Sothinathan challenging Po Kuan to a “fight” on YouTube

In his post from London on the thread “Shame of MIC MP challenging a woman DAP MP to ‘fight’ outside Chamber – first time in Parliament in 50 years”, Chong Zhemin asked whether the MIC Vice President Datuk S. Sothinathan had challenged woman DAP MP for Batu Gajah Fong Po Kuan or me to a fight.

He said that from what he saw from the video, he thought the Deputy Minister for Natural Resources and Environment was challenging me to a fight. Furthermore, the Chinese newspapers had all reported the next morning that Sothinathan had challenged me to a fight.

Zemin is right about the Chinese newspapers report but they were all wrong. Sothinathan did not challenge me to a fight and the challenge was directed at Po Kuan in the expanded exchange between DAP MPs with BN MPs.

There was a lot of confusion with voices coming from all directions in Parliament and the video of the parliamentary episode, which is available on YouTube, could not capture the full sequence of events.

What is indisputable is the challenge by Sothinathan to Po Kuan to a “fight”. It was only later after DAP MP for Bukit Mertajam Chong Eng intervened that the “fight” interlude was altered to “fighting” in which constituency. But that is a completely separate issue altogether which did not detract or diminish the outrage of the earlier challenge by Sothinathan to Po Kuan to a “fight”!

1. #1 by wits0 on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 11:27 am

And then his lips dropped off…after his lingam and his marbles.

2. #2 by sani on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 11:50 am

YB

From the You Tube video, it truly looks like he was picking a fight with you.

Whether whom ever he wanted to fight, it is just incredible that he cannot give a proper answer at all. Just flipping thru’ his notes, then saying your question as politicalizing the issue. Isn’t MIC a political party?

Then he went on + on about being jeered, for not able to take a stand on anything…..

I think all these videos + vulgar abuses should be shown on the campaign. Not everyone take the trouble to see how their MP waste time + avoid responsibilties inside and outside of the parliment

3. #3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:25 pm

I really pity the MIC. With such low quality leaders. They probably think that this is Tamil Nadu where state assembly debates generally degenerate into verbal abuses, fistfights and chair-throwing. How can the Indian community progress with leaders like this clown ?

4. #4 by optimuz on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:32 pm

I think the whole idea is actually not to let the community progress so that these monkeys can always stay in office..

Isn’t this the winning formula for all these years – hoodwinking the people??

That aside, I have to say YB that you guys need to move away from all these petty behaviour..seriously, doesn’t the opposition have better things to deal with than to indulge in childish behaviour??

We all know what the quality of the ruling govt’s ministers/members, but does the opposition have to descend into such nonsense as well?

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:38 pm

Was Sothinathan so drunk from a toddy session that he mistook Po Kuan to be his wife and therefore his responsibility to BASH her up?

6. #6 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:55 pm

First of all Mr Sothi be a man. WHy challenge a woman to a fight or even UNcle Kit as he is very much your senior? If you hv the balls pls go find someone your own size. And I mean the size or your brain and not balls! Go pick a fight with Nazri!

7. #7 by oedipus on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:19 pm

ya lah YB Lim, you should control your temper better and not be baited by silly ministers/deputy that cannot answer the questions.

from what i see, if they cannot answer the questions they just pick a fight with you and all hell will break loose, then they will escape from answering the question.

but if you keep your cool and blood pressure low, they will trip up themselves, then all you have to do is to post it on youtube for all of us to see, and use it for your campaign during the elections.

videos like this will let the voters see what type of MPs we have in the parliament currently and the urgent need to kick these no good MPs out.

8. #8 by oknyua on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 1:48 pm

YB Lim,

I agree more with oedipus.

Most of the MPs need to act.. and that guy is acting in front of his boss. YB Lim, you do not need to impress them.. or us. I respect you all along.

The sad thing, YB, that guy is eyeing Palei.. what’s his name.. place because once Sam leaves, Palei could be the new Chair.

Alternatively, so the theory goes, they had no one to kick after Subra and men were out. They kicked that PPP guy who subsequently held a truce and a peace-pipe smoking session. (Maybe Undergrad2 had seen how US Indians do this). They can’t kick UMNO or MCA guys because these are bigger clans and can punch better, not to mention their armoury. Finally, with no one else in sight, they just attack DAP MPs.

9. #9 by Rocky on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 2:18 pm

# k1980 Says:
    November 21st, 2007 at 12: 38.11

Was Sothinathan so drunk from a toddy session that he mistook Po Kuan to be his wife and therefore his responsibility to BASH her up?

stereotyping…what a waste of discussion. you nor better than sothi.

10. #10 by pratamad on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 3:13 pm

Is every Parliament session recorded on video? Who can access the video? While we do not have live broadcast, we can make it a delayed telecast through online means.

11. #11 by grace on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 4:03 pm

smeagroo said, Go pick a fight with Nazri!

Good match. Nazri is also equally pondan. Sothi and Nazri padanla!! Pondan sama pondan!

12. #12 by greenacre on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

This week MIC wallas invited parents of successful USR students and their parents for a Deepavali Night. They wanted reward the students.
    Well and fine. First they have to listen to their political speech for three hours before they gave the gift. They claimed how heroic their party is or was. Anytime could call them to solve their problem..day or night.

Alas to add salt to wound they collected RM5.00 for the dinner. My god! fellows who don’t have enough money to pay for the meal and wanting to invite! Shame…don’t invite if don’t have money. Talk big some more.

13. #13 by greenacre on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

Correction..please read USR as UPSR

14. #14 by chai on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 5:29 pm

we do not want people act like sothinatnan so we send him out from parliament in this coming election.

15. #15 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 7:34 pm

16. #16 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 9:46 pm

fightlah, learn few tricks from Michelle Yeoh’s crotching the tiger and whack the fella! hehehe. Call him, to fight I want to see a man actually wants to pick a fight with a man.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:42 am

Sothinathan denied challenging Po Kuan to a fist-fight. At the press conference, Sothinathan clarified that in politics, the term ‘fight’ refers to elections and not to the exchange of blows. He has given the word “fight” a twist.

To divine what he meant one must look at the context in which the “fight” was mentioned.

He said, Siapa takut? Cakap seperti seorang lelaki bukan? Berani, mari lawan lah. Jangan cakap “gender bias!”

When he told the person he addressed not to raise “gender bias”, he obviously meant, in context, “fist-fight” in respect to which the issue of gender inequality only arises, since it is common nowadays for women to contest in elections in respect to which the question of gender bias does not arise at all.

It is apparent that in the heat of arguments he directed the challenge of a fist-fight to Po Kuan, whether he actually meant it or not.

18. #18 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 3:06 am

“…He said, Siapa takut? Cakap seperti seorang lelaki bukan? Berani, mari lawan lah. Jangan cakap “gender bias!”Jeffrey

Thank you Jeffrey for pointing out to us. The words “gender bias” is the DNA of what has said. He may try to spin and deny but there is no way can get away. First he challenges a woman for a fistfight and then tries to deny his own words. He is a double degree coward.

From the You Tube video I see the Speaker was entertaining himself to the shouting melee and make no attempt to rescue his BN comrade. Too bad Sothi, you are just a slave of UMNO fit for entertainment only.

19. #19 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 7:03 am

Whoever Sothinathan tried to challenge, it is not appropriate for an MP to use that kind of language in parliament.

Just wondering is that the only video taken in the parliament? Is there any other videos taken from another angle so that we can have a better understnading on what had happened that day?

20. #20 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 7:17 am

Pratamad said
    Is every Parliament session recorded on video? Who can access the video?

I was also thinking the same question. Are the videos we watched on youtube the only “official” parliamentary video clips as broadcasted on rtm?

21. #21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:20 am

Sothinathan is a fine example of one whose BALLS ARE BIGGER THAN THEIR BRAINS.

That’s the only reason I can think of for men to challenge women to fights.

For the last time, we don’t want BIG-BALLS MPs such as Sothi, Jerai MP, Kinabatangan MP and all those BN MPs with ‘leaky’ brains.

22. #22 by k1980 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:26 am

…to allow the NEP to be hijacked by this group of Indian Muslims is an insult to the other non-Malay bumiputeras like the Iban, Kadazan and Orang Asli.
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/75098

23. #23 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:36 am

Sothinathan strategy seems to be saying one thing and then another. Don’t want to sound racist but his behaviour is so…. well, you know what they said…Keling…

We know from his fellw BNer, Kavyeas that he is a two-face, back stabbing liar.. but he is bringing a new dimension into this with recklessness? To be caught as obvious he has been, is that part of a bigger strategy or is it that who he is? Maybe he thinks that if he get attacked by his fellow MICer and BNers that he will point to the likes of Jasin MP, Kinabatangan MP etc. to skirt the issue.

Regardless, its clear that Sonthinathan idea going into the next election is to take lying to the next degree. MIC is going to have to go into the next election with more lying, its quite clear.

24. #24 by jigsawpuzzle on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:19 am

thank you YB Kit for fighting for the indian community. MIC is pengecut to the highest order!!

25. #25 by jigsawpuzzle on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:21 am

Sothi….i am sorry….you are now officially a pondan. A puppet of the UMNO party.

nazri should be calling you a pondan.

26. #26 by Jong on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:23 am

There’s Youtube to show what he actually said, so he cannot say he was “misquoted”, can he?
    Now he denies he meant “fist-fight” but we all know he is lying through his teeth! Don’t blame toddy, blame the character. Shame on youSothinathan!

27. #27 by budak on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:31 am

tell Kavyeas come to DAP…
    he can choose wat ever seat he want…
    since (UMNO + MCA + MIC = Barisan NUTS) occupy all favorites seat liao…

28. #28 by dawsheng on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:48 am

“tell Kavyeas come to DAP…”

I think tell Both Kavyeas and Sothinathan to go Bollywood better. Both are also “BALLS ARE BIGGER THAN THEIR BRAINS” as ENDANGERED HORNBILL so rightly described.

29. #29 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:52 pm

Forgive Sorrynathan lah. He lost his “official BN script”. As the incident was unscripted, he didn’t know what to say so he followed the official MIC stance which is to “fight”.

But why Poh Kuan refuses to accept his challenge, I don’t know. Come on Poh Kuan, accept his challenge. Don’t let him chicken out. I just love to see this fight.