We shall overcome

— Jacob Sinnathamby
May 26, 2012

MAY 26 — Can you hear it? Listen closely. Now can you hear it?

I am talking about the deafening silence from the prime minister downwards on the burgeoning violence and thuggish behaviour by Umno and its subsidiaries.

What happened at the PKR ceramah in Lembah Pantai, where blood was drawn after rocks, eggs and bottles were rained on PKR leaders by Umno Youth affiliates, was not the first show of state-encouraged violence.

It is not even the second or third time, but the umpteenth time in recent months that groups affiliated to the ruling party have shown disdain for the rule of law.

Nurul Izzah Anwar and Mat Sabu have faced stones and thugs before while speaking at Felda events, Lim Guan Eng faced thugs during the anti-Lynas demo in Penang recently, and Bersih organisers in Merlimau had their vehicles damaged. And the list goes on.

Never before have Malaysians witnessed state-sanctioned violence on this scale against Malaysians. At Lembah Pantai the other night, the police stood by and did not lift a finger when the Umno affiliates pelted PKR leaders. The same thing happened in Penang.

When the police send a “message” to thugs, political parties and silat groups that no action will be taken against violence, it is only natural that these elements will be emboldened further.

When the national leaders “encourage” the violence through their silence, is it any wonder that the establishment forces are using violence?

Khairy Jamaluddin told Malaysiakini that the party leadership did not send out a memo asking that opposition rallies be disrupted. They don’t have to; their silence and quiet enjoyment is evidence of their complicity, desperation by politicians who have forgotten that they serve at the rakyat’s pleasure.

It is clear that the violence will escalate. Umno wants Malaysians to be cowed, to believe that there will be trouble if they are kicked out of power, that our personal safety will be compromised if we support the Opposition. They want us to go back into our shells, quivering in fear.

But why should we? No one ever said that change would be easy or painless. There are many Malaysians today who are willing to stand up and fight. Let us honour them by standing side by side with them. And to hell with those cops; they are as useful and competent as the security guards in your neighbourhood.

1. #1 by Godfather on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 10:41 pm

These clowns don’t understand that the more they tilt the playing field, the more resolute the rakyat become. If history is any indication, regime change becomes inevitable when the ruling elite becomes tyrannical and cruel.

2. #2 by HOHOHO on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 10:45 pm

Ho Ho Ho

ALTANTUYAS WILL HAUNT NAJIB+ROSMAH FOREVER…THE FAT LADY IS SHIVERING AT NIGHT NOW!!!!…..1 WAY OR ANOTHER….THEY WILL GO TO HELL….KARMA!!!!!

Ho Ho Ho

3. #3 by joehancl on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 10:51 pm

We will not be cowed(like NFC). We will stand our ground(no Butts). We will prevail.

4. #4 by HOHOHO on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 10:51 pm

Dear Respected YB Lim,

Although i seldom comments in your blog here….I’m always around watching and concern about what happen to our beloved country Malaysia under this heartless regime….time for change is very near and majority Malaysians will support Pakatan Rakyat because we are truly MALAYSIAN FIRST…hohoho

Keep it up Respected YB LKS ….

5. #5 by Dap man on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 11:37 pm

What can Najib say when he is the one who allowed this?
    That is why even Tunku Aziz supports Najib. Tell me why Tunku Aziz has nothing to say about Najib sanctioned violence?
    Violence is UMNO’s language and culture.

6. #6 by drngsc on Saturday, 26 May 2012 - 11:38 pm

To all our Malay friends,
    Please tell all your friends and relatives in the kampongs ( where one vote there equals 6 votes here ), how UMNO has become a Hang Samseng. The folks back in the kampongs, must know that UMNO has changed for the worse. Severely lack of confidence, they have resorted to thuggish behavour, surely not an acceptable behaviour in the kampongs.

But we shall overcome.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. Please spread the message in the kampongs. We need their help for a better Malaysia.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

7. #7 by Godfather on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 12:14 am

UMNO is just like the big bully in class who smacks people on the head, and then goes crying to the teacher that he was the victim. Unfortunately for UMNO, we now live in an age where everyone has a video-recorder, and no matter what lopsided assistance UMNO gets from the police, the rakyat has a clear picture of the transgressions of UMNO on the internet.

8. #8 by Godfather on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 12:16 am

I don’t believe that Najib or Kerismuddin or Khairy is fully aware of the going-ons within UMNO. They are powerless to act for fear of upsetting certain people, and since elections are near, they can’t afford to rock the boat.

9. #9 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 2:50 am

Mahathir’s UMNO b must not be defeated.
    He spent 22 years stealing billions and encourage all to steal as much as they can.
    One share to party..one share to cronies doing the jobs and one share for the mastermind.
    UMNO b fail to win 13th GE….Mahathir and Najib….biggest losers.
    Dozens of UMNO b politicians will be investigated.
    Recent months of violence are planned.
    Under Najib….politics is most dirty.

10. #10 by boh-liao on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 8:14 am

Signs n symptoms of a dying regime, hanging on 2 power at all costs – creating fear n chaos amg rakyat through sanctioned violence; promoting racial tension 2 work 4 d regime; using polis, armed forces, n all gomen agencies 2 work 4 d regime

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 8:17 am

Its very likely UMNO/Perkasa-BN is now more dangerous than it has ever been. Like a wounded wild beast, they are close to losing sanity particularly their leader Mahathir. Time and again, urged to guarantee peaceful transition of govt, as is the responsibility of a ruling democratic govt, their respond is not only defeaning silence, it follows with warning of violence pre-blamed on the opposition and even putting on examples to show us.

Its all possible that this GE there is no such thing as ‘fence-sitter’. Its very likely voters must make a decisive choice or horrifying consequences in the future will be on their hands. There may not be such things as ‘sitting this one out’ this time – none of their business, not sure is unacceptable. The time for responsibility of citizentry is now – the right to hold that IC card or Passport now must be demonstrated with responsibility.

This country needs its citizen to do what is their responsibility. not just the enjoyment and the right, but the burden of ownership. Its time to save this country, Selamat Malaysia, and that means YOU..

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 27 May 2012 - 9:13 am

People-power shall triumph.