Second break-in at Aliran office

P Ramakrishnan
Aliran
3 October 2012

Exactly 18 days after the first break-in at the Aliran office, the thieves struck again for the second time!

They removed the same grille, forced open the same window and entered the same room. That was as far as they went.

On the first occasion, they had gained access to the rest of the building from this room but this time we had reinforced security and thus they were unable to move farther inside the building.

We discovered this break-in on the morning of 29 September 2011. They must have struck in the early hours of 29 September because we were in the office until midnight the previous day trying to wrap up Aliran Monthly.

Following the first break in some people commented whether those who committed the break-in were really petty thieves or something else. They had reason to doubt because these so-called thieves were only interested in the computers used by the past president, the current president and the serving treasurer. They were not interested in the two other computers, a printer and some petty cash in the drawer that were also there for the picking!

Now the same people are wondering if the second break in was meant to convey the impression that it must be the work of petty thieves – nothing sinister or ominous about the first theft! All that we can say is, “We don’t know!”

We do not wish to speculate or insinuate. That would not be right.

Most people are of the opinion that making police reports does not curtail crime or reduce their frequency. While we admit that the police cannot solve every crime that is reported, what is more disturbing is that criminals seem to realise this as well, and this only emboldens them.

Is this why they came back a second time in the knowledge that they would have their day and go scot-free?

1. #1 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 3 October 2012 - 11:52 pm

Wahai, breaking into a place is NOT just 2 steal things fr it, but also 2 PLANT things in it (even more sinister) – sure ur PC no got extra sexy or anti-this, anti-dat files added into it aaah?
    Sure ur office no got bugs/mini-, micro-camera implanted there meh? SMILE, U r on candid camera!

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 12:25 am

Oh, oh, Aliran, lightning does strike twice in the same place.

Now u have to look before you leap and check for microcameras and voice recorders before you speak.

3. #3 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 4:40 am

Every raid is related to politics and nothing to do with protecting the country and people.
    It shows..the police are political minded and shame on them.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 8:08 am

D Times Higher Education World University Rankings just OUT n all our univ r OUT of d rankings, ZERO – What a waste of $$$
    D little red dot has 2 univ in d top 100

5. #5 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 8:33 am

“Umno Style”.

Lame.

Sucks.

Stupid.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 11:21 am

It is important that Aliran saves all important documents in detachable hard-disks or thumbdrives. Prices of high capacity thumbdrives have fallen dramatically. A 60GB thumbdrive costs only RM128 compared to RM800 three years ago.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 4 October 2012 - 11:27 am

Blame the BN government and the state-controlled media. They have been highlighting the RM 20 million donated by foreigners including George Soros to local NGOs ‘to fund the ‘overthrow’ of the government’.

The burglars probably thought Aliran had alot of this cash hidden somewhere in its premises to warrant another break-in.

So Aliran should install some CCTVs to catch the culprits. Ask for some more grants from some foreign embassies or donor institutes. The BN government isn’t going to donate any money to you any time soon. They have no time or money to entertain you.