Samy Vellu jinx in blogosphere – how to exorcise it?

A thread with a title but no content has attracted 95 comments in the past 31 hours. Quite Amazing.

Undergrad is not the only person to think that I had deliberately left the thread blank to provoke comments.

But I did not. I had been struggling for the past 33 hours to upload my media comments in Sungai Siput during the second stop of my 2-day 14-place whistlestop campaign of Perak state over the weekend to spread the important campaign theme of “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” for the next general election. But I had been stumped by the Samy Vellu jinx in the blogosphere.

Yesterday (Sunday 13.1.08) morning. After my failed attempts to upload the thread “Will Samy Vellu contest against in Sungei Siput” – my media comments in Sungai Siput on Saturday, 12.108 at 11 am – I decided to upload the title first, to be followed by the body of the thread.

The title was successfully uploaded, but there was no way I could upload the statement proper. I enlisted the help of Chong Zhemin to post the Sungei Siput statement from London after reading his exchange with Undergrad, another tried to post it from the Antipodes, but all to no avail.

I tried all sorts of ways – uploading as blog, inserting it in the comment box and even to “tumpang” on other posts – but all efforts could not overcome the Samy Vellu jinx.

When I again tried to “tumpang”, this time Jeffrey’s post at 6.13.02 am, I had some success. Learning from previous failures, I tried three paras at first, then I have to cut it down to two paras, then one para, then finally half a para (i.e. one sentence) – with the Samy Vellu jinx increasingly upping its ante.

Then with five paras left to go, the Samy Vellu jinx downed tools and refused to budge – and I was completely stumped again.

Coincidentally, without any prior knowledge, Zhemin was trying to outwiit the WP from London but he only succeeded in posting half the statement with seven paras still dangling in cyberspace.

I was surprised that I could upload a new blog, “Call to all political parties to make ‘Good Cops, Safe Malaysia’ common general election theme” at 10.17 am, but when I tried to upload the Sungei Siput statement, the Samy Vellu jinx was there to foil it.

This happened after I had uploaded the latest blog on the murder of politicians at 4.32 p.m. I again tried to upload the Sungei Siput statement – but no, the Samy Vellu jinx in the blogsphere is still alive and potent.

Can anyone exorcise this Samy Vellu jinx in the blogosphere?

1. #1 by disapointed86 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 6:30 pm

Uncle Kit,
    You mean someone is blocking the post is it?? Since you said that only Sami vellu jinx cannot be posted on the blog? and you don have problem with others…sry i dont know much how a blog goes..

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 7:06 pm

Samy Vellu jinx in blogosphere…. will Samy Vellu also be jinxed in Sungai Siput and lose his deposit in the elections?

3. #3 by Saint on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 7:16 pm

No need Kit, let it be. He is a jinx for all us Indians.
    Let us not waste good space on this man.
    Enough has been said about him.
    Let us just through him out where ever he contests.

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 7:23 pm

Samy can try this charm:

“Round about the cauldron go;
    In the poisoned entrails throw.
    Toad, that under cold stone
    Days and nights has thirty-one
    Sweltered venom sleeping got,
    Boil thou first i’ th’ charmed pot.

Double, double toil and trouble;
    Fire burn, and cauldron bubble.

Fillet of a fenny snake,
    In the cauldron boil and bake;
    Eye of newt and toe of frog,
    Wool of bat and tongue of dog,
    Adder’s fork and blind-worm’s sting,
    Lizard’s leg and howlet’s wing,
    For a charm of powerful trouble,
    Like a hell-broth boil and bubble.

Fire burn and cauldron bubble.

Scale of dragon, tooth of wolf,
    Witches’ mummy, maw and gulf
    Of the ravined salt-sea shark,
    Root of hemlock digged i’ th’ dark,
    Liver of blaspheming Jew,
    Gall of goat, and slips of yew
    Slivered in the moon’s eclipse,
    Nose of Turk and Tartar’s lips,
    Finger of birth-strangled babe
    Ditch-delivered by a drab,
    Make the gruel thick and slab.
    Add thereto a tiger’s chaudron,
    For th’ ingredience of our cauldron.

Fire burn and cauldron bubble.

Cool it with a baboon’s blood,
    Then the charm is firm and good.

O well done, Samy! I commend your pains;
    And every one shall share i’ th’ gains;
    And now about the cauldron sing,
    Live elves and fairies in a ring,
    Enchanting all that you put in.

(Courtesy of the Witches of 16th Century England)

5. #5 by oknyua on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 7:48 pm

YB Lim, you paid the toll or not?

6. #6 by Chong Zhemin on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 8:14 pm

Uncle kit,

That’s really weird. I couldnt explain how that happened. I initially tried to post the whole media statement in one comment but failed. Then for like almost 8 hours, I wasnt able to view your blog(using my laptop).

I then send it to my friend asking for her help. She said it might be due to the length of the comments and asked me to break it into two comments. She also jokingly told me that your blog “might be” hacked and Samy’s IT gang put a hold on everyone who tried to post the media statement.

As I still couldn’t access your bog during that time, I realised that I could still browse your blog using my pda. That half media statement was posted using my pda. I wasnt able to post the remaining media statement. After a few tries, even my pda couldn’t view your blog. I am not the only one facing this problem. A few of my friends experienced this as well – after a few attempts of posting comments being rejected, they were unable to view your blog as well.

I guess you still couldn’t solve that thread right now. I would suggest that – just leave it there, let it be a unique and special post in your blog. You can also let Teresa or Tony blog the media statement and provide a link in that thread. Anyways, glad that your blog is back to normal now(except the samy thread). Hope you get this problem solved ASAP. We desperately need this blog to disseminate info during GE.

7. #7 by Edchin on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 8:30 pm

I hope my hunch is wrong but this ‘mystery’ might be a common thing in the tense days leading up to GE.

8. #8 by mauriyaII on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 8:38 pm

Has this jinx got anything to do with his recent visit to the land of the software gurus? Hacking is part of software development.

9. #9 by alvinkhng on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

since his name is jinx
    you might try omitting his name altogether
    and use a well known pseudo instead
    only after your post is uploaded
    then you clarify that it refers to him

10. #10 by toyolbuster on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 9:30 pm

Indian black-magic is very powerful. His recent trip to India may have something to do with it. UMNO guys use Bomoh extensively, remember Mona/Mazlan case. Indian gurus are really something. Don’t play play. In cyberspace, Samy cannot apply gangsterism, so another form of underworld treatment have proven just as deadly.

11. #11 by U32 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 9:54 pm

Somebody asked you if you have paid the toll. You have to pay many people. The servers, the browzers, the search engines. Investigate who are the internet users who work for Barisan Nasional. Or may be certain words which you use will just cause you unable to post. Remember the other day I was saying that there is Google Malaysia, there is Yahoo Malaysia, there is MSN Malaysia and others which mean that these computer / internet geniuses are working for the government. Don’t think that just because the fellow is in U.S.A. or U.K. or Australia, he / she cannot do anything to upset your website.

12. #12 by oknyua on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 9:55 pm

Toyolbuster, I thought your name was good enough?

Anyway, I have a personal friend staying in Shah Alam. He used to team up with Samy feeding eggs to the snakes in a temple every Friday. Maybe some of our friends of Indian descent can enlighten us?

13. #13 by Tickler on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:09 pm

I too heard he`s been with the Dark Forces for a long time now. This is interesting:

The terms Left-Hand Path and Right-Hand Path refer to a dichotomy between two opposing belief systems, whose meanings have varied over time.

Modern definitions of “Right-Hand Path” elevate spirituality, the strict observance of moral codes, and the worship of deities. The intent of “Right-Hand Path” belief systems is to attain proximity to divinity, or integration with divinity.

Conversely, “Left-Hand Path” belief systems value the advancement and preservation of the self, glorification of more temporal and terrestrial goals, and personal power rather than ephemeral spiritual attainments.

Rather than valuing proximity to the divine, followers of Left-Hand Path belief systems seek to “become divinities” in their own right.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Left-Hand_Path_and_Right-Hand_Path

14. #14 by Libra2 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:27 pm

I switch on my computer at about 7.00am and switch it off at about midnight since I have to use my MSN and Skype to communicate with my two children who are in Europe and US.
    Every now and then I drop by at this blog, Malaysia Today, Screen shots, Ronnie’s blog. I drop by Kits blog almost 20 times a day and had no problems accessing this blog – not even once.
    I am curious as a cat to read what Kit has written about Samy and Sungai Siput.
    I hope he gets it posted on Ronnie’s or Teresa’s blog and give us the link here. Or repost it and give it a another Caption.

15. #15 by Chong Zhemin on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:01 pm

Libra2,

I took the liberty of posting te media statement in my blog here. You can check this out for the time being.

http://malaysianpolitics.com/?p=130

As for the problem of accessing the blog. This only happens to users that tried to post comments but got rejected. After a few rejections, you will not be able to view this blog. If your comments weren’t rejected, youu will have no problem of accessing this blog. Just my guess, not sure how true it is.

16. #16 by Chong Zhemin on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:14 pm

Here’s another link from DAP website to read the media statement – Will Samy Vellu recontest in Sungai Siput again?

http://dapmalaysia.org/english/2008/jan08/lks/lks4715.htm

Hope this helps.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 12:29 am

Now who says it’s better to trust the Devil you know than the Devil you don’t know?

18. #18 by zack on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 1:48 am

Composite: 1507.04 (-9.18) -0.61%
    Industrial: 3135.81 (-41.99) -1.32%

Volume: 10485573 lots
    Gainers: 232
    Losers: 645
    Unchanged: 235

19. #19 by zack on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 1:49 am

DAP is anti-MIC … anti-Indian

20. #20 by sean on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 2:23 am

Well……….Samy might just be another”Chen Shui Bian” in which DPP los badly in the latest election.It will definately be the same and it is because of him MIC will lose badly this time around.But the reality is that after the “defeat” in the 12th GE……….MIC might find themself to be redundant.Better step down while you still have a chance.Sammy!!Go get your Tun for goodness sake.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 3:09 am

“Are MIC leaders trying to find a way to convey and convince Samy Vellu that the best service he can do to the MIC after being the MIC President and sole Malaysian Indian Minister for close to three decades is for him …..(not to contest in this MIC stronghold, Sg. Siput)” KIT

That depends partly on the UMNO leadership’s perception of the political situation facing BN post-hindraf.

Would throwing Samy Vellu into the deep end of the pool serve to appease the Indians who think that it is time something is done to stop their continued marginalization? I think not – especially when he could emerge winner in Sg. Siput as he always did.

Help trigger a leadership crisis within the MIC if there isn’t one yet, and let them decide? Could such house cleaning do the job?

But whatever happens to Samy Vellu, it is unlikely to appease the supporters of hindraf who want him not just gone but for UMNO to acknowledge that their continued marginalization is unacceptable.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 5:28 am

You mean how to exorcise the Samy Vellu jinx in politicosphere?

The coming elections will be the defining moment.

To many detractors of the BN government – the disgruntled Non Malays in particular who feel and are marginalised – their mood is buoyant. They feel that the Opposition will definitely make substantial inroads (5o or more parliamentary seats being not impossible), and BN cannot repeat its last performance. Some of the more optimistic are thinking that depriving BN the 2/3 majority is also within striking distance. They feel that Samy Vellu is a personification of many non Malay leaders within the BN power sharing power arrangement (whether MCA, Gerakan, PPP & the rest) who have outlived their political shelf life, exposed and demystified as regards to their pretensions in the last 50 years of representing their respective communal interests via equitable power sharing arrangement when in fact they have been kow towing to big brother UMNO and acquiescing with its racial and religious hegemonic policies. And they feel that now more than ever these non Malay leaders will face the wrath and be made accountable with many being booted out. And they feel that then UMNO will learn the lesson and be more moderate and tolerant to promote the pluralistic Malaysian agenda than intensifying the narrow communal one. Will all these calculations come true, will UMNO take heed, at least for the sake of keeping up the pretension of power sharing arrangement with component parties and legitimising its image of leading a coalition representing a diverse and pluralistic citizenry, as it has done in last 50 years?

Well, certainly some of the moderates and old guards within UMNO. Eg Agro-based Industry Minister and Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was reported in NST 2007/11/11 as saying, “although Umno is the dominant party, the Malay leadership in Umno is willing to share the power of governance based on power sharing. If a formula has been successful for the last 50 years and has resulted in a modern, stable and harmonious nation, I don’t see why that formula should be abandoned.” Those within the ruling party who subscribe to status quo would be Ok to retain Samy Vellu or the other metaphors thereof.

But there is, as always, a continuous power struggle that is going on within the ruling party. There is growing faction of what may be described as a right-wing ethno-nationalists challenging the so called “moderates” within the party. These are not bothered with the likes of Samy Vellu or his metaphors, whether they have a safe seat to contest, and whether they can deliver the requisite non malay seats to the BN so that the BN can have a comfort zone way above its traditional 2/3 majority. In fact, this group have already acepted and discounted the fact that non Malay support for BN has gone below 50% and may not be able to deliver the votes if the general election is held within the next month or so. These are the people who believe that they still have 70% or more of Malay votes, and in the future, more and more because of this phenomenon better expressed by Farish A. Noor in “The Other Malaysia” in these terms : “The demographic increase of the Malay-Muslim community, coupled with the steady stream of outward immigration on the part on the other communities, has radically altered the racial balance of the country to the point where many of us – including politicians and pundits alike – speak of the ‘growing Malay bloc’ as if it was a solid, homogenous entity”. Spokesmen of this group are not even interested in pretension of traditional power sharing. They don’t care if the likes of Samy Vellu or PPP’s M. Kayveas has a seat; and they don’t care if UMNO divests its other junior partners or that they temporarily lose 2/3 majority. (After all one only needs 2/3 majority to effect certain important constitutional amendments, and these constitutional amendments have already been long effected. Even with a majority not amounting to 2/3 majority UMNO could rule exclusively, there being no need for any form of power sharing and accomodation of others. They just need a poorer performance on the part of BN this time around relative to the last time, 92% mandate, as an excuse and justification to edge Pak Lah and those relatively “moderate” around him to exit from power and make way for this new group to bring in this new paradigm of Malysian politics, with no particular concern for power sharing on UMNO’s part.

To this group, the coming election too is a defining moment. Ironically this group and the marginalised groups at the other end ofv the political continuum are eagerly looking at the coming elections with bouyancy of hope but based on an entirely diametrically opposed political paradigm and premise. :)

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 5:47 am

“Although Umno is the dominant party, the Malay leadership in Umno is willing to share the power of governance based on power sharing. If a formula has been successful for the last 50 years and has resulted in a modern, stable and harmonious nation, I don’t see why that formula should be abandoned.” Muhyiddin Yassin as per NST 2007/11/11

When it ain’t broken, why do anything to change it? Yes, who can argue with that?

Except it is not working anymore. The Alliance experimented with the intercommunal electoral alliance in the country’s first municipal elections in 1954 and found it worked and used the same format to contest general elections ever since, and now some five decades later it is in need of a total revamp. Whilst it is true that the formula delivered votes, it has been at a cost in terms of national unity and national integration. Any cost and benefit analysis will have to make allowance for the dynamics of changing priorities.

24. #24 by Malaysian on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 6:36 am

“Although Umno is the dominant party, the Malay leadership in Umno is willing to share the power of governance based on power sharing…” Muhyiddin Yassin as per NST 2007/11/11
    I remember reading this statement elsewhere in this blog also by posting in “allah” section also.

After given some thought, my opinion is:
    1. This is based on logic that i can do this(don’t share any power), but i will not do it.
    If you go out to the street, there are many things that you can do, but you just wouldn’t want to do it. Because either:
    (1)you would want to weigh the consequences and whether it is in the best interest for you to do so. (i.e.) there is still value for not doing so. or;
    (2)you are morally very high standard and very gentleman.
    Based on events that unfold since 1969 till todate. I do not believe in reason(2). [I am not saying every one in UMNO is bad, just that my perception is that the spoilt eggs are more than good eggs in the basket at this point of time]

2. So why not take all(100%) the power away? This is only at best in theory, because it is better to hv some puppet control by yourself than doing the extreme.
    Because there is still value in not doing so:
    (1)they still needs other people support for 2/3 majority (at least at this point of time). I still remember many seats could have been lost on one of the election if not because of Chinese voter vote for BN. So there is still VALUE to share out “some power”.
    Assuming one would want to hv 100% power, this would be the possible consequences (at least at this point of time):
    (a)you could hv all the material gain (in short term) at the expense of your own dignity, character as perceived by anyone else.
    (b)foreign fund will go out. Because if you cannot take care of your own malaysian well, how would they expect you to take care of their interests in malaysia? So economy will hurt.

3. “willing to share the power of governance”: yes, the whole juicy chicken also got a lot of bones left for you to chew.

25. #25 by Malaysian on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 6:45 am

“If a formula has been successful for the last 50 years and has resulted in a modern, stable and harmonious nation, I don’t see why that formula should be abandoned.”

On this statement and also why we were hit not that bad in 1997 by closing the door off to outside.
    The reason is I think:
    We still got plenty of natural (free) resources to waste. This project failed, no problem got plenty of oil money (and also tax payer money).

Once all these worn off, the real test will only come. In the past 10 yrs mahatir able to sustain the economy by spending and spending (with lots of wastage) until todate, we end up with budget deficit. How much more mega project (with wastage) can we sustain?

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 7:17 am

Malaysian, I do not understand what you are talking about.

The formula he was referring to was the coalition formula which started as UMNO-MCA-MIC contesting seats under one banner, agreeing who among the UMNO leaders should stand where and how many, who among the MCA should stand in which constituency etc.

Then after winning the elections the coalition leadership decides who should be given which ministerial portfolio.

That is what he was referring to. It is an informal power sharing agreement between components parties of the national coalition.

27. #27 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 7:57 am

Referring to the state of media freedom under the Abdullah administration, Mahathir writes that news in the mainstream media is “so censored and spun by spin doctors that the prime minister cannot possibly know the feelings and frustrations of the majority of the people … fortunately for the government, Malaysians abhor violence when expressing their anger”.

He then notes: “So things must become much worse before they would show their (people’s) true feelings in any way. In the meantime, the sycophants will continue to enjoy their day. Poor Malaysia!”.
    http://malaysianindiantoday.wordpress.com/2008/01/14/dr-m-slams-pms-sycophants-in-new-book/

28. #28 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:02 am

Samy Vellu is where he has been NOT because he has been the best person all this time or because there was no one to replace him. What he has done is made it structurally painful to replace him much as UMNO has made it the same for themselves.

Samy Vellu is ‘taiko’ or Big Boss. Taiko either voluntarily retire or there is a coup. There is no such thing as peacefully contested replacement.

No matter how you look at it, those who wish for order and improvement at the same time is asking for the cake and eat it too.

29. #29 by Thegame on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:18 am

Hi Jeffrey ….that a good piece of work.This is what we need not ppl bashing.Its very immature and self destructive.We need more mature ppl to give their input……thanks jeffrey

30. #30 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:25 am

JOHOR BAHARU, Jan 14 (Bernama) — An aide to Johor MIC chairman Datuk K.S. Balakrishnan was detained today to help in the investigation into the murder of Tenggaroh State Assemblyman Datuk S.Krishnasamy.

Balakrishnan, when contacted, confirmed that the aide was picked up this morning.

“He was detained to help in the police investigation into the case,” said Balakrishnan, who is chairman of the State Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Committee.

Meanwhile, it is learnt that an employee of Krishnasamy has also been detained to help in the investigation.

Krishnasamy, who was also Johor MIC deputy chairman, was shot dead on Friday in a lift at the Johor MIC headquarters as he arrived for a meeting.

— BERNAMA

31. #31 by Malaysian on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:32 am

i was referring to
    “modern, stable and harmonious nation”
    more specifically on “modern” part.
    i.e. more on economics part.

as for “harmonious”, “stable”
    i guess is on surface only.
    Suppression temporarily will fix it.

32. #32 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 8:32 am

In giving the BN a run for its money, and to garner the huge voting bloc of civil servants, the Govt.-In-Waiting (currently the `opposition`) should in its economic agenda propose that if it were to form the new Govt., then all first time owners of houses will have their monthly housing repayments income tax exempted.

33. #33 by scorpian6666 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:21 am

YB,
    Copy the content and Delete the original document and paste to a new one.
    Wild guess, but hope it help

34. #34 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:46 am

By right, the pulse of the nation could be felt in the pages on the newspapers.
    The government, being deaf in both ears and blind in both eyes and with a heart of stone, is unable to feel what the people feel. They are so divorced from the citizenry. The government does NOT know how much it is disliked!!!
    From my everyday conversation with Chinese, Indians and Malays, I can see that the dissatisfaction with the government is intense, unlike what I have seen and heard on the eve of the seven general elections.
    Semangat 46 and Keadilan split the Malays in 1990 and 1999 respectively. But this time around, the split is evident among all three races, most prominent among the Indians.

Shakespeare said “There is tide in the affairs of men…”
    I say , there is tide in the affairs of BN and the tide is at its lowest.
    Will the Opposition make the best of this situation?

35. #35 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:47 am

The guy’s skin is so thick that nothing we say here can affect him in any way. I am willing to bet that he will contest in Sg Siput, and the UMNO machinery will be supporting him in full might (including the green packets and the sewing machines). On a worst case basis, even if Semi loses in Sg Siput, he will be made a senator so that he can continue to lead the MIC and, more importantly, that he can continue to be a debt collector for UMNO.

36. #36 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:47 am

Correction: The first sentence above should read :
    By right, the pulse of the nation should be felt in the pages on the newspapers, but isn’t.

37. #37 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 9:51 am

Mon, Jan 14 11:11 AM

Kuala Lumpur, Jan 14 (IANS) Malaysian Indian leader S. Subramaniam has urged the government to review its policy of restricting employment of Hindu and Sikh priests from India, saying it is not easy to train them locally.

Subramaniam, a former deputy president of the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC), said it was difficult to get locally trained Hindu priests because they lacked knowledge of Sanskrit, were not experienced in performing rituals and were not vegetarians or teetotallers.

Moreover, the salary offered is low. Priests get only about Ringgit 500 (about $160) per month.

38. #38 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 10:07 am

If I were one of the orang asli living in that settlement and saw what the government had done to my church I would not be easily pacified either. No replacement building other than a church is going to pacify me! What good is a multi-purpose hall when what villagers there need is a church?

I hope the civil suit by the villagers which is slated for mention tomorrow in the Kota Baru High Court, will proceed till justice is done.

No group of people in Malaysia, be they Hindus or Christians or of whatever faith, has to put up with the demolition of their houses of worship.
    http://puteri.us/2008/01/14/church-demolition-suit/

39. #39 by Short-sleeve on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 10:53 am

I looooooooooooooooooooooooooooove Samy Veeeeeeeeeeellu

40. #40 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 11:04 am

Haha. So does his wife. Now there`s competition.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 11:47 am

The wind of change had swept through TAIWAN!
    The voters there had used their votes to start a political tsunami in order to change and determine their political fate.
    They used their votes (brooms) to sweep, sweep, sweep – out go rubbish, crooked, corrupted, and self-enriching politicians.

Are voters in Malaysia ready to claim back their rights and to chart their political fate?

Will voters punish BN candidates?

Or will voters in Malaysia remain as pathetic talking machines or broken records – talk, talk, talk, and complain, complain, complain – but no action (NATO) to vote out BN come the next GE?!

42. #42 by ChinNA on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 11:53 am

my question still remains… on voting out the BN: the viable alternative needs to be seen, not just present.

comments?

43. #43 by scorpian6666 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 12:06 pm

Jeffrey Says:

To many detractors of the BN government – the disgruntled Non Malays in particular who feel and are marginalised – their mood is buoyant. They feel that the Opposition will definitely make
    substantial inroads
    —————–
    “Detractors of the BN government”
    Do you mean “the disgruntled Non-Malays in particular who FEEL they are marginalized” ? Please elaborate, are you suggesting all these marginalization stuff just a feeling of discontent, perhaps
    If they’re just feeling it, they should rightly be classed as detractors, but not if “marginalization” does take place in Malaysia under the BN rule.
    Please how do you term just to name one since samy is the subject here, the Hindu Temple DEmolishion ?

Do I take it for grant you also likely FEEL we don’t need to change the current government or is it a call for the opposition to emulate the “FORMULA” you FEEL is successful in the following quote:

“although Umno is the dominant party, the Malay leadership in Umno is willing to share the power of governance based on power sharing. If a formula has been successful for the last 50 years and has resulted in a modern, stable and harmonious nation, I don’t see why that formula should be abandoned.”
    ——–
    Please comment on why with more resources we not as good as SINGAPORE just next door. Perhaps you are easy to be pleased. Maybe you feel Singapore is nothing more than a castle in the air.

I hope you will progress to stop this sort of feeling that the others are just feeling it…. no they are making calculated moves!

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 1:18 pm

To : scorpian6666

1. The operative words that you picked on are “ the disgruntled Non Malays in particular who feel AND ARE marginalized” meaning it is DISJUNCTIVE – who (1) feel AND (2) are marginalized, meaning further I have not suggested that it is not “just feeling” as “if “marginalization” does take place in Malaysia under the BN rule” said by you….

2. “although Umno is the dominant party, the Malay leadership in Umno is willing to share the power of governance based on power sharing. If a formula has been successful for the last 50 years and has resulted in a modern, stable and harmonious nation, I don’t see why that formula should be abandoned” was merely my quote of what Agro-based Industry Minister and Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was reported for having said in NST 2007/11/11.

Why do you take for granted that my quote of what Muhyiddin Yassin was suggestive that I felt “we don’t need to change the current government” or was a “call for the opposition to emulate the “FORMULA” that, according to you, I supposedly feel is successful?

Do you have a basis to say that I implied that? I quoted Muhyiddin Yassin to merely explain that within UMNO there are two factions, one still talking about power sharing arrangement with other component parties whilst the other faction is not bothered, wanting UMNO to go alone if needs be.

3. Regarding “please comment on why with more resources we not as good as SINGAPORE just next door. Perhaps you are easy to be pleased. Maybe you feel Singapore is nothing more than a castle in the air”, well I did not mention in my earlier posting anything about Singapore (for any inference to reasonably arise in context to say that I am either “easy to be pleased” or maybe I feel “Singapore is nothing more than a castle in the air”. And, at this moment, the question of “why with more resources we not as good as SINGAPORE “ is out of topic of this blog thread and does not arise.……

45. #45 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 1:23 pm

Sorry, Correction of sentence error in 1 which should be : “meaning further I have not suggested that it is “just feeling” as “if “marginalization” does not take place in Malaysia under the BN rule”….

46. #46 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 2:44 pm

We may have more resources than Singapore, but we do not know how to treasure them and use them to the advantage of all in the nation.

As far as human resource is concerned, we very generously give away our human resource to any country that wants our people, especially talented and hard-working people.

Regarding Indian Malaysians, Samy Vellu said yesterday: Malaysian Indians must unite for the good of everyone because it is the key to their future. He wants to represent all of them. How nice of him.

“When we speak with one voice, we will achieve our goals. When we act with one determination, nothing can stop us from fulfilling our dreams.”

47. #47 by scorpian6666 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 3:12 pm

sorry Jeffrey I do owe you an apology … but I do wish you would make your comments simple so simple people like me could understand what the hell is your point is all about.
    The Singapore stuff is to rebut the quote of malaysia being modern.

48. #48 by Tickler on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 4:59 pm

Kuala Lumpur, Jan 14 (IANS) The Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) has denied the charge that its chief S. Samy Vellu and his family members were involved in a conspiracy leading to the gunning down of party leader S. Krishnasamy.
    http://mangalorean.com/news.php?newstype=local&newsid=63856