What Is This Country Coming To?

by Kee Thuan Chye
Malaysian Digest
01 July 2011

WHAT is this country coming to? Many Malaysians are asking this question in view of the numerous actions taken by the police over the past week.

First, they arrested 30 Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members, including MP for Sungai Siput Dr Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj, and are now investigating them for resurrecting Communism and waging war against the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. While on their way to a Bersih roadshow in Penang, they were arrested in Kepala Batas and found to have in their possession T-shirts bearing faces of Chin Peng and Rashid Maidin. They have been remanded for seven days.

Communism? That’s crazy talk. The Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) is long dead and gone. Chin Peng is a geriatric and Rashid Maidin is dead. The party disbanded in 1989 after signing a peace treaty with the Malaysian Government, and its members were allowed to reside in Malaysia if they chose to do so. After 22 years of its being defunct and virtually forgotten, why is Communism still a threat today?

And if it were – by some stretch of the imagination – are we to believe that this threat is manifest in these 30 PSM members among whom 14 are women, the oldest aged 64?

A friend of mine who was at the court in Penang when the 30 were brought in told me they were just “a motley crew” of people who didn’t look like they would carry a stick to fight, much less wage war against the Agong. “When I saw that, my faith in the system hit rock-bottom,” he said.

“And to see Jeyakumar in handcuffs was too much,” he added. “He alone is worth many of our people in power put together. Top scorer in exams, a doctor, a man who has dedicated his life to helping poor people – he doesn’t deserve this.”

Like my friend, I too knew Jeyakumar while at school. He was one year my junior at the Penang Free School, and I remember him well as a thoughtful, gentle person. He was soft-spoken, cerebral, and humble despite his well-to-do background.

I find it hard to believe that someone like him would wage war against the Agong. Only someone stupid or deranged would consider doing that. He might be a socialist, but that’s a far cry from being a Communist. Don’t the police and the Government know the difference? To all intents and purposes, he is probably someone who transcends labels and merely cares for the poor.

And why remand him and the others for a week? The High Court has since upheld this decision and said it is correct. Justice Zamani A Rahim said the case was serious. “It involves the security of the country, of everyone – you and me and our children.” These 30 people are so dangerous that they are a threat to us and our children?

Case number 2: Sasterawan Negara (National Laureate) A Samad Said was called in by the police and told he was being investigated for sedition because he had read part of a poem at the Bersih launch on June 19.

When has reading a poem been seditious? In any case, did it provoke an uprising afterwards?

Look at the poem. Can it threaten national security?

Unggun-bersih

Semakin lara kita didera bara –
kita laungkan juga pesan merdeka:
Demokrasi sebenderang mentari
sehasrat hajat semurni harga diri.

Lama resah kita – demokrasi luka;
lama duka kita – demokrasi lara.
Demokrasi yang angkuh, kita cemuhi;
suara bebas yang utuh, kita idami!

Dua abad lalu Sam Adams berseru
(di Boston dijirus teh ke laut biru):
Tak diperlu gempita sorak yang gebu,
diperlu hanya unggun api yang syahdu.

Kini menyalalah unggun sakti itu;
kini merebaklah nyala unggun itu.

Translation:

Cleansing Fire

Even as we are lashed by the sickening fire,
we still shout out the message of Merdeka:
Democracy as brilliant as the sun,
united in purpose as pure as self-worth.

Long have we been restless – democracy is wounded;
Long have we been sad – democracy is ill.
Democracy that is arrogant disgusts us;
We dream of a free voice that is full and strong!

Two centuries ago Sam Adams declared
(in Boston while tea was being poured into the blue sea):
No need for noisy, trivial cheering,
all that’s needed is a serene bonfire.

Light now that magic fire;
illuminate to others the flame of that fire.

Samad Said was prompted to say to the media afterwards that instead of intimidating writers, the action the police had taken against him could spur fellow writers to use the power of literature to state their views openly.

Indeed, it is time for Malaysian writers to come forward and defend what is right. All those who have been conferred the Sasterawan Negara award, like Shahnon Ahmad, Abdullah Hussain, Muhammad Haji Salleh, Noordin Hassan, Anwar Ridhwan and the newly installed Kemala should use their pen to “menyala unggun sakti” and “merebak nyalanya”.

Case number 3: More than a hundred people have been arrested for wearing Bersih T-shirts. Eight of them were among 14 people giving out the national flag at a wet market in Sungai Siput. All 14 were arrested.

But what is the offence? Which part of the law says it is an offence to wear Bersih T-shirts in public?

Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein has come up with the justification. “If the Bersih T-shirt is related to an illegal activity, then wearing it is illegal,” he said. Is that logical? What “illegal activity”? The Bersih rally hasn’t happened yet. Until the rally is carried out, no illegal activity has been performed yet. So how could he declare it illegal? On that score, why should it be illegal to wear a Bersih T-shirt?

As an analogy, if I were to express an intent to do something illegal, like smoking marijuana openly in public, but I haven’t done it yet, would it make sense for the police to arrest me? If they should do so, the case would be thrown out of court straight away. Doesn’t Hishammuddin, who is a lawyer himself, know that?

Case number 4: The police raided the Bersih secretariat and detained its staff members. According to Bersih, the cops did not produce a search warrant. They confiscated Bersih T-shirts, leaflets and other paraphernalia.

Why raid only the Bersih secretariat? Why not raid those of Perkasa and Umno Youth as well since they will also be holding rallies? And why did the cops not produce a search warrant but instead threaten to break open the gates?

Later that day, the announcement came from the Inspector-General of Police, Ismail Omar, that the police would not only arrest those wearing Bersih T-shirts but also those using any medium to promote the Bersih rally. “Not just T-shirts but shoes, cars, buses. If these are the tools used to encourage people to gather (illegally), this amounts to sedition,” he said.

Shoes too? Sedition? For dressing as one likes? Aren’t Malaysians allowed the freedom to dress as they like? Are there new laws that have come into place without our knowing?

Gopeng MP Lee Boon Chye was arrested for wearing a yellow T-shirt the next day. It did not even have “Bersih” printed on it, it was just a plain yellow collared T-shirt. The police told him he was arrested for illegal assembly as he was with three other people at a wet market. Two of them wore Bersih T-shirts and the third a white shirt. Ipoh OCPD Asst Comm Azisman Alias said, “The shirts are evidence that they are trying to get people to take part in the illegal rally.” Is that all it takes?

What is happening to our beloved country? Is it all turning into a farce? Do we laugh or cry?

My friend in Penang was full of admiration for the 30 PSM members arrested in Kepala Batas. He said when they were marched out to face the music, they were not cowed by it. “I tell you, I never thought I would have lived to see this. Despite the situation they were in, they were shouting, ‘Hidup rakyat! Hidup rakyat!’,” he said. “I’ll never be able to forget that.”

Now the question is, will the rakyat be able to survive the power of the police? And also that of the State?

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:16 pm

Dis country has GONE 2 D DOGS
    “Bad things happen when good people don’t speak out”
    What’s happening 2 Michael n his colleagues? Polis getting ‘confessions’ fr them?
    Events in d last 2 weeks convinced us BIG CHANGE must happen in d next GE

Look at Thailand, her ppl have spoken
    They r more matured politically n democratically than us
    Where got banning dis n dat 1, banning yellow n red 1 2 hang on 2 power

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:28 pm

Question:..What is the country coming to?
    Nothing wrong with the country and people.
    Answer:…The question should be..”What is the government coming to?”
    The answer is..the government is coming to an end..and Najib cannot face the facts….so he creates as much problems as possible..to confuse the people..to upset the country…from nothing into something..hoping people be afraid for changes and for peace and harmony…vote him as PM.
    Question:….Will the Rakyat be able to survive the power of the Police?
    Answer:….I am sure Rakyat will survive…fed up and eager to cast their 13th GE votes. The feelings that all races come together as Malaysians and want a united Malaysia is very great..after 12th GE.
    The Government is the one afraid to loose a democratic election.
    The Police force in total do not support violence and deaths. Arrests ….detain..to obey their Commander…..Najib…OK…but once deaths starts in the streets….it will be too late..and Police in total know tat too well. They will never let that happen.
    As such…People respect the Police Force..but not afraid of them. Why should Malaysians be afraid of the Police?
    They are supposed to protect them.
    It is the few chosen Police leaders by Najib as IGP and Deputy IGP that are showing their double standards..spoiling the Police reputation.
    On the bigger picture….not all police officers enjoy their bad reputation…and the know the Rakyat is not the cause of it.

3. #3 by voice2009 on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:29 pm

Highly confirmed. This country Malaysia admin by highly corrupted politicians and criminals by law

Don’t just keep quiet sit there

Do something for your children and families?

Do you want you children live govern by corrupted politicians and criminals by law?

They have robbed Malaysia 100 billions or more 200 billions from Malaysia treasury

Malaysia going to bankrupt soon if you are just keep sit there quietly

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:41 pm

Yeah what’s this country coming to? People who profess peaceful intentions are harrassed and those who evince opposite behaviour are let off.

Utusan for example reported that the Grandmaster of Silat said that the exponents were the third line of defence in the country, after the police and military, to ensure national security.“We maintain our stand to go to ‘war’ if they still want to proceed with this illegal rally. If it happens, I cannot guarantee I can control the emotions of my members because they have been taught to act when faced with opposition”. This is a veiled threat to violence. Then we have 100 bikers & 20 cars claiming that they were UMNO Youth threatening to burn PKR headquaters in Merchant Square. Another threat of violence. Not to mention we have Perkasa deliberately marching against & UMNO youth, to wear red tee shirts as if the remind the fight between yellow and red shirts in the capital of our Northern neighbour.

Yet authorities want to arrest those (non violent) wearing yellow signifying support for Bersih. When they act against those wearing yellow they forget that in Malaysia yellow is a colour of Royalty (Kedaulatan); in investiture ceremonies dominant colour is yellow. Bersih chose yellow because they propose to march to the Istana. Isn’t attacking colour yellow a smack of disrespect to Royalty in this context?

5. #5 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:51 pm

Every body just wears yellow on July 9, whether at home, in coffee shops, in the park, in the market, on the street, just wear yellow. We shall then see what the police is going to do? Next we choose a day of the week when every one just wears yellow, at home, in the office, in the park and wherever until the 13th election is held, how about it?

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:59 pm

Want to know what its coming to? Ask parents of prodigal children because that is what our government – prodigal inheritors – undeserving to inherit what was built before that will waste away the family hard-built fortune before they will ever admit its any of their fault…

7. #7 by DAP man on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 9:20 pm

Najib the mad PM fiddles as Malaysia burns.
    The police run berserk at the sight of yellow just like bulls that go crazy at the sight of the red cloth.

8. #8 by bruno on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 9:42 pm

This country is coming to be a lawless land aka cowboy town for the Umno bred thugs aka cowboys.Cowboys is the nickname given to Indonesian thugs,rapists and murderers running loose on Indonesian streets in the sixties and seventies.Our neighbours Indonesia and Thailand which used to encountered this type of problems have moved on.It is our country which is moving backwards.

9. #9 by negarawan on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:06 pm

Just like in the many cases that UMNO has brought upon Anwar Ibrahim, the case against Jeyakumar and the other PSM members bears the same signature – trumped up charges. From Pontius Pilate, to Mahathir and Najib, this is probably the world’s oldest profession. The only way to stop the rot is to vote UMNO out in the coming GE!

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:14 pm

Kee: “What “illegal activity”? The Bersih rally hasn’t happened yet. Until the rally is carried out, no illegal activity has been performed yet. ”

Kerismuddin, where is the ‘actus reus’?

Aiyoyo……najib and Hisham r just plain bonkers. They are sending malaysia to hell. Let’s pray they go there first.

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:20 pm

Najib and Hishamuddin, the next time you gu walk past me and you notice someone elderly turn his back ….know that I don’t even want to look into your faces. It’s that bad.

I am too cultured to spit in yr faces or ask police to use batons on helplless innocent folks.

Don’t play, play with God. You laugh now but God is not mocked. HE will have the last laugh. What you thinks is his patience, he is merely lending you a rope long enough to trip yourself.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:30 pm

The country will remain a Third World state if the PM selects unqualified, narrow-minded ministers and IGP, who have no concept of human rights, civil liberties and democracy, to run the country.

By 2020 we may have our MRT (mass rail transit system), high speed broadband, high earning and whatnot. However, if those who have power over us are still “wallowing” in Third World mentality, banning this and that and setting road blocks here and there, we are no different from countries such as
    Myanmar, North Korea and Zimbabwe. We may have a First World facade but devoid of First World substance such as freedom of expression, human rights, human dignity, racial equality etc.

13. #13 by tak tahan on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:43 pm

Next could be the final desperate attempt from hisaputing’ last stretch of imaginative bogey crap:Chin Peng is aided by electronic wheel chair leading the revival communist regiment all the way even though slowly in space yet steady,crossing through Thai border to stage war against The Agong.Among them marching,A Samad is solemly reading the Bersih poem while cute cheerleader and designated group blissfuly cheering and sloganeering ‘Pasti!Boleh!Hidup communist!’ to keep the so-called momentum of fire of ‘taking-over’ and running full-steamed to affirm solidarity among them.KTC,i prefer to laugh than cry as long we are still governed by this sicko government of the day.Lets relieve ourselves from this agonies thru our only remaining choice of power-VOTE-to be free from this unscrupulous evil Umno/BN!Time has already come to be beh tahan stage where we must opt for change!

14. #14 by dagen on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:53 pm

A case of shadow boxing virtual enemies gone wrong and mad? Or is it a case of profound paranoia?

Either way umno is clearly no longer able to govern. Kick umno out people!

15. #15 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 11:09 pm

“He might be a socialist, but that’s a far cry from being a Communist. Don’t the police and the Government know the difference?”

Ha ha ha, the answer is NO if they depend on Google Translator.

16. #16 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 11:13 pm

Latest Case:

10,000 hectare of banana trees in Teluk Intan were arrested this afternoon.

Reason: They supported Bersih 2 by producing yellow banana! LOL

17. #17 by boh-liao on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 11:26 pm

Dis country is coming to FOR UmonB or AGAINST UmnoB
    Anything dat is seen as a threat 2 UmnoB’s continued hold on power is classified as anti-national n illegal by UmnoB/BN gomen

18. #18 by negarawan on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 11:42 pm

Bersih is truly a multi-racial event with multi-racial participation and support, cutting across all racial and religious boundaries, with sincerity and care for one another. Different races coming together for a common cause, to bring back the glory of Malaysia, is something truly to be proud about. The strong sense of racial and religious unity is something that has been blatantly missing under UMNO government. On this basis itself, I salute Bersih as a success already!

19. #19 by boh-liao on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 1:16 am

Well, HRH d YdiPA advised NR n BERSIH 2.0 to hold consultations over d issue of free n fair elections
    He did not regard BERSIH 2.0 n yellow as illegal

20. #20 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 1:26 am

Hishammudin must go back to law school again as what he was taught that time does not hold good for his time now.He must introduce new Malaysian UMNO laws to the present breed of law students that in a plural society like Malaysia the laws can be changed at the whims and fancies of the home minister.This is a sign that in the next election he will be voted out together with other ministers.The last election saw many voted out and the next election will see the rest out.Simply declaring people communists and arresting them and the magistrate further confirming the threat makes the country a laughing stock.This is not 1957 but 2011 and if the people can be suppressed it shows the government has not read the mind of the people.Next on the list to be arrested will be Ambiga, LimKit Siang and the¨¨notorious¨ Karpal Singh.Very soon the jails will be filled with Malaysians rather than the illegals.It is time for the government to realise that the opposition had become too strong that even arresting Anwar and putting him behind jail will not frighten the people to vote for the opposition.We have the classsical example of Thailand and very soon the same will happen in this country.Let Bersih to demonstrate peacefully otherwise Najib has to change the form of government that his father did after the May69 incident.The time is ripe for clear thinking on the part of the government otherwise no power can stop the people power as happening in other countries.

21. #21 by monsterball on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:34 am

It boils down to……KOTOR government is afraid of BERSIH.
    Now the King have spoken…lets see what Najib will do next.
    The King did not agree nor disagree…but he did say the BERSIH walk was meant to be good…behaving like being confused..what the fuss is all about.

22. #22 by monsterball on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:40 am

When Tony Blair was bluffing Britons…..the group “WHO” sang…”Who do you think you are?” to Tony Blair.
    Malaysians are saying to Najib…”Who do you think you are?”…..in so many ways..so many times.

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 5:07 am

Na-Rasputin-jib and Hi-Sham-Rasputin deserves to be sent to Gulag-archipelago for creating a fear culture and tolerating threats from Umno Youth, perkasa and their silat boys.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 5:47 am

Read TheMalaysianInsider’s report by Clara Chooi’s 3rd July report on “King intervenes, tells Putrajaya, Bersih 2.0 to hold talks”.

Clara Chooi reported: “The ruler’s unprecedented intervention tonight could well leave Bersih 2 0 and its supporters from Pakatan Rakyat PR in a lurch for going ahead with the rally can be seen as a direct affront to the palace.”

Yes likewise the detention of Sungai Siput MP Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj and five others under the emergency ordinance – as well as other Bersih’s advocates/supporters which is contrary to the spirit of compromise and consultation exhorted by the King.

At the same time if both sides compromise Bersih is back to square 1 – as the EC has earlier offered to talk but Ambiga said that the time to talk was past and “now we walk”!

• #25 by vsp on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:05 am

At the same time if both sides compromise Bersih is back to square 1—Jeffrey

———
      I don’t see the way you do. This a godsend to Bersih and is a breakthrough. Bersih 2.0 rally is just another way of sending the message to an adamant government that does not want to talk but in a messy way. Let’s see: the government has to release all those it arrested. Utusan Melayu and Perkasa should stop their incendiarism. And Mahathir Mohammad should stop stirring up the sh*t.

The option for a rally must still be on if the government does not show its sincerity for electoral reforms. Now the government is showing to the world that it is against clean competition and the Hitlerian methods of suppression it employs confirmed its fear.

25. #26 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 6:09 am

The intervention of the King – and possibly the olive branch which might be extended for the govt/EC to talk/negotiate with Bersih and (possibly in same spirit of compromise, revoke the ban of Bersih and release of those detained) – will pressure and yet offer the face saving means for Ambiga & Bersih’s organisers to back down and call of the 9th July March. “Things may change now with what the king said” – Ambiga was reported to have said (Malaysiakini).

In the end of the day the Najib Administration – which is not to be understimated as regards strategies to neutralise Opposition’s initiatives – still had its way. Bersih is basically back (substantially) to where it first started, with the primary objective of having a high profile public march in downtown KL rescinded!

26. #27 by vsp on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 6:46 am

The Agong has asked both sides to talk. This is good. The government had been adamant to talk about electoral reforms for years, and now it has no choice but to submit to the Agong’s order. This is a sort of “victory” for Bersih 2.0 to trash out the matter in an official way. Let’s see: the government has to release all those it arrested. Utusan Melayu and Perkasa should stop their incendiarism. And Mahathir Mohammad should stop stirring up the sh*t. I hope Bersih 2.0 should take up the opportunity here and get down to serious work. Congratulations and bless the Agong for his wisdom.

27. #28 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 6:55 am

“The fact is, street demonstrations bring more harm than good although the original intention is good…Generally, we cannot be following too much the practices in other countries, as harmony and stability are vital foundations for a country and which all quarters must protect.” – Yang di-Pertuan Agong (“YDPA”)

Political participation in a democracy is conventionally voting in elections (ballot box). When the ballot box is rigged – and institutional means for political change is blocked – a crisis of this sort of “conventional” political engagement is precipitated – hence the “unconventional” political participation/engagement by demonstration on the streets arises as an alternative means for change. Invariably incumbent in power will treat this unconventional political engagement as illegal whilst its proponents will seek legitimize it based on Freedom of Assembly and non violent civil disobedience ala Mahatma Gandhi style.

YDPA’s statement suggests that Royalty shares the view of the Administration against political participation/enggement via the “unconventional” means of street demonstrations that have occurred and are occurring elsewhere. This is a checkmate on attempts to adopt such unconventional means here (unless one wants to risk be alleged ‘derhaka’).

The royal remarks “Remember that there is no land where the rain does not fall, there is no ocean that is not turbulent” are interesting. Is ‘Yang Dikejar Tak Dapat Yang Dikendong Berciciran” can be viewed directed towars the nation as a whole or the Opposition specifically.

28. #29 by k1980 on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:17 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnRIejYv9mo

with apologies to the TV series

DAD’S ARMY THEME SONG

Who do you think you are kidding Mr. Jibby?

If you think we’re on the run,
    We are the boys who will stop your little game.
    We are the boys who will make you think again.
    ‘Cus who do you think you are kidding Mr. Jibby?
    If you think old BERSIH’s done?

So watch out Mr. Jibby
    You have met your match in us.
    If you think you can push us
    We’re afraid you’ve missed the bus.

so who do you think you are kidding Mr. Jibby?
    If you think old BERSIH’s done.

29. #30 by Comrade on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:43 am

Thank-you to the boys in blue
    For doing PR and Bersih a big favor
    Now more will vote against the BN crew
    More will turn out for “Saturday Yellow Fever”

30. #31 by best4rakyat on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 9:08 am

Daulat Tuanku,Daulat Tuanku
    Patik mohon beribu ampun demikian..
    Demi kasih sayang Tuanku patik harap bahawa pekara berikut boleh diambil untuk seterusnya supaya negara ditadbir dengan baik tetapi bukan oleh golongan buruk.

1.Agong should just grant an audience with Ambiga and Bersih2.0 Group to hand over the memorandum.

2.Menasihat PM dan golongannya jangan ambil kesempatan memburukkan rakyat yang jujur pakai tatik yang jahat dan guna kuasa politik,badan kerajaan atau polis.

3.Bubar kerajaan sekarang dengan serta merta atas suruhan bangga Tuanku sebagai Agong Yang Amat Dihormati supaya rakyat akan pilih semula kerajaan yang bagus dan pemimpin yang lebih yakin untuk rakyat Malaysia.

Sekian saja harapan rakyat untuk seterusnya mencapai wawasan kahadapan.

Yang Jujur,
    Rakyat

31. #32 by baochingtian on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 9:34 am

Bersih to ask for immediate release of those arrested and hv jibby to apologise for bad handling of the situation and most of all, the bad governance of the country so much so that people from all walks of life r demanding, thru Bersih walk -Reformasi – reformate and start anew!

32. #33 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 9:43 am

This a godsend to Bersih and is a breakthrough – #27 by vsp.
    ———
    I beg to differ. I see it as only “godsend” to Ambiga. It is a way or her to avert being detained under ISA. Its a bit of gain for Bersih in the sense that what it does is better known to more Malaysians now. Govt’s release of those it arrested (if it happens), Utusan Melayu and Perkasa losing its excuse to carry on incendiarism and TDM has no excuse to stir sh*t are not gains because these behaviour should not be displayed in thje first place in response to Bersih. It is not godsend to Bersih because there is no assurance that govt will be receptive to electoral clean up (which is first reason why Ambiga rejected EC’s overture to talk). In fact if the King’s message that street demonstration is not the way for Malaysians to engage politically now it will be the same as precedent for the future if the ballot box continues to be rigged…The real loser is the Opposition de-facto head whose real reprieve is peoples power since the bllot box and other institutional channels are all stacked against him, as h is being ushered to the slammers! Bersish has no significant gain because its first objective to have a high public profile demonstration is thwarted; it merely has a face saving way to back down or else face the full force of repression.

33. #34 by Godfather on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 10:41 am

We have readers here who keep proclaiming “See, I told you the bottle is half empty” while the rest of us prefer to see the bottle as half full. If you are that pessimistic and prefer to close your front door at the first sign of trouble, it is entirely your right, but I put it to you that you are exactly the type of MCA supporter that the government wants to see.

It is precisely the type of cowardly advice that we don’t need right now. We fight not necessarily to win now, but to win for the future.

34. #35 by Godfather on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 10:51 am

For far too long, we have had cowards who tell us that there is no upside with respect to marching for your rights. Those who tell us that it’s better to stand down than to face the full force of repression. Of course we know that it’s an uphill climb. It’s an uphill climb when the odds are stacked against us, when the organs of the state are used in full force against us – the Police, the AG’s Chambers, the Judiciary. Does it mean we stand down ? Does it mean that we give up and let the brain drain continue ? Does it mean that we should not try to change public opinion or perception ?

35. #36 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 12:17 pm

A diatribe from a typically frustrated and die hard supporter bereft of sense of realism! At the end of the day where’s the march – can it proceed on the streets as intended when wedged between the anvil of the King’s exhortation and the hammer of police/state repression? What’s the objective attained? Najib says you can have it at the stadium, which is probably what would be acceded to in the beginning if requested.

36. #37 by Godfather on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 1:55 pm

RISE AND RISE, UNTIL LAMBS BECOME LIONS

This usual CYA lawyer says that he prefers to remain a lamb for life, so we shall let him be.

37. #38 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 2:20 pm

Without a realistic appraisal of the conditions of engagement, it is irresponsible to goad others to become more like lambs led to a slaughter than become lions. Bravado with only hopes and enthusiasm without rationality is stupidity.

38. #39 by limkamput on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:34 pm

I fully agree with you Godfather. This sage is no sage but a half baked analyst who refuses to see the follies of his own postings. Stupid.

39. #40 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 3:54 pm

You are at liberty to agree or disagree with anybody – however you are doing so via name calling (‘sage’ or ‘half baked’ is by you, not me) than by reasoned points as expected in any civil debate. How are you better than Ibrahim Ali on an issue? Maybe he’s even a notch better (in terms of quality).

40. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 4:31 pm

So now he’s a closet admirer of Ibrahim Katak’s debating skills….hmmmm….

This type of person reminds me of a football pundit who sits in the stands and screams for the winning team – whoever’s winning. This type of person could never be a player on the pitch, or a captain, or a manager – because he can never get the players to play at 110 pct of their capability.

41. #42 by grace on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 7:25 pm

What is this country coming to? DOWN THE DRAIN! What can one expect the government do when it is scared of colours of what wear? It is also scared of words. Yes, colour like yellow, black are taboo to the government. Not only that words like Reformasi and BERSIH will send shivers down the spine of Hishamuddin and Najib. If they cannot deal with small things like coulor and words, how do you expect them to accomplish bigger things? Make my toes laugh!!! Yes, the country is GOING DOWN THE DRAIN!!!

42. #43 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 July 2011 - 8:15 pm

No one is admiring Ibrahim Katak’s debating skills….just expressing a little surprise that there are some critics of his whose skills in this department are, by comparison, worse.

43. #44 by raven77 on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 1:18 am

It is an established fact that this country is run by pirates who all hail from Indonesia…

Decidedly Toyol and Al Rustam must be sent back to Riau or Palembang…..we cannot have these characters destroying MALAYSIA..

Having said that however, one wonders what the heck are Chua Soi Lek, Koh Tsu Koon, Samy Velu and Kayveas are doing in cahoots with these pirates….

Rob while you can….but the day of reckoning is here…..

44. #45 by 1orangkaya on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 3:08 am

My toilet cleaner is bottled in yellow with the word ‘BERSIH’ printed on it. So now i must hide it for fearing it might be confiscated.

45. #46 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 5 July 2011 - 4:13 am

BN/UMNO has turned this country into a prostitute den … and fast becoming Simbabwee ala TDM