‘Political persecution in Sarawak not new’

By Joseph Tawie | March 8, 2012
Free Malaysia Today

KUCHING: Political persecution of opposition supporters by the Taib Mahmud administration is a norm in Sarawak, claims the state opposition DAP.

The only reason people are alert to it now is because one victim, Frusis Lebi, a farmer with deformed hands and legs, had come forward to expose such persecution.

Lebi’s government subsidies and welfare aid were revoked because he had openly supported the opposition in last April’s state election.

Said Sarawak DAP secretary general Chong Chien Jen: “There are many of them who have been politically persecuted for supporting and voting for the opposition when their subsidies, allowances, and projects have been withdrawn from them.

“The problem is that many of these victims are not prepared to come out and expose these blatant acts.”

Chong, who is Kota Sentosa assemblyman, was commenting on the widespread anger at the state Assistant Minister of Agriculture (Research and Marketing) Mong Dagang who had ordered that Lebi’s aid be revoked.

To further compound this ‘heinous’ act, Dagang’s political ‘boss’, James Masing who is Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president had, in defense of Dagang’s action advised voters to ‘follow a rule of life – jangan lawan towkay’ (don’t challenge the boss).

The comment has further fueled concerns here about the ‘arrogance’ of Sarawak BN leaders.

A leader in Taib’s Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) party, who declined to be named, described Dagang as ‘stupid’.

“Dagang is so stupid to write official letters using his ministry letterhead to the departments of agriculture and welfare.

“He should follow other BN leaders by merely whispering to heads of department, so that there will be no record of him giving official instruction,” said the leader, adding that Dagang had yet to learn the Barisan Nasional tactic.

‘Political tactic’

Meanwhile Dagang took great pains to justify his actions against Lebi.

In his 40-minute press conference in Sri Aman, Dagang who is PRS vice-president said it was “his democratic right to stop providing assistance” to handicapped Lebi.

“The decision was made as Frusis (Lebi) was an opposition supporter who turned his house into an operation room centre for the opposition during the state election.

“Frusis (Lebi) did not appreciate what had been given to him. It is wasting our money, all the tax payers’ money especially the Bukit Begunan constituency voters. They (voters) might be angry with me if they knew this.

“Everyone has the democratic right. I do too. I should be fair and help those who are more deserving compared to Frusis (Lebi),” Dagang said adding that Lebi had received much aid from the government compared to others.

Dagang said as an elected representative his duty was to fairness to all his constituents.

“I am elected to serve everyone especially those in Bukit Begunan, not just one person.

“I believe this could be a political tactic used by the opposition (DAP) for their advantage, but Frusis (Lebi) did not realise he was being used,” he said.

Who Lebi supports is irrelevant

But Chong has denied that the opposition was exploiting Lebi’s situation.

“What do you mean that he is being used by DAP? Actually he (Lebi) helped PKR in the campaign. He did not help DAP nor did he fly DAP flag.

“But whether he supported anyone it is irrelevant. He could (even) be hanging PAS flag. So what?

“You don’t have to cancel his subsidy based on the ground of his political affiliation,” he said, adding that DAP would try to raise funds to help Lebi pass through this difficult times.

1. #1 by sotong on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 4:50 pm

” Everyone has the democratic right “.

You take away his right to assistance for his political affiliation….you don’t know what you are talking about.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 6:11 pm

I think Mong Dagang has to be sent to Tanjung Rambutan.

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 6:20 pm

Mong stupid. Mong kok. Mong pus. His democratic right, my foot. Is it his democratic right to steal from the people as well?

4. #4 by Winston on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 6:47 pm

Good that something like this happen.
    It’s a blessing in disguise that all these stupidities happened so close to the GE!
    Now, the opposition will have another powerful shot at the BN coalition!
    Make very sure that such opportunities are used to the hilt!
    Make certain that the natives are fully aware of the glaringly shoddy treatment that they are getting.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 8:02 pm

“Everyone has the democratic right. I do too. I should be fair and help those who are more deserving compared to Frusis (Lebi),”-by mong key

Halo setan mong,who are those more deserving ones? Are those particulary through these years being helping BN to steal,plunder and rape this nation?Helping everyone who deserved regardless of any political affiliation is the correct democracy!

Setan mong,you don’t deserve to be anyone’s representative since you do not understand the basic of democracy.Please go home and take a good long rest to help you unwind

6. #6 by colinleecs on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 8:26 pm

OMG. How appalling. What kind of politician is this guy? It’s the year 2011. Not 1102.

7. #7 by colinleecs on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 8:27 pm

Sorry. It’s now 2012.

8. #8 by second class citizen on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 11:46 pm

Oh my god, they treat disable human like that,that’s mean if they don’t like you they can what they want to you because they got power,don’t give this kind of party/group power if not, later if they don’t like you, they bully you with they power.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 2:05 am

Mong Dagang was only diligently following the tenets of the 1Malaysia concept as espoused by his Supreme Boss, Ah Jib Gor, who famously said at various times and at various places:

‘I know what you want, you know what I want’, ‘You help me, I help you (you no help me, I no help you)’, ‘lu percaya gua, gua tolong lu’ etc etc.

The guidance therefore comes from the top and structly speaking, Dong Dagong did no wrong. He was merely obeying orders from the top.

If you want to blame him, then go after everyone else until you reach the top.

10. #10 by boh-liao on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 2:44 am

Dat blardi sh!t mongkey told d entire world dat he is a man of principle
    Yet he ABUSED his power n arbitrarily decided dat non-BN supporters cannot receive gomen subsidies n welfare aid, which r actually rakyat’s $$$$; WRONG decision!
    N dat mongkey is a blardi LIAR, alleged 2 b involved in RM70mil kickback
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/191449
    Same same as Ah Cheat Kor

Y NO comments fr great leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc, defenders of d poor

Again, Moo mooed dat d award of RM2.2 billion expressway concession 2 a company linked to an Umno lawyer n a former CJ’s wife was “based on merit” – just like RM250 million govt loan GIVEN 2 a special COW family, also based on merit

WHOSE merit, rakyat wondered! Merit 2 speed up towards a bankrupt nation

11. #11 by boh-liao on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 3:29 am

NO $$$ 4 d poor n disabled, YET millions 4 UmnoB kaki
    As more n more exposures came 2 surface, rakyat began 2 realise dat d COWwitch n her family hv bcome real estate CHEATs, busy playing Monopoly
    It’s time they draw d “GO TO JAIL” card or land on d space marked “Go to Jail”

12. #12 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 7:52 am

That’s suckers’ ways of winning every election in Bolehland, “You help me; I help you” and “You don’t help me; I don’t help you” . Boleh-lah!!!

No wonder, our Bolehland goes underdeveloped! Ranking in the fifth position, after Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam, in South-East Asia! What a shame?

Pretty soon, it will go bankrupt… Just a few years to go under the BN/UMNO suckers! The bunch of BN/UMNO suckers go around and suck “these” and “those”…

13. #13 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 9:37 am

“his democratic right to stop providing assistance” said umno – well everyone in bn is either umno or umno stooge.

That is abuse of his democratic right, plain and simple. Supporting the opposition is not a valid reason for umno to withdraw the handicap assistance, stupid!

Oh dear, this idiot is just too thick. No point reasoning with him. Just “ABU”. Enough said.

14. #14 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 9:57 am

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 9:59 am

Seriously, someone in Sarawak should just get in the face of of Mong Dagang and James Masing house and say Rakyat is the BOSS, not them..

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 10:01 am

Hey, let do that, lets just start getting into the rural areas and ask the people – siapa boss – you orang rakyat atau Mong Dagang & James Masing?

17. #17 by rockdaboat on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 12:56 pm

“His democratic right to stop providing assistance.”???

Is this moron talking through his behind?
    He knows nuts about democracy!!!
    It is unbelievable that we have such moron as assistant minister.

BN really BOLEH.

18. #18 by rockdaboat on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 12:59 pm

“Dagang said as an elected representative his duty was to fairness to all his constituents.”

Looks like he has a lot to learn about the definition of fairness.

19. #19 by verlansiertan on Monday, 12 March 2012 - 10:29 pm

well Dagang will regret very soon when elections is looming round the corners ,