Time for new Education Minister if Hishammuddin cannot free national schools from the clutches of Little Mullah Napoleons (LMN)

A parent of a student in SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore has emailed his complaint of a new school ruling by the head master and discipline teacher banning the bringing of non-halal food to school.

This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:

“c. Makanan yang tidak halal tidak dibenarkan dibawa masuk ke kawasan sekolah.”

This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:

“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan tidak halal.”

In his email, the parent was upset about one categorization of “serious offences” in breach of school discipline, viz. Item No. 28 which states “Menganjurkan atau membabitkan dalam acara kebudayaan tanpa kebenaran pihak sekolah, PPD, JPNJ dan Kementerian Pendidkan Malaysia”, causing him to ask: “I don’t understand why cultural activities outside of school is their concern. Soon going to church or celebrating Deepavali will need the same approval, or for that matter CNY.”

The School Regulation also prescribes the dress code for visitors to the school, viz:

“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.”

Malaysiakini columnist Helen Ang has coined the term “Little Mullah Napoleons” (LMN) to describe the little bureaucrats who are taking upon themselves to micro-manage how Malaysians dress – and this dress regulation for visitors to SMK Taman Selesa Jaya Skudai, Johor qualify its headmaster Haji Masdar bin Abu and discipline teacher Haris bin Ismail to join the rolls of Helen Ang’s LMNs.

In his last year as Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was quite outspoken in expressing his concern at the failure of national schools as instruments of nation-building and national unity.

He openly admitted that there had been two hijackings of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia, alienating non-Muslims as in denying the right of the Chinese and Indians to learn their own languages and introducing Islamic practices in the school system which “puts off the non-Malays”, with boys forbidden from wearing shorts, even for playing games, and “even games are discouraged”, when “before, we had no problems with girls wearing skirts and boys wearing shorts, especially for games”.

When Abdullah became Prime Minister, he pledged to carry out Mahathir’s “unfinished business” to end such extremism and intolerance by the school bureaucrats so that the national schools will become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race. In fact, this became one of the pledges of the Barisan Nasional general election manifesto in 2004.

Four years have passed and there is an even longer catalogue of instances of hijacking of the national education system from its original objective to cater to all races in Malaysia with the rise of more LMNs as principals and discipline masters, as highlighted by the recent spate of school incidents whether over the compulsory wear of songkok for school prefects in Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (formerly English College) Johore Baru (since withdrawn) , the sheaf of insensitivities of the SMK BUD4 Principlal or this latest incident.

It is time to have a new Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein is such a dismal failure to honour the Barisan Nasional election pledge to liberate the national education system from the clutches of LMNs to ensure that the national schools become the school of choice of all Malaysians regardless of race or religion.

1. #1 by LittleBird on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:06 am

Isn’t this imposition or assertation of ones cultural and religious values over others?

2. #2 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:07 am

Politicians be they UMNO or DAP have no right to be tinkering with the heads of children who are our future generation.

3. #3 by smartee on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:24 am

Excellent!
    Scan a copy of the letter, blow it up BIG and project it on wide screen during ceramahs in the coming elections.

Also send copies of “Thank you” notes to all these little napoleons for helping to give the Opposition “more bullets”!

AND start another walk to sack the idiotic Education Minister Kerismuddin.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:35 am

Consider the banning of the hijab in Singapore schools a few years earlier.

http://www.prohijab.net/english/singapore-hijab-news.htm

“The headscarf ban was introduced into schools in Singapore in 2002 as an attempt to avoid racial and religious tensions between its ethnic Chinese majority and the Malay Muslim minority, which constitutes around 15% of the population”.

The banning of non-halal food in school premises could be viewed in the same light.

However, as for the attire prescribed for visitors and refusing assistance to requests from parents unless they are properly attired raises a host of constitutional issues.

5. #5 by ablastine on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:41 am

I totally agree with smartee. Make this the slogan of the opposition. Tell the people that if they still vote for the BN this is what they are going to get. In fact I suggest the DAP does more than scan the letter. It should compiled an entire book about the entice of these idiots.

Tell them if BN remain in undisputed power very soon they will be telling you what you can wear and cannot, what you can eat or cannot, what you can do in your bedroom or cannot and if a woman is raped it is her own bloody fault because she exposed herself too much to stimulate the rapist. She will be given untold number of lashes and thrown into jail for such heinous crime. The rapists of course can go around getting more free sex from exposed women.

6. #6 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:51 am

My secondary school did exactly the same thing. worse still, we were not allowed to bring any “halal” food bought outside the school. The HM claims that they have a contract with the canteen and students can only bring their “homemade halal” food.

“9.2 Pakaian pelawat, ibubapa mestilah kemas dan menutup aurat (tidak boleh berseluar pendek). Pihak sekolah boleh tidak melayan pelawat atau ibubapa yang tidak mengikuti/menendahkan peraturan tersebut.”

I think most of the non-muslims students are desensitised on this regulation as well. this happened not only in secondary schools. Even in Universities such as UKM, all students are expect to “tutup aurat” and couples are not allowed to stay alone in empty lecture halls.

7. #7 by Saint on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:02 am

Malaysian brand of Islam is not only taking Malaysian Muslims into the dark ages, but also forcing other to follow suit with them.

Dear Saudara Lim, can this be a greater plan by BN to create unrest before the coming elections. What better place then to start it from schools. The one who showed the kris is not taking any disciplinary action; thus must be supporting these actions directly.

8. #8 by k1980 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:09 am

Any guesses what would happen to this type of competitions once these Little Osamas gain control?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/National/2135330/Article/index_html

9. #9 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:19 am

Mr Lim,

You must be kidding? Do you expect that to happen in Malaysia?

The so-called Little Mullah Napoleons will not diminish but will fester all over Malaysia even if you change the useless Prime Minister!

The only viable solution is to change the GOVERNMENT !!!!

10. #10 by azk on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:32 am

an education system that focuses on promoting racism, hate, bigotry, laziness, intolerance, cheats and everything else EXCEPT education.

guess where Msia will end up with few more decades of these.

11. #11 by DarkHorse on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:47 am

In the dumpster??

12. #12 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:59 am

one day we might hv:
    “places designated for halal and non-halal students only”

since those who eat pork, the body also “contaminated”.

However, the fact is all meat does have its damaging substances to body. NOT ONLY PIG MEAT ALONE.

13. #13 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:01 am

definition of halal also not restricted to pig alone.
    A variety of substances are considered forbidden (haraam) as per various Quranic verses:

Pork, or any pig-based products (e.g., gelatine)[Qur’an 2:173]
    Blood[Qur’an 2:173]
    Animals slaughtered in the name of anyone but God (there are debates regarding the permissibility of meat slaughtered by Jews, i.e., kosher meat).[Qur’an 2:173]
    Carrion[Qur’an 5:3]
    “Fanged beasts of prey” as per the Sunnah, usually simplified to all carnivorous animals, with the exception of most fish and sea animals[citation needed]
    All intoxicants (especially alcohol).[Qur’an 2:219]
    There is some disagreement among Muslims regarding seafood, especially predatory sea creatures. IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) states, regarding the opinion of Islamic scholars:[4]
    All are in agreement that fish with scales are halal
    Sunnis consider all fish to be halal, while some Shias consider some fish haraam.[5] Within mostly the Hanafi School of thought, there is a strong position that shellfish (shrimp, lobster, crab, clams, etc.) are prohibited[citation needed].
    Most agree that frogs are haraam due to the prohibition of killing them in hadith.[citation needed] In fact it is common belief among Southeast Asian Muslims that animals who live on both land and sea (such as amphibians, some reptiles, and some species of bird) are off limits.[citation needed] source:wikipedia

14. #14 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:12 am

from http://www.prohijab.net/english/singapore-hijab-news.htm
    “…the ban is aimed at promoting racial harmony. However, Sikhs have been allowed to continue wearing the turban, a religious obligation for them, without the same argument being used.”

Would that mean wearing head scarf is not a religious obligation? And just a preference? (Though this preference carries a religion symbol).

15. #15 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:16 am

YB Lim,
    Replacing the Education Minister is an option but not the answer. In fact the culture existing in the Education Ministry is so entrenched that whoever replaces Hisham is not likely perform better. Many lttle Napoleons acted as if they are independent of the Education Ministry.

The answer is a strong showing this election.

16. #16 by Jimm on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:17 am

We all know that HTHO happens to ride on his father and uncle political influence to be where he is today.
    He not a truly born leader and don’t really look like one after all.
    His mission and vision normally wrapped around the current trend and what the market forces direction especially in UMNO.
    With UMNO facing generations switch over, we all know that these puupies are very desperate to remove those old dogs whom decided to stay on to their seats a little bit longer.
    Why ? Well, there are many ‘unsettled’ issue about the management of this country and Malay policies to own this country.
    The entire national scandal which involved far too many people, royal members, investors and outsiders …. it’s actuall more than we all know ..

17. #17 by k1980 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:22 am

The next time you hear Dullah using the word ‘billion’, think about whether you want him squandering your tax money. A billion is a difficult number to comprehend, but consider that huge figure into the following perspectives:

A. A billion seconds ago it was 1959.
    B. A billion minutes ago Jesus was alive.
    C. A billion hours ago our ancestors were living in the Stone Age.
    D. A billion days ago no-one walked on the earth on two feet.

18. #18 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:25 am

our children’s education and future, our culture, religion and human rights are at stake. let us all unite and stand up to fight for our rights. mca’s silence is deafening. pls let us all vote DAP and any opposition for a start. forget mca and mic.

19. #19 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:27 am

Wouldn’t a better option is to educate parents:
    “To excersice certain level of sensitivity when bringing or eating non-halal food in school, to avoid uncomfortable feelings amongst the muslim”

A softer approach might be better.

this applies to songkok, head scarves, you can advise whatever wonderful reasons,in HM opinion, for doing so but this is merely an encouragement but NOT AN OBLIGATION.

At least you got the message across at the same time NOT worsen the general image of ISLAM as extremist, Terr*****.

20. #20 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:28 am

correction: ISLAM as extremist, Terr***** as propagated in some western media.

21. #21 by Rocky on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:33 am

Now we know another reason why non muslims are not willing to send they kids to SK if they have a choice. The other is of course the perceived lower quality cos the schools are focus on issues like above instead of worrying about quality of education.

we also know why muslims world over are falling behind unlike the hey day of muslims scientist cos some muslims are so small minded, insecure and are looking at small and superficial stuff and cherry picking issues that are insignificant.They are so focus on the extrior stuff to show holiness and relying on past glory to say they are great. any new progress in the muslim world?

truly sad, a great religion is made to look bad cos of a few over zealouts.

22. #22 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:37 am

dont try to accommodate or appease these little mullahs. they have been brainwashed and are beyond correction. why do you think they become suicide bombers? why do you think Said can go to the extent of killing his 2 lovely daughters? i say lets stand our ground before all our rights are slowly eroded by creeping islamisation.

23. #23 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:39 am

“They are so focus on the extrior stuff to show holiness and relying on past glory to say they are great. any new progress in the muslim world?” – Rocky

Yeah, Like many other religions, there must be many good inner values of ISLAM, e.g. tolerance, fairness etc., but so far those overzealous seems to be showing otherwise, and the best part of it UMNO,MCA etc.. all keep quiet. They, together, are actually doing more harm than good to ISLAM.

24. #24 by Malaysian on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 am

“we also know why muslims world over are falling behind unlike the hey day of muslims scientist ” – rocky

so malaysia is desperate to correct this by having an angkasawan… more angkasawan to come…

25. #25 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:46 am

concur fully with rocky. nearly all the islamic countries are backward and on fire. they are living on past glory and greatness. now they are full of envy, jealousy and putting all the blame on the west and western culture. instead of taking a grip of themselves, they are moving more and more back into the dark ages, widening the rift between the islamic and the rest of the world, constantly blaming the west and asking the west to understand them when they themselves are to be blamed. instead of catching up, the rest of the world is expected to follow them. what stupidity. Rock on man.

26. #26 by Libra2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:51 am

Kit,
    You you stretch your investigative net further, similar rules and regulations are in force in almost all schools. In school with non-Muslim principals (which are very few), the senior assistant will impose these rules and the non-Muslim head can’t so a damn thing about it.
    This is all about forms without substance. How many of these principals squander school funds? Do you know how many pocket commissions from book shops and salesmen.
    To them corruption is not sin but wearing shorts is.

27. #27 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:52 am

Undergrad & Chong Zhemin,
    The attires of visitors, as far as I remember, only cover “proper dressing.” There was no instruction of “tutup aurat,” and if there is any, this is beyond the ministry directive. That directive was obvious as some parents came in with shorts that clearly show the underwear, low cuts, t-shirt showing mid-ribs, (I am not referring to the sari). The idea was that the school is a place where students are shown better example on dressings. Beside that, some of the dressings were obvious distractions.

These were good directives, but as we said, these “little Napoleons” twisted these directives and added religious and racial flavours. “Tutup aurat?” is clearly an imposition on others to understand and follow Islam interpretations. What is “aurat”? It involves us, the non-Muslims, to go for their religious class.

In regard to food, there was no objection to students bringing their own food to school. This could be a new directive. Sandwiches, noodles, biscuits – these are normal food that students consumed. Of course we practice restrain not to bring “bak kut teh” into a school. This practice is observed in hotels, public places, not only in schools.

“Malaysian” you have a lengthy post on “halal.” Do you have any personal experience in this?

28. #28 by Chong Zhemin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:52 am

k1980,

Interesting facts. I did some research online and I found this. Anyways, no offends. I’m not trying to get into an argument regarding this billion thing.

http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/trivia/billions.asp

We have to start out by noting that the definition of “billion” is not standardized. In some places and usages, a billion is a one followed by nine zeros, or one thousand million; in other cases, a billion is a one followed by twelve zeros, or one million million. In the U.S., the common usage of “billion” refers to a one followed by nine zeros (or 1,000,000,000), so that’s the standard we employ here.

* A billion seconds: One billion seconds is about 31.7 years, so going back in time a billion seconds would put us in 1972. (The discrepancy in the version cited above, which puts the year at 1959, might have come about because the example we collected was compiled or last updated in 1990.)

* A billion minutes: One billion minutes is approximately 1901 years, so travelling back to a time one billion minutes ago would land us in the year A.D. 102. This date is about seventy years too late to encompass the life of Jesus according to traditional accounts. (The discrepancy of several decades might be the result of someone’s faulty arithmetic or historical knowledge, or it could be an indication that this piece originated back in the 1930s.)

* A billion hours: One billion hours ago represents a time a bit over 114,000 years in the past, an era generally classified as the Lower Palaeolithic era, or the “Old Stone Age.”

* A billion days ago: Some versions of this piece include the line “A billion days ago no-one walked on the earth on two feet.” A billion days is approximately 2.74 million years; the era defined by that time period is generally estimated to be about when the first species of the genus Homo appeared in Africa, having diverged from the Australopithecines.

29. #29 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:53 am

Little Mullah Napoleons” Oppressive Pernicious Querulous Restrictive Strictures …

Okay guys – please continue the alphabet soup – LMNOPQRS …

30. #30 by optimuz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:55 am

What I hate most about all these little ‘rules’ that these monkeys come up with is that, it smacks of hypocrisy!!

The now often said quote ‘ we must be mindful of each others culture and sensitivities’ is only applicable in one way ‘ respect the muslims – period’.

Why then is non-halal banned but not beef – it is sensitive to Hindus and some Buddhists?

Why talk about clothing when it is the mind where the corrupt thinking begins?

They can say all they want about the virtues of the religion, impose all the laws under the sun, but go through the internet and see who represents the majority of couples caught with their ‘pants down’, so to speak…I’m not saying that the other races don’t indulge in it, but at least there is no ‘holier than thou’ emphasis…

I just cannot understand how much more ludicrous this is getting!

31. #31 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:05 am

The headscarf ban was introduced into schools in Singapore in 2002 as an attempt to avoid racial and religious tensions between its ethnic Chinese majority and the Malay Muslim minority, which constitutes around 15% of the population”.

The banning of non-halal food in school premises could be viewed in the same light.

==============================================

Agree, Singapore PAP chinese government is racist and anti-islam.

Banning headscarf for muslim girls while allowing sikh boys to wear turbin is a bias policy against minority malays in Singapore. Lee Kuan Yew even banned karpal singh to be legal counsel for the Malay girl.

No non-halal food in Plus stopovers is also a sign of little mullah nepoleon epidemic in this country.

What the heck non-muslims have to be penalized for observing muslim halal food?

Some argue that not pork in Plus stopovers is to take care the sensitivity of muslim, but ironically beef is served regardless the sensitivity of hindu and buddhist.

This is just another showcase of unilateral religious sensitivity in Bolehland.

32. #32 by Abraham on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:09 am

Dear Uncle Kit,

May I suggest that you write an open letter to the Education Minister/Ministry highlighting these “Special rulings” imposed by the HMs of the relevant schools.

Let us all hear the response from the Minister/Ministry whether they allow these rulings.

33. #33 by disapointed86 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:15 am

34. #34 by disapointed86 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:16 am

Hisapmudin, resign if u cant even take care of your dogs..your dogs are going wild..feed it pls..stop promoting your keris..

35. #35 by g2geetoo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:20 am

Hisham is not spending enough time on the ground. He is being surrounded by Ministry officials by hoodwinking him that all’s well in the schools.

All’s not well, Hisham! Listen to the teachers and the students if you want information and listen to us PARENTS!

All the Ministry’s officials want is to survive in their position but they are many issues like students interaction not here. Students of their own race forming their own cliques. Too much emphasis of Islam in Sekolah Kebangsaan…thus making it unpleasant and scary for other students.

I support the sacking of Hishamuddin!

36. #36 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:26 am

Dear YB Lim Kiat Siang,

I wonder whether you are aware or not that the majority of these Little Mullah Osamas are actually PAS supporters. These people are actually anti-government, anti-BN, and anti-UMNO. If you have lived near mosques and madrasahs, you will know what I meant. The imams at the madrasahs will normally preach against the BN government or invite speakers from PAS. These people normally spread hatred among Muslims. They preach hatred towards kafirs, non-Muslims, Christians, Jews, and America. They have no other topic to talk except this. I wonder why don’t they teach about self development, how to love your neighbours more, how not to be racist, etc.

UMNO leaders are not doing anything to stop these extremists. I wonder why they dare not stop these Little Mullah Osamas even though they know that these people are causing disunity among Malaysians. I am afraid soon UMNO will be more like PAS.

I don’t think I have a future in Malaysia. I feel like taking citizenship in Singapore or migrate to USA. Probably those UMNO leaders who said “Kalau tidak suka boleh keluar” will be happy to hear this. Probably that is what they really want. No more non-Malays and non-Muslims in Malaysia. UMNO could rule Malaysia “peacefully” without any opposition to criticize them.

37. #37 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:29 am

Sorry for spelling mistake.

It should be Dear YB Lim KIT Siang.

Pardon me for confusing Kit with my friend’s name.

38. #38 by Libra2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:33 am

BoycottLocalPapers,
    You are very wrong friend. I know for a fact that many of them are UMNO members.
    I would say UMNO is worse than PAS. The difference is, UMNO’s is more cunning in its Islamization efforts.

39. #39 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:34 am

All these insensitivities against the non Malays and non Muslims are a result of the Islamisation policy initiated by TDM in the early eighties and continued until today.The Umno politicians blame the existence of vernacular schools as obstacles to racial unity.On the contrary,secondary schools and universities run by the racial and religious bigots have now become the hotbed of racial polarisation.

40. #40 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:56 am

Libra says: You are very wrong friend. I know for a fact that many of them are UMNO members.

My answer:

Having lived in many places near madrasahs and mosques throughout this country and mixing with Malays and heard thousands of sermons bombarded to my ears every night through loudspeaker, I know this for a fact too that Muslim clerics are normally PAS supporters.

Libra says:
    I would say UMNO is worse than PAS. The difference is, UMNO’s is more cunning in its Islamization efforts.

This I totally agree. Probably. these Little Mullah Osamas have forsaken PAS and embrace UMNO because they know they could Islamize Malaysia better and faster.

Since the word MALAY in Malaysia is synonymous with MUSLIM, I am afraid that in the future being a MALAYsian means being a MUSLIMsian. If you are not a MUSLIM, then you don’t have the right to be a MALAYsian since the word Malay means Muslim. Probably it is already happening. That is why I am not entitled the same rights with Malay Muslimsians.

Soon “Malaysia Truly Asia” will be replaced with “Malaysia Truly Islamic.” Many thanks to Mahathir Mohd.

41. #41 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:25 am

If Hissamuddin have to resign because of Little Mullah Napolean, then Badawi has to go because of Big Mullah Napoleans that think nothing of outlawing words by ethnicity, robbing women of their children, property, and other civil rights thru no wrong of theirs, destroying temples and churches, arresting people-in-love because the Big Mulllah get horny in public, robbing a single mother of her income because she is naturally hot, etc. etc.

The problem is not a new Education Minister, the problem is a new governing party to replace the outdated and mediocre leadership in the entire system. But get Sdr’s Lim’s point, one thing at a time.

42. #42 by yajiv8_8 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:32 am

I wonder where we heading TO, looks like we are going backwards with Pak Lah’s Administration. What is that HALAL or not HALAL food to do with school and education. All we need just prayed for god grace for something to have it when we are hungry and continue the day man…..restricting the kids to watch what you eat may not suit others is nonsense…If you don’t like it, just don’t eat it, let the others have it..isn’t that a simple FORMULA for a HEADMASTER to understand !! or for a MINISTER to wonder this may cause some sensitivity issue.

Please wake up HISHAM !! the world is changing, so do the MALAYSIANs – BN better better or else give the administration to DAP, KeADILan or PAS, let them manage – sure they can bring some improvement.

43. #43 by Cinapek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:42 am

All the worms are coming out of the woodwork. When the conditions are right, the worms will emerge and the conditions now are ideal for all these LMN worms to show their true colours.

Why are conditions right? The Govt.’s banning of the use of the word “Allah” by non Muslims, the various Muslim convert controversies with the courts ruling in favour of the converts with the worrying verdicts asking non muslims to go to the shariah courts to seek redress etc.. All these has sent a strong signal to the LMNs that they will have institutional support for their racially and religiously inspired extremist actions.

The root cause is the Govt. Getting rid of Hishamuddin is but just getting rid of the itch. With the eunuch ridden MCA and the feet kissing MIC in self interest denial, this sickness will spread far and wide beyond the schools. In fact it has already happened. It will only get worse unless this Govt. gets a bloody nose in the coming GE.

44. #44 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:43 am

BoycottLocalPapers Says:

Today at 10: 26.44 (1 hour ago)
    Dear YB Lim Kiat Siang,

I wonder whether you are aware or not that the majority of these Little Mullah Osamas are actually PAS supporters.

========

Ask yourself a silly question, how many PAS followers can be promoted to headmaster/mistress?

Anwar is the mastermind in early 80s to islamize all schools after Iran revolution. My secondary school is the first school in Johor to enforce headscraf regulation for all female muslims.

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:50 am

This issue whether non-halal food could be brought into the school is not confined toe SMK Taman Selesa Jaya, Skudai, Johore.

I think many schools have such directives but not brought to the fore of public attention.

Just last year parents fumed over a letter dated July 14 by headmaster Zainal Abidin Senapi, of Sekolah Kebangsaan Seri Mega, a Kuala Lumpur primary school with 60% non-Muslim students, directing non-Muslim pupils not to bring non-halal food to school.

The fact is that these “Little Mullah Napoleons” (LMN) started the initiatives on their own.

The proper persons to pin down for a statement of stance and position will be the relevant director of the state education department or better still Education Minister if Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the Prime Minister.

They should be asked if Islam Hadari prohibits non muslim school students from bringing home cooked non halal food to eat.

46. #46 by Cinaputera on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:00 pm

Makanan tidak halal tidak dibenarkan. What is halal to LMN may not be halal to others. So ban the selling of beef which is not halal to hindu and some chinese as well. Just wonder when these assH**e serving their halal food have they themselve think of whether their food is halal to others. Please read raja petra’s article on this.

47. #47 by ngahc on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:03 pm

That is exactly the rootcause that national schools cannot be the school of choice.

Imposition of religious values and practices into national school at their own whims and fancies just frightened off many non-bumi parents. The demand for chinese primary school will be unabated for the forseeable future.

Being a school of choice means school authority must respect for all races, religions, and has high quality education standard.

48. #48 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:10 pm

Some say we should leave this land -our beloved birthplace.But why should we?We should stand firm and united to fight the colossal task of reversing the extreme racial and religious policies imposed upon us.Never mind the still very dumb and mute political eunuchs from MCA,Gerakan and MIC.These self serving idiots are just marking time now before they escape to other countries to enjoy the loot stolen from here.

49. #49 by Toyol on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:11 pm

No wonder our education system is in shambles. With these ‘orang kuno’ running our schools, what can we expect?

Children, although they have limited awareness of the socio political system in the country, over the years, what they have learnt in school will determine how they grow up invariably. As such, these so called ‘desensitising’ will eventually lead to people being racists and the problem will continue. The tolerance MUST be 2-way, i.e. non Muslims must have the same rights as Muslims…only then can we remove the ‘fence’ that separates us.

50. #50 by grace on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:38 pm

Does Ong Ka Tomg pr Chong Kon Choy have an email address? Let us all the complaints to him to see whether they will act. If they don’t, kindly tell them that MCA does not represent the Chinese community already!!

51. #51 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:12 pm

52. #52 by kanthanboy on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:18 pm

You never hear these LMN say anything against corruption. In Malaysia, corruption is the most popular halal hobby.

What about those government sponsored Muslim students at universities in western countries? Do they not consume non halal food at food outlets operated by non Muslims at their universities and restaurants such as McDonald, KFC and others?
    Also when Muslim ministers and officials travel to countries with very few Muslims, don’t they eat non halal food at Hotels and restaurants?

53. #53 by optimuz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:21 pm

As I said earlier, all this is for show only!

I recall when I was in HK and was having breakfast when a group of muslims (with headscarves) walked in to have theirs as well.

Naturally there was no halal/non-halal sections…all was a mix. The bacon was placed right beside the scrambled eggs and the pan was also used to make omelettes with bacon in it…

But there was no fuss by these people (I believe they were Malaysians)…in fact, they even ordered their omelettes which had been used for frying bacon etc…

Now if you can live with that, why make a fuss here??

Of course, there are the many ‘kataks’ who insist on segregation of halal/non-halal (as I was told by mum while on her many travels)..but do these people think that the world must bend over just to accomodate their ‘narrow minded’ thinking??

54. #54 by Tickler on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:22 pm

It was announced in parliament that no new Chinese or Tamil schools would be built under the 9th Malaysia Plan. What were the MCA and MIC doing when this policy was formulated. Do they agree with this policy to deny mother tongue education. They should speak up now. Their silence is a big sign of their failure!

The people are fed up with the MCA. One proof of this is a interesting comment in my blog which reads “I will support and donate my 1 month income to build the school when the approval is obtained and YB undertake to build the much needed school. Though I am Educated from ACS, I always support the neglected Chinese schools though in a small ways. Good job YB!
    [ ]
    On Dec 13th YB Ho Chang Wang issued a statement challenging me to take responsibility to build a new Chinese school.
    In the Ipoh Barat Parliamentary constituency all the 3 state seats are held by the MCA. Bercham by Gooi Soon Teik -Kepayang- by Tan Chee Meng (Exco member) and Buntong- by Yik Pooi Hong ( State Deputy Speaker)

But all three are sleeping. as far as defending vernacular education is concerned.

http://kula.blogsome.com/2008/01/18/chinese-school-in-bercham-open-challeng-to-mca/

55. #55 by NAR2645 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:28 pm

http://www.ongkating.net/contact.html

To grace.

Ong Ka Ting’ email as above

56. #56 by kanthanboy on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:49 pm

“It was announced in parliament that no new Chinese or Tamil schools would be built under the 9th Malaysia Plan. What were the MCA and MIC doing when this policy was formulated.” Tickler
    ————————-
    All the non Muslim Ministers have gone to the toilet. They all have diarrhea after being served halal food.

57. #57 by burn on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:58 pm

now they want to become a father figure to all!
    wow, what type of clowns are they, just implement it as they like. if that the case, might as well establish a new school for muslim and non-muslim!

58. #58 by year of snake on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:28 pm

These little Napoleans and actually Zealots who are trying to prove to each other that they are more religious than others. The trouble is that they don’t know or pretend not to know that they are also handling a pork tainted article everyday, that is, Money which is one of the most contaminated thing which we are handling everyday. Maybe these Fanatics are using gloves when handling money and go home and wash them with detergents which I doubt! Probably they are dreaming of being wives of Talebans.

59. #59 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:33 pm

tell me something. when these malays travelled overseas on hoildays or study or seminars etc in say US, UK, europe or NZ what and where do they eat? do they insist and eat halal food all the time? and where?

60. #60 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:04 pm

I will support and respect Hishammuddin if he uses his keris against those Little Mullah Napoleons.

But I have a strong feeling that he prefers to use his keris against those (from MCA and Gerakan) who dare to raise the Little Mullah Napoleons’ issues in the Cabinet.

61. #61 by justiciary on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:12 pm

You know the muslims here belong to hypocrites of the highest order.In Malaysia,they cannot eat this,cannot eat that;cannot do this,cannot do that.But when they go overseas,they forget what they preach and believe and will do what they they do not openly do in Malaysia.Superficially they are pious but when come to greed for wealth and money,they become so very corrupted.It is real humbug and nonsense.

62. #62 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:19 pm

“bystander Says:

tell me something. when these malays travelled overseas on hoildays or study or seminars etc in say US, UK, europe or NZ what and where do they eat? do they insist and eat halal food all the time? and where?”

My Malay friend told me that he doesn’t want to be a Muslim but has to remain so (very funny indeed). He eats pork in front of me. I am sure he is not the only pork-eating Muslim in Malaysia.

63. #63 by ahoo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:32 pm

This is put in black-and-white in the School Regulation 3.15 on “Makan dan minum” which stipulates:

This is repeated and elaborated in Regulation 7.9 on “Barang-Barang Larangan” which states:

“7.9 Gula-gula, chewing gum, makanan ‘junk food’, makanan
    tidak halal.”

What! No non-halal food in school? Even sweets also cannot!
    “Junk food”, how do they categorize what is junk food? One
    man’s food maybe another man poison. Will the prefects start
    to frisk school children bag in order to enforce such rulings?

We live in exciting and perilous time! As the saying goes ……. defilement comes from within. What comes out of a man, that defiles a man. For from within, out of the heart of men,
    proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lewdness, an evil eye,
    blasphemy, pride, foolishness. All these evil things come from
    within and defile a man. NKJV

Let’s not just pack our bags and go. That will do no justice
    to YB Kit and many others that have had stood up to voice
    out our frustrations. They (YB & family ) care to stay back
    and stand against all the injustices, leakages, excessiveness,
    corruptions etc. They could have packed and be gone, long
    time ago instead of challenging the govt of the day and also
    spending time in ” Kamunting ” a place where even God forbid.

Stand up and be counted. Vote against all those who are
    corrupted and are shameless! We don’t need such self-
    righteous people in parliament. All the people of JB, please
    wake up and voice out / vote against those self-righteous, be they in schools or even in the govt depts or in parliament.

64. #64 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:36 pm

“KUALA LUMPUR: Post a Valentine’s Day message to your lover in the New Straits Times and you stand a chance to win a hotel stay with romantic spa treatment.

The first prize is a RM1,500 three-day-two-night stay at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Damai Laut in Lumut with a spa treatment for two.

The second and third prizes are packages for a couple at the Samsara Garden Spa at the Swiss Garden Hotel in Kuala Lumpur worth RM1,000 and RM500 respectively. ”

I would advise NST’s Classified Ads, Maziah Abd. Hamid to first check with JAKIM, MAIS, Imam Besar Hadhari, etc. before encouraging young, impressionable, hot-blooded couples of thier faith to participate in “haram” activities like Valentine’s Day. Otherwise, she will be branded as secular in outlook and punished by her righteous peers.

What has Malaysia come to? I weep for Malaysia.

65. #65 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:37 pm

am sure many of us share the same view as ahoo

66. #66 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:39 pm

How can take lover to hotel without “surat perkahwinan”? These participants must first attach their “surat perkahwinan” together with their contest forms to be verified before declaring them winners. “Surat perkahwinan” from Thailand strictly not recognised for this contest. ; )

67. #67 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:00 pm

When I was in secondary school in the 1980’s, I brought home-cooked fried rice with “lap-cheong”. The aroma was so strong and fragrant that I had to sit away from my Malay friends just to enjoy my food in peace. Why must they impose their beliefs on others? Can’t they trust us to understand their beliefs and not “lead them to temptation” or “cause them to sin”? OR are they so afraid with so little faith in themselves? I have never troubled my Malay friends on matters of their faith. I have come to learn and respect them. Why can’t I expect the same measure of respect?

68. #68 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:26 pm

If you,malaysia.com, have to bash Singapore with principles plus facts, it would have been palatable but to spew out untruths like you did it is most obnoxious.
    For a start you mention Singapore government is chinese and therefore racist. If I read you correctly (you coming from a region and race politicised society, chances are you being a bigot is high as well),it would mean that the Singapore government is pursuing a policy to the entire benefit of the chinese in Singapore just like in Malaysia whereby the government pursues its policy benefitting only the Malays ( yes only the Malays cos the original people of Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia do not have such benefits), NEP and staffing of the civil service.If you ever go to Singapore, have a look at their teachers in schools, their police in the police force, their soldiers in the army or the staff in their public hospitals, you’ll be struck by one thing and that is there is no overwhelming predominance of 1 particular race. Compare this with Malaysia, the civil service is simply swarmed by 1 single race overwhelmingly!!Then again in Singapore, non Singaporean can be PM or DPM (they already have one currently) or can be minister in any of the portfolio.Malaysia has never got a non malay DPM.Even the portfolio of finance (last non malay to occupy this position is 30 years ago) can no longer be filled by a non Malay and so are the other positions..defence,education,home and foreign.
    Come to religion.Religion is practised freely in Singapore and of course Malaysia says it is also done freely here as well.But then of course all other Malaysians (other than Malays) plus growing number of foreigners as well know that this freely is in fact freely under inverted commas ie’freely’.
    To go further let’s take a look at the population statistics:
    (1) chinese: 76.7%

(2) Malays : 14%

(3) Indians : 7.9%

(4) others : 1.4%
    Malays in Malaysia is 50.4%, not so overwhelmingly predominant in Malaysia as the Chinese is in Singapore and yet policies carried out in Malaysia is overwhelmingly racialistic and religiously biased. Would you care to argue against this?

‘Banning headscarf for muslim girls while allowing sikh boys to wear turban is a bias policy against Malays in Singapore.’ malaysia.com
    I presume you are referring to school uniform in Singapore which again you’re are found to be completely untruthful or if not completely ignorant of anything pertaining to matters in Singapore and therefore should have been better if you were to keep quiet.
    Singapore right from day 1 since its independence has white shirt, white short for boys and white shirt, white skirts for girls as school uniform. The only exception is the sikh can add in their turbans since turban is associated with sikh religion.Headscarf is not in as headscarf is not associated with religion, more with culture with Arab culture in particular.In Malaysia, through a gradual process of arabisation, practically every Malay girl or lady is wearing one thereby undermining a part of Malay culture the sarong kebaya which is more commonly seen some 40 years ago rather than now.In Turkey, for example, a woman pilot was sacked for wearing headscarf whilst on duty (which is not part of pilot uniform) and also a woman MP has been asked to leave the HOUSe for wearing one!!
    Suddenly in 2002, out of the blue a Malay in Singapore wants to overturn the ruling and try to introduce headscarf as part of the school uniform whilst the school uniform has been accepted more than 40 years by parents as suitable and appropriate.What is more the school uniform chosen does not connote anything particular..religion or culture.It is simply neutral or if one may it is simply Singaporean!

69. #69 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:53 pm

I agree with you Ah Pek.In Malaysia,the woman policemen look so very awful and ugly(instead of smart) when they wear their scarves plus their hats.Pitifully the non Malay counterparts are compelled to wear the same.

70. #70 by burn on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:54 pm

sometimes i do wonder, could all this be just another drama bcause of election. as everyone knows, lots of non-bumi are unhappy with their BN partners.
    so to say, to support opposition, this will happen. to support BN components, it will be settle immediately!

71. #71 by oknyua on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:20 pm

Mr Burn, Earlier I said this is an issolated issue. But looking at Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Prime Minister of Malaysia’s statement in NST, I conclude this is the general direction we are going into.

Check NST where he gave the statement that there cannot be a separation between the STATE and RELIGION. He did soften his statement, maybe trying to pacify the non-Muslim, but we cannot trust this part of that statement. Please look at his statement in the NST again.

72. #72 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:27 pm

Having worked with Singapore ministries including education, I will tell you that the banning of headscarves is not a result of insensitivity but rather pure technocratic determination, the very thing that made Singapore efficient and strong. Believe me that a lot of thought when into it but not well publicised because the standard operating procedure in religion in Singapore is to do it if its technically correct but don’t discuss too much about it. But a lot of thought goes into it. I have discussed it with some of the top minds before and the rational given to me was:

1) Headscarf was never part of Malay religious practise and in fact, in France where the issue also arised later, they have said Headscarf is political and not religious.

2) Singapore practise a policy of ‘managing religion’. If you want to argue that headscarf is against their freedom to practise their religion, then the same can be said of Singapore making mosque turn the prayer cries speakers inward rather than outward. Singapore argument is during Muhammad time, there was no speakers so don’t debate it against their freedom.

3) There is no doubt that Lee Kuan Yew is paranoid about Malay tendencies. He is obviously no liberal and hence there is no doubt he is not free from bias but all of his bias whether you talk of the headscarf or the speakers are based on practical policy concerns NOT something abrtirarily as ‘divine right’ that is unsubstantiated.

To equate the headscraf ban the same as banning halal food is to equate practicality with divinity. That is the problem with religo-state, policy base on divinity that hurts some is unaccountable to those who got hurt. But policies based on practicality (i.e., read secularity) that hurts some IS accountable even to those that are hurt by it.

I personally thing Singapore can afford to be more liberal with policies like headscarf and they would be better off for allowing it but I disagree with those who think that Singapore did not have the right to choose to. No one is owed liberal policies.

73. #73 by Bigjoe on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:31 pm

In that regard, let me just say that Malaysia by banning halal food is NOT better off for being unliberal. So its even stevens. You wonder if there is that any human difference between Singaporean and Malaysian except for the labels.

74. #74 by Tickler on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 6:08 pm

The headscarf got its infamous popularity through Ayatollah Khomeini in the `70s.

75. #75 by Richard Teo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:00 pm

Why are there still non-malays in Kebangsaan schools? All chinese students should enrol in Vernacular schools as they are better managed with no islamic undertones. Let the malays go to Kebangsaan schools and turn them into islamic religious schools.In fact more and more malays are sending their children to chinese schools.

76. #76 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:10 pm

Bigjoe,
    I think you have further clarify the picture that Singapore government does not pursue religios and racial based policy in the same manner as the Malaysian government.They pursue a secular policy and a policy designed to benefit Singaporeans not Chinese, not Malays and not Indians, just Singaporeans.
    I certainly agree with you that LKY is no liberal but neither is he a tyrant as was suggested by a commenter sometime ago.He has an idea how Singapore is to be run and stack his cabinet with some of the best brains Singapore has.To get Singapore this far with a per capita gdp of $31,400 is no mean feat for an island nation with practical nothing to shout about.In one of Alvin Toffler’s (Alvin Toffler was once known as one of the outstanding futurist in the world) 3 trilogies, George Yeo was cited by him as one of the most brilliant ministers he has come across.
    ‘You wonder if there is any human difference between Singaporean and Malaysian except for the labels.’.Bigjoe
    There is none if you were to mean that both are authoritharian, dictatorial if I may but the similarity ends there.
    One uses its authority to carry out racial and religious based policy marginalising the minority thereby exerting hegemony over them.
    The other is a benevolent dictatorship carrying out policies to advance the well-being of Singapore and Singaporeans.

77. #77 by mr.gelapan on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:34 pm

eiyaa Mr.Lim this halal and non-halal issues still an issues even DAP rule Malaysian. This is not suppose raised an issues if DAP is have real intention to change the goverment but otherwise if DAP just have no real an issue to raised – Habis Modal!.

This babi (pork) is an easy thing to settle. I even can eat with the same plate used for babi after plate cleaned. No problem.

If DAP in power can you settle many thing of Muslim or Malays grevience ?… If not so you DAP are the same with BN… No difference

First thing I would advise DAP – To change their HEAD first – Mr. Lim lah….

78. #78 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:59 pm

And one more difference between Singapore government a nd Malaysian government and that is ………..over the last few years the inner circle (UMNOPUTRAS) have gotten wise and use their religion and race based policies as an excuse to enrich themselves!!
    I am sure it can be easily checked that many Malay millionaires or multimillionaires have been intentionally created over the last 10 years not out of the fact of their entrepreneural ventures but simply because of being UMNOPUTRA or cronies of UMNOPUTRAS.Just take a look at the annual AG reports year in and year out citing woes of over-expenditure and massive wastages with nobody batting an eye-lid and these reports are gathering dusts.Look at the contracts dished out to bumiputra companies that have no expertise to carry out such projects.It is simply incredible and that can only happen in a country call ‘MALAYSIA”.Need we go on, malaysia.com!!

79. #79 by Evenmind on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:59 pm

80. #80 by ZePenguin on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:09 pm

Just to add some salt into the wound. During my schooling time, in 2004 to be exact, my Penolong Kanan gave a speech during the usual school assembly and as every teachers do, she would greet before commencing her speech. But at that time, she greeted differently! She said :

“Assalamualaikum kepada semua pelajar islam and selamat sejahtera kepada MEREKA YANG BELUM BERAGAMA ISLAM”

Can she be categorised as one of the “Little Mullah Napoleons”?

81. #81 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:29 pm

To AhPek Says:

Except some Malaysian chinese are color blinded to regard Singapore is a non-racist nation, the whole world knowing PAP is just a mirror of UMNO.

There are tons of facts hard to be swollen by chinese ah pek.

1. Malay cannot be RAF fighter pilot since day one.

2. Top military officers never go to Malay.

3. Malay will never become PM.

4. LKS made it an offcial policy to maintain a fixed racial ratio with at least 78% Chinese forever.

Anyone can explain to me IF this is not a racist policy, what on earth any country in the world fixing population based on race?

5. Headscraft is arab culture or not is irrelevant to Malay in Singapore. As long Malays accept headscraft is associated with their religion obligation, who on earth to forbid cultural change of a race?

Don’t tell me ah pek is still wearing same outfit used by his ancestor 40 years ago. Culture is dynamic and subject to change.

Don’t twisting fact for the sake of argument. Only a bigot like you is shameless to spin fiction to fact. BTW, you know nothing what is fact except some statistics on population.

Singapore government argued that sikh turban is part of culture, not religious obligation as you like to “believe”. They are using “religion” reason, not “culture” to reject headscraft.

Singapore argument is totally contradicting with your so-called fact.

Get lost if you cannot even get the fact right.

Karpal singh or any sikh people can reveal to you that turban is a part of sikh religious obligation.

5. Singapore school uniforms are not one monotonous type as you believe.

82. #82 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

Corrrected “swallow” not “swollen”.

Clearly Singapore have double standard on religious and cultural matter.

Sikh turban is a religious obligation as wearing headscraft for muslims in Singapore. But somehow kiasu classifies turban as cultural and headscraft as religious matter to discriminate malay from the secular school.

83. #83 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:05 pm

4. LKS made it an offcial policy to maintain a fixed racial ratio with at least 78% Chinese forever.

Sorry. Not LKS, is LKY aka old lee.

84. #84 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:16 pm

The lists given by you malaysia.com reflects that you are a bigot.And what did I say about the turban … read again before you continue blaring out untruth again.
    Who is the DPM of Singapore check that before you make statements like (3).
    Malays cannot be SAF pilots has never been denied and in fact Lee Hsien Loong has given an interview on this 2 years ago.You check that up.
    Malaya’s population in 1938 is:
    (1) chinese:2.2 million
    (2) Malays:2.1million
    (3) Indians:O.7million
    (4) others 0.6 million
    In other words Malays is 37.5% of the population, chinese is 39% and Indians 12.5%. Presto fast forward this to 2007 you have the Malays making up 50.4%, Chinese 33% and Indians 7%. How did that happen you tell me. Mahathir introduced enbloc Indonesians to Malaysia to do manual jobs but in true fact it is to increase the votes for UMNO.It is also during the time when the first boat people came and all of them were refused political refugee status and are stored away in one of the east coast islands awaiting transfer to 3rd country willing to take them. We could have taken some of them.No they are not Malays and also not muslims.Look what happen to Sabah …taking and making them citizens to neutralise the christian natives!
    Also what have we to talk of pertaining to armed forces, air force ,naval force and police force. We used to have some non Malays heading some of the armed units but that was long long time ago!!Air force used to be flooded by non Malays. Look it now.This was also long long time ago!!
    The headscarf you are advancing to be part of school uniform, please read Bigjoe’s explanation.
    So go on and eep painting that other government is pursuing religion and race based policy to justify your government’s doing and make it more palatable to swallow what all these UMNOPUTRAS are doing to the country.

85. #85 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

Correction. Should be ‘…..and keep painting that …….”.

86. #86 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

ah pek,
    Do not waste your time writing in details to explain little issue…that has been going round and round non-stop for years and years and has been exploited by somebody who is of denial syndrome..in other words..he wants the world to be owned by a Malay..the more u keep explaining…the more he will go against you..these ppl do not wish to face the mirror and look at themselves first before making allegations..they in other words have been under the shade for too long i guess..that’s a pity.

87. #87 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 9:49 pm

Malaysiatoday.com,please do not bulldoze your argument onto others.Malaysia ruled by Umno is highly racial and religious biased.No right thinking people including Malays will deny this fact.Singapore is however ruled by smart and farsighted elites.The ruling party there is not run by racial and religious bigots.That’s why their GDP is top in Asia.

88. #88 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:17 pm

jus legitimum Says:

BS..highest GDP can be used as excuse to suppress minority.

Are you a typical chinese who rated money is God? Or you just plain blind like some Malays here who only can see thing from racial perspective.

No right thinking will say kiasu government is non-racist. I have not seen your rebuttals on some facts I put forward to prove PAP is racist as UMNO.

antz Says:

Another bigot who assume those opposing chinese ah pek must be a malay.

89. #89 by smeagroo on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:17 pm

I think Sek. Kebangsaan shld BAN THE NON-MUSLIMS outright. Afterall ,we are NOT HALAL! Maybe one day they require us to become HALAL too b4 we can step foot into THEIR school!

90. #90 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:28 pm

AhPek Says:

====

You are plain racist to harp on race population to sell your unsubstaintiated argument.

As we know any uniform policy is set by the government. If a school uniform policy is bias against a race in the first place, don’t you have consciousness for not using such “policy” to subsutantiate your argument.

Are you telling NEP is a policy, therefore NEP is a flawless correct?

Whatever wrong policies being done in Bolehland do not justify kiasu policies are correct.

Anyway, fet your fact right first before argue on an issue you are very blurred.

[Lets stop this bickering and get back to the real issue, shall we? – Kit]

91. #91 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:28 pm

In Singapore,meritocracy prevails.Suppression of the minorities,I doubt.Even their DPM is an Indian and their MOE is a Malay.No wonder this country is stagnating due to many stubborn people who suffer from the denial syndrome.

92. #92 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:36 pm

it seems somebody feeling upset already…dare to throw the stone but now it seems the hand is keeping tightly behind one’s back and hiding behind in oneself…we’ll see…who’ll be the survivor…i just want to laugh seeing the show…this is just a blog…it’s advisable not to be emotional.

93. #93 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:45 pm

To jus legitimum,

How many DPM in Singapore? Yon can create tons of powerless ministerial post as you want.

Are non-Chinese can dictate policies in Singapore?

How many Malays (in %) in the kiasu cabinet?

How many malay generals (in %) in RAF?

A true meritocracy will not set a limit on how many talents can be taken from China, India and Indonesia.

LKY has quota for talents based on color skin. You don’t know such quota system in kiasuland or simply ignorant again as usual?

To Ah Pek,

How many chinese (%) serving Malaysia armed forces now?

If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

Who to be blamed for dwindling pool of Chinese top officials after independence?

The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

Are you expecting Malay government to lay red carpet to welcome chinese in thepolice and military recruitment exercise?

94. #94 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:51 pm

[Lets stop this bickering and get back to the real issue, shall we? – Kit]

===

YB Lim, discussions on headscraft issue in Singapore is not totally out of topic.

Thx

95. #95 by chai on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:53 pm

malaysia is worst until dont know how to describe!!!!!!!

96. #96 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:00 pm

malaysia today.com,

it’s advisable if u e-mail to the specific ministers in charge to all the questions you have thrown in this blog…answers given will not satisfied…nor parties…this will be endless argument…
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/ and also u can check out Lee Kuan Yew e-mail address as well…under the Singapore govt website…

97. #97 by bystander on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:13 pm

stand to be corrected. the latest according to my daughter, the religious bigot/principal of BU4 has reverse all her previous decisions ie back to status quo as before, thanks to the pressure exerted by the parents, exposure by YB LKS, the chinese press and all the comments/support made by all here. but no thanks to the timid MCA and gerakan members with their tails between their legs. hooray stand united.

98. #98 by AhPek on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:17 pm

A public institution the running of which is from taxpayer’s money should not project the culture or religious beliefs of any one component ethnic group of a multiracial and multireligious nation.School uniform of a school which is a public institution therefore must do likewise …its uniform must not reflect that it is a Malay school or a chinese school or an Indian school.
    Malaysia.com is saying it must reflect a Malay school otherwise you are biased against the religion and also the Malay culture. Who has got a warped mind?

99. #99 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:19 pm

Don’t be elusive in answering questions I put forward.

PAP government has made them official policies and was published in The Starits Times.

Sometimes, I just wonder why some people only good in criticizing wrongdoings by UMNO and totally blinded when similar unjust and unfair policies done by PAP.

100. #100 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:26 pm

AhPek Says:

Today at 23: 17.47 (2 minutes ago)
    A public institution the running of which is from taxpayer’s money should not project the culture or religious beliefs of any one component ethnic group of a multiracial and multireligious nation.School uniform of a school which is a public institution therefore must do likewise …its uniform must not reflect that it is a Malay school or a chinese school or an Indian school.
    Malaysia.com is saying it must reflect a Malay school otherwise you are biased against the religion and also the Malay culture. Who has got a warped mind?

==============================================

A loser mindset, just put your words into your mouth.

You really have difficulty to understand “double standard” for malay and sikh in Singapore?

If religious attire is not allowed in a secular school, just apply same ruling on both malay and sikh. Case closed.

101. #101 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:32 pm

bystander Says:

Today at 23: 13.47 (12 minutes ago)
    stand to be corrected. the latest according to my daughter, the religious bigot/principal of BU4 has reverse all her previous decisions ie back to status quo as before, thanks to the pressure exerted by the parents, exposure by YB LKS, the chinese press and all the comments/support made by all here. but no thanks to the timid MCA and gerakan members with their tails between their legs. hooray stand united.

=====================

That is a great news..I thought a demo may be needed to change her decision.

And also don’t mistaken such unjust policies will not happen on Malays or other races in this planet.

102. #102 by antz on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:53 pm

it seems someone is backing down…from the show i have seen here…using someone else a puppet…to support it’s claim but yet refusing to admit oneself..i have a good laugh today…a bigot will always be a bigot…loudmouth but a weak heart…that’s not the way to rule??is it??

103. #103 by U32 on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:05 am

This is not something new. The government is giving silent consent to Islamic pengetuas and pengajars to enforce Islamic practises in the educational institutions. If the refrigerator is marked Hak Milik Kerajaan, everyone will automatically knows that no non halal things should be put inside. We have come to a stage whereby each time there is some form of interaction with the government, somehow we become so extra sensitive to their Islamic beliefs because we do not want to make them sin. It must be halal. It must cover the aurat. There has to be a room for prayers if there is no surau or mosque nearby. There must be prayers before any function that is not even Islamic. Will Hishamuddin transfer these Islamic Napoleans ? No he will not. The government will not too. They are using these Islamic public servants to do their bidding and they have every intention of letting the whole world knows that Malaysia is very Islamic. Even non Islamic pengetuas are following the trend because by being obedient, they are proving themselves to be faithful servants of the government / bosses and they can be sure of great blessings from men. If the government truely wishes to follow professional working ethics, it should make sure that religion is kept separated. In fact religion is something that happens in the heart. It is no point going around looking holier than thou and yet doing more evil than thou. We can fool men. We cannot fool the big guy up there. Since the time of Mohammad, Islam is actually political because he did go to wars. Very recently, it was found out that the Muslim uprising in Southern Thailand is funded by international Islamic terrorist group. The religion teaches about jihad. In Malaysia, the Muslims try to give a nicer meaning to this word so that it is more acceptable. However people who know the word will know its’ actual meaning. May be the government’s logo should also consist of the halal logo. In this way, both the Muslims and non Muslims will try to be good Muslims. Whatever that means or does not mean.

104. #104 by necromancer4good on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:18 am

Why nobody interviews Hishamuddin about this issue and thus put him in the tight spot? Then we shall know what a racist scum he is..

105. #105 by frusmalaysian on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:45 am

malaysia.com said:

a. If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

b. The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

In the 60s, the Chinese and other races made up over 30% of the technical units, the combat support units, the Rangers infantry units and the Recce of our Army.

Their numbers started to dwindle in the 70s and continues to slide until now. I believe they now make up barely 1% of the total strength of the AF. Why? Its because of the government discriminitory polices against them on promotions, courses, recruitment etc. Do not believe the MOD when he says there is no discrimination and quota applied against the Chinese.

If this is the reality, why would the Chinese want to join the AF?
    Do not also believe that the Chinese do not want to join because: they believe that good sons do not join the army.

106. #106 by hyperventilating on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:24 am

Thanks to YB Lim KS, DAP,bloggers, Papers, and all thoses who took their time to comment on the SMK BUD4 issue, and REMEMBER those suckers who are too useless to even lift a finger…MCA, the relevant MP’s…F..k them in the coming elections. They cannot be trusted.

For the SMK BUD4 PIBG, make sure this bigot will not slowly and surely try to sneak in her stupid idealogy into the school regulations in the future. Be alert! Dont let this bigot go just like that after causing such a big turmoils, though not publicaly, at least a letter detailing her decisions in withdrawing the bans, Document the truth…at least next time she used it again…we can sent the letter straight to the papers!!!! Accumulate the bullets now!

I felt the need to relate to u guys this. I and my fellow residents were involved in a protest for TNB building a power station (the one opposite the Kelana LRT station)only 6m from our houses some years back..you know what…right on the same block of house lives a MCA lady (now datin paduka…who recently had a freak accident and recovered….she did not even lift a finger too! typical of all those MCA …”the defectors of all chinese”…she quietly sold her house and moved out! We also sort help from the MP of the area then, another MCA guy…at press conference…and to the resident disgust..he said, quote and unquote; ” as an engineer myself…the pylons are infact quiet a feat in engineering!…what happen next…he lose his position in the next election! From that day onwards…I never trusted them.

Make sure who u vote for! I would rather vote for any oppositions party instead of BN. Shame on them..Bodoh Nuthead (BN)

107. #107 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:30 am

“Headscarf is not in as headscarf is not associated with religion, more with culture with Arab culture in particular.” AhPek

That would appear to be a misperception about the ‘hijab’ today.

The practice of hijab among Muslim women is grounded in religious doctrine. Support for veiling is found in the hadith of Sahih Bukhari but the Koran does not require it.

http://www.answers.com/topic/hijab

It is true that veiling as a social practice predates Islam. But the meaning of the ‘hijab’ has changed – both for Muslims and non-Muslims. Many young Muslim women throughout the Islamic world adopt the ‘hijab’ to make a political as much as a religious statement of identity and ideological commitment.

In Iran the moral police would detain girls and women without the ‘hijab’ and Iranians are not Arabs. Islamic religious doctrine dictates how much hair should be revealed in public. The ‘hijab’ is made obligatory after the Iranian Revolution of the 70s. Turkey though predominantly Muslim has adopted a secular constitution.

108. #108 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 7:44 am

If religious attire is not allowed in a secular school, just apply same ruling on both malay and sikh. – malaysiatoday

The term hijab or veil is not used in the Qur’an to refer to an article of clothing for women or men, rather it refers to a spatial curtain that divides or provides privacy. The Qur’an instructs the male believers (Muslims) to talk to wives of Muhammad behind a hijab. This hijab was the responsibility of the men and not the wives of Muhammad. However, in later Muslim societies this instruction specific to the wives of Muhammad was generalized, leading to the segregation of the Muslim men and women. The modesty in Qur’an concerns both men’s and women’s gaze, gait, garments, and genitalia. The clothing for women involves khum?r over the necklines and jilbab (cloaks) in public so that they may be identified and not harmed. Guidelines for covering of the entire body except for the hands, the feet, and the face, are found in texts of fiqh and hadith that are developed later.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hijab

Sikh males wear the turban (which is not mandatory, it is not mentioned in their holy book, only that they keep long hair) to keep their hair neat and protect it. Otherwise they would be walking around like hippies.
    One cannot therefore equate it it to Islamic requirements, which in fact call for complete cover for the female above the neckline, hence the burqa. That is what UMNO should do -i.e. all muslim females should wear burqa instead of the half-way tudung.

109. #109 by dranony on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 8:57 am

Even amongst Muslims, there is dispute as to the “halal” status of some foods that we all believe to be halal.

See this page:
    “Halal ke tak ni?”:
    http://tinyurl.com/2p8p2l

Amongst some of the writer’s contentions which raises doubts as to the “halal” status of KFC chickens are that:
    – the men slaugterers did not perform their ‘solat subuh’ (morning prayers)
    – the chickens may have fallen into hot water before they are completely dead.
    – the chickens are “tortured” because their wings and legs are tied.
    – chickens slaughtered by women.
    – slaughtering of chickens done “too fast” ie not enough time to complete the prayer/recitation.
    – possibility that the chickens may have died of cold or suffocation.
    The writer ends by implying that those Muslims who eat the non-halal KFC may end up “in the fires of hell.”

Does this mean that even KFC is not halal enough to be brought to school?

Disclaimer: I must declare that I am only quoting what I had read in that webpage, for the sake of asking a question, and that I am in no way able to verify the veracity of the allegations on that webpage. If there is any implication of defamation, then responsibility should lie with the author of that webpage.

110. #110 by cancan on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 10:26 am

Little Napoleons – Mother of all idiots.
    Government – Advocates of all the idiots.

As usual,there is no rule of law in bolehland.

111. #111 by Colonel on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:12 am

“Disclaimer: I must declare that I am only quoting what I had read…”dranony

Don’t worry, you’re not Oprah.

112. #112 by muscaa on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:26 am

the real napoleons – samy vellu

see samy vellu in ‘gila’ comment:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3atg7bGgc7k

113. #113 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:27 am

frusmalaysian Says:

Today at 00: 45.31 (10 hours ago)
    malaysia.com said:

a. If only 2 % Chinese active in the army, are you expecting 30% generals are Chinese?

b. The fact is less than 0.2% applicants for police and military recruits are Chinese.

In the 60s, the Chinese and other races made up over 30% of the technical units, the combat support units, the Rangers infantry units and the Recce of our Army.

Their numbers started to dwindle in the 70s and continues to slide until now. I believe they now make up barely 1% of the total strength of the AF. Why? Its because of the government discriminitory polices against them on promotions, courses, recruitment etc. Do not believe the MOD when he says there is no discrimination and quota applied against the Chinese.

If this is the reality, why would the Chinese want to join the AF?
    Do not also believe that the Chinese do not want to join because: they believe that good sons do not join the army.

====

Are you in the forces to have first-hand experience b4 talking like another ah pek?

Only two Chinese, me and another one in a cadet official (for tertiary students) recruitment exercise. Other Chinese students only interested to dream of big money earning prospect after finishing their courses.

Not every one can be promoted to higher postion eithe in private or public sector.

I have two chinese friends joined Navy about same time, one was promoted to a commanding officer in Butterworht Navy base while another one is just commading officer for a small ship.

Would you call it as discrimination against the latter one? PR skill makes them apart, one is good PR while another one is suck.

MOD is more happy to see 10-15% chinese in the army compared with current pathetic percentage. 10-15% will not affecting the balance in the armed forces.

I do not deny MOD would never allow non-bumi to be a dominant element in the Malaysia armed forces. This is also true for Singapore which would never allow Malay controls their armed forces.

114. #114 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:40 am

Tickler Says

===

Karpal Singh shall be more qualified than webpage quoted by you to say turban is religous or cultural related stuff.

What Karpal said in public is turban is religious obligation for Sikhs.

You can go ask Malaysians about their perception on wearing tudung is closely related to religion or culture. Most likely the majority will say tudung is related to religious requirement.

FYI, tudong is never associated with Islam in Indonesia.

115. #115 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:03 pm

malaysiatoday you go and ask Karpal. Then come back and talk.

116. #116 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:04 pm

FYI, tudong is never associated with Islam in Indonesia.- Things are changing in indonesia also.

117. #117 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:11 pm

In the much touted Turkey `secular` state:

Islam tells women to cover heads, says head of religious affairs office
    Friday, January 18, 2008

Islam undoubtedly requires women to cover their heads, Turkey’s head of religious affairs said yesterday in a statement that coincides with the current discussions on lifting the headscarf ban in universities.

“As long as a woman says ‘I am a Muslim,’ she should cover her head,” Professor Ali Bardako?lu, president of the Religious Affairs Directorate, said in an interview with the private NTV channel.

“Discussions on the necessity of wearing headscarves or head coverings are of a legal and political nature. In religious terms, there is no doubt that they should,” he said, adding that Islamic rules, dating back centuries, are unalterable.

“Politicians may forbid or allow the wearing of headscarves,” Bardako?lu said. “It is not my duty to tell them what to do,” he added. “Whether Muslim women abide by the rule is up to their will,” Bardako?lu said, noting that the headscarf dispute can be solved with dialogue between political parties.
    http://www.turkishdailynews.com.tr/article.php?enewsid=94003

118. #118 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:21 pm

Jakarta (AsiaNews) – Women soldiers wearing headscarves could soon be commonplace in Indonesia, where a fierce debate is raging over the influence of Islamic parties on the social life the country. Especially there is concern over the rise of Islamic fundamentalism in the army, hitherto considered the guarantor of the state’s secular nature.

Indonesia’s military have been seen by the population as the main bastion of the country’s political institutions, free from all sectarian tendencies and the pillar of its multi-ethnic nature.

However, the findings of a report released in 1995 indicated that some generals where “ideologically close” to some Islamic fundamentalist groups. Ever since the issue of the islamisation of the armed forces has remained at the top of the public agenda.

The idea proposed by some Islamic media outlets to allow women soldiers to wear the Jilbab, a headscarf, has found unconditional support among some politicians. According to Hidayat Nurwahid, speaker of the People’s Consultative Assembly, “if wearing the jilbab does not interfere in one’s military work, it should not be banned. Moreover, the law says nothing on the matter; therefore, it is an open field.”
    http://www.asianews.it/index.php?l=en&art=11033&size=A

119. #119 by bystander on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 12:32 pm

ataturk is turning in his grave with erdogan in power. secularism in turkey is being dismantled resulting in turkey not admitted to europe

120. #120 by antz on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 1:32 pm

malaysia today.com
    As i wrote earlier you want the true statistic,pls e-mail to their respective ministry of defence.The minister in charge,under their government webpage..stated next to the minister in charge their respective e-mail address including minister Lee Kuan Yew.
    Do not try to state figures and numbers that is totally vague,nobody will believe you.Besides I worked long enough in S’pore to know what’s happening down there,cos I have a Malay friend whose uncle is a retired army officer.
    It’s better to have Malay friends across the causeway rather than our own Malay friends here who keep denying facts and figures..now I know after reading through your stated comments…your true identity.What a pity!

121. #121 by frusmalaysian on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:05 pm

malaysia.com

What if a person tells us that he had had rich experience in a particular field and knows what he is talking about, would’nt we blush? Peace.

122. #122 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 3:58 pm

Cubalah Ketam ajar ank dia jalan betul.

123. #123 by antz on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 4:34 pm

in the first place..why are we bothered?Just take a look at ourselves,our own house is in a mess and here there is someone trying to clean someone else house.what are we doing?
    In a blog,trying to have a kinda jostling show..

124. #124 by Tickler on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 5:52 pm

The external affects the internal.

125. #125 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:45 pm

I feel our future is bleak if Hishamuddin is to gradually become PM.
    I’m afraid we will fall into the Suharto-era Indonesia.

126. #126 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:51 pm

I have heard several personal opinions from many S’pore Malays. They do not look highly on any Malaysian political leaders or their policies.

Soooo many Johorean Chinese parents are sending their children to study in S’pore schools. Why? If cannot get a place in Chinese school here – better to study there – brighter future. No Islamisation.

You’ll just love S’pore schools. Totally open-minded. Shorts for PE, no doa, no headscraves, lion-dances & cultural clubs are OK. There are even several schools where the girl’s uniform is a sleeveless gown. The skirts are also sooo much shorter – even for Malay girls. Many teachers also wear sleeveless tops/dresses to school. It’s OK. If any of our Malaysian LMN sees that – they’ll faint!!!

127. #127 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:57 pm

In 1994, I studied in SM Teknik, JB – a premier school. Approx 15-20% of the students are Chinese. 30% teachers are non-Malays. Although the rules are fanatically tight like not even shorts, girls must wear long-sleeve T-shirts to PE. No wonder sports never flourish there.

But the Pengetua is very open-minded at that time & look only into secular disciplinary matters. Cultural events florish at that time.

10 years after, come 2004 – I met a student who says that there is only 1 (one), a single Chinese student in the whole of SMTJB!!!

Clearly, the non-Muslims/Malays are abondoning these ‘premier’ schools.

128. #128 by kwkean on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 7:51 pm

Congratulation on solving the SMK BUD4 issue. Thanks to all those who participated in that issue to silence down the racist HM. Please keep on monitoring her as we will never know when she will ‘mengamuk’ again after election period is over.

As for the non-halal food issue, this is not a new issue as it was normal during my schooling days in the 90s. If our parents were strong enough to voice their complaint at that time, my schooling days will be more meaningful. Please don’t not keep quiet, as a victim I know the damage it can do to you when you grow up later on.

I still remember how a Penolong Pengetua, THREATEN me and my classmate for NOT donating to built the school ‘dewan’. At that time, only my class alone is boycotting this event. For more then 15 years, the school had try to collect money to built a hall yet most of us wonder, why we need more then 15 years of effort to built a school hall? Is there something wrong? Hence, we decide not to donate since it was a donation, NOT a compulsory payment.

Yet one day, the Penolong Pengetua came to my class, threaten us and said “If you DO NOT DONATE (RM 10 at that time), the school will NOT allow you to take your SPM exam!” Yeah, those are the exact words coming out of a Penolong Pengetua’s mouth. However the shocking part is, no one file a complaint about it, not even my parents and we are force to ‘donate’ in the end. From that day onwards, that event change my perspective about donation and I hardly made any donation again after I enter working life.

Well, it happen in my secondary school, SMK Taman SEA, the school near Taman Bahagia LRT Station. After I left, the hall pop up suddenly out of no where after a new HM took over from the previous one. I wonder how much money those jerks took from our 15 years of donation effort.

129. #129 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 9:19 pm

No point overdoing things. Why so much emphasis on Islam when Malaysia is a multi-racial nation? So as it is AAB has declared Malaysia as an Islamic state, what does that prove? As I have written in my previous blogs, if at all Malaysia is an Islamic state, then what are non-Muslim political parties doing in BN? Shouldn’t the government be made up of only Muslims? Are these people from non-Muslim political parties halal? And what is PAS doing as an opposition party? What is PAS opposing to? Opposing Islam? Truly a contradiction to AAB declaration.

In admitting Malaysia to be an Islamic state, AAB should immediately:

1. Kick out all non-Muslim political parties including MCA, MIC, PPP, etc. so as to reflect its Islamic status.

2. Invite PAS to join the government as it is a truly Islamic based political party and share the rule of this nation.