Sizzling yellow reception for Najib in UK

MalaysiaKini
Jul 15, 11

Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak’s visit to the United Kingdom was greeted by protesters in yellow condemning the high-handed crackdown on Bersih 2.0 rally last Saturday and demanded electoral reform.

Dozens of protesters, comprising both Malaysians and foreigners, gathered outside Mansion House at London an hour before Najib’s arrivalfor a meeting with the London business community.

Yellow posters and banners, condemning the clampdown on Bersih 2.0 were unfurled, urging the Malaysian government to release six Parti Sosialis (PSM) activists dubbed “EO6” being held under the Emergency Ordinance which allows indefinite detention without trial.

According to the Sarawak Report portal, Najib in a big convoy gave a cheery wave as soon as he spotted the crowd.

It said the protest went off peacefully with the policing minimal and friendly.

According to a protester, PKR youth leader Ginie Lim the police deployed a truck to block the protesters from the view of the delegates attending the meeting.

Yellow begins to reign supreme

There was another peaceful protest at Downing Street, London, where the official residence of UK Prime Minister is located. Najib was there to meet his UK counterpart, David Cameron.

Both leaders signed a memorandum of understanding on enhancing strategic cooperation to combat trans-boundary crime and international terrorism.

Protesters in yellow clothes put up posters, in matching colour, that read “Shame on you, Malaysia PM, clean and fair election and free our leaders now”.

Another protest will be called at the Inter Continental Hotel today in UK time 7pm where Najib is expected to attend a function.

Before the meeting with Cameron, both Najib and his wife, Rosmah Mansor, had an audience with Queen Elizabeth II yesterday in Buckingham Palace, who coincidently wore a bright yellow dress

1. #1 by boh-liao on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 4:48 pm

Well done, HM QEII!
    Plz encourage politicians, civil servants, n potential investors 2 wear YELLOW, or better YELLOW Bersih 2.0, when meeting NR n RM

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 5:06 pm

///Queen Elizabeth II who coincidently wore a bright yellow dress/// Even flowers in vase yellow.

Protocol private secretaries of the Queen give her briefings and make all arrangments of meeting relating to a visiting dignitary. If coincidental, they must be oblivious whats happening!

3. #3 by boh-liao on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 5:11 pm

Ppl must wear YELLOW, d royal color, during d next open houses soon n also during d Merdeka processions all over M’sia

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 6:10 pm

HM QE II wore yellow.

Ha, ha, it was a little cheeky of HM. But she certainly couldn’t resist sending an important message to najib and Rosmah.

Whatever Najib/Mah were thinking, they must be hard pressed to wear a smile. After all, to malaysian government, yellow is illegal.

Hoi Jib, you can legislate to ban colours in malaysia and you can even ban yellow in UK but know that the Queen could have just as easily shaft her middle fingers at your face & tell you to pack yr yella face and go home. But HM, the Queen, was just too polite & so that yellow dress sends a brilliant message: go shaft off.

5. #5 by negarawan on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 6:18 pm

The world must know and take action against the corruption and cruelty of UMNO and its leaders. To HRM the Queen, well done and thank you from the Malaysia people for your strong message against Najip and UMNO! The world is watching you Najip and your corrupt UMNO. Release all wrongfully detained PSM members or NATO will send missiles to your house soon and you can join the ranks of Ghadafi!

6. #6 by tak tahan on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 8:14 pm

LOL.Malu lah ‘blur blur’ Prime Minister and Fat First Lady.I hope they would kena some more kau kau one.Don’t forget to wear Yellow attire tomorrow,every one.

7. #7 by monsterball on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 8:35 pm

Queen of England wore yellow!!
    The whole world saw how she greeted Najib and Rosmah….dressed in full yellow.
    Queen feels for Malaysians.
    What a picture to look with great satisfactions.
    Najib can keep ignoring….pretending …smiling.
    Come 13th GE he will be crying.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 9:09 pm

Cintanegara and the stranger to ‘the men’ should have accompanied Najis and fatty Rose to stir more shit there.

9. #9 by monsterball on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 9:42 pm

Yellow is the sacred colour for Buddhists and Hindus.
    Americans tie a yellow ribbon on oak trees to pray for their love ones at war..to come home safe and sound.
    Buddhist Monks yellow.
    It is good our evil cruel corrupted government cannot see that.
    It makes the job easier for Malaysians to vote for Rights over Wrongs…Good over Evil….Yellow against Red….BERSIH against KOTOR.
    Yellow may not be banned now…but Najib have shown his true colour.
    Queen of England ..wearing full yellow is sarcasm at it’s best to Najib and Rosmah.
    Long Live….Queen Elizabeth 2.

10. #10 by dcasey on Friday, 15 July 2011 - 10:13 pm

Next the Queen of England, QEII, will proclaim that the official colour of the Commonwealth will be YELLOW and all flags lining the streets on all Commonwealth events will be that of yellow colour. Try that for size Najib hahaha

11. #11 by aiD_kamikuP on Saturday, 16 July 2011 - 12:58 am

The collective wisdom of those in the Foreign Office couldn’t have been overlooked by the palace secretaries. No way a coincidence!
    But over the years she must have mellowed quite a bit considering that 13 years ago she only sent her rep to grace sukom craftily avoiding a handshake with a certain murderer.

12. #12 by Peter on Saturday, 16 July 2011 - 1:11 pm

Home Minister Kerishammuddin Hussein, where are you hiding? You are supposed to protect your tainted cousin, Najib. Order the police to arrest Queen Elizabeth II for wearing yellow.

Queen for Bersih? Maybe yes, maybe no (if one wishes to find out, one needs to ask Her Majesty), but it doesn’t matter what the answer is.

13. #13 by raven77 on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 6:32 pm

Queen was just trying to teach Jibby some basic manners….DONT SHOOT YOUR OWN PEOPLE!!!!

Even we British didnt shoot innocent Malayans when we ran the country….how come you, Jibby and UMNO are doing this ?