Shahrizat sacrificed herself, says Najib

By Shannon Teoh
Mar 11, 2012

KUALA LUMPUR, March 11 — Datuk Seri Najib Razak commended Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil today for her decision to sacrifice herself and quit the Cabinet for the sake of the government and Umno.

The prime minister told reporters in Pekan this evening Shahrizat’s move to relinquish her women, family and community development portfolio when her senatorship ends on April 8 was the appropriate and right thing to do.

He said he appreciated the sacrifice made by Shahrizat and was thankful for her decision.

“Although there is no proof so far that she had committed any offence, because the NFC issue has drawn controversy and dispute, she was willing to withdraw from the government,” he told reporters, referring to the National Feedlot Centre.

Shahrizat had said earlier today she will resign as women, family and community minister next month but stay on as Wanita Umno chief after being dogged for over four-and-a-half months by the NFC scandal.

The former Lembah Pantai MP and her family were accused by the opposition of using a RM250 million federal loan meant for the project to pay for land, property and expenses unrelated to cattle farming.

The cattle-rearing company is headed by her husband, Datuk Seri Mohamad Salleh Ismail, and their three children.

It was tapped to run the National Feedlot Centre (NFC) in Gemas, Negeri Sembilan in 2006, when Shahrizat was in Cabinet.

The former Lembah Pantai MP previously resisted calls from within her own party, including by influential former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, to quit, stressing that she was “only the wife” of Salleh and had nothing to do with the embattled entity.

NFCorp hit the national headlines after it made it into the Auditor-General’s Report last year for missing production targets.

Police recommended last month that the Attorney-General (A-G) charge NFCorp’s directors for criminal breach of trust, but the A-G has asked the police to conduct further investigations.

Shahrizat was appointed as women, community and family minister in 2001 and held the post until 2008, when she lost in the general election.

She was then appointed special advisor to the prime minister on women affairs and social development, before being reassuming her Cabinet portfolio a year later.

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 1:15 am

‘Sacrifice”? As in harakiri? No……

Jibby, gimme RM250 million and I will oso ‘sacrifice’ myself!

2. #2 by boh-liao on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:01 am

DON’T think she has neither HONOR nor COURAGE 2 carry out seppuku 切腹 with a tantō or wakizashi, followed by kaishaku, a cut in which she would b decapitated

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:57 am

I would have sacrificed myself much earlier if I had all those condos, luxury cars, restaurants. Never mind all of the RM 250 million wasn’t drawn down – I’ll leave some money for some other UMNOputra.

4. #4 by Godfather on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:59 am

I’m stepping down as Minister, but not as Wanita chief. My work isn’t done – I’ve got a highway project I need to go after, and this time I’ll be a lot smarter. Catch me if you can.

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 3:40 am

hhhhmmmm ….Always resign if get caught.
    Does this also mean….it is the end of our RM300 million?

6. #6 by monsterball on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 3:45 am

Steal but don’t get caught..to all.
    Only the PMs will be protected at all cost.
    No Shahrizat…UMNO b party can function.
    Any PM charged in court….unthinkable.
    Anwar free to lead PR…unthinkable too.
    It’s not about country and people.
    It’s about..crooks survivals.

7. #7 by cemerlang on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 6:48 am

More politicians should be like her instead of being manipulated by party members because who knows her better. Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan.

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 7:01 am

Duit didahulukan, pencapaian di-ki-hor-lang-kan

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 7:16 am

Election manifesto for PR’s 13GE–

Pledge to get back the RM350 million (plus interest) from the mamak witch and then distribute that amount fairly to 700,000 poor families which will receive RM500 each

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 7:37 am

What umno regime meant is she sacrificed herself so that all the other umno ministers corrupted activities won’t get revealed. Did she not say which umno minister is clean?

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 7:52 am

Strictly there’s no resignation as she leaves when the term of her senatorship ends. The implication of her “sacrifice” is that she has notified 1 month in advance that she’s prepared for Ah Jib Gor not re-nominating her as senator when the present tenure ends implying that he will otherwise renew her re-appointment as senator if she has not given notice or what? We’ll never know. Ah Jib Gor said that the issue with regard to the NFC case was her position as a minister in the cabinet – not party position as head of Wanita movement where she continues to lead for the GE. So is he saying that whilst she is by reason of NFC controversy not appropriate and good enough for a senatorship/ministerial position to be continued in light of the imminent GE, but she is however a winnable candidate for the GE???? What is the rationale or such a distinction and compromise of “Going but Staying” to borrow the words from The Star’s front page headline? Does this mean that “the going” is a trade off and deflection of public pressure of expecting the authorities to takle action based on police’s recommendation of CBT charge and that if Wanita performs well in next GE she is fit to be reappointed again as senator and minister later?

12. #12 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 7:55 am

From freemalaysatoday

Tony Pua accused Shahrizat’s son – Wan Shahinur Izran Mohamad Salleh – of “money laundering” NFC money in Singapore. If true, the modus operandi would be a classic case of how BN leaders have been corruptly siphoning money out of the country into overseas accounts…

According to Tony, Izran who is also a director at NFC had sold a food and beverage company, allegedly set up in the island republic using funds meant for the cattle-rearing firm. Izran’s actions are tantamount money-laundering, warned Tony, urging the police to freeze the overseas assets of the NFC pending an investigation to ensure public funds can be recovered.

“This proves that the NFCorp director is either disposing of or hiding his assets in Singapore. We call upon the police to not only investigate the disposal of assets in Singapore but also discover how much of NFCorp loan funds have been transferred to Straits Beverages before it was ‘sold’ to other parties for sums unknown,”

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 8:16 am

So we’re not sure if she has indeed resigned for PM to talk about sacrifice. She merely said she would step down as the Minister of Women, Family and Community Development at the end of her term as senator in 1 months time which is by convention a normal event unless the PM procures the re-activation of her senatorship by another term. Which leaves open what happens if hypothetically for reasons unexpected her senator term were re-activated? Does it mean that she could again accept a minister post that goes with it? She has deftly put the ONUS/responsibility/issue of her departure from cabinet or continuance or non continuance of senator position (comes its term end in a months time) on Ah Jib Gor’s lap – as if to say, “you decide in a month’s time but if you exercise the discretion/prerogative (as expected and based on your cues perceived by me) not to renew the senator cum ministerial term, I am giving the advance notice here that I will be resigning the ministerial position… As far as party (as distinct from senator/cabinet position), it is my and my party wing’s call (not yours) – so I am continuing…” So what’s exactly the ‘sacrifice’? She is actually telling the No.1 that she is aware of the cues, that her notice paves the way for his decision – if he takes it- to end the senatorship/minister’s post. It becomes still his decision – not hers (voluntarily)!

14. #14 by tracylai on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 8:19 am

Hey, we are not stupid!

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 8:33 am

From the details that came out, its clear this was CLASSIC BACKROOM-DEAL to save themselves.

Truth be told, the only way to ensure Shahrizat is out for real is to throw out UMNO-Perkasa/BN. So long as she has a foot in the door, they will always try to come back in somehow. Look at Isa Samad, Muhammad Taib, Ezam, Datuk Trio, Khir Toyo have been trying since he lost, even the likes of Hasan Ali, the PR frogs, etc. They are are like crockcroaches and reptiles, even if you pound them to ground, they will still try to crawl their way back in.

16. #16 by Winston on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 8:53 am

Yeah, she has sacrificed herself, like the proverbial lamb.
    Or is it cow?
    What a moving tale of self sacrifice!
    No wonder, anyone who reads the PM’s story will not have dry eyes!!
    I ran out of facial tissues!!
    Can anyone send me more?
    In fact, all UMNOPutras are highly self sacrificing!
    Only thing wrong with Malaysians is that they are very, very ignorant not to know it!!!
    Perhaps, the MSM has failed in their duties in not stressing such an important personal trait in these people, which led us to the wrong conclusion that they are self serving.
    A million apologies won’t be enough.
    How does the PM want us to make up for that?

17. #17 by Godfather on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 9:16 am

You see how noble this woman is ? She’s sacrificing herself instead of sacrificing her cows, er, I mean the family’s cows. UMNO is so grateful that she didn’t specify which UMNO minister has what trouble.

18. #18 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 9:40 am

The ultimate sacrifice

Jibby and Shahrizak hanging over the edge of a cliff off a piece of rope. They realize that the rope will break if one of them doesn’t let go and they will both fall to their deaths.

Then Jibby starts this big heartwarming speech about how he is going to sacrifice himself by letting go of the rope. At the end of the speech, Shahrizak is moved to tears and starts clapping.

That’s how Shahrizak sacrifices herself

19. #19 by GodIsWatching on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 9:55 am

This is typical of BN to wriggle out of a scandalous mess in such an inglorious and unrepentant manner. Even when having to step down for all the misappropriation of funds and abuse of trust, they will still try to push their way through to qualify themselves and worse, glorify themselves as self-made heroes for saving the day as sacrificial cows. These are shameless leaders still in rule. They know no dignity and their greed are a bottomless pit. If you are a Malaysian you will know that this resignation is BN’s way to kill off the NFC scandal and we may never hear or see or feel justice being done unto the rakyat for the sins of the ruthless. We must do our part in GE13 and be strong the confront the dirty tricks and games that BN will be spewing unto rakyat. Remember, change we MUST.

20. #20 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 10:13 am

Umno, you are next. It is for the good of the nation, dickhead!

21. #21 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 10:38 am

Having denied her involvement all this while you called this a Sacrifice? Her refusal to admit accountability and responsibility has sunken the inage of the nation in the whole world. It just reflects how we tolerate the grey line which BN has purposely created between being honest or a cheat! To you, there is no difference when the whole world think otherwise. The sad thing is our future generations will think and act along that line and this will guarantee our future will lie with Zimbabwe!

22. #22 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 11:58 am

It is just a show! The sucker will walk out of jail back door soon…

If you believe the UMNO/BN suckers, you will believe hogs will fart and talk like humans… Pretty soon, we human can fly like birds…

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 12:15 pm

I didn’t expect this – they are charging NFC’s executives in court. This got ‘go ahead’ from Ah Jib Kor to show Shahrizat’s notice of resignation entails no trade off – or something AG dept initiates in light of Malaysiakini’s latest disclosures???

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 12:23 pm

Is she evincing intention to resign because ministerial position is no longer tenable by reasons and because of these charges (known in advance to be made) OR it was holding on to the last minute the position in spite of and in face of threat of these charges, and then when the position can no longer be held, the announcement was made (for purpose) to avert such charges (though someone thought that the charges should nevertheless proceed notwithstanding the notice of intended resignation)? Which is which? This is intriguing- the twists and turns of UMNO’s politics and its implications…

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 12:33 pm

Something is very wrong here. Don’t think our lady will be happy – of how ‘I help you you help me’ can ever lead one day later to “I help you but you didn’t help me back. Kena whacked instead! – and what happens after that? PR will continue to have its fodder.

26. #26 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 12:35 pm

Pollsters Merdeka Center– Prime Minister Najib’s Approval Rating up to 69 per cent…

How did the figure 69% crop up?

Had Pollsters Merdeka Center polled 10 members of the PM’s office, the figure would had been 100%

Had Pollsters Merdeka Center polled 10 members of PAS, the figure would had been 0%

So it depends on who you poll

27. #27 by negarawan on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 1:01 pm

UMNO Najip, just because Shalizat resign means that she and family can keep all the money and condos she cheated the rakyat of? And you hope cowgate case disappear into oblivion? This is UMNO conman modus operandi.

28. #28 by donplaypuks on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:06 pm

When is a resignation distinctly NOT a resignation?

When, your term of office as Senator (and hence, Ministership) expires on 8th April and your resignation is effective 9th April. Do remember that unless the PM re-appoints her wef 9th April 2012, she cannot continue as Minister anyway, especially since the Pantai Baru Rakyat booted her out as MP at GE 2008.

This resignation by Shahrizat is therefore a sham and an attempt to hoodwink the people in the boondocks.

Now, she can still collect her salary up to 8th April and pension.

What kind of shameless fakery is this?

29. #29 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:10 pm

Hey diddle diddle,
    The Cat and the fiddle,
    The Cow jumped over the moon,
    The little Dog laughed to see such sport,
    And the Mamak witch ran away with the RM350 million.

Will the public get back the NFC money? The rakyat will have the last word in the coming general election.

http://anilnetto.com/governance/accountability/easy-way-out-for-shahrizat/#more-35499

30. #30 by jus legitimum on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:32 pm

The only solution to all the mess created by the string of scandals that has plagued the nation for 5 decades is to vote out the current tenant at Putrajaya.

31. #31 by k1980 on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 2:44 pm

Jibby may yet appoint the person below to be the new Governor of Bank Negara

http://media1-cdn.malaysiakini.com/417/d756b12a2a78fbd6cb3a4a1d3ac85676.jpg

32. #32 by Bigjoe on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 3:04 pm

Only 2 CBT charge on only Salleh??? Properly done, I say it could have added to maybe even 50 counts and no way the kids are also not guilty. Cockroaches and reptiles. NUKE them and they will find some way to crawl back..

33. #33 by SENGLANG on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 3:09 pm

NFC’S winner is the legal advisor . And the loser is the taxpayers.

Millions to be earned in the form of legal fee…

34. #34 by SENGLANG on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 3:34 pm

For a suspicious sum RM2000+ TBH lost his life. But for solid 250m it took such a long hu ha until today……..

35. #35 by monsterball on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 10:11 pm

Najib is famous to speak nonsense.
    But come to protect his life….it’s Patriots against Traitors….and who is who…naturally the good guys are always UMNO b guys.
    If so….why delay 13th GE any longer?
    Should win and clobber traitors so easy.

36. #36 by mickeytiger2006 on Wednesday, 14 March 2012 - 9:48 am

She resign for the sake of a corrupted govt n umno. Not for the sake of the people of msia.

37. #37 by PoliticoKat on Wednesday, 14 March 2012 - 12:16 pm

I would sacrifice my job too for RM250 million. I just feel for her, the sacrifice must have been so heavy… like the weight a quarter of billion Ringgit.

I am sure she is in tears, crying every night under her silk and gold weave bed sheet, surrounded by dozen of servant. This sacrifice will leave her feeling lost in her giant mansion in Singapore and likely the gold coast Australia.

There will be some problems opening her small supermarket, as it take how many million a month just to pay the rent of the floor space?

38. #38 by Loh on Wednesday, 14 March 2012 - 1:38 pm

///Datuk Seri Najib Razak commended Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil today for her decision to sacrifice herself and quit the Cabinet for the sake of the government and Umno.///–the author

Najib was right that Shahrizat’s departure is for the good of the government. In fact for the good of the government, the entire Cabinet should have resigned.

Najib was right too that Shahrizhat sacrificed her right in that she had not insisted that others in UMNO, who as she said had the same problems leave the government too.

Najib was right that Shahrizhat sacrificed herself for the party, UMNO, since others should have left too but she did not reveal the names. In saying what Najib said, he confirmed that UMNO is the home of the corrupted, and that UMNO members in government should have sacrificed in the same manner Shahrizat did. Of course Shahrizhat did not resign. It was just that Shahrizhat announced that she did not expect reappointment as senator. Can a person with Shahrizhat’s record of not being able to ensure that his family members abide by the laws of the land be qualified to be appointed senator?

39. #39 by mm08 on Wednesday, 14 March 2012 - 6:39 pm

This is the ‘perangai’ of our Malaysian politician. They have made a mistake and step down but still wanted to tell people they sacrifice. What is this? Our PM is sending a wrong message, means Shahrizat is not wrong? there is a conflict of interest there! She must step down and that is her husband. She can say that she is not involve or not knowing the case unless she is divroce from him! Why most of our leaders do not have credibility and also not GUTS at all when they made a mistake just admit it and do the necessary and not hanging on to the post! Well, the only thing i can think of is not enough money yet for them, digging people’s money is their main purpose. What they care?