of Buddhism. I m a Buddhist and I m making my stand loud and clear to reject extremism, corruptions and lies. Don’t be seen as a weak community.

25. #25 by Evenmind on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 11:17 am

Voting BN will result in the citizens downfall, Why ? They( BN) are going to empty the nations coffers for themseves ( Billions in comission ) , and ordinary citizens are going to pay the toll, yes even the road tolls , here , there, and everywhere so that the ministers can grow even fatter, just look at Samy , how fat and ugly he is ? SOB.

26. #26 by badak on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 12:47 pm

BN want more then 2/3 majority because it want to keep on being corrupted .

27. #27 by k1980 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 12:52 pm

“See, I will then pass the Acting Health Minister portfolio to Ah Chuan. The other MCA aspirants can go and suck cocks for all I care”
    http://www.nst.com.my/Monday/National/2175488/insidepix1

28. #28 by Jong on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:40 pm

PAS President Abdul Hadi Awang dared Abdullah Badawi to hold a televised debate similar to those held by US presidential candidates. – undergrad2

– Rafidah Aziz was quick to come to his rescue. She knows her boss’s limitation and capabilities. She jumped and came to his rescue rather than to be bashed, embarrassed and ridiculed in full view of the who nation. Everyone knows he’s a political liablity to the party he leads.

This GE 2008 on 8th March 2008, let’s go for change! Let’s destroy rattlesnakes out – Abdullah Ahmad Badawi(UMNO), Samy Velu(MIC), Ong Ka Ting(MCA), Koh Tsu Koon(Gerakan) and M Kayveas(PPP).

Together we can make a difference. Let’s make sure they are “leaders without seats”. We have enough of corruption and their lies and let’s show them what “People’s Power” is all about!

29. #29 by Jong on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:42 pm

oops, sorry should read:

“….in full view of the w.”hole nation.”

30. #30 by Jong on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

“….in full view of the whole nation.”

31. #31 by cheng on soo on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 2:05 pm

Sad, most ppl in kampung still do not how how corrupt bn ppl are, they (kampung ppl) even say corruption is normal. like Thailand polis also ask for coffee money etc.
    They will just vote what penghulu tell them (ie BN)
    To show BN the door, kampung ppl hv to wake up!

32. #32 by cheng on soo on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 2:23 pm

Non UMNO, BN leaders are like rattlesnakes, (kacang lupa kulit), they bite their own ppl (MIC, bite Indian, MCA bite Chinese etc), Indian n Chinese should give them Zero vote (sifar undi).
    These MIC, MCA leaders are beyond repair, just rattlesnake, give them Zero chance!

33. #33 by Evenmind on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 3:12 pm

Japan : Land of rising sun
    Malaysia : Land of son in law

34. #34 by Democrats on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 5:02 pm

M Bakri Musa,

You should apologize to all the rattlesnakes in the world. Your comparisons do not do justice. Rattlesnakes are sleek, alert, fast cunning and extremely poisonous. Our beloved PM is dorky, lethargic, slow and bland. It is the general population that is too sedated or indifferent to see what was coming….

35. #35 by k1980 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 7:17 pm

To matterofchoice2008,

don’t PUI! on that bugger KSK. It’s unhealthy. Spray Shelltox or Fumakilla on that parasitic bum!

36. #37 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 8:16 pm

I do not wish to appear racist but I believe that on 8.3.08 it will be rural bumiputera votes that will determine if BN retains the 2/3 majority. If there are enough wise ones like M.Bakri – all Malaysian voters – we’ll see the beginnings of a more civil and democratic Malaysia.

37. #38 by mickey01 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 8:59 pm

The most poisonous female rattlesnake (AP queen) is the richest, most powerful, cunning, dramatic, wicked and most vocal is set to convince AAB that she is indispensable. Hell will still break loose if she is retained or dropped. By all mean remove this veneous snake otherwise Msia will be one of the corrupted countries in the world!

38. #39 by undergrad2 on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 9:20 pm

Watch Penang falls to the Opposition!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6Z_m1csXfQ

39. #40 by limkamput on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 12:20 am

Undergrad2, your video on Anwar speaking in Bagan, don’t be too sure you are watching Penang falling to oppositions. It is meant for Malays to watch Anwar speaking and you will know what will happen to PKR’s constituencies.

40. #41 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 12:30 am

It is meant to be a “tease” and nothing more. No, I do not know what will happen to PKR’ s constituencies. Do you?

41. #42 by chongs on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 12:37 am

BN feels very threatened and frightened now !! But it’s too late to dangle all things nice and sweet to the rakyat. Once bitten, twice shy.
    Most of the BN MPs are mediocre leaders who do not have the foresight to forge the country to greater heights, and to make matters worst, are very corrupt. We need dynamic leaders with visionary skills, from the PM to cabinet ministers to heads of departments to heads of longkang MPs.

42. #43 by AhPek on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 2:56 am

Loyal Malaysian,

You certainly do not appear racist,in fact far from it when you assert that the rural bumiputra votes hold the key towards the two thirds victory for BN. Mahathir has seen to it some time ago by pushing thro his strategy called gerrymandering and by doing that he has condemned Malaysia to a never ending race-based and religion-based politics, unless of course we can wake out to the fact that as non Malays we are destined from now onwards that we be king-makers that is to say we must have the wisdom to choose who becomes our king ie our ruling party.And if we are happy receiving goodies from ruling political party on eve of elections then we will be forever condemned to be treated as 2nd class citizen in your own country and certainly deserving that,too.

43. #44 by rimxed on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:19 am

I was a studying in the U.K. until just recently, and during my time there I made friends with an American and a British. We often hang out and have conversations over some drinks, and once I was asked by them: What is your country’s political system? And how would you classify it?

I responded:”Well…..it’s kinda like the U.K., being a federal constitutional monarchy, it is closely modeled on that of Westminster parliamentary system, a legacy of British colonial rule. In practice however, more power is vested in the executive branch of government than in the legislative, and the judiciary has been weakened by sustained attacks by the government during the Mahathir era.”

I continued:” On top of that we have 9 Sultans and their families to support. They have the best occupation in the world and they are above the law of my country. We also have a “tyrant” but it is in a shape of a multi-party coalition known as the Barisan Nasional, being in power since independence, leaving the people quite choice-less.

My friends could hardly believe what I explained and referred to it as a “dull system”. I was neither ashamed nor proud of it, but deep inside I felt disappointed and wondered whether I can live to see the day this country took a turn for the better. I love my country, Malaysia, very much. It is rich in natural resources, interesting food items, and generally people here are friendlier than many other countries’. Sadly but honestly, this country is currently in the hands of the most inappropriate and incompetent people you can think of.
    Our present government is underachieving to the extend that they do not even know how to lie efficiently and effectively. They should come to realization that: you can fool one person every time and you can fool everybody at one time, but you can never fool everybody every time…

As for the ministers, MPs, etc who prospered through corruptions upon corruptions, they are the world-class thieves and robbers.

As for the law enforcers who take bribes for their own convenience, they are the world-class mafia.

As for those who vote for the above, you surely prefer to have world-class scumbags to lead this country. Please pat yourself on the shoulder.

Power should be held by the people of this nation, no one should be above the law, the economy should be fully exposed to competition, a passion for change is the birth of democracy, corruption is its death !

44. #45 by all ready on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:37 am

HERE ARE THE FACTS WHY WE CANNOT GIVE THEM 2/3 OF PARLIAMENT

1. Barisan lost 2/3 majority once, in 1969. Only briefly.

2. Since 1957, it has amended the constitution 690 times to propagate its power. By comparison, USA which is more 200 years old has only amended its constitution 27 times; Singapore as little as only 4 times.

3. Barisan’s ability to amend the constitution as it likes (and make unjust and unfair constitutional changes) must be stopped now.

Here are the statistics from the 2004 election:

1. UMNO received 35.9% of the popular votes but has 110 parliamentary seats or 50% of all parliamentary seats.

2. In total, Barisan received 63.8% of the popular votes but has 199 parliamentary seats or 91% of all parliamentary seats.

3. The opposition received 36.2% of the popular votes but has only 20 parliamentary seats or 9% of all parliamentary seats.

4. Why? Because of gerrymandering, or unfair election rules. The election rules are stacked against the opposition. No matter what happens, the opposition will never, I repeat, will never be able to win the next election.

Here’s the decision-making power process within our present cabinet.

1. UMNO not only controls the parliament via Barisan, it has allocated itself 24 cabinet positions or 71% of all cabinet positions.

2. MCA has 5 cabinet positions or 15% of the cabinet positions.

3. MIC has 1 cabinet position or 3 % of the cabinet positions.

4. Gerakan has 1 cabinet position or 3% of the cabinet positions.

5. Other component parties hold 3 cabinet positions or 8% of the cabinet positions.

One should take note that although UMNO controls 50% of all parliamentary seats, it controls 71% of all the decision making processes within the cabinet.

4. Many marginalization issues or unfair election practices are the result of legislations passed by Barisan (lead by UMNO) unchecked in a dominant Barisan parliament. Under the Barisan Party whip system, the majority component party within Barisan will dictate the rules of the game. Other Barisan component parties like MCA, Gerakan or MIC cannot vote against what UMNO decides in whatever it likes, even if they wanted to.

5. Best part is this: even if the opposition won all the seats it contested, no single opposition party can form the next government. Why? Gerrymandering (of the present election borders) has ensured that even if Barisan were to win 50% of the popular votes in the upcoming election, it will still control 2/3 of parliament. As an example, in 2004 Barisan took 64% of the popular votes but ended up controlling 91% of parliament. It is easy to see why if they win only 50% of the popular votes in the next election they will once again be able to dictate absolute power in the parliament.

From One Caring Malaysian To Another

Let’s Do Our Part To Safeguard The Future….Our Children

45. #46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:48 am

Badawi is not a rattlesnake. He was born with a rattle, but he does not know what to do with it. He has to be coached to give answers, and he probably goes for hynopsis sessions in order that he appears to be convincing each time he lies through his teeth. He can only give an answer once because he is notorious for not remembering his lies, and hence his handlers will not allow him to be interviewed off the cuff, or grilled over stupid answers.

This is the real sad state of affairs for Bolehland – a leader who needs to be coached to answer basic questions, and a leader who is being manipulated by a group of much younger Malays who aspire to get rich quick at the expense of the rakyat.

46. #47 by Jong on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:20 am

This mentally-challenged villiage idiot doesn’t seem to know what the heck he is talking about. You are right Godfather, he needs to be coached to respond, even in gesture! Watch him speak and one never fail to roll in laughter seeing how silly he gets!

Something must be seriously wrong in UMNO, the whole lot of them must be nuts to be lead by this idiot they call, …”Leader”?

You still want to vote BN? THINK.

47. #48 by Jong on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:22 am

sorry correction: “…must be nuts to be led….”

48. #49 by chongs on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 3:56 pm

Victory celebration:
    Members of the oppositon parties, when you have won (I am sure you will) as MPs or a state seat, please do not celebrate immediately, but to go home, latch your doors, go to sleep (much needed after 10 days of hectic campagn). Some BN losers may stir some uproars and hold you responsible for initiating it. We don’t want another May 13. Allow a cooling period for their frustrations to simmer down. You make your humble entrance later and celebrate your victory for the next 4 years !!

49. #50 by longjaafar on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

It’s sad that we all have to suffer because of the incompetence of one man. Talking about expensive airplanes, did you see Najib with his daughter, cuddling in a luxurious govt jet, back from campaigning.(NST 4th March). The irony is that the people whom he is campaigning against are joint owners of the airplane and also are partly paying for his huge expenses, because they are taxpayers.
    In Taman Tun Dr Ismail, a brand new govt building at a car park (next to TTDI police station) is being taken over by the BN candidate for his bilik gerakan.

50. #51 by TrueMalaysian8888 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:46 pm

THe more I looked at Present PM, the more he resembled a snake.
    Even the sammyvellu lose out lah….he is the most sickest, dumb,
    old guy that I ever seen….

As they doing their race cleansing in malaysia, I don’t give a damn!!!.

Do you know what the future hold for Malaysia???? look at cambodia..
    ehh..I think cambodia will do much better than us…look at phillipine…
    ehh…I think Philli. will do better than us!!!!…….Look at Indonesia…..
    ehh…with so many Indonesian been changed to Malaysian, I guessed
    Malaysia will becomes a part of Indonesia in no time. Why not, Our Selangor MB came from Indonesia!!!!….I guessed the only hope of Malaysia is to ask the help of indonesia for survival, be it food, petrol ( as our mohd yaakob said we will be net import of crude oil by 2011 !!!!).

As for me, I will stick here until I die, but what is the future of my children????

firstly, they will complete their education in Malaysia.Primary and secondary in Chinese school.
    Then I will pay for their overseas education in one condition that they will not be returning to Malaysia.

It is no different whether they stay in malaysia or overseas…actually they have more opportunities if they stay in overseas…..

Why come back???? Look at people in Malaysia suffering ????

As for me, I will sell everything in malaysia before I die and past it to my children in overseas……..

51. #52 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:13 am

Hello Limkamput!

You show what we call a “dog in the manger” attitude. It is time you split! You are a pain in the you-know-where!

52. #53 by limkamput on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 3:08 pm

hello kickyourbutt @ papi dog @ darkhorse. What is your problem, too painful at your back now? Spineless coward. I have not seen one meaningful contribution from you. Of course, what can i expect from a donkey who just know how to bray all day and try to talk sexy with Jong and Jenny. Remember your bray was completely deleted by the moderator. If you have any self respect, you should have left this blog ago.

53. #54 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:33 pm

Folks, this is one of the many mails I received past one week. Please keep forwarding if you share the same inspiration.

Vote the opposition doesn’t mean we are anti-government or we do not love this country!
    Because: We love this country, we NEED to stand up and ensure this country not to be run by these hypocrites and weak government FREELY with unlimited resources!

Recently, MCA keep on saying , “Again, we managed to “fight” for another xx millions for xx Chinese schools ”
    SILLY!! What do they mean by “fight”? Don’t you think it should be their jobs???
    Why “fight”? Isn’t it should be their duty!!
    Do the Malays need to fight for their mosques and schools??
    Don’t you think they are just like dogs around the master’s table barking till their throats drop.. then they will get a bone tagged with a pcs of skin .
    And they “shout” to the whole world . They managed to “fight” for something ..!!! Pathetic! It is a disgrace to the Chinese community.
    Answer is :- they are too weak in BN!! They have to beg and fight..!!

Voting for BN means voting for Umno!
    MCA and Gerakan are just their “running dogs”..they throw some bones out..so that these dogs can share the “good”news..!

Yes, Shouldn’t blame the Malays ..!!

We, Chinese and Indians are to be blamed as we “willingly” :-
    – surrender our rights to them
    – surrender our children’s education’s opportunities to them
    – surrender our dignities to them (even they have asked us to leave Malaysia for hundred times, still our MCA ppl keep quiet like dogs..)
    – surrender our 30% shares and much more with the NEP…for so many years..
    – surrender our future in this country….

What do we care?
    Tomorrow still can eat pork or not? Can “yam seng” or not?
    Is that what we care only?
    What make us feel that if the BN can’t get the 2/3, then we don’t have pork to eat?
    WHO always “remind” us that if BN can’t get 2/3, there will be May13?

You still want to be threaten??

Still remember that I read an article from PAS:-

UMNO, please don’t threaten our Chinese friends again with the oldtricks :- MAY13 issue.
    Listen, before you touch our Chinese friends, you have to walk pass our dead body 1st…
    We won’t let you harm them!!

I’m touched!. I believe our poor Malay friends have seen the TRUE UGLY face from their leaders!!
    They know well ..30% or even 90% shares given to BUMI won’t benefit them at all…. except those in UMNOs .

A lot of them have woke up, are you still asleep!??

Can you still don’t bother???

WAKE UP!!!!!

Me too, love this country do u??

54. #55 by Billy on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:02 am

I really had a good laugh this morning when I saw in the Star paper this morning a photograph of LKS with PAS supporters in Labis. Gosh these guys in Star and MCA are really really pathetic. It may have worked in the past in scaring the non-Muslim voters from voting for DAP but not anymore. We non-Malays are so hell bent on getting rid of BN, especially the running dog MCA, that PAS comes across like a breath of fresh air. Anyway, one of my siblings have already started to vote for PAS and has no regret doing it. So to Star and MCA, please come out with something more constructive and productive rather than the story of DAP/PAS link-up and billboards implying that Teresa Kok is a prostitute. I guess after so many years associated with UMNO, I can’t blame MCA for becoming equally brainless. Now you know why none of them wants to have a public debate with the opposition.