RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal – heads must roll or Abdullah’s integrity campaign in tatters

The RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal will be top agenda in the forthcoming parliamentary meeting — as I have submitted a question asking the Finance Minister to explain in the first week of next Parliament later this month why the multi-billion ringgit malpractices and cost overruns were not checked despite warnings from Attorney-General and Auditor-General.

I also wanted to know whether the Federal Government has now decided to bail out the RM4.6 billion PKFZ project with taxpayers’ money.

It is most regrettable and irresponsible on the part of both the Finance Minister and Transport Minister that they had maintained a deafening silence despite many disturbing reports in the past two months about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal — in particular recent reports in Malaysiakini and Singapore Business Times, viz:

• That the development costs for PKFZ have ballooned to RM4.63 billion from the original estimate of RM1.1 billion;
  • That the government has to step in to salvage the 405-hectare PKFZ project with a bail-out package as a result of massive cost overruns;
  • The PKFZ had been approved on the assurances that it would both feasible and self-financing. It has proved to be neither.
  • The controversy over the purchase of the 1,000 acres of land for the PKFZ, with the Finance Ministry and Attorney-General Chambers proposing forcible land acquisition at official valuations — then RM10 a sq foot — but the port authority got its way to buy it at RM25 per sq foot on a willing-buyer-willing-seller basis and the Transport Ministry’s assurance that the PKFZ would be both feasible and self-financing.
  • The multi-billion ringgit cost overruns were unauthorized and therefore illegal as any RM100 million increase in a project’s cost had to be approved first by the Ministry of Finance, which had not been done.
  • The Transport Minister had illegally and without sanction from the Finance Ministry issued letters of support to enable Kuala Dimensi, the private company tasked by the Port Klang Authority to develop the site, to issue bonds in excess of RM4 billion to cover its costs — the totality of which have now to be bailed out by the Federal Government. The unauthorized and unlawful letters of support by the Minister of Transport “were instrumental in getting the bonds at the time a triple-A rating” as such letters “are akin to government guarantees”.
  • The Cabinet has ordered the Chief Secretary to investigate whether the Transport Ministry had wrongly issued the letters of support which has resulted in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal.

Has the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi given his approval for the first multi-billion ringgit bail-out operation in his premiership?

The question Parliament and Malaysians want to know is why should the public coffers be taxed to bail out the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal when the project was from the beginning conceived to be self-financing, without having to use a single sen of public funds?

The next question is why nobody in Cabinet, the Finance Ministry and the Transport Ministry is being held responsible for the RM4.6 billion scandal, when those responsible for such a colossal loss of public funds should not only face disciplinary action but should be hauled to court to face the full consequences of their RM4.6 billion misdeeds?

As the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal is the first mega scandal to erupt in his premiership, Abdullah must ensure that there is no continued culture of impunity with him adhering fully with the principles of responsibility, accountability and transparency in accordance with the National Integrity Plan which he launched in May 2004.

Heads must roll for the RM4.6 billion scandal before any bail-out for the mega-scandal can be contemplated by Cabinet and Parliament.

Abdullah should realize that if Malaysians continue to see the perpetuation of the culture of impunity like previous mega scandals of “heinous crimes without criminals”, the Prime Minister’s campaign for integrity, accountability and good governance will be completely in tatters.

Furthermore, he will be personally assuming responsibility for the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal since he will be seen to be protecting all those whether in Cabinet, Finance Ministry or Transport Ministry who should be bearing responsibility for the PKFZ scandal.

1. #1 by k1980 on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 11:21 am

Q: Where to get RM4.6 billion to bail-out the mega-scandal?

A: Just raise the price of petrol by another 30sen a litre….enough money left over to send aother astronaut to hitch a ride to space

2. #2 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 11:50 am

Thieves with integrity ? Fat hopes. With all the talk about extending our Never Ending Policy, these billions could have been used to build rural schools, rural roads, rural facilities. Instead these billions get siphoned off into certain individuals’ pockets.

Talk to Dubai Ports which had the management contract, but whose opinions were totally ignored, and hence they terminated their involvement in what they clearly see as a scam. To think that their knowledge of the scam is not whispered amongst the global port fraternity is simply wishful thinking.

3. #3 by thearmchairbitch on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 12:07 pm

As usual, PM Abdullah probably did not know a thing about what was going on until the scandal erupted.

I get this feeling that the country’s leaders have been lulled into a very ‘relaxed’ and complacent attitude towards financial management of government projects simply because they know there will always be that big fat and reliable cash cow called Petronas that can always be called upon to do its national service of bailing out government boo-boos.

And with oil prices spiralling ever higher, sure, Petronas will not fail in coming to the rescue…

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 12:16 pm

Jobless but millionaires? Where did the millions come from? Where else but in BolehLand!
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/beritankom.php?itemid=6890
    …beliau tidak mempunyai sebarang pekerjaan atau pendapatan tetap namun memiliki sebuah rumah mewah bernilai RM6 juta di King Fisher Park, Dua unit Rumah iaitu Lot 1-1-9 dan 1-1-11 di Hill Top Apartment, Luyang bernilai lebih RM600,000 dan lebih 7 buah kereta mewah. (photos included)

5. #5 by smeagroo on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 12:28 pm

But will the sleepy head be in Parlaiment this week?

If he is not going to be there, what’s the point. As he might be totally clueless that such a thing had happened.

I read abt Rm1bil gonna be used to eradicate poverty by 2010 in the Star today. What a joke. If only all these billions of RM have been well spent in the first place.

My theory is this. SOmeone has been trying to shiled sleepy boy form the truth and that’s why he has been shipped out of the country ever so often. I doubt he has access even to internet news and the likes.

6. #6 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 12:36 pm

Badawi’s integrity campaign was nothing more than a smokescreen to lull us into believing that hard changes were going to be made. He said “Work with me, not work for me.” He also said “I am the nation’s No. 1 servant.” Then when the inevitable happened, and the hard questions had to be answered, he said “I don’t know”, which is now the standard operating procedure for all BN politicians.

Who wants to bet that the matter will be swept under the carpet with a “I don’t know” response ?

7. #7 by malaysia born on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 1:07 pm

Another shameful episode in an Never Ending Parade of shameful episodes.

One wonders how thick skin our leaders are in showing their faces abroad when everyone int he room will be talking and laughing behind their backs about their corrupted practices. Is this what we meant by Proud To Be A Malaysian?

Are we still going round the world asking for investments? Are investors ACTUALLY still coming in?

It has been said that next election will be a very dirty election. For there are already talks from the business community that they (bizman) are going to ‘teach them a lesson’. Don’t be surprised if you find all those bizman going off for a 2 weeks holidays AFTER they had cast their votes. (but hey, look on the bright side, the travel agents will have a bumper sale then!).

If all the people who are wired online and has been reading the blogs were to think alike, then i would say that the end is near for these jokers. Now if only the rest of masses have access to the internet. Now i know why we will never able be to reach our target of 90% of the population to be online. The govt just can’t risk it for obvious reason. So in the meantime, to those are online, count yourselves lucky.

If one were to calculate the amount of bailouts that our govt had paid, i am pretty confident that

1) our petrol will only costs us rm1.10

2) every kampung and new villages will have at least one modern hospital and community hall.

3) all of our schools will be equipped with up-to-date facilties.

4) our country balance sheet will be strong resulting in our rinngit being at, or almost, on par with the aussie dollar, china yuan and , i dare say, the japanese yen too.

But most of all, we can go round telling everyone with pride that we are Malaysians and people will look at us with admiration and even with a sense of jealousy that we have a resource rich and well managed country.

But do we have that feeling? Are we ever going to have that feeling…ever?

8. #8 by dawsheng on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 1:58 pm

Head don’t roll in Hadhari Malaysia as long as you got the cash rolling into Hadhari coffer. Half! No, six four! No! I six you four! Naa..! five five fourty five! Ok! Deal!

9. #9 by bystander on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 3:15 pm

He is not just sleepy but also an idiot. He does not have the stamina and capacity to comprehend. These people are supposed to be religious. Isnt corruption against Islam? Maybe PM, SIL and his cronies are religiously corrupted.

10. #10 by glokaltower on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 3:25 pm

Pak Lah takes the easy out, he enrich his inner circle big time, why bother with the anti-corruption drive. If you can’t beat them, why not join them?

11. #11 by smeagroo on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 3:28 pm

The disease is so bad till everyone in the corrupted ring is holding another person’s balls. One falls, all fall. So what can they do? They hold on tight to each other thru good times and bad times.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 3:36 pm

Scandal? What scandal?

Very soon Pak Lah will create a West Coast Corridor and through the ingenious use of creative accountants, transfer this white elephant into the Corridor. QED.

Ah, Malaysia. Everything is possible.

13. #13 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 3:55 pm

Badawi has taken us for a ride all this time. He pretends to be ignorant and sleeps a lot, but all these are mere smokescreens. Under his “leadership”, fuel subsidies disappeared, electricity prices went up, and public service deteriorated from bad to worse. His explanation? The country can’t afford to continue with the subsidies.

Then he gave the civils servants a raise of RM 8 billion. Then he approved a new palace, which was originally thought to cost RM400 million, but now has mysteriously escalated to over RM 1 billion. Then he used over RM600 million of public funds to finance development of UMNO constituencies. Then he announced a RM1.1 billion allocation for student motivational courses. Then he announced the Southern Corridor and the Northern Corridor project that will use up taxpayers’ funds to the tune of tens of billions.

All this while, the NEP stays. The racial quotas for universities, for law qualifications, stay. Bumi contractors and subcontractors who subcontract to the Chinese will be blacklisted.

Where is the future, we must all ask. Is there no shame for those thieves in UMNO ? Is there no shame for the non-Malay component parties in BN who have remained mute all this time ?

14. #14 by MY VIEW on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 4:15 pm

It’s only rm4.6 billion. Not even rm5 billion yet. The very popular former PM of 22 years has taught the people to spend. Moreover Malaysia is so rich. What is the problem? Malaysia Boleh.

15. #15 by raven77 on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 4:19 pm

Yep Karma for Ling Liong Sik…..for building that horrible crumbling bypass between KESAS and North Port, killing off almost half of Port KLang’s buisness centers and leaving many Jalan Camp owners out on the streets….who else could have done such great damage with just a stroke of the pen……his son who was partly responsible for destroying the character of this town will also now face a thousands deaths due to the curses of all those affected by the project.

16. #16 by Mr. on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 8:36 pm

instead of having all these bickerings, Mr. KS Lim, is there not a way to direct the reader’s energies in to more constructive avenues. It seems to me that there is a greater need of leadership, besides good think tanks, in the check-forces party of the ruling government.
    Having said that, these bickerings are a good sign, for at least we can take it is as a sign of awareness and outlet of feelings. A good preliminary phase, but is it being elevated or churned into a more practical, useful social voice and/or entity?
    p/s : is there no complimentary venues to the Chinese Assembly Hall, say in the suburbs of Petaling Jaya.
    Thanks.

17. #17 by silhouette on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 9:48 pm

RM4.6 b is nothing compared to the RM170 b that they intend to waste in the NCER. Its the passport to plundering the nation’s wealth. He had the gall to say that the core poor will be poor no more. The reality will be there will be an increase of the core poor cos everybody will be saddled with debt for the various bail outs. What will happen to our future generations? Do they care?

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 9:58 pm

No words can adequately describe the shame and disgrace we face as we cry and cringe over a PM who is incompetent, irresponsible and integrity-lacking (notwithstanding all his pious platitudes!)

First things first, as usual.

1) AAB simply cannot MANAGE 3 different ministries! The span of control is just too much for a genius, let alone simple BAdawi, the ertswhile goatherd. It’s one thing to be a Finance Minister who understands macroeconomics and international economics; it’s quite another to have someone who has a mind no cleverer than a finance clerk! (Sorry, that’s no lie; that’s the absolute truth!). Heavens forbid! What a mess when the national burden falls upon such a clerical mind to sign the nation’s cheques! What scrutiny or what caution can he exercise when he doesn’t know what to ask or how to ask it and so falls back inevitably on those ever-so-familiar mouthfuls “semuanya ok?” and then proceeds to sign away the national coffers and projects!!! Years ago when Margaret Thatcher was in Malaysia, she said of ANwar Ibrahim: “The United Kingdom would be glad to have Anwar Ibrahim to be our Chancellor of the Exchequer”. That was before Mahathir decided to call all the shots and shot wide and loose. Whence cometh another Anwar Ibrahim?

2) “Unseen forces” at play? Which Harry Potter, which devil’s witch is holding our nation’s leader to ransom? Besides AAB’s abysmal lack of intellect, it’s also becoming more and more obvious his conscience has been numbed or deadened by events or things quite unknown to the Malaysian public. SO what we see as his ‘idiocy’ may conceal his total abdication to forces of expediency or compromise quite beyond his control. This shows up in sharp relief a PM who is undeniablly weak in character; ‘spineless, stupid and senseless’ too, without apology, to borrow someone else’s words used on the infamous NAzri. It is patent AAB is not a better Minister than any of his CAbinet members. This is a stark and horrendous tragedy in itself. A leader must be greater than his followers or risk being twirled on some witch’s finger (which seems to be the order of the day!). And so the weird sisters’ eerie chorus “Fair is foul and foul is fair; Hovers through the foul and filthy air” rings throughout Bolehland.

3) It is trite that when men play fast and loose with the nation’s weal and coffers, sooner rather than later there will be a day of reckoning! This may come in the shape and form of a stockmarket collapse or some other collapse of the national financial system because no nation can wave plain economics goodbye or turn a blonde eye to financial common sense. There is simply not enough for a free lunch for all for so long on a perpetual track of profligacy and insouciance. History confirms this. Not even the financial behemoth which is uSA can endure 2 ‘unnecessary’ (at least that’s arguable!) wars and unremitting deficits. Someone has to pay for the lunch. Someday, that someone will have to wake up and realize that no one is going to pay for his free lunch! So if USA’s finances can rock and shake and be brought to its knees, then isn’t Malaysia like chaff in the wind? Common sense-lah!

SO, Pak Lah, Sir – dear Premier, Finance Minister and Internal Security Minister – where is all that first-class intellect and first-class mentality which you are so blithely sermonizing about! Get real. This is a real and harsh world. You must know by now that 3 portfolios is just beyond yr depth judging by the increasing frequencies of yr “You don’t expect me to know that!”. Can we just simply tell you that if you don’t know, then you are simply not in control! That span of control dilemma again!

So for the sake of the nation’s well-being, Sir, have the COURAGE to pass on the baton; the CHARACTER to do what is RIGHT and the COMMON SENSE to sieve national priorities and separate crooks from the coffers.

19. #19 by bystander on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 10:07 pm

NCER does not work and will be a failure. Its a pretext to milk the nation’s wealth if there is any left.

20. #20 by Toyol on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 10:36 pm

PKFZ is not the only huge white elephant. Look at Cyberjaya…With the announcement of the Southern and Northern economic development zones, more white elephants will appear. Its totally illogical! Can Penang really take much more development???

Where are we going to have the money to develope all these? If we had why then borrow from China for the 2nd Penang bridge. The development areas are to be financed by external funds…but take note that the cash cows like commercial and residential properties are already awarded to who else but…Equine Capital or its subsidiaries! See the link!

The announcement of these are just for a feel good factor as elections are just round the corner. School teachers have already attended briefing on the elections. Once elections are over, the bubble will burst and more money go down the drain. This is really the last kopek…

21. #21 by k1980 on Saturday, 4 August 2007 - 11:24 pm

The Premier holding the portfolios of Finance Minister and Internal Security Minister is like a teacher teaching both the morning and afternoon sessions AND THEN giving private tuition at night, i.e. holding on to 3 jobs simultaneously from 7.30am till 11pm.

Can the above teacher cope? If the answer is NO, then how can a prime minister cope with 2 additional ministerial posts? Unless the jobs have been delegated to his minions. And this means someone is receiving gaji buta for work NOT done plus additional wages having to be allocated to that fellow’s minions who should NOT be there in the first place!

22. #22 by izrafeil on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 12:31 am

didnt we (taxpayers) just bailed out MAS in 2002 and again in 2005? perwaja not too distance ago, MRR2 bridge,…. etc etc etc etc etc etc

23. #23 by ahkok1982 on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 6:45 am

well, e nation is soon to be crumbled. everyone get ready to be conquered again. maybe this time the US will come and wage war against bodohland saying that the unusual accounts of having a budget of 1.1bil balloon up to 4.6bil is a way to finance terrorism. who knows, US are quite famous for tt.
    then there is also the baby boom effect. those from the baby boom era is reaching the 55 to 60 year old age. time for them to draw out their CPF. would the gov still have the money in there since they are gonna have that private financed projects using CPF money? let’s all see mass protests when people cant get their hard earned money. then the police will come and whack everyone with their sticks. the irony in all this is that the police themselves are also being conned off their CPF.
    what a wonderful country.

24. #24 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:48 am

This should be Pak Lah’s biggest potential scandal of his administration but he just superceeded that with his declaration that Malaysia is neither a secular nor a theocratic state.

There is only one problem

THERE IS NO SUCH THING. The PM just proved to the world and everybody he is an intellectual nincompoop. Its rubbish

You can have a secular country with religious influence but ultimately with secular notion as the final arbiter OR you have theocracy as the final arbiter. You can’t have something in between. Its just nonsense.

Badawi is proving that with the GE coming, he is giving up on the non-Muslim, non-bumi vote as I have predicted. Forced between a rock and hardplace with his own neither here nor there policy, his personal integrity fails him and those who trust him.

What most people don’t realize that while on the surface, Badawi appear to be shifting to sounder fundamental policies, he actually has done only a bit and most of what his administration is still Mahathirist in pandering to the immediate political and personal gains at the expense long term strength of this country.

This declaration is no different than Dr. M justifying the NEP, restricting freedom of press, corruption and cryonism, abused privatization and megaprojects. All short-sighted for immediate political and other gains at the expense of our future.

25. #25 by silhouette on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:55 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL,
    PM doesnt manage the Home Ministry or The finance Ministry. He abdicated both ministries to his trusted aides Abang Jo and Nor Mohamad Yaacob respectively. That is why the finance minister can make decisions himself and can submit to SIL’s request. PM can always say ‘I dont know’ later, because he really doesnt know.

26. #26 by silhouette on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:56 am

Mr Lim Kit Siang,
    Anyway you can ask in Parliament how much more money we have in the Malaysian coffers? Maybe we have nothing left.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 12:02 pm

To the question who is the next minister after Bernard Dompok whh would dare speak the truth that Malaysia is not, as what Najib claimed an Islamic state, the honours will go to none other the numero ono Prime Minister, Pak Lah who was reported on page 4 of Sunday Star Aug 5th to have proclaimed that Malaysia was neither a secular state nor a theocratic state – pretty much in accord with the rojak and hybrid situation that some of us posters pointed out here. See this link : http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/8/5/nation/18508516&sec=nation

Advocates of the Islamic theocratic state will not be happy.

Reiterating that Malaysia is a multiracial nation that observes freedom of religious practice, what the Prime Minister said about “we are a government that is based on parliamentary democracy; a government that is responsible to the parliament and the people” is diametrically opposed to an Islamic state.

I have commented earlier in Blog thread on Bernard Dompok that Muslim movements worldwide and in Malaysia view themselves as counter-forces to cultural domination by the West of which secularism is a Western imperialising concept.

Knowing that the concept “secular” is an anathema, the PM said “Secular nations do not practise such (i.e., religious) freedom.
    To them, religious practice can only be done at home”. This true : in secular context, religion is a matter of home (private realm) and not public realm where government actively promotes it as is the case here.

But before those who aspire for an Islamic State could turn ecstatic of their dream come true, the PM next clarified that he is not only promoting the Official Religion Islam only (though the fact that it is given more emphasis is not stated or need be stated).

The PM upped the ante on them by saying (in the context of our uniquely hybrid situation of neither secular state or Islamic state) that : “It is a government that is made up of Muslims, Buddhists, Hindus and Christians, who work together and discuss together development policies for the nation.” He said the Government gave due attention to all races, who enjoy religious freedom as provided for in the Constitution.“ Be it a surau, masjid, temple or church, when there is a need for it, the Government gives the necessary aid.”

These words make it very clear that as far as Pak Lah is concerned, neither he or the government is going the way of the Islamic state which would be a state where only Islam is given aid, and the government has to be made up of Muslims only and not people of other faiths.

Well said, the PM has made a very important statement to clear the air after the confusion emanating from Najib’s statement that we’re an Islamic state and we should commend Pak Lah for that.

28. #28 by smeagroo on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 12:54 pm

We still hv lots of money dont worry. Only thing is now it is under the c/o someone’s bank account. This is just a temporary measure.

29. #29 by k1980 on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 1:23 pm

Who appointed the executives of GLCs in the first place?
    http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2007/08/corruption-in-government-linked.html
    ..the failure in wiping out corruption in the country was due to a delay in taking action against dishonest executives of GLCs

30. #30 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 3:04 pm

“He is not just sleepy but also an idiot.” – bystander

But likes of you gave him a 91% majority. So, who is a bigger idiot?

31. #31 by doggone on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 3:37 pm

Dear LKS

Can you table a motion in parliament to bail us out of the present predicament? Pay this moronic, pathetic, Rip Van Winkle Ape-do-lah Bodohwi a sum of money and get him to step down. Even if it cost us a billion, we save a trillion in the process. Petronas will be more than willing to oblige. Good riddance, for a pittance.

32. #32 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 4:38 pm

“But likes of you gave him a 91% majority. So, who is a bigger idiot?

says UMNO agent RealWorld.

Tell your masters to unshackle the press, and let’s see what majority your Sleeping Beauty will get this time. Tell your masters to allow public debate (and not use the keris or shout “stupid, stupid, stupid”) on the issues that have been brought up by concerned citizens. Tell your masters to allow us to scrutinize key project documents to figure out how a project worth RM 100 million was given for RM 300 million.

Tell your masters to keep to their election promises. Cemerlang, Gemilang dan Terbilang my foot.

33. #33 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 5:48 pm

Heads must roll in all the Government projects’ fiascos. Tax payers money should be preserved. Culprits should be held responsible. Punishment must be swift and severe in accordance with the law.

If the government wants to restore its credibility and public trust and conficence, it has to be seen to be taken effective actions. Too much water has flowed under the bridge.

34. #34 by bystander on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 7:54 pm

I didnt vote BN. Obviously UMNO apologist/agent is a bigger idiot and spineless. Otherwise, how do you people boleh cari makan except kowtowing.

35. #35 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 8:48 pm

“Tell your masters to unshackle the press, and let’s see what majority your Sleeping Beauty will get this time.”

… so says this whinger, Godfather

Well, win the election and you can do anything you want with the press and etc. Whingeing and ranting aint gonna get you the rakyat’s votes, my boy.

36. #36 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 8:51 pm

Dear bystander,

You are really an utter idiot. Maybe bordering on being a mongo.

Figure of speech …. hmmm maybe for a mongo like you, its something beyond your comprehension.

UMNO apologist/agent??? Keep having those wet dreams, boy.

91% … :)

37. #37 by k1980 on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 8:52 pm

As the GE fast approaches, think of the following advice before casting your vote:–

“The greatest tyrannies are always perpetrated in the name of the noblest causes.” — Thomas Paine

“A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.” — Dwight D. Eisenhower

38. #38 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 8:57 pm

Typical UMNO response:

When we complain about their stealing, they say we whinge.

When we complain about their corruption, they say we whinge.

When we worry about our personal safety, they say we whinge.

When we complain about their waving of the keris, they say we whinge.

When we complain about the raising of prices of essentials, they say we whinge

So in their parlance, we should not whinge. We should just watch them steal. We should just watch them pillage. Be silent, like the other BN component parties.

Let’s throw a crumb to RealWorld…

39. #39 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:25 pm

And when Mat Taib makes a police report with such fanfare against RPK, that does not qualify as whingeing. That qualifies as criminal intimidation.

RealWorld, just listen to the lectures of Raja Nazrin. He wasn’t whingeing.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:33 pm

Typical response from a whinger with no facts nor proof.
    These people think they can mislead the rakyat with empty allegations about corruption etc.
    Such whinger will never ever step up to the plate. Like a turtle, they will hide in the virtual world and throw stones from afar. And this Godfather actually lied about being in Europe till he was found out like a little boy with his hand stucked in the candy jar. I wonder whether the opposition are filled with liars like Godfather?? Cakap tak seropa bikin.
    But maybe , maybe sods like Godfather whinged and blamed the government because in reality he is a loser heading no where in life and thus found this blog as his outlet to release all his penned up frustrations.

:)

41. #41 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:36 pm

Oh, now only UMNO can say “Cakap Tak Serupa Bikin” to others. When others say the same thing to UMNO, it is whingeing.

When we lodge police reports against the thieves in UMNO, we are whingeing. When Mat Taib lodges a report against MT, he is not whingeing. Sigh…no wonder UMNO is so full of brainless cattle.

Change your loyalty. Follow Raja Nazrin. It isn’t too late.

42. #42 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:38 pm

“And when Mat Taib makes a police report with such fanfare against RPK, that does not qualify as whingeing. That qualifies as criminal intimidation.” – Godfather

Criminal intimidation? You are now the judge, I see.
    Dude, obviously Raja Nazrin’s lectures did nothing for you!

43. #43 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:41 pm

The modus operandi of UMNO is very clear. They steal, lie, cheat and intimidate. Been brought up that way. When we complain, they say we whinge and we have no basis. When we show evidence, they say “so what?”.

Islam Hadhari ? As Bakri Musa once said, “ada had, ada hari.”

44. #44 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:43 pm

“When we lodge police reports against the thieves in UMNO, we are whingeing.” – Godfather

Thieves??? Any proof of that?
    Dude, maybe you should bring to the table concrete proof and evidence not wild allegations.
    Suggest you get a copy of Raja Nazrin’s lectures and seriously listen to it at home when you are back from kindergarden.

45. #45 by bystander on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 9:58 pm

UMNO apologists are the worst kind. Spineless and brainless. Highly dependent on handouts from UMNOputras and MCA runners. Otherwise, how to survive. When crumbs are handed out, you apologist would behave like a lapdog sticking your tongue. Worse than an idiot.

46. #46 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:03 pm

RealWorld, you obviously didn’t read my posting of several months ago to another UMNO apologist who wanted “proof” of theft by UMNO.

First, if a public project is built at several multiples of what the original specifications should cost, then there is theft of public money. Isn’t this the reason why your beloved leader went back on his word of transparency and open tender ? Second, if a public project is cancelled and the compensation to the concessionaire is several multiples of what was actually spent, that is theft of public funds. Now, where is the evidence you may ask. I will just take an example – the crooked bridge. Is UMNO prepared to let 3 international consultants table a public report on the actual work that had been done prior to the project being suspended and then cancelled ?

Then there is the use or misuse of public funds for political party purposes. Did your beloved party leader not announce the use of over RM600 million of taxpayers’ money for the development of UMNO constituencies, the money to be channelled only through each ketua bahagian ? Hey, use your own political funds, don’t dip into public coffers.

Another issue is the award of licences or tolls to UMNOputras that are equivalent to money printing licences since the public doesn’t have the option to use other alternatives. Examples are the issuance of APs, and the concessions to label liquor and cigarettes. These are de facto taxes and should go to the treasury – instead they go into the pockets of UMNOputras.

If you think that RPK or any one of us has slandered UMNO, then take us to court, and we can let the courts decide if the term “den of thieves” is indeed applicable to UMNO.

47. #47 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:42 pm

“RealWorld, you obviously didn’t read my posting of several months ago to another UMNO apologist who wanted “proof” of theft by UMNO.” – Godfather

Am I obligated to read all your postings??

“If you think that RPK or any one of us has slandered UMNO, then take us to court, and we can let the courts decide if the term “den of thieves” is indeed applicable to UMNO.” – Godfather

Likewise, if your wild allegations are true, then take us to court and we can let the courts decide if the term “wild allegations” is indeed applicable to whingers like you.

And if you are not happy with how things like public projects are run etc etc, do something about it then. Instead of sitting home in your pyjamas and whingeing thru the net, step forward like LKS. Hiding like a turtle and hurling wild allegations and ranting and moaning aint going get you nowhere, my boy.

48. #48 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:42 pm

RealWorld and all you UMNO apologists out there: Take a cue from Aisehman. He was rather eloquent when he said “…The Malays need to decide whether they want to remain as sheep at the mercy of the wolves among them, or if they want to break free from servility.”

Don’t take the crumbs. There’s a lot that we can do together to ensure that the needy get what they deserve and the thieves get nothing.

49. #49 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:47 pm

Godfather,

I said this before and I will say it again. I doubt Raja Nazrin’s lectures did you any good as you still think along racial lines. I guess you can take a dimwit to Raja Nazrin, but you wont take the dimwit out of a dimwit.

50. #50 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:49 pm

bystander,

For someone who has difficulty understanding whats a figure of speech, I will leave the ‘brainless’ part alone. :)

51. #51 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:52 pm

RealWorld:

I will work with you for all races, but first you must disown the wolves in sheep’s clothing within UMNO.

52. #52 by RealWorld on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 10:57 pm

Godfather,

… and what about your marriage of convenience with PAS?? You guys come together like every 5 years for an orgy fest.

No wolves in sheep’s clothing within DAP?

53. #53 by Godfather on Sunday, 5 August 2007 - 11:10 pm

I have no political affiliation. I stand against injustice, theft of public funds, lying, cheating and intimidation. Only one party in Bolehland has these traits. Do you, RealWorld?

54. #54 by lchk on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 12:20 am

Ignore Realworld’s rantings.

He’s just another UMNO cyber-trooper.

55. #55 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 1:51 am

Just ignore those cyber-sods from umno.

56. #56 by Godfather on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 2:54 am

We must always threaten to take away UMNO’s right to steal. Each time we do that, UMNO will send out their poodles like RealWorld to rant at us and to try to disrupt our rhythm.

Regime change is a necessity for the future of Bolehland.

57. #57 by sotong on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 8:21 am

It is easy and comfortable to be pro BN…………..unafir, discriminative and biased laws will not be used against you for political purposes.

Decades of dictatorship had created a strong environment of fear for people to voice their real concerns in the best interest of the country.

58. #58 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 8:44 am

YB LKS:
    “Abdullah should realize that if Malaysians continue to see the perpetuation of the culture of impunity like previous mega scandals of “heinous crimes without criminals”, the Prime Minister’s campaign for integrity, accountability and good governance will be completely in tatters.”

The mainstream media is completely ‘oblivious’ (that’s euphemistic!)to these scandals. The bald truth is that the mainstream media is held to ransom by the government and systematically, slavishly covers-up these scandals. There is, as some say, madness in the methods!

Do you wonder why intrepid bloggers like Raja Petra Kamaruddin, Rocky Bru, Jeff Ooi and others carry on their ‘David-and-Goliath’ media battles with the powers that be? The rationale is simply this: the People have a right to know. It’s a government of, by and for the people! Not just the subset of putras in the UMNOPUTRAs!

59. #59 by sotong on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 8:46 am

In a democracy, politicians holding a position of trust, power and influence, will have to prove the allegations wrong – not the other way round.

This is to keep the people in position of trust, power and influence honest.

60. #60 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 10:01 am

I am trying to glean ‘dispassionately’ from the ‘exchange’ between Godfather and Realworld.

Fair exchange – tit for tat, tit for tat…but it’s simply going nowhere. To Realworld, truth must simply be backed by evidence but ‘hard’ evidence is not forthcoming from Godfather. Perhaps, Realworld, since you are so keen on evidence, I would like to suggest several things for yr immediate action before you go on and on in yr debate…I am not saying you sound like a broken record…but you should listen to it yrself. Read yr postings over again, see how it sounds.

Ok, firstly, as an appetizer, see RPK and asks to see all those Statutory Declarations from the PDRM Officers re IGP Scandal. Then, since you are a self-professed champion for truth, check it out with these Officers. The problem this ‘news’ cannot be found in any of the mainstream media is always a chicken-and-egg issue because the press is muzzled. So, investigative journalism is totally (ok, I concede, almost totally) absent. This is a crucial cog in the wheel of truth, quite necessary for the roll-out of hard evidence. Why do you think nobody, and I say it again, nobody ever dared to charge RPK for all those ‘damned lies, mad mistruths, dirty rumours and diseased, venomous speculations’ hurled by RPK must surely raise yr intelligent eyebrows? On the balance of probabilities (in the absence of tangible proof), any fly on the wall would be led to think that indeed no charge or suit has been made against RPK because if RPK has his say in court, the floodgates would be open and lo and behold, the PAndora box will fly open and out will jump not Jack-in-the-box but WORMS, crawlies – frothy, filthy and foul. Ask RPK for evidence because all the squealers go to him, not Godfather. This Godfather has no mafia connection – and so I think. But you can provoke RPK. Please do it. I like the way he put the ex-MB with two Muhamads in his name curled up and sheepish in his little corner. Now the whole world knows who is the ex-MB with two Muhammads in his name. And do you want hard evidence, ask RPK again. Better still, ask the ex-MB with two Muhammads in his name. This ex-MB with two Muhammads in his name did’nt refute any of RPK’s allegations. He merely said “these are old stories”. Do you think that after what this ex-MB with two Muhammads in his name has said this and never sought to challenge, contradict, deny or seek to expunge those statements, therefore confirms what RPK wrote to be facts and only facts even though no hard evidence has been produced. Unchallenged, the public will quite readily accept these old stories as facts though undeniably those events and the ‘evidence’ offered online are not current.

So, you see Realworld, it does not pay to prattle away mindlessly and turn a blonde eye to the realities around you. The Malays have a lovely way of calling these frogs (the ‘kataks dibawah tempurong’ breed, you know). Besides, most of us can spot a whore when we come face to face with one especially from their speech…in this case, from their writings. I am speaking here of cyber whores. I don’t wish to offend you by saying “Realworld, you are a cyber whore.” What I am only saying is “Realworld, don’t be one!”

61. #61 by Godfather on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 10:50 am

RealWorld the UMNO poodle will not answer your questions head-on, Endangered Hornbill. All UMNO poodles have been trained to say “yes sir, yes sir, three bags full”. All UMNO poodles have been told to ignore the real issues, and hopefully after a while, the “whingeing” will go away.

This is the main reason why they are so desperate to have some form of control over the alternative media. If they have control, they can do whatever they want, steal whatever they want, say whatever they want, threaten whatever they want.

62. #62 by grace on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 10:51 am

Integrity, pride, honesty and rsposibility are never in the vocabulary of BN members.
    So do not frighten them with this!!!

63. #63 by Godfather on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 9:36 pm

Anyone seen that UMNO poodle RealWorld ? Arf, arf….

64. #64 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 7 August 2007 - 10:41 am

“Anyone seen that UMNO poodle RealWorld ? Arf, arf….” – Godfather

Petty insults and name calling now , eh?

Well, if you think that is gonna swing the votes your way, I am happy for you. :)

65. #65 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 7:45 pm

Once a poodle, always a poodle. Once a thief , always a thief.