Sex and The Politician

by M. Bakri Musa

Between the salacious reporting on and the holier-than-thou responses to the sexual escapade of former Health Minister Chua Soi Lek, three important points are overlooked. In a country where an intrusive government could as a law enforcement exercise barge into people’s bedrooms (consider the many khalwat raids), these points bear pondering.

One, what if she had not been a “personal friend” (presumably Chua also has “non-personal friends”) but a foreign intelligence agent, and he, somebody important like a Minister of Defense? Rest assured then that she would be very smooth and sophisticated; she would not let herself be blown to pieces or let the tape be released. It would be more valuable kept secret than exposed.

Two, what if my wife and I had stayed in that same room a few days immediately before, when those “technicians” were having their “practice” runs, or a few days later, when their voyeuristic lust is not yet fully satisfied? Those peeping toms could not blackmail us of course, but we would have felt violated nonetheless. The hotel would be liable, legally and morally, for the damages suffered by us just as surely as if the management had handed to known thugs duplicate keys to our room.

Last is the sense of perspective. In this escapade two people had great fun, with one subsequently paying dearly with his career. No one was killed, or potentially killed, assuming they engaged in “safe sex.” Yet the police expended considerable resources on the case. Meanwhile the recent brutal sex slaying of young Nurin Jazlin remains unsolved and forgotten.

An Old Reliable Tool

The use of pretty girls (and boys too!) to bring down the powerful is nothing new or particularly ingenious. Only the scene, theme actors (and actresses) vary. When such acts are exposed, the end results are equally predictable. Not always, however, much depends on the prevailing norms and the personalities.

The American Central Intelligence Agency had secret tapes of Sukarno cavorting with pretty blonds (yes, more than one at a time!) secretly taped presumably on one of his many trips to Washington, DC. In the 1960s when he was lurching far to the left, the CIA discretely let loose those tapes in the cinema halls of Jakarta.

The hope was that those pious Indonesians would be so repulsed as to start a revolution to topple him. Imagine the horror of the embassy folks when the crowd instead cheered their local stud. As one wag put it, “At least one of us got to screw them back, they have been doing it to us for centuries!”

President Kennedy’s fondness for pretty dames was well known and equally well tolerated if not catered to. Only when he strayed too far and shared his toys with the Mafia bosses were there dismays in the intelligence community.

To me the greatest threat to national security is not those sexual scandals that were exposed rather those that are still secret. They would then be a much more formidable weapon.

When Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman signed that defense treaty with Britain following Malaysia’s independence, was that his considered choice or one that was imposed upon him? As it turned out it was a fortuitous decision. It spared the nation from spending heavily on the military and instead used the funds on education.

It would however, been easy for Britain to impose that defense treaty. During his student days there, the Tunku acquired a widely acknowledged taste for fine scotch. Presumably he also acquired the taste for some other fine “things” the British had to offer.

Thus whether the Tunku’s avowedly pro Western stance was the result of his personal conviction or otherwise, we will never know.

A friend of mine was a fast rising political star in a neighboring country. On a visit to France, he suddenly discovered the exquisite taste for French wine and other equally “fine” offerings of Paris. His country’s leader quickly became aware of the potential danger and brusquely put an end to the young man’s political career.

The mark of a wise leader is how well he or she recognizes and thus avoids such a trap. In not demanding Chua’s immediate resignation, the Prime Minister failed to grasp the threat to the nation of Chua’s extracurricular adventures.

Lee Kuan Yew in his memoir wrote contemptuously of the many joget parties hosted by the Tunku where apparently hookers were readily available. I do not know whether Lee’s indignation arose out of his moral conviction or the fear that he and his boys could be put in potentially compromising situations. Anyway, he was wise to be wary.

Leaders like Sukarno and Kennedy were apparently immune to sexual scandals because everyone knew their weaknesses. When you see a gun enthusiast openly carrying a rifle, you know he is going to the shooting range for some target practice, and nobody would blink an eye. When you see a seemingly straitlaced guy like an Imam carrying a weapon, everyone’s eyebrows would be raised. You know he would be up to no good, perhaps looking to shoot some wild fowls, or worse, a chicken in a farmer’s barn.

Incendiary Racial Component

This being Malaysia, the racial element is never far. Already there are ugly racial stereotype comments and videos posted in blogs and on Youtube. Those would have been pardonable if they were funny; but they were not even that; they were simply crude.

Speculations were that Chua was set up by his many rivals within his party jealous or fearful of his trajectory rise. I wish for the sake of Malaysia that that were true. If this seems a perversion, consider the alternative, that is, this is the scheming of others within the Barisan coalition, specifically UMNO, fearful of his forceful defense of Chinese causes.

If this were so, then I would say that those UMNO operatives were not very smart in releasing the tapes. I would have kept the video absolutely secret, and then would support him on his leadership drive. When he reaches the top you would have full control of him. To put it in the vernacular, “you have him by the balls.”

This is not far fetched, or a case of my imagination running wild. Returning back to the Tunku, one of the inflammatory accusations leveled at him was that he was “too pro Chinese.” He was immune to sexual scandals, so the prevailing thinking then was that the rich Chinese were providing him the necessary cash for him to indulge his expensive hobbies.

Strong Offense As A Strong Defense

I commend Chua for coming clean so quickly and for maintaining his poise in his press conference. He even displayed a fine sense of humor in inviting the reporters (presumably the females only) to view the tapes with him! However, be careful what you ask for!

Chua needs to do more. He should hire the most skillful and vicious lawyer to sue the hotel for invasion of his privacy and breach of contract. When you rent a hotel room there is an implied contract that you are entitled to its private use. As those cameras were not portable, the managers should have known they were being installed and thus be liable. I am of course assuming that Chua paid for the room. If the room and its “services” were free (meaning, paid for by someone else) then you get what you pay for.

Even if Chua does not prevail at least he would have the satisfaction of forcing the management to spend money on its legal defense. It might also encourage others who where guests at the hotel, specifically those who had stayed in the same room, to join in the lawsuit.

Chua could not possibly be further damaged by more revelations no matter how kinky. When you have some mud on you, that would be dirt; when you are totally covered, that would be a mud bath, and could be therapeutic. Then it would be those who touched you who would be dirtied.

A vigorous offense is often the best defense. By suing, Chua could hopefully discourage future voyeuristic hotel operators from indulging their fantasies. That could only be good for our tourist industry. Who knows it might even discourage the government, especially its religious authorities, from snooping around.

1. #1 by ktteokt on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 6:47 am

It is common practice in Malaysia to place importance on non-urgent matters while leaving urgent ones behind. This has been so, always solve the easier cases first, leave the tough ones later. That is why there is a back-log of cases in the police department and the courts of Malaysia.

2. #2 by Tickler on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 8:14 am

Fourth item:
    Dr. Chua says he has never booked hotel rooms. Who paid for the room? Did the Govt. pay for this minister`s sex romps? He must have bought gifts for her too. Who paid? If the Govt. did not pay some businessman etc must have paid. For what favours?
    I still think the ACA should investigate esp. when they were quick to do so in the past over opp. MPs travel allowances.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 8:15 am

I am not sure how you define a ‘personal friend’. There is still possibility that they are doing this out of profit or security concern, instead of out of pleasure. Do you think we can confirm about this personal relationship when the woman also stand up and admit the relationship? The key point is why can confirm the relationship?

Is boleh such a highly educated society, or a highly computer literate society? Can we expect some one owning a flower shop or a fashion store in Batu Pahat to own and operate a laptop? I simply don’t know how to judge the standard of our society. Also, I don’t know how to judge the skillfulness of the other aspect of her performance. In total, I ranked her a very mysterious woman.

> Two, what if my wife and I had stayed in that same room a few days immediately before….
    I think all of us were so scared that this DVD scandal happened in our society. So I must assume that some one could possibly have taped Uncle Lim and have your private life in DVD. This may apply to all other politicians. This is like a bomb that shall explode anytime without warning.

Instead of boleh police, Chua may need to invite the intelligence of other countries to help in the investigation. We also don’t trust our police. They can get any one to come out to admit the crime in order to relieve the MCA top stars from any responsibility. I just assumed that this could be possible since we have little trust in our police.

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 8:16 am

“One, what if she had not been a “personal friend”… but a foreign intelligence agent, and he, somebody important like a Minister of Defense? Rest assured then that she would be very smooth and sophisticated; she would not let herself be blown to pieces or let the tape be released. It would be more valuable kept secret than exposed. Two, what if my wife ….” Bakri Musa

What if it was an UMNO Minister with the wife of an MCA Minister? What if it was a PAS cleric with the wife of an UMNO Minister? What if Samy Vellu forgot his toupee?

There is no end to these “What ifs” and, however titillating the thoughts may be, we have a Cabinet Minister who was forced to resign because he obviously had allowed his sexual indiscretions to not only grab the headlines, satisfy the sexual appetite of voyeurs among the readers but also the appetite for quick profits of small entrepreneurs in the black market in porn.

The lesson to be learned here is that if you hold an elected public office, and live your life in the public limelight, your private life and your private lifestyle is subject to public scrutiny. All is fair game.
    President Bush once advised Obama when he first visited the White House as guest of the President when he was elected U.S. senator from Illinois. “You’ve got a bright future,” Bush said. “Very bright. But I’ve been in this town awhile and, let me tell you, it can be rough. When you get a lot of attention like you’ve been getting, people start gunning for ya. And it won’t necessarily just be coming from my side, you understand. From yours too. Everybody’ll be waiting for you to slip, know what I mean? So watch yourself.”

This advice could have been given to Chua by just about everybody who is anybody. In fact I think he must have been at the receiving end for quite a while.

5. #5 by Libra2 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 8:32 am

I presume Bakri also knows that there are many current UMNO leaders (and their wives) and some royalties who have a “taste for fine scotch.”
    And mind you some of them sermonize about holiness and virtues when they declare open schools, suraus and mosques.
    Tip off the Religious Department and they will close both eyes. They only raid the “small man” with no connections.

6. #6 by DwarfSnakehead on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:16 am

The “actress” in the video, in my opinion, is very professional and focused on her work. She had only one objective in mind – to provide hot and unprotected sex. How she supplement the act with the porn movie on a laptop as a sex aid, the sexy lingerie, the skillful “lip service” points to a real pro who has been doing this for a while. I guess more vips had been involved with this woman in the past. No condoms were used, so he risk infecting his wife. He could have been doing it for 13 years while he was with MCA.

Life has been so good with BN with all entertainment expenses provided, including a RM800 per night suite in a 4 star hotel. I am thinking of joining the BN tomorrow!! :)

7. #7 by Tickler on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:26 am

He could have been doing it for 13 years while he was with MCA. – posted above

In his press conference Dr. Chua said he couldn`t remember if the vid was 2 years old or recent, which would point to the fact that his only regret was that he got caught.
    It is possible that he thought (being a psychologist) he could still get away with it by `confessing` instead of paying off blackmailers who carried out their threat.
    Meanwhile who paid the bills for his sex romps? And is it possible that he had a lover in each state?

8. #8 by Jimm on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:27 am

In political world, money and power talks louder than words.
    This fallen guy just happens to ‘step on’ someone tail without realizing it and a ‘trap’ were set to keep things ‘checked’
    Man normally can definitely be seduced by one woman in time of his life. The chemistry of mankind are always amazing and untold.
    After these, most of the BN MPs will be more careful during their course of ‘curi makan’. Most of them will travel overseas to keep up with their habitual demands. Of course, there are also local demands to seek out, that’s why they have so many PAs to scout around.

9. #9 by cheeran70 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:44 am

Malaysian police is very well-versed and trained in kamasutra stuffs rather that murder. They all have gentle hands and smooth skin. Kudos to them, for the fast penetration into the unhealthy issue of our former healthy health minister. Good job.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:03 am

I think it is important to find out if there is any syndicate selling high-class prostitution to the politicians and rich businessmen. What I meant by high class is a group of very nice women who are highly educated (with good computer skills), and acting very professionally as indicated by DwarfSnakehead (different from those at Pulau Babi in Sibu). May be this sex video scandal helped us to discover something big that is hidden under the BN umbrella. I suggest our opposition leader should voice out about this.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:27 am

Dr. Musa is right in that we should be more concern about getting to the bottom of who is behind the DVD at this point. Dr. Chua is doing a national disservice by not pursuing this vigorously.

12. #12 by k1980 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:37 am

Chua might be keeping his mouth shut because he realises that more DVDs of his sexploits with other ‘personal friends’ in other hotels would surface once he starts talking

13. #13 by Jan on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 11:44 am

Chua should sue the hotel. I urge him to do it to send a strong message to other hotels to be more careful.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:33 pm

Well, Chua can always make a come back but first, sack his current political advisors, if he has any.

15. #15 by dawsheng on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:38 pm

I suggest he runs as independent candidate in his constituency in the coming general election.

16. #16 by Tickler on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 12:44 pm

Poetic justice for the internationally famous M`sian Minister Of Health, Dr. Chua Soil EK:

Remember the case of the baby whose arm had to be amputated because of negligence? The government has finally decided on a compensation figure for baby Yok Shan. Quick, if you don’t know already, guess how much they compensation is! The answer is:

RM60,000! To have a limb amputated because of a medical mistake. RM60,000 for the rest of the baby’s life, for all the pain caused, for all the hopes for her future dashed:

“In the case that happened in Klang, we don’t understand why there was so much publicity.

“If they are not satisfied with our service, then why come to our hospital? They came on Nov 26. According to logic, if you don’t have confidence in our doctors, then why come?”
    http://www.darnmalaysia.com/2007/12/11/chua-soi-lek-if-youre-not-satisfied-with-our-hospital-dont-come/

17. #17 by boh-liao on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 2:14 pm

Famous hindsights from CSL’s Affair:
    Do not use the same room in the same hotel for regular sexcapades.
    Wear mask, not condom, during regular sexcapades.

In the media and the Internet, one reads about CSL being described as a ladies’ man or womaniser.

Questions:
    1. During his long tenure (>20 years) as a state assemblyman, a state executive councilor, an MP, and the Minister of Health, how many bed-sharing personal friends did he have?

2. Are there more sex videos of CSL and other personal friends acting in Room 1301 of Katerina Hotel in Batu Pahat?

3. Will CSL seek legal compensation from Katerina Hotel in Batu Pahat for having him filmed there without his consent?

18. #18 by smeagroo on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 3:32 pm

In middle of Dec last year, my freinds and I checked into Sheraton Hotel, KL for a nite. We went out for dinner and when they returned to their room, they found out that someone had gained access to their room. Nothing was taken. Everything was in order. But the person made a boo-boo. He left his magnetic card on the slot where we put it to on the lights and a/cond. The card was slightly bent on one edge. My friends were hsyterical. They dont know if someone had planted any spycams in their room. The mgmt coudlnt gv a proepr answer as to why “someone” or even “housekeeping” would be conducted at nite. Mind you they checked in late that day and was only gvn the room at abt 5pm. It makes no sense.

The next day, they still couldnt trace who entered the room. CCTV along the corridors turn up nothing accd to them. Either they were lying or Sheraton is haunted!

19. #19 by k1980 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 3:39 pm

RM60,000 for baby Yok Shan==> if she lives to be 60 years old, she will be getting RM1,000 a year or RM2.73 a day. Please calculate the value of the ringgit 60 years from now. So to all those who shed tears for Chua Soiled Leak, ask yourself if you would accept RM2.73 a day in return for having your arm amputated.

20. #20 by k1980 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 4:09 pm

The Chua with a Soiled Leak

When awful darkness and silence reign
    Over the great Katerina Hotel,
    Through the long, long wintry nights;-
    When the angry breakers roar
    As they beat on the rocky shore;-
    When Storm-clouds brood on the towering heights
    Of the hills of the Batu Pahat:-

Then, through the vast and gloomy dark,
    There moves what seems a fiery spark,
    A lonely spark with silvery rays
    Piercing the coal-black night,-
    Hither and thither the vision strays,
    A single lurid light.

Slowly it wanders, – pauses, – creeps, –
    Anon it sparkles, – flashes and leaps;
    And ever as onward it gleaming goes
    A light on the Room 1301 it throws.
    And those who watch at that midnight hour
    From Hall or Terrace, or lofty Tower,
    Cry, as the wild light passes along, –
    “The Chua! – the Chua!
    “The wandering Chua through the hotel goes!
    “The Chua! the Chua!
    “The Chua with a Soiled Leak!”

Apologies to the Dong http://thinks.com/words/nonsense/dong.htm

21. #21 by DwarfSnakehead on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 4:43 pm

22. #22 by pamelaoda on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 4:46 pm

gosh..although what Chua did is wrong but i admired his gut to take up full responsibilities and I have already forgave him. I really cannot remember who(which menteris) have his guts to admit their wrongdoings!

As for Chua, he lost everything overnight by admitting! He should join the Opposition even as a member!

23. #23 by Tickler on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 5:15 pm

`i admired his gut to take up full responsibilities`

He was like a thief caught in the act and didn`t have any choice. What is needed is more investigation into his affairs by the ACA. Who booked the room? Was it the party members? Who paid for the RM800 a night room? Was it the govt or the party?
    Questions, questions, questions.

24. #24 by raven77 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 6:55 pm

[deleted]…if Chua was out for just pleasure ..fine. But the greater question is …..what if she was sent to get something out of him……what is there in the Ministry of Health that would be of interest….? holograms, ? traditional medicine?, ?hospital contracts?, equipment contracts?. There were odd decisions made during Chua’s tenure….and one was the sale of the poorly located Sabah Medical Center at Likas to the Ministry of Health for close to RM100 million when it wasnt even worth 20 million…….[deleted]

25. #25 by sec on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 7:01 pm

BN government will issue an order to all hotels in Malaysia ” STAY AT YOUR RISK”; problem solved.
    Kerajaan Kami atas pun boleh ( ke angkasa) bawah pun Kuat

26. #26 by U32 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:14 pm

Today t.v. showed a happy Dato Dr Chua being lifted up by his supporters. They give me an impression that it is alright to have affairs. Can somebody tell Zainuddin Mydin to stop all prayers and all holier than thou preachings in the t.v. / radio since it is acceptable for politicians to be given 100 % satisfactory hospitality ? Or to be involved in wives’ exchange programmes. Or to join swingers’ parties. It is no point being a hypocrit. If you think you can fool the force, continue to fool until one day it is too late to regret. Just be like Dato Dr Chua and say honestly that he is a man of needs and that’s why he cannot practise all the rituals demanded by religion. Whether it is a China doll or some laptop literate female, it is not right unless he is willing to tell the whole wide world that this is the second unrecognized and illegal wife. When I saw that laptop, I could not help but remember your own laptop being stolen the other day. Wonder what is inside ? All government activities should not be held in hotels. How credible are all the talks and preachings about discipline that come down from high ? Dato Dr Chua, if you are reading this, ask yourself. All the arahan that come from the ministry, if you guys cannot even follow that, why do you expect your small flies to ? Indeed, Malaysia Boleh. Everything boleh. Continue singing all the patriotic songs. We know the real situation inside. Cemerlang, gemilang, terbilang. For what exactly ? Tell us all you clever manipulators out there.

27. #27 by necromancer4good on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:55 pm

Dear Raven 77,
    Regarding..one was the sale of the poorly located Sabah Medical Center at Likas to the Ministry of Health for close to RM100 million when it wasnt even worth 20 million..
    You got the wrong person. That was planned during Dato’ Chua Jui Meng tenure, long before Soi Lek.

28. #28 by necromancer4good on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:00 pm

Dear U32,
    I think it’s ok to do it after work, after you have punched your card, of course. Don’t forget to wear the face mask for those who have no supporters to lift them

29. #29 by dawsheng on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:35 pm

“Today t.v. showed a happy Dato Dr Chua being lifted up by his supporters.”

I feel sad for Chua.

30. #30 by k1980 on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 10:54 pm

Anyone seeing Grandpa Chua being lifted up by his supporters and Grandpa Chua in action with his personal friend in the hotel room will get the impression that Grandpa Chua is being encouraged to continue his actions with more of his personal friends

31. #31 by necromancer4good on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 11:30 pm

Grandpa Chua has given hope to millions of Malaysian that sex and age can go along together. Perhaps the next DVD will be an educational one…how to go strong at age 60 and beyond

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 6:40 am

According to Malaysiakini’s report yesterday, MCA Youth deputy chief Ling Hee Leong (considered a voice for his father as well) lambasted his party leadership ‘holier than thou’ attitude saying his party’s stance “was akin to demanding the use of ‘transparent toilets’ by all politicians”.

“People don’t invade other people’s private lives for nothing. It’s not fun and there is nothing to gain. (Politicians) have a basic right to privacy like everyone else…Otherwise, we should build special glass toilets with no doors for politicians (so that everyone can see them inside)”.

On the unhealthy political culture of bringing down opponents by entrapment he said the party should try and identify the culprit behind the controversy. “We have to get the main culprit – not the machai (underlings). There can be many (sacrificial) lambs, but we want the shepherd.”

(So far police investigation had only yielded the “machais” who pleaded guilty and were fined and jailed just a couple of days!).

Malaysiakini further reported his “strong stance against those who have felt threatened by Chua’s popularity”.“(Any contest means) giving the delegates a choice, that should be the way. If (people) can’t accept a challenge, they should just get out of the party – get out of the party!” Hee Leong stressed.

Even veteran party leader and former MCA minister Ting Chew Peh conceded that “’It appears that he (Datuk Seri Dr Chua) is a victim of a political conspiracy”, he told NST.

It apears that there are deep divisions within MCA and that these have been exacerbated by the Party’s top leadership’s handling of Dr Chua Soi Lek’s scandal at a time when it is also perceived losing Chinese support.

The events regarding demolishment of Hindu temples leading to incarceration of Hindraf’s leaders under ISA have also alienated many Malaysian Indians though to what extent this will be translated into votes against the BN/MIC in mixed constituencies in which Indian votes are arbiter, remains to be seen.

To have the general election now is as a good time as any for the Opposition. BN definitely would not perform as well as the last GE but to what extent?

33. #33 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:21 am

“Anyone seeing Grandpa Chua being lifted up by his supporters and Grandpa Chua in action with his personal friend in the hotel room will get the impression that Grandpa Chua is being encouraged to continue his actions with more of his personal friends”

Lets look at it from another perspective shall we. In general there are two reasons why we lift a person up and carry him on our shoulders, first, he has scored a victory and second, when we send him on his final journey.

34. #34 by NewYorky on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:50 pm

Mostly politicians are having sex life..but play safe…you can either play in Hotel or your 2nd house…Now technology world and evert movement everysecond are watching by everyone…cctv…hidden cam..tiny camera….ect.
    60 years old man wanna play sex….maybe chua soi lek is drinking too much of Wild ginseng and Tingkat Ali cafe.
    He making the head line for 2008 New year….When we are all busy for countdown in Dataran KL for welcome New year 2008…There are the police and all over the world and shock with this New YEar head line..
    Hindraft already making Demo in 2007….now MCA going for 2008…UMNO dunno when ??
    Even if chua soi Lek is not admiting…because cctv can capture the Photo format…..So if CSL is not addmiting….there is more shameful when the picture is published in all over the world….now the police man don’t tell me they are going for those who own the picture of CSL making love on Bed ?????

CSL sorry you are out !!!

35. #35 by csl on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:34 am

1st of all, I’m not chua :)

For this incident, different people have different point of view. But before we start shooting, we should make 1 thing clear, that, what we want from him. It is just like buying vege in the pasar. We want fresh vege and will not care about how ugly is the seller’s face. As long as the vege is fresh and cheap. No point to buy a yellowish old vege from a handsome face clean supermarket manager with dearer price and parking fee. There is no perfect deal in real world. Need to give and take.

I rather he said that was a prostitute. Cause having sex with a prostitute and having affair with another women are two different things. One is a type of release (maybe physically or mentally) and the other one is totally dishonor from inside out. Of cause, people will argue that he should not do this and do that, but, everyone has their own way to solve their own inner problem. To comment on Chua’s case by looking at the outer skin of the story is not fair to anyone (his position related to public affairs). Who dare to confirm that that girl was not a ‘long term employee with on call out basis’ to provide him sexual service due to his wife having sexual problem (mentally or physically) and that approved by his wife and to avoid more damage done to his wife, he quit the position and end the story before the truth come out?

I just need a minister that can get the job done. As Chua already became history, I just hope his previous positions (in the political party, cabinet and etc) can divide to few persons. I don’t like position overlapping. 1 man do 1 job and stay focus. I seriously don’t mind Chua to be a minister in other department, especially to replace/exchange with Semi Value.

36. #36 by csl on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:39 am

I’m wondering if Chua is that stupid and poor (rather go hotel in stead of buying another private resort apartment or bungalow). It just can’t make sense.

37. #37 by DwarfSnakehead on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:05 am

Hotel is free!!! That is why. They (BN politicians) are so used to freebies, can’t imagining them using their own money when they can steal from the tax payer, for 50 donkey years. He is now probably considering buying an apartment just for his sexual rendezvous since the BN “subsidies” has ended for him. Probably asking for cheaper services, no more lingery and pornography in the package! Remember him telling his kids that they have to bear the living expenses now, it used to be free and unlimited.

38. #38 by Old Geezer on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 1:20 pm

My immediate knee-jerk reaction when this story broke was that he was treated unfairly.
    But after reading other columns (such as RPK’s) and looking around the Internet, I realized that I was wrong. This guy deserved what he got. He has a reputation as a ham sap kuai.
    It is good he resigned because the video would really make the country (I couldn’t care less about the govt) looks bad if he is still in his post. Those who still think he was unfairly treated should probably watch the video and read other postings in the Internet.
    I still think anyone in MCA involved in this should also be punished; but the main one to blame is the old man himself.
    Unfortunately, this practice is not uncommon among the VIPs, with reports of wireless CCTV detectors now in great demand.

39. #39 by csl on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 7:59 am

What you expect from the peanut you pay? The world is fair. You won’t get a ferrari. Go figure out. After so many things had been subsidized, still want a free lunch? Come on.

*Sorry but I have to declare that, between politicians and myself, there is not much feeling involved. Just plain business. I don’t care what they do, as long as there is a reasonable result at the end of each year.