Freedom! Freedom! Freedom!

By Richard Loh

I intended to use the post title Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka but someone beats me to it.

I was 3 years old when Malaya got its Independence and at that age I cannot recalled what actually happened, only to learn in later years from history books. History are written by men or historians but along the way depending on the whims and fancies of those in power, it can be rewritten.

What I learned in the sixties was that Malayan comprising of all races led by Tunku Abdul Rahman fought for our Freedom from the British rule. Following our Freedom the country had to fight the communist insurgencies and Malayan of all races fought off the communists.

The sixties, the time that I was a teenager, the country was peaceful and harmonious (other than the communist insurgencies, which have no effect on us civilians) with all the races mixing around each other without any inkling what racism is all about while religions were never a conflict.

The whole landscape of peace and harmony started to deteriorate after May 13 1969 with many versions written and told of what actually caused the fatal riots. The actual truth can or never will be revealed as some of those in the know were dead and gone while those still alive would not want to jeopardised their comfortable position. What I can say is that the disparity of the haves and haves not among the races is only part of the reason.

No one had ever questioned the NEP but seriously asked how it deviates from its original true intention and the way it is implemented. It has now been twisted and turned into as part of the constitution which no one can questioned or removed it. Just like the ISA which originally was used against the communist insurgencies now being a great political tool.

Whatever is happening now to the country should be blamed on the wealth of our country. We are blessed with natural resources and free from natural disaster. These richness lead to greed and power crazy with those in power clamouring to reap in for themselves as much as possible.

In order to continue reaping the country’s wealth, they must remain in power and that is where dirty politics come into play. Before the 308 tsunami, the balance of political power is always one sided leaving those in power to do whatever they like with the country’s wealth. Divide and rule is the best option to use to ensure victory and it had never failed them.

After 308, the whole political scenario had changed and those in power are scrambling to find solutions to ensure their continuing stay in power. The shallow application of the divide and rule which used to work for the past decades seem redundant in this new era.

The only way left to ensure the stay in power is not disrupted is to create confusion among the people. How to confuse the people, its easy, just introduce the slogan “1Malaysia, People First Performance Now”. Within the ruling party, they break up in separate groups with the PM leading as the nice guy while other groups playing the bad guys to create as much distortions and misinterpret the constitution, the PM’s slogan, the use of religion and racism to the tilt.

The good guy, that is the PM will keep on talking (I am very certain that his Merdeka speech will be all about peace and harmony and his 1Malaysia concept) while leaving the bad guys to do his other dirty jobs, i.e to break up and cause chaos among the races.

Many will said that their actions will cause their own downfall but we must know that there are also many that will fall prey to their dirty plot. Non malays will be blinded by the good guy rhetoric while the malay will believe that their religion and status are being challenged.

We fight to free ourselves from the British and rid of the communists but instead of enjoying the real freedom, we are now enslaved by our own greedy government. Once a year we are told that we are all Malaysians, we must be patriotic and fly our national flag to celebrate Merdeka day. The rest of the days in the year, I am malay first, you are pendatang, beggars or prostitutes with racist slurs coming from the leaders and media every other days.

Merdeka day is the only day where we are all recognised as Malaysians, so enjoy with the 24 hours that you have to be a Malaysians.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 10:41 am

///Freedom! Freedom! Freedom!///

There is always a price to pay in the fight for freedom.

So, do not be surprised if PR politicians are imprisoned in their march to Putrajaya.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 10:45 am

53 yrs after Malaya n 47 yrs after M’sia
    40 yrs of NEP!

Nonbumis hv been skrued 4 40 long yrs
    N d end is still not in sight
    Maha racist MMK even warned dat removing NEP would precipitate revolution n violence

When NEP was implemented in 1970 2 last 4 20 yrs, nonbumis had 2 face racial discrimination n tighten their belts 4 20 yrs
    They hoped 4 better days ahead after d sacrifice
    20 yrs went by n with MMK as d then PM, NEP was extended
    Now it has bcome a Never Ending Privilege or Parasitism
    Now 40 yrs after implementation of NEP, things got worse 4 nonbumis
    Kena yelled racist taunts, asked 2 go back 2 ancestors’ motherlands, told 2 b 2nd or 3rd class citizens n kowtow 2 Ketuanan Melayu

After kena r@ped fr d front 4 20 yrs, d victims were asked 2 turn over 2 b s0d0mised by super-rich UmnoB n Perkosa Malays 4 who knows how long
    Ban ban enjoy lah 4 those who still cling 2 UmnoB/BN

Is dis d freedom we want?

3. #3 by k1980 on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 10:53 am

///Freedom! Freedom! Freedom!///

What is the use of freedom when it is replaced by oppression? The people of Sudan, Somalia, Zimbabwe, Haiti and so on will be much better off today if they are still under colonial rule, without “freedom”, but also without oppression!

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 11:01 am

‘Those were the days my friend
    We thought they’d never end………………We lived the life we choose-lyrics of song by Mary Hopkins

But now it’s Gone Gone Gone. Gone With The Wind.

5. #5 by ekompute on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 11:22 am

In the 60s and 70s, they say they need special privileges in order to catch up with the other races. In the 80s and thereafter when they have caught up, special privileges have become special rights and they now say that they deserve them because they are the tuans of this country.

Something is fundamentally wrong with this country and we know that things will get worse before it gets better. Some have threatened a disaster worst than May 13 and I believe this will come to pass. Malaysia has make a mockery out of our official religion and all there exist today are greed, corruption, and abuse of power, the very thing that any religion finds absolutely repulsive.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 11:41 am

It is over simplistic to dismiss this whole resurgence of racism to simply good cop and bad cop games where “the good guy, that is the PM will keep on talking about Malaysia while leaving the bad guys to do his other dirty jobs, i.e to break up and cause chaos among the races.

It is, to my mind, also oversimplistic to blame “whatever that is happening now to the country (‘greed and power craziness’ of elite class) “on the wealth of our country”.

For a start there are countries of rich and abundant resources, eg the USA, which do not turn out our way or the way of the other oil rich countries like Saudi Arabia or Sudan said to be cursed by this “resource problem”.

Why don’t you blame other factors – our attitudes?

On “Freedom Freedom and Freedom” in the US Americans were inspired by Patrick Henry’s famous speech “Give me Liberty, or give me Death!” made to the Virginia Convention on March 23, 1775.

In our case it was not freedom but absolute loyalty as evinced by legendary hero Hang Tuah who killed his best friend Hang Jebat on the Sultans order in spite of the fact that Hang Jebat rebelled against the Sultan to avenge what he mistakenly believed was Hang Tuah’s unjust death ordered by the Royal Court.

Where Patrick Henry would say “give me liberty or death” here many of our attitude is ‘give me liberty or a chance to emigrate to greener pastures from these problems”.

If we want to analyse problems of the country’s problems of development, both political and economic, with a view to mitigating them, the first thing to do is to get real and last thing is to be simplistic .

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 12:07 pm

In the sixties, all the races mixed around each other without any inkling what racism was all about while religions were never a point of conflict.

It got worse when Tun Dr Mahathir took over. The Tunku would never imagine today’s school principals making racist remarks to their students. And even now, 4 over decades later, the fomer premier – already out of office but not out of politics – is still pulling strings to espouse, with complete freedom and some measure of influence, the relevance of his race theory and oimportance of his race based NEP, as if the negative intangibles that he bequeathes as legacy to the country – ie racial discord and religious extremism amongst some quarters- are not sufficiently destructive. It is an incredible situation, to say the least.

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 12:08 pm

Many say ‘Freedom’ but one of my mates said “Fleedom’.

Let not Freedom become Fleedom.

Happy Merdeka.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 12:45 pm

Freedom, fleedom, fleecedom

10. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 12:49 pm

11. #11 by Thor on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 12:51 pm

Life is meaningless without a soul!
    Merdeka is meaningless without its spirits!
    Never in history had we celebrated merdeka in such a strange and unusual way.
    It’s not a parade nor is it a concert!
    Just a childish performance that left everyone puzzled as they scratched their head.
    Where’re all our millitary might and hardwares that’re often used to be displayed?
    Being sold off or turn into scraps, I supposed!
    Not even a roar from jet planes could be heard from the blue skies.
    Must have sold off all of its engines, one would say.
    Omigosh! what a “real” merdeka indeed!!!

12. #12 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 3:02 pm

Sing a song of Freedom,Freedom Freedom. All people MUST unite to let go our glory,our wealth and our honour for a time being so that we can fight for “FREEDOM ONLY”.
    Because without FREEDOM.we have NOTHING.

13. #13 by asia on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 3:37 pm

Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka.

Talking is easy.

Do you think without money can fund the activities to getting Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka?

Before Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka do you think the malays have the money to fund the activities to getting Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka ?

I doubt about that.

Without Chinese and Indian support the fund there would be enough fund to run the activities.

Without Chinese and Indian vote there will be no Alliance/BN.

Without Chinese and Indian ancestor open the inland jungle, these place maybe just a fishing village.

Many ancestors lack of information so they thought this land Malays came here first.

But actually it is the orang asli who came and live here many generations long before Malays.

During british adminstration before Merdeka anyone who is practice Muslim and their custom is refer as Malay.

It is Malay, Chinese and Indian effort work together gained the Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka.

Without one of their support there will be no Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka but a land may already belong to indonesia.

Indonesia have no more royalty.

14. #14 by asia on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 3:38 pm

Without Chinese and Indian support the fund there would not be enough fund to run the activities.

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 5:51 pm

You can’t have rational interaction from a party that had relied on open corruptions based on negotiated tenders to give up so easily. At the moment, they are not even asking themselves, where had we gone wrong, after 53 years of power? This is desperate time and in such scenario, they still go around creating while elephants all over the country to bleed the nation. A rational mind would ask: Why? Surely if they have any inkling of hope to continue to rule they would have started to reverse their actions. Obviously they are not. In desperate time, every issue would be exploited to the hilt, whether based on rational thinking or not. As the YB from Shah Alam warned, be prepared for Operasi lalangII. My thinking is for PR to assess the biorythm carefully, lest you all ended up in Timbuktu!!!

16. #16 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - 5:57 pm

they may even create white elephants overseas as the EPF now wants to spend over RM4bil on UK properties.
    So how is the checks and balances going to be done?
    As the UK can be considered a declining economy with possible further devaluation in Sterling, the 5% returns they project will easily be eaten up by currency devaluation and the expenses to be paid for the fund manager to make annual visits?
    Property in Singapore seems a more viable option for investment as Singapore property is more stable and easier to manage.

17. #17 by House Victim on Friday, 3 September 2010 - 12:11 am

PM
    with Freedom of Power to Buy Vote
    with Freedom of Quotes with make-up figures & Talks
    with Freedom of Deaf and Blind to their official duties.

Ministers with Freedom of Flip-flop and not attending to jobs. Freedom to Trips but not answering enquiries even in Parliament.

AG with Freedom to be silent to Lawyers insulting and cheating Clients.

Police with Freedom of flip-flop, telling victim to wait but no Investigation Report. Freedom to override Criminal Procedual Code!!

Chief Judges
    Freedom of putting Justice aside to have case settled without mention or trial, without the knowledge of clients and ask lawyer to show cause when failed to attend even once in 2 years!!

Judges with Freedom of BIAS,
    to allow Plantiff to drag and Lawyers to lie and discharged with False Statement.
    to assist Plaintiff lawyer to fool Defendents with the allow of Defendents’s lawyer absent without notices for 2 years.
    to promise to ask for Application of Discharge or to issue show-cause notice but NEVER did it or bluntly refused!!

Lawyers with Freedom of Cheating, get paid and do not job or even attending court. Freedom of misleading clients and even assaulting clients in office in many open eyes. Freedom to deny but not rebutting facts!!

Bar Council with Freedom of
    delaying Disciplinary proceeding, Freedom of bully Complianant without even providing Respondent’s Explanation. Freedom with pluffing that the Disciplinary Board had discharged the Case without investigation or hearing. Freedom to reply to Complainant on behalf of Respondent and Freedom not to ask Respondent to response when the lawyer is a lier.

Freedom for Developer to sell house without Advertising Permit and pocketed Common Faciliteis (Club House) and common area and not to follow laws on account and handle over. Freedom to collect charge without justified expenses.

Freedom for Land Office to take Public Reserved Land for Joint-Venture Projects. To issue Apartment Titles to Condo. Freedom to issue Private Title to Developer on Water Retention Ponds and silent with a Town Park. Freedom to change Public Green areas into Housing Projects.

……………………………
    Merkeda is “truly” here for Cronies who has duties, ethnic and discipline to perform. All Merkeda to go WITHOUT!!