Kit Siang praises Pak Lah, seeks government post for defeated rival Ghani

By Ida Lim
May 09, 2013

KUALA LUMPUR, May 9 — DAP’s Lim Kit Siang today praised former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, while also asking that his polls rival Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman be given a post in the new Barisan Nasional (BN) administration.

Lim described Abdullah’s statement yesterday as being the “most sensible, level-headed and statesmanlike” comment on the results of last Sunday’s polls.

Despite holding on to power with its win of 133 federal seats, BN lost the popular vote and had a poorer showing this time round, which led the current Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to suggest that it was due to a “Chinese tsunami”.

The DAP advisor also said Ghani was a moderate and rational man, saying that the former Johor Mentri Besar had contributed to the state and country’s development during his four terms of service.

“And I think it’ll be a shame that those who got him fielded in Gelang Patah in order to see the end of Ghani Othman have their way.

“I think it’s only just and fair for Ghani Othman to be appointed to an important post in the new government…” Lim said.

The 72-year-old Lim had contested against Ghani for the Gelang Patah federal seat, emerging a victor in the MCA stronghold when he defeated the latter by 14,762 votes.

More to come

1. #1 by ooi on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 6:55 pm

Hi Uncle Lim,
    Thanks for being a great leader, I am glad & touching when to see you wiling to promote your opponent, we need this kind of great leadership. I respect you.
    您能够包容敌人的精神, 让我很感动。加油!