Now what, Mr Prime Minister

by Lucius Goon
Jul 04, 2011

JULY 4 — Unbelievable. Incredible. Astounding. These should be the headlines in the lamestream media following Prime Minister Najib Razak’s u-turn on the Bersih rally on July 9.

It now transpires that he says that Bersih organisers can go ahead and have their gathering in a stadium.

“We are willing to provide a stadium for them to rally but why choose to protest in the streets.

“The government is not against them rallying in a stadium from morning until night. Just don’t hold street protest as it is very risky to the nation,” Najib was quoted as saying by The Malaysian Insider today.

This after he called respected lawyer Ambiga Sreenivasan an enemy of Islam and allowed his government to demonise her and others as enemies of the state.

This after his cousin, Hishammuddin Hussein declared Bersih an illegal organisation and encouraged the police to round up anyone wearing a yellow Bersih T-shirt.

This after the government and police colluded and came up with some false charges of reviving communism and Christian funding for Bersih and justified the use of the emergency detention laws against an elected representative and social activists.

I can imagine that Najib’s aides will try and spin his offer as the sign of a reasonable leader. I am sorry but I can’t buy that version. The handling of the Bersih event has been a joke, showing up cabinet ministers as incompetent and untruthful.

Wouldn’t it have been easier for the Najib administration to offer Bersih the use of the stadium and speak conciliatory language two weeks ago?

Or did Najib and his cabinet believe that ordinary Malaysians would be cowed by communist regime tactics?

Instead they allowed Ibrahim Ali and Perkasa and other individuals like Ali Rustam to run roughshod over the sensibilities of Malaysians.

What a shameful performance by the Najib government.

1. #1 by DemoCrazyman on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 8:52 am

Sorry too. I don’t believe a word from Najib. Bersih is about getting a clean ‘referee.’ we r not getting one becoz of people like him. His continued bribery and promise of funds during by-elections are proof enough for me doubt his sincerity. ‘U help me, I help u.’ Loss

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 8:52 am

I think at this point its unproductive to simply attack Najib for what has transpired. That is not how gentleman behave in victory, and its victory for Bersih and the rakyat no matter what anyone says. Najib/UMNO/BN/Perkasa can only ruin things for themselves from now on. Bersih and everyone involved need to be far and above board while resolute because its what got Bersih there.

What is dissapointing is that Najib after failures leading to now continue to fail – keeping distance from the problem instead of taking leadership and managing the situation. To have others do the talking for him both in public and private instead of stepping up to the plate and deal with his own demons. And the ones he has chosen to do the talking are really really bad at it.

It proves that he and his team are only themselves to be blamed when they are forced to leave office and they will be leaving soon – if they don’t get it then all the more the deserve it.

3. #3 by DemoCrazyman on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 8:58 am

Sorry too. I don’t believe a word from Najib. Bersih is about getting a clean ‘referee.’ we r not getting one becoz of people like him. His continued bribery and promise of funds during by-elections are proof enough for me doubt his sincerity. ‘U help me, I help u.’ Loss of immigration record, PI Bala, submarine commission, etc. Forget it, Najib is not fit to be a PM.

4. #4 by lkt-56 on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:01 am

Very poorly judged responses to Bersih 2.0 resulting in this about turn. The irony is that the side that wields the power displayed fear and behaved irrationally while the other side stood quietly resolute in their conviction. Their only strength is their virtue.

The administration has done tremendous damage to their image and no amount of spinning will ever be able to convince the citizen of their ‘good’ intention.

I am sure we all are relieved that good sense prevail this time. We are after all able to sit down and talk like sensible adults. ;)

5. #5 by bruno on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:11 am

All the damaged that can be done to hurt Umno politically has been done.And the damage done to them is not by Bersih or PR.It is done by Abrahim Ali and his Perkasa.Then came the Datuk T trio.Then it was followed by Umno youth by sending its 600 gangster bikers aka mat rempit to surroUnd the PKR HQ.Then they threatened the rally organisers and PKR leaders.If not enough they even threatened to burn down the PKR’s HQs too.Then we have Hisham and his merrymen chasing and arresting non law breaking civil activists on trump up charges too.

The Umno GOM condoning all the criminal acts done by their Umno members and its affiliate members and paid thugs are more than enough to drive mass support away from them.By arresting innocent citizens for idiotic thump up charges and letting the real criminals and Umno bred terrorists free and running loose to cause more havoc and panic is the norm of the Umno GOM.No fair minded or fair thinking Malaysian would ever support this lowdown Umno GOM.

By taking up Najib’s offer to hold the rally in a stadium is better than having a confrontation with the authorities.After all it is the numbers that is going to show up that is important.Not the numbers that is going to get hurt or get assested.Whoever the people is going to vote for in the coming GE,their minds are more or less made up.So let’s have cooler heads prevailed and not up the tempo.

6. #6 by wanderer on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:32 am

You lost UMNO PM….the message from Bersih has now covered more areas as intended by these group of NGOs.
    UMNO have disgraced the nation and making country in the eyes of the world a pariah State. Najib, “It’s too late baby, it’s too late now”…

7. #7 by wanderer on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:37 am

Moooohuddin, draw you dagger be “Mark Anthony”!! Kerala Indian man must be grinning from cheek to cheek…at last! one of his siblings will one day claim the racist throne.

8. #8 by best4rakyat on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:38 am

“Bersih is not about one person but the rakyat. The rally must go on for the good of our future!”-Quoted in the comments by a NEGARAWAN
    It’s true and Bersih2.0 has started well for such a move on ‘clean and fair’election rally for Malaysia.

But they were twisted,condemned,poltically accused to link with opposition political parties,foreign elements etc etc.
    Also,instead other groups such like Perkasa and specially UMNO or BN parties with its members have tried to find way to pressure Bersih2.0 and Ambiga S using force.
    Worst was the arrest carried out by police and related accusation by Prime Minister suppose to be as leader by eaxample for all malaysian instead treat it politically to bring in UMNO millions as a threat.Also he had falsely tried to link Ambiga S as one anti-Islam!

Now Bersih2.0 has accomplished their task finally with response to respect DYMM YDP Agong statement and will seek audience sooner to submit a memorandum to the King.
    But many wonder what then just an end here though Bersih has done well non-politically aligned but is condemned as with political links.

By review in opinion the course of action started now its responsibility should change hand to be taken over by any political party.From here to continue for liberty appeal need be stressed following proceeding action is new and ongoing have nothing to do with Bersih2.0 but to fulfill any unaccomplished mission for a
    new motto now could be known as “CLEAN AND FAIR NATION”.

Why “nation” now?

1.Since some has started to link any issue politically it is good to wrestle politically then.
    If UMNO can do it anytime not during election and BN so to bring unreasonable accusation with unwanted response from its members then why not those opposition be given a fair and balance political challenge now!

2.We have seen abuse or naive action of present government bodies even before latest action on ‘yellow shirts’ and many unsolved cases or bias with unjust responsibilities to serve people.

3.Also some intent try to call for revoke of citizenship that is unfairly act by certain group for one who is under the civil right born as anak Malaysia here.Who are they to call for the revoke?May be a total review into the judiciary system shortfall because of certain political abuse by ruling party.
    Here the law expert and group such like ‘BAR’ with its council should have a better role to play!

Opinion is not necessary to have it on 709 now since is a continuity but for a ‘clean and fair’ nation. A suggestion that if any may have it on 831 truly reflect Merdeka into new era that true malaysian all should be patriotic to ‘Merdeka’ Malaysia more than anyone.
    May be all can response peacefully with any symbolic ‘yellow’ throughout whole nation – yellow hats,yellow ties,yellow bags or anything other than just yellow shirts to reflect!
    Also never forget to continue this unaccomplished mission on coming GRE as is going to be the best time for liberty whether politically or right as a responsible citizen for our future liberty!

9. #9 by best4rakyat on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 9:44 am

There is a saying:
    “They allow them to set fire here and there but for us innocent just to light candle is guilty”!

Isn’t this so true today?

10. #10 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:20 am

Someone in Curi-Curi Wang Malaysia did it extraordinarily awhile ago. I copied & saved it. S/he did a great job by summarizing this list…

The list of ills: 60 and growing

1. PKFZ (Port Klang Free Zone) Scandal – more than RM12.5 billion incurred and counting

2. Scorpene submarines – costing approximately RM7.6 billion

3. Commission for the Scorpene submarine – RM500 million

4. Loss of Bumiputera equity – RM52 billion

5. Limbang offshore blocks L and M given to Brunei – RM320 billion

6. Bank Negara Forex loss – RM6 billion

7. Perwaja Steel Scandal – RM15 billion

8. 60,000 Approved Permits given to UMNO-linked firms – worth RM2.4 billion

9. BMF Scandal (Carrian group) – RM4 billion

10. Double-tracking railway project from Ipoh to southern Thailand – RM12.5billion

11. Purchase of 6 EMU locomotives – irregularity at a cost of RM500 million

12. Sudden petrol price hike of RM0.79 sen in June 2008

13. Khir Toyo’s mansion – RM24 million

14. Menara Warisan or mega-tower – RM5 billion

15. Bail-out of GLCs and BN’s crony-corporations – too massive and too many

16. Anwar’s black-eye incident (beaten up by police while in prison)

17. Jensen Chia Buang Hing (he was also beaten up police – December 2010)

18. Altantuya Shariibuu (mother of two, murdered, blown to bits by C4)

19. Teoh Beng Hock (MACC deathfall vitcim)

20. Kugan Ananthan (only 22, but the cops beat him until his kidneys failed)

21. Aminulrasyid (15-years old, but shot by cops)

22. Prime Minister Najib Razak’s aide Nasir Safar’s statement: “Chinese came here to sell their bodies and Indians came to beg”

23. BiroTata Negara deputy director Hamim Husin’s statement: Chinese are “si mata sepet” and Indians “si botol”

24. Missing jet engines (stolen directly from under the airforce’s nose)

25. Perak illegal and undemocratic power-grab in February 2009: Remember Perak, remember the Injustice!

26. Dr Mahathir,Taib Mahmud, Musa Aman, Daim Zainuddin and other BN politicians

27. Lingam-gate Scandal: Correct, correct, correct or Korek, korek, korek

28. Sodomy I and Sodomy II trials

29.Stamping of Bibles: ‘ Bible smelly’ said Hishammuddin and ‘Christian-state’ false news from Utusan and Umno bloggers

30. Perkasa, Pembela: Increasingly anarchist stance due to the lack of punishment by the authorities

31. PSD scholarships fiasco

32. Datuk T trio and the sex video

33. Cow-head protests, vandalism at churches and mosques

34. 1 Malaysia email granted to ‘broke’ firm Tricubes Bhd (GN3 company)

35. Stadium roof collapse in Terengganu

36. Prison break-out in 2011: More than 100 illegals escaped from detention centres

37. Death of crimebuster and Penang’s top cop, Albert Mah (burglars who slashed him to death were never apprehended)

38. Flip-flop of key education policy in the teaching of Maths and Science in English

39. BERSIH 2.0 Rally: To demand for free and fair elections

40. Anti-ISA Rally

41. Water Rally (to demand that the government returns water rights to the rakyat)

42. Eye-on-Malaysia Ferris Wheel (white elephant in Melaka)

43. Bukit Merah-Papan rare earth tragedy in Perak (MItsubishi) and now Gebeng in Pahang (Lynas)

44. Bakun Dam (destruction of environment, displaced peoples)

45. Female nude-squats – November 2005 and June 2011

46. Sedition Act

47. ISA (Internal Security Act)

48. OSA (Official Secrets Act)

49. PPPA (Printing Presses and Publications Act)

50. Kazakhstan engagement party for daughter: Did PM Najib and wife Rosmah use public funds?

51. Abuse of the New Economic Policy/Dasar Ekonomi Baru

52. Buying of votes in 10th Sarawak State Elections in April 2011

53. No Minimum Wage Policy for workers

54. No media coverage for Opposition parties during election campaigns

55. Wasted money spent on 1Million Youths Gathering – more than RM25 million – May 2011

56. Hike in Electricity Tariffs on June 1, 2011 and more upcoming hikes in sugar, diesel and petrol

57. Asian Petroleum Hub in Johor – RM1.4billion, now in receivership

58. Various Malaysian corridors started by Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi now empty, unutilised and vacant

59. Churning out acronyms, i.e. NEM, GTP, ETP, EPP, NKRA, NKEA, and TEM (Terrible Economic Management – this one is given by the rakyat)

60. Constant price hikes especially in basic necessities and foodstuffs: Implementation of GST (Goods and Services Tax) soon to come

BN/UMNO suckers born without testicles/balls, thus why they suck… They suck “this” and “that” with $$$… They are sucking happily and continuously without anyone stopping them….

11. #11 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:22 am

I wouldn’t trust this Prime Sneak with a 10 foot pole. Thus far his actions has given the impression of a devious and sly mind.

His comments after the release of the titah from the YDP Agung indicates clearly the intention to twist His Majesty’s instructions and buy time and try to manipulate and corner Bersih2 to appear as being defying the YDP Agung.

He will delay the “discussions” until the very last minute and offer some ridiculous compromise that he knows is unacceptable to Bersih and hope Bersih will react by proceeding with the rally. He will then use this as an excuse to accuse Bersih of defying His Majesty and cast Bersih as being anti Monarchy. They will then go to town with this accusation during election campaigning in the rural Malay heartlands. For examples, look no further than the Datuk T trial where they use a sham trial to further paint AI blacker.

Bersih, don’t be emotional and fall into his trap. Think rationally, be patient and show him up for what he is.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:28 am

只许州官放火,不许百姓点灯
    上者可为非作歹,在下者却处处受限

13. #13 by Taikohtai on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:46 am

Najib blinked.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:57 am

a

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 10:58 am

First, HH says BERSIH is illegal…..like communists.
    Then, najib, says it is alright (read: legal) to have demo in stadium.

Hello Flip-flop cousins: jadi macam mana? Legal, tak-legal or I don’t know and I don’t care?

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 11:03 am

These rouges and thieves are as cunning as foxes…bully…provoke…drum up all sorts of nonsense to have reasons to arrest.
    You name them…these cunning dirty double headed rouges and thieves have developed their mentalities and behaviors to be low class actors to fool Malaysians.
    They bully and behave like little dictators..but at the back of their minds…they KNOW…they need voters…the vast vast majority of them…like 92% what Abdullah Badawi…..if not 72% also can.
    But Dollah’s 92% was a fact…and he knew how smart voters are when he did not deliver.
    Smartly step down…and let Najib try his art…how to fool Malaysians.
    R-A-H are moderates …M-A-N are rouges ……greedy and obsessed how to steal more and more to buy votes and loyalties.
    Idea worked for the leader of M-A-N…Mahathir…and so he enjoyed 22 years as an established Dictator with Malaysians tolerating and waiting for a miracle.
    That miracle came when Anwar Ibrahim was released from jail….and we know all the events.
    “N” is the end of RAHMAN.
    They know it…Malaysians know it…and Najib is trying to go against it to save himself and family too.
    These rouges and thieves made their families..relatives and chosen cronies multi millionaires.
    Yes…M-A-N is the starting of the Devil’s work to upset RAHMAN our beloved Father of Independence.
    If there is a God…surely God must help the god against evil.

17. #17 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 11:11 am

Sometimes the moderator is so unreasonable and scared stiff to release comments for personal likes and dislikes too.
    I am sure few very disappointed focusing to put out a fine comment….and then see comment under moderation or thrown out.
    I am hopeful and glad 13th GE is near….to cast my votes between the two Evils…for a change in Govt…try it as there is nothing to loose.
    Vast majority voters are not political nor attached to a political party.
    LKS arrogance have made him lost an election.
    Lets hope he learn a lesson from that.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 11:38 am

Hello najib, if BERSIH is not illegal (bcos u invite them to rally in stadium), then why do u arrest hundreds of people for wearing yellow T-shirts even before they assemble in stadium.

Aiyah, najib betul-betul clown-lah.

19. #19 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 11:45 am

When all is said and done, jibby jib is just a lalang. From the start it was made known to him that bersih is only about fair and free election and nothing else; and that the rally would be peaceful. Jibby jib should just allow it.

But hey jib. Let me warn you. Bersih is not meant to be a one-rally gathering. More than that, actually. Bersih was and still is about addressing the present unfair and unbalanced election process and procedures adopted by umno and imposed on the rest of the political parties. Bersih activities will go on until appropriate laws are put in place to forbid the current imbalance created by umno (with commensurate punishments, of course).

So dont you ever dare for even a moment to think that “Ah you nak rally, I kasi you rally. Sudah. Habis cerita.” Oh no jib. Cerita tak akan habis sehingga matlamat dicapai!

20. #20 by balance88 on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 12:04 pm

I fully agree with the comments of Marina Mahathir. We aim to be a developed nation but are embracing 3rd world thinking and methods to quash peaceful demonstration. About time we behave like the 1st world if we are to progress.

Peaceful demonstration is the right of the people. Bersih is just pushing forth for a free and fair election. What is wrong with that?

Malaysia is already a joke and our so-called leaders are a bigger joke themselves. Spinning reasons after reasons to justify arrest. Obviously playing a trial and error game hoping that one of the reasons works with the people. From communism to enemy of Islam and only god knows what next. Only 2 words summarizes our leaders – stupidity and foolishness.

Melaka MB is even a bigger joke. He calls for the revocation of Ambiga’s citizenship. If so, then we should also revoke the citizenship of all corrupted leaders. These people siphon funds into their pockets leaving little in the coffers for the people which could lead to social unrest if people on the street cannot put food on their table – a definite threat to national security, I would say.

Indeed justice in Malaysia is no longer just. Datuk Ts scot free! Perkasa leader – let off & no action! PKZD case – silent! Bersih – for a free election – Guilty as charged with whatever charges that can be thought of.

I question the intelligence of foreign investors who want to invest here. We need 1st world thinking if we are to progress. 1st world thinking requires intelligence, forward thinking and maturity. 3rd world thinking requisites are stupidity, immaturity and lots and lots of foolishness!

21. #21 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 12:20 pm

Joker, no principle, no hood, shame – what say U, no matter 1, NR off 2 C d Pope 2 impress Catholics, come back, call 4 GE
    Altantuya Shaaribuu will b by his side in Vatican City

22. #22 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 12:30 pm

Now NR asked M’sian Indians 2 place their trust n hope on him n his gomen, wooow

He also invited M’sians 2 share their views n ideas with him
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/7/5/nation/9032205&sec=nation
    Dat’s nice, wonder if he wishes 2 know abt rakyat’s view on BERSIH 2.0

Now d SIL offers 2 work with BERSIH if rally called off – WHAT? BERSIH OK now, no more illegal or threat 2 nation (actually = UmnoB) as claimed not too long ago? Otak apa?

23. #23 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 6:03 pm

Thank you…..thank you…Moderator to approve my 11.03 message.
    Now I am inspired again.

24. #24 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 6:35 pm

“Now what, Mr.Prime Minister?”..is the heading of this post.
    Now he needs to eat his words.
    Not the first time and you can be sure…not the last one too.
    But before than…he is learning to play Indian drums…wooing Indian votes.
    I think he has given up Chinese votes and PAS Malays.

25. #25 by monsterball on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 6:37 pm

Plus Anwar leading keDAILan to take away more Malay votes.
    What does this mean to Najib?
    Ibrahim Ali should know.
    He is the spokesman for Mahathir.

26. #26 by rockdaboat on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 7:10 pm

Stupid people always do stupid things!