Appoint Nazir Razak as honorary Ombudsman for “stupid things” by “Power People” with jurisdiction to summon miscreants to publicly lecture them for their stupid utterances or acts which undermine Malaysia’s national image

Two days ago, I had asked whether there was a competition in Najib’s Cabinet as to which Minister could say the most stupid things, which I had entitled:

“’Walking Dead’ – Is there a competition in Najib’s Cabinet as to which Minister could say the most stupid things?”

This was after the statement by the CIMB Group chairman Datuk Seri Nazir Razak who warned a fortnight ago that those he described as “power people” should stop issuing stupid remarks amid the worsening economic crisis in the country, especially with the decline in the value of the ringgit, which had plunged to levels unseen since the 1997 Asian Economic Crisis.

I noted that although Nazir, who is also the brother to prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, had urged the “power people” in an Instagram post to “Accept & adjust quickly” as “capital is super sensitive; bad news & bad signs amplified” and to avoid saying “stupid things”, the situation has gone from bad to worse, as if there is a total breakdown of discipline of the Najib Cabinet after the reshuffle of July 28, with the sacking of Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Minister for Rural and Regional Development, Datuk Seri Apdal Shafie.

I pointed out that in the previous 12 days since Nazir’s advice, the “stupid things” uttered by Najib’s “power people” had increase by leaps and bounds, and I listed such 13 “stupid things” said by Najib’s “power people” in the past 48 hours, i.e. at the shocking rate of more than half-a-dozen a day!

The volume and velocity of “stupid things” uttered by Najib’s “power people” had not slowed in the least, as seen by the new list of such “stupid things” from the headlines of Malaysiakini in the 48 hours after the first list of “stupid things” on Sunday, viz:

Sept. 6:

1. Zahid: Blessing in disguise from Bersih’ picture stomping incident.

2. ‘Bersih rally hurt feelings of UMNO, lacked manners, morals’.

3. Najib is Umno’s pillar of strength, says Mahdzir.

4. Ismail Sabri: Strengthen Umno for the sake of Malays.

5. Azalina raps Ambiga for ‘unpatriotic’ urgent sitting petition.

Sept. 7:

1. Rahman: I’ll dump the trash at Bersih’s doorstep next time;

2. MCA: DAP to blame for Malay anger, not Chinese.

Probably, the Prime Minister should appoint Nazir Razak as honorary Ombudsman for “stupid things” by “Power People” with jurisdiction to summon miscreants to publicly lecture them for their stupid utterances or acts which undermine Malaysia’s national image.

Imagine Ministers like Zahid, Abdul Rahman Dahlan, Madzir, Ismail Sabri, Salleh Said Keruak, Azalina and Shabery Cheek getting a public tongue-lashing from Nazir, which I think is probably the best antidote to get them to reduce their quota of “stupid” utterances and statements.

UMNO/BN Ministers and leaders like Azalina should not be too trigger-happy to accuse others of being “unpatriotic” when the Prime Minister has received at least RM2.6 billion foreign donation from a purportedly Middle Eastern source for the 13th General Elections campaign, something which had never happened in 56 years under the first five Prime Ministers from Tunku Abdul Rahman to Razak, Hussein, Mahathir and Abdullah from 1957 – 2013.

This RM2.6 billion “donation” scandal of Najib has been elevated from a national into a global scandal, with global graft-fighters using the 16th International Anti-Corruption Conference (IACC) to quiz, one after another, the Malaysian Prime Minister why he could not answer the simple questions of who paid the money and why, and where the monies have gone to.

I want Najib to realize that after the 16th IACC Conference, he has not only a national but global responsibility to set an example to all the heads of governments and states in the world by answering these questions fully, truthfully and without any further delay.

As for Azalina, will she declare how much she had received from such foreign funding via Najib, and if she had had been one of the recipients, how could she have the temerity to accuse others of being unpatriotic when she had no qualms in receiving foreign funding via Najib for her general election campaign and victory in 2013?

To show her absolute patriotism, will she pay the amount of foreign funding she had received via Najib into the Treasury funds and undertake to raise the issue in tomorrow’s Cabinet to persuade every Cabinet Minister to do the same with the foreign funding they had received via Najib for the 13GE campaign by declaring and remitting similar sums to the Treasury?

I must say that I have never felt that a UMNO/BN statement should have the widest circulation, not because of its correctness or sharpness of insight but because of its utter stupidity, than the statement by a MCA leader which was given the headline of “MCA: DAP to blame for Malay anger, not Chinese” by Malaysiakini yesterday.
When I read the report, I had tweeted “Dead man walking. Por Tor not over yet.”

I must admit that this MCA statement must take the cake as the most daft, dense and spineless one that I have ever read coming from Najib’s “power people” and it should be compulsory reading for anyone interested in understanding why the Umno/BN coalition is really doomed.

1. #1 by ds2 on Tuesday, 8 September 2015 - 9:45 am

Just how long this say stupid things contest will go on is anyone’s guess. The idiosyncrasy is not helping Najib. With ministers and supporters like this, who needs enemies, right?

2. #2 by ds2 on Tuesday, 8 September 2015 - 9:48 am

As for MCA, just wait. One day we will open the book.