Deputy IGP: No more discussions over rallies

By Teoh El Sen
July 1, 2011 | Free Malaysia Today

KUALA LUMPUR: The police will no longer seek to negotiate or discuss with the organisers of the July 9 rallies, be it from Bersih, Perkasa, or Umno Youth.

Their stand is clear: The rallies will not be allowed.

The nation’s number two police officer, deputy inspector-general of police Khalid Abu Bakar said: “We have given them explanations and warnings and reminders, but they do not heed. We will make sure this rally does not take place.”

“We will not discuss anymore. Be ready to face the laws of this country,” he said.

Khalid, speaking at a hastily called press conference at Bukit Aman today, said he does not discount the possibility of using the Internal Security Act (ISA) in efforts to stop the rallies from happening.

“I won’t discount it,” he said, when asked.

Yesterday Bersih chairperson S Ambiga, after a meeting with IGP Ismail Omar, said she will be meeting the top cop again next week following her request for the police to chart the routes for the Bersih rally.

“I told the IGP that we are willing to accept routes that the police outline for us… from KL to PJ,” she told FMT yesterday.

She said that while Ismail did not give his green light to the suggestion, she would be meeting the police chief again next week to get the police force’s opinion on Bersih’s suggestion. She described the meeting as cordial.

Khalid’s remarks today however indicated that the police are no longer willing to engage with Ambiga over the Bersih rally. Ismail also had similar meetings with representatives of Perkasa and Umno Youth.

‘More may be arrested’

Khalid also said the IGP, in his meetings with the rallies’ organisers, had expressed his concerns and the implications of the events.

“We explained to them the worry of traders, tourists, taxi and hotel businesses. The lives of a lot of people will be disrupted. And many are against it,” he said.

“But they insist on going ahead with the rallies, so we will use the relevant laws we have in this country,” he said.

Khalid said that as of last night, there were 2,136 reports lodged against the organisers, mostly against Bersih, the highest the nation has recorded on a public rally.

“Its not just yellow but anything from red, green or grey. Any group that shows support for the illegal rally, we’ll act.”

Thus far, 115 people have been arrested and 30 are under remand in Penang, he said.

When asked if the police had any credible evidence of the revival of communism, as claimed by the police for the arrest and detention of the 30 PSM members in Penang last weekend, Khalid said he could not reveal further on this.

However, he warned that more people would be arrested when the need arises.

“As the enforcement authority of the country, we definitely know more than other people,” he said.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 3:02 pm

Remember these famous last words: “We will not discuss anymore”. Our very own “Rule by us or die”

2. #2 by artemisios on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 3:57 pm

“…so we will use the relevant laws we have in this country”……. & make new ones if it benefits us.

3. #3 by habis on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 4:47 pm

It is no surprise at all that the police will not allow any rally so long as they are not favourable to the BN for after all the impartiality of the police is questionable where even in Indonesia and Thailand the police will make sure that peaceful assembly and rally is the norm and will make sure protesters are not harm in any way.Any way I will take my dog and cat for a healthy morning walk hoping for favourable weather with God’s blessings.

4. #4 by best4rakyat on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 5:05 pm

Just don’t forget to also change all pondok to yellow color!

5. #5 by Loh on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 6:41 pm

Bersih has offered the IGP a way out of the impasse, to indicate the route Bersih can take so that Perkasa and UMNO youth will not be in their way. They will go home after walking the town, and the police can claim that they have performed their duties. Perkasa can be asked to go the opposite direction, parallel to UMNO youth.

6. #6 by voice2009 on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 7:11 pm

Use your common sense

Those corrupted politicians will be charge of corruption if lose caused of clean, free corruption, transparent election

Those corruption politicians would use threat, twist the laws, forces to stop it

Now, it is up to you Malaysians

Want to break free for corruption-free country ‘BERSIH’

or

Still want to govern by corruption politicians ‘KOTOR’

Make your choice

7. #7 by Thor on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 7:28 pm

Oh…………..ooo! I’m really scared!!!
    Someone starting to be cocky already!

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 7:28 pm

It seems like Mubarak day will be coming. The people will stand up to get rid of Mubarak.

9. #9 by voice2009 on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 8:22 pm

Why PKR won 5 states last election?

Caused they have not prepared and expected

Caused there were too many ballot boxes in one go

Use your common sense please

10. #10 by yhsiew on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 9:50 pm

I bet the “No more discussions over rallies” comes from Umno, not the deputy IGP.

11. #11 by tak tahan on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 10:13 pm

/Deputy IGP:No more discussions over Bersih rallies./

O.K. thank you.Then we just go ahead and paint whole KL city with yellow decoratively;yellow tees with bold letters Bersih,yellow underwares with hisaputing n kuku ciau pictures,yellow bras with toady bra him,yellow undies with mikes and dildos accompany Lohseemah’mouth,yellow sarongs with mamak main tau foo fah k*t*k,yellow g-strings with taih and explosive c4 graphics on the both bare backs..

12. #12 by Thor on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 11:09 pm

Is he a mamak or a malay?
    If he’s a mamak in origin, no point of discussing with him as well!

13. #13 by voice2009 on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 11:25 pm

The person not suitable to work his job

They have abuse the ISA against Malaysian who demand clean, fair, transparent election, it is absolutely no wrong but for the good of the country

The ISA is not target to those loyalty Malaysian who want to make Malaysia a better country, for next generation and anti-corruption

14. #14 by raven77 on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:04 am

I hope the government falls come July 9….cannot tahan the lowya economy……it is literally killing a lot of us…

Jibby is the Sheriff of Nottingham……..hopefully Bersih will remove this Sheriff once and for all..

15. #15 by monsterball on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:20 am

Everyone knows the real reasons for BERSIH rally.
    Deputy IGP give us all the reasons why it cannot be permitted…ignoring the core reasons…for CLEAN election and NO CORRUPTIONS.
    From nothing ..built up to something..to make the rally sound like trouble causing towards a clean and noble government under Najib.
    When communists are hinted…this give the added reason to use ISA again.
    The 25 NGOs arrested in Penang should be released within 24 hours. If not….then ISA is applied.
    This is the litmus test that Najib needs.
    After 9th July…it is either Emergency Rule or an announcement for 13th GE date.
    And Najib told lawyers not to participate.
    Why all the fuss from nothing?
    That’s dirty politics at his best.
    Will Malaysians be afraid..very afraid?
    It can only be seen at a GE…which Najib should announce soon…since Deputy IGP and IGP are supporting him.
    I think he still have nightmares…thinking will the entire Police Force be on his side…and as such…13th GE maybe delayed …..until his nightmares stop.
    WHEN?

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 6:35 am

Be real, they’d never allow Bersih 2.0 rally. EC was prepared to ‘talk’ only as a ‘concession’ to avert using the ‘iron fist’ as last resort, which is bad for image of govt. But between image and having power threatened by Tahir Square’s style people power) they will, as sure as the sun will arise, prioritize the latter imperative and initiate a massive crackdown ala operation lallang/ISA & if needs be emergency. As Ambiga tells EC no more talk now we walk so PDRM now has said, no more talk now we whack! From day one when they said “no” and Bersih said “yes” to such march, it is a march to an uncivil showdown and contest of will. One does not embark on such an enterprise without prepared to countenance the consequences and if needs be being ISAed! It is a question whether civil disobedience/street protests that yield positive results of change elsewhere can be replicated here where conditions are not exactly on all 4 square! The ground for massive show of strength is already set for powers-that- be when pro govt forces evince a will to march – which, in design, provides a perfect argument of clash and an excuse or the state security apparatus to crack down based on arguments of national security – and such a crackdown will not be just on civil society champions but opposition leaders as well. Najib will have his election soon. With opposition leaders in Kamunting, what will happen? Opposition will have to calculate whether Bersih 2.0 will really posit it in better position than Bersih 1.0 in 2007.

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 8:29 am

What really matters is what Daim said “obstacles facing the present day government are far removed from those just a decade ago, and old strategies are unlikely to find the success they once did..”.

The only person need to listen is Najib – stop the dishonesty, it won’t work..

18. #18 by Mike Tee on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 8:44 am

The RUNNING HOUNDS of UMNO goverment ie police authority’s underhand tatics could make the BRESIH rally even more tricky, and could be turned into another Tahrir Square rally in Egypt. It is like there is so much of frustration of unjust, unfair in the society inside one’s body that it would exploit anytime with a little bit of helping hand. It is never a better time for it, IT IS NOW July 9th, the day of your destination for the better future.
    Let July 9 be a day of new beggining for all the suffering Malaysians for the past 30 odd years to be relieve at last, I pray.

19. #19 by wanderer on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 8:59 am

OMG! never saw so many “Black Melayu” on parade in Penang…untouched by the Royal Police. Must be priviledged sons of the soil, imported!
    DIGP (Deputy Inspector General) another Mamak, pre-emptive strike?…police acts do not supersede Federal Constitutions…the right to hold peaceful rally.
    Be a police man and not a marble sucker….

20. #20 by Thor on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 9:28 am

Make it an offence for anyone who do not “pangkah” an “X” next to BN in the 13GE!
    Put them in ISA if they do not follow.
    In such way, every damn sucker related to Umno will be “sucking” damn happily.
    How is my idea, Jib?
    Any cheque for me???

21. #21 by dagen on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 9:42 am

Yeah. No discussion is needed in the first place. Its our constitutional right to assemble anyway. If at all, the discussion is only meant for crowd control and to minimise unnecessary inconvenience caused to the surrounding areas.

So if the police deems that there will be no further discussion, then the Bersih KL street party will go ahead as planned. It is not illegal just because the police refused to lend their hands to control the crowd and to minimise any inconvenience caused.

So people, lets party.

22. #22 by negarawan on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 9:47 am

UMNO is akin to a Nazi party and the PDRM the Gestapo. Eventually the rakyat will win!

23. #23 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 9:54 am

Law is still law unless federal government has been changed.

Why not have a gathering in Stadium? Gathering at stadium is just enough.

For the sake of not to confront those small kings (UMNOPutra), show them gathering anywher is the same.

Gather in stadium, they (UMNO and Perkasa) would not be able t ojoin.

This is not about coward. Let them say this we are coward but we show we respect law and will upkeep laws and order. Show after replace of federal government, no double standard like those UMNO demo in Penang yesterday: they would be caught too.

24. #24 by Thor on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:10 am

To save Putrajaya at all cost, even with the loss of limbs and lives.
    That’s what he’s doing.
    We don’t need Putrajaya when Pakatan rules.
    Very bad fengshui and taboo, you know!
    Country’s money sucking out.
    We leave it back to UmnoBN as their tomb.
    Pakatan should should find alternative sites, should they win.

25. #25 by cemerlang on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:45 am

If you have nothing to hide, then you do not have to be scared. Transparent. Integrity. Laksanakan janji. Janji transparent. Janji integrity. Atau janji apa ?

26. #26 by Thor on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:56 am

Why not have a gathering in Stadium? Gathering at stadium is just enough.

——————————-
    Gathering in stadium is just like gathering inside your own house.
    That’s what Umno fella wants!
    How far your voice can go and how much the stadium can accomodate?
    We need our voice and dissatisfaction to be heard around the world so that international pressure will mounts, if our government gets real stubborn.
    We’re sending out S.O.S signals ‘cos we knew very well that we’re under police rule even if we’re said to be democratic.
    We knew very well that we cannot fight them with ballot papers, if Bersih’s demand are not taken up.
    These people have already shown us intentionally that they’re forcing on us to accept their ways of cheating as to win.
    They knew very well that once Bersih’s demand are accepted, it’ll be the end for them.
    In other words, there trying to alter the RAHMAN theory.
    If I’m not wrong, foreigners with given Mykad are mingling around us to replace our votes when GE13 comes.
    So, if you cry inside your house, who’s gonna hear you!
    Last hope are for US or UN to assist us, just like the case of Libya.
    Got it???

27. #27 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 11:10 am

HRH Sultan of Johor wrote: “I am never a boring person. Everything to me is a challenge. I always like to find something new to do. Every day, I look at the weather and I think to myself, what should I do today?” (The Straits Times, July 2 2011)

How wonderful! How about doing something new on 9.7.2011? Come to KL 2 participate in BERSIH 2.0 rally lah n interact with rakyat lah

28. #28 by k1980 on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 11:19 am

//#22 by boh-liao//

Dis one cannot do lah. He will have to don the royal color of yellow, and when the mata-mata sees yellow, they go mad and start biting (like Tian Chua who was fined RM2,000)

29. #29 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 1:23 pm

If 2000 people lodged report against it, why not the rest who wants it also lodge police report wanting the rally? I thought a million plus voted in the Star for the rally?

If cannot wear yellow never mind loh. Just change to blue. If blue also cannot change to red or green or purple until the police ban all colors. Then we go naked loh.

30. #30 by yhsiew on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:24 pm

Malaysia is in fact bound by Article 21 of the United Declaration on Human Rights (UDHR) to allow this rally. Bersih is asserting its right under Article 21 and that right should be respected.

31. #31 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:31 pm

Cannot ban blue lah, nanti all mata-mata become naked cops

32. #32 by baochingtian on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:31 pm

#24 on lodging police report…
    How about a petition see which side gets more signatures? Some dailies could do that, even malaysiakini. Bet the gomen will never dare to take up the challenge.

Wearing yellow cannot, openly walk walk also cannot, but putting blocks in Penang bridge can lah, this is really “chiak sai gu”!

33. #33 by baochingtian on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:37 pm

#22 by boh-liao.
    My younger brother looks at the weather and he decides if he’s going for football or indoor basketball. He never worried about lunch or dinner as he knows very well they will be there, rain or shine. What a smart young boy!

34. #34 by dagen on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:44 pm

Talk Talk Talk. For decades, we tried talking to umno. For decades umno has been too arrogant to listen. Worse, since dr mamak’s time umno decided to shut us out. Cant talk. Dont want us to talk. That is umno’s attitude. So what else is there to talk? Jib is continuing the no cannot let you talk policy. Action lah. Demonstrate lah. What else can we do?

If fat mama ros can spend our money in the order of hundreds of thousands of US dollar (or was it a million?) buying silly designer handbags we surely can to the street to tell umno to buzz off. Jib as PM hasnt got that kind of money to spash. So where did fat mama get those money from?

35. #35 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 2:55 pm

Dzulkifli AR said uni students n staff should stay away fr activities dat could cause problems 2 themselves n d country
    Hai yah, what kind of advice is dis?
    Taking part in a peaceful rally, d rights of a citizen, 2 demand clean n fair election process – can cause problems meh?
    Uni students n staff r citizens n must not b like ostriches dat bury their heads in d sand
    By right, Dzulkifli who always boasted 2 b an academic should encourage all uni students n staff 2 participate in BERSIH 2.0, Y b a stooge of UmnoB/BN, mana bola

36. #36 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 3:15 pm

37. #37 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 4:00 pm

Sabah singer Atama understood d need 4 Bersih 2.0 rally: “We are exercising our rights in accordance with the Federal Constitution”
    Atama better than Dzulkifli AR

38. #38 by yhsiew on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 4:21 pm

It is unbecoming for the PM to utter such words: “Who doesn’t know Ambiga. She’s the one who threatened Islam. And below her is Mat Sabu,” Najib told a 20,000-strong crowd.

39. #39 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 5:24 pm

All the arrests and harrassment don’t mean anything until Najib arrest Nik Aziz, Hadi Awang and Mat Sabu and THEN STARE DOWN their supporters..Othewise, its just a bunch of women flailing around and Bersih will go forward.

AND THAT is the biggest worry – our country is currently being runned by a bunch of hysterical women…

40. #40 by monsterball on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 5:48 pm

Corrupted rouges and thieves days are numbered.
    The word…”BERSIH” haunts them day and night.
    It is now Ambiga….more dangerous than Anwar. …besides the Communists …traitors and devils.
    Actually..the word RAHMAN..with “N” is the end of RAHMAN that makes Najib have sleepless nights.
    See how his hair turned whit in just 2 years?
    Why like that? Worry…worry …worry la.
    And so…fear factor and creating something out of nothing to arrest and arrest..using Ambiga as the scapegoat..is their latest act,,,,since Ibrahim Ali big mouth stunts fear no one.
    Many young new voters are against CORRUPTIONS and KOTOR government.
    BERSIH haunts them like Atlantuya’s ghost coming for blood of someone in UMNO B.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 7:38 pm

TalentCorp (Corpse) must include d following on its “Returning Expert Programme” website:
    M’sia welcomes you back!
    But please no dress in YELLOW
    No take part in BERSIH 2.0
    , b KOTOR, OK 1

42. #42 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 7:59 pm

NR: No problemo, 1M’sia clean 1, no need BERSIH 2.0 1
    Our former BN assistant governor is making 1M’sia famous
    http://www.smh.com.au/national/bank-bribes-more-arrests-imminent-20110701-1gv6q.html#ixzz1Qwr6HhpD

43. #43 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 8:55 pm

No more talk/discussions means that the full weight of the State’s security resources will be brought to bear to stop Bersih 2.0.

Bersih basically provides the powers-that-be the pretext and excuse to crack down on civil society dissidents and opposition politicians. The Question is this: if the opposition were confident enough of making electoral gains in the next imminent GE – in spite of electoral irregularities and fraud – how will it specifically help the Opposition’s Cause, the Malaysian Cause or the Common Democratic Cause by presenting the other side, with their complexities of agendas, an excuse and pretext to crack down and detain opposition politicians and civil society champions, and an opportunity to take away their political participation by arrests, whether or not the election proceeds soon after that or for that matter called off due to declaration of emergency??? How sure is the Opposition that the ‘people power’ it seeks to galvanise is strong enough and sufficient to match the full weight of State security apparatus in a face off/showdown? At the end of day in a confrontation like this, the winner takes all and the loser gets bashed and will lose whatever gained in last election.

44. #44 by raven77 on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 9:23 pm

The time to talk to the police is long over……

45. #45 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:40 pm

Comment on #34 – by Jeffrey:
    I can detect fear in your comment and I can understand your fear seeing how our authorithy has reacted to the July 9 event. It is also out of fear that the Najib administration is acting the way it did.
    The fear that the march will trigger unrest like in the middle is not unfounded but to react in the manner that we have seen thus far is certainly not the best option. The better way to curb the influence of Ms. Ambiga Sreenevasan will be to respond with virtue: Allow the march to proceed and respond with solid arguments on why our current electoral although not perfect still gives us Malaysians a chance to exercise their rights. It is the hearts and minds of the majority of Malaysians that we have to win over and not those who have already taken sides and whose minds are fixed on which argument they prefer. Seeing how resolute Ms. Ambiga is and how she holds firm to her conviction to stand up for what she believes to be correct. I have no doubt who is winning the hearts and minds of the majority of fair minded Malaysians.

46. #46 by monsterball on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:46 pm

Lets prepare to walk and talk less.
    Home Minister says BERSIH is illegal…not a registered Organization.
    I guess all who wants to walk…must register first.
    He cannot differentiate between a movement and an Association.
    Useless to talk with them.
    They are bend to win the 13th GE…by all crooked means.
    In fact….all past elections held because they feel 100% confident to win..and so all past GE are just for show…until 12th GE…they feel the heat.
    Now Malaysians want change of Govt…they know it.
    UMNO B cannot afford to loose not that they are afraid to loose an GE.
    It is by loosing…CORRUPTIONS will be exposed and dozens of big fishes bank accounts here and overseas will be ceased by PR Govt…and all will go to jail.
    That’s what they are afraid of….which is quite common amongst thieves and crooks…mentalities and behaviors.

47. #47 by ablastine on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 10:57 pm

Bersih is not the opposition and its agenda is therefore not specifically to help the opposition cause. The rally may well provide the excuse for a crack down on opposition politicians but frankly if the UMNO regime thinks that the only way to retain power is to arrest oppositions and even to assassinate them they will still create some other excuses to do it with or without the Bersih coming rally.

Bersih rally is really a desperate call by the people to have their constitutional rights to assembly restored and rights to have a free and fair election. The Deputy IGP and Hishammudin may behave like an emperor decreeing that wearing of yellow shirts and the rally illegal but in the end the fact still remains that the people are his boss. When the mass of millions turn against these two characters they may even end up being lynched notwithstanding their high office.

Assuming that they manage to suppress the people’s rally using extreme force and the ISA this time, how long and how many times can they continue to do it. Even Sadam Hussein and Gadaffi have to fall. I frankly do not think that this UMNO extremist sponsored terror over the people can endure.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 11:00 pm

When embarked on an enterprise of such nature, one should neither be influenced by fear, excessive courage or bravado, hope and a gamut of other emotions. It should be realistic objective and rational calculations of what’s the objective, whats the scenario and whats the end result in relation to the objective, what can be achieved and wht cannot! Ms Ambiga is a moral force but what is the effect of virtue on the other side who cares not for either moral or virtue in the abstract but realities of power? Will they be moved? Of course you know they won’t, so one depends on ordinary Mlaysians to b so moved to join the movement but do they? They mix hope with realities. Talk to ordinary Malaysians on the street and determine how many who are not the normal crowd to surf the blogs and alternate media understand nor know what Bersih stands for much less join in. Besides we are not homogenous society united to stand against misgovernance. You have a big crowd that identify their interest with the system & the establishment. I don’t have to specify who they are: just see who protested against LGE in Penang for supporting Bersih!

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 11:02 pm

Ooops – “Don’t (not-They) mix hope with realities….”