Muhyiddin should resign as DPM if he is not prepared to declare that in accordance with 1Malaysia goal, he is Malaysian first and Malay second

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said in Parliament yesterday in his reply as Education Minister that he supported the Prime Minister’s message of 1Malaysia and instead accused me of trying to drive a wedge between Datuk Seri Najib Razak and him.

Muhyiddin said:

“Ipoh Timur has questioned my commitment to the concept of 1 Malaysia. For Ipoh Timur’s information, 1 Malaysia, which was created by the prime minister, is a pure idea aimed at strengthening racial unity which has been the basis of our strength as a nation.

“Unity reflected by 1 Malaysia is not a form of assimilation where one’s identity is erased and replaced with one identity. It is also not a concept which rejects the special rights of the Malays as propagated by Ipoh Timur through the concept of Malaysian Malaysia and lately Middle Malaysia.

“My relationship with the prime minister is very close and 1 Malaysia has the support of the nation. The allegations made are aimed at weakening Barisan Nasional. I am confident that Barisan Nasional lawmakers clearly understand the concept of 1 Malaysia.”

Muhyiddin said that 1Malaysia respects the nation’s constitution and accused me of questioning the special rights of the Malays.

He said:

“Ipoh Timur is questioning the special rights of the Malays and rejects the differences in identity of the different races and the spirit of the constitution which does not reflect real commitment to the concept of 1 Malaysia.”

Clearly, Muhyiddin believes in the maxim that the best defence is offence, as he had completely evaded the three questions, which I had described as the three acid tests as to whether he really supports Najib’s 1Malaysia concept and has the 1Malaysia DNA, namely;

1. Whether he agrees to the establishment of an Opposition-headed Parliamentary Select Committee on 1Malaysia;

2. Is he prepared to declare that the basis of 1Malaysia is “ketuanan rakyat Malaysia” and not “ketuanan Melayu”; and

3. Is he prepared to endorse the objective of 1Malaysia as defined by the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap to create a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion or region second.

4. As a result of evasion and prevarication by Umno Youth leader, Khairy Jamaluddin during the exchange when I spoke in the debate on the Royal Address, I had framed a fourth question:

5. Whether he is prepared to declare that the basis of the Malaysian Constitution is “ketuanan rakyat Malaysia” and not “ketuanan Melayu”.

Instead, Muhyiddin had gone on the offensive to launch a baseless and scurrilous attack on me, alleging that that I “questioned Malay special rights and rejected the differences in identity of the different races and the spirit of the constitution”.

Muhyiddin must be a very desperate politician that he had to make such a baseless charge, as I had refuted the allegation that I opposed Article 153 of the Constitution.

Is Muhyiddin making the allegation because I had declared that I am Malaysian first and Chinese second, and he is evading my challenge to him to similarly declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second?

Isn’t Muhiddin’s refusal to make such a declaration the best proof that he does not fully support Najib’s 1Malaysia concept?

Let me remind Muhyiddin what the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap said about the goal of 1Malaysia – “to make Malaysia ….a greater nation: a nation where, it is hoped, every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second and where the principles of 1Malaysia are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”.

During the debate in Parliament, I said this formulation of the goal of 1Malaysia is exactly the goal of Malaysian Malaysia and Middle Malaysia, proof that Malaysian Malaysia and Middle Malaysia are fully centred on the fundamental basis of the Constitution upon which this nation was founded when we achieved Merdeka in 1957.

In refusing to respond to my challenge to declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second, isn’t Muhyiddin demonstrating that he does not fully support the 1Malaysia goal?

I challenge Muhyiddin to explain how my four questions on the acid tests of 1Malaysia had “questioned Malay special rights and rejected the differences in identity of the different races and the spirit of the constitution”?

Muhyiddin should resign as Deputy Prime Minister if he is not prepared to set the lead for all UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders and declare that in accordance with the 1Malaysia goal, he is Malaysian first and Malay second.

1. #1 by Fatty Doc on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 11:07 am

LKS, please don’t nail so hard on Muhyiddin… have some sympathy for him! He is trying very hard now, to garner all the Malay votes, and to dethrone Najib, and declare himself the next PM!

2. #2 by teckwyn on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 11:12 am

Yes. And Najib should also declare that he is Malaysian first, Bugis second.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 11:16 am

Imagine having him as the PM.

Talking about Article 153 of the Constitution, how many shares did each of the UMNO leaders get under the NEP and still hold in their names?

Maybe they want some more under the New Easy Money programme.

4. #4 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 11:34 am

NEW = Never Ending Money.

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 12:01 pm

The day is fast approaching when Pak Jib makes a mistake and is booted out by Pak Moo, in the same way as Pak Moo booted out Pak Dol. And Pak Tir will be pulling the strings, as usual

6. #6 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 12:38 pm

The country remains pathetic until today is due mainly to leaders who are liars and hypocrites.They are selfish and are all out to plunder and squander the wealth of the country.They will continue to play the racial and religious cards to achievious their heinous goal to ruin Malaysia.

7. #7 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 12:40 pm

Come on YB Lim Kit Siang,your not joking,right ?. I mean if MY agreed,accepted your three questions and implemented them accordingly,he would be wipe out by Umno. That’s why he keeps talking about the 1malaysia concept and the NEM would not change any thing which is meant for the malays. Hence basing on his statements,I think 1malaysia is still 1ketuanan melayu and the NEW is still malays first.The bottom line is 1malaysia and the NEW are NR/MY traps to hood-wink the non-malays into supporting the BN in the 13th GE.

8. #8 by artemisios on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 1:12 pm

YB Kit, please keep up the excellent work. Continue apply pressure. Let the nation watch them flip more.

Answering intelligent & constructive questions with childish tantrum…

and when he’s not on the usual routine of playing the race card… he reads out the a default line that sounds like “…..a pure idea aimed at strengthening racial unity which has been the basis of our strength as a nation……”

This is really hilarious
    Q: Are you really committed to 1Malaysia?
    A: Woi!!! You’re questioning Malay rights!!!

Q: Do you know what 1Malaysia really means?

Q: Please explain in detail, how the govt is planning to implement the “all inclusive” NEM

Q: Have you taken your lunch?

Q: Your pants are down

Dear DPM, can you please answer questions straight up like a real man instead of completely dodging it? Not only you’re dodging it, again,.. yawn… you’re going back to old tactics, saying LKS is questioning Malay rights, hoping to turn a question about nation building into another race issue…

WHAT IN THE WORLD IN THIS??????!!!!!!!!

9. #9 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 1:22 pm

1malaysia
    umnoputra didahulukan
    pencapaian wangringgit diutamakan
    logonya cantik dihadapan
    dibelakangnya tersorok keris bernanah…

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 1:38 pm

Actually, if Najib & Muhiyiddin believes in 1Malaysia, they should resign and join Pakatan Rakyat. Najib with his announced NEM is already endorsing Pakatan’s agenda. An honest 1Malaysia, IS Pakatan’s Vision – the only difference is Selamat Malaysia is a lot more urgent because PR know it is.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 1:39 pm

Watch out! If Muhyiddin, a loyal fan of Ibrahim Ali, becomes the next PM, he would probably unwind all the reforms that Najib has carried out and resurrect the NEP.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 1:55 pm

Please lah, spare him d embarrassment, he does not hv d IQ 2 understand yr Qs, let alone 2 answer, moooooooooooooooooooo

13. #13 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:15 pm

If Muhi is agreeable with what you propose, then it will mean the collapse of KETUANAN MELAYU!!!!! You think these people will drop the Ketuanan idea?

14. #14 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:24 pm

Demand others to resign is one of LKS’s favorite subjects….Surprisingly and sadly enough…he didn’t have the guts to demand Anwar to resign though PKR’s seats in Parliament were reduced to 26 compared to DAP’s 28…or demand the resignation of LGE after heavy criticism by the Rakyats ……Referring to his recent/past posts… .mostly touched about race…race…race…Why are there no other constructive topics here?…Sometimes, I wonder how to treat a man with phobia…..fear of the word ‘Malay’

15. #15 by wanderer on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:36 pm

YB Lim how can you ask a member of a racist party to break his rice bowl…mana ada class, mana ada principle and mana ada the spirit of 1Malaysia!

I am embarrassed that this man, an UMNO DPM, as a
    second Malaysian unashamedly, claiming the son of the soil status…..

16. #16 by wanderer on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:39 pm

cintanegara

We as Malaysians do not fear of the word “Malay” but,
    the racist Malays fear the word Malaysian!!!

17. #17 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:51 pm

If DPM were to declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second….Will LKS urge his community to send their children to Sekolah Kebangsaan first and SJKC second?

18. #18 by limkamput on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 2:55 pm

If his salary and perks have come from taxes paid for by all Malaysians, he must resign. There is no honour and dignity in him. But then, a tribal leader may not understand what dignity and honour are all about.

19. #19 by limkamput on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:08 pm

“How can I say I’m Malaysian first and Malay second? All the Malays will shun me… and it’s not proper,” Moohideen said.

See, i told you so – a tribal leader can not undertand anything beyond his nose. Hello, to be Malaysian first is inclusive, to be Malay first is exclusive. How can ALL the Malays shun you? Look, not all Malays are racists like you, Ibrahim or mamathir, got it?

20. #20 by Loh on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:15 pm

No where in the constitution has there a clause to confer Malays special rights. The Rulers happened to be Malays, and the successors are selected based on their succession rules.

Islam is the official religion, but Malays have no monopoly over Islamic religion.

Article 153 says that a reasonable percentage of certain places or opportunity should be reserved for Malays, because of the need of affirmative action.

There is no special rights for Malays. The constitution says that , under article 8 (1):

All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the protection of the law.

Yes the Rulers have special rights, and they are Malays; but not all Malays are rulers.

21. #21 by limkamput on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:24 pm

“There is nothing wrong in leaders fighting for their own race. Don’t tell me Kit Siang does not fight for the Chinese?” moohideen said.

Sure there is nothing wrong. If the cause is worth fighting for, all by all means do it. But by being racist to fight for your race is a different matter altogether. If we have the spirit of a Malaysian, we should be able to fight for any race irrespective of which race we belong to, got it DPM of Malay-sia?

22. #22 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:25 pm

Quote : “My relationship with the prime minister is very close”.

I agree. You see, as the saying goes : “Keep your friends close, and your enemies CLOSER”.

2 GEs ago, I was pro BN.
    Last GE, I was sitting on the fence, but gave my vote to PR to slap these UMNO idiots like Moohidin and try to wake them up.
    Next, GE (thanks to UMNO and idiots in them like Moohidin) I will be STRONGLY pro PR.

23. #23 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:29 pm

Satu Malaysia mean Semua masuk satu dan kita BN and cronies makan satu satu,

How can we have satu Malaysia when you are thinking saya Malayu first then Malaysian second.

The issue is not you are Melayu or Chenese or Indian. The issue is we must all works and share the same but now Bn say you works and part of the works must go to here and we eat all .
    That the issues. Its ok that certain % taken away for the lesser who can not compete with other on the same playing fileds, but this certian % was not given to the lesser but the rent seeker that the main issue. BN components can share together simply they all believe in shares the wealth that they rob from the people and that is what corruption is all about.

BN was supported by all people who have shares in the interest that why it was so difficult to make fundamental change. If you try to clean up all those corrupt simply because you are the one who also corrupt. That the issue.

so we must convince ourselves that only those outside BN can make the change. We can sure PR will be the one but it is only choice we have at this juncture. We must give PR a chance to proof themselve.

Forget about ONE Malaysia or NEM all are slogan created by Public Relation expert.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:33 pm

Don’t wait for him to resign as that is not going to happen.
    Voters have the right to sack this BN government and the like of the DPM and we should vote to CHANGE the government.

25. #25 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:33 pm

Well MY has just announced that he is MALAY first.
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/127975

So much for the empty 1 Malaysia slogan!

26. #26 by Godfather on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:38 pm

You are all wasting your time trying to argue against Moo Hee Din and his cohorts. UMNO is Malay first, MCA is Chinese first, and MIC is Indian first. That’s their base of support and they can’t change it.

27. #27 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:41 pm

Can you imagine to have a DPM cum Education Minister with such shallow mentality?Malaysia is going to sink lower. Sigh!

28. #28 by Loh on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:44 pm

Mooyuddin declares that he is Malay first and last. So, it is now clear to voters that unless they want a racist to be DPM, they should just vote him down in the GE 13.

We know all along that muhyiddin never support 1Malaysia because 1Malaysia according to Najib will give special privilege to all Malaysians belonging to the lowest 40% income class. Muhyiddin denies assistance to non-Malays who are classified among the poorest 40%.

Muslims believe in fair play and compassion. Looks like Muhyiddin is not a qualified Muslim.

29. #29 by dagen on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 3:51 pm

Yeah. Ask Jib the same question in parliament. He has to say that he is malaysian first and malay second. He has no choice. He has to stick to his gun. Otherwise he would be making a nonsense of his own 1malaysia thingy.

30. #30 by ringthetill on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 4:23 pm

This same person who says that sports can reduce racial barrier is also the same one who belongs to a party that advocate race politics card whenever it suits them. They hoodwink and trick the rakyat at each and every turn. Let’s hope the next GE will see some change in representation. Yes they are the rakyat’s representatives and NOT their masters!

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 4:38 pm

Regarding your challenge, the DPM was reported (Malaysiakini/MalaysiaInsider) to have declared, “ I am Malay first, but being Malay doesn’t mean I am not Malaysian”.

I wonder why he responded such. He’s (intellectually) cornered by you, ha ha ha!

It will be recalled that the challenge was in context of PM Najib’s “I Malaysia” whereby the objective, as defined by the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap, is to create a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion or region second.

In saying Race is first and Malaysian second, and that being Malay doesn’t mean he is not Malaysian, what’s new, and what’s the relevance of 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap then?

It will be recalled that BEFORE 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap, the order of priority has always been taken by BN politicians as race first and Malaysian second, and no one is (obviously) lesser Malaysian for that.

So, if 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap does not even require a national leader, 2nd in command, to take the lead – to change/reverse the existing order of priority, as 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap purports to do – when, ironically, even an opposition leader, like you, have already so declared earlier to abide by the 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap’s prescribed priority – will this not imply to the rest of us that the 1 Malaysia GTP Roadmap is not taken seriously at the apex of govt leadership, will make no difference, and hence need not be treated as relevant???

This is the kind of quandary his reply got himself in.

32. #32 by chengho on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 4:40 pm

Kit,

you sound like malaysian chinese chauvinist , unfortunately u still cannot speak proper Bahasa Malaysia.

33. #33 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:01 pm

What’s inside the hearts of UMNO’s racist warlords is far from the miilions Ringgits they have spent on slogans like – 1 Malaysia la… Gorvenment Transformation Programme la… New Economic Model la.
    Who are they trying to kid with all these meaniniless gimmicks?????????????

34. #34 by Fatty Doc on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:06 pm

chengho,
    u get it all wrong –
    Kit might not speak good BM, but he is trying very hard to do so!
    But on the other hand, Mooheedin might not support 1Malaysia concept, but he is TOTALLY NOT trying out to carry out to further unit the nation!

35. #35 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:16 pm

cintanegara: “Demand others to resign is one of LKS’s favorite subjects….Surprisingly and sadly enough…he didn’t have the guts to demand Anwar to resign though PKR’s seats in Parliament were reduced to 26 compared to DAP’s 28…or demand the resignation of LGE after heavy criticism by the Rakyats …”

Hasn’t Pakatan Rakyat’s collective leadership already agreed to letting Anwar lead the opposition?
    Wasn’t LGE heavily criticised by Umno-BN & those newly ‘independent’ renegade turncoat MPs in an attempt to undermine the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Penang?
    Why would LKS ask for the resignation of these 2 individuals when they are attacked by the same political opponents as his?

cintanegara: “…Referring to his recent/past posts… .mostly touched about race…race…race…Why are there no other constructive topics here?…Sometimes, I wonder how to treat a man with phobia…..fear of the word ‘Malay’ “

The real phobia here is actually about Umno-BN using ethnicity/tribalism for political gains, instead of using constructive factors like good governance…

cintanegara: “If DPM were to declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second….Will LKS urge his community to send their children to Sekolah Kebangsaan first and SJKC second?”

The teachers, students and their parents in any Sekolah Kebangsaan are no less or no more Malaysian than the teachers, students and their parents in any SJKC.
    There had been and there still are non-Chinese parents who have no problems about enrolling their kids in SJKCs.
    So, what’s wrong with regarding oneself of being Malaysian first?
    The second part of the Rukun Negara already states, “Loyalty to King and country”.
    Our country is Malaysia, and the loyalty comes from us citizens as Malaysians.

36. #36 by drago2008 on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:20 pm

“Watch out! If Muhyiddin, a loyal fan of Ibrahim Ali, becomes the next PM, he would probably unwind all the reforms that Najib has carried out and resurrect the NEP.”

Moo doesn’t need to resurrect the NEP. He will rule as PM with Ibrahim Ali as his deputy. They will be Big Brothers watching and telling us all to kneel and obey their command. They will diss out stuff according to their whims and fancy and we can’t even speak up even if we don’t like it. Worst, we might be shipped out as well.

37. #37 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:20 pm

Wow,pretty well done YB Lim Kit Siang,you finally got what MY is. He is now a racist in the eyes of all malaysians. Next thing I think he’ll say sorry it’s a slip of my tongue. This guy did it before,and he’s going to do it again other wise NR is going to whip his ass.

38. #38 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:24 pm

chengho :Kit,
    you sound like malaysian chinese chauvinist , unfortunately u still cannot speak proper Bahasa Malaysia.

OTK may be more fluent than LKS in BM, but in the end, OTK still got voted out from his party’s president post…

39. #39 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 5:39 pm

Though speaking proper bahasa malaysia is important but what’s most important is malaysians must speak the TRUTH and YB Lim Kit Siang just did that. And you chengho ,did you ever speak the truth ?

40. #40 by Loh on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 6:09 pm

What are in common between Ahmad Ismail, the Penang ultra and Mamakthir?
    They are both mamak.

What are in common among mamaks?
    They want ketuanan melayu to continue.

How does ketuanan melayu benefit mamak?
    Mamaks pretend to be Malays.

Isn’t it bad for reputation for Malays to continue depending on affirmative action?
    Mamaks know that they are truly not malays. The reap the benefit, and true Malays get the bad name.

41. #41 by sotong on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 6:43 pm

If a leader could not proudly, easily and comfortably say that he/she is Malaysian first……there is a hidden agenda.

What hope is there for our country?

42. #42 by sotong on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 6:49 pm

Some leader/s are prepared to exploit the unfounded fear and insecurity of ordinary people for personal, narrow, divisive and damaging objectives at all costs.

No worm could sink lower than this!

43. #43 by ekompute on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 6:52 pm

“Muhyiddin should resign as DPM if he is not prepared to declare that in accordance with 1Malaysia goal, he is Malaysian first and Malay second.”

I think it is easier for Muhyiddin to declare that he is Money first and Malay second, LOL.

44. #44 by tunglang on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 7:00 pm

Muhyiddin is not prepared to be 1Malaysian, rather he preferred to be Ketuanan Malay of old dream days.

As a leader, how can he sell Najib’s 1Malaysia with this status quo?
    1Malaysia is a national concept which holds great potentials to move Malay-Sia to One Great Malaysia. Now does he knows the implication of his statement?

It seems NEM is mere Parrot-talk! What Contradiction!

45. #45 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 7:47 pm

Either Ibrahim Ali & co. do not understand the need for Malaysia to reform in order to catch up with the world or they are plain selfish.

Brave attempt by PM but we simply have to wait and see if real reform can be realized in the face of such selfish individuals.

Ibrahim Ali & Co.: Your feelings of insecurity are understandable but try to understand that if government transformation programme fails, the whole country fails!!! So what “M_l_y Rights” are we shouting about when there is nothing left to re-distribute? I hope it is still not too late: Can you think for the future generations of Malaysians. If you cannot think of us a a family of Malaysians, will be able to think at least for your children and grand children?

46. #46 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 7:50 pm

Correction for last line of my post:

…. will you be able to think at least for your children and grand children?

47. #47 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 8:04 pm

he has been and is still thinking 4 his children n grand children sake;that’s why he’s trying to be buddy with those blood sucker parasites.

48. #48 by Loh on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 8:30 pm

Ibrahim Ali might be allowed to ask for affirmative action for himself, judging from the interview with Aljazeera when he could only repeat three times the word ‘shit’, and the next sentence was not a gramatically correct one. The TV station gave up after that.

It is surprising that he was even elected MP. That shows the quality of electors in his constituency. Yes, they need help. How is it that the help given to people represented by mamaks did not filter down to them? I suppose they ate all the fish but never bother learning how to fish.

But Mamak was a trained doctor and was a PM. How does a PM race down to the level of Ibrahim Ali? It mirrors the spiraling down of Malaysia to the level of Zimbabwe. All this because the definition of Malays did not ensure that mamaks were not included. How did Tunku make that mistakes, I wonder.

49. #49 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 8:31 pm

Hanjing Chengho, damn sucker!

You’re back after clearing off all paychecks! So, you’re free to brag about your step fathers craps in this blog!

Doggy person like you never speak the truth! How good you B Malaysia? More importantly, how good is your Chinese? Hanjin Chengho may as good as LKS’s Chinese!!! LKS can speak and write damn excellent English and Chinese! He may not as good as your bunch of step fathers, suckers! Could LKS can speak better B Malaysia than you…..

Back off, damn sucker and Hanjin Chengo crawl back to your closet and hide inside there! You’re not better a hog!!!

50. #50 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 8:52 pm

The DPM said, “Ipoh Timur has questioned my commitment to the concept of 1 Malaysia. For Ipoh Timur’s information, 1 Malaysia, which was created by the prime minister, is a pure idea aimed at strengthening racial unity which has been the basis of our strength as a nation.”

If racial unity is indeed the goal of 1Malaysia, then we, the people of Malaysia, regardless of whatever ethnic background, will have to think more in terms of what we share in common, and what first comes to mind is our nationality, which is being Malaysians.

The DPM said, “Unity reflected by 1 Malaysia is not a form of assimilation where one’s identity is erased and replaced with one identity. It is also not a concept which rejects the special rights of the Malays as propagated by Ipoh Timur through the concept of Malaysian Malaysia and lately Middle Malaysia.”

Has it been proven that Malaysian Malaysia & Middle Malaysia is about the erasure of one’s ethnic identity and assimilation into a single identity?
    It was the old doctor, the former Umno-BN leader, who had called on Malaysian Indian Muslims to discard their ethnic Indian identity, and a reader of NST who supports the old doctor’s call, had written a letter to that newspaper, stating that this is in line with the 1Malaysia concept.
    How strange…

The DPM said, “My relationship with the prime minister is very close and 1 Malaysia has the support of the nation. The allegations made are aimed at weakening Barisan Nasional. I am confident that Barisan Nasional lawmakers clearly understand the concept of 1 Malaysia.”

Ahmad Ismail, Nasir Safar, Abdul Rauf Yusoh & Ahmad Husni are of Umno-BN and they had made or supported racialistic comments/remarks. How could it be that their actions had not weakened Umno-BN when the PM is trying to push this 1Malaysia concept to the people?
    Is the DPM also close to these four personalities and even Perkasa’s Ibrahim Ali?

The DPM said, “Ipoh Timur is questioning the special rights of the Malays and rejects the differences in identity of the different races and the spirit of the constitution which does not reflect real commitment to the concept of 1 Malaysia.”

The special rights of the indigenous peoples of Malaysia, not only of just the Malays, but also of the Orang Asli/Asal in the Peninsular and the natives of Sabah & Sarawak, is already in the Federal Constitution, the same constitution which also grants citizenship rights to the non-indigenous peoples of this nation. But is it stated anywhere else in the constitution that the indigenous peoples of this nation should not think of themselves as Malaysian first?
    Does the constitution also say that the Malaysian citizenship held by the indigenous peoples is any different than the Malaysian citizenship held by the non-indigenous peoples of this country?

Being proud of one’s ethnic origin is not wrong, but as a multi-ethnic country, everyone must move forward together as citizens of the same nation, thinking collectively as Malaysians.
    And thinking of ourselves as Malaysians does not mean that we have totally discarded each of our own backgrounds.

51. #51 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 - 11:54 pm

52. #52 by boh-liao on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:32 am

Moo, moo, I’m Malay first – O yeah, then Y keep follow d Indian MMK n smell his ass
    NR proclaimed 1M’sia, n lo n behold, all racist worms 1 by 1 come out of their holes
    MMK, Ibrahim, Ahmad etc all yelling supreme racist words, certain ISA is not meant 4 them

53. #53 by najmirelau on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:35 am

who eat chili will feel spicy….

54. #54 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:05 am

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin declared to the public that he is Malay First and Malaysian Second. Obviously Muhyiddin’s understanding about the Concept of 1Malaysia is quite different from that of PM Najib.

Anyway, I wonder whether Muhyiddin’s declaration that he is Malay First and Malaysian Second will just be an expediency in experimenting the racist approach as the campaign strategy for the upcoming Ulu Selangor by-election. If Muhyiddin really has the intent to do experiment in Ulu Selangor with the racist talk, then it will mean that Pakatan Rakyat is going to face a tough challenge from Umno.

If Barisan Nasional chooses this round to position a candidate from Umno to contest for the Parliamentary seat in Ulu Selangor by-election, it is too obvious that Umno’s election campaign as is probably to be led by Muhyiddin will most likely be a racist one. With Barisan Nasional’s poor performance in economic growth for the recent few years, Barisan Nasional is running out of positive political issue which it can rely upon as the attraction to woo for the support for Barisan Nasional in the by-election. Muhyiddin will not hesitate to use the racist approach in order to mobilise the Malay support in favour of Barisan Nasional candidate, even though the racist approach means that Muhyiddin may risk the danger to walk towards an opposite direction and to distance himself apart from Najib’s 1Malaysia concept and may risk the danger of cracking down the effort of Najib in promoting an all inclusive Malaysians’ 1Malaysia.

Muhyiddin has proven himself to be a hawk leader of Umno and he may continue to prove that he is a dangerous politician who will justify all means by the end of getting quick political gain. Racist approach will become an easy means at hand which Muhyiddin will not hesitate to adopt even though the approach will likely create much more adverse impact on the Malaysians’ unity than the perceivably short-term political gain which can be enjoyed by Barisan Nasional. Muhyiddin’s self-interested political ambition has made him dare to defy Najib by not complying to Najib’s 1Malaysia concept when running a by-election campaign. It seems that he is no longer patient in his waiting to take over Najib as the Prime Minister of Malaysia! It will not be surprised for us to see an internal rife which is to be happened in Umno soon!

55. #55 by monsterball on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:31 am

DPM is good for nothing.
    Only good to talk nonsense…and twist where the wind blows for personal benefits.
    What do you expect from people with no morals and principles in life.
    The signs and symptoms are so clear of a totally insincere hypocritical leader….which UMNO BARU is famous for.

56. #56 by pwcheng on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 2:36 am

Obviously Muhyiddin Yassin is Mahathir in the making. He has one more rung to go and he thinks that playing the racial card is the surest way to achieve the top spot as Mahathir had proven to the world and admitted it. He is just a protege of Mahathir and the old racist had built a legend which many Malays will follow, Ibrahim Ali is one of them.
    I blame it on the system of choosing our PM as the other 40% of the population has no say who the PM should be. Very ironical. As a result more time is wasted on the issue of race. race. race, race and oblivious that we are slowly out of the race even among countries like Vietnam and Indonesia. Of course we had long lost the race to Singapore, HK and Korea and recently to China. Why don’t we race against those countries instead of racing among ourselves.
    The problem is we had selfish leaders who only think of themselves rather then the country.

57. #57 by ringthetill on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 4:22 am

And this DPM comes from the most racially biased states in favour of one race:
    1. civil service dominated by one race
    2. one race demands 15% discount for buying houses
    3. non-bumi are never given state scholarships.
    Let’s hope Johor voters will open their eyes come next GE.

58. #58 by ekompute on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 5:36 am

“Ipoh Timur has questioned my commitment to the concept of 1Malaysia.”

No need to explain, Moorhidden! We know you well enough to know what your commitments are.

59. #59 by ekompute on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 5:39 am

“As they say, one must take the bad with the good, warts and all. But Ibrahim Ali is all warts and nothing more.” — Raja Petra Kamarudin

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 6:41 am

If, as YB Kit says, the objective of 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap (“1 M’ysia GTP) is “to make Malaysia a greater nation” based on the hope that “every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second” – and if DPM were correct to say that he cannot so declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second because then all the Malays will shun him – wouldn’t this, if true, equally and logically imply, as well:-

1. that all the Malays, UMNO’s core constitutency, will likely also shun and not accept 1 M’ysia GTP and its objective;

2. that the hope that “every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race etc second” is either not shared by the second in command to lead it or it is unrealistic pipe dream not supportable by the ruling party’s constitutency and grass roots, or rank and file assuming they view 1 M’ysia GTP and its objective through the same lens of the 2nd in command and cannot accept it???

If central to the PM’s (NEM) to hoist the country’s trade-dependent economy to the ranks of developed nations by 2020 through liberalisation and need based rather than race based affirmative premises is dependent on a reversal of Malaysians’ mindset of Race first and Malaysian second – and this according to DPM’s statement seems difficult to reverse – how are foreign investors and local business community going to have confidence and be convinced that the economic reforms will garner sufficient support to be pushed through when doubt assails whether this reversal of mindset is itself feasible?

Would the PM have confidence and political will then to push through such reforms when his deputy evinces doubt of the feasibility of reversal of mindset upon which such proposed reforms are underpinned???

These are the types of questions that will invariably arise in the wake of his statement.

I think he has to soon say that he has been misquoted by the press. Or else how are these questions to be satisfactorily addressed? He’s really in an unenviable position responding the Kit’s challenge.

61. #61 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:08 am

Its the kind of challenge that whichever way one responds one gets into serious trouble so that on balance it is wiser to duck responding.

62. #62 by Loh on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:27 am

Mooyiddin has declared that he is Malay first, and Malay last, and possibly never a Malaysian. So he is DPM for Malays. Najib should now groom a leader who would at least declare that he is Malaysian who happened to be born whatever race he grandfather was. It could even be Indian like Mamathir though he refused to acknowledge.

When affirmative action is based on needs, certainly those in needs can be elected President of any party. He or she would not have to come from the 40% lowest income group to help the needys.

When affimative programme is based on needs, as all such programme should be based, there would not be any use for Ahmad Ismail to call others pendatang. It would not matter which period their forfathers who were not orang Asli came as pendatang to Tanah Melayu/China’ depending on which history book one looks in.

NEP was used by mamathir to legalise corruption, and the government machinery has the antibodies everywhere. The reform should begin in government.

After the reform, let us ask Mooyiddin again whether he is Malaysian.

63. #63 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 7:46 am

Bunch of UMNO suckers, get suck themselves!!!!!!

64. #64 by Thor on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 8:18 am

This Moo fella must go.
    He is not fit to lead the country.
    He thinks he’s very smart but in actual fact, his “moo” friends (cow), is much more smarter than him.
    The way he talk makes many of us puke.
    Go back home and eat banana!

65. #65 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 8:33 am

Its unbelievable that just after he accuse Sdr. Lim of baiting him to fight with Najib, the man shoots himself with ‘I am Malay first’ statement that basically blew Najib’s 1Malaysia apart – a day after NEM annoucement no less.

This is just the pre-fight scuffles that will lead to the main event of a full blown Najib-Muhiyiddin fight that is more rivetting than any of Muhammad Ali’s fight or even Mahathir-Anwar spat..

Congrats Sdr. Lim, its still early but there is more than just writing on the wall for PR to head to Putrajaya now.

66. #66 by dagen on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 8:56 am

Dear Moo, listen.

“I dagenli am a malaysian.
    And my race is not a matter of concern to anyone except my family.”

See. Its easy. Just say it moo. Nothing to fear.

67. #67 by Thor on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 8:59 am

A mamak would claimed he’s a malay.
    An indon would claimed he’s a malay.
    A bugis would claimed he’s a malay.
    An arab would also claimed himself as a malay.
    If all of them considered them as malay, then what is the status of those real malays???
    Stop monkeying around please!!!

68. #69 by yhsiew on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 10:59 am

Here it is, a pro-Najib but anti-Muhyiddin and anti-Mahathir minister:

Perkasa are opportunists, says Nazri
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/58250-perkasa-are-opportunists-says-nazri

69. #70 by limkamput on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 11:16 am

Jeffrey :Its the kind of challenge that whichever way one responds one gets into serious trouble so that on balance it is wiser to duck responding.

Jeffrey, you are wrong again. It is actually very simple for this MOooo to answer Sdr Lim. He should just answer that he is Malaysian first and let us talk about his hypocrisy rather than putting his head into his ass. Told you he is not very smart.

70. #71 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 11:17 am

What is the use of proclaiming yourself ‘Aku Melayu’ if you are not like Zaid Ibrahim, Haris Ibrahim, Mariam Mokhtar, Nik Aziz Nik Mat, Nizar Jamaluddin, Anwar Ibrahim, Khalid Samad, Khalid Ibrahim, but choose to be like ‘Malay first, Malaysian second’ Muhyiddin Yassin?
    In the very first place, you are definitely not fit to be a minister and DPM for that matter. You belong to the “moooo…”category if you know what i meant. You are trying to distance yourself from other races to be another champion of his race like that equally dickhead Ib Ali. This is a reflection of how you regard yourself as well as your members in Umno and cousins in Perkasa.
    How can the nation progress with this sort of mentality esp from a DPM. Anwar Ibrahim is the first Malay leader who dares to campaign on a platform of national inclusiveness instead of Malay racism. All Umno leaders have pandered to race for their political advancement. The Malays have not shunned Anwar.
    Had Umno/BN practised meritocracy over ethnicity, we would have the best people running the country, we would have been a much more developed country, our judiciary would not be a joke, the police would be impartial, every Malaysian would benefit from the progress we’ve made as a nation.
    Many of us now know that the most of the riches of the country has gone to enrich Umno, and all in the name of ethnicity. If this continues, in the end, it will not only ruin just one particular race but all Malaysians will have to suffer together, the real rural poor malays in particular.
    Malaysia Boleh????????????

71. #72 by Comrade on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 11:34 am

Primarily, I am a Malaysian
    Whether my race is Malay, Chinese or Indian
    Is of less concern, a secondary position
    Because there should be no racial discrimination

72. #73 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 11:36 am

To demonstrate solidarity with his deputy, Najib now says that to be Malay first and Malaysian second is not a contradiction to the 1Malaysia concept. I find that this comment shows Najib to be what he really is: STUPEED. [The actual word would put this straight into moderation.]

Now it is clear what UMNO wants us to be. It’s OK to be Malay first. It cannot be OK to be Chinese first or Indian first…because that would be quickly picked upon by Utusan or Perkasa or UMNO Youth as being unpatriotic. The hypocrisy of UMNO is laid bare for all to see.

What 1Malaysia, Najib ?

73. #74 by Godfather on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 11:41 am

Jefffrey,

These people have had it so good that they think they can do anything and say anything, and ducking Kit’s challenge is a no-no for them. The typical UMNO macho-guy stuff, the typical “kalah tak apa, style mesti mau” philosophy of our Malay leaders.

Foot-in-mouth disease perhaps, but they will get a doctor in a government hospital to say that it isn’t the case….and for the mainstream press to report it as so.

74. #75 by k1980 on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:04 pm

Q: What 1Malaysia, Najib ?

A: 1Malaysia means that Najib is numero uno in the country. Moo is 2Malaysia, meaning he is number 2. Got it, dummy?

75. #76 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:29 pm

The main target of the opposition party is to overthrow BN/UMNO and to restore true democrasy.

BN/UMNO is only interested in robbing the nation dry in the shortest time possible. In the meantine, they have to use all kinds of dirty tactics to weaken the opposition.

76. #77 by wanderer on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 12:58 pm

THE ONLY PERSON WHO CAN CLAIM TO BE A NATIONALIST AND A PROUD MALAYSIAN IS NONE OTHER…MCP BOSS CHIN PENG.
    UMNO MELAYU DISPUTE MY CLAIM?…
    HE BRAVELY FOUGHT THE INVADING FOREIGN FORCES AND HONORED BY OUR COLONIAL MASTER…UMNO MALAYS WHERE WERE YOU?

I AM SURE, CHIN PEN WILL NOT HESITATE TO CALL HIMSELF “A PROUD MALAYSIAN”…NOT A CHINESE!!

77. #78 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 3:14 pm

“Wang Malaysia” is a better slogan, and more appropriate, since we are all preoccupied with money, money and more money.

78. #79 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 1 April 2010 - 9:20 pm

Now We see what 1Malaysia means to UMNO. 1Malaysia is merely an empty slogan to camourflage “ketuanan Melayu” !!

79. #80 by DCLXVI on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 1:54 pm

wanderer: “THE ONLY PERSON WHO CAN CLAIM TO BE A NATIONALIST AND A PROUD MALAYSIAN IS NONE OTHER…MCP BOSS CHIN PENG.
    UMNO MELAYU DISPUTE MY CLAIM?…
    HE BRAVELY FOUGHT THE INVADING FOREIGN FORCES AND HONORED BY OUR COLONIAL MASTER…UMNO MALAYS WHERE WERE YOU?
    I AM SURE, CHIN PEN WILL NOT HESITATE TO CALL HIMSELF “A PROUD MALAYSIAN”…NOT A CHINESE!!”

The problem with Chin Peng was that he had wrongly chosen the path of violence towards an independent Malaya which unnecessarily cost the lives of other Malayans.
    He had wrongly believed that he had the support of the majority of Malayans, and as time has already proven, communism itself has already become a failed ideology.

80. #81 by boh-liao on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 4:06 pm

Moooooooo, I yam d DPM of Malays first, Malaysians second, mooooooooooooooooo
    When I yam PeeM, I yam also d PM of Malays first, Malaysians second, mooooooooooooo

81. #82 by rockdaboat on Friday, 2 April 2010 - 9:36 pm

“Moo Moo declared to the public that he is Malay First and Malaysian Second.”

Obviously, Moo Moo only has the mentality and perspective of a Jaguh Kampung.

Instead of governing a nation, he prefers to be a Kampung Penghulu!

Nowadays, he sounded more dumb than Syed Hamid, the Ramli burger seller.

82. #83 by johnnypok on Saturday, 3 April 2010 - 1:46 am

No need for DPM to resign. He can be the PM for “2-Malaysia”.

Toon Bak Kut Teh can be the PM for “3-Malaysia”

Whoever wants to be a PM, just create a new “Malaysia”, until every one is satisfied.