Surcharge the public officers responsible for over payments of 2,900-11,400 % more the market price and such financial hanky-panky will cease in future AG Reports

Malaysia must be the only country which aspires to be developed nation status where year in year out, the Auditor-General reports of horror tales of financial hanky-panky, irregularities, abuses of power and financial indiscipline in Federal Government accounts.

Malaysians are entitled to know why such financial hanky-panky and irregularities could not be stamped out when there should be quite easy ways of achieving this objective.

For instance, surcharge the public officers responsible for paying RM5,700 or 11,400% more the market price of a car jack or RM56,350 or 2,900 per cent higher than the market price of binoculars and I am sure, such financial hanky-panky will cease in future Auditor-General’s Reports once the message is sent out the government servants who authorize irregular payments will have to personally account for their financial indiscipline from their personal pay checks.

At present, these public officers do not have to pay for their financial misfeances and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission is a standing joke as it has proved to be completely impotent and ineffective in taking actions against errant public servants based on the voluminous Auditor-General’s annual reports.

However, it will not be possible for the government to surcharge errant public servants for their financial misdeeds as authorizing payment exceeding 2,900 per cent or even over 11,400 per cent of the market price of items procured, which comes to several thousand or tens of thousands of ringgit per item, if the “big sharks” in high political and government places are allowed immunity and impunity for corruption and abuses of public funds running into millions, tens or even hundreds of millions of ringgit – as for instance improperly approving mega-projects without proper open tender procedures.

It has been estimated that the government loses some RM28 billion a year from corruption, malpractices and “leakages”. How can the authorities have the credibility and authority to introduce a “surcharge” regime to hold public servants to account for improper public expenditures unless there is in place a “no tolerance for corruption” policy where everyone, including the “sharks”, are mercilessly brought to justice for any corruption practice or abuse of public funds?

Unless there is the political will to launch an all-out war against corruption including those occupying high political and government positions under a “no tolerance for corruption” campaign, financial abuses and malpractices as those retailed in the Auditor-General Annual reports will continue to be an annual and commonplace occurrence.

[Speech at the opening of the new Bentong DAP Branch and Pahang DAP State premises in Bentong on Sunday, 30th October 2011 at 2pm]

1. #1 by dcasey on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 8:01 pm

This proposal to impose a surcharge on these misbehaving public servants to payback the financial hanky-panky and irregularities caused by them is already very kind to these very people because it pales by comparison to what the people will face if they are public servants in China. It’s their family who will have to pay….for the bullet that’s going to be lodged in the back of his skull. For in the land called China, there is no second chance given…no redemption for a payback due to greed. Whereas here in Bolehland, the reverse is seen, it is these selfish greedy public servants who will roar back in the face of the public with impunity if the public were to make too much noise. These people will fight back with the reason that if my boss can do it with even bigger amounts, then why can’t I with such chicken feed amount. This, ladies and gents, is unfortunately the joke of Bolehland. However the bigger joke is that some voters keep voting these greedy and irresposible bosses (of such public servants) each time!!!

2. #2 by yhsiew on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 8:08 pm

Asking those to pay back what they have plundered from the nation’s coffers is a way to deter corruption and thievery. As the saying goes: It hurts (them) when it touches their pockets (wallets).

Many years ago, Cheras toll collectors were required to pay for the discrepancy in tolls collected by machines and humans. The toll collectors only earned few hundred ringgits a month and yet they had to pay for the discrepancy. There is no excuse for not punishing those who plunder. If the present government does not get the money back from them, the PR government (if elected) should go after them for every single cent they plundered.

3. #3 by monsterball on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 8:18 pm

In every project by UMNO b govt….so many want commissions.
    Ordinary folks are grateful to see so much developments in their cities….towns and villages but were ignorant over the massive corruptions in the past.
    Not now…they are getting to know all the tricks and treats the Govt applied to feed their chosen ones to stay faithful to UMNO b always.
    Mahathir uses billions to buy votes and loyalties in his 22 years..and enriches his sons too.
    Muslims are divided to be the “have not” and the “haves” by Mahathir.
    And now….they will make sure Malays stays backward in education while these crooks sent their children overseas to study in the English language.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 8:57 pm

If Lim Guan Eng could keep Penang finance in order, why couldn’t BN do it? It is obviously a case of national coffers in the wrong hands.

5. #5 by cskok8 on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 9:20 pm

Actually there is a provision in the General Orders to surcharge civil servants responsible for losses to the government. However how to surcharge them if the orders to pay come from higher up (and in some cases VERY, VERY, VERY high up)

6. #6 by Godfather on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 9:32 pm

How do you “surcharge” someone ? You can only apply a surcharge on something. I think you mean that all those miscreants should be charged. It won’t happen because all these folks are “abang adik” and are BN’s fixed deposit.

7. #7 by drngsc on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 9:37 pm

Are you serious? If you were to surcharge the culprits, then the whole department will be penalised, then UMNO will lose their supporters, then the government will fall. Do you know how many heads there are in the civil service? They will never, never catch the culprits. The rotten fish head is all the way up, an I include the FLOM too.

This marvellous country has the same crime year after year, but no criminals caught. The leakages are so large. Sometimes the AG report can be taken to mean arrogance by government departments. “I dare to steal, what can you do about it”. Nothing. So next year, I will do it again.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE13 is our best chance. Failure is not an option. Maybe the 2013 AG report will be different. Let us all try very very hard, for the next generation’s sake.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 9:48 pm

I believe what the AG reported was only a tip in the iceberg. The other cases were concealed from the public. That was why the AG took so long to present the report.

Najib should take note that the rakyat still have the ballot paper in their hands and it will be put to good use during GE13.

9. #9 by cemerlang on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 10:26 pm

Who is the one with the real power ? The name, the rank and the photo ? You really think it is the highest of all ? Actually it is those whom you call Little Napoleons. It is a network of people working together for their own benefit. Call them Mafia. Call them Ah Long. Call them secret societies. Call them anything but they are almost the same. Caring for their kind only. They are the chess players. We are the chess pieces. If the King eats or check mate the knight, it is not the King who is all powerful but the one who moves him in such a manner that he is able to defeat the knight. The one who moves the knight is unable to protect him. So you talk about the nation’s money. No money, so you tell your staff. Actually it is no money. Your own unit does not have the money. But there is a lot of money in other departments, in other units. Monitor the distribution of money from the nation’s budget. Who gets the most ? Who gets nothing ? In fact, the government has been too generous. Do you really need that kind of assets ? Or if you do not buy it , you have to return back the remaining money. So you spent. If that is your own money, you would not spend. Therefore who is the one with no thoughts on good management of money ? Why do you have to make people spend ? If there is a surplus before the account is closed, be happy you take back the remaining budget. Because you can use on other things for other units. Then reward this unit which can pay back the remaining budget with a bigger budget next year. Why must you plant a seed of greediness in those officers dealing with money ? In fact, do you know that you are planting a seed of greediness ? Do you know you are teaching them to love money ? The love of money is the root of all evil. On one hand, you tell them to spend wisely, to spend on what is necessarily but on another hand you want them to spend without thinking like the returning back of the remaining budget. Then you tell them if you do not use up the budget, next year, we will send you a small budget. What if next year, there is a need for a real big project ? So they spend on anything; things which are still functioning, personal things even. And you start accusing them of wrong doing. Your staff reflects your messy system. Look at your own people and you know how great your management have been. A binoculars. There can be only one leader. The leader should spell out the specs for a binoculars. Example, how much can do the binoculars see ? Can the binoculars see at night ? The price. What brand do you want it to be ? Base on the specs, that particular department will purchase it. Then if that particular department wants something more advanced, it should write in and state all the specs and have an image attached. This is to prove that it is the same item once it arrives. Then ask for more money. As the one and only leader, you should spell out the specs. It should come from you. You should not let even your own individual bosses of individuals units to tell you what they want. You should tell them what you want. It is not the other way round. If not, those people become the head and you become just one of the individual unit boss.

10. #10 by dagen on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 10:42 pm

We are talking about umno’s constitutional right here. Its a grave wrong to do so. But WTF. It would be quite enough to mess up umno’s yearly orgy if only the inland revenue went after those idiots for taxes on their astronomical gains. The entire milking orgy will be screwed.

11. #11 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 10:54 pm

There is no way any Minister dare to charge any civil servants of any wrong doing. It is an open secret that civil servants are ‘given equal’ opportunity to ptactise their discretion! Otherwise more secrets will ooze into the matket! The policy of closing an eye is on-going; after all the contractors are most likely to be “appointed” by the Boss himself. So how would you punish the civil servants? The DNA has oozed through so many layers that no change will come about unless the head is chopped off! The AG reports have been just for the dustbin for these years. Its reports on abuses weren’t new or news. It is a waste of money and time, no doubt. We, Malaysians have to act; otherwise come 2525, it would be still the same story!

12. #12 by Jong on Sunday, 30 October 2011 - 11:59 pm

Change the Government come GE-13, and sack the whole lot of them! Familiarity breeds contempt; 54 years is too bleddy cushy long!

13. #13 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 12:19 am

Over payments, playing financial hanky-panky – all in d DNA of UmnoB/BN
    How 2 punish civil servants over irregularities n abuses of power – nanti d offices n depts collapse cos no one left 2 hold fort n 2 do work (better 2 keep them 2 do some work, even poor quality work, rather than no work at all, so mooted moo)
    Anyway, no worry, come next Hari Raya, all forgiven n OK once more, abang adik again
    Then same n more serious offences done again, $$ in pockets again, happi2
    Anyone seriously expects dis kind of nonsense 2 stop? Hey, where hv U been, man?Zimbabwe?

14. #14 by k1980 on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 7:53 am

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=22005:best-civil-service-in-the-world-muhyiddin-brags&Itemid=2

But uncle moo declares that the bureaucrats in Bolehland are “the best civil servants in the world”!

15. #15 by k1980 on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 7:57 am

Whatever happened to those dozen or so horses costing RM56,000,000 that the Sports Minister ordered? BBQed into steak during the Sports Ministry Family Day?

16. #16 by k1980 on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 8:12 am

Umi Hafidah paid a sum of RM300,000 as an advance for a concert by an Egyptian singer. So you know why she testified against anwar in 1998

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/192338

17. #17 by GOD on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 11:20 pm

“It has been estimated that the government loses some RM28 billion a year from corruption, malpractices and “leakages””

To stop these people from taking a leak, you will need to remove the urinals.

18. #18 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 10:08 am

Sometimes a NUT can talk sensibly.
    To remove the culprits…just vote them out.