We all grieve for a Malaysia that could be!

by Romerz
October 22, 2010

In his presidential address to the 61st UMNO general assembly, a lot of things said by PM Najib could be argued against simply on the basis of logic, history, proper understanding of Malaysia’s federal constitution, democracy and a host of other things. But I will not argue against Najib’s fallacious arguments because I’m tired of warped views and I believe my readers are of a higher mentality than those he was addressing.

Instead I will focus on only one thing he mentioned in the speech. Najib said “the Malays were hurt when the social contract agreed upon by the forefathers of various races who had agreed to make sacrifices to gain the independence, was now being questioned.”

In the first place I know of no such social contract as after 53 years of independence, no one can show me a written copy of this contract nor explain to me what was it that was agreed upon specifically by our forefathers. Even assuming that such an agreement exists (possibly and perhaps reached privately by the leaders of UMNO, MCA and MIC then, which may explain why we know so little of this often touted social contract), hadn’t this preceding social contract been documented and articulated in the Constitution of Malaya 1957?

In essence, isn’t Najib implying that the non-Malay citizens of Malaysia reneged on an agreement made by our forefathers by questioning certain provisions of the federal constitution? But what is it that we are questioning of the constitution? From the context of Najib’s speech, it would seem to refer to article 153 of the constitution. But he seems to forget that article 153 only allowed four areas of discriminatory practices when the rest of the constitution is about equality and freedom for all Malaysians of whatever ethnicity and religious inclinations.

Frankly, I do not think any rational, fair thinking and peace loving non-Malay Malaysians would dispute the original intent of the constitution. It is by this paramount piece of document (nor the inclusion of article 153 into the constitution), which we cling on to, that we hope can safeguard our existence.

All we question is how far article 153 had been taken away from its original intent by UMNO for political self-interests. Are these questions an attack on the Malay race which warrants threats of reprisal? How can Najib say that non-Malays intentionally hurt the Malays simply by asking for the “social contract” vis-a-vis the federal constitution be restored to its original intent?

If the Malays had been hurt, what about the non-Malays being cheated by a changing constitution, eroding at our constitutionally guaranteed rights, to suit those who had control over it for 50 years? If there existed a social contract (which required sacrifices as Najib put it), why is UMNO now reneging on an agreement made by his father and forefathers as well (by using the constitution above what it was originally intended)?

After the riots of 1969, the NEP was formulated by Najib’s own father. When Tun Razak first put forward the the intent and concept of NEP to parliament, he had to convince MCA and MIC and even the opposition to go along with affirmative action with the objective of bringing all Malaysians on par economically which hopefully will prevent another 1969 from happening again. This I do not dispute that it was needed then and even now. Today a large segment of Malaysian society still needs affirmative action but wouldn’t it be better if it was based on needs?

Documented history (parliament hansard) tells us compromises were made, promises declared and at the end of the day, most Malaysians of whatever ethnicity then allowed it to happen through an act of parliament.

But are these promises being kept today? What was supposed to help poor Malaysians then had now become a tool to garner support for UMNO by playing one race against another so is it any wonder that we question how article 153 had been used by our ruling elites?

So who is grieved more?

The answer is Malaysia the country is grieved the most! Not only the Malays or non-Malays but ALL citizens of a greater Malaysia are grieved! When our beloved country could have stood tall amongst the greater nations of the world but instead wallow amongst the wannabes simply because UMNO/BN do not know how to leave racial and parochial politics behind.

And for that, ordinary Malaysians suffer with threats of our well-being politically, economically and safety! Isn’t about time after 53 years on nationhood that we stop comparing race sacrifices, who is the bigger enemy of race and who is the greater defender of our nation?

Why can’t we simply move on and create a better country for all 27 million of humanity? Is it that difficult when all the majority of ordinary Malaysians want is to live in peace and help each other prosper so that our country can once again stand tall?

Shouldn’t we be Malaysians first (which can be proven with our legal citizenry documents), race second (which is subject to the interpretation of race when we cannot ascertain fully our bloodlines except that our blood is red), and religious inclinations third (when faith is a personal matter of the heart which keeps its secrets to itself)?

I will end by going to bed grieving for us all when we allow UMNO/BN to continue dictating the future of this country! But I will not simply go away grieving and instead do my little part for a better Malaysia. Are you one of the 3 million Malaysians who are entitled to vote but are not yet registered to do so? If you grieve as much as I do about the current state of affairs, then register to vote and get as many other non-voters to do likewise.

Let us give our beloved country some chance to survive and possibly prosper come the next GE!

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 10:06 am

Affirmative action programs like NEP must be subject to periodic review so that mistakes can be rectified.
    We must not link NEP to “Malay rights” that is part of the Federal Constitution as NEP was intended for the poor irrespective of race.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 10:22 am

Our nation has been systematically robbed, raped, sodomised n retarded by a small grp of opportunistic racists n their cronies, under d pretext of helping all poor Malays
    D opportunists continue 2 get fatter n greedier, even robbing blatantly, demanding 4 more n threatening violence
    Give me, give me, give me, otherwise wahtchout ………..

3. #3 by boh-liao on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 11:18 am

Marcus Mojigoh was right: One must be serious in Parliament n not main-main
    But unfortunately dis useless low IQ MP only has eyes on female MPs n can only comment on a female MP’s outfit
    He cannot n dare not comment on really serious issues, like NR’s presidential address to d 61st UMNO GA is inappropriate, or NR’s budget is bad n will lead 2 bankruptcy
    Wake up lah Marcus Mojigoh, b serious n STOP openly and blatantly ogling women

4. #4 by kahsinaw on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 11:41 am

Dear LKS,

I sincerely hope that you can be sharp enough to read between the lines. This is just another ploy to draw you into the trap. I would suggest that you refrain from expressing your thoughts on this as eventually your expression will be used against you to achieve their objective

5. #5 by k1980 on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 1:37 pm

The NEP is like a leaking tub— the more you fill it with water, the more the water leaks away. The only cure is to set up a new leak-proof tub, together with a trusted watchman who will shoot anyone trying to siphon water away from it.

6. #6 by k1980 on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 5:37 pm

When your children and grandchildren ask you as to the greatest thing you have done in your life, you will beam with satisfaction and proudly answer, ” I helped kick jibbi the hutt and his corrupt bn out of putrajaya.”

7. #7 by ktteokt on Saturday, 23 October 2010 - 5:39 pm

I stopped spoon-feeding my son when he was three years old (he could eat on his own without me bringing the food to his mouth) but after 5 decades of spoon-feeding, the Malays are still unable to hold up their own spoons and feed themselves but had to rely on GOVERNMENT CHARITY! This is a total disgrace to a nation which proclaims itself to be an ADVANCED NATION ten years from now!!!!

8. #8 by johnnypok on Sunday, 24 October 2010 - 5:55 am

Sabahans and Sarawakians have been “cheated”, robbed, sodomised and raped for the past donkey years.

God has finally decided that enough is enough … now that the truth has been exposed … but things are not going to be easy, and there will be fightings and blood-shed, like the American civil war, and only God knows what will be the outcome of the next GE … I guess it will be the beginning of a civil war that will last for many years, until we declare bankrupt in 2019.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Sunday, 24 October 2010 - 12:02 pm

The most to be blamed is the majority race if PR couldn’t capture Putrajaya.They will be what they are now(remaining poor n helpless) as they still prefer to be raped by umnoputras after all these donkey years.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 24 October 2010 - 1:54 pm

The supposed ‘social contract’ – citizen ship for special rights not temporary privilleges, is bogus BECAUSE it makes no historical sense.

Forget asking for documentation, forget asking about minutae of reason. The big glaring fact is INDEPENDENCE would be impossible without equal citizenship. Nothing else matters.

I can tell you from personal relationships that Tunku himself said there is no special rights.

11. #11 by cemerlang on Monday, 25 October 2010 - 9:21 pm

One must be serious in Parliament and not main main. PM said do not take life too seriously. It is the nation at stake. If the nation is weak, what do you all think will happen ? Some of you mention Africa. Starvation. Poverty. Worse of all. No dignity. It is not easy to move out from the comfort zone. Number 1. You are used to the way things are done and you are boss. Number 2. You know that if you move to a new area, you will have to start from the beginning which might mean being laughed at and it is something your ego dare not to face. Number 3. You know it is not easy to climb to the top on your own. So, you decide you would not let go. A baby conceive in his mother’s womb for nine months. If after nine months, the contractions come and the baby just would not want to come out and still grab hold on to the cord, what do you think will happen ?