Ghani Othman’s candidature in Gelang Patah – implementation of Mahathir’s first directive in the 13GE: “End Kit Siang’s political career”

The announcement of Datuk Ghani Othman, the Johor Mentri Besar, as the candidate of the Barisan Nasional parliamentary constituency of Gelang Patah in the 13th General Election has not created any surprises as this has been an open secret for the past fortnight.

This was both the request of the MCA President, Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek who was even prepared to unilaterally surrender the Gelang Patah seat, traditional fortress of MCA, as well as the directive of the former Prime Minister, Tun Mahathir who came to Johore on April 1 and called on the people of Johor in the 13GE to end my political career.

Ghani’s candidature is the implementation by the Prime Minister and UMNO President, Datuk Seri Najib Razak of Mahathir’s first directive in the 13GE, “End Kit Siang’s political career”.

Nobody doubts that the most powerful man in UMNO and Barisan Nasional today is not the Prime Minister and BN Chairman but Mahathir, the de facto power behind the throne in UMNO and BN.

In fact, Najib is very afraid of Mahathir as the former longest-serving Prime Minister had proved that he was capable to both setting up UMNO/BN Prime Ministers as well as toppling them, as happened to Tun Abdullah after the 2008 general elections.

Although Ghani tried to deny the “undeniable” by stating that his candidacy was not to “bury” my political career but to defend what Johor had achieved all this while including the harmony among the different races, everyone in Gelang Patah, Johore and Malaysia know the real reason and agenda for Ghani’s candidacy in Gelang Patah.

In fact, after Mahathir’s open call on April 1, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin publicly stated that I was “trapped” in Gelang Patah saying categorically that I was “finished” politically.

There can be no more powerful evidence that the UMNO leadership, under Mahathir’s directive have worked out a strategy to ensure that Gelang Patah becomes my “political grave”.

I leave my political future in the hands of the voters of Gelang Patah who will decide whether I am politically buried in the 13GE.

1. #1 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 7:37 pm

Let it be known and let all Malaysians be know that this is not a political battle between LKS and Ghani, but is a battle for a better Malaysia and which party will form a better and credible Government (UMNO or PR).
    Good Governance with credible leaders is the key point to this battle. UMNO runs government has clearly been proven to be a Corrupted government, self enriching through cronyism, blatant abuse of powers and spawning racial hatreds among all the races; All these are distinct characters of UMNO. All these are proven and on records for UMNO. DO we still want them running the government??
    Think seriously before you cast your votes, during this coming GE13 and not only in Gelang Patah

• #2 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 9:53 pm

It is a dirty battle between both parties’ supporters.

2. #3 by Loh on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 7:47 pm

///#1 by Loh on Monday, 15 April 2013 – 8:39 pm
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/semakpru13.aspx

The above web site allows one to check the location of where one votes.

I have just checked and found that my name has been transposed with my surname appearing between my two names. It would mean that when the clerk at the polling station checks my IC against its list, he will declare that I am not on the electoral roll, and I could be refused the ballot paper to vote. This is an important matter and I hope that DAP will see to it that so long as our IC number checks with what appears in the list, one should be allowed to vote.///

I posted the above yesterday.

I know now that if one uses computer running on Window XP to check he should find the name correctly recorded. I use Window Vista and it shows that my surname has been transposed. This applies to a friend too. It means that EC has two sets of name for the same IC number, and it is up to them to use one of them. Vista program has the correct name displayed momentarily, but the transposed name will stay. I suppose one should printed out the correct record to make sure that he can vote.

3. #4 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 7:48 pm

Not be so pessimistic YB Lim. Though you are facing a huge task ahead of you the entry of Ghani may be necessary render the GP battle impossible for you.

It is a very difficult battle but once chosen it is all system go now.

Win or or lose by 505, you have defeated MCA that for sure.

What is most needed is the assistance from PAS counter part to win over the Malays votes. The fight must be focus on issue affecting all the rakyat, which we people believe PR is fighting for.

Let fight a good fight and let people decide what direction they wish to follow after being lead by BN for the pass 50 years.

4. #5 by worldpress on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:30 pm

You may start bombarding Mamak with the Project IC for illegal immigrants resulted current state terrorist walking free in Malaysia with MyKad

5. #6 by worldpress on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:32 pm

You may start bombarding Mamak with the Project IC for illegal immigrants resulted current state terrorist walking freely in Malaysia with MyKad

Johor developed at the cost foreigners buying out the Johor Land.

6. #7 by Winston on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 9:25 pm

“End Kit Siang’s political career” – End of quote

End LKS’s political career?
    The Malaysian electorate would much, much rather end the fifty-six-year corruption, scams and scandals of the Devils lead by their chief, the Mamak!!!
    Haven’t Malaysians been suffering long enough?
    Aren’t they seething for revenge against Mamak and gang?
    So, it is now a matter of ending the political careers of Mamak and all his henchmen in the Devils’ Party!!!!
    No wonder even long retired devils in that party are so concerned about their bleak future!!!

7. #8 by on cheng on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:09 pm

Johorean, u support Bn all this while, do you know your water tariff among the highest in Malaysia?, while selangor got 20 mtr3 free ! Penang among cheapest ! (even Penang is so small).
    Though Johor state water rsources is better than Selangor or Penang

8. #9 by bruno on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:10 pm

Can anybody spot the difference.

Ghani standing in Gelang Patah and froggy Zulkifly standing against Khalid in Port Klang.

It is Umno’s way of saying farewell of doing away with political hasbeens.Sendng them as sacrificial lambs to the slautherhouse.

9. #10 by bruno on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:13 pm

As usual Chuah Soi Lek is playing politial chicken.Hiding under Umnoputra’s sarongs.Hey,who can blame this man whose reputation is associating with “ayams”.

10. #11 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 11:01 pm

Please allow me to post a reminder, that the battle is not just in Gelang Patah but the whole state of Johor and the rest of Malaysia. Even as Sdr. Lim draws the big guns to his constituency, the rest of DAP and PR must work double hard in the small towns of Johor and even in the Felda settlements.

In the Felda settlements in particular, if they understand that FGV shares won’t recover for the forseeable future and as Felda seek profit, their welfare will be neglected, then Khaled Nordin may even not get to see the MB office and Putrajaya is likely won..

11. #12 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 11:28 pm

I think you are just getting paranoid. You are just reading too much into it.

You expect them to give you a walkover ? You don’t expect them to give you a tough fight ?

You expose yourself. They attack you. It is as simple as that.

Now you must try to win.

12. #13 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 11:59 pm

It is now confirmed that Umno = Perkasa and Perkasa = Umno, as Najib allows Perkasa’s Vice President Datuk Zulkifli Noordin to contest the Shah Alam parliamentary seat under a BN ticket.

13. #14 by Noble House on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 4:06 am

One remains true to a just cause over the years. The other one is trying to get back on the gravy train. Voters in Gelang Patah will have to decide whether it is a new Malaysia they want or the revival of Mahathirism in the country. Just to share this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=yBBUG8ntBuQ#!

14. #15 by fredrick on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 6:11 am

Sigh.. LKS, Why talk about MCA, Gerakan leaders not competing when your own alliance, Keadilan their president is not competing as well? This is really sad that you pin point other party’s strategy when your own PKR is crumbling with internal problems. You cant even decide on candidates… and you expect us to be confident in your leadership? In your other post, you mentioned about Mahathir being a shadow leader in this administration. This is a complete joke or just utter stupid. Is it wrong that he speak out or endorse his party? From your analogy, Bill Clinton is still in power because he endorses Obama and critical of the administration. I admire and laud the opposition for many things, but sorry this just doesnt cut it Mr. LKS. The government can do no right, while the opposition can do no wrong. I wish you the best of luck LKS, but im going with BN this year.

15. #16 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 8:31 am

the whole country will be worrying if Lim Kit Siang will be knock out by BN. For sure, BN uses the biggest resources in trying to get rid of LKS. I don’t know what is the probability of winning by LKS. Has there been any analysis?

If there will be no Chinese independent candidate, LKS will have a very good chance. If the Chinese vote will be divided, it may not be as good. I don’t know how much of the Malay will be after Gani. …

We are worrying for Lim Kit Siang.

16. #17 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 8:39 am

Play up the crooked bridge issue. Stupid, no, ridiculous and no brainer idea to start with. Everyone thought that it was merely a concept designed to belittle singapore. But monsterO’mamak was bent on getting something out of the project anyway. Call it stupid, ridiculous or no-brainer, he went ahead crookedly. Now the man in charged got the money for no work done – millions and millions of our money; sanctioned by monsterO’mamak’s court of course.

17. #18 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 11:24 am

‘I leave my political future in the hands of the voters of Gelang Patah who will decide whether I am politically buried in the 13GE.’ Kit

What choice have you got ? You have already made your stand and you cannot back out now without loss of face and credibility. Now you got to make sure you win.

UMNO / BN has seen an opportunity to bury you and they definitely will do all they can to bury you even if they have to play dirty. They want a major PR scalp.

18. #19 by on cheng on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 3:18 pm

Johorean, Have you ever wonder why, 100 ringgit become less than SGD41, when you cross to S’pore? or
    why some Johorean need to send their primary n secondary children to study in S’pore? so inconvenient !
    Anything to do with support BN for far too long?

19. #20 by cseng on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 6:11 pm

Forget about CSL and MCA, they are gone!, vanish! no longer relevant!

You don’t expect this, but nobody expect this too. Now, your opponent is not MCA, twike your strategy a little. Hold back a little from your usual combative mode, get into a little polite, humble, appeal…. eat with your fingers, get into their community… do you have Baju Melayu? Najib have chongsam and beat drum.

Keep all your machine guns, bring out the budi-bahasa, learn how to talk like TGNA. If not ask your son, LGE how he did it in 308…. so gentle, polite, appeal, it works!.

20. #21 by cseng on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 6:22 pm

Walk into the Malay community, don’t be afraid, they might reject you, they fear DAP. If you been reading Utusan, watching TV3 all these while, you would fear yourself too.

This is in the process, with MCA gone now, time is up for DAP to really walk into Malay community. PAS can bring you along now, but can you expect PAS for how long?