Quo Vadis Malaysia

Never in recent decades had Merdeka Day on August 31 been marked with a greater sense of angst and disquiet by Malaysians than yesterday because of incessant disunifying developments not only over the past several months but also the past few days.

Malaysians flew the national flag yesterday but most of them have a common disquieting question – Quo Vadis Malaysia?

The third National Day of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should have been celebrated as a high-water point of his administration, coinciding with Hari Raya Aidilfitri festivities, but this was not the case.

In actual fact, many of National Day messages intended to inspire greater national unity and to exhort moderation and tolerance among Malaysians fell flat, failing not only to inspire the people but merely achieved the opposite of evoking alienation and disaffection because they were so empty and hollow, shouting out the loud contrast between word and deed of those in power.

Calls for greater national unity only served to remind Malaysians as to how divisive and discordant the Malaysian landscape had become of late, while exhortations of moderation and tolerance served to highlight the great contradiction of the Prime Minister’s call for a global movement for moderates on the world stage with his dismal lack of political will to provide “moderate” leadership inside the country.

In the run-up to the 54th National Day, irresponsible and reckless attempts to polarize the country along race and religious lines continued unabated as when a government television station, TV1, made the false, sick and diabolical insinuation that a few DAP leaders and the Chairman of Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) were associated with a “Murtads in Malaysia & Singapore” facebook group.

Coming in the wake of an orchestrated mainstream media frenzy of Christian proselytization, including the fake news by TV3 of proselytization by a tuition centre in Kuala Lumpur based on complaints by a non-existent “Surau Al-Musyrikin”, the impunity and immunity with which such incitement and sedition could be hurled freely, irresponsibly and recklessly raises the fundamental question whether the Prime Minister and his administration really stand for the rule of law, moderation, an united and harmonious plural Malaysia.

How can the Prime Minister make his signature 1Malaysia slogan as a nationally unifying and inspiring theme when he dare not openly and courageously defend it in the face of dissent by his Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin with his infamous declaration of being Malay first and Malaysian second?

The MCA President, Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek made the call to all Malaysians to come together to celebrate in the 1Malaysia spirit and strive for peace and harmony, but he chose to close his eyes to the fact that the very elements who had been systematically undermining the 1Malaysia spirit, inter-racial and inter-religious peace and harmony had come from within Barisan Nasional – Umno – for months and years.

Lies have become the staple diet served by the mainstream media, whether the canard that DAP wants to create a Christian Malaysia and have a Christian Prime Minister or the falsehood that the PAS Deputy President Mat Sabu glorified the communists and regarded Datuk Onn Jaafar and Bapa Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman as traitors.

This is not building a 1Malaysia but disunifying our beloved multiracial and multireligious Malaysia nation.

If Najib sincerely and seriously believes in 1Malaysia and holds himself as the Prime Minister for all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion, region or political affiliation, the time is almost up for him to walk the talk to provide leadership or be exposed as an purveyor of empty slogans whether 1Malaysia, NEM, GTP, ETP, PTP, etc.

But all is not bleak and dark. The successful Bersih rally of July 9 is proof that if Najib and those in power refuse to act, then ordinary Malaysians whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans or Orang Asli, whether Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, Toaists, Confucianists or Sikhs are prepared to act in unison to save Malaysia.

Let the overwhelming majority of Malaysians demonstrate that they are the true patriots and nationalists who will not succumb to the irresponsible and reckless politics of race and religion but are united by a common nationalism to work together as Malaysians to build an united, harmonious, just, progressive and competitive Malaysia.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 10:59 am

What is most striking is that Sabahan and Sarawakians are saying that Malaysia is not 54 years old but only 48 years old instead. the USA independence day is recognised as July 4, 1776,- the independence of the 13 colonies but not when the fifty states were formed.

The fact Sabahan and Sarawakians are questioning the formation of Malaysia reflects their alienation and separation from the state of the union, the very origin of their statehood i.e., they are no lest than separatist tendencies.

We are not far from a failed union i.e. the destruction of merdeka itself. What is there to celebrate?

2. #2 by monsterball on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 11:00 am

The double joy….Hari Raya and Merdeka Day..is the best opportunity for Najib to use and unite Malaysians.
    It is best chance for him to be humble ..admit all mistakes…and openly support a Malaysian Malaysia to make sense of his “I Malaysia” slogan.
    It is his best chance to declare he is Malaysian first…Malay second.
    Do that he may win back 10 points instead of loosing 6 and more as time goes by.
    Chua Soi Lek speech?
    What do you expect him to say..if not talking half truths and nonsense?
    This Hari Raya and Merdeka Day…celebrations is so quiet …so unimportant to Malaysians….as all are waiting for 13th GE and sick of dirty race and religion politics.
    In actual fact..the real Merdeka Day is 9th Sept where Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaysia.
    Lets wait for that day…and see what happens.
    All you need is to go to You Tube and view again “You help me. I help You” and his UMNO b Assembly speeches…and know…who Najib really is.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 11:49 am

What joy lah? Pain, unhappiness, distress all round
    Rakyat should fly our national flags UPSIDE DOWN as our nation is in dire distress

4. #4 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 12:17 pm

Qua vadis Malaysia? Malaysia is embarking on an odyssey of no return. The Home Minister has called for immediate investigation on Mat Sabu’s speech while he chose to remain deafening silent on so many incidents clearly intended to cause mischief, tension, mistrust and disunity. Kris, what happened to the investigation by the police and MACC on TBH after the RCI? What happened to the investigation on Christian conspiracy to make Christianity the official religion and a Christian the PM? What happened to the investigation on tear gas and water cannon shot into Tung Shih hospital? What happened to the investigation on proselytisation of Muslim children at a non existent surau in Old Klang Road? What happened to the fake tv news aired over tv1 and tv3. What happened to the communist link by PSM and what happened to “waging war” against the Agong? You talked about been infuriated by Mat Sabu on the role of your grand father. Frankly, UMNO (and much less you) cares about your grandfather or TAR. You can’t see own baloney. You can’t see how money, time and resources were spent trying to prove how one man sodomised another while you leave the state issues to rot. It was stated in the scripture, even an unjust person could see the pain of injustice inflicted on others. Who and what are you?

5. #5 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 12:41 pm

Qua vadis Malaysia?

But bolehlanders no good at Latin…

Should be ‘Yennaiporrenggeh, Malaysia?’

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 12:44 pm

About the only thing I understand about 1malaysia is that it enables a fool like Saifool to somehow or other managed to get his own spermatozook inside his own dubur…. why isn’t his feat registered with the guiness book of records?

7. #7 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 1 September 2011 - 11:13 pm

I remember the show, ” Quo Vadis?” the title is apt: Where are you going, Malaysia? The only thing I can discern from all the actions of these so-called national leaders of the moment: REAL Desperation! Of wanting to hang on something which they themselves have fleeting moments of distrust in their own mind; hence all those incoherent behaviours. They are uncertain o which direction to apearhead on; their only thought is to pull wool over the eyes of the majority of Malaysians in this 21st century of facebook, twitters, linkedon and what have you! Pesonally I think we should give them sufficient length of rope, and we should lay back and see the result!

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Friday, 2 September 2011 - 3:55 am

“Qua vadis Malaysia?” you ask.

Do you remember this karaoke song made by someone for the 2008 elections?

Make sure you play it in full. Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbU8UEtpR6s&feature=related

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Friday, 2 September 2011 - 4:10 am

If you want the ‘real’ version about Malaya, it is here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-FI4Z7kBaM&feature=related

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Friday, 2 September 2011 - 4:11 am

The original version in Dutch is called ‘Burning Sands’ , a sad story, a song that is similar to ‘Copacabana’ by Barry Manilow. The English version “Oh, Malaya” is a more polite version. It is here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgw5PbhlSpI&feature=related

Enjoy.

11. #11 by good coolie on Friday, 2 September 2011 - 9:16 pm

We know that Rome conquered Greece, but the latter, a superior civilisation could ask, “Where are you going, Roman?”
    There is doom and gloom in Malaysia today, and with the approaching GE, the mighty Barisan is asked the inevitable question, “Where are you going?”

12. #12 by aiD_kamikuP on Saturday, 3 September 2011 - 12:24 am

You know the answer?

Overseas, where the stash (read stolen cash) is hidden!!.