Shanty Chong will be ideal Chairperson of Parliamentary Select Committee for Independence and Integrity of Judiciary

Over a thouand people at the DAP Sandakan ceramah last night for our parliamentary candidate and two State Assembly candidates in the Sandakan area.

DAP parliamentary candidate for Sandakan, Shanty Chong delivered her maiden political speech – humorous but hard-hitting which will strike fear and terror among erring Barisan Nasional leaders.

She had served 17 years in the judical service and very few can compare with her in integrity as nobody could or would doubt her incorruptibility.

No time to write more, except to record that I announced that she would make an ideal choice as Chairperson of a Parliamentary Select Committee on Independence and Integrity of the Judiciary in the new Parliament.

1. #1 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 11:06 am

Can you post Shanty Chong’s maiden political speech in your blog, Uncle Kit Siang?

2. #2 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 12:55 pm

Yeah, everyone should visit http://www.warkahuntukpm.com.my and just leave a message for Pak Liar Lah: “Why you lie all the time? Liar! Liar! Liar!”

While we appreciate AAB, through his actions in the last 4 years, for raising political awareness among Malalysians and galvanising opposition parties to work together against the evils of BN, we must heed some recent sensible advice of TDM as featured in
    http://www.todayonline.com/pdf_open.asp?id=2802WNL020 :

1. I said that I thought he (ie, AAB) should be PM for one term.

2. There are of course a lot of negative things that are not in the report card (BN 2008 General Election Manifesto).

2. I think if you follow them (ie, Hishamuddin Hussein and Khairy Jamaluddin), it will be disastrous for the party.

So, people, let’s not disappoint TDM. Time to get rid of AAB, HH, and KJ!
    Vote for DAP/PKR/PAS!

3. #3 by dawsheng on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 2:21 pm

“Shanty Chong will be ideal Chairperson of Parliamentary Select Committee for Independence and Integrity of Judiciary”

Any taxi driver also can laa.. If Barisan Rakyat win the general election, anyone also ideal.

4. #4 by PK Wong on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

Dear Lim Kit Siang, I would also like to have Shanty Chong’s maiden political speech. Please post it in your blog. She is great and a fearless leader. DAP is blessed with so many great leaders.

Very good news. DAP has a cilli padi in Sandakan. It is time to root out all the corrupted BN leaders and their stooges.

VOTE DAP! VOTE PKR VOTE PAS.

5. #5 by u2 on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 3:28 pm

do take note that the BN may release the 5 Hindraf detainees on the 7th March 2008, 1 day before polling day, to get back all the Indian votes. And the the Hero is none other than Semi Value…

Please remember 1 thing before you vote, when BN is in power, they can detain anyone, everyone and anytime. Vote wisely!

6. #6 by budak on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

no matter what the UMNO/BN do..
    my vote will go to DAP… :-)

7. #7 by malaysian4malaysia on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 4:39 pm

is important to deny 2/3 BN majority this coming election…

sure my vote will go for any opposition!!!

((( 2008 Election Should Know!!! )))

8. #8 by matterofchoice2008 on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 4:49 pm

Thanks to Jeff Ooi for highlighting us the claim Koh Tsu Koon made in 1999. It is a fact that Koh Tsu Koon claimed in 1999 just before the election that Penang’s economy would catch up with that of Singapore in ten years time. It is now impossible to be realised by Penang state government under current leadership of Koh Tsu Koon.

No wonder Koh Tsu Koon now has got the brilliant idea of moving from state level to parliment level. By moving to parliment level, does it mean that Koh Tsu Koon assumes Penang people will forget what he claimed in 1999.

What kind of Penang chief minister is this? Now that BN Penang wasted a lot of money to print brochures claiming how great BN acheivements at Penang blah blah blah. Aiyoh, ingat kita ini orang Penang bodoh kah? Just based on what you print kah?

Fellow Malaysians, please call upon your friends and relatives. Do not Vote for Koh Tsu Koon at Batu Kawan seat. Vote for Jeff Ooi at Jelutong seat. In short, please vote for the Opposition. We need more oppositions in the Parliment to do check and balance for good governance.

9. #9 by Menang atau mati on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:36 pm

Dear Sheriff Singh and others,

Do not waste time making projections.

Just get all your relatives and friends to come out and vote for the RAKYAT.Do not stop talking to people from now till polling day.

Just go all out.Stop at nothing.

Its Now or Never.

I do not fear.Fear not.

Just do it.

Fear nobody except GOD!

Treat this election as the fight between Good and Evil.

It is a fight between Light and Darkness

And Light shall always eventually triumph.

But for that to happen,we must always take that first step.

God helps those who help themselves

10. #10 by Wisdom above on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 12:53 am

To YB L K Siang,

Cheating in Postal Votes – Sarawak

1)..we spotted at least six people with the same identification card number having two ballots each,’ Mr Yaacob said.

2)..(EC) officers in Sibu issued postal votes to the police and army personnel, and in the course of supervising the issuance, we caught 13 postal voters who were entitled to vote twice, for their names were registered twice on the electoral roll. They were to be given 2 ballot papers each.

Do we have physical duplicate ballot papers for 13 Sibu & 6 KL voters ,names,ic , any video recording of the ballots papers, etc…

There must be 2 police reports as ‘ first information report’.Penal Code case.

If yes, get “Barisan Rakyat ” Legal advisers file application in High Court to have ‘Postal Voting’ suspended indefinitely.

We have a constitutional crisis here… GE 2008 can be annulled …?

Postal voting roll must be seized for used as evidence in a criminal investigation.
    Very messy ….

Since it is a criminal case, AG chamber cannot keep quiet…

Let’s see what how SPR try to cover up ?

> Check out MT ‘Mandate from Heaven’ posting by …..

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

11. #11 by atanck on Monday, 3 March 2008 - 2:48 pm

Kit Siang, please put up Shanty’s speech here. I missed her fiery speech and it will be great to know what she talked about. I would like to know what my candidate said in her maiden speech.

12. #12 by all ready on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 8:38 am

HERE ARE THE FACTS WHY WE CANNOT GIVE THEM 2/3 OF PARLIAMENT

1. Barisan lost 2/3 majority once, in 1969. Only briefly.

2. Since 1957, it has amended the constitution 690 times to propagate its power. By comparison, USA which is more 200 years old has only amended its constitution 27 times; Singapore as little as only 4 times.

3. Barisan’s ability to amend the constitution as it likes (and make unjust and unfair constitutional changes) must be stopped now.

Here are the statistics from the 2004 election:

1. UMNO received 35.9% of the popular votes but has 110 parliamentary seats or 50% of all parliamentary seats.

2. In total, Barisan received 63.8% of the popular votes but has 199 parliamentary seats or 91% of all parliamentary seats.

3. The opposition received 36.2% of the popular votes but has only 20 parliamentary seats or 9% of all parliamentary seats.

4. Why? Because of gerrymandering, or unfair election rules. The election rules are stacked against the opposition. No matter what happens, the opposition will never, I repeat, will never be able to win the next election.

Here’s the decision-making power process within our present cabinet.

1. UMNO not only controls the parliament via Barisan, it has allocated itself 24 cabinet positions or 71% of all cabinet positions.

2. MCA has 5 cabinet positions or 15% of the cabinet positions.

3. MIC has 1 cabinet position or 3 % of the cabinet positions.

4. Gerakan has 1 cabinet position or 3% of the cabinet positions.

5. Other component parties hold 3 cabinet positions or 8% of the cabinet positions.

One should take note that although UMNO controls 50% of all parliamentary seats, it controls 71% of all the decision making processes within the cabinet.

4. Many marginalization issues or unfair election practices are the result of legislations passed by Barisan (lead by UMNO) unchecked in a dominant Barisan parliament. Under the Barisan Party whip system, the majority component party within Barisan will dictate the rules of the game. Other Barisan component parties like MCA, Gerakan or MIC cannot vote against what UMNO decides in whatever it likes, even if they wanted to.

5. Best part is this: even if the opposition won all the seats it contested, no single opposition party can form the next government. Why? Gerrymandering (of the present election borders) has ensured that even if Barisan were to win 50% of the popular votes in the upcoming election, it will still control 2/3 of parliament. As an example, in 2004 Barisan took 64% of the popular votes but ended up controlling 91% of parliament. It is easy to see why if they win only 50% of the popular votes in the next election they will once again be able to dictate absolute power in the parliament.

From One Caring Malaysian To Another

Let’s Do Our Part To Safeguard The Future….Our Children