RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – Kong Choy should emulate Chua Soi Lek

When Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek left the Health Ministry yesterday morning for the weekly Cabinet meeting, he was confident and upbeat that he had the sex video scandal behind him, as he had the day before made the courageous admission that “I’m the man in the sex video”.

He must be optimistic that he could now move forward politically, as he had met and apologized to the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting and his wife and children had forgiven him. This was why he announced in Labis that he had no intention of quitting his government and party posts.

Although Chua subsequently told the media that he changed his mind about quitting his government and party posts after 24 hours because he was wrong in believing that his confession and apology would be accepted by Malaysians, and the “holier than thou” attitude of some Malaysians, I have no doubt that he was made to understand this “political reality” by the other Cabinet Ministers.

Although Abdullah said that the Cabinet yesterday did not discuss the “DVD controversy” as it was a personal matter, I do not believe that many Malaysians would buy this statement. I would not be surprised if the other Ministers had used the Cabinet meeting to convey to Chua the “political reality” on the ground, forcing him to reach the conclusion that he had no choice but to relinquish all government and party posts – ending with the Cabinet making a formal decision that the Ministers had never discussed the issue for the public record.

If so, then Chua’s reference of the “holier than thou” or “ulama” attitude of some Malaysians would also be an oblique criticism of his erstwhile Cabinet colleagues.

Chua subsequently told a media conference that he was quitting all government and party positions so that he will cease to be a burden to government and party, especially in the context of Islam Hadhari and the “healthy political culture” proposed by the MCA President.

Chua’s resignation has put the MCA Deputy President and Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy in a spot, for the question uppermost in many minds is when Chan will emulate Chua’s example to uphold Islam Hadhari and a “healthy political culture” in MCA by bearing full accountability and responsibility for the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal – the largest financial scandal in the four-year Abdullah administration.

The RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal is the first biggest financial scandal of the Abdullah premiership, which is even bigger than the first biggest financial scandal of the Mahathir premiership – the RM2.5 billion Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal in the early eighties.

At least Mahathir had set up the Ahmad Nordin Committee of Inquiry into the BMF scandal while the first mega-financial scandal under a MCA Minister in the nation’s 50-year history is being buried under a maze of denials and cover-up!

Chan had not denied that he had unlawfully issued three of the four Letters of Support to the PKFZ turnkey contractor to raise RM4 billion bonds, which were regarded as government guarantees by the market.

The Transport Minister had no such powers to issue financial guarantees committing the government, as it could only be issued by the Finance Minister and only after Cabinet approval.
It was because of these four unlawful “Letters of Support” by the Transport Minister, giving illegal but implicit government guarantee to the market, that the Cabinet had to give them retrospective approval, forcing the government into a RM4.6 billion bailout of PKFZ.

Will Chua’s example of bearing Ministerial responsibility open the eyes of Chan of what he must do to be a responsible Minister in keeping with Islam Hadhari and the so-called new MCA “healthy political culture” by ending his denial and stone-walling to accept full accountability for the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

Let me put it bluntly to Chan – he should either get the Cabinet to set up a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal to clear himself of any abuse of power and/or breach of trust or he should follow the example set by Chua and resign from all government and party posts – including as Transport Minister.

Chua has left the Malaysian political scene with several cryptic but caustic comments of the political establishment – whether the government or MCA.

For instance, he pointedly declined to rebut the thesis that he had been the victim of political assassination.

He said he had received no fewer than 200 SMSes condemning certain party leaders for the “sting operation” to eliminate him from the political scene but he would not go into it.

There can be no doubt that among the MCA leaders responsible for the sudden demise of Chua’s meteoric political career include person or persons sitting in the MCA Presidential Council which yesterday “regrettably accepted and respected” Chua’s resignation from all government and party posts.

The MCA Presidential council also strongly condemned those responsible for filming and distributing Chua’s sex DVDs as it was “a blatant intrusion of privacy of a citizen”.

Ong Ka Ting said: “We urge the police to take firm action against the perpetrators and to ensure that those liable are punished”.

What baloney and hypocrisy, when it is quite clear that the “black hand’ or the “mastermind” of the very organized, orchestrated and systematic campaign to destroy Chua’s political career must be sitting on the MCA Presidential Council!

Is every member of the MCA Presidential Council prepared to take a public vow that he or she had nothing to do whatsoever with the plot for the political assassination of Chua and had no prior knowledge of it before the four-day political maelstrom which buried Chua’s meteoric political career on the national scene?

I was in Batu Pahat yesterday for the funeral of my sister, Kit Hwa, and the identity of the hotel in Batu Pahat where Chua ended his political career is a common knowledge. In fact, I had stayed in that hotel at least once. Will the mastermind, and not just the operatives, who set up the elaborate operation to “assassinate” Chua’s political career face the full legal and political consequences of their actions or will this end up as another “heinous crime without criminals”?

Chua did not spare the MCA President and Deputy President with his parting shots when he said that a healthy political culture should also embrace zero corruption and no moral judgment.

Chua said: “Healthy political culture should not be just confined to only terms of the office. Terms of office are the easiest to fulfill.”

Clearly, an MCA Minister presiding over the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal cannot pass muster Chua’s definition of a healthy political culture. Over to you, Chan!

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:55 am

You really expect CKC to give up his 5-figure salary on the grounds of morality?! This is like wishing for Adolf Hitler to repent for his genocide of the Jews and becoming a rabbi

2. #2 by penangboy on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:58 am

Then I suggest he gets voted out the next round. I think it’s time all politicians attend a class like my son attends in primary school. Morality class. I think many lack this aspect.

3. #3 by Libra2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:16 pm

“healthy political culture” and “MCA Politics” are like water and oil. They just won’t mix.
    MCA leaders are there to enrich themselves while walking in the corridors of power.
    If MCA role was to defend and protect the Chinese community, why then has the community descended into second class citizens – marginalized from the key-portfolios in the cabinet, excluded as vice-chancellors of universities, sec gen of ministers, state directors, district and municipal council chiefs, police force chiefs, Bank Negara govener, etc, etc.
    The Community’s only legitimate role is to pay taxes and accumulate property, grease the palms of civil servants and buy unit trusts, insurance and shares.

4. #4 by grace on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:32 pm

Mr Lim,
    To tell you the truth, Dr Chua is the only honorable minister who had pride and brave . Brave to own up his silly mistake and honorable enough to resign from his ministerial post.
    The rest of the ministers?????
    Oh my God! ‘muka lebih tebal dari papan coffin’.
    Don’t expect them to emulate Chua.
    ONLY WAY TO GET THEM OUT IS TO VOTE AGAINST THEM!!!

5. #5 by madmix on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:35 pm

when flyovers collapse; when billions of ringgit are wasted; when projects are not delivered at all…no one resigns and never will. Such culture of accepting responsibility do not exist in Malaysia. Blame can always be passed on to others or to even an act of God.
    But Soi Lek’s case: how to have a porn actor in the cabinet? There was no escape. He cannot function properly after this episode. His subordinates will look at him in a different light (the naked guy banging away in the hotel room). Yes Datuk, I will carry out your orders Datuk (snicker! snicker!)

6. #6 by Alistairlihai on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:48 pm

Dr Chua was a victim of politics. He was a good man

7. #7 by harrisonbinhansome on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:55 pm

Quetions:
    (1)Is there more of CSL’s “other” infamous/scandals?

(2)If he’s apolotical now, why don’t he comes out as a whistleblower and having been swimming with the BIG FISHES for years, he clearly knows the original secrets behind the endless corruption, misuses of powers and fouls-plays marring this country. Isn’t he’s going to sit back, relax and be reticent compromising with silence to another big time scandals if he speaks out?

8. #8 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:33 pm

PKFZ thing, surely involved more than 1 person, so if CKC resign, many others involved should also be investigated. If this can be tutup case after CKC resign, many involved will force CKC to do so. Furthermore, PKFZ is not the only “wastage” that involved public fund of more than RM 1 billion

9. #9 by hkh on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:34 pm

4.6 billion is too big a number to be appreciated by many. But Four thousand six hundred MILLION will jolt them up. Just imagine how many fingers are in this PKFTZ PIE.

10. #10 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:46 pm

If things (big wastage) go on like this, not long from now, Msia may earn, count, n spend ringgit like what Thai ppl do with their bahts now.

11. #11 by oknyua on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:02 pm

What has PKFTZ had done to someone?

There was this colleague, junior officer who was asked to resign. His wife worked with me in another branch. For this junior officer, he earned his living selling ubi keropok, ubi keledek. Then car wash, all flopped. His wife complained lah, husband not working. But husband was one who helped to organise the fishermen’s land in Pulau Indah.

I went on with my life and he, his lah. Then about 10 or so years, when someone made an order for the delivery of building materials from my shop, I drove the lorry lah. And presto.. the house was a big bungalow with swimming pool. While my staff downloaded items I kepo sikit, looked around the house. As I looked, came this fat man from upstairs. And who was that man? You are right, the same officer that was asked to resign.

What a good life! When the investment banker bragged about arranging that bond (RM1.1b, tripple A rating etc), I remember this fat (body and wallet) ex-colleague.

12. #12 by ngahc on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:05 pm

Possible abuse of RM4.6 billion taxpayers’ monies, human lives lost in bus tragedy and boat tragedy, rampant corruption in the road transport department…..Yet the minister-in-charge is still around.

Chua SL only violated private moral issue, not abuse of public fund and loss of human lives, yet he resigned. What a stark contrast!

13. #13 by oknyua on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:06 pm

YB Lim, Chan KC and MCA can run and hide. But they know we know the details.

14. #14 by helpless on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:16 pm

YB LKS,

The issue is far overdue for a reply.

Please press harder for Royal Commission of Inquiry since the Audit department has reveal that there was a corruption taken place.

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:33 pm

PKFZ is part of the reason why a real RCI is not possible for Badawi now. It does not just involve CKC and MCA, its UMNO treasurer. Anyone really believe UMNO did not take a piece of the cake?

No the thieves have too much at stake here and CKC resignation that would trigger a domino effect. He knows he is safe so long as he got all these people in the same cesspool as him

16. #16 by sebol on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 3:12 pm

If DVD ia good method to expose thing. then somebody need to create “PKFZ Scandal DVD”.

17. #17 by People on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 3:21 pm

When it comes to $$, it will be difficult to catch those perpetrators of PKFZ as they will all have a hand on it. As for CSL case, he will certaintly disagree to share his “friend” with someone else which is why such cases are easier to bring up than corruption.

18. #18 by budak on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 4:08 pm

the bottom line involving UMNO…

else you think CKC still can on the run meh… :-)

19. #19 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 5:30 pm

The chicken minister-on-the-run Chan Kong Choy definitely won’t quite and give up the 5-figure salary!!

He will continue to sit in his comfortable air-con office and with his table piled up with tonnes of documents pretending that he works very hard. If he can’t stand the pressure from the press, he will take another long MC leave and hide himself in Australia again, and not to forget to take Singapore Airline again as he has no confidence in MAS at all!!

If we put aside the PKFZ scandal, I still no improvement in our country’s public transporation system over the years, hundred of thousands of people still suffer on the road everyday. Not long ago, the BN government raised petrol price and announced plan use the subsidy to extend LRT networks in the Klang Valle, can I ask the sleepy Chan again, what is the progress now??!!! Where is the money now?!

Chan Kong Choy, I hope you are reading this:

You are truly a disgrace to the nation and people!!! The most useless Transport Minister in the WORLD!!! You better quit and let someone more capable to do your job!!! Don’t let so many commuters suffer everyday under your failure!!
    Makan gaji Buta saja!!

20. #20 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 5:58 pm

The following are some of the important contributions made by Dr Chua Soi Lek.

—————————————————————
    One of the most notable of many positive changes he made was to direct all district-level hospital directors and health officers to do clinical work.

Other moves included cutting down the waiting time at government hospitals from some three hours to 90 minutes; providing separate counters for patients with chronic diseases, the disabled and senior citizens; and extending operating hours at selected health clinics.

He raised the salaries of clinical specialists by RM1,900, and implemented more rigorous training programmes to ensure that government doctors were competent.

He cut down red tape for the poor who applied for financial help through the ministry’s medical aid fund.

Datuk Seri Dr Chua also urged Malaysians to lead more healthy lifestyles. He promoted the campaign that encouraged them to eat healthier, exercise, quit smoking and drinking and lead less stressful lives.

Last year, he took the campaign a step further when he called for fast-food companies to be banned from sponsoring or advertising on children’s programmes.

He also required the companies to list the nutritional content of their snacks on product wrappers and displays.
    ————————————————————–

Chan Kong Choy, what contributions have you made as the Transport Minister??? You are only busy in attending opening ceremonies and talking bullshit!!!

21. #21 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 6:01 pm

Why are we asking Chan to resign when he is nothing more than a cog in a much bigger wheel ?

Remember that the PKFTZ involved Selangor UMNO, Federal UMNO, Ling Liong Sik, plus a well-known Sarawakian businessman. Why should we single out Chan when we should be petitioning Badawi for transparency and accountability ? Do you think that the Finance Ministry is not involved in the letters of “support” issued by the Transport Ministry ? Do you think that the bond underwriters did not seek a legal opinion on the validity or enforceability of the letters of “support”? Do you think that RAM did not satisfy itself as to sovereign commitment whilst giving the bonds the highest AAA rating ?

The biggest owners of the bonds will be the EPF – and if the letters of “support” were ruled to be invalid or unenforceable, the taxpayers’ savings will be hurt. Hence the need for the bailout – but of course there are other considerations like UMNO’s interests and the interests of certain businessmen with the “right” connections.

Even if Chan resigns, the rest of the country will move on, and bailouts will continue “in the interests of the nation”, whatever that means. All we need are similar Ali-Baba schemes to defraud the nation and I am willing to bet my bottom ringgit that this will recur as long as the rakyat are not brave enough to change the present regime.

22. #22 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 6:24 pm

Goodbye, Dollah, goodbye?
    http://atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/JA04Ae01.html
    There is now a growing confidence among opposition parties of a significantly improved performance at the upcoming general election – despite complaints of politically motivated gerrymandering of constituencies, vote-buying and abuse of the media and government agencies for UMNO campaign purposes.

What makes it even more challenging for the ruling coalition is its loss of a near monopoly over information flow – though it retains a stranglehold over television and radio. The proliferation of independent websites and blogs such as Malaysia Today and Malaysiakini means the ruling coalition’s propaganda machinery now faces agile and resourceful opponents in cyberspace.

23. #23 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 6:57 pm

..and he get highly praised by a certain leader, don’t fool the raayat with this “courages and selfless” stuff
    http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2008/01/highly-praised-malaysiakini-regretfully.html

24. #24 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 7:35 pm

Chua Soi Lek claimed to be in politics for umpteens years and he should know at his fingers tips the game and culture of politics in the country.

He is naive to claim that some Malaysians are holier than thou.

If we may quote what the Sun paper said today in its editorial: “He is wrong. It is not about anyone taking the moral high ground. It is about him loosing the moral high ground…”

Presumably he must be having these trysts and sexual adventures for years at exactly the same place all these whiles, and naively thought he could get away because he is a senior politician of MCA and a full Minister.

His acts exposed by whoever had rendered his positions in party and government untenable.

Those who exposed his trysts may be committed an offence under the law, but he has no one but himself to blame for the premature end to his political career.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:34 pm

the way the A. Yam dresses, does that tell you she is a personal friend or a “regular personal friend?

She could have been a salesgirl pushing some new drugs to the Health Ministry.

That hotel also not 5-star. Looks like some 3-star shack house.

26. #26 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

To see CKC resign, we have to have another video of some sort that shows him in a compromising act. Is there one around?

The video with CSL as the actor was said to be filmed 2 years ago.

Questions:
    Was CSL aware of this video in the last two years?
    Had he been blackmailed to do things that he should not have done?
    Was the video released publicly because he finally could not fulfill the incessant demands of the blackmailer?

He did not seem surprised when this video surfaced and admitted quickly.

27. #27 by AhPek on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:00 pm

Very interesting account of the PKFZ scandal and comments posted by Godfather, and whilst I would certainly concur with most of he says I do not see how ‘ the rakyatare not brave enough to change the present regime’ when the rakyat are in fact quite happy voting in BN throughout the 50 years of Malaysia’s statehood.
    How to undo this propensity to keep voting in BN is the problem opposition leaders have to uncover especially in a country when the politics is based on race and religion right from day 1 plus the problem of a muzzled press,a compliant judiciary,an EC beholden to the ruling party,extent of gerrymandering already done by the mamak to be undone etc etc etc.The playing field is made far too lopsided for the opposition even to deny them two thirds majority, not to speak of toppling the regime!

28. #28 by DoingTheRightThing on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:14 pm

One of the way to get ride of these so called “holier than thou” or “ulamak” is TO VOTE THEM OUT if Malaysian dare to do it.

Though Chua’s private life is subject to different interpretation based on which school of thought you are belongs to. Whether you are the real “holier than thou” or the “wayang” ‘holier than thou’.

However, Chua has thrown the monkey on the back of 26 million Malaysian citizen by saying that there are “holier that thou” Ministers out there and we Malaysian now either has to vote these holier that thou or vote them out.

We know most the Cabinet Miinisters are tainted one like Chan, Samy, Rafidah and so on. If we Malaysian, as claimed by Chua, are holier than thou, are we going to vote again and again all these bunch of ‘holier than thou crooks’?

Ask yourself this question and decide whether “50 years is enough or not”

I believe 50 years of holier that thou ‘wayang’ should end.

29. #29 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:20 pm

“The playing field is made far too lopsided for the opposition even to deny them two thirds majority, not to speak of toppling the regime!” AhPek

I don’t think that denying them the two-thirds majority is impossible. We have to think positive, spread the word, and encourage as many people to express their anger/frustration/disappointment through the ballot box. We have to do our bit, and then see what happens. The Opposition must have a game plan for the next elections. Seeking Chan’s resignation reeks of double standards – we should not seek selective prosecution especially when the Treasurer of UMNO figures prominently in this scandal.

If we have done all we can for regime change, and if the vast majority still wants the den of thieves to be in charge, then democracy has spoken and we must accept the wishes of the majority.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:36 pm

“…the identity of the hotel in Batu Pahat where Chua ended his political career is a common knowledge…”

Perhaps the Tourism Minister should set up a sign outside the hotel and the hotel room where he slept to read ” Here lies the end of a political career which should never have been”.

31. #31 by oknyua on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:59 pm

“Why are we asking Chan to resign when he is nothing more than a cog in a much bigger wheel?” Godfather.

When Chan came in, it was the tail end of the deal. I doubt if Chan KC managed to get anything other than taking most of the flaks. Those shooting at Chan KC must read earlier thread on the subject. In between the lines you’ll realise the bigger chunk could have landed into AMNO’s way while MCA’s benefits might have ended with the earlier people.

32. #32 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:02 pm

The family of Chua S.L. must not feel ashamed, although they must’ve felt angry and saddened. One consolation is to look at the rest of the MCA leaders who are not only corrupt to the core, but are not men enough to admit their wrongs and to do the right thing which Chua was man enough to do.

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:02 pm

There is this case about a high class prostitution ring operating in Washington DC recently. The “madam” who operates and offers services to clients maintain a book which is the subject of “discovery proceedings”. U.S. Congressmen whose names appear on that book are expected to resign.

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:08 pm

Chua’s sexual indiscretions and their consequences are his to sort out with his family but when it interferes with his duties as Minister it becomes a national problem.

His decisions throughout his tenure as Minister should be investigated to find if he had not been the subject of moral blackmail earlier.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:12 pm

ooops U.S. Congressmen whose names appear in that book are expected to resign from any governmental posts they hold.

36. #36 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:22 pm

This must be similar to the Heidi Fless affair that affected a number of Hollywood actors who happened to be in the mama-san’s personal notebook.

37. #37 by shaolin on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:31 pm

Vote MCA out in the coming GE…! MCA is playing
    a dirty game to oost out Dr. Chua Soi Lek so that
    Ong Ka Ting’s blue-eye boy can take over his post!!

Kill MCA, Support DAP and All Opposition Parties.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:04 pm

Chua’s sexual indiscretions as some would like to refer to it or infidelity as others would like to refer to it have a serious downside i.e. he could have compromised national interests to protect his own.

As the material is said to be two years old, it would be a good start to investigate all major decisions he made while serving on the Cabinet.

No one holding public office should expose himself to moral blackmail but once exposed he should leave public office to protect public interests.

39. #39 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:34 pm

Compromising national interests ? How could a minister of health compromise national interests other than awarding deals to certain parties ? Isn’t that what every ministry is doing – awarding deals to parties aligned to each minister ?

40. #40 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:36 pm

What about the nexus between Najib, Razak Baginda and Altantuya ? That would not just be compromising national interests. It would be compromising national security.

41. #41 by peacefulcitizen on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:55 pm

hey come on LA. how come other ministers are not “involved” in this of promiscuous activities and why does dr chua soi lek get the walking certificate? man i wonder what our country going to be in the near future. sadly degrading as the day goes by. first HINDRAF and now this? LOL

42. #42 by peacefulcitizen on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:57 pm

lets not talk about american so called “experts” about this porno thing. look at what had happened to that mongolian model. go figure

43. #43 by mendela on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:02 am

In any other civilized countries in this world, a scandal of such a large scale would have brought down easily any Governments.

Only in Malaysia, stupid Malaysians are voting in the corrupt UMO and its running dogs days in and days out!

BTW, can we sue the Government via World Court over this scandal? What are our other alternatives? Do we have an alternative at all?

44. #44 by mendela on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:04 am

Above I was talking about the RM 4.6 Billions PKFZ scandal…

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:09 am

“Compromising national interests ? How could a minister of health compromise national interests other than awarding deals …” Godfather

It does not necessarily mean only “national security” interests.

Is it not within the national interest to provide for an efficient public health system?

46. #46 by raven77 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:42 am

Clearly….for some….healthcare does not constitute national interest….how short memories are…you dont need another SARS or Nipah virus….you only need to look at the ongoing silent dengue epidemic in this country……are the heathcare dollars flowing in the right direction…..the wrong direction may mean thousands dead silently with no media impact like strokes and heart attacks….that’s national interest…..

47. #47 by mendela on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:51 am

I can easily say with great confidence that a big chunk of the RM 4.60 Billion has fallen into the hands of UMO and its cronies.

May be only 5% of the money has gone to MCA and its running dogs.

MCA is just a toy for UMO!

48. #48 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 7:56 am

Face your problems and shoot them down! That was what I was taught during my primary school days by my learned teachers. Perhaps Minister Chua had such similar teachers, that’s why he dared to face the problem and “shot himself down”. I admire him but not CKC who is a “chicken” and runs away from his problems. Being one of the “magnificent four” in MCA, CKC should follow the example of Minister Chua in owning up his mistakes and if necessary, quit from the ministerial post.

49. #49 by Godfather on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 8:07 am

Undergrad2:

Yes, it is in our national interest to provide for an efficient public health system. How does sleeping with a woman who is not the minister’s wife compromise this national interest ? That this woman would dissuade the minister from thinking about providing this public service ?

My point is that if there is any “harm” done to “national interest”, it is most likely that a certain contract (in your example, probably a new fleet of ambulances) could be given to this woman and her friends or relatives. However, isn’t this what every ministry is doing – giving contracts to friends and cronies with no experience whose sole motive is to make a quick buck through a subcontract to a recognised subcontractor ?

By this token – the very act of stealing – Chan Kong Choy has also compromised national interest. Rafidah has also compromised national interest. By doing nothing despite having the knowledge that leakages abound, Badawi has also compromised national interest. It is therefore in our national interests that these thieves be voted out of office !

50. #50 by Bigjoe on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 8:07 am

I tell you who should resign with Chua Soi Lek- Samy Vellu for organising a MIC rally against Hindraf. By organising this rally, he shows, he does not get it why Hindraf the same way Dr. Chua did not get it why there was no chance he could stay.

By organising the MIC rally while Hindraf leaders are detained, Samy Vellu don’t get it that the fundamental issue really is – the Indians want change NOT the same old way of thinking and doing things.

Samy Vellu don’t get it that 15,000 MIC supporter don’t mean anything. Considering MIC membership, bring out 150,000 and then he begin to proof something. Also by having Hindraf leaders under ISA and NOT giving a permit to Hindraf in the first place, he proof nothing.

What is crazy is that this MIC rally proves by Hindraf grievances is legitimate – that the leadership is out of touch, play under unfair rules, does not think they have done anything wrong, protect their interest first more than anything else and don’t care what other people think.

The fact, Samy Vellu think this rally means anything other just proving Hindraf right is proof like Dr. Chua who did not get it initially, he deserve to go.

You want to note a funny thing. One can argue that Dr. Chua ideally should be able to stay but if Samy Vellu was caught in a compromising situation (we all know he does the same thing just not on DVD), NO ONE would say he should be able to stay.

51. #51 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 8:19 am

Two thirds majority in the coming GE is definitely possible. Look at the following calculations:

Indian votes 10% of the population
    Chinese votes 30% of the population
    BUMIPUTRA votes 60% of the population

By now, after the Hindraf incident, Indian votes would have been lost by BN and with the Chua incident and turbulence within MCA, BN has lost Chinese votes. The remaining bumiputra votes have to be divided among the Bumis in Sabah and Sarawak who are not Malays, Keadilan, PAS and UMNO. So how many percent Malay votes are going to UMNO or BN? Their votes will also be influenced by the BERSIH demonstrations and the reaction offered by AAB.

52. #52 by oknyua on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:29 am

“Samy Vellu don’t get it that 15,000 MIC supporter don’t mean anything.” Bigjoe

A BN rally I once helped organised – pocket money RM12, Lunch money RM8. Transport RM10 (or provided by other means). Samy got his 15,000 easily.

Are they supporters?

53. #53 by wizzerd on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:04 am

mendela Says:

In any other civilized countries in this world, a scandal of such a large scale would have brought down easily any Governments.

Only in Malaysia, stupid Malaysians are voting in the corrupt UMO and its running dogs days in and days out!

I believe that Malaysians are voting in the govt not because of the support for the present govt , BUT more out of fear of changing the status quo..and the seed of fear has cleverly manipulated and sown into the hearts of the voters ever since May 13 , 1969 by the ruling party esp UMNO.

Look at the statements made by UMNO each time..Jangan main api (Don’t play with fire), jangan main dengan sentimen perkauman, ketuanan Melayu tidak boleh dicabar….bla..keris wielding.

Some middle class people here are living a relatively comfortable life..just that they didn’t want to rock the boat.

Hopefully time have changed them..with the issues aplenty and the gradual erosion of our Constitutional rights being made known of the Net..it may just swing the votes in favour of the Opposition.

Vote out the corrupt regime..Support DAP/PKR/PAS!!

54. #54 by g2geetoo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:05 am

Now, what would be KC Chan’s character in the drama of the “Water Margin”. How the hell did he managed to kill his own fellow bandit and still manage to survive like as though nothing has happend.

Maybe, he’s on “Romancing the Three Kingdom” already.

“Too many moves, spoil the plot”!

MCA is trying to kill the Ling legacy, looks Ling Hee Leong’s fight is getting tougher! The Foochow clan is losing out……..

55. #55 by g2geetoo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:19 am

The RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal is the first biggest financial scandal of the Abdullah premiership, which is even bigger than the first biggest financial scandal of the Mahathir premiership – the RM2.5 billion Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal in the early eighties.
    —————————————————————-
    Why the heck is Badawi so stupid to hang on to this issue when it is actually created by the TDM/Ling’s era?

What’s the catch? Two dumb fools (Badawi and Chan Kong Choy) hanging on to a hot potato!!!

56. #56 by Godfather on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:29 am

The catch is that UMNO is the biggest beneficiary of the scam and hence whoever is in UMNO has to toe the line. The profits on the sale of the land at an inflated price has already gone into certain parties’ pockets, and this will undoubtedly be used for the coming elections. Badawi is stupid, but not that stupid to open the can of worms.

Chan’s role is minor – he came in at the tail end, and had to complete what Ling Liong Sik agreed to do in exchange for crumbs. These MCA guys can’t sell out their BN partners since they had their fingers in the pie as well, albeit a much smaller share.

57. #57 by mendela on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:57 am

“Two thirds majority in the coming GE is definitely possible.’ ktteokt.

Yes, for sure it is possible to topple this corrupt regime. But UMO and the gangs will use all dirty tricks for them to clink to the power!

Look at Kenya now. Dirty tricks helped the current regime to grab the power and Kenya is in total anarchy now!

58. #58 by juarezfkw on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:14 am

It’s confirmed that politician is a whole bunch of liars! U did something wrong, u have to face the consequences! Politicaly motivated or the other way is not important! U make a shamed of us the chinese community! U make Malaysia a laughing stock! U make us chinese look degrading! If u all have balls, stand up and fight! dont just talk and act like a crazy ###!!!!

59. #59 by g2geetoo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:26 am

Chan’s role is minor – he came in at the tail end, and had to complete what Ling Liong Sik agreed to do in exchange for crumbs. These MCA guys can’t sell out their BN partners …..

—————————————————————
    But MCA can sell out the Chinese or the Rakyat?! Chan Kong Choy or put in Hakka tune “Only talk C*#k!

60. #60 by g2geetoo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:36 am

Was there a bail out in the PKFZ?
    The Rakyat has shown thier dissatifaction, why didn’t Chan Kong Choy resign just like Chua?
    Why is Chan Kong Choy always in a state of denial over this issue?
    Why didn’t he come out to defend?
    Is this the way of Islam Hadhari, state of denial?

Silence means consent?!

Vote BN out!!!

61. #61 by ahoo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:12 pm

” Monkey see monkey do ” and what ckc was tasked to do
    then was to follow his master’s order. Thus, he is just a small
    potato if you call it. No point calling for his blood alone.

Should continue to harp on this issue to get them (govt)
    for a RCI to investigate the leakages. Note that it’s afterall
    tax payer monies and for 4.6 billion, it is too much to keep
    quiet about it. Name them and shame them !!!

We cannot condone such acts where millions and billions are
    wasted for some perceived ” good project ” that nobody would
    claims responsibilty when failed but would take all the credits
    in implementation. Let’s not be sucker citizens anymore !!!

Vote anything else but bn (banana nasional) !

62. #62 by Bobster on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 5:48 pm

Chan only office boy for Ling & Zakaria alike Association.

Want to whank, don’t forgot to whack the old boys too.

Insider trading, account manipulation, discrepency and mismanagement in Berjaya Industry and Transmile etc are products of who-else but Tun Ling. And his son still in MCA. More damage going to cause to the Malaysia economy. Just wait and see.

63. #63 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:01 pm

It takes guts and great courage to admit to blunders and boo-boos. You think CKC has the same guts as CSL? Even after his blunder with the sex scandal, CSL was brave enough to come out and admit openly though with much regret. Will CKC do the same or would anyone expect him to follow suit?

64. #64 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:30 pm

65. #65 by ktteokt on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:12 am

As one of the “Magnificent Four” in MCA, CKC would not dare risk losing his political position, unlike CSL who was man enough to face the music. He will always remain as “Minister on the run” in the history of MCA and in Malaysia.

66. #66 by Edchin on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 11:40 pm

Chan KC will always be on the run. On the other hand, our friend Dr. Chua can retire and in years to come can reminisce to the song with good catchy tune sung by Eddie Rabbit

“Well I know a place
    where love comes easy
    and I know a woman
    who meets me there

she takes my hand
    and gently leads me
    when we go up to the room
    at the top of the stairs

I close the door
    and she pulls the curtain
    when we make love
    it’s a private affair”

(But, alas, I didn’t check if the camera was there)

“I’ve been around
    and I know for certain
    there ain’t no room like the room
    at the top of the stairs

when we climb up
    the stairway to heaven
    we find love waiting there
    right at home
    just me and my baby
    the loving is good
    at the room at the top of the stairs”

The room at the top of the stairs is actually room 1301.

67. #67 by HB Lim on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 11:44 pm

I think we should now focus on and expand on the PKFZ issue…Kit should issue another strong statement or post a comprehensive article on the issue and start the ball rolling again and hopefully by the GE the issue would become a full blown one – on CKC’s face. The scandal is of such a magnitude that we just cannot let them keep quiet about. Elsewhere, I had suggested that a video be made of the scandal and then shown through the net and distributed like what they did to Chua’s case. Let us see how the press would react – would they come down heavy on CKC as they did on Chua? Screwing one woman who consented and screwing the whole populace who did not – which is a bigger crime or harm to the nation?