Political violence threatens elections in Malaysia

— Bersih 2.0
Feb 29, 2012

FEB 29 — Bersih 2.0 urges Prime Minister Najib Razak to immediately stop the serial political violence inflicted on opposition politicians and civil society activists by thugs reportedly related to Umno and Perkasa, while police often just looked on and no one has been charged so far.

Bersih 2.0 warns that such impunity on political violence, if it continues, leaves no room for clean elections in Malaysia. If political activisms are met with physical assaults even before elections, could the safety of opposition leaders and campaigners be guaranteed come the next election?

Bersih 2.0 wants Najib to order an immediate investigation and prosecution of those responsible for the two latest incidents of political assault on February 26.

At Speakers’ Corner, George Town, Pulau Pinang, a group of thugs identified as Umno Youth and Perkasa members attacked the anti-Lynas protesters and eventually injured two reporters. Most shockingly, the police personnel looked on and did not do anything. Later, the Chief Police Officer (CPO) of Pulau Pinang Ayub Yaakob blamed it on the organisers for not informing the police of their event.

At Felda Lepar Hilir 1, Gambang, Pahang, YB Nurul Izzah Anwar, PKR MP for Lembah Pantai, was assaulted by Asrullah Affendi Abdullah, an assistant of Umno Lepar state assemblyperson Mohd Shohaimi Jusoh.

These are not isolated cases. Forums by student activists and the Anything But Umno (ABU) Movement have experienced similar attacks and no one has yet been charged in court.

If PM Najib Razak refuses to take action to end such political violence, to have the assailants prosecuted and to punish those police personnel who shirked their responsibility, Malaysia may be pushed to the edge of chaos and unrest by electoral violence.

In this alarming development, BERSIH 2.0 calls upon Malaysians and the international community to establish a Election Observation Mission to mitigate such a threat.

* The Steering Committee of BERSIH 2.0 comprises: Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Co-Chairperson), Datuk A. Samad Said (Co-Chairperson), Ahmad Shukri Abdul Razab, Andrew Khoo, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Dr Farouk Musa, Liau Kok Fah, Maria Chin Abdullah, Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh and Zaid Kamaruddin.

1. #1 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:04 am

“I will stop umno gangsterism and hooliganism against all of you if you ppl give umno 2/3 majority in GE13.”

Jib, here’s another good line for you in your next ceramah.

… you cintaneg… will you pls phaark! stop it! I was only trying to to to help jib, you bast…. ard.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:12 am

Stop it? They are going to justify emergency rule with these incidents if UMNO-Perkasa/BN loses..

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:16 am

//If PM Najib Razak refuses to take action to end such political violence, to have the assailants prosecuted and to punish those police personnel who shirked their responsibility..//

This is like asking Hitler to crack down on his Brown Shirts and Close down his gas chambers

4. #4 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:23 am

Lynas supporters, who through their chants of “Hidup Umno!” and “Hidup Najib!”, were clearly also Umno supporters if not members had special leeway from the police to go about their disruptive antics without interference.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/sideviews/article/goon-squad-given-free-hand-to-spread-terror-henry-loh/

5. #5 by yhsiew on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:26 am

If the PM does not take action then thugs will open fires at people turning out to vote as what had happened in Haiti years ago.

Don’t let political violence ruin the country!

6. #6 by cseng on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:32 am

//violence inflicted on opposition politicians and civil society activists by thugs reportedly related to Umno and Perkasa, while police often just looked on and no one has been charged so far.//

The inaction of police, CM LGE has to write to IGP for action, still nothing happened untill today, rule of umno’s law……

We must walk now, the IGP most probbaly throw CM’s letter into bin, lets write to the whole world to see…..

The real problem of malaysia, the biggest enemy of malaysia is BN.

7. #7 by cseng on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:35 am

Stop Lynas! Stop Umno Perkosa Gangsterism! Stop Corruption! Stop them all by stoping BN!

8. #8 by yhsiew on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:38 am

The thugs are the extremists, who are the product of BN playing with the race, religion and royal cards.

9. #9 by Winston on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:48 am

It’s a foregone conclusion that they will not hand over the
    reigns of government even if PR wins the next GE.
    That’s the way of corrupt governments the world over!
    The next GE must be overseen by really clean oversea
    election commissions, preferably from very reputable
    European countries!
    No use having Asean ones because many of them are in the
    same boat as this country!

10. #10 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 9:57 am

Aren’t we day-dreaming. Najib has proclaimed in no uncertain terms that they must defend Putrajaya at all costs. What he has told his supporters ( UMNOputras and the beggars from MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and PPP is to create chaos, mayhem, thuggery, hooliganism and disrupt all activities of the OPPOSITION that might forcibly evict him from Putrajaya after the 13GE.

Najib, born with a silver spoon in his mouth, awarded a datukship at a young age, made a menteri besar and who climbed the political ladder with unholy speed stature does not understand the working of decent politics in a democracy. He is what he is today because of being the son of Tun Abdul Razak and not on merit and leadership qualities. He feels it is birth right to be the occupant of Putrajaya and no one has any right to it.

With such a mindset and with the support of his mentor, the evil, recalcitrant, racist Mamak Kutty and the many NGOs such as Perkasa and Pekida who have been outsourced to do all the dirty work for UMNO, isn’t it foolish on our part to expect him to be a gentleman politician and play the game on a level field?

His mantra for unveiled corruption is: you help me, I help you. Now he has even said that he is willing to give more clout to the MACC if the rakyat give him a two-thirds majority. What next? He is willing to put his PDRM in the kennel where they belong if the rakyat make him the dictator of the country, answerable to none?

Let us just forget his double-talk and his flip-flop style of leadership. He has already laid out his agenda as advised by APCO. It is high time PR also comes up with well laid plans to counter his every move. They should concentrate on exposing all the rampant corruption such as ‘cowgate’ etc. to the rural people who are the ignorant fixed deposit of UMNO/BN.

A successful BERSIH 3.0 would drive home the point that his days are numbered. It should provide the impetus for a spring tide that has its in the Middle East.

11. #11 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 10:03 am

errata: 1….unholy speed …(stature to be deleted) understand…. 2. He feels it is HIS birth right to ..

12. #12 by cseng on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 11:07 am

How Helen Ang see this thru bn’s racial thick glases;

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2012/03/01/two-party-system-umno-vs-bipolar-dap/

Is this the political reality suggested by BN?.

This is what make burmese happier than m’sian.

13. #13 by second class citizen on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 11:26 am

Malaysia polis diraja,you know or not,this big man, we have to beging them to come and help/protect you,even they were infront of you,the reason in front o you is to minta minum kopi,not to protect you,like went you call them regatding robbery/samun, they as you to come in and make report first and they will see what they will do later,like that mean the robber already go back shower,change clothers and have a good sleep before they do thier activity again….

14. #14 by Loh on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 11:26 am

mauriyaII :
    Aren’t we day-dreaming. Najib has proclaimed in no uncertain terms that they must defend Putrajaya at all costs. What he has told his supporters ( UMNOputras and the beggars from MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and PPP is to create chaos, mayhem, thuggery, hooliganism and disrupt all activities of the OPPOSITION that might forcibly evict him from Putrajaya after the 13GE.

Well said and apt summary of Najib’s call to use the limbs of his gang to defend Putrajaya, just like gangsters would.

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 12:21 pm

“Police have no power to do as they like.
    Give me 2/3 majority…I will release them. ..Meanwhile…they are UMNO b bodyguards. Got it…dumb Malaysians?”
    Got to go and barak,

16. #16 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 2:00 pm

Maybe 30 years ago, these agent provocateurs’ tactics would work, but not now. Now everyone’s handphone is a camera, a video recorder. Not so easy to hoodwink the rakyat.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 2:30 pm

Can you imagine what a world we are living in with thugs are condoned and supported by the ruling regime.Are we sort of becoming a nation dominated by pirates and gansters?Sigh..

18. #18 by hero on Thursday, 1 March 2012 - 6:47 pm

They use 1 Rasuah Malaysia RM500.00 so that you will feel obligated to vote for them. And now they are using gangsters to try to strike fear in your heart so that you would not go against them. I won’t be surprised if these gangsters, on election day, would say this to you,”JAGA! KALAU YOU TAK UNDI BN!”

19. #19 by Tango on Friday, 2 March 2012 - 8:47 am

At Felda Lepar Hilir 1, Gambang, Pahang, YB Nurul Izzah Anwar, PKR MP for Lembah Pantai, was assaulted by Asrullah Affendi Abdullah, an assistant of Umno Lepar state assemblyperson Mohd Shohaimi Jusoh.
    ————————–

Didn’t your mother teach you never to hit a woman, you coward? Pick a guy your own size if you are out of rhetorics & had to act macho. Idiots like u must be put on youTube so that your People can see who u truly are!

20. #20 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 2 March 2012 - 8:56 am

For 50yrs when umno was “king” the opposition never turned violent. But umno became violent everytime its position is threatened. Once during may 13 (an umno instigated incident) and again now (since 308). Stupid fools. Look at middle east. Bullets and bombs; broken bones, lost lives and crushed bodies all failed to thwart the reform movements by the people. Even strongman gaddafi himself ended up badly beaten-up and killed.

“ABU”