Ex-top cop Yuen Yuet Leng confirmed that the May 13, 1969 “urination” incident at the Selangor MB’s residence was totally fictional as he never heard of it although he was based in KL during the riots

I thank former top police officer, Tan Sri Yuen Yuet Leng for his two postings on my blog statement yesterday: “Yuen Yuet Leng is wrong – as the 1969 general election result was a greater blow to the MCP although it was a set back for the Alliance”

I had expressed my disagreement with a Sun report on Monday headlined “’Communists helped opposition win seats’ in 1969” quoting Yuen as saying that “the communists had helped opposition parties, including the DAP, to win a substantial number of seats in the 1969 election”.

I had said that Yuen’s claim that the communists helped the opposition to win seats in the 1969 general election was news to me, as it run counter to what happened in the run-up to the 1969 general election and studies whether books or articles by scholars of the 1969 general election.

This was because the communists had called for a boycott of the 1969 general election and the Opposition parties which had participated in the 1969 general election were attacked and condemned as “stooges” and “puppets” of the Alliance for going against their call to “shatter the parliamentary path” and to opt for the “mass struggle”.

But the communists failed in their campaign calling on the voters to boycott the 1969 general election, as the voter turnout reached some 72% – though less than the 79% voter turnout in the 1964 and 73% in the 1959 General Election, it was still higher than the 70% voter turnout in the 1986 and 71% voter turnout in the 1999 General Election.

This was why I lamented both in my writings while in detention under the Internal Security Act in 1969 and in my speeches immediately after my release in 1970 that the country had missed a great opportunity to promote the cause of democracy in Malaysia.

For instance, in my speech in Penang on November 22, 1970 on the occasion of my release from detention, I said

• “the general election of May 10, 1969 was the high-water mark of democracy in Malaysia” which was “crushed ruthlessly by the violence and bloodshed” of May 13, 1969 riots.

• That while the Alliance party suffered grievous electoral set-backs, the greatest losers of the May 10 general election were those forces which had actively campaigned for a boycott of general election, on the grounds that “democracy in Malaysia was a farce and trickery on the people”.

• That May 10, 1969 was a declaration by the people of Malaysia that they preferred the democratic process to undemocratic methods of political struggle, that they preferred the road of reason in Parliament and the State Assemblies to the road of force and violence to bring about the social, economic and political changes they desire.

Yueh and I (he in the Special Branch and I in the DAP) may not see eye-to-eye on all that happened 44 years ago as we have very different perspectives about the political scene in 1969, but we do not doubt each other’s integrity and patriotism.

It is therefore most disgusting, distasteful and outrageous that some UMNO/BN propagandist and cybertroopers have jumped on the Sun report on Yuen’s comments to virtually insinuate that I am a communist!

Let Malaysians learn from the tragedies of the past, like the May 13, 1969 racial riots, not to point an accusatory finger such as to pinpoint the culprits as 44 years have elapsed but for the country to learn the truth about the past so as the better to build a united, harmonious, just and prosperous Malaysia for all Malaysians.

Recently, a lot of lies and falsehoods have been told about the May 13, 1969 riots, as accusing me of provoking the riots with anti-Malay slogans in the street processions in Kuala Lumpur after the May 10, 1969 general election when I was never in Kuala Lumpur at all, and the lies about the outrageous “urination” incident.

I asked the former Special Branch deputy director over the phone just now whether he had ever heard about the “urination” incident at the flagpole of the Selangor Mentri Besar’s residence as Yuan was on duty in Kuala Lumpur in the dark days of the May 13, 1969, and in his autobiography, “Nation Before Self”, Yuen had declared: “I was proud to be a policeman on May 13, 1969”.

Yuen not only confirmed that the May 13, 1969 “urination” incident at the Selangor Mentri Besar’s residence was totally fictional, he rightly remarked that if there was any such a person who committed such an outrageous act, he would not have left the Selangor Mentri Besar’s residence alive!

Note:

Tan Sri Yueh’s two comments on my blog are:

1. by strong eoiTS Yuen Yuet Leng on Thursday, 12 September 2013 – 12:54 am

Sent: Tuesday, 10 September, 2013 4:26 PM
To: [email protected]

Subject: Your article

Dear Vathani,

While I appreciate your article in general summarised well what I wanted to be known to the nation on what were greater truths I have to make clarifications. Information I imparted are in deliberate interest of objective nation and so that nation gets the right tutoring message and feel strongly why May 13 incidents should not ever be allowed to happen again either because of too much insensitivities or too much sensitivities on any side. The major redeeming factor in 1969 was the courage of non-racial Malaysians who were still there to put to shame the worse of their respective communities who rampaged, hurt or killed. This best of Malaysians dared to risk their lives in saving or sheltering fellow Malaysians of another ethnic community.

The 43 frenzied rioters or looters or organised counter forces were shot by both police and the army mainly after Tun Razak had authorised such action when imperative during the first 48-72 hours of devilish racism and counter-action. Thus was the security situation effectively contained. A couple of days later an attempt was made to aggravate the situation in Kuala Lumpur by ultras to create similar incidents in Penang island and the mainland in the north. This was pre-empted by very good Special Branch intelligence. CPO Penang was directed to put on a very, very tight curfew enforced by the police and ranger army units Nothing could move not even UMNO.

Many Malaysians think that the communist struggle which started with the 1st Emergency in 1948, ended in 1960. Only the armed struggle did. From 1961 the communists had commenced on the new phase of “open and legal struggle” which was the secret subversion or penetration of legal political and other organisations either from within or outside, known or unknown or both at the same time. Most notably affected and within were the Socialist Front and the Labour party. In fact after May 69 a number of these communist or pro-communist elements who had evaded arrests, fled across the Thai border to join the CPM, were trained militarily and came back as members of the new CPM Assault units , Some were killed in in 1971 in a combined police/SB/army in the Kulim area and in which I was involved. They were positively identified as committee members of political parties.

Communist known or unknown support cannot be said to be the one and only reason which made the “victory” of Opposition parties.. It was however of supporting assistance. I do not agree that any single and particular political party, other than the more active Socialist Front and Labour Party should be identified in discriminating or partisan manner. It must however not be misconstrued also, as some tend to think, that the communists was behind or prompted the 1969 racial riots. They might prompt riots but not racial riots because they are essentially a non-racial party. If they could have it their way they would have preferred continuing success of their open and legal struggle.

However, it was chauvinistic Chinese overjoy made worse and even more hurtful and “unbearable” by stupid Chinese and some Indian hooligans broke the camel’s back of Malay tolerance, and which had already been dented so sensitively earlier by the shocking loss of electoral seats and stoked communal survival anxieties in the future. Communal ultras could only made things even more worse by capitalising on already explosive emotions.

A very sad Director of the Special Branch, Tan Sri Rahman Hashim came to my division located well away from Bukit Aman a couple of days after May 13. Very disheartened, he told us he had failed in his job and intended to tender his resignation. We told him we would all resign with him if he did. That would be disastrous for the nation. First of all we should get the intelligence to restore sanity, peace and order. Soon after we obtained the vital intelligence was received by our intelligence network in the north that some radical ultras were planning to escalate the security situation in Kuala Lumpur by starting another situation in Penang and the mainland. This was pre-empted by a very tight curfew in the areas for a number of days which was enforced forcefully by the police and army ranger units. I suggest that you get a copy of my book , “Nation Before Self” (MPH) which you saw yesterday. (Pages 157-181)

Tan Sri Yuen Yuet Leng

2. by strong eoiTS Yuen Yuet Leng on Thursday, 12 September 2013 – 2:19 pm

This was in context of Tanda Putera as I felt better research would have not result in so much fuss over its production and showing. Subjective media interest crafter another story. I spoke for the nation I believed in and still do as I saw it first hand and professionally. All are privileged to not agree. The truth hurts all round. That is why history is hard not to be subjective

1. #1 by Di Shi Jiu on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 10:51 pm

Mr Lim,

It was highly commendable of Yuen Yuet Leng to clarify his position personally with you. as quickly as he did.

As such, I, unreservedly, retract my previous statements regarding Yuen’s obsession with Communists.

Interestingly, Yuen’s statements have only worsen the supposedly historical perspective of “Tandas Putera” – communists involvement in the 1969 elections was, at best, peripheral, communist involvement in the racial riots was very unlikely, and there was NO URINATION EVENT!!!

Unfortunately, how many FELDA settlers will know of these falsehoods in “Tandas Putera”?

As far as those settlers are aware, “Tandas Putera” is the raw unvarnished truth.

I doubt if Utusan would carry any news about what we now know as total fabrication and misinformation in “Tandas Putera”.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 12 September 2013 - 11:50 pm

Why the silence for so long ? What else in this fiction film is also false? Are the dialogues ‘creative’ or are they pure fiction as well?

Anyway, Shuhaimi says she did all her ‘research’ and most of what she produced on film is true. The UMNO fellows loved it all and accepts it as Gospel truth. Feeble minded people are like that – they can’t see beyond their noses and will believe just about anything.

3. #3 by mysia on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 12:48 am

i am sadden by reading the truth of the matter after 44 years.if someone can make a firm show on may13 and turned out a joke…..what an idiot to produce and what also idiot to watch. silly you dont based on some untruth where precious lives are lost and propaganda to the citizens of Malaysia. please i am not among such idiots. it only reflect how immature and uncivilice some among us. the mornful part is the goverment machineries lead the tune just like the rat piper story. when are they going to wake up?…. ALLAHMAK!

4. #4 by tak tahan on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 12:58 am

Personal interest in jeopardy mah..hamih pun kong meh siau liau la lu.Civil servant mah…toe the line,order from those days..Hahaha. Should have told everything right from the beginning loh,no mehhhh!! hyprocrite and idiot !!!

5. #5 by yhsiew on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 5:16 am

/// CPO Penang was directed to put on a very, very tight curfew enforced by the police and ranger army units Nothing could move not even UMNO. ///

“not even UMNO” seems to imply that the police were nonpartisan in those days.

6. #6 by Winston on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 7:24 am

All this lunatic behaviour of UMNO/BN just goes to show that the time to get rid if them is long overdue.
    The whole purpose of their doing such things, as well as all sorts of other ploys, is mainly to tie down the opposition while the scoundrels go about their usual business of enriching themselves.
    The opposition must have the goal of ridding the country of these pests well in sight!!!
    And never lose sight of it for a single moment!

7. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 8:52 am

Or pek kong.
    Kong ka liao.

Remember always. Tanda putera will soon turn into a ghost to haunt umno.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 9:16 am

The debate of demerits of Tanda Putera including its bad fiction is mostly over. The issue really is the many who refuse to accept the truth and expend WAY TOO MUCH to effort to refuse the reality and the truth including much lying of even the simple poor technical quality of the work.

The issue really is too many people are insistent on the fantasy of entitlement, the dependency clearly dangerous at least, unsustainable eventually, and may already be too costly…

9. #9 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 9:47 pm

USEless LKS, after so long he had been smeared with sh!t, esp just b4 n during d last GE, only now he managed 2 get d big fat Tandas liar producer 2 apologise 2 him
    Too late lah, his reputation amg rural n UmnoB Malays oredi ruined n he is oredi a target of hate politics
    LKS should hv just sued d Tandas liar long ago

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Friday, 13 September 2013 - 11:15 pm

Except for that Keralan, everybody else wants to get it off their chests before they go.

11. #11 by tak tahan on Saturday, 14 September 2013 - 12:11 am

Insist that they issue apology for one whole month in the media prints and tv broadcasts otherwise just sue them until foolat.Get real and fuaaak kau them at all cost !!

12. #12 by sotong on Saturday, 14 September 2013 - 6:13 pm

The incident is small local issue, in KL, turned very ugly and violence by some criminal politicians and their supporters by inciting hatred and violence.

The evil criminals tried to turn a small local issue into a national issue but fortunately did not succeed……but they are still around to try again.

13. #13 by M. Vivekananda on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 3:43 pm

The former Special Branch deputy director could be the first senior police officer to make a statement to the mass media on what happened prior to the May 13 incident.

While on this subject matter, many older Malaysians who were in Kuala Lumpur then and lived through the period would be keen to know what the police dossier has to say regarding: (i) the role of Dato Harun Idris immediately prior to the outbreak of the riots, and (ii) the role of the security forces viz. the army who were called in during the immediate aftermath of the outbreak of the riots and the ensuing violence to quell the disturbances.