Behind the colour of change

by Azly Rahman

In Malaysia, are the leaves turning yellow, too?

Are we witnessing the total deconstruction of the race-based political ideology and a breakdown of the economic and social relations of production?

Is the nation being haunted by a ‘yellow wave’ of change demanded by those alienated by the developmentalist agenda that seems to have favoured a privileged segment of society?

At the speed of how things are turning yellow, it seems that we have to content with such signs and symbols of systemic change as a reality.

Around three decades ago, the ‘yellow culture’ carried a negative connotation especially in relation to the invasion of the ‘decadent aspects of the western culture’. Today, we see a deconstruction of this perception; a mental revolution that is taking the colours of the constitutional monarchy as a symbol of war against the colours of the present race-based regime.

It is a war over the definition of ‘democracy’. It includes the question: who has the monopoly over Malaysian democracy? Can we continue to think like dinosaurs in an age of dolphin-think?

One of the nagging questions for our nation as we enter this challenging period for civil rights is this: what is Malaysian democracy and what is its future?

Key spokespersons of the government think that we are doing fine with the system and that we need to only improve the process.

Key spokespersons representing the wave of change and who challenge the ‘system’ think that the system is no longer working, as we face the realities of changing race-relations.

These are contending views of what ‘Malaysian democracy’ is – an interpretation of what the process of development of the people, by the people, for the people means. These are the views of the words ‘demos’ and ‘kratos’ of what a ‘government of the people’ should mean.

Democracy is rooted in economics. Our existence – including that of the king and the pauper, rebels and reformists, the Sultans and the hamba sahaya – as Marx would contend, is defined by the economic condition we are in or have created.

In Malaysia, the condition is defined by the pie baked by those who created the New Economic Policy that is now becoming a system of the New Economic Plutocracy.

Systemic corruption

I think the root of the showdown between the ‘yellow wave’ movement and the ‘red- faced’ power structure is economic in nature – true to the idea that we are all economic beings or of the specie homo economicus.

We still talk about an economic pie as if it is a constant. The faulty tool is popular with policy makers who are bankrupt of alternative perspectives of looking at systemic change. They continue to defend the indefensible in a time when change is imminent and coming at a very fast pace.

Even newer generation of race-based leaders are ill-equipped with the fundamental character of these radical changes. They use rock logic to meet the demand of a fluid society. Rock logic includes the use of force to prevent demands to these changes.

We must now abandon the metaphor of the pie; one that is increasingly becoming synonymous with the race to meet the gains of material standards at the expense of the real issue – distributive and regulative justice. We ought to adopt a new form of justice that cuts across racial lines and one that looks at the poor in the eye and into their souls.

That form of justice will meet our nation’s physical, emotional, and metaphysical needs. The present wave of dissatisfaction is not only an emanation of frustration over the issue of the judiciary and confusion over the line between the Legislature and the Executive; it is an emanation of a class-based issue, of which we are in denial.

Race is merely a sugar-coating of that nagging argument of this and that rights of this and that people; a coating that has become calloused with fossilised viruses that have corrupted the entire system since the British handed Malaya her independence on a silver platter. Race is a convenient basis for argument as it masks the issue of the ownership of power, knowledge and ideology.

Class-based system

The new issue facing us is class-based. We can longer use race and its sentimentality as a perspective to analyse what is gravely wrong with the developmental project we are pursuing.

We have subdivided ourselves into classes of the rich and poor from all the major races and the classes of those who owns the material and cultural capital. Our pattern of consumption, our daily grind, the kind of car we drive, the school our children go to, and how widely travelled we are, all reflect the class we are in.

But our politics is renewed every now and then to re-state the commitment to “correct the imbalances” using econometrics, without engaging in a sustained deep inquiry into the harder reality of living.

We are engaging in another exercise in keris-wielding, to renew of political-economic spirit that wishes to see the creation of more and more multi-million perhaps multi-billionaire Malays, Chinese, Indians, and other pribumi, but fail to inquire into the impact of such continuing policies that will further divide us into classes. No longer do arguments on racial imbalances, to me, seem to be attractive. Classes create antagonism.

Revelations of the issues of the distribution of wealth as in the multitude of unresolved cases of high-level corruption reflect how much public interest is intertwined with personal greed.

It reflects how much those in power invoke the mantras of “economic progress for this or that race” yet create a system that benefits this and that person/s. This is the game of equity we play. Our voters are either ignorant of the nature of interlocking directorate-ship in politics, or are too comfortable playing this game of patronage politics.

We somewhat do not get the clearest picture of what 30 years of ‘growth by equity’ policy has taken shape; who benefits? how are the benefits distributed? and why have the benefits of growth not trickle down as they theoretically should?

Price of progress

The human cost of development has taken its toll on the nation – that of those marginalised and lost-in-the-numbers game of the economic policy we design. We are startled by the nature of by-products of developments such as:

• The growing poverty (urban and rural) among Malaysians of all races, and we will also see rising poverty among immigrants who are helping build our economy;
  • An increasing percentage of drug addiction among the Malays – especially those marginalised by an uncaring, uncreative, and uninspiring educational system that measures people by numbers and by truncated notion of achievement alone – and I am sure of other races in general;
  • An increasing number of persons living with HIV/Aids as a possible result of the nature of the economic developmental paradigm we have constructed and the nature of schooling system that promotes a few and marginalises and alienates many;
  • A growing population of our youth disenfranchised in our school system as a result of the slow-paced growth of teaching-skills acquisition – skills that are needed to make the school a very happy place one wherein children do not get bored and translate their boredom into drug addiction or gangsterism;
  • A growing breed of our elected representative that cannot articulate logical analysis, prognosis, diagnosis to issues of distributive and regulative justice, but instead choose to continue to verbally clobber each other based on race sentiments;
  • A clear continuation of the political paradigm in which our politicians are engaged – one that needs lots of money to keep one’s constituency happy and even worse, to keep one’s political position stronger;
  • A clear picture of how our society has developed – the dangerous growth of classes of the multi-cultural rich and the multi-cultural poor and the relegation of the multi-cultural middle class into a new class of ‘urban poor’ whose life is tied to an increasingly dangerous pattern of hyper-modern consumption;
  • A picture of the breaking down of families as a result of the changing patterns of our economy after the implementation of the NEP – there’s too much drive in human beings to earn more to make the first million Ringgit so that they will be ‘on par with the other races’. This has resulted in a dangerous form of psychological breakdown as a consequence of the mental breakdown of modern life. The work ethic imposed on Malaysians by global companies, especially profit-driven ones from the advanced nations, have impacted the way we look at work, juggle family life, pursue leisure and pleasure, and the way we create or break families;
  • A dangerous trend of a breakdown of race relations, reflected in the nature and style of arguments we engage in, be they in Parliament or in our public schools – this is a continuing pattern of mistrust of the other race based on the struggle to outwit and out-greed each other in our pursuit of material wealth;
  • A continuation of the grooming of political-economic dynasties based on the struggle to protect family interests as well as to create more wealth so that money can further sustain power – the idealism and ethics of the early years of Independence are now in the dustbin of history; we now watch a saga of what looked like a war between the Jacobins and the Girondins during the French Revolution, only this revolution is played silently, not for the future well-being of peoples of all races, but for the purpose of empire-building.

There are possible inroads to the long-term economic solutions we can undertake in order to rekindle the spirit of restructuring society and eliminating poverty.

Our current pursuit is creating the opposite effect. It is still-based on the protection of the interest of each race, ideologically derived from the British legacy of divide and rule.

The current path is creating classes of the extremely wealthy few and a growing population of poor.

We need to go back to studying human nature and what kind of society we wish to recreate. The wealthy class wants to be ensured of control of economic resources so that the system can be maintained and be fine-tuned.

To meet the challenges of a nation that is beginning to think like a dolphin, we have to reject the notion of using force and violence to promote Dinosaur Age thinking.

I suggest we abandon Dinosaur Age thinkers in our march for real-time progress; one in which dolphins surf the yellow waves – elegantly and intelligently.

1. #1 by AhPek on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:55 am

Malaysia is at a cross road.It has good people with great potential but it is slipping beneath the wave of mediocrity, weighed down by officials intent on an orgy of plunder while the ship’s captain stands idly by.
    The process of government needs to be dramatically and urgently overhauled.Malaysia needs a dynamic visionary leader who is up to the task.Instead she has Abdullah Badawi!
    Now we all know Azly Rahman that we must ‘abandon Dinosaur Age thinkers in our march for real-time progress; one in which dolphins surf the yellow waves-elegantly and intelligently.’.But the big question is still ‘how’.Under the present system no way.Only question I have is ‘Are Malaysians prepared for a revolution to cause a regime downfall so that a better system can be given a chance to rise from the ashes of phoenix.’.I don’t know, now you tell me.

2. #2 by Jimm on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 9:18 am

Malaysia have seen the worst among most in her time.
    Most of them are man made issue and mankind mistake.
    As Malaysia, we just have to learn to accept that (somehow) our peak time to excel (once) in our life presence were not fully given the rightful opportunity to do so.
    Though most of us would be so angry and upset over these treatments that wasted our (once in the) lifetime opportunity.
    It is business world that we are living in,
    when we sell, that doesn’t mean people will buy.
    when we are prepare to contribute, doesn’t mean people appreciate it.
    when we thought that we are in, actually we are still left outside standing.
    when we shared the same view, they dragged the object further beyond reach or compromising environment.
    when you thought this country that you love will treat you slightly better, you are always in for a surprise.
    That’s a common Malaysian’s life ….
    You are just a number to them.

3. #3 by azk on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 9:33 am

“I suggest we abandon Dinosaur Age thinkers…”

Good suggestion… great idea…

ok.. how?

4. #4 by Jackychin on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 9:42 am

We truely can see the gap between the rich and the poor, and the destruction it causes, with the allow of price hikes yearly and periodically, and no allow of a better structual wage or salary monitory system we can only be poorer by the minute, I cannot see a bright future in these conditions…

5. #5 by Jackychin on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 9:43 am

The vote is our best defence against the dinosaurs…dolphins…think~

6. #6 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:44 am

Heard about this yellow fever thingy.

I dont want to rain on anyone’s parade, but lets look at the scenario in Msia realistically. Currently, we have BN who have governed for 50 years. There is a track record for all to see. Whether that track record is good or bad, it is subjective. I admit the current government is not perfect. BUT honestly, is there a perfect government with a perfect system today??

In the Opposition camp, like it or not what you lot have is some form of a loose coalition. PAS & DAP cant see eye to eye. DAP wants PKR to stop working with PAS or else DAP will drop PKR and etc etc. So, tell me seriously how are this 3 parties gonna agree on policies should they win the next GE??? They will most likely end up strangling each other trying to decide who be PM/DPM etc etc.

Now, are you lot gonna ask the rakyat to throw caution to the wind and take a gamble with PKR DAP & PAS marriage of convenience come the next GE? Please bear in mind, it is a big gamble we are talking about.

Many of you lot are calling for change and all. I have no problems with change. Change is good if it is for the better.

7. #7 by budak on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:47 am

if they can accept Chinese or Indian (not Samy/Lingam) PM…
    then they got hope to smell another 50 yrs of Merdeka…
    else we’ll return to pendenkar time…

or pakai sarung lari lintang-pukang…
    (chase by ALong…)

8. #8 by sani on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:33 am

Malaysian politics are just opportunitism packaged into a racial theme.

I suppose we are now suffering the lost of the real opportunity, when Onn Jaffar + Lee Kuan Yew was booted out for promoting the real Malayan + later Malaysian values.

We cannot move on unless, we decide that, beneth the skin deep different, we are all the same.

Malaysia is not unique in multi-culturalism. Countries like Australia, USA,Sweden, Canada, to name a few, have made progressive use of that experince.

Malaysian racial sentiments, are just tools of exploitation for the class systems. It was a end game from the very beginning + now we are at the end of the jalan mati.

Suffer the children.

9. #9 by justaskmeanything on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:34 am

PAS is not as evil as it seems, a lot of educated professionals are PAS members and they have more integrity than the UMNOPUTRAS.

IMHO electing BN coalition to another 5 year term is a suicidal attempt and I would rather have a cabinet line up of the likes of Lim Kit Siang, Hadi Awang, Anwar, Jeff Ooi, Tony Pua, to name a few who are more qualified leading the country to greater heights, than having all the Half Past 6 ministers who has done nothing but continue to plunder the wealth of our country.

Think of the changes this dream team will bring to Malaysia, as opposed to what we are seeing now.
    We seriously need a change for the future of our country.

Real World I do wonder why for a person with such intellectual capacity, you still want to live in a world led by crooks. Don’t you think that the country will be better off with a new set of leaders who really care for the people? Malaysia’s GDP will only fall (unless USD plunges further which lowers the real value of your GDP figure) and even your wealth won’t be safe guarded against the rising crimes if you keep on thinking the old way of ‘BN = Stability’.

10. #10 by AhPek on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:00 pm

The fact is realworld you have been harping that there is no perfect nation.We all know that and also there is no nation in this whole wide world with 0 corruption or with 0 discrimination.But Malaysia ranks badly in the International Corruption Index and the discrimination here is constitutional rather than attitudinal as is found in most countries.
    Now coming back to the voting for opposition parties be it PKR,DAP or PAS I don’t see at all any gamble involved if we choose to vote them in.Where is the throwing of caution to the wind? In fact the opposite is the case for choosing the opposition is the better part of discretion for anything is better than the UMNOPUTRAS who are running wild in an orgy of plunder!
    The fact is this that Malaysians must quickly learn (already 50 years late) that only having a government-in-waiting can you have any hope of having good governance and also having your rights as citizenry preserved.
    Care to count how many times our Constitution have been amended over the last 50 years versus the number of times the American Constitution have been amended over more than 200 years.If you’ve done that I’m sure you can see the urgency of going for change before it is too late!

11. #11 by AhPek on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:03 pm

Should be ‘rights of citizenry preserved.’.

12. #12 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:09 pm

AhPek,

I am curious, how do you know that the ‘government in waiting’ will provide the rakyat with good governance and their rights preserved?? How do you know the Constitution wont be amended even further (with PAS calling for Islamic State and all)?? You have a crystal ball between your eyes?

How can your ‘government in waiting’ will deliver good governance when they are wishy washy about working together?? DAP is ranting to PKR to stop working with PAS or else DAP will divorce PKR … so how la your good governance thingy??

Just like you, I am faced with a choice, either go with a tried and tested formula or the totally unknown. And it will be kinda hard to swing in em’ votes when you lot are in a wayang kulit kinda marriage.

13. #13 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

My friend who has two factories here which employed about 200 workers (mainly local Malays). Fed up with the NEP, he decided to move those production lines to Vietnam.

In a few weeks time, about 200 local Malays will find themselves jobless because of NEP. At the same time, about 200 Vietnamese will be able to get a job because of NEP in Malaysia.

I think the Vietnam government would like to see the NEP be extended indefinitely, as advocated by UMNO.

14. #14 by shaolin on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:50 pm

To change for the better or for the worst??

Will bury all the ‘Dinasour thinkers’ lead us to better nation
    building agenda?? Just stop here and think of our current
    Education System, can we make great leap in Space
    Engineering and Technologies??

There are so many university graduates cannot even do simple mathematics and read or write a proper official business letter in English/Malay!!

How far can the nation progress with such graduates of
    that calibres??!! The low academic standards is mainly
    caused by NEP and resulting in dropping of all the univer-
    sity ranking!!

All Malaysians know where the problem lies and we cannot
    beat the system so we join them… hahaha!!

Latest news update: Our 2nd ‘Cosmonaut’ hurts himself
    infront of his house when 2 Malay thugs rob him and his
    friend of gold chain. The thugs chop him with parangs and
    later speed away in their bikes!!

It is the Motorbike Gang again and this time in KL…!! It
    clearly shows the Big Flop of our Education System!!

15. #15 by Satya Venugopal on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 2:26 pm

RealWorld,

Your words epitomise the source of the inertia plaguing Malaysia, in terms of voting out incompetent, crass, politicians who have shown a clear disdain for the will of the people.

Your “tried and tested formula” received the largest mandate it has in decades, during the last general elections. With little opposition in Parliament (numbers-wise), it has grown arrogant, and thinks it can get away with daylight robbery of the rakyat, and the rape of this country.

It uses the excuse of race to promote class inequality, as Dr. Azly Rahman rightly pointed out. Many Malays remain poor and receive little benefits from racist policies supposedly designed to help them, while Bumiputra billionaires claim 15% subsidies for their million-ringgit bungaloes.

The tried and tested formula uses religion as a wedge to divide us. Corruption is rampant, with BILLIONS of ringgit of taxpayers’ money going into the pockets of cronies.

We’re losing our competitive edge because of race-based policies that promote a culture of mediocrity. Our sources of FDI are turning to China, Singapore, and even Vietnam. Currently oil revenues account for 40% of our GDP. That number is rising. Let’s not start with economic mismanagement.

Our most basic rights as human beings and citizens of a democracy are brazenly being trampled upon. The police force is at war with itself; half the force supporting the underworld, and the other half against it. Our security is threatened not only by crime, but by the very police and ACA that are supposed to protect us.

You say no government is perfect. Agreed. But this one has long since sunk beneath the standards of tolerable imperfection.

You say we should fear PAS’s Islamic State? I do. But the tried and tested formula tells us we’re already an Islamic state. Right now, PAS’s version looks to be the more tolerant of the 2. At least they don’t go about wantonly demolishing places of worship of other religions. I fear the Islamic state of the tried and tested formula more.

This is the product of our tried and tested formula. Yes, we’ve tried it, and tested it, and it has failed us miserably!

So why should we vote for the “totally unknown”?

Because democracy is about check and balance. There isn’t going to be a problem deciding on the PM. The number of votes still decide that. Let’s be realistic here. The mainstream media keeps most people blissfully ignorant of many of the issues we speak of here, and many among the rural folk feel an almost “loyalty” to the current government and its leaders. Most people who are aware enough depend on the internet for information, as we do. “Internet penetration is minimal,” to quote Malik Imtiaz Sarwar.

The tried and tested formula is still going to garner plenty of votes. Add rigging into the equation. We must dilute the ridiculous majority that they have in Parliament and at the State Assemblies. With a much smaller majority, and with a much larger presence of a variety of Opposition parties in both the upper and lower houses, there’ll be a much stronger check and balance in place. And we’re not voting for the “totally” unknown either. The Opposition has consistently shown a willingness to raise issues important to the people, and has been responsive to the will of the people, if only to garner votes/political milage and nothing else. Which is more than can be said for the tried and tested formula.

Plus in such a case, civil society is more likely to flourish, and then WE can put pressure on ALL politicians regardless of their party.

I’d rather vote for someone that I don’t know for sure can lead me out of this mess (but has shown SOME indication that it could) than vote for a tried and tested formula that guarantees beyond doubt Malaysia’s journey to becoming a failed state.

It’s a difficult choice, but we have to be brave enough to make it.

16. #16 by oknyua on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 2:27 pm

Sdr Azly,

Class-based system: The word “pribumi,” are you advocating its use?

Thank you.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:47 pm

“I’d rather vote for someone that I don’t know for sure can lead me out of this mess (but has shown SOME indication that it could) than vote for a tried and tested formula that guarantees beyond doubt Malaysia’s journey to becoming a failed state.”

Are you saying you’d rather for the Devil you don’t know than for the Devil you know?

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:50 pm

“This is the product of our tried and tested formula. Yes, we’ve tried it, and tested it, and it has failed us miserably!”

If we have the wrong product, any testing of it would not make the product right!

19. #19 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:00 pm

Dear Satya Venugopal,

Very well said.

20. #20 by AhPek on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:26 am

I am also curious realworld how you come to the conclusion that I’ve said that government -in-waiting will provide the rakyat with good governance and safeguards for citizenry rights.I have never said that and this goes to show you have never understood what I’ve written.What i’ve said is that only when you have a government-in-waiting can malaysians have any hope of having a government with good governance and citizenry rights safeguarded (or preserved).Just in case you don’t know,when a country has 2 parties, a ruling party and a party which is the government-in-waiting, no party can gain a two thirds majority in parlimentary seats.This is one of the main factors guaranteeing good governance and your rights to freedom of expression,freedom of religion,freedom to information etc etc etc. because no party can obtain absolute power and what will absolute power achieve but absolute corruption.BN has almost a
    a continuous reign with two thirds majority of parlimentary seats for the last 50 years. So are we surprised that corruptions,mediocrity,mismanagement is rampant with every institution rendered dysfunctional??
    No government with absolute powers will allow anyone be it the courts to dig into the corruption involving their top members and find them guilty.Typical clear cut example is Malaysia.Only have to cite 3 recent cases and we have plenty more.Case no 1 is Rafidah’s dishing out APs to relatives, cronies without proper
    procedures and transparency making them fabulously rich.Case no 2 is the flagrant abuses at ministry of youth and sports, wasting millions of ringgit of purchases
    such as 224 ringgit payment for a 24 ringgit screwdriver set, 1146 ringgit payment for a 160 ringgit pen set as revealed by the auditor general’s report.Also discovered was ministry’s head who is authorised to approve contracts worth less than 5 million ringgit approved contracts worth more than 450 million ringgit and ministry claimed our kris waving Krishamuddin (then Sports Minister) have written a letter of authority for the purchases but this disappeared during auditing. How incredible? Only can happen in Bolehland! Case no 3 is the famous PKFTZ big scandal which not only involve paying excessively for land which can be acquired thro land acquisition at a much lower cost but also include excessive cost overrun in developing the land.Instead of making arrests, government is going to bail them out using tax payer’s money.Thus you find all these ministers whose ministries are involved in such misdeeds are still sitting smugly, swirling on their cushy chairs. All those problems simply vanish into the black hole of the universe.
    We can also cite similar examples around the region. Was President Ferdinand Marcos found guilty during office.Never for who will dare to try even?Only found out the billions worth of wealth taken out of Philipines when he is kicked out of office.Similarly for Suharto.Thus while dictators(or leaders ruling with absolute powers) are in office, their acts of corruption are only rumours but in most cases true too.
    Michael Backman a well known columnist once said that Daim Zainnudin remarked to him that Malaysian judges are stupid.Of course we want them to be biased, he said to Michael,but we don’t expect them to be that biased.
    Even the former Lord President of Malaysiahas gone to the extent of saying that if given a choice he would not like to be tried in Malaysian courts especially when he knows he is innocent! What a damning indictment of our judiciary.
    Tengku Razaleigh also have told Michael Backman that there is no reason why Malaysia cannot have a free press,an independent judiciary and also thatcorrupt ministers and other corrupt officials should be publicly exposed and humiliated.
    Former IGP Tan Sri Haniff has come out to make a statement that without going into investigations one can safely say 40% of police officers are corrupt just by looking at their life-styles.Of course you can expect our present IGP to deny it. In fact it is in the air that he is working in cahoots with big time gangster who is the drug boss, big time Ah LOOng, big time black market gambling boss and big time human trafficking and prostitution boss.
    As for mediocrity, just follow the going ons at the ICJ in Hague and it will make you sick to the bones following how Malaysian team comprising Syed Hamid Albar,AG Abdul Gani Patai and AG’s son presenting 5 baseless allegations and insinuations which are torn d to shreds by singapore’s team of Prof Tommy Koh, Prof Jayakumar and AG Chao Hick Tin.”We should seek to win by stating objective facts and submitting persuasive legal arguments and not resorting to unfounded political statements and making insinuations damaging to the integrity of the opposite party.” qoute from prof jayakumar.Malaysia tried to submit postigs from an unknown blog which plagiarise from wikipedia discovered by ordinary citizen Joe of Singapore. She said,’If you click on the link at Pulau Batu Puteh Lighthouse it goes to Cape May lighthouse at wikipedia. That’s when tha cat is out of the bag.”.Malaysia also submitted doctored photos which make Pulau Batu Puteh appear to be much nearer to Johore than it should be.Because we have been carrying out kangaroo’s court every so often we must have forgotten that ICJ in Hague is not a kangaroo court.
    All the above formed the basis of my contention any party is better than BN, so vote any opposition in your area without even harbouring any second thoughts.The tested formulas we have are tested formula for corruption,tested formula for discrimination, tested formula for mismanagement and tested formula for rendering dysfunctional all institutions in the country.Like what undergrad2 said,’I rather vote for someone that I don’t know for sure can lead me out of this mess (but has shown some indication it could) than vote for a tried and tested formula that guarantees beyond doubt Malaysian’s journey to becoming a failed state.’.

21. #21 by RealWorld on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:01 am

AhPek,

Before you go again on a roundabout, again I put it to you in plain and elementary English; How would you know that this ‘government-in-waiting can provide the good governance and basics rights for the citizens??

And about your ‘government-in-waiting’ thingy … how can it be called a government in waiting when PAS & DAP cant see eye to eye??? And with DAP constantly crying to PKR to drop PAS or else DAP will leave PKR. Are you saying if these 3 wins the next GE and form the new government, they can provide us the good governance etc etc etc when in the first place they can even agree amongst themselves???

Fyi, Malaysia dont have a 2 party system.

22. #22 by cancan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:17 am

What is right,is right and what is wrong, is wrong.
    Only idiots don’t understand this.

We are now in a very pathetic state in all fields.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

23. #23 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:01 pm

Whatever exchanges there may be AhPek and RealWorld, I must say that AhPek you have done a fine job.

Just keep on dishing out those dirt. Though many people can say ‘we knew that’ or ‘it is nothing new’ it is important to keep on bringing out these reminders again and again in future and related threads.

24. #24 by localgrad on Friday, 2 May 2008 - 4:15 pm

Dear Azly Rahman, YB LIM, DSAI and others,

I would like to let all Malaysians know that Jabatan Perdana Menteri’s Biro Tata Negara has all this while missused thier position and $$$ to brainwash government servants and to a certain extend, GIC employess.

I could not believe myself how racist they are if I were not participated in the previous round. Some of their tricks to incite hatred among us (Malays, Chinese and Indians)

Please, someone must stop this or perhaps expose it to the general public that this kind of unlawful brainwashing events are in place. I encountered a few aunties that have really been “cheated” by this bunch of scumbags.

Some of their unjust provaocations:
    1. UMNO is malays’ only savour.
    2. DSAI is a trator of malay and being used by Jews.
    3. We have given Chinese and other non-bumi citizen status and they should not have asked more than that! i.e.fair treatment… ya he mentioned in front of a small no. of non-bumi. They even threatened to revoke non-Bumis’ citizenship!
    4. Malays need government contract and will sub-con to Chinese once they got the projects cause Chinese own most of the trailors, construction machines…. (can u believe it???)
    5. Racial riot video, one being stabbed and slahed…
    6. UTAR is illegal, Dong Jiao Zhong is extremist, Sekolah Rendah Jenis Kebangsaaan is too much. (???!!!)

and many more!!! and they even mention some sort like “China balik China and India balik India” (wat the fck!!!)

Please can someone raise this question in the parliament and it has to be stopped.