‘Utusan lied about church ticking off Penang CM’

By Lee Long Hui | 1:54PM Oct 8, 2012

Two Christian leaders quoted by Utusan Malaysia as having criticised the Penang chief minister, have slammed the report as a “complete lie”.

Lutheran Evangelical Church bishop Solomon Rajah and former Council of Churches Malaysia (CCM) president Thomas Philips (right) said their words had been taken out of context in the report headlined ‘Church is not a place for politics’.

They have demanded a retraction of the report published in the Sunday edition, Mingguan Malaysia, and a public apology from the Umno-owned Utusan in its next edition.

At a press conference today, at which CCM secretary general Hermen Shastri was present, the two explained that the reporter concerned had only contacted them for their general views on “the church and politics”.

“It was never a reaction or response to Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s dialogue with pastors in Penang,” said Solomon.

“Never was I aware that I would be misquoted (or that what I said would be) misconstrued. I never knew that my views would be used to serve Utusan’s own purpose and agenda. This is sad.”

Solomon, who sees himself as an ardent supporter of Lim, stressed that he would not have consented to the interview had he known that Utusan would misquote him.

Among others, the Mingguan report had quoted Solomon as saying “I’m sure (Lim) knows that the church need not be urged to stand up for justice for political purposes.”

‘Reporter should apologise, too’

Philips said the report “is a complete lie” that has jeopardised his reputation, insisting that his actual views had not been reported.

“It is an act of defamation. I am shocked and outraged by the journalist’s lack of competency,” he said.

“What I said was not what was reported, and stands against everything I personally believe in. I would like the reporter herself to apologise for this inaccurate and misleading report.”

However, both said they are not interested in pursuing legal action.

Philips said they just wanted to point out that Utusan “is lying”, explaining that he does not think the church “has time to go into legal action”.

Echoing him, Solomon said it would be enough for the daily to apologise.

“I’m not taking any legal action. I don’t have time for this because I have other things to do,” he added.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 8 October 2012 - 4:58 pm

They are just making dirt out of thin air and throwing it PR any which way..AND its incredibly elaborate and heavy investments (with the rakyat’s money)…

2. #2 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 8 October 2012 - 6:00 pm

Sabar. Sabar. The end for umno and gang is near. Very near.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 8 October 2012 - 6:37 pm

Umno is really desperate.

4. #4 by Winston on Monday, 8 October 2012 - 9:37 pm

The first thing that must come to mind when reading any MSM news is to ignore any bad mouthing of the PR.
    It’s 101% false!
    And it raises the hackles of all right thinking Malaysians!!!
    The desperate scums are clutching at straws.
    They even go to the extent of rehashing their past misdeeds and blame the PR for them!
    So, it’s about time the PR goes about snipping these straws and let them drown!
    The PR can also take legal action against them.

5. #5 by megaman on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 1:45 am

Hmmm ….

Even the religious and sacred are not spared.

These people have no fear of the fire of hell.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 2:27 am

With SH! T flying out fr 不懂礼仪廉耻诚信 UtuMal n UmnoB/BN (说谎, 扭曲事实来误导大众; 大骗子, 冇眼睇), every1 MUST SPEAK UP/OUT openly n LOUDLY

Remember
    “First they came for the communists,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for the socialists,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for me,
    and there was no one left to speak for me.”

(Here, in 1M’sia, can replace “communists”, “socialists”, “trade unionists” with “Christians” or “pendatang” etc)

Time 2 kick UmnoB/BN n their agencies OUT of Putrajaya B4 they DO us IN
    Setia demi negara yang tercinta, nothing wrong if Muslims, Christians, Hindus, Taoists, Buddhists, priests, monks, nuns, etc ALL decide 2 VOTE 4 PR! ABU!

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 2:37 am

D editor n reportors of UtusMal, willing running do gs of UmnoB/BN, r the DISGRACE of Islam and Muslims

8. #8 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 10:09 am

Worse than being ridiculous, it is now obvious that the Kutusan ppl are actually stupid. And guess wot? There is no cure for stupidity. So just get rid of them.

ABU!

9. #9 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 10:21 am

Totally stupid of umno to engage the christians in this manner. I dont suppose they realise how closely knit the christians are.

Oops another shot at its own foot. Good one umno.

“Satu Umno Style”.

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 9 October 2012 - 11:21 am

OK, so the religious side doesn’t want to sue, but LGE must sue. Get another RM 20 million and donate it to charity. It is, after all, the rakyat’s money that they are fooling with.