Gutter politics

The Malaysian Insider | October 18, 2011

OCT 18 — There is no denying that Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin is a smart man.

The Oxford graduate has made use of his education and upbringing to shine through the untalented masses that make up the bulk of his party.

Which is why it is a disappointment that the Rembau MP saw nothing wrong with his remarks about allegations involving Lim Guan Eng’s teenage son, and called his critics hypocrites for pointing out that he was perpetrating lies about a member of a political rival’s family.

Earlier today, Lim said he was furious with the “barbaric lies” made about his teenage son by “pro-Umno ferocious beasts,” singling out Khairy and other ruling party leaders for perpetuating the allegations through snide comments on blogs and social media sites.

Is it fine to defend or perpetuate a lie? Or does Khairy know the alleged misconduct is a fact?

If it is, won’t he ensure that justice is done?

After all, Khairy has been the subject of gossip and innuendo from within his party too. Has he forgotten what it is like to be the topic of the day, to be the subject of lies being spread like wildfire?

Or is this all in the name of political expediency? Scoring cheap shots and bringing down rivals with nasty talk and unfounded facts.

Is this what a gentleman does? Is this what intelligent people do? Is this what politicians of a certain pedigree resort to in order to bring down a rival or remain popular with the masses?

Is there nothing sacred anymore in the quest for popularity, position and power? Not just the Umno Youth chief but the vast number of pro-Umno bloggers who are out to keep their party popular by criticising or weaving tales about their opponents.

Perhaps gutter politics is the way to go. Perhaps we have to stop holding KJ or Umno to any standard and no one will be disappointed or surprised by what they do.

What a pity. A young man like KJ is the symbol of Malaysia’s future. But what sort of future can it be with the easy acceptance rather than the rejection of such politics?

1. #1 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 10:53 am

If BN would protect Putrajaya with crushed bodies, perpetuating a lie would not mean anything serious to them.

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:06 am

//A young man like KJ is the symbol of Malaysia’s future. //

Correction; The symbol of Malaysia’s demise.

3. #3 by monsterball on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:09 am

KJ is sex crazy.

4. #4 by bruno on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:11 am

I have always thought of Khairy as a smart young man,with lots of potential to go far in politics.It was unfair for him to be denied a ministerial post as an Umno youth leader.But that was the decision of PM Najib,as he has an understanding with Dr Mahathir.Khairy could have done a lot more than many of the ministers in the present cabinet,and would have been more of an asset to Najib.

But let us assumed that the allegations against LGE’S son were true.Then let the police handled the case.Khairy is not any Tom,Dick or Harry politician.He is the head of Umno youth,with the potential to be one day the PM of Malaysia.A man of his standing should not be involved in accusing or attacking a teenager of a crime,just because the boy happened to be a son of a politician who happens to be on the opposite divide.

Khairy should appologised to the family of LGE and let this matter to rest.It is better to appologised and be shown to be accountable and take responsibility for one’s mistakes.To argue that it is justified for him to attacked the boy will show that he is not ready yet for prime time.

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:24 am

//There is no denying that Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin is a smart man.//

Very true, so smart that he kept his mouth shut over uncle CSL’s hotel room romp with his piaomei, Angela. Don’t tell me he did not view the video distributed throughout the world.

6. #6 by dagen on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:25 am

If umno can lie about a non-existing sodomy act not once but twice and go on to orchestrate a whole court action complete with false evidence and coached witnesses in order to convict and imprison the alleged wrongdoer, what is a mere spin? Nothing. If umno can plunder billiions and billions of the country’s money and claim it as a birth right sanctioned by the constitution, what is a mere defamatory act? Nothing. If umno can proclaim openly its desire to fight for power by whatever means and by crushing some bodies and causing the lost of some lives, what is some mere malicious expressions in the blogsphere? Nothing.

Remember this. Umno is GOD and even the Agung must feel grateful to have umno around!

7. #7 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:36 am

KJ got a place in oxford because he is a son of a diplomat. his standard is only “oxford brookes”actually ,anyone who graduate from oxford will tell you he is a UMNO stooge in oxford. KJ will only become “an officer and a gentleman” if Maya Karin, Badawi’s daughter etc was around. if the allegations about LGE’s son was true ,KJ should ask the so called victim to come forward and offer her 2 million ringgit instead of 200 thousand ringgit,After all this is also one tactic UMNO implemented against their enemy.

8. #8 by passerby on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 12:21 pm

KJ, you are a scumbag to attack a minor who has nothing to do with your kind of dirty politic. Why stoop so low and don’t you have any dignity and pride? You called yourself an umno youth leader and yet you are behaving like a brainless moron.

KJ, you are a disgrace to the Malay and a disgrace to your religion. You are also a disgrace to your Alma Mata and hope Oxford will take note of your disgraceful character and withdraw your worthless degree.

9. #9 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:23 pm

Tall, dark, handsome; a criteria befitting a politician. People would do anything to put you down. Twisted evidences. Stories after stories after stories. Assumptions. What will the future hold for you ?

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:35 pm

And KJ wants to be PM too someday. Don’t look like PM material to me. Underneath everything he is just an ordinary scum, a turd.

Most unworthy representative of his youth movement. No class.

11. #11 by negarawan on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:51 pm

paulkersey :
    KJ got a place in oxford because he is a son of a diplomat. his standard is only “oxford brookes”actually ,anyone who graduate from oxford will tell you he is a UMNO stooge in oxford.

……….and his father could have given a big donation to oxford to get him as pass

12. #12 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:58 pm

// Don’t look like PM material to me. Underneath everything he is just an ordinary scum.//

Actually he looks very much like the Bangladeshi migrant worker who collects the trash in my kampung. Distant relative?

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:59 pm

Umno guys are all cowards. Prey on kids and teenagers. Same with their $ex appetite. Sungguh menjijikan.

14. #14 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 2:10 pm

Drowning KJ wants attention but his boss dont seems to be noticing it. The guy’s desperate, can’t think straight and has forgotten he too has kids.

He wants his much overdue pound of flesh, hasn’t forgotten how you guys ‘exposed’ him going on prowls in vicinity of daughters of deputy PMs, finally ended with one from Sleepyhead!

15. #15 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 2:11 pm

Working parents are really busy…..even busier if they are stationed at different locations….children sometimes get little attention…..

16. #16 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 5:34 pm

And the cintamyfoot type preys on children with little attention. So what’s the difference between you and the beast. B@ngsat.

17. #17 by asia on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 6:49 pm

undi bn

undi berbohong negara

18. #18 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 10:42 pm

undi bn

undi baruah niamah

19. #19 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 10:45 pm

cintasaifulhole lah for world attention!Porkymak!