Shame of MIC MP challenging a woman DAP MP to “fight” outside Chamber – first time in Parliament in 50 years

Deputy Minister for Natural Resources and Environment Datuk S. Sothinathan should be thoroughly ashamed of himself and apologise for challenging a woman DAP MP, Fong Po Kuan (Batu Gajah) to a fight outside the Chamber yesterday during the winding-up of the 2008 Budget committee debate on his Ministry, when he was completely flustered and unable to reply in an exchange with DAP MPs. The shameful conduct of Sothinathan is the first time in 50 years of Parliament in Malaysia.

The fracas took place yesterday when he made a baseless charge against me when I raised the widespread opposition of the people of Kedah to the unfair, arbitrary and illegal increases of quit rent in the state.

Earlier during the debate, I had informed Parliament that 120,000 signatures regardless of race, religion and political beliefs, protesting against the unfair Kedah quit land increases was presented to the Kedah State Government on Sunday, and that the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment which has responsibility for co-ordination of land policy, should ensure that the Kedah State Government is more responsible and responsive on the issue.

When the signature campaign opposing the Kedah quit land revision was launched by the Kedah Chinese Assembly Hall on 23rd May 2007 after a year of fruitless protests, there were those who ridiculed the campaign as unlikely to collect even a thousand signatures.

However, within two weeks it collected over 30,000 signatures while in less than six months, there were 120,000 signatures from all races and religions, reflecting the widespread opposition to the unfair, arbitrary and illegal quit land revision in the Kedah state.

The main objections of the Kedah people to the quit land revision were two:

Firstly, the steep hike in the increase in quit rent to as high as 900% when in other states the quit rent increases were in the region between 10% to 30%.

Secondly, the illegal revision, with the following examples cited in the signature campaign memorandum:

Klasifikasi (“Classification”)

klasifikasi tambahan khususnya tanah Bandar dalam Bandar kecil dan tanah luar simpanan melayu adalah bertentangan dengan Seksyen 51(2) Kanun Tanah Negara yang Cuma memperuntukkan tiga (3) jenis tanah isitu: (a) tanah bandar; (b) tanah Pekan; dan (c) tanah Desa.

Jenis Penggunaan

Seksyen 52 KTN memperuntukkan tiga jenis penggunaan tanah sahaja seperti berikut:-
(i) Pertanian;
(ii) Bangunan; dan
(iii) Perindustrian.

Tetapi didapati jenis penggunaan tanah telah di sub-kategorikan kepada:-

(i) Bagi maksud Perindustrian – disub-kategorikan kepada industri berat, industri ringan, industri serdehana, industri perkhidmatan, pelancongan dan sebagainya;
(ii) Bagi maksud Bangunan — disub-kategorikan kepada hiper market, tapak stesen minyak, tapak hospitak swasta, tapak pendidikan swasta, tapak rekreasi, rumah sesebuah, rumah teres, rumah berkembar dan sebagainya;
(iii) Bagi maksud Pertanian — tanaman jangka panjang, tanaman jangka pendek, kawasan padi yang diwartakan sebahagian kawasan tuaian dua kali yang dikenakan cukai taliair dan sebagainya.

dimana ianya jelas bertentangan dengan Seksyen 52(1) KTN..

Tanah Luar Simpanan Melayu

Kami mendapati bagi tujuan pembayaran cukai tanah kesemua tanah luar simpanan melayu telah dikira sebagai tanah Bandar walaupun ianya terletak di luar kawasan Bandar.

Dengan kewujudan klasifikasi ini, ia jelas bertentangan dengan Seksyen 51(2) KTN dan berbentuk diskriminasi.

Memperkira Kenaikan-Kenaikan Pada Nilai Tanah Disebabkan Oleh Kemajuan
Seksyen 101(4) Kanun Tanah Negara yang berbunyi:-

“Dalam menjalankan kuasa-kuasa yang diberi oleh seksyen ini Pihak Berkuasa Negeri janganlah hendaknya memperkira kenaikan-kenaikan pada nilai tanah disebabkan oleh kemajuan”

In my speech, I had urged the Federal Ministry in charge of land co-ordination in the country among the various states to liaise with the Kedah State Government to be responsible and responsive on the quit rent revision controversy or the Barisan Nasional will face severe consequences and lose badly in Kedah in the next general election.

Unfortunately in his reply, Sothinathan chose to play politics by accusing me of trying to “politicize” the issue, leading to a heated exchange where MIC’s role as “slave” to Umno, as proven by its cowed and submissive responses to arrogant Umno actions, like timing the recent Umno General Assembly on Deepavali and castigating ndian news vendors for taking a holiday resulting in the Prime Minister’s Umno Presidential speech not been read the next day because it was a press holiday were cited.

It was in this exchange between Barisan Nasional and DAP MPs that Sothinathan challenged Po Kuan to a “fight” outside the Chamber, which was most disgraceful in setting a new Malaysian parliamentary record of a male MP challenging a female MP to a “fight outside”.

If Sothinathan refuses to apologise, then Samy Vellu should direct him to do so.

1. #1 by FuturePolitician on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 11:58 am

Oh!Man! How I wish I was in Parliament, then I could come an defend damsel in distress..and beat the pulp out of that fella!

Or better Fong accepts his challenge and karate him of to timbaktu!

Our MPs are has such childish behaviour..

LOL!!! Is our parliament run by little children? Do we need to spank them of behavin badly in class?

2. #2 by Taikor on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 11:59 am

Oh my Heaven! LOL!!

3. #3 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:00 pm

Heh, there is a saying against those hardcore feminists who still believed that men shouldn’t hit women: “equal rights, equal fights”.

I guess someone took it too literally.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:01 pm

Semi Value to direct Sothi to apologise ? You gotta be kidding me. Semi Value is the champion of fight instigation. Every debate with Semi Value ends in a challenge to fight – inside or outside Parliament.

5. #5 by Daniel Quah on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:04 pm

should be ashame if man fighting a women…how about pick someone his own size for sake…AAB? Semi-value?…

6. #6 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:08 pm

Fair enough, we should pursue until Sothinathan apologizes sincerely. Otherwise it will be another empty threat and empty talk. What is our action plan? Have 500 people going to his office every morning to remind him of his despicable behavior? Do something; otherwise this blog is fast approaching to be a paper tiger. I don’t mean to disrespect for Sdr. Lim. You have contributed enormously to the discourse. But so far, the impact has been minimal. May be if you are MCA/GERAKAN president, (and despite the constraints put on BN parties), you probably could have accomplished more.

7. #7 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:09 pm

By the way YB, I believe its high time the opposition start changing their strategy in winning votes. Look, you have been highlighting the government’s mistakes and flaws for decades now but I think its no longer as important. Urban people are no longer naive and they know what’s going on even without the opposition drawing attention to it. More and more city dwellers are turning to the internet for independent and uncensored news and this more or less lessens the opposition’s burden so they can concentrate more on educating the less informed people (like in the rural areas).

Just my 2 cents.

8. #8 by sani on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:09 pm

Replying out of topic, racist remarks, sexist remarks, showing bad signs, close one eyes, tunnel, bocor, pondan. beruk, pandan di cabar…..what else are they good at? Oh yes……tidur all the time + now want to fist fight

9. #9 by oknyua on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:10 pm

YB Lim,
    Ask that man, what happened to Maika Holdings? He knows better, bu then, you better get ready a pair of boxing gloves.
    Lately is the medical college. I contributed to it. What happen now?

10. #10 by sj on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 12:18 pm

All the more reasons to get rid of dead woods and useless incompetent people in the Parliament.

11. #11 by grace on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:18 pm

Tell you, BN MPs or ministers are either sex maniac, no maruah, corrupted, kurang ajar and now gangster. Worst still this gangster dared not take on thelikes of Mike Tyson, but a young lady.
    Adei, youmust be pondan la!!! Try fighting like a man la! Pick a strong man la! Please don’t pick on Karpal Singh. If you do that you are worst than a donkey!

12. #12 by k1980 on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:21 pm

Sothinathan should be challenging the organisers of the rally, the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) to a fight on Sunday
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2088615/Article/index_html
    The organisers plan to present 100,000 signatures in a petition to Queen Elizabeth II for a Queen’s Counsel to represent the Indian community in a representative action filed on Aug 30 in the United Kingdom seeking STG4 trillion (RM27.7 trillion) in compensation for the community from the British government.

13. #13 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:24 pm

Haha! Semi Value to tell Sothi to apologise? He is the biggest thug himself what. Sothi is only learning from the sifu. Else how to take over as leader one day. As a leader of MIC one needs to be a loud mouth but empty up there. But of cos u can cover it with a toupee la.

WHen the govt has no money to channel to the states, what better way than to tax the ratepayers. So those ppl who signed the petition shld know whom to vote for in the next GE.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:32 pm

Sothinathan is a ‘girly-man’ – only fight girls and hide behind the skirt of Samy Vellu. Samy Vellu has filled his ranks with eunuchs like Sothinathan because he can’t handle real men. What can you expect of a someone that does not know how to teach his own son how to treat women much less those under him…

If Samy Vellu was a priest I have no doubt he would be one of ‘those’ you know…

15. #15 by lupus on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:40 pm

Is Sothinathan going to make more of a fool of himself – I mean, getting out spoken by a woman and now get beating to a pulp by a woman ? Isn’t looking stupid in one day in one way enough for him ???

16. #16 by shiver on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:06 pm

mob from mob crib! quick make a cartoon out of this! haha
    uncle kit, this country is going crazy, they are robbing the rakyat everywhere and anyhow deemed possible.
    900% increase? if they did it in the klang valley, there will be day and night demonstrations. imagine how expensive it is.

on another note uncle kit, whats DAP stand on working with PKR and PAS? come on, karpal said going alone if PKR wont back down with PAS. Uncle Kit, DAP will not be strong enough to win anything on its own! please work together.

There are so much work to be done, we dont need the mainstream media to continue highlighting the bickering within!

The rakyat is requesting to the DAP tp Please SOLVE IT and WORK IT OUT!

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:29 pm

Why didn’t Sothi challenge umno to a fight for suspending him then?
    http://www.indianmalaysian.com/indian_09-05_sothinathan.htm
    A man with a tainted past — an accomplice to the hijacking of RM 10 million telecoms shares (maika scandal)….

18. #18 by sotong on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:36 pm

Picking a fight with woman knowing he will win……what a disgrace and how low would he go!

19. #19 by delCapo on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:39 pm

Shame on u, MIC… trying to outdo Nazri… hehehehe…
    KJ’s speech still echos… “Kalaus betul betul Jantan….”

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:52 pm

This is the evidence that MIC is full of thugs.

when cornered, resort to thuggery!

21. #21 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 3:07 pm

Dei!! Fighting woman dah?! Where is your manhood? This guy must have been traumatised so much by good old Samy that he is afraid to face real men.

I always had some respect for this guy as an MP and the bold stand he took to fight for the plight of Indian students studying medicine in Russian universities and who were in danger of being derecognised. The bold stand he took earned him a suspension in Parliament and I thought finally here we have a MP with some backbone and integrity.

Guess they are all the same eventually. What a letdown!!

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:19 pm

Come on, Poh Kuan. Accept his challenge. Shove some chillies down his throat.

P/s what did the Speaker say or react?

23. #23 by grace on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:27 pm

Sothi, lu ada bola ke? Lawan perempuan sudah sangat malu!
    Minister macam ini mana boleh buat Malaysia maju?
    Lu lebih baik balik kampung jadi gangster la!
    Oop! Sudah lupa. Sothi tada bola. Gangster ta boleh la!
    Boleh jadi pimp la!!! Sesuai bagi dia!!!

24. #24 by mycroft on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:34 pm

Anyone who says that the DAP should work with PAS or that people should vote for PAS is surely unable to see the forest for the trees.

Is that PAS – the party that practices gender segregation? PAS – the party that wants to establish a theocratic Islamic state in Malaysia? PAS – the party that will tear up the Federal Constitution and destroy the last vestiges of secularism in the country?

The BN is bad. Damn horrible in fact. So why are people urging support for an entity that is as bad as them? One side uses race to subjugate people. Another uses religion. Both are the different faces of the same coin.

The DAP cannot talk about a secular Malaysia if it works with PAS. Same as how the MCA/MIC/Gerakan cannot talk about a multi-racial Malaysia as it works with UMNO.

The DAP should fight the BN as if there were no PAS and fight PAS as if there were no BN. Most of all, it should concentrate its efforts on pushing the message of a Malaysian Malaysia to people – especially the Malay community to show them that there is a third way besides the racialism of UMNO and the sectarianism of PAS.

25. #25 by kcb on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:44 pm

To
    limkamput
    November 20th, 2007 at 12: 08.52

Any suggestion?

26. #26 by oknyua on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:53 pm

“I always had some respect for this guy as an MP…” Cinapek.

Dig deeper into his background to the Maika years. Something buried might surface there.

27. #27 by Jackychin on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:56 pm

Sot sot thi…very impresive, very amusing,very funny, (deleted)

28. #28 by Jong on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 4:59 pm

Yep Po Kuan, take up his challenge and know where to aim, right?!

29. #29 by oknyua on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 5:08 pm

YB Lim,

Sometimes hilarious topic as this lighten up all the serious discussions. Thank you.

30. #30 by chai on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 5:23 pm

MP sothi is not a MAN he is a “GIRL” if we say in worst he is a”PONDAN” , this people is not suitable for MP post, so better we co-operate pull him down in coming election….

31. #31 by madmix on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 5:29 pm

MIC culture: beating their women at home and now parliament.

32. #32 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 5:32 pm

Po Kuan should accept the challenge. When he walks up towards her just give him one hard kick in between his legs. Right into his crotch .That will result in a technical knock-out and perhaps make him permanently impotent.

33. #33 by Chong Zhemin on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 8:16 pm

Hey guys watch the video clip here….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqGEWV4lxcM

Uncle Kit,

Are you sure he is challenging Po Kuan to a fight? Fromm what i have seen from the video thought he was challenging you to a fight? Maybe it was a little chaotic and I miss some details.

Sinchew also reported that sothinathan was challenging you instead of po kuan in their evening edition papers.

http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200711192790

Not sure how the english papers will carry this news tomorrow…..

34. #34 by toyolbuster on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 9:07 pm

Po Kuan,
    Do accept the challenge, but don’t aim low, hit high,

35. #35 by negarawan on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 9:21 pm

Po Kuan should accept the challenge. After all MIC and MCA are eunuchs. Po Kuan, you can win hands down. Sothinathan is a coward anyway.

36. #36 by whitecoffee on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 9:33 pm

Dare he repeat his challenge outside Parliament???

37. #37 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 10:15 pm

No need all these debates and discussions larrrrrr Mr. Lim Kit Siang.

All you have to do now is:

report to the police and say Fong Po Kuan was threatened by S. Sothinathan

Sometimes we have to take the smart approach lar, agree o not?

No need to ask this low life scumbug to apologize lar becoz obviously he will not be sincere and deep inside will not admit wrong becoz they are too egoistic to admit that.

So please help yourself and Fong Po Kuan by

Making a police report on S. Sothinathan. don’t wait any further.

38. #38 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 10:17 pm

END OF DISCUSSION my fellow malaysians..

we talked somemore after Mr. Lim and Miss Fong report this matter to the police ok?

39. #39 by ypmeng on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 10:20 pm

What a shame we have clowns in Parliament. To hide his ignorance thats the only way out as most BN rep do..shouting and fighting. They can never have an intellectual discussion as most matured men do.

40. #40 by AhPek on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 10:21 pm

Sothi,
    You have got to be a pondan.How could it be otherwise??

41. #41 by shaolin on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 10:43 pm

Helo Soooothiiiii,
    No guts to fight a man so You
    choose Miss Fong Poh Koon. You are the Biggest Idiot
    MP globally and it can ONLY happen in Malay-sia!!

Your MIC guru, SAMI(the priest in Indian) Velooo Must
    teach proper KARMA to his follower, Sothi otherwise he
    WILL become a woman in his next reincarnation.

42. #42 by ChinNA on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 11:42 pm

wah, malaysia parliment almost like Taiwan now. There you have woman fight woman.

but here maybe better lah.

man fight woman. Solid man. The winner will be the undisputed fighting champion – unisex category. just like some hair salon, male and female also can go in and cut hair.

here in parliment, man and woman can fight together. what will they think of next?

43. #43 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:16 am

it only shows what our parliament members are made of today.1st they bocor women…now they wanna fight with women.but i think most of the gentlemen in parliament are not like these few idiots.whn they are faced with an outspoken opponent…they cant think rationally…its either they insult u with childish remarks…or something like…”u get out of malaysia”.they think this is kampong.can behave like monkeys jumping here and thr.but anyhow this is a world of entertainment isnt it…like how BN scumbags hv been entertaining us with lots of dramas.malaysia boleh.

44. #44 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:17 am

It’s still acceptable to say that the UMNO thugs are mere bullies. [deleted]

45. #45 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:29 am

46. #46 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:59 am

YB Po Kuan,

Accept the challenge. Ask Sothinathan to meet you halfway up the Keladang Hill at Mengelumbu at 6 AM on any day. There are lots of women there practicing shaolin kunfu every morning. In the spirit of shaolin kunfu, they will not just stand by to see a coward man bullying a woman. Let them throw his Sothi down Keladang Hill.

47. #47 by choonchoy on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 2:27 am

Form watching the vids of the parliament in action on youtube, I find that the ruling coalition is very arrogant, uncivilized and moronic. But honestly, what should we expect, garbage students enter no-class Us equals imbeciles in parliament, unemployed grads and a totally screwed civil service. But asking a lady to a fight… Sothinathan you are the man! Behaving like a common street thug, this incident shows your true stature. A tertiary education you might have but civilized you are definitely not.

48. #48 by wits0 on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 2:32 am

Sothi has lost his marbles and his lingam simultaneously?

49. #49 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 2:47 am

correction:

My last sentence should be:

“Let them throw this Sothi down Keladang Hill.”

50. #50 by DavidBKK on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:28 pm

Way to go man, challenging girls to fights. Don’t worry, if cannot win, just cry, Mommy will come rescue you.

51. #51 by limkamput on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 2:53 pm

kcb, didn’t i put this in my posting – “Have 500 people going to his office every morning to remind him of his despicable behavior”? Please read properly before commenting. And one more thing, when i said that this blog is fast becoming a paper tiger, it is not incumbent upon me to provide suggestions. There are more clever people out there, ngos and politicians. I think they shouls be seriously thinking about action unless they are just interested in providing an avenue for releasing tension.