Samy Vellu should resign as Minister for continuing to work against the cause of Indians to end marginalisation

MIC President and Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu was again snubbed by the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi in New Delhi while attending the “People of Indian Origin” Conference, after he had been conspicuously snubbed by the Tamil Nadu leader in Chennai last week, where Samy Vellu waited for three days for an appointment which never came!

Samy Vellu had said he wanted to explain to Indian leaders the “the real situation concerning the Indian community in Malaysia” but clearly the MIC President has lost all credibility in Tamil Nadu which has 70 million Tamils and no Tamil leader is prepared to lend him their ears.

Never before in his over 28 years as the sole Malaysian Indian Cabinet Minister has Samy Vellu brought more shame and dishonour to the MIC, government and Malaysia.

I call on Samy Vellu to resign as Works Minister not so much for being regarded as a “persona non grata” by the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and other Indian leaders, but because he has continued to work against the cause of the Malaysian Indians for justice and fair play and an end to their long-standing political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious marginalization.

This is because Samy Vellu has continued to maintain that there had been no marginalization of the Malaysian Indians during his current visit to India – when he knows in his heart of hearts that this is untrue.

The least that Samy Vellu, as President of MIC which claims to represents the rights and interests of the two million Malaysian Indians, should so is to openly acknowledge the fact and reality of the marginalization of the Indians in Malaysia causing them to become the new underclass in the country – for it is only with the MIC ending its denial syndrome about the marginalization of the Malaysian Indians that the Barisan Nasional government could abandon its denial complex on the same issue.

Is Samy Vellu afraid of losing his Ministerial position should he speak the truth and own up to the marginalization of the Indians in Malaysia?

1. #1 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 4:37 pm

May be after he finally retired n stay outside Msia, then he may speak the true feeling of his heart.

2. #2 by max2811 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 4:46 pm

The Indian Gov shouldn’t just snub him. They should also reveal all his corrupted property and money stashed in India. See how much he has.

I hope Mr Lim can write to the Indian Gov. Rumours say he has bought a village, numerous businesses and properties.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:08 pm

Kit, you should know better than to ask Semi to resign. He will challenge you to a fight outside Parliament House. This is one gangster who will set his goons on anyone who tries to undermine his position.

4. #4 by James on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:08 pm

All his wretched life he has been cheating ppl of his race. That is why poor Indians in Bolehland is in such bad state; poverty striken, always being bullied, marginalised & treated like don’t know what.

5. #5 by chai on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:09 pm

if i am samy i will feel so ‘shy’ bcox as a country leader in malaysia so pity treated by india gorv. this is indicated that other country are know indian are marginalized in malaysia.

6. #6 by Libra2 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:16 pm

He has much to lose if he resigns. Now we place hope on the voters of Sungai Siput to do a John Howard on him.
    That will be real sweet.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:17 pm

Did you read the papers that he is now blaming PPP for the bad Indian press and snub in Tamilnadu?

This guy is going to hold to his office until someone press it from his cold dead hands. Extremism comes in many forms and someone that thinks he indispensable or the best person for a job all the time which only god qualifies, is an extremist.

8. #8 by Godfather on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:24 pm

UMNO could have regained the moral high ground by telling Semi to resign for the recent fiascos. UMNO would have gained a lot of votes for doing the right thing for all Malaysians, not only Indians. However, they chose the expedient option of keeping Semi in his favoured position as debt collector for UMNO (in addition to himself of course).

The basic problem is that Semi is indispensable to UMNO. For 25 years, UMNO struggled with finding the right people to enforce on its behalf the rights to goodies under mega projects. They were constantly screwed by their own kind – and Semi is the only reliable one who could ensure that payments are made on time and to the right parties, including himself.

9. #9 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:40 pm

What a pity old Chua’s personal friend caught doing the big nasty with him in Room 1301 was not dear uncle Sammi

10. #10 by xpainxgain on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:59 pm

Uncle Kit, if Samy Vellu resign himself as Works Minister, i cut my head for you to kick soccer unless he faces the same problem like CSL!!

11. #11 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:01 pm

Bad sign for Samy Vellu. The Tamil Nadu leaders gave a right signal to Samy Vellu & Malaysian Indians…..

Samy Vellu? Poooarah!!

12. #12 by AhPek on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:03 pm

Mahathir’s two henchmen are Ling Liong Sik and Samy Vellu.Before he left office, Ling has to ask him for a Tunship and Mahathir gave it to him before he left.But not Samy and this is to show how confident he is of his flocks’ support that he is sure he is going to die in office ie a President of MIC. His politics is simply loyal support to big boss UMNO guaranteeing continuous solid Indian votes to BN.Maybe this time he can’t get 90% of Indian votes going to BN (for information at least 90% of Indian votes have been going BN’s way since 1957)but I believe he still can garner 60% Indian votes to BN.Never underestimate the government machinery and its huge war-chest of cash for distribution.
    To think that DAP can do a John Howard on him is naive. Politics is about influence and money has a lot to do with it as well.Samy has at his disposal the government machinery as well as its war-chest.
    Besides this SAmy is flushed with ill begotten money himself and he knows he is fighting for his life.
    So do we still think we can do a John Howard on him?

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:30 pm

Can’t how understand the malaysian voter can be bought over with $$. Why can’t they just pocket the $$ given to them by A and then vote for B?

14. #14 by megaman on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:36 pm

Since the days of the maika scandal (for ppl that dunnoe or forgotten, please check on wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAIKA_Telecom_Share_Scandal), it is quite clear that this guy is nothing but a goon and a conman willing to rob whatever he can from whoever he can be it from his own race or not.

He has no remorse and will no hesitate to rob his poor fellow indians as proven in the maika scandal and various other incidents. It is lucky he is in Malaysia and in modern times, if he was in Renaissance France, he would have been guillotined or if he was in ancient China, he would have been cooked to death.

15. #15 by Jimm on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 7:04 pm

People, hear this ..
    Take a drive to Sg Siput constitution and see for yourself.
    Livign standard is very moderate and peaceful with many Indians communities events highlighted every month and comes major events, there are sponsorship and rewarding those lowly income family.
    Go and see …
    After that, you will know why SV can keep winning from this spot.
    Money talks ..always a winner ..
    Malaysia Boleh..

16. #16 by cheng on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 7:54 pm

Here on the internet, almost everyone despises Semi Value. At the end of the day, that dead wood still get his votes. I think most of us, the middle class, know what is happening. If you do a poll on the internet, that guy will definitely lose. In order to do a John Howard for that guy, we have educate our uncles and aunties to forget the issue of Indian representation in the Parliament. To some people, not having an Indian (even though that Indian is a deadwood), is something very, very scary. This is the same thing as some Penangites will be very, very scared if the rotten government says they are not going to build the second bridge (even though they don’t even use the bridge or ferry at all). I just talked to one last week.

17. #17 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:36 pm

k1980 Says:
    Can’t how understand the malaysian voter can be bought over with $$. Why can’t they just pocket the $$ given to them by A and then vote for B?

Sorry to say you are to naive in this matter..its not that easy..You know the army and i not sure wheather it does happen to the police forces in our country..During election, what i heard is that they need to “TICK” the voting paper in front of their superior..what do you think? will they vote for opposition? The same situation goes to Sami velu here..as what i can see..AAB and Mahathir doesnt really stand behind him..somehow i’ve seen the recording in youtube or malaysiakini on the issue where the reporter ask Mahathir why he didnt sack sami velu during his tenure..and he did comment on the matter..As for what Sami should do now is just to be the puppet of the Umno party..and to SAMI if you SEE this message..i do believe you know that indian are marginalised in Malaysia..but im too disappointed with you that you still willing to be the [deleted] of the UMNO..i think majority of the INDIAN out there are against you for the coming GE…and now you should go and buy the Malay votes..RESIGN SAMI if you still want your pride..

18. #18 by shaolin on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:18 pm

Uncle Kit,
    Please help to check how much assets and properties
    Sami Velooo owns outside Malaysia, specifically in
    India in particular…!! B’coz he seems to go to India
    very often nowadays…!!

19. #19 by zioburosky13 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:19 pm

The favorite saying of Malaysian:

Ayoyo Samy!

Only this time he might falls down.

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:24 pm

Samy should go into comedy.

MIC is a joke and he’s the punch line.

21. #21 by smeagroo on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:48 pm

semi-D value shld quit while he is ahead. Afterall he has his millions 9Maybe billions) to last him 10 reincarnation (even with inflation). So old already, still gathering riches and holding on to ur post?

WHAT FOr la DEI!

22. #22 by oknyua on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 10:22 pm

Whatever we say about uncle Sam, he is going to win again in Sg Siput. The politics of the Indians is simple. It is MIC and Sam is the chief. Surrounding the chief are various supporters who earn their place by worshipping the Chief. Those opposing are summarily killed off. Going by the maths, MIC and Sam can never get 100% Indian support. Even the best Chief could manage 80%, and Sam is anything but the best, so probably 50% support.

This means 50% Indians will never be represented. Even if Sam resigns, the next person is no better. So permanently 50% of Indians will not be represented.

How to get 100% into MIC? Break that culture of leader-worship. Accept variety of opinions. Accept differences. Target issues instead of personality. Can MIC do that? You and I know the answer.

23. #23 by legalsabahan on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 10:51 pm

I don’t think S V will step down from his post easily even he lost in next GE. Same with BN, really doubted will they hand out the power they mis-use and enjoy for all this years.
    No doubt that we saw S V disgrace Malaysia internationally; but his schedule is planned before he went to India, why don’t his personnel check whether the person you wish to meet, willingly meeting you or not?
    The Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. K had done what he think is right, don’t Malaysian had to know what to do too?
    still i heard in the street, vote for BN for STABLE tomorow, sorry to say, most Chinese think this way, if we say more than the gov can accept, we’ll get in trouble by ISA.
    What a hopeless tomorow…….

24. #24 by limkamput on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 11:08 pm

Is Samy Vellu afraid of losing his Ministerial position should he speak the truth and own up to the marginalization of the Indians in Malaysia?

That is utterly obvious. Of course Samy Vellu can still speak the truth provided Subramaniam, the former MIC deputy president would not be quickly brought in to replace him in BN. You see, ALL non UMNO BN leaders ought to be eunuchs. If they are not, there are hundreds of other eunuchs within those parties ever willing to replace them. This is the tragedy but sadly true of non Malay parties in BN. They are just waiting for the scum to be thrown at them. How then can they ever speak up? If they ever speak up, I am sure it is not on our behalf!

Today, the problems of Indian Malaysians have been highlighted worldwide. For whatever we may want to say about them, HINDRAF has been able to accomplish what Malaysian political parties (both within and outside Barisan) can’t do for decades.
    The position of Chinese Malaysians is probably not as precarious as Indians. At least not yet. But assuming for a moment that Chinese Malaysians today also have the same problems as Indians, would Ong Ka Ting also be trying vehemently to make appointment to see President Hu?

I think it is not far fetch to think that some day Chinese Malaysians may be the new underclass in their own country. With low birth rate and heightened emigration, many left behind probably can’t do very much to look after or protect themselves. Increasingly, the country is being administrated and managed by incompetent people. What hope do we have to achieve great things under the circumstances? I really hope and pray that men and women of real character could come forth to move this country ahead.

Given its young and enterprising population as well as well-endowed resources, Malaysia has every potential to emerge as a dynamic country. Malaysia ought to leverage on its diversity and strategic location in the world’s fastest growing region. The challenge is to put in place a set of public policies that are inclusive rather than parochial, liberal rather than protectionist, growth rather than dogmatically adhering to distribution, and market based rather than excessive regulation and control. Remember the Communists tried to control everything. They ended up making everybody poor. We are all wary of unfettered free market economy, but at least they make people unevenly rich, which is better than making everybody poor.

25. #25 by mendela on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 11:12 pm

Till now I am still very upset on this Sucking Vellu in allowing UMO cronies to increase the LDP toll by 60% from RM 1 to RM 1.6 last year.

26. #26 by DanR on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:01 am

Hello Mr LKS,
    What is your opinion of this campaign?
    “Malaysia Today will soon launch a campaign called ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION.”
    Source: http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/1000/40/

27. #27 by miwaki on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:04 am

Actually Sami is good for nothing but in Malaysia,you do not have to be smart ,brilliant or righteous in order to garner support from the people.So long as you are in the government and understand the weakness of the people and take advantage of it then you are treated as saviour eventhough you are not.

Indians and Chinese are the same and both share the same destiny but Indians achieve it much earlier ! No government will admit their racist policy and that we can understand.Try provide Indians what the bumis have enjoyed and deprive the bumis the priviledge they are enjoying then see whether the bumis will thank the government for this type of treatment.See whether KJ and his gangs would dare to tell the whole world bumis are not being ill treated.After all there are many bumis multi billionaires in Malaysia.

28. #28 by KS R on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:53 am

Hi Uncle

Dato Samy shouldn’t resign and join DAP at least he can speak the true feeling which he was suffering under the UMNO Government past years. Please YB talk to him.

29. #29 by Captain on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:00 am

From now, start condeming all Sg Siput people around you in residentals, schools, offices, masjid, church, temples, markets or any gatering. Make them so guilty that they will be ashamed to vote Semi Value when he stands for election again.

The Sg Siput people must also take the blame for voting in this gaboon that destroyed the lives of millions of Indian and for highjacking the already little tit bits from BN Govt.meant for Indians as a whole to his family and his cronies.

Anyone who votes for BN this election should die in shame especially the stooges in BN like coalition leaders who have no balls to stand up against BN/UMNO tyranny. Plse be reminded that UMNO is the biggest racist grouping … yet they have the face to stop others from thinking in similar lines.

30. #30 by 40cent on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:43 am

Samy Velu has lost all confidence and respect from the Indian community. It will be wonder if he appears in public in front of the Indians and don’t get booed. He SHOULD resign..for his sake if not for the Indians.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:16 am

Ah! My friend limkamput is back!

It is good to see that your input has none of the abrasive and confrontational nature it used to have! I congratulate you on the wisdom of your choice.

Keep writing and we will keep reading.

32. #32 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:13 am

From my experience, a typical Indians will not hesitate to bad-mouth Samy in front of non-Indians. But they will happily vote for Samy again when your back is turned.
    Samy is God, Lord Krishna etc to them, no matter how lowly we may think of him. I think Indians, esp. Tamils have got a long way to go to change their deeply ingrained “parochial” and “blood is thicker than water” culture. The reason they don’t vote for DAP much is because Karpal Singh is a Sikh and not a Tamil. Maybe centuries of living under the caste systems has got something to do with the problems they are facing now. I believe most of the Tamils in Malaysia are from the lower class type originally.

33. #33 by Jimm on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:37 am

We can talk until the cows come home …
    the mentality of majority in Sg Siput will never vote sv out because of all the comfort they have been enjoying eversince he is the MPs…
    My uncle can swear to that and he’s in his 70s now and he even make sure my cousins all continue this legacy.
    Sometimes, people tends to be more realistic over what they have and enjoy what have been provided.

34. #34 by Kannank on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:30 am

Sdr. Kit Siang,
    DAP should consider nominating atleast one of the HINDRAF ISA detainees (Manoharan) as its candidate for the coming General Elections to enable the voters to make their verdict on whether these Malaysian Indian Heroes should be continued to be detained without trail. I am sure with the current mood of the voters, which is to reduce the 2/3th majority of corrupted, argorant & inconsiderate BN, if DAP were to put up Manoharan as the representative of the ISA detainees, he should be able to win the contest even while under detention. DAP had previuosly had MPs elected while under detention.
    Manoharan would be a good choice as he had contested previuos General Elections on DAP’s ticket, he represent those who support Hindraf in their struggle to highlight the marginalization of Malaysian Indians, he has not only the right qualifications but well known in Malaysian as a capable defense lawyer even before he was detained.
    He can be nominated for the same constitutency which he contested previuosly or even better against Samy Vellu in Sg Siput.

35. #35 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:49 am

When ABB ascended to his current PM position, he had a golden opportunity to re-shuffle the cabinet and get rid of deadwood like Samy, Rafidah and etc. But he left the old man’s cabinet almost unchanged. This mere action of our sleeping PM shows that he doens’t care less about the minister qualities, he just wants to maintain his power without rocking the boat, at all cost. That shows how our caring, understanding and sleepy PM with big ears (like Sleepy in Snow White) cares about Malaysia.
    We will have to wait until the Twelfth of Never before the Indians will vote him out! Samy, resign please. You are getting too greedy!

36. #36 by KanNinNeh on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:39 am

For certain businessman, both legal or illegal businesses, they prefer the sleepy and corrupted BN as many things can be “kow tim” easily wat !

37. #37 by Evenmind on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:55 pm

No value ( to the Indian Community at large)) Samy should gracefully resign, he is not representing the community, only his cronies , family and himself, he so so greedy that all the millions that he has gathered is still not enough, he continues to make more hay whislt the BN stars are still shining bright, this is the man with no moral, principal , whatsoever, a yes man indeed so that his greed is always satisfied., even the CM from the largest democracy in the world do not want to know him.