2nd urgent motion – Dropping of Zakaria’s 37 charges and new crisis of confidence in justice system

I have submitted to the Speaker of Parliament, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah a second urgent motion for debate in Parliament on Wednesday – the extraordinary dropping of the 37 charges against the Selangor State Assemblyman for Port Klang Datuk Zakaria Md Deros and five of his business partners under the Companies Act 1965.

The nub of the argument is that the dropping of Zakaria’s 37 charges have illuminated the new crisis of confidence in the system of justice in the country.

This is the latest setback in the past two months before the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations on 31st August 2007 shattering public confidence in the independence, integrity and professionalism of national institutions causing more and more Malaysians to ask what has gone wrong with nation-building.

The failure to give satisfactory explanation for the withdrawal of the 37 charges against Zakaria has reinforced public perception that there are politically-powerful people in the country who enjoy immunities and privileges to the extent that they are a law unto themselves and not subject to the ordinary laws of the land binding on all Malaysians.

This is a great blow to public and investor confidence in the just rule of law, especially efficient upholding of law and order and the fair administration of justice, which had reached increasingly critical level because of a series of incidents including:

• Sloppy police investigations of crimes and sloppy prosecution even resulting in many accused charged with serious crimes being acquitted without their defence being called;
  • Long delays by judges to deliver grounds of judgments — in one case involving nine years and three months and with one Federal Court judge with 33 outstanding grounds of judgments for criminal and civil cases dating back to his High Court tenure.
  • The seven-month constitutional crisis over the appointment of the new Chief Judge of Malaya which highlighted the urgent need for judicial reforms including having a Judicial Commission to recommend appointment and promotion of judges.

1. #1 by Jonny on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 2:13 pm

They are the kings. And we are the slaves.

2. #2 by smeagroo on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 2:25 pm

looks like happy cock is no small kok either. He must be holding some other ppl’s balls too and we know who, dont we?

3. #3 by Libra2 on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 2:55 pm

As always, the motions will be rejected. blah, blah but not urgent.

4. #4 by lchk on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 3:02 pm

No great surprise.

Given the amount of fingers in the proverbial pie, if Zakaria and his five cohorts were exposed, I am pretty sure the good Datuk of Klang would not go down meekly by himself. Rather, he would open a gigantic can of worms and add more names of some VIPs to the list.

5. #5 by lakshy on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 3:05 pm

I hope the Royalty speak up against this injustice! We need a change in leadership!

6. #6 by St0rmFury on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 3:27 pm

I am thinking along the lines of what lchk mentioned. There is some truth to this statement.

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 4:13 pm

Badawi is the best President that UMNO has ever had. This is the guy who tries very hard to practice what the Deng Xiaoping preached: “Let a thousand flowers bloom!” Of course all the BN cronies have bloomed under Badawi. Never in the history of UMNO has all its members and cronies had so much freedom to do as they want, to say as they want, to steal as much as they want. All under the noses of this current President.

Why would anyone in UMNO seek to remove a President who tells the whole world “Saya tak tahu” and actually means it ?

8. #8 by smeagroo on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 4:23 pm

that is the whole truth not just some truth.

EVen a kid can gv u the answer.

How else would a leader tolerate such plunderings and not do anything? PIous my foot!

9. #9 by kktan9812 on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 5:13 pm

Maybe our Prime Minister office has been environmental friendly. So, decided to print all his documents on recycled papers. Sometimes he mistakenly read the stuff on the back of the paper instead of reading the ‘real’ issues. That’s why we ended up with “Saya tak tahu”

As for Zakaria… I didn’t placed any hope at first place that he will actually be charged. We will just end up with something like lack of evidence, charges dropped or even proved innocent kinda craps.

Ask Namewee to sing 100 songs praising Malaysia…. Then see the attorney will drop the case or not. I doubt it..

10. #10 by badak on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 5:52 pm

I also want to join UMNO can ahh, i also want to cheat the gorverment, Rape our land, pollute our river build hundred million RM building that leak and crack and then blame GOD,rape under age girl, marry a king,s daughter make alot of money , Then went election just bluff the people, cry a bit and say” what you hear are all lies” go to temple cut white chiken .then next go to temple ,church ,surau give away a few hundred ( after all i already cheat you stupid people of a few millions ) win election and make more of your stupid people,s money UMNO boleh mah

11. #11 by boh-liao on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 6:16 pm

You are a pain in the bloody aXs, never say die and never stop submitting to the Speaker of Parliament urgent motion after motion, just like a diarrhoea patient. You jolly well know that your motions will be denied and blocked, macam constipation, by the BN-controlled parliament.

Y can’t you just stop passing motions, relax, and enjoy the generous opposition chairman’s allowance given to you by the BN-controlled government? Win-win situation.

12. #12 by Bobster on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 6:36 pm

Zakaria, Zulkipli and Johari corruption cases, all with concrete evidences but got thrown out of the window indicated failure of AAB government to uphold justice causing integrity of the whole Parliament and judiciary system to collapse. This is just the tip of an iceberg. These few cases and many more going to be blacklisted in the Malaysia Black Book of Records.

Our message to the Government of Malaysia is very clear, ‘You can close all these corruption cases, set the dogs freed and call bloggers liars. End of the day you can never erase history. You think people are stupid. The fact is people were ignorance. But thank God to leaders like YB LKS, RPK and many more rally for transparency and good governance. You try to play God. You might get away this time but one fine day you are going to meet God and face eternal punishment. All these corruption cases one day going to cause an avalanche and bring down the whole administration. Matter of time. We shall see.’

So what 50 years of Independence from the British! We are more like 50 years of colonization by the racist and corrupted government! What else to celebration? Should be grieving for those rakyat whom still living under poverty line and forgotten due to corruption in the present administration.

ps:- YB LKS, salute you for your stamina, young men also cannot catch up with you. Keep up the good fighting uncle. Even though you made few blunders at times(according to my parents and based on own observation), as long as conscience clear, carry on the work and make a mark. You have walked a long walk, certainly not a waste. Our family formally MCA supporters all given up hope after few encountered one with Ng Yen Yen – well according to them only stay in office and sing song to catch voters. When people need help, they were no where to be found. Basically people need to be educated and know the truth. Problem is the press only publish half truth.

13. #13 by wtf2 on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 7:19 pm

last time when company unions weren’t happy they hold placards and banners to demonstrate their unhappiness over lack of action by the employers to address their woes. They called this action on-strike.

YB LKS – what can you suggest to address this inertia of the parliament? Will the DAP hold court with the rest of the opposition parties PAS PKR whatever to address this inaction? What are the avenues available to address this perceived miscarriage of justice?

Can the opposition parties unite and come up with some sort of action to address this? Be it to voice discontent or to appeal to the higher or perhaps more enlightened powers?

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 7:43 pm

Say aren’t you all organising your own 50th Merdeka celebration party?

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 7:53 pm

Crisis of confidence in our justice system?

Bollocks! When did it ever have our confidence?

16. #16 by bystander on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 9:57 pm

Yeah, when did we ever have confidence? The whole justice system is corrupted and corruptable and not independent. Just imagine judges can be bought or influenced by politicians. Where is the rule of law? The nation is in the shit.

17. #17 by naked taliban on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 10:47 pm

37 charges dropped, picture these. he sure is squeezing some very big balls, HAPPY 50th MERDEKA FOLKS.

18. #18 by mendela on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 10:57 pm

Every time I see the stupid face of Zak, I throw out!

How can such hyena be let loose?

He is a big crook, he only brings shame to UMO, Malays, Islam and Malaysia!

19. #19 by lhteoh on Monday, 27 August 2007 - 11:51 pm

this is the problem with the current administration, no motion table by the opposition is accepted no matter how urgent it can be. They are not working for the rakyat and the country, they have no passion. They only work for the party & followed the party leader blindly, we need to deny them 2/3 majority this coming GE. wake up Malaysians if you want your voice to be heard clear and loud. vote for OPPOSITION.

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 2:34 am

Like I said, the motion will be rejected because it is not urgent.

Maybe you should ask the Speakers what would qualify or considered as urgent. Leaking roofs?

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 2:39 am

Tomorrow’s (today’s) motion will also be “not urgent”. Rejected again.

Didn’t know the Speakers in Westminster (whom we say we follow) regularly reject motions as “not urgent”.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 3:24 am

Unfair as it may seem but it is still the fairest of all and for all but only if you are Malay, a muslim and UMNO all at the same time, and you have the right to kill Chinese, yahoo!!!!

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 7:31 am

Why try only his offenses under the Companies Act?? Why not try him for corruption – or at least income tax evasion?

24. #24 by sotong on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 7:33 am

Just because one is of certain race, religion and political party, one is made to feel an entitlement to benefits……where is the fairness and responsibility???

This dependency and entitlement attitude are resulted from grossly misguided arrogance and they are destroying the social order……notice there are many ” kurang ajar ” behavior resulted from break down in family values.

Malays leaders at all levels so far have been most dissapointing and ineffective.

25. #25 by K S Ong on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 8:26 am

It is amazing how our present PM could not be bothered about public opinion and whether he should at least ensure that there is fairness in implementation of the law when there is publicity on a specific case.

Our company secretary warned us about a possible fine of Rm900 for delay in submitting a company’s Annual Return for just the current year. So Z’s company should have been fined for a much higher amount for the delay in filing accounts for a few years.

How would responsible citizens feel when there are those who seem to get special treatment, every time? It makes a mockery of the law and must be one of the main causes of our present cynicism among the public.

26. #26 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 9:39 am

Why are people making so much noise about the governance of the BN-led government? Their divide and rule policy, loyalty to party rather than to nation, rewarding of their own kind and lapdogs, double-standard of implementation of the law, etc. …. are well-known by one and all.

Yet, this is the government that has been ruling the land since 1957. One GE after another GE, people of all races voted for them and gave them high approval to rule and plunder the nation.

Like it or not, this BN-led government has a winning magic strategy (inclusive of fraudulent electoral practices, misuse of government machinery, intimidation, manipulation of the electoral roll and media bias, money politics, using the spectre of May 13, racist remarks, etc) that ensures its perpetual ruling power. Furthermore, BN must be grateful to the current opposition parties which separately force different groups of kia si voters to vote for BN (conceived as the lesser evil/devil).

Blogging and spitting venom here is only for syiok sendiri saja. It has no real impact and consequence at the ballot box come the next GE. Sad for you but true, BN-rules, OK?

27. #27 by BioLovepulse on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 11:25 am

Double standards are everywhere! It is deep entrenched in the hearts of BN members. I’ve witnessed a few cases with my own eye. Even these normal members do not adhere to some common sense rules! Shame onto them!

Dropping of 39 charges on Datuk Zakaria signals that this case is super duper problematic – ALL MALAYSIANS are entitled an answer on that. We must not get the wrongdoers get away just because of their high social status. We must let them face before the law so that ends can be justified. From the high till the low, they breach the law, even if they know it, then where should we place our confidence in? Our hearts are thrown into the drain.

3 more days is our Merdeka Day, all of us want answers before we go into the mood to celebrate!

28. #28 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 12:22 pm

Malaysia has now been proven beyond reasonable doubt that it is indeed a ‘negara cuckoo’.

29. #29 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 2:05 pm

“3 more days is our Merdeka Day, all of us want answers before we go into the mood to celebrate!”

You want answers? Say who? The answers, my friend, are blowing in the wind!

The fact remains you are NOTgoing to get any answers and the nation continues to celebrate come 31 Aug. Mua ha ha! LOL!

What kind of nation are we? Go figure out by yourself.

30. #30 by ktteokt on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 8:48 am

Take a good look at the “RUKUNEGARA” and tell me if this is right! What upholding of the Constitution were they talking about? Is this the way the Constitution is meant to be interpreted? Some philantrophist and patriot just sings the “amended” version of the National Anthem and he is immediately being charged but someone who has materially misappropriated public money remains innocent.

This is our Malaysian law, I salute you, “Malaysia Boleh (Mati)”!

31. #31 by negaraku on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 6:26 am

Politic Politic Money Money????????????? Mr Z easy easy Hah