Mahathir right that BN and Umno incapable of reform – why BN 2/3 majority must be slashed

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad is right when he said yesterday that the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Umno are incapable of reforming themselves without pressures from the electorate.

Mahathir warned that if the voters back the Barisan Nasional government once again in the coming polls, it would be an endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption”.

He also expressed the hope that Barisan Nasional supporters will not vote in “corrupt and inefficient” leaders in the next general election.

I fully agree with Mahathir and this is why the denial of the Barisan Nasional two-thirds majority in Parliament and the Perak state assembly should be the common objective of all Malaysians who want to see change and improvement in Malaysian politics and nation-building.

There are 59 seats in the Perak state assembly and at least 20 seats must be wrested from the Barisan Nasional to deny it the two-thirds majority. DAP is focusing on winning 15 state assembly seats in Perak (I had mentioned the target of winning 4 Parliamentary and 12 state seats in the Kinta Valley last week). If Parti Keadilan Rakyat, together with PAS, can secure five to seven seats, then a historic new beginning for Perak will be the outcome of the next general election.

At the national level, there are a total of 222 parliamentary seats, which would require a minimum of 75 seats to deny the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority – the root cause for Umno political hegemony of the country.

Mahathir said yesterday that even if Umno loses 20, 30 of their candidates, the Barisan Nasional is going to win. I will say that even if Umno loses 30 to 40 parliamentary seats, Barisan Nasional is still the government and Umno the “big brother”!

The denial of the BN’s two-third parliamentary majority must be regarded as the first imperative of all Malaysians who want to see the start of change in Malaysian politics and nation-building after the next general election.

DAP should focus on 30-40 parliamentary seats, while Parti Keadilan Rakyat and PAS on another batch of 40-50 parliamentary seats.

If there is a 85% success rate in these 90 parliamentary constituencies targeted by the Opposition, then the 2008 general election will return a historic result where although the Barisan Nasional is returned to power, it is bereft of its two-thirds parliamentary majority – which will be the most potent instrument to usher in a new democracy in Malaysia with a national government that will be forced to walk the talk of accountability, transparency, integrity, justice and democracy.

* Speech (2) by Parliamentary Opposition Leader and DAP MP for Ipoh Timur Lim Kit Siang at the launching of the DAP Pasir Pinji Election Operation Centre in Ipoh on Thursday, 31st January 2008 at 1 pm.

1. #1 by glokaltower on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 6:50 pm

For DAP to be able to win 30 ~ 40 parliamentary seats, a lot of hard works need to be done.

2. #2 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:01 pm

This is unprecedented!! I would not have believed it if such claims were reported on MSM.

Never before a Malaysian ex-Prime Minister (even from the same ruling coalition) has come out stating that voting the party he once led would be endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption” and hoping that voters will not vote in “corrupt and inefficient” leaders in the next general election. What more such criticism being aimed at the one he annointed!

3. #3 by mobileworld on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:04 pm

I agree A Lot of “education” is required and people must realise that giving the 2/3 majority to BN is like shooting one self in the leg and complaining about it. Get it right this time plse..to all voters…plse think b4 voting and dont cry over spilt milk for the next 5 years to come….the power is in your hands!

4. #4 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:16 pm

This is all very good and very optimistic. But do oppositions have sufficient number of candidates to stand for the election, and if win, the tenacity to serve as opposition representatives?

I am looking at two aspects:
    First, potential opposition candidates must have the necessary knowledge and experience to research and bring up pertinent issues in Parliament and state assemblies. In other words, we need first world MP and assemblymen; otherwise I think there will not be much different from the existing parochial and inward looking representatives of BN. Our world view is very much governed by how much we know. If we know very little on one particular issue, our view on that issue is at most neutral, but certainly can’t be very progressive and encompassing.

Second, we need potential opposition candidates who have high degree of honesty and integrity. If the oppositions win big, I think the temptation to entice them over to the government bench is also greater. We have seen how the Gerakan joined the BN after the 1969 election and the history of Malaysia was changed forever. Since then, we have also periodically seen candidates won on opposition tickets but crossed over to BN.

I know it is no easy task to identify good and honest candidates. But if the opposition is going to win big, it is paramount that the candidates selected to stand must meet some minimal criteria. Otherwise, it may just be a futile victory.

5. #5 by Tickler on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:23 pm

Will Mahathir canvass against Badawi in Kepala Batas?

6. #6 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:24 pm

Yes, I agree with all the comments above.

I am very sure any candidate put up by DAP is anytime better than the corrupt bn goons and running dogs. At this point of time we must compare the opposition candidates against the bn candidates and not much further.

We have to put them in first and time will tell. Deny them the two thirds majority and then we go from there.

Fellow Malaysians the TIME FOR CHANGE, once in a life time opportunity is here. Do not let it pass.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

7. #7 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:30 pm

With the spate of stirring issues coming out of the woodwork as if conspiring and begging for a change to occur and even moral support coming from an unlikely source, Malaysians are never nearer to tip the balance than ever before. If opposition parties cannot bring themselves together to capitialise on this advantage and if voters cannot bring themselves to realise and vote for this change then they certainly deserve another 50 years of the same.

8. #8 by Tickler on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 7:41 pm

Show no quarter:

Husam sues two Kelantan BN reps
    Fauwaz Abdul Aziz | Jan 31, 08 4:54pm

PAS vice-president Husam Musa has filed a RM6 million suit against two Barisan Nasional state assemblypersons in Kelantan and the New Straits Times Press (NSTP) for allegations made and published in November that he was involved in corruption, mismanagement and abuse of power.
    NST and Berita Harian sued as well
    Duo suspended from state assembly
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/77670

Orang Asli church sues for basic needs
    Fauwaz Abdul Aziz | Jan 31, 08 6:06pm

The Temerloh authorities who denied water and power supplies to the church say that the church was built without permission and located on a non-designated land.MORE
    Hearing on March 27
    Funded by PM’s Office
    http://malaysiakini.com/

If I`m not mistaken the Temerloh MP is from MCA.

9. #9 by Tickler on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:01 pm

Aiyoh! I am such a Cina in this sense. I am so into cutesy stuff, esp Sanrio products like Hello Kitty, Kerokerokopi, Bad Batz Maru. So cute lah. Rocket Kid. Sure beats “hak seh wui”.

Remember, DON’T VOTE MCA, KICK THEM OUT OF GOVERNMENT. Why?…..
    http://jedyoong.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/so-cute-the-dap-rocket-kid/#respond

10. #10 by LittleBird on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:13 pm

Frankly, I wonder why you are giving any credibility to what Mahthir say?. After destroying the judiciary and in pursuit of so called “negara industri” and after hand picking Badawi, now pretends to be the most honest and open politician. The reason why so many Indians were displaced was soley due to Mahthir dream of achieving a modern country without giving any consideration for the people who lived two or three generation in the estates. Not to mention the amedment of Constitution which is the root cause of so many problems.

Even, now, when the time comes to speak the truth -unfortunately he is suffering from selective memory loss. Remember his Malay dilemma book which if any Indian were to write Indian Dilemma now would have been detained under ISA.

Musa Hitam would have been an ideal Prima Minister and even Kuli but he eliminated the bright ones who would united Malaysia, irrespective race and religion.

Despite whatever the shortcoming of Badawi, Under him (even if under the influence of KJ) there were so many good things happened. At least one royal commission to improve the police force and for the record I sure the record of death under police custody or even in shooting incidence markedly lower than Mahthir administration.

Atleast there is a RC to investigate Lingam’s tape. You expect Mahatir to do it? Did Anwar walked free under Mahathir or Badawi? Badawi treated Nik Aziz with respect. Maybe, if only DAP can put across the message to Badawi maybe he may even consider DAP as working partner. Which is definetly ideal for all.

11. #11 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:21 pm

“I fully agree with Mahathir and this is why the denial of the Barisan Nasional two-thirds majority in Parliament and the Perak state assembly should be the common objective of all Malaysians who want to see change and improvement in Malaysian politics and nation-building.”

A call to the Malays who are for the NEP etc to cast their votes for the opposition meaning not that they support the opposition but just so that their leaders will take heed of the warning i.e. that there is a rule of law, something called justice, transparency and good governance and accountability etc and not to mess with the Constitution.

The politics of the past which has given rise to racial division, to corruption and manipulation of the law, to a judiciary riddled by corrupt practices and mismanagement of the economy must give way to the politics of the future i.e. the politics of change.

12. #12 by KanNinNeh on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:32 pm

Don’t be too happy with what TDM said, remember that he was the Sifu in UMNO !

13. #13 by sungaisiput on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:38 pm

Hi.. LittleBird…..what you say is true.The old drag is the cause of our problems.He is talking a lot of nonsense.The opposition must built on their strength and deny BN the 2/3 majority.That should be the main goal.

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:38 pm

He is just sore that AAB has decided to cut the puppet’s strings.
    Now he could have demostrated a better memory at the RCI for the Lingam tapes but the selective anmesia tells us a lot about his sincerity.

Maybe this is AAB’s strategic plan to help reform Malaysia?
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/01/maybe-badawi-is-smarter-than-most.html

15. #15 by max2811 on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

Words coming from the Devil’s mouth. He is the Father of all problems in Msia. I don’t need his advice.
    I’ll vote for opp.

16. #16 by Thegame on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:44 pm

The golden rule is never trust TDM…He is always up to some mischievous hidden agenda of his own.DAP must work overtime to deny BN to 2/3 majority.This time stars are shinning for DAP with the indian awakening of late.

17. #17 by LittleBird on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 8:51 pm

Sungaisiput, you are not samy vellu, are you?

18. #18 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:04 pm

“The golden rule is never trust TDM…He is always up to some mischievous hidden agenda of his own.”

The guy is not that stupid to know that his days are over or is it really over? Does this man still harbor hopes that he could garner enough support from within UMNO to take over the reins of leadership amidst all the chaos? Why is he coming out in favor of Najib who he says should have been appointed deputy instead of the current PM?

Najib has been loyal to him all through the years, even taking controversial steps to ensure he remained PM at the risk of his own political future in the mid 80s.

He has his own private agenda? You bet!

19. #19 by pkrisnin on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:05 pm

During Dr.M rule there was corruption but he kept it on a short leash but with Pak Lah, there’s no leash, everybody is free to suck the rakyat’s blood and we all know who is leading the blood sucking pack most love by by fellow bloggers.
    But it all depends on the Malays.
    The election results will show how much they have grown as a race.

20. #20 by sungaisiput on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:17 pm

Hi LittleBird ….i am samy’s nightmare

21. #21 by Fort on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:18 pm

The possibility of winning 1/3, as the first step is a realistic one. We like to see eventually an alternative gavernment taking over the BN.

For the moment, the negotiating of seats for one to one fight is so difficult, I am afraid there are still a lot work to be done.

22. #22 by anak sungeisiput on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:23 pm

My origin lies in the tappers lines of Kamuning Estate (Guthries) in Sungei Siput. Sungaisiput may well have been my neighbour. No relation of the SV thug.

23. #23 by Cinapek on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 9:51 pm

I am curious about the timing of TDM’s resurgent attacks on AAB.

Does it have anything to do with the imminent GE and the selection of candidates? After all, it is always nice to send a strong message to Doozy that if the “Protected One” is selected, so should the Old Man’s son.

24. #24 by Wisdom above on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 10:25 pm

What if BN win only 39% out of 222 parliamentary seats, what will happen to our country?

Are you all ready with one mind and one spirit to form a new government ?

Can you all run the country with the slow and obsolete ‘negative’ civil service ?

The wind of change is coming , be prepared for it.

I believe in the ‘miracle for change’ for the better.

Think positive.

Remember, all events happened yesterday & today were all illogical.

‘ Malaysian Love Malaysian ‘

…..

25. #25 by gofortruth on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 10:29 pm

But PKR and DAP must never be seen to be fighting over seats, NEVER, not when a GE is just round the corner! This matter ought to have been settled immediately after the last election. NOT NOW!!!!!
    You will loose lots of votes over any fight now and it will be exploited by BN with its powerful public media machinery.

26. #26 by iweepformalaysia on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:14 pm

limkamput

As for your first point, i don’t agree with you. Tell me how many of the MPs from BN satisfy what you mentioned? They only know how to crap and walk sideways. I am sure Oppositions have far more capable potential MPs than them.

On the other hand, the Oppositions must show to the people that they are one, and not fighting among themselves. Notice how the government played up the issues. Without GE, there are no news whatsoever regarding the Oppositions. But now you get to see a piece or two, focusing on their disputes of seats. Transparent? Level playing field? Please do not let BN take this opportunity to tarnish and fish the votes away!

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:16 pm

Beware of men in big shoes, red nose and bow ties who aren’t from a circus, they say!

TDM has always claimed his love and undying allegiance and loyalty to his party, UMNO of which he was ex president. So why would he publicly say that the Umno which he professes love are “incapable of reforming themselves without pressures from the electorate” warning that if “the voters back the Barisan Nasional government once again in the coming polls, it would be an endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption” – knowing fully well his statement will receive wide publicity and convince people on the fence to vote against the UMNO led BN and used by the Opposition as clarion call to deprive BN of 2/3 majority? Something here does not jive or compute!

What is his motivation?

One possibility (which probably is the remotest) is that he wants to do something to “clean” up his legacy, which is identified with nepotism, corruption and failed politicians. I say “remotest” because even if there exists an element of such calculation, it must be very marginal consideration for the man is not known to be contrite of mistakes or to be bothered with what others say, which may well extend to what history judges as well.

The other motivation is that if (thanks to TDM’s words of encouragement not to give full support to UMNO/BN), UMNO/BN does badly in this coming election compared to 2004 general election in which BN won 92% of the seats in Parliament – if BN loses to the Opposition many seats in Penang which is the home state of ABB – then will this not tantamount to a big blow to AB’s prestige as chairman of BN and offer the ideal circumstances for AAB to be urged to step down on grounds of leadership failure to pave the way for AB to be pressured by UMNO/BN’s power brokers to step down in place of the ascendancy of TDM’s preferred choice? After all, TDM has made his partiality publicly known and was quoted as saying in press conference, “that was my thinking, since (Abdullah) was older than Najib, he should be PM for one term and then Najib should be able to take over…I know it takes time to implement plans and projects but I think if that is to be used as an excuse to stay in power for 18 years then that will not be very welcome.”

So the second motivation sounds plausible especially the man is also identified with spite for those who spurned him and by extension his pet projects like Proton and scenic crooked bridge….

However it does seem odd to me of how either TDM – or by extension his preferred successor – will eventually still look good and sincere in the eyes of their party members if they are seen to be prepared to encourage support of Opposition to break BN’s stranglehold on 2/3 majority just to meet their private intra-party and personal agendas of accelerating ABB’s exit.

Having said this, I won’t discount that there may well be a third possibility (to explain this rather inconsistent conduct of TDM to try to lessen his own party’s traditional ability to marshal 2/3 majority support) though I am quite unable to see what it is with clarity at this moment.

TDM is strategic thinker, that much we cannot deny him, and he would not do anything without a good reason in service of his objectives, whether or not it is clear to others.

There are 219 seats in the Parliament. To deny the BN 2/3 majority means Opposition has to garner no less than 75 seats. The Opposition currently has only 20 seats — 12 DAP, 6 PAS, 1 Keadilan and 1 Independent who is leaning towards the BN. If one does the mathematical calculations, Opposition has to do three times (3x) better than last time to come near the 2/3. Is that a likely feat?

No doubt, chances are that Opposition esp DAP will make substantial gains, but BN is likely to retain 2/3 majority, and although would do worse than 2004, is however unlikely to do so bad as to justify credible leadership challenge from within UMNO/BN to thwart AAB’s intended 3 terms…..And then what will happen to TDM’s strategy – if indeed what has been speculated was indeed his motivation and strategy to usher the incumbent out of office to make way for his preferred choice? Will the incumbent then launch some spring cleaning immediately after he secured his second mandate (albeit not as convincing as his first)?

This will be interesting to watch. As far as Opposition is concerned, it appears to have everything to gain from TDM’s “help” and nothing much to lose (so forget about the often repeated warning to be beware of bearers of gifts like TDM) unless one thinks (strictly from national interest standpoint), that the successor (endorsed by TDM) will be even worse than the present one….

28. #28 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:18 pm

“But PKR and DAP must never be seen to be fighting over seats..”

Too late it’s all over this blog.

29. #29 by mendela on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:19 pm

The key question is, for oppositions to deny BN the 2/3 majority, are the oppositions having sufficient resources?

To run an efficient and effective GE, oppositions need lots of resources especially when the MSM is just the mouthpiece of UMO.

Are we bloggers contribute adequately?

30. #30 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:20 pm

The Opposition is fractured.

31. #31 by Jong on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:28 pm

“I am curious about the timing of TDM’s resurgent attacks on AAB.” – Cinapek

My guess is it’s a distraction from the Haidar RCI. His name has been mentioned ever too often so he’s trying to get away attention with further attacks on AAB. Just ignore him.

32. #32 by iyamwhoiyam on Thursday, 31 January 2008 - 11:36 pm

agree with Jong, DECOYs people DECOYs,

Politicians make strange bedfellows

anyway…..if u all have the time, do some face fengshui on TDM la…..look carefully how he looks in the newspapers and other media sources these days….

senile, rotting, smells like fish ( ok, imagination a bit wild ), and definitely sicko up in the brain department, if there were any in the first place

33. #33 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:20 am

notwithstanding his many faults, he is at least awaken to the truth! He must surely feel all the frustrations, after being high and mighty for 22 years and is now ignored by someone whom he had endowed the power with. Well that should not distracts us from trying to achieve 35% of the MP seats!! But at the rate DAP, PKR and Pas are fighting over seat allocation, I am afraid the target could just fly away; because when GE is set, maybe they are still negotiating!!! Come on!! Look at the mirror! Know your capacity and compare yourself with other possible candidates! make way whenever necessary.Even TDM had finally admitted that Candidates are more important than party!!

34. #34 by chandar on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:36 am

Lets not just talk, but lets start encouraging our family and friends to ensure they vote for the rocket or the blue moon or the white dot…..anything BUT the uncalibrated crooked dacing. NAd start talking to them NOW….

35. #35 by chandar on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:40 am

We cannot leave it to just the handful of opposition leaders to fight a crooked monster BN. We MUST support them in this effort.

36. #36 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:02 am

iweepformalaysia Says: As for your first point, i don’t agree with you. Tell me how many of the MPs from BN satisfy what you mentioned?

I don’t quite understand what you are disagreeing about. What I said was most existing BN’s MPs and State Assemblymen are hopeless (in term of knowledge and expertise) and we must make sure future opposition candidates, if elected, will not be like them. I certainly know that the existing opposition MPs and State Assemblymen are far more capable and dedicated than the BN’s. But these opposition MPs and State Assemblymen are unique group of people who are leaders and professional in their own right. However, if the oppositions are going to file a large number of candidates in the coming general election, then certainly they have to be more careful to ensure that qualified candidates are selected to stand. Otherwise, they may end up just BN’s MPs and State Assemblymen. We must understand that it is rather difficult to attract qualified professional and technocrats into oppositions. But to run a modern economy, we need people with skill and expertise, not just political inclination and assertiveness. When I said this, I have in mind the Singapore’s experience in choosing candidates to stand as MPs and as ministers. That was what I said with regard to the first point I made.

37. #37 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:13 am

waterfrontcoolie Says:
    But at the rate DAP, PKR and Pas are fighting over seat allocation, I am afraid the target could just fly away.

Yes, you are about right on this. Have we ever wonder why opposition parties are squabbling and fighting over seats with greater intensity? May be they think this time around, it gives them the best opportunity to be voted as MPs and State Assemblymen. For this reason, I think opposition leaders must really put their foot down and control the disparate group of fortune and power seekers. I still maintain what I said earlier that if we don’t have qualified candidates with integrity, the oppositions’ victory will be futile.

38. #38 by choonchoy on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:20 am

Dr. M, kindly hush up, all this shit is your doing. Now you get upset… why? Are you and your freinds getting less % of the booty? What I’ll remember you for is turning the worlds larges Court Building in to the (The Greatest Show on Earth) worlds biggest Clown House. Fall ceilings, bursting pipes, “It looks like me, sound’s like me…” and many,many more. Because of you, I turn my morning paper to the comics to get the news and to relax I read the Funnies on the front few pages. You have done enough damage!

39. #39 by Jong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:41 am

waterfrontcoolie, you said:

“notwithstanding his many faults, he is at least awaken to the truth! He must surely feel all the frustrations, after being high and mighty for 22 years and is now ignored by someone whom he had endowed the power with.”

Ever heard the saying, “Leopards never change their spots” ? I strongly believe in it.

40. #40 by laifoong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:42 am

iyamwhoiyam Says:

“Agree with Jong, DECOYs people DECOYs, Politicians make strange bedfellows.”

Imagine LKS sleeping with a Musllim religious cleric with Anwar in between! That’s quite a sandwich you got there!

41. #41 by Man_of_Honour on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 3:12 am

Speechless…

From reading the article to the comments, I’m really saddened by views that are so un-united and unconstructive in some areas.

Look, I’m not saying that I think like a saint or anything. But somehow or rather, I totally agree with what Mr. Lim said and I second his opinion on Tun Dr. Mahathir’s statement.

I fully understand that Mr. Lim has the insight to differentiate right from wrong. And this is why we need leaders like him.

It seemed that Malaysians are getting more and more judgemental and biased towards their own thinking and liking.

If anyone could do better, then he/she should step up and say something constructing, rather than saying something damaging.

Dr. M had brought development to our nation, a fact which we can’t deny. No doubt, there are times he made mistakes. We Malaysian are mature enough to differerentiate these, aren’t we? Mr. Lim, has my respect as he is very clear in this aspect.

Thumbs up for Dr. M and Mr. Lim!!

42. #42 by kcb on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 5:11 am

Before putting one’s thumbs up, think again! Who started and fueled the present rot of this nation? Who raped the independence of the judiciary? Who destroyed the standard of English of this country? ……….

43. #43 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 5:38 am

“Ever heard the saying, “Leopards never change their spots” ? I strongly believe in it.” Jong

Don’t be too cocksure of yourself. But then I don’t blame you because you don’t have what it takes to be cocksure. Leopards do change spots these days.

44. #44 by sotong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:03 am

This guy has done enough damage to the country and caused a lot of suffering to the ordinary people and now they are made to pick up the pieces for generations to come.

It is not up the the ordinary people, including Malays, to initiate real reform and change to ensure the survival and progress of the country…..it is the leaders to stop indulging in narrow, short sighted, divisive and damaging politics at the great expense of the country.

Decades of bad leadership could be seen in the dangerous behaviours of some politicians and youth leaders…….aggression, threat and intimidation are commonly used to achieve their narrow, selfish, personal and damaging objectives and the rampant corruption, religious extremism, gross excesses and abuses, increase in crime, breakdown of social and family values, widening gap between the rich and poor, falling education standards and etc. destroying the country.

45. #45 by Malaysian on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:07 am

BN still have many traditional “kampung” support.

Though i think i managed to convince few BN friends that reducing as many votes as possible for BN is the primary importance, whether that area is BN stronghold or not.

46. #46 by kcb on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:10 am

Well said, sotong (@6:03.18)

47. #47 by Malaysian on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:18 am

Man_of_Honour Says:”Dr. M had brought development to our nation,”
    Yes, by lavish spending and we end up super infrastructure today (with 3rd class mentality). Remember now we are in budget deficit today. Any future development from now on must have enough future country revenue to support – if not, your children will suffer and face the consequences whereby the country in heavy debt with bunch of white elephant projects.

“a fact which we can’t deny. No doubt, there are times he made mistakes.”
    Yes, Anyone made mistakes. Just like any govt. But How the mistakes are handled (or not handled at all – totally ignored) is what i am worrying.

48. #48 by Malaysian on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:23 am

A food of thought:
    Let’s say I got RM1000 of tax payer money, and spend RM500.00 on development of your garden
    another RM300.00 I used it unproductively (such as purchasing wheelchair for person who had healty leg).
    another RM200.00 I kept it (or used it unnecessarily)

I am still seen as bringing development to you. You happy, I happy. Everyone happy.

49. #49 by Malaysian on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:32 am

BY DENYING BN 2/3 IS BETTER FOR EVERYONE AS A WHOLE.
    WHY?
    For example, 55%/45% in seats. 55 GOVT, 45 OPPOSITION
    OPPOSSITION WOULD NEED TO WORK VERY HARD IN THE HOPE THAT THEY CAN TURN AROUND THE STATISTICS IN NEXT ELECTION.

BN WOULD NEED TO WORK HARD AS WELL AND TAKE EXTRA CARE IN USING TAX PAYER MONEY OR ELSE HE KNOWS THAT 55/45 CAN TURN TO 45/55 IN THE NEXT ELECTION.

THIS IS THE WIN WIN SITUATION FOR ALL RAKYAT.

50. #50 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 7:22 am

Did DAP invite Mahathir to be the candidate?

UMNO may lose some seats, but Taib will be able to send him some chairs, enough that they don’t have to kneel

51. #51 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:13 am

/// Mahathir warned that if the voters back the Barisan Nasional government once again in the coming polls, it would be an endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption”. ///

Look who’s talking through both sides of his mouth. Nuff said.

52. #52 by Bigjoe on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:18 am

You what is the most gross thing about this offer of six Chinese primary school? Its not that they broke their promise countless times and its full of loopholes to delay it like they always do after the election. Its not that its so few compared with the needs. Its not its deemed as a ‘give’ when its suppose to be duty and our rights since Chinese pay most of the taxes. Its not that compared to the hundreds more schools they are going to be build that are half-empty compared to these six over the same period.

Its that they spread the six schools over six states, one each. Chinese population is 50% concentrated in Penang and Selangor, should have gotten 50% of the schools. Clearly its about electioning more than the substance of what they have to deliver. This mentality that they can fool people, especially the educated Chinese, with a propaganda trick at this age and time is insulting. Even the 25% dropout among Chinese students will not be taken in.

My nearly 70-year old mother, who always voted BN in our DAP area, did not buy it this time. She said ‘when a recession comes, and it will within 5 years, they will say there is not enough money’.

53. #53 by Cinnamon on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:44 am

YB,
    Come on. Why talking denying them only 2/3.. but it is time to get rid of the government!!!!!!!!!!!

The chances high the opposition can win.. the opposition parties need to work together.

It is 100% sure Penang and Kedah will be taken by opposition. Terengganu will be taken back. Kelantan will always remain at the hands of PAS. Sabahans hate the UMNO led state government, and will be changes soon too. The rest of the states are 50-50. Please work on them.

Hindraff is a key factor for the change in Peninsular states especially Penang, Kedah and Perak. As you said earlier, Indians can be the king makers. The reason news is Koh Tsu Koon out of desparation is offering deputy CM’s post to Indian if BN wins in Penang. He will create a new deputy CM’s post. Well Indians are not suckers!!!

Well done Uthaya and the team, this change is due to your efforts. God bless you and your families.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:53 am

But if one does not go beyond to impute motives or speculate whether leopard could change spots, and whether TDM has moral right to criticize that which he played a large part in contributing to when he was in power, there is nothing wrong or faulty per se – and in fact, much that is right – in his statement: “Should people name some deadwood or some corrupt person as a candidate, BN supporters should not support them. That is the way we can clean the…BN and Umno. There is no hope that Umno can clean itself from within. Everything is controlled now. Any contrary view (that party members) make would be contained.”

And TDM is now seizing the high ground by stressing that he was not supporting the opposition by his remarks and that he believed the BN would still win comfortably. Yet by urging supporters not to vote in “corrupt and inefficient” leaders in the next general election, he felt he was doing BN a favour by telling it to cleanse and re-invent itself (basically of the political legacy that he himself left it).

Here TDM’s attempt to rally voters against his hand-picked successor Abdullah Ahmad Badawi proceeds on the assumption that ABB would continue to pick deadwood or some corrupt person owing political allegiance to him as incumbent rather than merits.

But who has merits? And how does it advance TDM’s attempts at rallying support against his anointed successor if the latter responds by dropping from candidacy all who are identified with TDM and his era and said that he was merely following advice of the UMNO elders statesman?

TDM and AAB may talk about weeding out “corrupt and inefficient” leaders but is there an agreement who they are? Opposition would say nearly all (at least 2/3 or more) within BN are, and so for TDM to urge electorate not to vote in “corrupt and inefficient” is itself tantamount to an indirect call to deprive BN the 2/3 majority, which is helpful the Opposition’s cause.

55. #55 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:13 am

“TDM and AAB may talk about weeding out “corrupt and inefficient” leaders but is there an agreement who they are? Opposition would say nearly all (at least 2/3 or more) within BN are…”

Every single one of them is be they BN politicians or not. That’s what happens when they are used to power, and power rewards. That’s what corruption is all about i.e. abuse of power. Where you find power you find corruption. What separates Malaysia from a country that practices transparency, good governance etc is that corruption in the former is endemic and goes unpunished.

56. #56 by Tickler on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:23 am

PAS office bearer suggests branding for non muslims:

If that weren’t bad enough, Mahaguru58 then ominously suggests the following at time 12:50 on the video, with regard to how non-Muslims can prevent themselves from being buried as Muslims…….and I quote:

“Those who feel very strongly about it, this is going to offend some people I don’t give a damn, they should have it tattooed on their chest like what Adolf Hitler did, you know, this is a Jew right?, and they had tattoos. So those who are now so adamant on not wanting to be buried as a Muslim, or whatever, for whatever reason, they should have it tattooed on their chest.”
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/2102/46/

57. #57 by Tickler on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:27 am

Badawi says Mahathir is a liar – or maybe TDM just `cannot remember`:

PM: There was no gentleman’s agreement between me and Mahathir
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/1/nation/20203570&sec=nation

58. #58 by Tickler on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:29 am

As usual Najib is groping around in the dark:

Not aware of Mahathir-Abdullah’s gentleman’s agreement: Najib
    http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=20661

59. #59 by Jong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:30 am

BlackEye, you said:

“Ever heard the saying, “Leopards never change their spots” ? I strongly believe in it.” Jong
    and
    Don’t be too cocksure of yourself. But then I don’t blame you because you don’t have what it takes to be cocksure. Leopards do change spots these days.”

– What’s your problem? What has my statement of ‘Leopards never change their spots’ to do with my gender? What the cock are you talking about?

60. #60 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:06 am

I wonder if Mahathir will come out next week saying ‘I can’t remember saying it’. And he might say that 14 times!! Why 14? May be we need RCI to determine that.

61. #61 by Tickler on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:06 am

“Indian support for the government is the worst it’s ever been in the country’s history,” Welsh said. “It’s profound. Indians have traditionally supported the government the highest.”

With Chinese voters also angry at the government—mainly over its handling of the economy—Welsh says the government risks losing control of the state of Penang, where ethnic Chinese form a plurality, as well as a handful of parliamentary seats scattered across the country.
    http://yennamike.blogspot.com/2008/02/ethnic-anger-on-rise-in-malaysia.html

62. #62 by jus legitimum on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:12 am

Hi,folks.Stop squabbling and remember to persuade and convince
    the hometown relatives and friends to vote for the opposition when you ‘balik kampung’ for CNY.

63. #63 by cheng on soo on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:21 am

If BN don’t get 2/3 coming GE, then TDM can prove he is best BN leader ever,
    Got BN 5 times GE ‘s win with more than 2/3 majority. Who can equal this??

64. #64 by oknyua on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:26 am

Jeffrey, the weakness that TDM sees in AAB transcends not only his leadership, but AAB’s ability to be both a proxy as well as a cover for his past. If that is what you mean in your earlier posting, I agree totally. The RCI is an example where public opinion seemed to sway AAB’s decisions. I agree with some comments that suggested with TDM in power, you cannot get the RCI on Lingam’s tape. We saw how TDM tried to cover himself with “selective amnesia.”

The main thing now is to get as many parliamentary seats as possible. Even if a “dunggu” stands in the DAP-PKR alliance, support him. Over-look that dunngu and vote for the party. A dunggu might emerge a hero. TDM’s description of “deadwood” is best applied to his time. The deadwoods of his era evolved into useless-woods under AAB. He burdens us with throwing these useless-woods. (Deadwood is still useful for fuel. Useless-wood has turned into pulp, ready for making tissue/toilet paper).

(Earlier thread: Jong, I really thought the former LP had gone. Apology – didn’t reply earlier, busy).

65. #65 by mycroft on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:28 am

When people fly off the tangent and show off their ignorance, it really does not do credit to themselves nor the cause they claim to support.

66. #66 by dranony on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:34 am

DAP+PKR+PAS should invite Mahathir to contest in Kepala Batas.

67. #67 by Edchin on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:44 am

onkyua, yes agree with your attitude towards recycling.
    Remember the adage ‘Nobody or nothing is completely useless, at the very least they can be USED as bad examples’.

68. #68 by sotong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:53 am

All the religions from Middle East, including Christanity and Islam, are authoritarian.

The West managed to seprate religion from the state and thereby limiting the harmful effect of religion in politics and create a more open, modern and progressive society.

The same cannot be said with Muslims countries where religion is mixed with politics to create an authoritarian rule.

69. #69 by k1980 on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:28 am

When they say this, you know they are desparate for votes
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/National/2147193/Article/index_html

70. #70 by lakshy on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:43 am

YB,

I agree with Cinnamon. DAP should work hard to overthrow the Govt. Denying them 2/3rds is not enough. This is probably the best opportunity that the current opposition parties have in turning the tables and making BN the opposition. It’s only by doing so that we can develop as a nation and develop an alternative coalition that can run the country.

Think Big YB and get your people to work towards that goal!

Why remain forever as opposition?

71. #71 by pkrisnin on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:54 am

Sotong is correct seperation between religion and state is very important to build a prograsive nation.
    Also PM cannot server more than 2 terms, no matter how good a person he is. Power corrupts eventually he will be a tryrant.
    Dr.M lasted so long because he used his power to imprison anybody who opposes him. He’s not one to speak, we are in this mess because of him. He was the one that removed all the safeguards against abuse of power by the gov.

72. #72 by Saint on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:57 am

Jeffery : If one does the mathematical calculations, Opposition has to do three times (3x) better than last time to come near the 2/3. Is that a likely feat?

A good observation and analysis but; we do not need 3x votes. An increase of 20% votes will change the power states of the whole BN.

Indians will give at least 50% of their votes; which would a substantial swing for the Opposition. The rest depends on the Chinese and Malays. If an increase of only 20 – 30% from these communities will show much results.

The gerrymandering and postal votes is the main problem.
    The opposition must look into it seriously and collectively.

73. #73 by k1980 on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:03 pm

The group delivers a harsh critique of the Bush administration, suggesting that by accommodating autocratic allies in the fight against terrorism, it has failed to meet its declared goal of promoting democratic values….The report is based on research conducted in 75 countries. The group singled out Kenya and Pakistan as examples of states that claim to be democratic but fail to guarantee basic human rights and civil liberties.
    The report says some governments — including those of Bahrain, Jordan, Nigeria, Russia and Thailand — hold up their elections as proof of their commitment to democracy even though few have the strong government institutions, vibrant civil societies and constitutional guarantees required for a healthy society.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/01/31/AR2008013103575.html

74. #74 by Rocky on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:12 pm

If BN performs badly in the next GE than Pak Lah has to go. I guess is what Mahatir wants to do. Give Najib etc the bullet to kick him cos Pak Lah will not go out easily. Loosing 2/3 majority or even worse will gve them what is required to kick Pak Lah. That is the motivation as Dr.M from where he is standing now is unable to kick Pak Lah out from the post of PM or from UMNO.

75. #75 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:26 pm

All UMNO politicians, including Mahathir and Anwar, speak the truth AFTER retirement because they can no longer get what they want (money, of course).

After retirement, even the son-in-law of PM and Najib would tell you that Malays brain are matured and developed, so don’t rely on NEP anymore, be competitive, be independent, be ………….

76. #76 by ahoo on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:27 pm

Whatever a man sows, that he will also reap. Tun Dr.M had
    sowed bad trees and now produces bad fruits !!! Don’t read
    too much into what he said. Take it with a pinch of salt !

For standing up against his former cronies and advising us
    not to vote for those corrupted ones, I salute him for that
    and nothing more. To say that this nation will remembered
    him for the legacy that he left behind for the many ” super projects ” that he had builts, let the future ones decide.

There is always a hidden agenda behind all that he said and
    planned, after all he is a strategist, Jeffrey.

He have selective memory and are pretentious when he sent
    many into Kamunting in the 80s, saying for the good of the
    nation when his own umno party members were the culprits.
    He was known as a man who hijaked the judiciary in the 80s
    and after over two decades of rule, left us with a hp6 govt
    and ministers. Now he is attacking the very systems that he
    put in place as his ” nominee ” is not where he wanted it !

Note that both the late former PMs were against what Tun
    Dr.M was implementing (biased policies) in the 80s onwards,
    he pay no attention to their suggestions and they were not
    given due respect too. Now, he is facing similar dilemma and
    thus it is apt to say “whatever a man sows, that he will also
    reap”. He cries wolf now. I’ve nothing against him in person
    BUT all against his biased policies when he should have the
    will to dismantle the NEP in the 80s, yet he choose to use
    it as a tool for his own agenda.

We are able to see and hear more issues now that there are
    camps within umno and it is good for the rakyat per se.
    Let’s us all do our part this CNY and spread the news that
    to vote for the opposition is a vote for democracy. My first
    choice is non other than DAP and will encourage others to
    vote opposition if DAP is not contesting there.

Anyway, thank you Tun Dr.M for teaching us how to vote !

77. #77 by Jeffrey on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 12:31 pm

Saint, I agree I was wrong (mathematically) about “three times (3x) better”. However I am not sure whether an increase of 20% votes, as you said, will change the power states of the whole BN. (If you’re right about a mere 20% increase, then it would appear bridging that gap is thinkable & not impossible to achieve).

78. #78 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 1:25 pm

IT is now high time to change the government.

One of the common feature of all developed nations is they ahve a strong opposition party/alternative government candidate… To achieve the VISION 2020 we should start by voting out BARISAN NASIONAL…

The same ruling party for 5 decades have allowed the root of corruption to grow….. We must change this…..

79. #79 by boh-liao on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 2:02 pm

Don’t try to analyse TDM. He is a guy with no principle. One day he will say or do one thing that makes sense. Another day, he will say or do another thing which is directly opposite of what he said or did previously.

80. #80 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 2:47 pm

TDM … go on you might be forgiven. don’t forget to return the TUN when you go. As least you will be fondly remember for being human.

81. #81 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 5:39 pm

‘Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad is right when he said yesterday that the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Umno are incapable of reforming themselves without pressures from the electorate.’

He is singing a different tune now that he has had his ‘glorious” days tormenting people of the country.

He should reminisce what he had done and said when he was the PM. Could be thousand time worse off in terms of nepotism, cronysm, corruption, abuse of power, abuse of human rights, and lots more that cannot be exhaustively mentioned here.

The kettle is calling the pot BLACK. Worse, now the dimentia has set in on his brain.

82. #82 by AhPek on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:02 pm

If we go by the result of the last general election BN gained something like 60% of the popular votes to win them 199 parlimentary seats (more than 90%) whilst the opposition winning 40% of popular votes can only garner 20 parlimentary seats (less than 10%).
    This huge distortion comes mainly from gerrymandering, postal votes,huge financial support during campaign period against meager opposition financial resources and powerful government machinery.
    Given the opposition is able to make a 20% increase in gaining popular votes this time round and using the above results to estimate the total number of parlimentary seats held this time by virtue of such
    improvement the result worked out is 30 parlimentary seats,far from the 74 parlimentary seats opposition has to have to deny two thirds majority to BN.What this means is that it is almost impossible to deny BN two thirds majority,no need to think about winning the election.
    Therefore the first step and possibly the most crucial thing to do is how to get all the 3 opposition parties to avoid a 3 corner fight.It is definitely suicidal if this cannot be agreed on!

83. #83 by AhPek on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:11 pm

And if I may add ,another factor for this distortion is a compliant EC who may do all sorts of things to help the present ruling party.

84. #84 by Loh on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 6:46 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR (AFP) – – Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Thursday denied he had made a “gentleman’s agreement” with former premier Mahathir Mohamad to stay as premier for only one term/// –AsiaOne online

I believe in the truth of AAB’s statement. So TDM did not remember precisely what they agreed with each other at the time he handed over the power. After the scene ‘ I have decided to quit, and the pleading on stage by Rafidah and Keris-man’ TDM could not demand anything at the time of his departure. He had to leave, and he lost all power to set conditions for leaving. Of course he could pretend to forget his promise to quit, and carry on as a liar PM.

Has TDM suddenly realised that he made mistakes during his term? No, he did not.

It is clear that TDM has personal grudges against AAB for whatever reasons only he knows precisely.

In asking people to vote wisely in the coming GE, TDM is only interested to give the impression that during his term he was diligent to ensure that only deserving candidates were fielded, and the call was meant to cast aspersions at PM AAB. Was TDM interested in parliamentary democracy? Certainly not. Even when he could not have extracted a promise from AAB while handling over power, he still thinks that he had the power to decide who should be the PM for the country. TDM still considers himself the emeritus emperor.

TDM accused that money will be used on the coming GE. He pretended that this is happening for the first time, and that it did not happen during his watch. The fact is money politics has been around and happening big time during his reign.

Why did TDM not appoint Najib as the deputy when he thought Najib is better than AAB as PM? If what he claimed that because AAB was older and should be given a chance, then TDM would be irresponsible in making the position of PM a prize to be passed around rather than a position of responsibility for all Malaysians. But AAB has denied what TDM claimed. So, the purpose of TDM’s claim was to disparage AAB’s capability, to encourage Najib to challenge AAB. He hope to have a role in that eventuality.

85. #85 by BlackEye on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 8:38 pm

“What’s your problem? What has my statement of ‘Leopards never change their spots’ to do with my gender? What the cock are you talking about?” JONG

Relaxxx…!Just another cock n bull story.

86. #86 by limkamput on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 9:09 pm

Jong, this BlackEye we should give him a blackeye.

87. #87 by shaolin on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:45 pm

Why TDM is attacking on AAB again? Any ulterior motive
    behind the attack we do not know?! But any way it is
    good for all the Malaysians who want a 2/3 denial to BN!!

We want a change for the better and brighter future ahead
    of us all… We demand change!! We want stronger Opposition
    parties…

88. #88 by HB Lim on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 10:56 pm

It would be interesting to invite and have Mahathir stand as an opposition candidate. Either he is trashed by a BN candidate or he wins and we make him become the Opposition Leader. Either way we benefit. In the former case, we eliminate him and he becomes a truly had-been, a deadwood. In the latter scenario, he may help us tickle and topple the BN. In either case, we help ourselves. Either we get rid of him or we make full use of him.

89. #89 by Jong on Friday, 1 February 2008 - 11:15 pm

limkamput,

Relaxxx….! My crisp response is enough. I dunno what colour, could be purple.

90. #90 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:17 am

“What the cock are you talking about?” JONG

I understand you have a soft spot for men with a cockney accent. Don’t you also like cock-a-leekie? Or would you rather spend time talking cock http://talkingcock.com/

Don’t be too cocksure. It could be your first of many cock ups.

91. #91 by Jong on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:41 am

What a coincidence, since you mentioned it, my son-in-law has picked up cockney accent as an interest and I am not too bad at it, my friend.

On Spore’s talkingcock.com, I had been visiting it on/off for many years. Yep, it’s a good website to laugh off the pressure of every day life.

92. #92 by beankadok on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:28 am

Never never show disrespect to another fellow blogger, never know who they ‘really’ are.

93. #93 by BlackEye on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:48 am

Urgghhh..! Jong is a married woman! What am I doin’ here flirting with a married woman. Arghhh…! Another cock up!

94. #94 by beankadok on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:56 am

Another cockup, it is for you! Do you expect young sweet nothings write the way she does?

95. #95 by limkimchi on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 3:44 pm

Take it from me ..Opposition parties must cooperate and do not split the opposition votes

96. #96 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 8:27 am

How can they reform if they choose to cling onto the principles of the Rukunegara while practising “Ketuanan Melayu”? Absurd self-contradiction!!!!

97. #97 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 10:27 pm

Can Dr. M just pat his backside and say “this is none of my business?” He too put his hand and stirred up this pot of “shit” during his reign and what these guys are doing now is just taking it from where he left and making the situation worse, that’s all. So he is turning the whole pot sour just because these guys did not follow his “rules” in playing the game?