Proton car prices in Saudi Arabia – raw deal for Malaysians

Letters
By an angry Malaysian

FROM ANGRY RAKYAT …..! TO OWNERS OF PROTON VEHICLES….VERY SAD !!!!
SO NOW YOU KNOW THE ACTUAL VALUE PRICE OF PROTON !!!! CHEAP METAL !!!

1 MALAYSIA SENTIASA DITIPU…
Kenapa Proton tak jual harga macam kat Arab Saudi ?
Apa istimewanya orang Arab?

Kata “Rakyat didahulukan”..
Kenapa orang Arab lebih diutamakan?

Haaaa..Jawapannya ialah..

Pemilik Proton di Malaysia semuanya dah kena tipu…Hahaha

Harga Persona kat Saudi = SR36,100
Harga Gen2 kat Saudi = SR33,600
Harga Waja kat Saudi = SR37,950

1 Saudi Riyal = RM0.94

Maknanya harga Persona kat Saudi = RM33,934 aje
Maknanya harga Proton Gen2 kat Saudi = RM32,256 aje
Maknanya harga Waja kat Saudi = RM35,673 aje

1 Malaysia bayar RM 66,799.97 untuk 1 Waja di Msia! RM31,126.97 lebih MAHAL!

Shouldn’t our Government protects us. Instead we are cheated.. Our hard earnings..!!

We pay for others to enjoy …

THIS IS 1MALAYSIA …UMNO/BN Govt.

1. #1 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 3:24 pm

Not only in Saudi Arabia & other Middle Eastern regions. Proton cars got piss off in Australia, NZ, USA and Europe…

Bakuthir’s legend is totally failure! With his big mouth to insult and brag, MaSalleh are tired of him. Even what Malay called Arabs as Muslim brothers, Arabs also shunning away in purchasing Proton cars! Malaysia, tentu-lah Boleh with people like Changehole brags much & stick his ass high in the air….

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 3:44 pm

The philosophy of umno bums—

Kera di hutan disusukan,
    anak dirumah mati kelaparan

3. #3 by HOHOHO on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 3:47 pm

Ho Ho Ho
    WTF!!! our country is already so RICH with natural resources already n some more this corrupted to the core bumNO wanna ‘tipu sama RAKYAT’ cheat on all MALAYSIANS !!!
    Comes 13th GE PEOPLES POWER will give them a very BIG TSUNAMI n show them the EXIT to their bolehland !!!
    Ho Ho Ho

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 3:48 pm

Actually strictly legally speaking, the practice is called dumping. Its suppose to be illegal in most jurisdiction. The problem is NO ONE wants the car even if its dumped so no one complains..

5. #5 by Homeless on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 3:51 pm

IF profit margin for Proton is 30%, then the actual price for Gen2 is RM22,580.

6. #6 by albert308 on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 4:06 pm

Every car sold in Malaysia, government collect at least RM30k in taxes. Annual car sales volume total about 500k; Malaysian ‘subsidized’ at least RM15 billion to government on car sales alone. Car prices in Malaysia is among the highest in the world. In addition, APs still enjoyed by Umnoputras riches.

Now, Idris Jala said government must reduce subsidy on petrol, gas, healthcare, toll, sugar, cooking oil and flour; otherwise the country will go bankrupt in 5 years time. This statement reported in Guang Ming Daily shows the nation financial position in great concern.

BN desperate in mega deals to raise cash? Several land deals involved tens billion RM in the pipeline including KTM land in Singapore. Rushing oilfield off Sabah deal with Brunei mean government in urgent need to generate cash within few years?

How serious is nation financial position? Where are Malaysia heading in ten years time?

7. #7 by monsterball on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 4:07 pm

I don’t know……..
    Usually honest government sells cars higher price that exported price is to somewhat show to their foreign country distributors….no one can export the said car to them..cheaper..except the manufacturer.
    But then….countries like USA sells their manufactured cars totally free from duties…also to protect US manufacturers..that no one can buy same car and import into US cheaper.
    I guess the difference lies on how corrupt that country is.
    Usually those who sells cars dearer that exported same model…are countries that needs more profit to beef up the government kitty banks.
    In Malaysia…..more money into government kitty banks means more opportunities to think of big projects to suck up big commissions for party and personal benefits.
    In Japan…or Korea anyone suspected of corruptions..looses faces and commit sucide.
    In Malaysia…UMNO B thinks it is an achievement…so proud of it.
    Right now…the mastermind of corruptions in UMNO B..Mahathir is applying his same sickening art……to blame all UMNO B guys being so corrupt…leaving him..as the most uncorrupted PM in the history of all PMs.
    He told Musa Hitam…it is a brave thing to do..by not admitting mistakes.
    This dirtiest politician will die without any repentance of massive sins to Malaysians.
    It seems as he grows older..he is more dirtier.

8. #8 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 4:09 pm

Apa istimewanya orang Arab?

By subsidizing the sale of Proton cars in the Holy Land, the umno fools thought that when they kick their buckets, upon their ascent to Paradise, the Arabs would give them NEP-like special privileges

9. #9 by dagen on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 4:32 pm

Aiyah, we bely lich mah. Dont know ah! Huh? We can give block L & M away orso. Why cannot sell ploton cars chip chip in saudi? If hoh we never give away block L & M then sooly we can sell ploton for one US lollar one, ah. Maybe hoh even buy one for 1us lollor and get one free ah. You know or not?

We so lich. Our country got many much money. We so so lich!

10. #10 by PRU13 @ pollkad.com on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 4:44 pm

balance sheet – increase TAXes, PETROL price and etc. no subsi-dies.

what next.

11. #11 by Hassan on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 5:00 pm

rase macm rakyat malaysia bodoh gile ble bace ni!!!

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 5:26 pm

No. 1TIPU!

Hello Najib’s slogan sebetulnya: “Rakyat dibelakangkan, Prestasi diaiyoh-aiyohkan”.

13. #13 by chengho on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 5:52 pm

marketing strategy for export market . Look at korean , Japanese and Chinesse company ; domestic price diff from export market . That why a company like Huawei ,Samsung ,ZTE ,etc becoming a global company .

14. #14 by tunglang on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 6:12 pm

And whose competitive strategy is this for Malaysia? Michael Porter? No other than this Mak-Ham-Makhatheer!

15. #15 by tunglang on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 6:17 pm

We sweat to overpay to finance BN’s mismanagement of national coffers. One extreme example is the size of our civil service! And the high cost of tendered projects and even screw drivers, which price can go up as high as hundred of ringgit!
    We ignorant Rakyat are really screwed and squeezed high and dry by BN!
    This is how Gomen treat us koolies – earn low salaries-pay expensive-for the rich foreigners to enjoy-real cheap Malaysian exports! This is Malaysia Boleh, Kita Semua Poor-eh!

16. #16 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 7:10 pm

chengho :
    marketing strategy for export market . Look at korean , Japanese and Chinesse company ; domestic price diff from export market . That why a company like Huawei ,Samsung ,ZTE ,etc becoming a global company .

I think the big difference is that those are private companies while PROTON is using public funds and this makes such marketing strategy sounds ludricrous.

17. #17 by HOHOHO on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 8:10 pm

chengho :marketing strategy for export market . Look at korean , Japanese and Chinesse company ; domestic price diff from export market . That why a company like Huawei ,Samsung ,ZTE ,etc becoming a global company .

Becoming a global company!? your ‘kepala otak udang’ n you should buy more ‘Pentang Sa Kua’ car to drive for your bosy enjoyment n tax n remember that your sick SHIT bosy jet engine now also can go GLOBAL now too!hahahahahahahahahaha
    Ho Ho Ho

18. #18 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 9:31 pm

What is new here?Our tax from duties for cars are used to feed our corrupted government.I am not surprised.Next thing is to implement GST, because the BN’s government “appetite” is much bigger.

19. #19 by tunglang on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 9:52 pm

Some (deleted) said: “Politics is money, that’s the reality.” That goes to show we Rakyat had been fooled of our hard-earned money to illegally sponsor this political Scumbag for his egomaniac indecencies. Yet this (deleted) have the decency to say it’s reality while the many poor in the backstreets, kampongs, estates and urban decays struggle to earn half a meal to feed a family. Who in the decent Rakyat expect to live thro’ this ‘reality show’ of his.
    Proton is one of the ‘reality shows’ gone bad with a high price ticket for Malaysians!

20. #20 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 10:10 pm

ya Allah ya tuhan ku ! What liars ! ai yah ! Face is more important mah…..

21. #21 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 10:45 pm

selling the products outside the country at a lower price is called dumping. There is an international law governing the export price. I think it happens to China dumping the steel products in America. Malaysian government may be called to international court if there will be such a complaint.

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 11:27 pm

Hey, beb, you got it wrong!!

Proton cars in Saudi are based on camel power.

Proton cars in 1Malaysia are based on kuda power.

1kuda power equals to 2 camel power.

So its fair if 1Malaysians pay double because of stronger kuda power.

Check MITI’s website.

QED.

23. #23 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 - 11:35 pm

pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 25 May 2010 – 10:45 pm
    “selling the products outside the country at a lower price is called dumping”.

No Malaysia is not dumping the Proton Cars but it is the Tax Structure for cars sold in Malaysia that has made the prices exorbitant here. Even with that type of prices in Saudi, I bet it will not be able to compete as had happened in Australia and Singapore. It will die a natural death soon.
    For your info, P. Sibu ,the car buyers are actually subsidising the Government each time we buy a car in order to protect the survival of Proton and Perodua and now the Naza Empire.
    A brand new Mercedes 200E is retailing at about AUD 80,000 in Australia but here we are paying more than RM380,000 for it. Dollar for dollar we are made suckers and now they are harping so much of fuel subsidy when we had been subsiding UMNO since Proton started rolling out. UMNO just want the cake and eat it all. That is the legacy of Mamakthir. The people are always made suckers by the Government.
    With all these negative legacies and largesse to UMNO cronies, Malaysia will soon bleed to death and there are fools ( sorry they are not fools but the Kampong folks are always fooled by UMNO) who still vote for UMNO. That is why in the Urban constituency UMNO is made to look like fools as even with open bribery they still get slap on their face. They can only bluff the Kampong folks and that is why English is not promoted by UMNO so that they can keep these people backwards and they can keep on bluffing them.
    You ask the Kampong folks, how many of them know why they are paying through their nose when purchasing a car.

24. #24 by acwk on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 12:20 am

No more Ketuanan Melayu, Now Ketuanan Arab?
    No more look east policy, now lick middle east policy?

Dear YB Ipoh Timur,
    We also want to make a deal with you. If PR wins PRU13, we want the Arab’s price for our cars. This is a good deal for PR, imagine, there are over 5millions car owners will be voting for PR and many more aspiring car owners will also be voting for PR.
    Do we have a deal? YES or NO?

25. #25 by monsterball on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 1:44 am

Yes UMNO B are experts to apply highest taxes to squeezed us dry.
    That’s OK…if money is well spent..but we have hundreds of proofs our money went into UMNO party and their personal pockets…on and on.
    Always dry…no money…now UMNO B say…subsidies on toll.. oil…electricity and water will need to stop…costing the government billions per year.
    They always tell you the bad news and hide the real truth.
    If our government is a very honest one….they will have few trillions RM saved and put into savings accounts all over the world…to earn enough to forever provide even cheaper oil…no toll at all to all Malaysians.
    Yes….Malaysia have to withstand powerful world countries that dictate the economic system of every small country.
    UMNO B make sure all Malaysians how how helpless we are against such powerful countries that that rock any small country economic position.
    What UMNO B keep ignoring to tell us…is how rich we are…and made poor to be like others…due to those blood suckers…bad managements and playing race and religion politics plus stealing billions every year..non stop.
    Malaysia is such a rich country made poor and now…not easy for UMNO B to manipulate they will never admit any shirt comings cause by them.but keep on finding ideas how to squeeze us dry..to cover their evil deeds.
    So folks…be prepared for much higher electricity bills…toll fees..all food essentials prices go sky high.
    Najib is caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.
    To withdraw subsidies…will loose more votes.
    To continue…UMNO B not enough money to buy up the whole country.

26. #26 by burn on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 2:44 am

when the first time proton car was launched, many ordinary malaysians could afford one. they say, it is for the ordinary malaysian. year by year, it increased the price. yet many malaysian still have their same income since the first proton was launch. in other countries, they sell cheaper with more accessories. the first saga use a carburetor, but in uk, it use fuel injection! and it is much much cheaper!

all this years, malaysians were being make a fool. ordinary malaysian do not have a choice to choose other car models, due to high import duties to protect the proton. even most superbikes are much higher than car prices. how do ordinary malaysian can afford one. so, in another word, the superbikes is only meant for the higher income bracket as a luxury item. do they really think of the people, or only interested to protect their own interest!

27. #27 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 4:11 am

Dis is d gift fr n legacy of MMK, who skrued up all M’sians n yet earned d reputation as d guy who modernised M’sia – betul ke?

28. #28 by julian mahadevan on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 10:06 am

All those commenting on this site, no point just making noise. Forward this article to each and every friend of yours with an advice, telling them to also forward to each and every friend of theirs.

Let the whole Malaysia know about this. Every Malaysian desrve to know because our car loans sometimes make up 50% of our take home pay.

Because of this “detriment”, our children get less food and clothes and we deprive them of the toys and books the ask us, the parents, to buy.

So forward this article to everyone you know. Re-post it to malaysiakini and every blog you read. I am sure it will be the most read letter in malaysiakini.

Post it also in your facebook profile. Spread the word around.

This affects each and every Malaysian and it is good for each and every Malaysian to know what is happening.

29. #29 by tunglang on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 12:33 pm

We ordinary mortals were bleeded beyond our means to enjoy acceptable standards of living. Our national wealth is slowly depleting due to MM Leeches breeding and festering in our midst since the 80’s.
    If “Politics is Money, That’s the Reality” as claimed is strategic survival for politicians and the country, WHY BLEED THE NATION? Why not bleed the rich advanced countries thro’ competitive edge in business, bargain-power politics, cutting edge scientific research and strategic regional alliance? WHY BE A COWARD AND BULLY THE RAKYAT?
    You BN leaders have no balls, but leech-money-thirst scumbags in the class of Zimbabwe bullying and lying the Rakyat.
    As for the fooled Rakyat, STOP BUYING CARS UNTIL AFTER THE NEXT GE. USE YOUR SAVINGS TO SUPPORT PAKATAN RAKYAT. POLITICS IS MONEY WELL SPENT, NOT WASTED.

30. #30 by Dipoh Bous on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 3:30 pm

OMG !!

So, my perodua viva (over 30k) and my proton exora ( over 78k ) should have been much cheaper than that !!

To add salt to the wound, we in Sarawak, are paying a few thousand extra rm for the same thing purchased by West Malaysia Malaysians !!

Any meaning to 1Malaysia?

So, Sarawakians, get rid of the current state / federal government and GET OUT of Malaysia !!

It would be better if Sabah, Sarawak, Kalimantan and Brunei could form a new country ( it could be named later, through a contest ). That would really be a great thing for BORNEO .

“I love BORNEO”

31. #31 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 7:38 pm

chengho :
    marketing strategy for export market . .

Huh…..? Marketing strategy? So poor Malaysian have to pay more for the “national cars” in order to subsidise the cars for rich Arabs?…. or just to show that Proton are able to sell cars in the desert…… the losses suffered in overseas market is to be offset ed by fat profit made from the domestic market?……. so how that will fit in to 1Malaysia-People First, Performance now?

32. #32 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 - 11:37 pm

chengho :

Eunuch – try not to use big words if you don’t know what they mean.

I think you mean “marketing tragedy”.