Muhyiddin is the first person to come to mind when Najib talks about “Opponents of 1Malaysia are power-crazy and a cynical bunch”

The first person to come to anyone’s mind when reading the Star headline “PM: Opponents of 1Malaysia are power-crazy and a cynical bunch” is none other than the Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

This was because it was Muhyiddin who was the first public personality to repudiate Najib’s 1Malaysia policy of creating “a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second” when he declared that he is “a Malay first and then only a Malaysian”.

I had said in my speech in Parliament on March 18, 2010 that the biggest enemy of 1Malaysia is not from outside Barisan Nasional but from inside UMNO and Barisan Nasional, and I have been proved right in the past two years.

Even the Prime Minister himself dare not openly berate or dissociate himself from Muhyiddin’s repudiation of 1Malaysia.

In July last year, when Najib was specifically asked by Malaysian students at the Malaysian Student Leaders’ Summit (MSLS) in Kuala Lumpur whether he was Malaysian first and what he thought of his deputy’s infamous remark of being “Malay first and Malaysian next”, Najib ducked the question, saying:
“I don’t want to respond in a way that will divide me from my deputy.

“1 Malaysia is our guiding philosophy. It does not matter what you say, just as long as you follow (the 1 Malaysia concept).”

In the March 2010 Parliament, I had observed that the Najib Cabinet was full of Ministers who were quite sceptical about the 1Malaysia concept treating it as nothing more than political theatre.

I specifically asked who were the Ministers in the Cabinet who had the 1Malaysia DNA as I could not see anyone, posing two 1Malaysia DNA tests for the Cabinet Ministers:

• Is the Minister prepared to declare that the basis of 1Malaysia is “ketuanan rakyat Malaysia” and not “ketuanan Melayu”?; and

• Is he or she prepared to endorse the objective of 1Malaysia as defined by the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap launched in January 2010 to create a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, region or socio-economic status second by declaring that he or she is Malaysian first and ethnicity second?

We not only have the Deputy Prime Minister who very early in the day declared that he is “a Malay first and then only a Malaysian”, we have now another Cabinet Minister Datuk Idris Jala, who would have been the leading standard bearer of the 1Malaysia policy of “Malaysian first”, now recoiled from the concept, demanding to know instead: “Why must I be Malaysian first and Malay second?”

Najib is right that the opponents of 1Malaysia are “power crazy and a cynical bunch”, but they come from inside UMNO and Barisan Nasional, resulting in the worst racial and religious polarisation in the nation’s history under Najib’s premiership when race and religious relations should be at their best if 1Malaysia is a serious and meaningful Prime Ministerial policy instead of being an empty and hollow one.

This is why there had been immunity and impunity for extremists, whether in UMNO especially Utusan Malaysia, its official newspaper, or groups out-sourced by UMNO like Perkasa, who are given a field day to spout their incendiary lies and falsehoods to stoke racial hatred and religious tensions?

When MCA spread lies that a vote for DAP is a vote for PAS to establish an Islamic state, and UMNO spread lies that a vote for PAS is a vote for DAP to further anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Malay Rulers objectives, they not only expose the hypocritical and double-faced politics of Barisan Nasional, they also make a total mockery of Najib’s 1Malaysia policy.

Next month is the third anniversary of Najib’s premiership as well as his signature 1Malaysia policy.

How is he reining in the opponents of 1Malaysia inside UMNO and Barisan Nasional, from Muhyiddin to Cabinet Ministers and Barisan Nasional leaders, so as to get them all to declare that they fully support the 1Malaysia policy of “Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second” and to end all hypocritical, dishonest and double-faced politics and halt the worsening racial and religious polarisation in the country?

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 2:58 pm

I don’t know about you all but Muhyiddin seems to talk a lot of rubbish all the while. One just can’t understand his thinkings and his daily doses of weird comments and statements are just unbelievable and are causes for concern.

He just doesn’t know where he is going or what he stands for. He is just a weirdo bumbling along and we just do not know what he might do.

If he ever becomes PM, God help us.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 3:13 pm

So what about Tun Dr Mahathir (“TDM”)? Is he also an “opponent” of 1Malaysia under Najib’s categorisation of “power-crazy and a cynical bunch”?? All TDM has said in his Blog is that 1 Malaysia “is a confusing concept which means different things to different people”. He said that different people were giving their own interpretations which not only differed from each other but were in conflict with each other. “When I speak to the Chinese and Malays, they have differing views and cannot be united” he said. He also said that 1Malaysia slogan must be explained in detail to the people of various races living in the country, to provide a holistic understanding of the concept.

3. #3 by GodIsWatching on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 3:34 pm

That blob of a DPM is an international disgrace who cannot carry himself well in speech and conduct. He is in fact PM’s No.1 nemesis since we all know he is eyeing premiership.

Power crazy and cynical? Frankly, even if true, I would still choose opposition over corrupted and lawless and depraved BN.

Quick, Najib, announce GE soon! can’t wait to see rejoicing rakyat send you out the door!

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 4:06 pm

What Najib betray in his posting – he is simply intellectually challenged. He is trying to pain the picture that he is in the middle of two sides and so he must be right. Its intellectual nonsense – betrays a lifetime of not being certain about much of anything. Is a good accountant 1+1=2 or the one that says its anything you want? At some point, its 1+1=2 not anything else. The simple fact of the matter is he stand is not in between but favours one side, i.e., the one that refuses to accept that 1+1=2 ultimately.

Saying that PR is against 1Msia is simply saying he is an intellectual giant while the many very able and self-sacrificing people in PR are is lessor when they have a track record far far superior to he EVER was. His office and wealth has gone into his head that his brains get better because of it. His resume is pathetic to anyone like Khalid Ibrahim, LGE, Rafizi, Zuraida Kamaruddin, Khalid Samad, Fuziah Salleh, late Lo Lo Ghazali, Nasir Hashim, Baru Bian etc.

His argues intellectually against the ilks of Perkasa BUT then he attack personally against ‘the other side’ (i.e.,Anwar and PR)? That is intellectual argument? Its psychotic arguing – intellectual MUSH and he think no one will NOTICE?

Its not Najib that is in between – he stands in the way of the in- between. ‘The other side’ is in between the almost-certain to fail UMNO-Perkasa/BN and the truly liberaltarian that is the true intellectual arguments of today. ‘the other side’ is saying they are not certain of the real other side of UMNO-Perkasa/BN but they know they are not wrong about somethings which UMNO-Perkasa/BN is already certaintly wrong..

What ‘the other side’ is saying is say what you mean and do what you say. If you mean 1Msia, do 1Msia not say it has its own special meaning just because you say it is. If you say change then do change NOT appear only to change. If you say ‘tranform’ than do tranform not ‘tranform-pun-mati’. How can that be wrong. its like saying black and white is wrong? How can it be?

Najib is intellectual mush. I hope he wrote the damn thing himself. Otherwise the guy he hired to write it, should be fired for not even being able to cover up his nonsense.

5. #5 by cseng on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 4:06 pm

The RM2.2 billion Kinrara-Damansara Expressway (Kidex) highway contract was awarded to only the most “qualified” companies, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said today.

The deputy prime minister denied allegations that the deal was given to companies linked to Umno lawyer Datuk Hafarizam Harun and the wife of former Chief Justice Tun Zaki Azmi (picture) due to political reasons.

“There was a thorough evaluation by all parties… I think it is based on merit based on submissions made.” – Muhyyiddin

How come the wife, husband, son and daughter of Umno politican are capable of evenything?. Sharizat’s husband very in breeding cow, Taib’s daughter is briliant investors in properties, son of mahathir very pandai cari minyak, now wife of former CJ is talented pikin jalan….Wow!

Only fools say M’sia go bankcrupt by 2020!

6. #6 by sotong on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 4:37 pm

Race/party first is no surprise….that’s why the country is in a mess!

7. #7 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 5:51 pm

Actually, are we against 1malaysia? For what dap represents, all of us are malaysians and therefore all of us are one and the same people. So 1malaysia is really not novel. 1malaysia was for a long long time already a dap idiology.

Umno hijacked the idea and jazzed it up for political advantage. Political advantage, it was not. But, it turned into a monster within umno. Not many in umno can accept the idea of 1malaysia. Moo led the way to open dissent. He wants to be malay (actually by that he meant umnoputra) first and then malaysian second.

So yeah jib’s remark really is aimed at his own party members – those in umno.

“ABU”

8. #8 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 8 March 2012 - 7:57 pm

To cut the story short,come GE 13 all wise voters must make sure PR take the seat in Putrajaya.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 2:55 am

Again, Moo mooed dat d award of RM2.2 billion expressway concession 2 a company linked to an Umno lawyer n a former CJ’s wife was “based on merit” – just like RM250 million govt loan GIVEN 2 a special COW family, also based on merit

WHOSE merit, rakyat wondered! Merit 2 speed up towards a bankrupt nation

Looks like Moo is tied up with COW, cow sense, mayb prion, new variant Creutzfeldt–Jakob disease, n spongy brain
    Watch out if he always scrapes his butt: scrapie

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 4:43 am

It only took literally days after May 13, 1969 for UMNO to break the very basic principles of our country’s founding. 11 years after Kampung Medan, they still won’t admit their solution was wrong from the start.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/10633

Najib is not in-between two sides. He stands in the way of going back to in-between two sides. UMNO-Perkasa/BN is NOT the Malaysian formula, they are on the one side of the Malaysian formula. WE know what the Malaysian formula is, not UMNO-Perkasa/BN.

11. #11 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 7:44 am

//RM2.2 billion expressway concession 2 a company linked to an Umno lawyer n a former CJ’s wife was “based on merit” //

The Bayan Mutiara land sale by open tender was based on open tender.

Mr Moo, which is better, open tender or “based on merit” ?

12. #12 by Winston on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 8:48 am

Just like the famous (infamous?) quote, “Which UMNO leader doesn’t have problems?”, now one can say, “which UMNO/BN leader isn’t a weirdo?”.
    They all are!
    Possibly driven nuts by the impending PR win in GE13!!!

13. #13 by k1980 on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 9:58 am

//“which UMNO/BN leader isn’t a weirdo?”//

‘weirdo’ as in ‘sodder’?

14. #14 by mm08 on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 10:34 am

One Malaysia is only a slogan! We want our leaders to walk the talk. Not merely saying and doing nothing. Where is our PM credibility? He was promoting One Malaysia, but the deputy said One Melayu! Very clear for us what is happening inside. However, with more and more of us are the educated one and also have the maturity of thinking, we will not only ask for a clean government but we want a quality leaders. Means, we want our leaders to be talk with sense, with good morale values, with credibilty etc and not only a ‘Pak Turut”!

15. #15 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 12:20 pm

Highway project awarded to ex-cj’s family based on merit? Awwwww man. Not again! Merit? What merit, for phaaark’s sake? What experience have they in highway construction?

16. #16 by tak tahan on Friday, 9 March 2012 - 12:41 pm

I’ll be suspicious of the highway project once it’s completed.It could be a highway to hell.