Malaysia needs more Ibrahim Alis, says Dr M

by Koh Jun Lin
Apr 6, 2013

The country would be saved if there were more people like Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali, said former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The patron of the Malay supremacist group said this today when endorsing Ibrahim to contest the Pasir Mas parliamentary seat under BN’s ticket.

“This is repayment, because in BN we repay good deeds… God willing if he is made a candidate, I would go to Pasir Mas to campaign.

“Perkasa is no small ‘party’, it has 400,000 members. It is probably bigger than PAS, but is not greedy.

“If there are many people like Ibrahim, this country is saved,” he said amid the cheers of a 3,000-strong audience.

Mahathir was speaking at Perkasa’s ‘Save Selangor Rally’ today held on a waterlogged field in Shah Alam.

Mahathir also praised Ibrahim for making the rally the success although he is not contesting in Selangor, which shows that Ibrahim was not serving his own interests in organising the rally.

Ibrahim is currently the incumbent Pasir Mas MP, after winning the seat in the 2008 general election under the PAS ticket with a majority of 8,991 votes.

He has since defected to become a BN-friendly independent MP.

When asked at a press conference later on what if Ibrahim is not picked to contest there as the BN candidate, the still-influential Mahathir said his priority is to ensure that BN wins.

“But I hope my friend here (Ibrahim) whom I have put into prison under the Internal Security Act (ISA) would be given a chance.

“It’s terrible. How long was he detained under ISA?” he said.

In his speech, Mahathir also launched a scathing attack on top Pakatan Rakyat leaders.

Among others, he said it was his mistake to allow his former deputy Anwar Ibrahim to rise through Umno’s ranks, thinking that he is a pious person trying to further Islam through Umno, only to find out later that his only goal was to take power.

I wish Malaysia had 50 or 100 ‘PMs’

“I wish Malaysia has 50 or 100 ‘prime ministers’ so that we can give him one. If he wants Putrajaya so badly, perhaps we can give him a room there,” he quipped, as his audience burst into laughter.

As for PAS spiritual leader Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat, he criticised him for allegedly saying that Umno’s three million members would not get pahala (divine reward) for praying because the party has rejected Islam.

Mahathir said such statements could divide the Muslim community, although Islam advocates kinship. Hence, he said Nik Aziz is merely a party leader vying for power, and not the religious leader that he is perceived to be.

“He wants to go to Putrajaya too; no problem! As we would give Anwar a room, we can give him a chair there and sit in a room,” he said.

After a pause to let the audience laugh at the apparent sexual innuendo, he continued, “Not in the same room as Anwar, separate rooms.

“We would put a thick wall in between. He is strong you know? We have to put a thick wall there,” he said.

The 87-year-old politician also urged DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang to retire from politics, noting that he has been active since 1964 and is still a DAP leader.

“Lim tells everyone to change. Yes, he should change, only then would his words have credibility.

“I have already changed, I have quit and let someone else (to be prime minister). I didn’t want to hoard everything and be prime minister until death,” he said.

Dr M: Just cross the dacing

He urged the crowd to save Selangor in the upcoming general election.

“We should come out in full force to vote for BN, don’t care who the
candidates are, don’t look at their faces, and just cross the dacing (BN logo).

“The voters should remember that it is the party that forms the government, not the candidates.”

At the press conference after the event, Mahathir also supported the idea of sending a top politician, such as Johor caretaker menteri besar Abdul Ghani Othman, to Gelang Patah to ensure Lim’s defeat in the upcoming general election.

This was despite the seat already being considered a BN stronghold.

“Of course a ‘big shot’ should fight a ‘big shot’. I think if Lim loses, that would be the end of his political career. Otherwise, he won’t stop.

“So send Ghani or whoever else to face and defeat him (there),” he said.

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 8:57 am

Mahathir is getting more and more ridiculous..and I believe it is due to him…running out of twisting and turning ideas.
    That statement exposes Mahathir a racist and supports anyone creating trouble.
    That’s the sign of Mahathir..very worried for his Umno b party and for his sons.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:05 am

Oh. What a tangled web we weave when we first practice to deceive. Mahathir, supposedly our great Negarawan, sink no lower than to reveal who he ultimately is – a SIMPLE PSYCHOTIC HATER…He has graduated from Marcos, Mubarak, Mugabe and now in the same company of Osama Bin Laden, Slobodan Milosevic, Radovan Karadzic, Rwanda genocide criminals, etc..

3. #3 by Godfather on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:06 am

What mamakthir is saying is that he wants more malay supremacists so that the nons either put up or leave.

4. #4 by worldpress on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:12 am

This Dr is a criminal he said need more criminal to lead MALAYSIA to threat MALAYSIANS

5. #5 by yhsiew on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:42 am

He has turned senile!

6. #6 by Winston on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:51 am

Mamak could well be having the start of Alzheimer’s judging by the trash spewing out from him.
    The greatest tragedy in this country is that the citizens can see and even confirm the brazen corruption and scams going on for decades but seemed powerless to stop the systemic destruction of the country.

7. #7 by chengho on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 11:45 am

Ghani will win , the odd is 2:1 from underground betting , Kit may have to re thinking ,move to Gopeng

8. #8 by kg on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 12:24 pm

chengho should stop betting for the benefits of his grandchildren

9. #9 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 12:45 pm

10. #10 by PR123 on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 1:41 pm

Mahathir is getting more and more senile coming up with such lunatic proposal. He is working real hard going on the field campaigning as he is panicking…. giving contradictory/racists statements, lying blatantly. He is very afraid his evil wrong doing will be revealed once Pakatan take over.

What about mentally torturing Anwar, LKS, LGE, Karpal and many more by detaining them without trail under ISA, This draconian law is implemented by you to hinder people from rising against your outrageous greed and will.

ABCD (asal bukan calun dacing) is what voters of conscience will cross at the ballot boxes.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 4:28 pm

Ha, ha, now we C d HEINOUS true color of MMK, desperate 2 protect his own n family corrupt practices against a possible PR VICTORY
    Now we know racist UmnoB n Perkosa r one n d same entity, all out 2 sodomise d nation n democracy

Wonder Y MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc within BN r so QUIET abt dis
    NO SOUND fr pornoSnake, his no-bola tilam son n MCA youth, bo hoot Pg lan, etc – all useless n shameless
    They KNOW all along they r 4nicating bedfellows of Perkosa, but occasionally made a bit of noise 2 show their disapproval, just play-play n 4 show saja lah
    “Stupidity here makes an easy bedfellow, as always, with racialism” (Christopher Hitchens)

Time 4 rakyat n voters 2 tell d evil, heinous, racist MMK “ENUF, phark OFF” – Just DO it!

12. #12 by sotong on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 4:38 pm

This guy sold ICs to hold on to power.

What’s next?

13. #13 by Shadowss on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 8:52 pm

Dr.M , are u ill or u just bang your head on the wall ? We have been deceived by u for over 20 years now , and still u think the same magic will work once again ?

It is time to put a fullstop to this chapter ,which consists of conspiracy and racist matters , and move on to a brand new one .

14. #14 by gelangpatah on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:26 pm

the attitude shown by this perkasa group reflect no civilisation and shameful to all malaysian as a whole, their behavior should be strong critisized and stop

15. #15 by Noble House on Monday, 8 April 2013 - 3:26 am

The BN dacing is not only old and rusty, it’s lopsided as well! And with UMNO jagged keris pointing at the heart of the nation, it’s only a matter of time the country will die of the curse. Save her!