Lift ban on Bersih, urges Kit Siang

Jul 3, 11 | MalaysiaKini

The PM, Najib Abdul Razak, should overrule Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein and lift the ban on Bersih said DAP Parliamentary Leader Lim Kit Siang.

He said in a statement today the three grounds given for the ban under the Societies Act do not stand scrutiny and will only expose the government and country to public disdain and international scorn.

Bersih is not guilty of the first ground, “Being active and sparking an atmosphere of unrest and worry among the multiracial community in the country,” he added.

“Those guilty are Perkasa and Umno Youth, with the former even threatening another May 13 what with the warning to the Chinese to stay indoors and to stock up food, and Umno Youth in front of PKR headquarters threatening violence and chaos.”

He asked why had Hishammuddin acted against Bersih, the innocent party, while the culprits, Perkasa and Umno Youth, seem to enjoy immunity and impunity.

He also argued against Reason 2: “Spreading propaganda to incite the people to topple the government by distributing certain leaflets,” saying that in the first place, how could a government be toppled by the distribution of leaflets.

“This is a baseless and groundless charge as could be established in any challenge to the authorities to produce evidence to back up this ridiculous allegation.”

As for Reason 3: “Its activities have given a bad image to the country, which can threaten and undermine public order, security, economy and the country’s sovereignty and affect the harmony of the multiracial community,” he said it was Perkasa and Umno Youth which must plead guilty to this charge not Bersih.

“Now, with the outrageous ban on Bersih, the Home Minister is himself guilty of giving Malaysia a bad image which will cause great loss of public and investor confidence in Malaysia detrimental to Malaysia’s economic interest and national unity.

“Will Hishammuddin ban himself from committing such disservices to Malaysia?” concluded the MP for Ipoh Timor.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 6:04 pm

Here’s an attempt to try reason with he who in a gathering in Pasir Puteh, Kelantan on 3rd July has already made his position (in tandem with his Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein) very clear as when he blasted Ambiga as “one who threatened Islam”, saying that “we’ll keep our claws” and who believes that “there are limitations to the citizens’ right to assemble because too much freedom could lead to uncertainty and anarchy; hence, the recent spate of detentions to ensure peace and public order” including the deployment of the Emergency Ordinance on Parti Sosialis Malaysia members “to pre-empt the development of more serious incidents from occurring”.

Ironically if a govt were susceptible to reasons provided by his democratic opponents (based on win-win or fair play) regarding the lifting of the ban of Bersih march, there wouldn’t have been a reason for such a Bersih march in confrontation with it in the first place that has led to this need to reason, and would be rather disingenous to expect otherwise.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:05 pm

The PM should consider LKS’ advice seriously as a tightly-controlled Malaysia is not the “hall mark” of a mature, developed Malaysia come 2020. The country’s democratization process has to move forward and must not be allowed to suffer retrogression.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:08 pm

Oops!

“developed Malaysia” should be “developed country”.

4. #4 by bruno on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:15 pm

PM Najib,I sincerely hope that you are not blind,colorblind,deaf nor dumb.Surely you do realised what is happening in your backyard,a country that is called Malaysia.Well,first let me ask you a question whether you know that an NGO called Bersih was plannjng a rally on July 9. 2011.This rally was to protest the EC for not being a neutral and transparent agency.

It was suppossed to be a peaceful rally until an NGO Perkasa led by Abrahim Ali,which is an affiliate of your party Umno begin to protest.I This Abrahim Ali was instructed by a warlord of Umno to go out to create racial and religious tensions.And if possibly physical confrontation,by having a counter rally on the same day.

Then your own party’s little sibling Umno youth followed suit by announcing that they are also having a rally too.Then recently Umno youth sent out 600 of its biker gangsters aka mat rempit to surround PKR’s HQ and threatened to burn it down.Now what do you called such an act,thugism,gangsterism or terrorism.Well i guessed terrorism would be the perfect answer.

Malaysia is a peaceful,multi racial and democratic country.I am sure that you will agree with me.So why all the fuss about a peaceful rally.And if your guys want to have counter rallies on the same day,they are free to do so.There is no need for threats and threatrics.There is no need to scream for bloodshed and have physical confrontation.

I have to remind you that all these rowdy acts of gansterism and terrorism are commited by members or affiliates of your party.I don’t understand why all the fuss about a peaceful protest turned into such a messy tense situation.Don’t tell us that your HM and his merrymen in blue are not aware of this potential time bomb.

Instead of arresting the trouble makers and terrorists from your own party,the HM and his merrymen are out on a witchunt.They are out arresting peaceful civil activist and oposition members on trump up charges.I thought that democratic countries are suppossed to have only one set of laws.If that is so than how come they are arresting the wrong persons.I thought that the HM and PDRM personnel have sworned to upheld the laws of the land.Without fear or favour.

Well,it seems that they are doing such a good job.At least it seems by arresting the wrong people.I mean that the actions of your HM and his merrymen has been seen that they condoned all the criminal acts committed by thugs and terrorists from your own party.If not than why are the criminals running loose and the law abiding citizens in jail.

Can you please as PM of democratic Malaysia explained the logic behind all this.Are the HM and his merrymen turning this once democratic and multi racial country into a lawless land of cowboys.As PM you have the obligation and power to right the wrongs committed by your guys.Are you up to it Mr PM.If you are then do the right thing.

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:33 pm

Lim Kit Siang can beat his chest and yell like hell to Najib….but it won’t work.
    Dirty politics it is…and KOTOR they must always be.
    Malaysians listen to LKS and will respond with their votes.
    That’s all LKS can hope for.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 8:46 pm

The PM should lift the ban but set the condition that only 2 representatives from each NGO/political party and 4 from host party, Bersih, are allowed to take part in the July 9 gathering. Since there are only 62 NGOs, the number of people who take part in the gathering will be less than 150 and the police can easily escort them to hand the petition letter to the king. Such a compromise is far better than banning Bersih nationwide and making government action a laughing stock to the world.

7. #7 by negarawan on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 11:41 pm

Bersih is truly a multi-racial event with multi-racial participation and support, cutting across all racial and religious boundaries, with sincerity and care for one another. Different races coming together for a common cause, to bring back the glory of Malaysia, is something truly to be proud about. The strong sense of racial and religious unity is something that has been blatantly missing under UMNO government. On this basis itself, I salute Bersih as a success already!