Call on Election Commission to convene an all-party roundtable conference for all political parties to forswear the politics of fear and blackmail in 13GE and to accept any peaceful and democratic change of government

I call the Election Commission to convene an all-party roundtable conference for all political parties to forswear the politics of fear and blackmail in the 13th General Elections and to accept any peaceful and democratic change of government, whether at the Federal or state level, if this is the verdict of the electorate.

This is most urgent and imperative for two reasons: firstly, the increasing incidents of the politics of fear, blackmail, gangsterism and violence in the run-up to the 13GE; secondly, the possibility that the 13GE will herald the first change of federal government in 56 years through the ballot box, namely the formation of a Pakatan Rakyat Federal Government in Putrajaya following the ousting of the Barisan Nasional Federal Government through the democratic process.

I have received information that the Bukit Aman and Defence Ministry intelligence do not rule out the defeat of Barisan Nasional in the 13GE. According to one Bukit Aman intelligence estimate, which I cannot verify whether it is from the police or not, the possible outcome of the 13GE for parliamentary elections is as follows:

State PR BN
Perlis 1 2
Kedah 13 2
Kelantan 13 1
Terengganu 4 4
Penang 12 1
Perak 18 6
Pahang 5 9
Selangor 20 2
Wilayah Per. 10 1
Putrajaya 0 1
Negri Sembilan 6 2
Melaka 2 4
Johor 12 14
Labuan 1 0
Sabah 12 13
Sarawak 16 15
Total 145 77

According to this estimate, PR will win 145 parliamentary seats compared to 77 for Barisan Nasional – or a majority of 68 seats.

This is well beyond my “dream” results for the Pakatan Rakyat in the 13GE – which is PR winning 125 parliamentary seats or a majority of 28, distributed evenly among PKR with 45 seats and DAP and PAS each winning 40 seats.

With the possibility for the first time in more than five decades of Malaysian history of a democratic transition of power through the ballot box, the onus is both on the Election Commission and the police to ensure that a democratic transition of power will be a peaceful and orderly one.

I welcome the reminder by the former Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan urging politicians to stop “putting fear in people” by making statements about possible racial tension or riots should there be a change in government in the general election.

Musa took issue at a forum on smooth and peaceful transition of power in Kuala Lumpur with recent statements by both Umno Wanita chief Shahrizat Jalil and former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Shahrizat had warned of a repeat of the May 13, 1969 racial riots during her policy speech at the Umno general assembly November last year, while Mahathir recently wrote on his blog that I would attempt to drive a wedge between the Chinese and the Malays in my campaign for Gelang Patah.

“As leaders, they should advise the people to be calm in selecting a government of their choice,” said Musa, who has been vocal in his opinions since his retirement.

Musa said: “For me, (the statements) are almost like sedition (menghasut).”

Here is a case where a former Inspector-General of Police is of the view that a former Prime Minister had been guilty of sedition. But would the Attorney-General Tan Sri Gani Patail act independently and professionally to arrest and charge the former Prime Minister, Tun Mahathir, for the offence of sedition in raising the spectre of racial conflict to scare the voters from freely exercising their constitutional right to vote.

I fully endorse Musa’s criticism of the police authorities for failing to act independently and professionally where the culprits come from UMNO and Barisan Nasional.

Musa argued that the enforcement system would need an overhaul should there be a change of government in the May 5 election.

The Pakatan Rakyat is fully committed to bring about such an enforcement of the police force, to ensure that the police could restore public confidence in their efficiency, professionalism and independence so that they could reduce crime and make the country and public places safe again for citizens, investors and tourists as well as establish an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commssion (IPCMC) to deal with public complaints of abuses of power and corruption against the police.

These two items will be among the top agendas of a new PR Federal Government after the 13GE.

1. #1 by digard on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 7:24 pm

Love it – Love it – Love it!!!
    You just have to love the scaremongering on their side!! – Sure, nobody believes at the slightest that we could see anything in this range of 145 PR to 77 for BN. Daydreaming – and still a nightmare for those guys. Look at the numbers, they have extrapolated a worst-case per state scenario to an overall scenario. This is highly unscientifically and shows the decay of Malaysian education (including tertiary education).
    And yet, I am sitting here, grinning, how they are there, sitting, and sweating with fear.

Unfortunately, we cannot exclude that BN is prepared for anything in case of any result to the detriment of BN; and be it by 1 MP (122 to 120). Anything under the sun. Therefore, Kit Siang’s proposal ought to get all thumbs up!

2. #2 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 8:01 pm

Malaysian intelligence is among the world best. The possibility is very high but it also could false as to give PR an feel good feeling and thus take the battle lightly.

But the election is simply a game and it all depend how the fence sitters will react. The most important factors to give PR a hand down win is the young voters turn out. If they do turn out in full force then PR will most likely heading to Putra Jaya.

Many working cross the straits are all charged up and have book the ticket home and this group form a sizable no and these are mainly PR supporters or rather those are the people wish want to see a change of government simply BN has been totally ruled out as able to make the real changes.

Even the caretaker PM also give his warning of the possibility of stock market crash if BN lost. This shown that he is also worry and his worry must have some intelligence support.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 8:25 pm

According to the estimates, PR won most parliament seats in all states except Johor and Sabah, 3 more seats and PR will have 2/3 majority, unbelievable but possible. Wonder if it will be the same for the state seats?

4. #4 by tchow on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 8:47 pm

Not really. Since UMNO fielded MB in gelang patah and several blockbusters in JB area, the mission wont be so easy. Their strategy to refresh Malays memory against ‘imperialism’ once happened in 1946 on the same spot, where the new enemy now is DAP . By provoke racial sentiment is still powerful by trapping DAP launch the equal racist statement against UMNO. ..Or to prove that DAP is too dominant among pakatan components, should ‘rescue’ other candidate from elsewhere even with the costs of scarification of a MB.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 9:05 pm

My first instinct is that PR and even Sdr. Lim has let the GE fever got into their heads.

BUT then, Najib & Selangor BN announces they are going to copy PR and give free water to Selangor – when Khalid Ibrahim point out the issue is whether Johor and other states also get free water..

Is it possible, the dream may be more real than we thought?

• #6 by kg on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 12:38 am

Ya, the dream seems more real than what we have thought of. But things are still very fluid, as mentioned by sheriff. Madeyjib people care so much on their wealth and power that they may do anything that they could. Lets work harder.

Before 308, a friend from Penang asked me do we have a chance for a new government. I said yes of course, but maybe not for us to see it happen, our grandchildren may be able to see it.

But then the response from the people in the market was very unusual; people complaining on the government from top to bottom, the hawkers pointed to the sky (meaning rocket will be launching soon) when my friend approached them, hosts of people from all races went for PR ceramah and giving donations, ect. The rest was history.

Even with the status quo now, 2 party system is already in place. Look at how Bijan copy PR’s manifesto, look at how panic BumNo BeEnd is in preparing for GE13, can we imagine Madey being so panic just 5 years ago?

Let’s hope for the best for our country and all Malaysians. If the figures here are from the ground, then even 2/3 is within reach by PR. I have this thought, with its fiercest infighting going on, BumNo BeEnd will fall by its own weight even without PR competing it.

6. #7 by ahkmlog on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 9:58 pm

Wonder whether will he follow in the footsteps of his Boss.

7. #8 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 11:12 pm

Don’t get carried away. Things are still very fluid. Wait till after Nominations Day and then things will become much clearer. For all you know, Pakatan will lose a lot of seats because of spoilers and unexpected walkovers and the like.

If your secret information is reliable, won’t the BN then come up with emergency plans to thwart a changeover? The police say there are many rumours already and bad hats might intervene. Who knows? You might even get de-registered at 5 pm on Friday.

Don’t get hoodwinked. The fight has not yet begun really. Hold your fire until you can see your opponents clearly, then kapow !!!!! send them running.

8. #9 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 11:18 pm

If you can get this breakdown, why don’t your source then tell you the name of the seats that PR and BN are projected to win ?

Fishy isn’t it ?

9. #10 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 11:33 pm

The figures show then that PR will win 117 seats in West Malaysia and East Malaysia will contribute only 28 seats to the total.

Can West Malaysia then go it alone if the East tries to be funny and become parochial ?

10. #11 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 11:51 pm

If the figures are reliable, then it is true, RAHMAN will come to pass.

The battle cry should inlude ‘RAHMAN’.

And why no nominee yet for Labis against Chua Tee Yong ? Shouldn’t the ideal candidate be Tony Pua ? Why is he hesitating ? Go South young man. Go South!

11. #12 by changhy on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 12:05 am

Hei BN, while you are at it, how about giving free water to the whole country la??? Be fair. Also do away with Indah Water and the tolls, can or not???

12. #13 by chengho on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 12:32 am

dream on Kit

13. #15 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 12:39 am

I urge all voters to consider what key issues matter to you:
    Mine are weakness in the following –
    1) Law and order and the justice system
    2) Poor quality of education
    3) High cost of living
    4) Elections fraud
    You can listen to a short speech on my blog – 2click my name above

14. #16 by drngsc on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 1:01 am

Exactly right Kit. Achievable.
    Conquer Gelang Patah, on way to Putrajaya. Complete the job that you started in 2008.

We can change the tenant at Putrajaya this time GE 13 is 17 days away. Much more work to do to achieve the above. Get all eligible to vote. Every vote counts. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we shall.

15. #17 by raven77 on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 2:01 am

Overconfidence can be fatal….

16. #18 by Noble House on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 4:21 am

This rapid proliferation of people who answer only to the Corridors of Power has many people afraid that the power obsession demonstrated by the current administration will steadily erode our freedoms and liberty until the country becomes a totalitarian state. This has become a key point of concern for an increasing population of citizens. As election cycles come and go with repeated broken promises of reform devolving into ever greater levels of corruption, there seems to be nobody that is going to ‘do something’ about the current situation.

17. #19 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 6:06 am

of course such a fantastic result could be part of the work of the MisInformation Minister who is appealing to the “malaiseness” of many voters who may decide to stay home for 2 reasons:

1.they believe PR will win anyway without them voting and
    2.they are also scared with all the 513 bogeys.

So it is important to seek the cooperation of the PDRM and MAF to reassure the public that they will safeguard public order during the transition period. Maybe even a statement from the palace too can help reassure the common people that everyone should exercise their rights and duties as a loyal Malaysian.

18. #20 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 8:41 am

It’s time to trigger an umno meltdown by stating a clear intention to pursue criminal actions against all corrupt umnoputras (and Bumnoputras) after GE13 and to disgorge their ill-gotten gains wherever those gains may be hidden or concealed.

19. #21 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 8:44 am

Yeah, about the numbers, I am not surprised at all.

But be wary of the dying dinasour – the dying kicks of that ancient creature could be nasty.

20. #22 by Sallang on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 9:02 am

The above possible outcome is still a ‘prediction’.
    Unfortunately, it came from Bukit Aman and the Defence Intelligence.
    “According to one Bukit Aman intelligence estimate, which I cannot verify whether it is from the police or not, the possible outcome…”

Could this be a strategy of BN, to pacify the opposition, so that PR would relax a little and drop their guard?
    I say this because, the security forces of Malaysia are working for BN/UMNO.
    What I cannot understand is that, IF the police can step in, when there is possibility of a criminal act, whether its white collar crime or Insurance Fraud, Why can’t the Police set up a team to prevent EC from playing ‘dirty’ come this elections? Must there be a Police report, and not prevention?
    I hope the Police and the army realize that, IF PR were to win, they will have to serve the new government.

I remember, during the last elections in Thailand, a picture of a soldier, with a rifle hanging over his shoulder, stood in queue at one of the booths for his turn, in the trouble South. (Check The Sun newspaper.)

21. #23 by passerby on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 9:46 am

To ensure that this forecast may become true, PR should offer incentives to the people by declaring that if they are given the mandate to be the next government, they will go after all those corrupt politicians to recover all their unlawful gains and any money recovered will be distributed fairly to all Malaysian.

I think this offer is fair and does not cost anything to the government after all such money has already left the country long ago.

22. #24 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 11:24 am

There was a typo error in Bukit Aman’s info.

It should be ‘BN’ instead of ‘PR’ and vice versa.

So the correct info should be: BN 145 PR 77.

It is the whole truth I tell you.

23. #25 by Jim55 on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 12:24 pm

Where’s other parties’s score? Does it mean that all independent candidates are completely wiped out?

13GE is not merely between PR and BN, right?

Why would Defense Ministry’s Intelligence predict such an end result? PR almost secured 2/3rd majority! Only 3 seats short of 148 (2/3rd majority).

And the Bukit Aman’s forecast is conveniently leaked to PR.

There must be some hidden agendas. Just be extra cautious with all the good news that comes your way.

24. #26 by Saint on Thursday, 18 April 2013 - 8:41 pm

The figures are unrealistic. I would go for a +/- 15 seats for both sides. So be more focused and get a strategy ready for not getting de-registered.

25. #27 by on cheng on Friday, 19 April 2013 - 10:53 pm

If 44 years after 13 May 1969, they can still said riot or chaos if they don’t win, while they were in power all these whiles, then it only means one thing , that is they had failed miserably in the democracy building and promotion of racial harmony !