21-Day Countdown to 13GE Polling Day – Attorney-General Gani Patail given opportunity to arrest and charge Mahathir for sedition and criminal defamation before I instruct my lawyers to institute legal proceedings against Mahathir for defamation in connection with his blog on “Gelang Patah”

As the former DAP MP for Segambut Lim Lip Eng has lodged a police report this morning in Kuala Lumpur against the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad for sedition and criminal defamation, I will give the Attorney-General Tan Sri Gani Patail the opportunity to arrest and charge Mahathir for sedition and criminal defamation before I instruct my lawyers to institute legal proceedings against Mahathir for defamation in connection with his blog, “Gelang Patah” last Thursday, 11th April 2013.

I had given Mahathir two opportunities to withdraw and apologise for his chauvinistic and seditious blog which made irresponsible and baseless attacks on my reputation and character or face legal action for defamation for his lies and falsehoods, but the former Prime Minister had been totally unmoved and unrepentant.

Mahathir had disgraced and dishonoured the office of the former Prime Minister, which is provided by Parliament every year with a princely allocation from the annual Federal Government budget for its upkeep, by spewing downright lies and falsehoods to make the 13th General Elections the dirtiest in the the nation’s history which is most unworthy and unfitting for a former Prime Minister whose living and maintenance expenses is billed to the public purse.

Two days ago, the latest “black operation” in the 13GE surfaced with the appearance of a sex video purportedly involving the PAS Secretry-General Mustapha Ali, which has been categorically denied by Mustafa who said that UMNO was desperate enough to lie in order to drop him from the country’s arena.

It is on public record that the previous occasion when the country’s general elections plummetted to its lowest depths for being the dirtiest election campaign in the nation’s history was under Mahathir’s premiership in 1990, when Barisan Nasional faced its first serious challenge from two political coalitions, Gagasan Rakyat and Angkatan Perpaduan Ummah (APU) led by Semangat 46, DAP and PAS.

Two dirty tricks were played by UMNO/BN in the 1990 general election campaign from its armoury of the politics of fear and blackmail to incite racial sentiments with highly inflammatory propaganda based on lies and falsehoods, viz:

Firstly, the depiction of Semangat 46 President, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah on radio, television and the printed media as having sold out Malay honour and race and betrayed Islam by showing him with a Kadazan headgear alleging that it bore the symbol of the cross – as final and ultimate proof that Tengku Razaleigh had sold out Islam to Christianity in Sabah.

In fact, the so-called cross on the Kadazan headgear is tapioca shoot (pucuk ubi) and most headgears of this sort are made by the Bajau community which is largely Muslim. A few days before Tengku Razaleigh’s visit to Sabah in the 1990 GE, Dr. Mahathir had worn the same Kadazan headgear with the so-called cross when visiting Sabah.

Secondly, full-page advertisements in the mainstream media to create fear and panic among voters, with the full-page advertisement in Utusan Malaysia under the heading “Sokong Membawa Rebah” while the Nanyang Siang Pao advert carried the heading “Recollection of History” – with both carrying the same picture depicting bloodshed, violence, arson and carnage.

The visual impact of the picture was manyfold greater than the wordings under the picture, which immediately conveyed the message that if the Barisan Nasional and UMNO lost in the 1990 general elections, there would be another May 13 of bloodshed, violence, arson and carnage.

I remember asking Mahathir during the first Parliamentary debate after the 1990 GE whether he had given the “green light” for these two despicable and deplorable UMNO/BN “dirty tricks” in the 1990 GE.

Now, I am more than convinced that Mahathir was behind these two “dirty tricks” when he could now concoct such lies and falsehoods in his blog on “Gelang Patah” which among other things, accused me of wanting to contest in Gelang Patah because

1. I want the Chinese in Gelang Patah and Johor to “reject working together and sharing with the Malays”;

2. urge the Chinese in Johor “to dislike and hate the Malays” to create “conflict and antagonism between the races”;

3. create “an unhealthy racial confrontation” between the Malays and Chinese in Johor, which will be “disruptive and will not be conducive to the development of Malaysia”.

I reiterate that all these three allegations by Mahathir are downright lies and falsehoods, which I had never uttered in Gelang Patah and Johore since the announcement on March 18 that I would be contesting in Gelang Patah, and that I had never uttered such scurrilous lies and falsehoods in my 47 years in politics, as they run counter to the grain of my political beliefs fostering greater inter-racial co-operation to build a united Malaysian nation.

Sections 499 and 500 of the Penal Code on criminal defamation states:

Defamation
499. Whoever, by words either spoken or intended to be read or by signs, or by visible representations, makes or publishes any imputation concerning any person, intending to harm, or knowing or having reason to believe that such imputation will harm the reputation of such person, is said, except in the cases hereinafter excepted, to defame that person.

Punishment for defamation
500. Whoever defames another shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to two years or with fine or with both.

I await action by the Police and the Attorney-General.

1. #1 by Winston on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 1:06 pm

Well, well, well!
    What can the self-admitted devils do?
    Things that all devils do, of course!
    Like telling lies, corruption, scams and scandals!
    Even their MSM and the so-called cyberstupids do the same!!!!
    Haven’t we all heard this, by now, infamous line before?
    “Tell me, which UMNO leader does not have problem?”
    – end of quote
    That, in essence is what they are all about!
    Malaysians are seething for a change of government and the ruling party knows that they can only grasps at thin air!
    Nobody is about to throw them any straws even!!!!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 1:07 pm

Again, let me suggest the following line of debate:

LKS saman Mahathir kerana dah cukup rakyat kayakan dia dan anak anaknya berbillion billion, LKS tidak mahy anak-cucu, terutama anak orang Melayu, bayar hutang tipu dia benci-membenci, caci-mencacinya. It hutang dia, apa pasal nak anak-cucu anda bayar hutang dia?

3. #3 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 1:24 pm

Now we shall see if Mahathir is ABOVE our MALAYSIAN Law.

4. #4 by worldpress on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 1:51 pm

By US standard

This Mamak is a CRIMINAL

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 3:45 pm

If AG takes action and Mahathir goes to jail, his board and lodging would still be at taxpayers’ expense.

Whcihever way Tun M goes, he would parasite on Malaysians..

6. #6 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 4:35 pm

I will donate RM100 for LKS legal fund to sue DM and also the AG for dereliction of duties – anyone else willing to give something?

7. #7 by sotong on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 6:17 pm

As long as you are seen fighting or defending the party/race/religion, you are safe…….that’s why some people are so ‘ fearless’ and ‘brave’.

8. #8 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 6:23 pm

I also think that this old man is a master manipulator. Don’t expect him to apologize unless and until you wake up one day and suddenly find that the sun has risen in the west. I think legal proceeding is the only avenue for you to seek a re-dress now. Gani Patail will most likely keep absolutely mum over Dr M’s malicious tirades against you.

9. #9 by putera_hanglipo on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 7:30 pm

as a student, Mahathir was glorified in history textbook. at one time i really thought this chap is genuinely a good leader. but the moment he started blogging, and reading his blog. i read his thought, i realized right away he is a die hard racist.

10. #10 by Dap man on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 7:45 pm

Mahathir is a typical pariah politician. He fighting for dear life but we will put him Bamboo River.

11. #11 by kg on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 7:45 pm

Besides ordinary rakyat, I doubt many Umno people will like to see Madey defending himself in court for his own deeds, eg: Jibby, Musidin, PakLah, Musa, TRazaleigh, etc. He simply has too many enemies inside and outside BeEnd.

12. #12 by hanuman on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 7:48 pm

I am very concern about RoS holding an inquiry 2 days before nomination day.
    1. What would happen if RoS were deregister DAP before nomination ?
    2. What would happen if RoS were deregister DAP after nomination ?
    3. Will BN win seats without a vote being cast.
    What are DAP contigency plans ?

13. #13 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 8:19 pm

Nazri Aziz called mahathir “the father of all racists” Well, I think we can believe Nazri.

14. #15 by gofortruth on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 8:47 pm

A “Tribute” to Tun

by Andrew Cheng
    A Doctor In The House wry and sly,
    The Malay Dilemma you feign to cry,
    Soon after the tragedy in May 69,
    Rising from the ashes you became mighty and high,
    A good 22 years you reign in style,
    Shedding crocodile tears when time to say good bye.
    A crooked man with a crooked mind,
    Wanted a crooked bridge, the rational hard to find,
    Billions vanished without any trace or sign,
    Plundering the country is never a crime,
    Corruption, cronyism and racialism, all are fine,
    Leaving this beloved Bolehland way far behind.
    Ketuanan Melayu, Hidup Melayu is your battle cry,
    You scream all these to cover your deception and lie(s),
    Many saw these but pretend to be blind,
    Mercy upon those who do not toe your line,
    Know not why you lose your memory when in a bind,
    Another intelligent devil like you we hope not to find.

15. #16 by chengho on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 9:52 pm

Go ahead Kit , what are waiting for , do it tomorrow , before ROS taking action on illegal proceeding of AGM

16. #17 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 10:43 pm

Just sue him immediately. Why wait?

Separately and independently, the AG can take action against this racist and mad man for sedition and incitement, that is if he dares and cares for his future.

17. #18 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 11:13 pm

Who in bolehland dares to play play with mamak. Even najib and the whole of umno are at his mercy. Bolehland belongs to mamak, the firaun.

18. #19 by chengho on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 11:37 pm

the fact of the matter we can discuss in this blog, you cannot do this in Singapore , do u?

• #20 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 10:36 am

Suck you, ChangeHoles! Don’t try to cocky around! Have you live in Singapore before? Otherwise, please shut all your holes, ChangeHoles, the BN sucker!

19. #21 by yhsiew on Sunday, 14 April 2013 - 11:56 pm

Kit, make sure you sue Mamak if the AG refuses to do anything, otherwise Mamak will have the last laugh!

20. #22 by Taxidriver on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 5:12 am

In Singapore, the PAP leaders don’t use race or religious issues to bring down their opponents. Their ” One Nation, One People, One Singapore ” call is not like our ” 1Malaysia ” UNMO slogan. Singapore leaders lead by example ( to quote Mahathir ) They talk on policies while our leaders talk kokk. From a backward island LKY transformed it into a 1World nation in just 25 years! What of our resource – rich Malaysia? Under Mahathir’s 22-year-rule, we are near bankrupcy, fast joining Tunisia and Zimbabwe. All thanks to Mahathir and his UMNO Baru party.

21. #23 by chengho on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 9:27 am

name calling mamak , kutty ,etc NOT racist eh
    in singapore some people cannot joining the airforce remember , not like Uncle Sam we are liberal and open country

22. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:51 pm

chengho :
    the fact of the matter we can discuss in this blog, you cannot do this in Singapore , do u?

Shows how ignorant you are. Go and take a look at the numerous Singapore blogs and you will realise you are bullshitting.

23. #25 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:52 pm

chengho :
    name calling mamak , kutty ,etc NOT racist eh
    in singapore some people cannot joining the airforce remember , not like Uncle Sam we are liberal and open country

chengho – you are still living in the past and under the coconut shell. There are Malay pilots in Singapore.

24. #26 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 4:19 pm

chengho :

Just go to any of the numerous political blogs in Singapore, you ignoramus.