Regardless of whether the BN candidate is Ghani Othman or other UMNO heavyweight, the Battle of Gelang Patah for a Malaysian Dream and to kick off a political tsunami from the south to complete the 2008 political tsunami is definitely on

Deputy Barisan Nasional (BN) Chairman and Deputy UMNO President, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin predicted that I would be defeated in the BN fortress of Gelang Patah.

Muhyiddin said the BN is looking into the possibility of fielding Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Abdul Ghani Othman in Gelang Patah and that I am “trapped” as I had not anticipated an UMNO big-gun being deployed to contest in the constituency.

I admit that I had not anticipated an UMNO big-gun being deployed to contest in Gelang Patah, as who would have thought that MCA leadership could so openly admit that they don’t have a single MCA “big-gun” left for Gelang Patah or that MCA would have a President for the first time in MCA history who is prepared to give away parliamentary and state assembly seats to be contested by other BN parties, like Gelang Patah, Kuantan, Wangsa Maju and Tronoh as if conducting a “fire sale” of MCA assets.

However, whether the BN candidate in Gelang Patah is Ghani or some other UMNO heavyweight does not change the basic objectives and thrust of the Battle of Gelang Patah, which has the dual objective of firstly, mobilising Malaysians in support of the Malaysian Dream as the one envisioned by the great Johor Malay leader and founding UMNO President, Datuk Onn Jafaar in 1951 and secondly, to kick off a political tsunami from the south in the 13GE to complete the partial 2008 political tsunami towards the establishment of a Pakatan Rakyat federal government.

The Battle of Gelang Patah, which is in fact the Battle of Johor and the Battle of Malaysia, is definitely set and on regardless of whom I have to face as BN candidate.

Come what may, even facing the possibility of defeat, I shall not withdraw from the Gelang Patah constituency.

I had already taken a high-risk decision in leaving the Ipoh Timor parliamentary constituency where I had won with over 21,000-vote majority in the 2008 general elections to contest in a BN “fortress” which was won by the BN candidate with close to 9,000-vote majority in 2008 and the humongous majority of 31,666 votes in 2004.

If Ghani, a four-term Johor Mentri Besar, contests in Gelang Patah, the pressure on me will increase by a thousand tons!

But I shall not withdraw, as the reasons for initiating the Battle of Gelang Patah remains as valid as ever whether Ghani is a candidate or not.

I have the greatest respect for Ghani but if I have to contest against him in Gelang Patah, I invite him to join me to make the Gelang Patah battle the model of a gentlemanly electoral battle throughout the country, where the candidates and their respective parties will conduct the most free, fair, clean and gentlemanly election campaign for the entire 13GE – which is most important pertinent and relevant with worrying signs that the 13GE is shaping up to be the dirtiest in the history of general elections since the first GE in 1959.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 5:37 pm

YES! A gentlemanly conducted campaign. LKS and Ghani should lead the way. A series of Debate in Gelang Patah in BM, if possible around Johor..Carried live online if Media Prima and RTM don’t want to do it..

2. #2 by rahmanwang on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 5:50 pm

Saudara Lim.
    As far as Malaysians are concerned, you have won Gelang Patah. Viagra Chua is afraid to meet you and sacrifice Ghani to meet you.
    What a loser MCA.
    Good for nothing Viagra club.

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 6:23 pm

Wah lao! you want to embarrass our beloved “good track record” menteri besar, huh? All the skeletons in his closet will rush out and start dancing! No debate, no debate. It is “not our culture”

4. #4 by Dap man on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:05 pm

I suggest MCA look for a Malay to be its next President. If they need a Malay to defend its stronghold than what is MCA for. It should pretending to be the defender of Chinese rights.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:27 pm

Since CSL is willing to let Umno take over MCA seats, his claim that there will not be any Chinese representative in government if people vote for the DAP is all bullshit!

6. #6 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:30 pm

Lame duck party MCA may as well wind up and let UMNO take over.

7. #7 by Jim55 on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:33 pm

Dear LKS

Take good care of your voice, don’t over exert it. In GE12, you lost your voice ahead of polling day, remember?

Although Gelang Patah is your chosen seat to contest, you should not over stretch yourself there coz the main challenge at Gelang Patah is how to garner the Malay votes. PAS and PKR should render some assistance there. In return, it’s only fair that you also go over to PAS and PKR tough seats to help swing the Chinese votes.

Wish you smooth sailing till May 5, 2013.

8. #8 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:48 pm

Najib (UMNO) is the de facto president of MCA. The Chinese leaders in MCA are all running lap dogs including OTK!
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/soi-lek-dont-ask-me-about-mca-seats-all-up-to-pm/

9. #9 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:52 pm

before the battle is on MCA has been defeated. Am sure YB Lim will not back out and this will not be an option too. Battle win or won is not the ultimate goal but the direction that has set. It was simply genius in making so a dangerous move but it was essential to achieve the ultimate goal. Be focus the battle will be won half and the other half shall depend how the wind blow…. ” All is ready only awaiting the Southern wind to blow” so to say for this Southern assault
    All the best………..

10. #10 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:52 pm

Just wait the wind to blow

11. #11 by hiro on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 8:16 pm

Uncle Lim always has a flair for the dramatic, calling this a Battle for Malaysia. Got to be careful with the electorate – some may not like the combative behaviour which is reminiscent of project Tanjongs : )

That said, it’s wonderful that Uncle Lim says he has the greatest respect for Ghani – compared with other MBs, he’s the quiet thoughtful administrator… the contest should be about policy, and not about race or religion.

It’s more likely that Ghani will need to adapt to Gelang Patah demographics anyway, because it’s majority Chinese. But in the end, DAP needs to be careful not to let UMNO use Gelang Patah as an example of how the “loud mouthed” chinese will lord over Malays if they come to power – which is of course UMNO propaganda, but one never knows if a lie is repeated often enough it becomes more or less true. Uncle Lim will win – but be sure to leave Ghani a dignified exit.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 8:44 pm

Kit can capitalize on the “fire sale” of MCA assets and timid KiaSi MCA leaders to urge the Chinese in Gelang Patah to stop supporting MCA/BN!

13. #13 by Winston on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 9:06 pm

Big guns from UMNO?
    Looks like they only have loose canons and water pistols!!!
    After selling out the Chinese for decades, now MCA ended selling out themselves!!!!
    A truly self defeating party!

14. #14 by worldpress on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 9:40 pm

One thing for sure BN is good liar, rob and steal

Do you still want government by these liar, rob and steal?

Whatever what person as their candidate

They love to liar, cheat for financial gain

Even gave illegal IC to protect them

Dont listen what they say…lie

15. #15 by worldpress on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 9:54 pm

BN must step down only can change

16. #16 by digard on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 10:00 pm

Please, just keep it going, Kit Siang!
    No need to be afraid of anyone. The first tower has already fallen, and at a great triumph: The boss of the earlier representation of the Malaysians of Chinese origin has already put his famous tail between his legs, and withdrawn for fear of failing.
    And all that in a majority ethnic Chinese voter constituency (54%). Read this as it comes: Soi Lek concedes defeat against Kit Siang. Over. MCA concedes defeat against DAP. What next? Which Chinese is now still going for Soi Lek as representative?
    And further down the road: Will BN in the end see any non-Malay MP, and be composed of a 100% Malay (UMNO) representation in parliament (aside from Sabah and Sarawak, that is)?

17. #17 by limkamput on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 10:28 pm

Sdr Lim, can you please inform your Ubah tv people to manage the transmission properly. It is frustrating – one day no sound, one day no image, one day the sound system was horrible and one day the line drops all the time.

18. #18 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 10:49 pm

CSL hanya pimpin Mahu Cari Awek. MCA baru ditunggangi umno baru. Nak tanding kerusi sendiri pun tak ada kuasa…apatah lagi dalam kerajaan! Aduh kesian, selalu kena tarik hidung..

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:45 pm

LATEST. STOP PRESS.

So there are precedents now.
    Fred Goodwin of RBS was stripped of his knighthood (i.e. “SIR” title).
    James Crosby of HBOS fame offered to surrender his knighthood.

Now, which should Tun M choose.
    It matters not as long as he surrenders his Tunship. Surely no greater disservice has any true-blue statesman done to Malaysia than this rather infamous Tun.

Amen.

20. #20 by chengho on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 12:07 am

Kit can can go somewhere else , Ghani will win , he need only 35% chinese voters to win.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 3:45 am

///”You all must understand. The PM already has the final say. No final decision (has been made). So you don’t need to sibuk-sibuk (be busybodies), hoping that I say something different from the PM./// – Chua Soi Lek

That is MCA which has no power to make decision in the BN coalition.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 3:56 am

What say you, CSL? No Chinese representative in government after “fire sale” of MCA assets?

23. #23 by kg on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 4:42 am

Infighting in Bumno BeEnd is more intense than the competition with PR. Jibby is using Kit to crush Gani, Musidin. Musidin is damaging Jibby in Pekan. Madey trying to save some face in GPatah eh, chengho?

My latest info for chengho, Hishamuddin, Khairy, Nazri, Rais Yatim, CSL and son will not be fielded, but OTK stays put in Pandan. Madey wants IbAliPerkasa to stay in PSalak, and dreaming for his son Mukris to become Deputy Home Minister later. Go working for the right persons now chengho, avoid CSL is good for you.

Good news, Najib may field the cow lady in Kuala Kangsar. What say you chengho.

24. #24 by chengho on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 6:22 am

kg gf , are you dreaming , don’t you know Sun Tzu’s art of war

25. #25 by Sallang on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 8:19 am

Sun Tzu’s art of war?

If you catapulted a cockle(Kerang in BM) into a bee-hive, what do you think will be the end result?
    The bees will be buzzing in panic, scrambling all over the hive, and later discard the hive.
    This art of war, even Sun Tzu cannot understand, but DAP saudara Lim is the corkle.