Call to all political parties to make “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” common general election theme

During the weekend, together with Perak DAP State leaders, including Perak DAP State Chairman and State Assemblyman for Sitiawan, Ngeh Koo Ham, DAP National Vice Chairman and MP for Ipoh Barat, M. Kula Segaran, DAP Perak State Assemby representatives, Su Keong Siong (Pasir Pinji), Seah Leong Peng (Pasir Bedamar), Keong Meng Seng (Menglembu), Chen Fook Chye (Keranji), Hee Yit Fong (Jlapang), I made a hectic and grueling two-day 14-place whistle-stop campaign of Perak state to launch “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” as a top campaign theme in the next general election expected to be held within 60 days.

I found great resonance and support from Malaysians regardless of race, religion, gender or age to this campaign theme as it struck a deep chord among all Malaysians who have never felt more unsafe for themselves and their loved ones in the nation’s 50-year history.

All Malaysians and political parties must regard the breakdown of law and order and the endemic crime situation in the country as having reached crisis proportion – where Malaysians have lost the twin fundamental liberties to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

Everyday, Malaysians live in fear about the safety of themselves and their loved ones, whether in the streets, public places or even in the privacy of their homes.

The gravity of the crime and law-and-order crisis in the country was further driven home by the latest crime statistics released by the police on Wednesday, with the Prime Minister and Internal Security Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi confessing that he was “worried” about the rising crime index.

Abdullah pointed out that the number of serious crimes increased by 13.36 per cent nationwide last year, jumping from 44,016 cases in 2006 to 49,897 in 2006, with gang robbery without use of firearms galloping by more than 159 per cent.

Further study of the crime statistics show a very grave picture of the endemic crime and breakdown of law-and-order situation in the country in the four years of Abdullah’s premiership.

Violent Crime

Offences 2003 2007 +/- %

Total 22,790 49,897 27,107 119

Gang 1,920 7,067 5,147 268
Robbery
Without
Firearms

Rape 1,471 3,177 1,706 116

Thus, although serious crimes have shot up by 13.4 per cent last year as compared to the previous year, they have shot up by 119%, with gang robbery without firearms leaping by 268% and rape by 116% in the four years of Abdullah premiership from 2003 to 2007!

In the past four years, the incidence of rape had more than doubled from a daily average of four women raped a day in 2003 to 8.5 cases last year!

It must be regarded as a national scandal and outrage, which is totally unacceptable by all Malaysians, that the crime index had crashed through the 200,000 barrier in 2007 to 224,298 cases – when the Royal Police Commission had said in its report in 2005 that the crime index of 156,455 cases of crime for 2004 “seriously dented Malaysia’s reputation as a safe country” and recommended an immediate reduction of the crime index by 20 per cent in the next 12 months.

Instead of lower crime rate, the crime index had soared to reach endemic proportions, with total crime index rising by 45%, violent crime shooting up by 119%, gang robbery without firearms leaping by 268% and rape hiking by 116% in the four years of Abdullah premiership from 2003 to 2007!

The Prime Minister has made a personal plea to the abductor to free five-year-old Sharlinie Mohd Nashar and return her immediately and safely to her family as everyone is praying that she would not meet with the fate of eight-year-old Nurin Jazlin Jazimin who was abducted, raped and murdered with her body subsequently abandoned in a sports bag near where Sharlinie went missing in Taman Medan, Petaling Jaya.

All Malaysians fully support the Prime Minister’s call as the Malaysian society has become very sick and rotten despite all the surface progress, prosperity and piety that such dastardly crimes involving innocent children have become the nightmare of parents.

However, while in full agreement with and understanding the sentiments prompting the Prime Minister’s plea to the abductor to free Sharlinie unharmed, Abdullah’s plea nonetheless raised legitimate public policy questions as to whether it reflected a serious breakdown of law-and-order and a failure by the government and the police to achieve the three core policing objectives set by the Royal Police Commission, the chief of which is to keep crime low!

If Malaysia is to have an efficient, competent and professional world-class police force, it must be able to strike fear among the criminals. The spectacle of the Prime Minister, who is also Internal Security Minister responsible for the police force, issuing a plea to the abductor of Sharlinie to be merciful and free her immediately, reinforces the stereotype impression that in Malaysia it is the Police and government who are in fear of the criminals when it should be the other way round.

Malaysia cannot continue to allow a situation where criminals and gangsters have an upper hand – with serious allegations of gangland control of the police left unrebutted or challenged – while ordinary Malaysians, regardless of race, religion, gender or age, are deprived of their two fundamental rights to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

It is for this reason that the DAP has decided to create Malaysian political and electoral history by making low crime and law-and-order a top election issue, which has never been the case in the past 11 general elections.

However, I call on all political parties to adopt “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” as the common top campaign theme in the forthcoming general election for two reasons:

• Malaysians have never been more worried about personal safety and property security today as compared to any period in the past 50 years or even in the past four years of the Abdullah premiership; and

• The right to personal safety and life is the mother of all human rights without which it is pointless to talk about development, progress, prosperity or even all the other human rights – for without life, all other human rights cease to have meaning.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:36 am

This is a good idea. Yesterday, 6.00am Sunday morning. A 20+ young Chinese man, who with the exception of the parang he was holding could look like any executive in an office, broke into my neighbour’s home while they were just waking up. He attempted to break into the main bedroom even as the wife heard him, and locked the door. When she started to scream, the robber jumped into an honda with an accomplice and drove off.

Crime in this country no longer have a common face either on the perpetrator or the victim. I would not be surprise to read that graduates of our universities would be resorting to all sort of non-white-collar crimes.

There is another theme perhaps that DAP can appeal to which is rising prices, stagnant income. Its a complain among everyone you can imagine. Some of those most vocal word surprise you. I met this Malay housewife, who lives in a bungalow, whose husband bought her a Mercedes Benz a couple of years ago complaining about the price of cooking oil!!!!

2. #2 by yellowkingdom on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:37 am

I fully support YB Kit’s “GOod Cop, Safe Malaysia” election theme. I look forward to the continuous effort to ensure that the full IPCMC 125 recommendations were implemented soonest possible. Let us ALL reject and put on record our disgust at the watered-down bill to hoodwink Malaysians, in general.

3. #3 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:38 am

Malaysian police is the laughing stock of the world. Period.

4. #4 by k1980 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:47 am

Mr pm/finance/internal security minister, please wake up…
    Have you seen the old man
    In the closed-down market
    Kicking up the paper,
    with his worn out shoes?
    In his eyes you see no pride
    And held loosely at his side
    Yesterday’s paper telling yesterday’s news

So how can you tell me you’re lonely,
    And say for you that the sun don’t shine?
    Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of KL
    I’ll show you something to make you change your mind

Have you seen the old girl
    Who walks the streets of KL
    Dirt in her hair and her clothes in rags?
    She’s no time for talking,
    She just keeps right on walking
    Carrying her home in two carrier bags.

http://www.moonshadow.es/2007/06/30/streets-of-London/

5. #5 by melurian on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:51 am

“The Prime Minister has made a personal plea to the abductor” ….

i wish aab made personal plea to all malaysians to double (or tripple) effort to find the abductor instead. why that stupid aab made personal plea to abductor, is he going to grant amnesty to him! if his personal plea is so great that can subdue the abductor, we can dismiss all the police (except police deal with demo, hindraf, sb) since the police is no match with aab personal plea. and it will be better if pm makes personal plea to all rapist, snatch thief, hitmen, drug traficker, etc etc….

6. #6 by Anba on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:59 am

Uncle Lim,
    Good Cops, Safe Malaysia’s slogan and your efforts with other DAP leaders is highly appreciated.
    Besides that, I believe that DAP needs to really give an ultimatum to the government to publish the results of the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission to create an efficient, accountable, incorruptible, professional world-class police service service to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and uphold human rights.
    You mentioned that ” It is four years since the establishment of the Royal Police Commission and more than 30 months since the publication of the Commission Report and its 125 recommendations to create a world-class police service in Malaysia.”. What on earth is happening to the ‘sweet promises’ from Pak Lah? Is it simply a ‘syok-syok’ statement while the adrenalin was running fast after he became the PM? DAP should make a big fuss about the recommendation from this commission and demand that it is made public. In the report, there should be indicators clearly indicating the quality of the police service before and after the recommendation.
    DAP should use this as their campaining tool to make people understand the ungrateful, ‘mudah lupa’, and the high degree of unprofessionalism attitude shown by the ‘Bumiputera’s’. DAP must expose this to the people and the rakyat will be bewildered by this as safety and harmony is important to all people, regardless race, religion or ethnic.

May God bless Malaysia and give strength to those who want to make the changes for the better.

7. #7 by ngahc on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:21 am

Rakyat not only concern about getting worst crime rate, but also rising cost of living(that is income not able to keep pace with inflation).

High crime rate and high inflation on necessities are the best politcal bullets for the opposition party. Everyone is affected by these twin issues regardless of race, social status and income level.

8. #8 by jus legitimum on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:45 am

It is not an overstatement that everyone feels unsafe either walking or driving around in town except those armed or surrounded by bodyguards.Those holding power should buck up and fight crimes before the problem gets out of hand.

9. #9 by Libra2 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:47 am

So the PM has found a novel way to fight crime –
    Appeal to the kidnappers – “Please return the child”,
    To the robbers – “Please return the jewellery”,
    To the murderers-“Please return his life”,
    To the rapists – “Please return her virginity”

So we don’t need Good Cops. We need the PM to just appeal to the criminals and perhaps the IGP can join in the public plea.
    Meanwhile, I appeal to the voters to kick out BN!

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 12:12 pm

Sdr. Lim launches a grass-root campaign and the PM pleads with the low-lifes. You really have to wonder who should be PM?

11. #11 by pwcheng on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 12:16 pm

Well he is just a naive PM. As many had said he is not even fit to be a chief clerk but in this bolehland or more appopriate bodohland, even a fool of Bumi origin can one day be a PM. Sorry to say that but it is true. Sad to say thatnothing much the non Bumi can do now but keep on working behind close doors [deleted].

12. #12 by verbal-lash on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 12:27 pm

Another example of the uselessness of our police is the public outshow of loan sharks. Even they are challenging our police. Naturally, our police are not doing anything about it and the loan sharks knew better. Their telephone numbers are all over the place – covering road signs, electric polls, even large banners in housing estates. Yesterday, we found the stickers containing the loan shark contact numbers stuck on shophouse walls. These walls have been newly painted and when the stickers were tripped off , a piece of paint came off. Re-painting of the wall had to be done. They are public menaces but are the police doing anything? NO!! All they have to do is call the telephone numbers – it is a given opportunity to catch these loan sharks! Probably, they get kick backs from these sharks, so it will not benefit them to have them removed.

13. #13 by HB Lim on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 1:07 pm

What do you or what can you expect of the law and order of a ‘boleh kau tim’ society and police force? Even the appointment of judges can be ‘kau tim’ed’. In a boleh kau tim society, the police will flock to places where things can be kau tim’ed e.g. dark road bends preferably with trees or backlanes with drug addicts or foreigners. They will spent most of their time doing things which can line their pockets, e.g. negotiating with family members and friends for the release of those arrested or detained, harrassing and threatening people with arrest unless…mingling and being gung-ho with gangs and criminal syndicates, organising pretend raids just to kick up the statistics, organising unauthorised raids just to trap people into submission to pay protection money, generally entrapping people not for the sake of justice but to extort money…The antics and tactics of the police to extort money or receive bribes are legion and are notoriously known by most citizens, even the police bosses themselves. But there is no political will to change. There is no political will to look at things long term. One can go on and on and on asking why and peeling off layer after layer of answers and reasons but ultimately it is this, as it is with all other departments of the Malaysian government, public authorities, universities, etc., that its basis, its benchmark, its requirements are not based on merits. Everything is racially based and ‘who-you-know’ based. In particular, appointments and promotions are based on race and who you know. This is the beginning and the mother of the cancer that is spreading throughout the nation. The achievement of “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia”, like the call for a “Malaysian Malaysia”, requires an overhaul of not just the people and things involved but a rejection and substitution of much more fundamental matters; it is not just an overhaul of the body but a involves a substitutiton of the mind, the soul and spirit of Malaysians, particularly the Malays. If we do not have a complete overhaul of the mind, soul and spirit and if we just attend to cosmetic superficial body changes, Malaysia will always be unsafe not just from the angle of crimes but also from that of politics, economics etc etc. Having said that, I think it is a good strategy to move the political agenda to a an area or focus which transcends race, culture and religion.

14. #14 by merdeka on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 2:14 pm

YB Lim,

The “Good Cops Safe Malaysia” theme should be out loud & clear. It must reach deep into the community with lots of flyers and brochures at every CORNER OF THE COUNTRY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by malaysianboleh on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:26 pm

To cultivate a good respossible COP is mandatory these day.With the crime rate escalating . The bold move by DAP to pioneering and lead malaysia to a new height by initiating “Good Cops Safe Malaysia” campaign is something all malaysian will be proud of. Bravo DAP

16. #16 by Rocky on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:33 pm

Fear has never been so high. we fear for our kids, we fear of snatch thieves, we fear of loosing our car, we fear of getting robbed at home…so no where is safe in Malaysia. Yet the govta nd thecops think all is ok…Semuanya OK!!! and the crime index actually would have gone down bla bla according to our PM…. what a load of BS!!! we are never been more fearful as days pass and we need to engage own security in neighbour hoods. Imagine the crime rate of there is no self appointed security.

The IGP is another talker but really nothing happens. He is more willing to blame parents etc instead of dealing with the root cause. Our IGP and some cops are Mesra Politicians rather than Mesra Rakyat.

They all say police can’t be everywhere including PM’s wife like we are dumb. Off course they can’t be everywhere. But they presence should be felt everywhere like in Spore. you think twice before you do something against the law there cos you know the chances of getting caught is high. Here..chances are low and you can bribe your way out of it. There is no fear of the cops by the criminals cos they know they are not efficient.

Safe Malaysia..yes…..Good cops…I pray they will turn good and be Mesra Rakyat and treat all of us under one law instead of having two sets of action for similar cases….

17. #17 by Saint on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:41 pm

“Good Cops Safe Malaysia” This message must go right down to the villages.

Other similar slogans (non racial & non religious) needs to be brought forward by the alternate parties.

18. #18 by year of snake on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 4:14 pm

The police always say that they have not enough personnel to be everywhere but they can spare 50-100 police officers to raid Karaokes to nab PROs which I thought is the job of the Immigration department. Maybe it is lucrative for them to do these but nothing is to gain from protecting the public. Gone are the days when you can tell your partner, lets go for an evening walk or go for mid-night shows. It is even worse now, one dare not even walk to the shops when night falls though they are 20 to 30 metres away.

19. #19 by k1980 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 4:33 pm

“Awakened Internal Security Minister, Safe Malaysia” would make a better slogan because when the Internal Security Minister is sleeping on the job, the cops will follow suit

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 4:53 pm

“Good Cops, Safe Malaysia” is as good a campaign theme as any. It is easily communicated across, digestible and reflects the anxiety of the rakyat/voters – cutting across all races, religions and culture – on the grave problem of escalating crime in this country.

Personally, (just my 2 cents) I would have preferred “Good Governance, Safe Malaysia” instead of “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia”.

The reason is because having Good Governance necessarily encompasses, as a part of it, having Good Cops.

However, theoretically, on can have Good Cops alone without Good Governance.

Again this is my personal opinion – we all know as a matter of fact and reality that having Good Cops is only part of the escalating crime equation. Having Good Cops will stem the tide of crime but Cops don’t generate the tide.

It is unsatisfactory political, socio-economic policies of the BN government reacting on circumstances of widening disparities of income, inflation, urban rural drift, influx of foreigners, Corruption as HB Lim said that are providing the impetus for the crime wave. In short it is governance or rather mis-governance that is the root cause.

It is therefore better if as a matter of strategy to link the crime wave that everyone is anxious about to misgovernance with the campaign theme “Good Governance, Safe Malaysia”.

In that way, there are two advantages:

1. It is not so lopsided and unfair to the police as a corp/body when we all know that whatever its failings it is not the sole or even the main cause of escalating crime;

2. the Opposition has more ‘bullets’ to expand and explain wider aspects of misgovernance than just police inefficiency and the IPCMC versus Special Complaints Committee theme.

Under 2, it depends on how one could devise a step-by-step strategy to link escalating crime with various aspects of government’s policies that aggravate it. I believe there’s no shortage of materials and examples on the latter on bad policies or misgovernance.

Cheers and best of luck! :)

21. #21 by scorpian6666 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 5:05 pm

YB Lim
    Pls stay safe.

22. #22 by kanthanboy on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 5:12 pm

My 2 cents idea is: “The fish rots from the head. The cops rot from the top”

23. #23 by oknyua on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 5:23 pm

“The Prime Minister has made a personal plea to the abductor to free five-year-old Sharlinie Mohd Nashar and return her immediately and safely to her family as everyone is praying that she would not meet with the fate of eight-year-old Nurin Jazlin Jazimin who was abducted, raped and murdered with her body subsequently abandoned in a sports bag near where Sharlinie went missing in Taman Medan, Petaling Jaya.” YB Lim KS

For a nine-year old child, I can accept such simplicity of logic – “you take my things, give me back… otherwise I’ll tell my father,” but from a Prime Minister, I can’t believe it. If it is so simple as that, then we don’t need the law, the court and the police, just tell criminals, “Eh, please lah, don’t do that lah.”

YB Lim, you can provide AAB with all the statistics, but I am pretty sure he don’t give a damn. Each time a major crime occurs, he expresses his “shocks and regret…” again and again. Does that sound like someone who knows what is going on? Does that sound like someone who has an interest in the crime rates in Malaysia?

The action he needs to take is simple: The Police is for maintaining peace, not to support a political regime. Make the police independent. Whoever retires, give him the retirement benefits. Remove cops with suspicious connections. Again, it’s like a useless reminder to him; he just doesn’t care. Crime and criminal are right at UMNO’s door, yet he couldn’t see them.

However, I believe there are some good cops around. They are hardworking and having the desire to do the right things. Unfortunately, their hands are tied. If they act against a crime, they themselves might be arrested. Indeed, Malaysia is the only place in the world where “Polis tangkap Polis.”

24. #24 by oknyua on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 5:29 pm

YB Lim KS,

I want to echo Scorpian666’s advice; do take care and not to move around alone. You raise this issue; both sides are not happy. Just take care.

25. #25 by mendela on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 5:59 pm

Our current bunch of police force is not up to par.

Let’s bring on RoboCop!

26. #26 by HJ Angus on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 6:03 pm

Aiiyah!
    You guys give headache to the PM; should also send him some Panadol.

Only thing is he now has the luxurious jet and is now in not so sunny Spain.

27. #27 by HB Lim on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 6:30 pm

I would think that the slogan “Good Governance, Safe Malaysia” though more encompassing, would not be as racially, culturally or religiously neutral as “Good Cops, Safe Malaysia”. Good Governance would immediately seize the focus and direct it at the government as a whole which includes its racially-based, religion-biased policies and would cause certain sectors of the citizen to be on their guard as to the propaganda’s motives. “Good Cops” would not have that effect – it truly cuts across or transcends race, culture and religion. If DAP can achieve success with that slogan, going for “Good Governance” would be its natural pursuit after that success. As an election slogan, a neutral one should be used.

28. #28 by U32 on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 9:56 pm

You mean, good Prime Minister, good cops, safe Malaysia because I thought PDRM is under him. No ?

29. #29 by Colonel on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:06 pm

“In the past four years, the incidence of rape had more than doubled from a daily average of four women raped a day in 2003 to 8.5 cases last year!”

These figures are somewhat inaccurate because some of them are not ‘rape’ just consent withdrawn in the middle of the act when she realized that clients like a certain flasher from Kg. Attap with only a kampung education did not have enough money to pay for her services.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:07 pm

Actually, the only reservation I had about ‘Good Governance” as opposed to “Good Cops” is that “Good Governance” may be a trifle too “abstract” to explain to the voters on the ground.

HB Lim has come out with another angle – that ‘Good Governance’ would not be as racially, culturally or religiously neutral as ‘Good Cops’, and in relation to the government, may be construed as including “its racially-based, religion-biased policies” by “certain sectors of the citizen” which will be “on their guard as to the propaganda’s motives….”.

It is disheartening to think that there may be an element of truth in what HB Lim said – that the state of our affairs is sad one where we cannot garner votes – indeed we may even repel – “certain sectors of the citizen” when we call a spade a spade, and point to the real malaise (mis-governance) that afflicts the nation in all sectors, and not just in the area of crime; that to better the chances of getting some of their votes, we dare not push for and openly talk about good governance in an election campaign, almost as if this “certain sectors of the citizen” would prefer mis-governance to governance!

What is disconcerting in this quest for something racially, culturally or religiously neutral in theme like “cops” instead of “governance” is basically this :

Throughout the year the Opposition highlights and condemns the government’s mis-governance in a whole range of issues including its “racially-based, religion-biased policies”.

This highlighting and condemning is justified on high principles.

Come election time and campaigning, the Opposition says ‘no’ lets not campaign on high principles of governance – lets not even point out the obvious truth to the rakyat of the problems the nation is facing from the government – misgovernance (even though there’s an obvious need to do so because only certain urbanised internet savvy minuscule section of the rakyat have access to enlightenment of blogs and on line news but not the majority).

And why is it so that we cannot tell the truth, and need to seek a politically neutral theme like “cops”?

Answer is because we need, as HB Lim said, not to alienate that “certain sectors of the citizenry” that don’t like any party, especially Opposition Party, to oppose “racially-based, religion-biased policies”.

To which the fundamental question must necesarily be asked : aren’t we not playing along the gallery and encouraging these “racially-based, religion-biased policies” to continue by being afraid to even indirectly allude to them via the use of the word “Good Governance”?

For the Opposition to take on the BN, it must seize a higher moral ground than present the same nuance of opportunism that it accuses the BN of!

The BN could turn around now and accuse the Opposition, yes it is equally as opportunistic, choosing the “neutral” theme of “crime” (away from its customary behaviour of accusing BN of mis-governance) just because Malay public sentiments are now incensed with “crime” especially in wake of the highly publicized case of Sharlinie after Nurin.

They will also say that the Opposition is, of late, championing the Cause of Marginalised Indians after Hindraf to reach out for Indian votes, where it had not so actively or vociferously do so in the past.

The key word here is to reach out for Malay and Indian Votes since traditionally the Chinese votes are with the Opposition (DAP) – in other words, to reach out on basis of race, the same communal approach that, in other times, it accuses BN component parties of taking! The same opportunism!

The elite 20% here control more than 51% of the nation’s wealth; 40% are middle classes and balance of 40% are the down trodden poor of all races (Malay, Indian Chinese) in Peninsula and especially the various groups in East Malaysia.

The question posed is : Why can’t Opposition reach out to the 40% poor of all races and complain directly about misgovernance, the main thing that is wrong for everything else that is wrong in the country ?

By seeking a racially, culturally or religiously ‘neutral’ theme like “cops” instead of the real McCoy (mis-governance) – by actively canvassing “certain sectors of the citizen” that will be “upset” and guarded by any party attacking “misgovernance” directly – wouldn’t the Opposition be perceived to be paying greater weightage on expedience than principles, playing the same communal card as BN, when it comes to garnering votes instead of proceeding on the higher ground of principles?

That is the question for us to reflect.

31. #31 by fido on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:31 pm

Hopeless….this is getting way out of hand. To all those who cannot perform, stepdown and stop wasting taxpayers $ and take your super thick skin and hide in some deep jungle. Where is your pride?

This must be the laughing stock of the century….personal plea to solve crime issues??? hahahahaa…..

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 5:27 am

“Make our streets safe” is better than “Good cops, safe Malaysia” because the latter prompts some to ask “Good for whom, safe for whom”?

Whereas “Make our streets safe” can only have one meaning.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 5:35 am

Or just “Save Malaysia, Safe Malaysia”? :)

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 5:57 am

“Make our streets safe again for our children” would give it a context unfavorable to BN as it highlights their failure. It is a non-partisan issue that all Malaysians could identify with irrespective of their political affiliations. It sends a strong message and one all could identify with.

We want to hand over this country to our children better then when we found it.

35. #35 by sean on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 10:00 am

Good cops comes first before anything else.It is to a certain extend useless to install CCTVs if we have bad and irresponsible cops all the way to the top.So like someone said…..why upgrade the hardware when the real upgrading should be done at the “software”instead before all else.So……..lets have a Malaysia filled with “Good cops first in order to save Malaysia”……..

36. #36 by wizzerd on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 12:41 pm

“Make our streets safe again for our children” would give it a context unfavorable to BN as it highlights their failure.

A good point indeed. The appropriate usage of the word “again” highlights the incompetence and hypocrisy of the present regime.

If we just mentioned good cops and safe Malaysia..the goons like Nazri will somehow sport some idiotic nonsense that “Everything is OK..nothing to worry”..Itu cuma persepsi bukan realiti(It is only people’s perception, not a reality)”

God save Malaysia

37. #37 by scorpian6666 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 1:28 pm

Plse Jeffrey,

use simple english so that people like myself without “much education, nor enough reading or writing skill” could comprehend without having to read your comment three or four times. If i mis read plse forgive me.

Regarding to your opinion on ” GOod Cop or Good Governance”, you seem to be quite critical of the opposition on their “Good Cop” they had come with to win one or two vote more or (2 cent more ), in fact everything they do…

We could have the following situations:

Good Governance with bad cop, thus unsafe Malaysia
    Good Governance with good cop …. peaceful Malaysia
    or
    Bad Governance with good cop … safe Malaysia
    Bad Governance with bad cop …. “fill in this one yourself”

So you see, I would prefer the ones with Good Cop. What about you ?

38. #38 by scorpian6666 on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 2:12 pm

Listen Jeffrey again,
    Let’s make it simple here… If the government of the day is in question, you replace them …. It is as simple as that
    To me, all these figure you have quoted is quite pointless. The simple fact is if this country has 100 % of the population who think like me, then the opposite will be the government this time around. But if this country has 100% with your mindset it will be 50% BN 50% opposition, as to-date you do not seem to have make up your mind yet. But then if this country has 100% of people who would prefer BN, then most likely all the people like me are all deported.
    What I actually meant…
    If the opposite could not win, I would still vote for it, because as a man, I stand by my belief..
    Let me tell you this, it’s not the when the election come stuff.. This belief come from years of observation and rational evaluation, not “blind faith” you seem to suggest.

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 1:17 pm

Hi scorpian6666,
    Sorry I can’t respond to your last posting because I sincerely cannot understand what you’re saying and how it is developed from or connected to what I earlier posted. But it is quite Ok – we’re equal – because you too could not make out what I was saying due to my so called confusing writing style.

Whatever it is, what you said about (quote) “if the opposite could not win, I would still vote for it, because as a man, I stand by my belief..Let me tell you this, it’s not the when the election come stuff.. This belief come from years of observation and rational evaluation, not “blind faith” you seem to suggest…” (unquote) sounds good, and I support you in that stance. :)