Talking a good game with our PM

Shannon Teoh
July 28, 2011

JULY 28 – Football is the people’s game. It’s simple, engaging and enjoyed by both players and supporters.

But Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s football analogy this morning urging Malaysians to move from tolerance to acceptance was none of the above.

He called our diversity the “strength of our nation. As in a football match, people from our various communities help one another for the success of our team.

“If one of us score an own goal, we will lose. This (solidarity) value is important to us all, no matter the colour of our skin or how we look,” said the prime minister.

It remains unclear which team exactly he wants us to play for or support. On the one hand, there is 1Malaysia. There is also the power-sharing model under Barisan Nasional (BN) which isn’t all that bad an idea.

On the other, are the likes of Umno-owned Utusan Malaysia and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s Perkasa. Both are allowed to do or say as they please, like monsters that have grown too big for their master to control. Nothing seems to escape their fury – Chinese, Christians, Hindus, Jews and even Muslims who support PAS.

And we’re not done there.

It’s difficult to imagine that our prime minister has forgotten that even the use of the word Allah or Malay-language bibles by Christians is not tolerated. After all, he just met the Pope, didn’t he?

Meanwhile, Indians had to tolerate being called pariahs in schools as part of the Malay literature syllabus.

Our prime minister cannot have forgotten that he brooked no dissent from Bersih, demanding the electoral reforms group step off the streets and into a stadium, and then telling the movement to gather outside of Kuala Lumpur at the eleventh hour.

When they ignored him, police dispersed tens of thousands with tear gas and water cannon and arrested nearly 1,700 demonstrators, leaving scores injured and an ex-soldier dead.

Malaysians though, are asked to tolerate, no, accept that t-shirts of Chin Peng are a threat to national security, that nothing can be done about inflation and subsidy cuts and that big money deals fall under the Bumiputera agenda.

Just to top up the list, Najib’s administration also does not tolerate alleged Wahhabism or the colour yellow.

I have a football analogy too. Teams wear different colours on the pitch. The point is to ensure there is no mixup and everyone knows who and where their teammates are.

Najib’s mixed signals are leaving the public confused as to whether it’s Team Umno, Team Barisan Nasional, Team Malaysia, or even Team Najib that we’re rooting for.

Maybe if he made a clear stand on all the above instead of washing his hands of the actions of the civil service, police and party machinery, we’d finally be able to figure out who “our team” really is.

Najib is a Manchester United fan. But surely he must know that the Red Devils have not gotten to where they are simply by talking about not scoring own goals.

They get down on the pitch and score a few goals at the other end too.

1. #1 by negarawan on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 9:48 pm

Najip, if I have a C4 now, I’ll put it in your hypocrite mouth. Your words and action are universe apart. Don’t try to fool the rakyat who are already familiar with your empty words and actions. Down with UMNO!

2. #2 by bruno on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 10:25 pm

PM Najib,if only you knew what you were doing instead of just talking ,you wouldn’t be in this mess today.Instead of doing the things you laid out in your agendas,all the good things you said you were going to do for your fellow ctitzens you ended up by letting your enemies troublemakers do the dilly dangling for you.

Now they have gone on to hibernation,relaxing at the beaches enjoying their fruits of labor. And there you are,left dangling by the end of a rope all by yourself.Has your DPM,HM and your Mca lapdogs come out and help you take some of the heat.Have you forgetten the idiom,a friend in need is a friend indeed.If you had the guts to offend your enemies in Umno and do the right thing, you would have your fellow citizens standing right beside and behind you now.

So where are your friends now.They are all standing far away behind, laughing outloud at how stupid a fool you were.In other words you have been played,the way you played your fellow citizens out.

3. #3 by aiD_kamikuP on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 10:53 pm

Manchester United fan!!…this Jibby boy?

Hasn’t he incurred the wrath of whoever that wisecrack of an ar$3h0l3 that declared any inclinations/ties with Red Devil was ha….what was that forsaken word?

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 11:06 pm

A nation with lots of rakyat lost 2 a tiny dot nation – quantity, quality, nak apa

5. #5 by seah_thomas on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 11:45 pm

l fully agree with Najib that in a game, one should not score his own goal or the team will lose.
    So why is Najib and his team keep scoring so many goals, ie own goals?
    He should clarify with the rakyat on his “own goal” scoring passion

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 July 2011 - 11:50 pm

Talking is cheap but to walk the talk is costly.

7. #7 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 12:13 am

As I have said before. If there ever be a sloganeering contest or one leading to PhD, BN especially their Ministers would have won hand down! They actually forgot the time of the world, they keep on babbling without concern that the whole world laugh at them. pleasewake up! This 21st century where even a kid before going to kindergarden can operate a handphone! They are slumbering away with only one thought: how to enrich themselves and raped the nation dry!

8. #8 by madguyho on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 1:11 am

By just talking won’t score any goal. You need to go into the game and kick the ball. To win the match you need a team of competence players. For the past 2 years you are not into the game, only stand at the side line shouting and sloganeering and your team consist too many crooks and morons. Too late, your time is up. GAME OVER!

9. #9 by trublumsian on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 4:23 am

tried following jibby’s so called analogy of football and malaysia’s races and i went HUH what the eff? the guy needs to fire his speech write n stop talking in his namesake “jibberish”.

whatever happened to benchmarking malaysian football against the powerhouses? singapore was an afterthought. now we perennially get our axxes kicked by the tiny dot. oh and we suck in other areas too, education, economy, military, what have you. let’s move the bar to level w/ zimbabwe, congo, and timbuktu. oh yeah we already did.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 4:44 am

Najib is Mahathir’s adopted son.
    Ibrahim Ali is Mahathir’s 22 years product and he stands proudly to be Ali’s party supporter and patron.
    Crooks and morons hail M as their hero.
    All that’s happening are the follow up of his wishes.
    He is quiet because daughter have shamed him….and next to wife….daughter is most needed by him for his illnesses.
    Ibrahim Ali is shouting that Malaysians are jealous of him.
    I wonder what Mahathir thinks about that moon fut face.
    Shout out loud our disappointments with no fear.
    But if you want a good laugh…go to Malaysiakini and read Ali’s comment.

11. #11 by negarawan on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 7:29 am

Najip, you used the football analogy to describe Malaysia aptly. In the last few days itself Malaysian football has been mired with racism and incompetency, and that is analogous to what UMNO has done to Malaysia.

12. #12 by k1980 on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 7:42 am

“Jangan kita buta sejarah dan jangan tak kenang budi. Ini sejarahnya yang kita warisi sehingga hari ini. Kalau pemimpin-pemimpin Perikatan dulu tak buat keputusan ini takkan ada sekolah Cina hari ini. Jangan jadi bangsa yang buta sejarah dan tak kenang budi,” katanya.

http://malaysiakini.com/news/171308

Jibby Boy warns the matasepets (again!) : “….Don’t be ugrateful (to the tuans) ” OR ELSE?

13. #13 by monsterball on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 8:47 am

Malaysia lost to Singapore for a place at the World Cup football.
    Malaysia football is not like before…..for past 30 years..full of race politics…that is always out to please UMNO B politics.

14. #14 by asia on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 8:47 am

He is targeting Malaysia’s billions dollars foreign reserve to rob

If BN dont step down Malaysia go BANKRUPT for sure

15. #15 by Cinapek on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 10:14 am

Najib amazes me. Either he is deaf and dumb or just plain blur. Surely he is aware of the increasingly deterioration of the racism in the country no thanks to his actions (or the lack of it) and yet he can blithely stand in front of a crowd and spew this nonsense and preach as if nothing is happening. He seems completely cut off from the real world. Abdullah I can understand because he is sleepy most of the time. This guy is worse. He is in complete denial.

He comments:

“If one of us score an own goal, we will lose. This (solidarity) value is important to us all, no matter the colour of our skin or how we look,”

Perkasa has been scoring own goals on a regular basis and what does the team manager aka Najib do? He turns a blind eye. His other own player, his deputy, also scored an own goal when he calls himself a Malay first and Malaysian second and what does the team manager do? Buat bodoh.

And the former star player TDM, goes around scoring regular own goals with his extreme racism and the team manager does not even dare raise a squeak.

And what about his Defence minister who questions the loyalty of non Malays? Did i hear or see the team manager lift a finger to set the record straight?

Please lah, as my old man used to advice , if you have nothing useful to say, just keep quiet. That way no one will accuse you of being dumb. Spewing nonsense like this only reflects on your stupidity.

16. #16 by best4rakyat on Friday, 29 July 2011 - 11:41 am

Still continue tactic by fooling and misleading a BN team to fight for UMNO goal but not the goal of pride to all malaysian.

What say you about this so-called ‘sport’ spirit he try to brainwash new malaysian?

Can we believe it after all havoc for 54years Merdeka and 48years for Malaysia?

East Malaysian and many sabahan learnt a good lesson since UMNO landed in Sabah. All are talks to create racism for people of Sabah not like before living in harmony.