What a way to end 2009 – the missing RM50 million RMAF jet engines which exposes high-level thievery, government topsy-turvydom and sheer lack of professionalism in defence, police and Attorney-General’s Chambers casting long shadow on Najib’s GTP

What a way to end 2009 and the first uncompleted year of the new Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak – two missing RM50 million RMAF jet engines which exposes high-level thievery, government topsy-turvydom and sheer lack of professionalism in defence, police and Attorney-General’s Chambers, casting a long shadow on Najib’s Government Transformation Programme (GTP).

Many questions cry out for answer on the scandal of the missing jet engines as they are not an unobtrusive object that could be easily squirrelled away, with each explanatory statement by the Prime Minister, the Defence Minister Datuk Seri Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, the air force and the police raising more questions.

Najib gave the assurance that action would be taken against those responsible for the missing Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) jet engines – the powerplants to the F-5E Tiger II fighter and RF-5E Tigereye reconnaissance jets – saying: “Let us investigate. Whoever is in the wrong will be held responsible.”

Why is the Prime Minister still talking in the future tense, when the action for the missing RMAF jet engines took place in May last year, and RMAF had lodged a report with the police on Aug 4 last year?

Armed Forces Chief Gen Tan Sri Azizan Ariffin said last Friday that the missing RMAF jet engines might just be the “tip of the iceberg” as initial investigations showed that other equipment might have gone missing as far back as 2007.

And Zahid said in Banting on Sunday that the engines went missing “about three years ago” and that “It’s a complicated case with international connections”.

Its speak poorly of the performance, efficiency and professionalism of the defence, police and Attorney-General’s Chambers that no proper account of the missing RM50 million RMAF jet engine could be rendered although the theft took place two or three years ago, with Azizan only able to talk about the theft as “tip of the iceberg” but unable to identify the rest of the iceberg.

On the one hand, Azizan said that the armed forces has launched a full audit of its assets following the loss of the jet engines, but in Banting the Defence Minister said he left it to the police to investigate if there was other equipment missing from military bases nationwide.

Who now is going to be responsible to conduct a full audit of the existence of all the military assets in the country, the armed forces or the police?

It is reported by New Straits Times yesterday that a brigadier-general and 40 other armed forces personnel were sacked late last year over their alleged involvement in the case of the two missing RM50 million RMAF jetfighter engines, following an internal inquiry and disciplinary committee.

Is this all the action to be taken after the two missing RM50 million RMAF jet engines, with no one being hauled to court to face the full force of the law?

This version conflicts with the account in the New Straits Times on Saturday that “Air force officers found the jet engine missing in January when they sent a private contractor to Subang to service the engine”, raising the question how disciplinary action could be taken even before the defence authorities became aware of the missing jet – apart from the question as to how the RMAF could be unaware of the missing jet engine for such a long time, at least one or two years!

Najib was the Defence Minister when the jet engines theft took place, which created a frightening picture of a government of thieves.

Malaysians are entitled to a full, uncensored and unvarnished account of the two missing RM50 million RMAF jet engines, why the various authorities seem to be superslow in their remedial responses, including the Attorney-General Chambers in prosecuting the culprits concerned.

No “ifs” and “buts” – a full statement of the latest government scandal of the two missing RM50 million RMAF jet engines should be made either by Najib or Zahid or public confidence in Najib’s Government Transformation Programme (GTP) would suffer a grievous blow even before its official launch.

1. #1 by Dipoh Bous on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 9:50 am

I remember a story told by my late grandmother about about a cat being entrusted to guard a plate of fish. I guess you know what happens…..

2. #2 by cseng on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:06 am

Stay cool and calm, all is not lost!. It takes 2 men with face to be fully covered with shirts going thru another trial and found guilty to close this case.

Our enforcer and our judiciary are contributing factors for high crime rate and ‘encouraging’ the thieves to move up the value chain…

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:13 am

UMNOist line of thinking goes -” its not like they stole the jet itself”. Only RM50 mil. In PKFZ, its all in a days work at best…

4. #4 by k1980 on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:16 am

Next to be stolen— a Bolehland Scorpene submarine with its entire crew, sold to Al Qaeda.

And Jib will say: “Let us investigate. Whoever is in the wrong will be held responsible.”

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:35 am

The best posting so far amongst the blogging community was this by an anonymous contributor:

“What else is missing ? Have they been able to contact our submarine ?”

Apparently the engine was stolen in 2007, but they only made a police report in 2008, and yesterday the police said that investigations are continuing as “these things, as usual, take time”.

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:59 am

The sacked brigadier-general complaining: “Not adil one. Only Rm50 million and they pecat me. Look at the Rm12.5 billion PKFZ and nobody got pecat. Mana boleh one…I mahu complain to the World Court”

7. #7 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 11:41 am

It’s not a problem is it? I thought I read in TMI that it was okay because they could just take engines out of their spare fighters. I think some of my neighbours use Proton Sagas and Wiras the same way. Doesn’t matter – if you have 4, sure one will work!

8. #8 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:24 pm

This stunt was made possible simply show that Malaysia corruption practices has reach its highest level.

All along we know this Ministry which get huge annual allocation was full of corrupt practices but I believe no many dare to think those on the top has come to such a brave (on the wrong side of story) act.

Malaysia corruption has no cure as far as UMNO still leading BN.

9. #9 by lkt-56 on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:24 pm

Honestly, I don’t know how to get angry… ;) Truth is stranger than fiction and if the defense minister has not admitted it I would have thought that somebody is trying to pull a fast one on me.

Someone enterprising might want to conduct an impromptu live TV interview of the public’s reaction and zoom in on the respondent’s face when they are asked about the stolen jets. :D engine’s…

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:26 pm

Yup, we can’t understand what the fuss is all about. No engines, no need to fly lah.

11. #11 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:34 pm

what kind of country are we? muslim country? but why all the time there were reports about baggage been opened and valuables stolen at the airports. this is definitely a total minus image for our tourism.

12. #12 by Rocky on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:37 pm

lets face it guys, the BN govt is there for them to reap money out of the tax payers. and everyone is in the scheme, you scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours. and those suppose to uphold the laws, like judiciary,AG office, MACC, police and even army are all in it thus the day light robbery without fear or favour. In other countries, the law will be there to punish them, the public will demand resignations. But here, under the guise of NEp, Ketuanan melayu and by using a divide and rule policy, they have been able to blind some of the malaysians from the truth. Now you know why they would like to control the internet and need good spin docs. some even go to say, do not check the past, lets move forward, well take it with a big spoon full of salt cos we must check the past and punish the guilty. if not this scheme will continue to go on even if they swear by the Quran.

Wake up Malaysians, time to make a bigger change. if not, we the rakyat will get screwed. we need a honest govt who is willing to build this nation instead of one that wants to build their personal wealth and also cos racial problems among malaysians. Wake up Malaysians!!!! Rakyat didahulukan is just another big BS.

13. #13 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:37 pm

All these are happening because of

i) If you can do, I can do better. The rots begin at the fish head.

ii) The culture and thinking imparted by the leaders is that it is all right to do wrong as the rewards far outweigh the penalties. In many cases the wrongdoers are “rewarded” by just getting a transfer to a better working place. In this case the general is sacked but still gets his pensions. In fact he should be hauled to court or be court- marshaled and charged for treason and imprisoned without pension for undermining the security of the country. Instead he is laughing all the way to the bank.

iii) The government is wholly responsible for all these fiasco all these years because they had sacrificed the value of morality in exchange of votes especially if it involves Malays. UMNO is fearful of backlash from the Malays if ever they were to take stern action against them. Remember IPCMC. When the police who are mostly Malays retaliated by saying that if IPCMC is implemented they will withdraw support for UMNO; immediately the Government had to withdraw IPCMC.
    The Zakaria mansion is another clear example. Because he can command a good many Malay votes action taken is only a slap on the wrist. All this are the end results of the Government’s own doing. They had led the people especially the Malays to believe that it is Ok to do anything in this Bolehland provided you give me the votes. One fine day they might even sell the country without the Government knowing it but Ok lah as long as you vote for me and allow me to run even a surrogate government.. Anyone who is analytical enough will know why we had descended to such a culture of irresponsibility.

iv) We have many rotten leaders who are bigger thieves and this small fries will think what is taking away RM50 million when RM 500 million can be just given as commission and billions can be lost in the PKFZ scam.

v)The mediocrity attitude of government servants is a better passport for advancement provided you know your affiliation. Those who are efficient are being scorned and if you resist corruption you are a black sheep. At all costs the government had sidestepped meritocracy and UMNO is fearful of this word and not to be found in their dictionary. If there is no meritocracy things will just fall apart. It is natures way of culling.

vi) The selection of people for the job is another reason why mismanagements are a common feature in the government service. They will only pick those who can serve UMNO’s agenda and not the Nation. More ever they do not have much choice because they will narrow down to one race. The education system is made to fit them and make them qualified even though many are far from that range. I sincerely think they will not accept the more intelligent but dissenting Malays. They are happy with the brain drain and talking for ages to bring back these brains are just one up showmanship completely devoid of any seriousness.

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 12:42 pm

Cintanegara would say ‘we don’t need an F5E fighter plane to defend our rambutan tree, so the issue of national security doesn’t arise.’

15. #15 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:06 pm

PM can deny until he is blue in the face but the fact remains that there is a cover up. Having reported to the police does not exonerate one from the cover up. As the minister on the watch when this happened in 2007, Najib should have reveal this theft because it goes beyond simply a theft. National security is involved because if you can steal two jet engines so easily, God knows what else has been stolen. And doesn’t all these thefts compromises our national security? The Brig Gen and the 40 thieves should be court marshalled and shot if found guilty. Instead Mindef went out of its way to mollycoddle them after what they have done. And the kid gloves approach will only encourage more thefts. For RM100m, I am sure the Brig Gen do not mind being kicked out of the Air Force.

What is most troubling though is the perception of the international syndicate of the poor integrity, professionalism and weak will of our Armed Forces to have the audacity to encourage them to steal the jet engines. They must have known our men in uniform are easily tempted and would sell their own grandmothers if the price is right. This is a frightening thought going forward.

16. #16 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:10 pm

Why now only roaring like a canon (never ever accurate but very loud for sure) that actions will be taken on those unethical corrupted clowns by our so called 1Malaysia or for that matter Malaysia1 PM. It is really amazing that two not one military engines stolen in a supposedly “high security” area under the very eyes of everyone. IF engines that big can be stolen, god knows what other things like dangerous weapons have been stolen all these years. What ACA/MACC, PDRM and that AG have been doing all this while. These guys are so so efficient and eager to pounce on opposition and poor rakyat on petty crimes rather than on those big white sharks in BN that involved billions$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.?
    Perhaps this is what we expect in BOLEHLAND.

17. #17 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:15 pm

There is professionalism. People wear so smartly, look so smart, talk so smart; that is professionalism. Already get the title of General, that is a professional title. There is also a professional way of procuring products and disposing products. It is professional. Very highly professional.

18. #18 by jamalmalikslumdog on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:16 pm

It is a real worry that not one but two jet engines were stolen. The fact that the Barisan government is trying to cover up the thefts speaks volume about a government in decay.

When murders and corruptions are being swept under the carpet, the loss of two fighter jet engines is only view as paper loss. They do not view such happenings as reflecting the defence and operational readiness of a country military forces.

Najib, as the defence minister at the time of the thefts, in anticipation of his stepping into Badawi shoes, has decided to suppress all news in order to feather his ascension.

I can bet my last dollar that Singapore military chiefs are now rolling on the carpet laughing away.

19. #19 by -ec- on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:24 pm

a government that cannot safeguard our private property, a government that cannot even safeguard our public property!

1-now-you-see-now-you-don’t-see-malaysia!

A ZIMBABWE IS IN THE MAKING!

why should we pay tax to keep them? bn has to walk into the malaysian history in the coming ge. please vote them out!

the money has to be recovered and the thieves must be prosecuted under the panel code for treason! no jokes.

20. #20 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 1:44 pm

Syabas to the “Father of Corruption” for the great success in producing a WORLD-CLASS gang of thieves.

…from snatching dead bodies to snatching husband (Roast Mah) to stealing 1 Engine under 1 Malaysia … more to come!

21. #21 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 2:22 pm

Now even the pro-BN blogs are calling for a public inquiry into the loss of the engines. These clowns really make me laugh. They classify the theft of the engines as treason, but the theft of public funds a la PKFZ, Martrade convention centre, collapsing structures, cracked roads, etc do not qualify as treason.

22. #22 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 2:26 pm

What a joke,jet engine stolen in 2007,only now, 2009 was exposed.How come the government gave so much time for the criminals to run away. Justice delayed is justice denied.Didn’t they know it ?. Some officials in the MOD must have been covering up some people in order to give the criminals ample time to excape.Question now is whom to catch ? What’s next ?. For all we know the next thing is the disappearance of the pure gold minaret of the Sabah state mosque at Sembulan,Kota Kinabalu.

23. #23 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 2:49 pm

I always thought our military bases, be it the army, airforce or navy, are supposed to be guarded around the clock? Then how the hell did such a bulky thing such as a jet engine got smuggled out of the airforce base? Were the guards at the gates sleeping? Even way before the engine was moved out of the base, surely someone would have noticed the crooks dismantling it from the aircraft!

If the engine of a jet fighter can go missing from an airforce base which is under 24 hours security, then Najis better be careful because his official residence may one day be invaded and he may wake up one morning discovering his head missing!

24. #24 by sightseeing on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:01 pm

2 RMAF jet engines were missing under his watch when he was the Minister of Defence. Now, Najib is the Minister of Finance, the cash-printing machine of Bank Negara may be missing too!

25. #25 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:05 pm

Hey guys say our PM is in an imminent live and death situation,and our RMAF is call for an emergency rescue operation to save the PM’s life and the pilot shockingly finds he can’t fly it because the engine is missing.What will happen and who’s to blame .

26. #26 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:20 pm

Don’t be surprise if the big fat mama is implicated. She seems to have a finger in almost every case so far.

27. #27 by veddy.lum74 on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:23 pm

ofcourse no action will be taken against the jet engines thieves,similarly to all the gomen officers that had done serious corruption,this will “encourage” the rest to continue their misdeeds,right?it’s really suck!

a muslim women after drinking a beer is to be caned but these big thieves,most probabaly also BN’s big supporters like PDRM.SPRM,MACC….are the ones whom always suspect non-malays loyalty to the country,now,what have thy got to say about these ‘loyal” thieves?

it is an insult to the Agong too bcos their name is ROYAL MALAYSIA ARMY FORCE!!!!

MEMALUKAN SULTAN DAN AGONG SAHAJA!

INILAH PENGKHIANAT DAN PENYANGAK NEGARA YANG SANGGUP JUAL NEGARA DEMI AGENDA TERSENDIRI YG MEMANG PANDAI MENUDUH ORANG LAIN TERUTAMA ORANG CINA DAN INDIA TIDAK TAAT KPD NEGARA,ORANG2 BUKAN MELAYU INI TIDAK BOLIH DIBERI JAWATAN TINGGI KERAJAAN,SEKARANG,MEREKA PULA YG JUAL HARTA2 NEGARA KPD ORANG ASING,DATO HISHAM,ORANG JENIS INI BOLIH KITA LUCUTKAN KERAKYATAN MEREKA TAK????

BOLEHLAND IS ALWAYS A BOLEHLAND!!!

28. #28 by -ec- on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:28 pm

Talents of the Royal Malaysia Air Force
    (By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

From an optimistic point of view, it is in fact no big deal to lose a fighter jet engine, although it has become the world’s top ten mysterious case, or perhaps, some said it is the world’s top ten laughing stock.

It is indeed not easy to become the world’s top ten, regardless it is because of the former or latter reason. It is a fault on the right side and therefore, we should be proud of it.

At least, it shows that the Royal Malaysia Air Force is skilful as they are able to disassemble the engine. You and I may only be able to disassemble tyres but not the engine of our cars. It cannot be done without skill.

Moreover, it requires international marketing capacity in order to sell the engine to the international market. For ordinary people, they may have no idea where to put the engine even if you give them one. They may just leave it rust at the backyard or sell it to a scrap metal dealer.

In order to sell a F-5E fighter jet engine, they must first know which country is using the same model and is currently lack of stock. It involves market intelligence capabilities.

Moreover, the engine was sold to South America instead of a neighbouring country. Therefore, in case there is a war with the neighbouring country in the future, they can ensure that the other party is not using our stolen engine.

It shows that some of the Royal Malaysia Air Force personnel are international marketing professionals with business ethics.

The engine was sold at RM50 million. In order to fetch such a good price, there must be negotiation experts in the Royal Malaysia Air Force. Not bad, we should appreciate such talents.

In case we are facing the threat of war in the future, we should send these negotiation experts to turn hostility into friendship and we do not need to fight at all. Therefore, even if they are able to arrest the culprits, they must not be sacked. Instead, they should be treated as key personnel of the Defense Ministry and be protected.

It may be a blessing in disguise.

The Royal Malaysia Air Force discovered the missing of the engine within a few months and they found the suspects in only two years. What an extremely high efficiency!

It is bad if they discover it only when we are attacked by our enemy and they are unable to fly the jet.

At that time, even the fuselage may be exploded into pieces by the enemy.

At least we can still keep the fuselage and all we have to do is replacing the engine. They can look for assistance from Proton and see whether its Campro engine is suitable for the jet.

If it is not suitable, we can still build a F-5E engine factory and take the opportunity to enter the aircraft manufacturing industry.

Of course, we must be pleased that Malaysia does not have any nuclear bomb. Otherwise, it will be too easy for our talents to still a few of it.

If the nuclear bombs are sold to Al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden or Taliban in Afghanistan, it will be too bad as they will definitely destroy the United States and the United States will certainly take revenge on Malaysia.

Even it is no big deal to lose an engine, but I’m curious that whether they are going to lose something else in the future?

Don’t they let the Defense Minister to be stolen, too, as it will be really embarrassing. From now on, the Royal Malaysia Air Force must pull themselves together to protect the Defense Minister.

29. #29 by -ec- on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:31 pm

frankyapp :
    Hey guys say our PM is in an imminent live and death situation,and our RMAF is call for an emergency rescue operation to save the PM’s life and the pilot shockingly finds he can’t fly it because the engine is missing.What will happen and who’s to blame .

… and his wife will say it is his destiny. :P

30. #30 by -ec- on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:34 pm

sightseeing :
    2 RMAF jet engines were missing under his watch when he was the Minister of Defence. Now, Najib is the Minister of Finance, the cash-printing machine of Bank Negara may be missing too!

he will then be too st8p*d if he sells the note printing machine away before he started to print lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of 1malaysia ringgits. :P

31. #31 by merdeka on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 3:43 pm

YB LIm,

Do you think any tom,dick & harry can send the RMAF jet engines out of the country so easily ??? Think of the logistics & custom dept.

32. #32 by kcregister on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 4:28 pm

who leak this information? some factions in umno?
    mmm, who is the minister then in 2007?

33. #33 by Equalizer on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 4:56 pm

The Minister of Defence was reported to have said,
    “However, I do not want bloggers to try to distort any facts with all sorts of speculation and analysis on the matter.”

Who the hell is he to tell bloggers not to distort facts when He himself initially claimed that the theft only involved low ranking officers and that only one engine was stolen.

34. #34 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 5:24 pm

Yes, indeed, M’sia ended d year 2009 with a big bang n crash
    N with its reputation on d rise internationally
    Many countries r highly impressed with our M’sia Boleh spirit
    N their citizens r scrambling in droves to come 2 M’sia
    2 learn how 2 make fighter engines disappear fr d planes n sell them
    Waaah, impressive man, must learn d skill, boleh kah?
    Thank you, Umno B/BN 4 making M’sia famous

35. #35 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 5:32 pm

Defence Minister Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is now saying that action will be taken against top officers overseeing the fighter jets at the time when the RM50mil engines were stolen.
    Well said, support, support, support
    The top dog at that time was d Minister, d current PM
    Action against him, ha, ha, ha – we r patiently waiting 4 ‘Next Change’

36. #36 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 6:31 pm

Who said d jet engines were stolen n sold?
    After investigation, it will be realised that they were sent 4 service
    In fact, we owed a service charge of RM100 million
    BTW, congrats 2 DAP 4 registering d most number of new voters; more, jia yu

37. #37 by Loh on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 6:48 pm

If the engine can be sold, so can the fighter jet. How sure is the Ministry that the jet fighters once in the air would ever return to the base? Can we really trust that in time of war, the jet planes would be in the services of the country? These planes will be hot items for sale then.

38. #38 by ringthetill on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 7:08 pm

Everything that was good about Malaysia has gone down the drain. No thanks to UmmmmmNo and B-end who have betrayed the rakyat’s trust big time. Tell me, when was the last piece of good news about this govermnent? It is effectively under siege. Ministers are running away from giving proper explanations and facing up to accusations.
    Do we really think things will quickly improve just by launching GTP, 1M, etc? It took 40 years to destroy the country, and I believe it will take even longer to recover. Alas, shame, my motherland.

39. #39 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 7:26 pm

If a BG who is entrusted to protect the country can work hand in gloves with a third party to sell a pair of F-5E jet engins to a foreigner, we hope do we have when we are at war. They had already proven to be irresponsibl. It is high time the Government take the bold step of overhauling the armed forces, police and the whole government machinery. Select only capable and trustworthy personnel and make meritocracy a hallmark during the selection process, irrespective of race. Not those half past six people who only know how to bow to UMNO. In time of crisis the enemies will make mincemeat out of us if they only know how to bow and nothing else.

40. #40 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 7:35 pm

41. #41 by k1980 on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 8:43 pm

Off topic but stop and think for a moment— Had Jesus been born in the great Bolehland, he would be unable to practise his miracles and now under arrest in Kajang prison for preaching using the word “all#h”.

Amen

42. #42 by Godfather on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 8:50 pm

Kit started this thread with “what a way to end the year…” but we still have 9 days to go and the possibility of another scandal erupting at year-end is always there with this government. It’s almost as certain as death and taxes.

43. #43 by vsp on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 8:56 pm

David Copperfield couldn’t have done better than our “1Malaysia” Najis Copperfield cum Houdini. Under his leadership a lot of strange incidences had taken place. The most chilling was the C4 of a Mongolian beauty where the perpetrators involved disappeared under the nose of Bolehland’s justice and law enforcement apparatus. Next, was the murder of TBH under the roof of the MACC and the tortuous attempts to assign the death of TBH as suicide. And finally the disappearance of a jet engine under the watchful eyes of the TUDM.

This feat must have made David Copperfield full of envy and despair. Soon “1Malaysia” will export this skill to the whole world and proudly announce Bolehland as the centre of excellence in hijacking and thievery.

44. #44 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:10 pm

Professional thieves.

45. #45 by Jong on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:13 pm

Holy shit!
    Wake up Zimbabweans, oops Malaysians! If this high-level thievery of RM50million engines does not wake you up, what else will?
    1Malaysia PM was the Defence Minister then. Yes Mohd Najib Tun Razak quietly kept the nation’s RM50 million under wraps for two years! Why, and why now, who exposed it? Now we are told it’s not just the jet engines, other equipment too! Tell me, are we supposed to stay safe while they sell off everything under their watch? How much more are they going to steal?

I call on Prime Minister Najib and his umno-led BN Government to admit they have lost control, failed the nation and its people. Please resign and just GO.

46. #46 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:23 pm

So the General feels that the engine is not really necessary for the RMAF.
    If that’s the case, they should have sold it off rather than send it for unnecessary repairs?
    This kind of lapse is the cumulative result of years of the “ketuanan” policies.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/12/all-i-want-for-christmas-is.html

47. #47 by tin on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:50 pm

what’s the problem? these are old engines and those F5s don’t have a prayer of a chance in a turkey shoot with our neighbour, think of what it would have cost if we have to rid the junk ourselves

48. #48 by drngsc on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 10:51 pm

Let us also not forget the C4 for personal use.

49. #49 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 11:08 pm

a government of thieves…….(Kit)
    =====================

Agreed. It was a well planned thievery.

The mathematics works like this:

2 RMAF jet engines = RM50 million X 2
    = RM100 million

40 people got sacked and each was “compensated” with RM1 million. Therefore total “compensation” = RM40 million.

Balance = RM100 million – RM40 million
    = RM60 million

Assuming there were 10 high-ranking officers involved, each would get (RM60 million / 10) or RM6 million.

50. #50 by cseng on Tuesday, 22 December 2009 - 11:30 pm

What the fuss? Our beloved PM has promised no ‘cover-up’ on this, what else you all want?.
    He promises no cover –up in Altantunya’s case, let’s evaluate if the case has any ‘cover-up’ before deciding to take his word at face value.
    Some said no ‘cover-up’ because our judiciary system is fair hence no ‘cover-up’ but others think otherwise. They proof with pictorial evident that during trial, the 2 murderers always ‘cover-up’ with shirt during trial, hence there is element of ‘cover-up’.

51. #51 by HARAPAN MALAYSIA on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:00 am

Wahlamat..! Macam ini pun boleh jadi jutawan…!

Hebat betul…insan mulia yang jaga keselamatan negara..macam mana boleh tak percaya “Malaysia-Tak-Boleh..”..!

Adakah ini kena klasifikasikan dalam OSA..kerana mungkin banyak isu terlibat kena-mengena keselamatan dan keamanan negara ….banyak “Tuah..” akan terbongkar…!

52. #52 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:04 am

First thing that crossed my mind was: if there can be a Scorpene scandal, why not an F-5E scandal. If politicians and cronies can cash in, why not high-ranking officers too?

U see, ‘seekor lembu membawa lumpur”, semua lembu ikut juga bermain lumpur!

53. #53 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:08 am

Second thing that crossed my mind was: Najib surely cannot plead ignorance of the scandal. Any idiot would have thought that Najib decided on a cover-up till he is safely in the PM’s seat.

Corrupt politicians can be a deadly evil force.

54. #54 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:14 am

Third thing that crossed my mind was: hey Tun M, what is yr take on this? Tun M has an opinion on just about everything under the sun and beyond as well, doesn’t he?

BTW, TunM, great idea – “Dr M threatens to sue Mkini, Kit Siang, WainDec 22, 09 6:46PMUPDATED 10PM The former premier has ‘reserved the right’ to sue author Barry Wain, opposition leader Lim Kit Siang and online news daily Malaysiakini for defamation.” Kick some as###### , damn the devil and let the truth be told. Yes, tell the public know how the No. 1 ulama in this country who championed Hadhari can squander RM270 million in such a brief short number of years. Tun, it really makes you envious that Pak Lah may have broken yr record. So, tell the world before u take all this damned information with you to the other shores of eternity.

55. #55 by monsterball on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:44 am

After12th GE…notice so many top secrets exposed?
    You can see …UMNO is divided….and may do not really respect Najib at all ..in UMNO….as he is not making any progress to win votes…inspite if all his slogans.
    Najib is not in control. He has to keep talking kok…to protect himself.
    This is so shameful to read….stealing properties that are to defend our country and Malaysians.
    This is not thief. This is treason.
    But the will treated likely..sack some for show….as they are still loyal UMNO members and die hard UMNO voters.
    Observe justice at it’s best by UMNO.
    In all other countries that value dignity and responsibilities…the Min Of Defense will kill himself or resign.
    Here..is always from bottom…never from the top…by UMNO government.
    Why like that?…easy to understand.

56. #56 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 1:10 am

“It is reported by New Straits Times yesterday that a brigadier-general and 40 other armed forces personnel were sacked late last year over their alleged involvement in the case of the two missing RM50 million RMAF jetfighter engines, following an internal inquiry and disciplinary committee.” (Kit)

Did the brigadier-general and 40 other armed forces personnel have to go through a fair trial in martial court? If they had never been court-martialled yet, why would the purpose of having military police in the armed forces? If the theft was to happen in Taiwan during the era of Generalissimo Chiang Kai Shek, the brigadier-general and 40 others would most likely be sentenced to death by free counts of gun shot until their bodies collapse to the floor. Does Malaysia really have an checking system which can effectively provide scrutiny and supervision on the military armed forces’ internal discipline problems? This is something really pondering our thought!

57. #57 by suara on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 1:58 am

Hey, watch it guys. Now its the engines. Before you know it, we could all be standing on water cos’ someone might just steal the land we are standing on as well! And the police better guard the Parliament house too. It may be stolen from right under our nose!

58. #58 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 2:00 am

The PM just announced that no senior officials were involved in the two missing jet engines.Wow 2 large and heavy jet engines in a military tight security area could be stolen by some junior staffs.To add salt to injury,these junior officers were being covered up for almost three years.Wonder who covered up them,Please don’t tell me some junior officers did that again. NR’s announcement didn’t make sense.

59. #59 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 5:41 am

It looks like Najib is slackening in his watch.It also means his ministers are lackadaisical.It also means the top echelons of the government service do not think that they can be punished for their wrongdoings.We are now seeing a new trend in people becoming rich by selling government properties.We do not know how many lands and vehicles have been sold for easy money.It looks like the armed forces well known for their discipline are becoming glorified thugs.We have to stop this rot before anarchy sets in.The government should be held responsible for not not being able to rule the country well.

60. #60 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 6:42 am

After all these years of easy rent collections; no one is going to dirty his hand. You can see that all those sectors that need some steady maintenance programmes would essentially fail: KTM, KN, Navy ships etc.
    Hence by now, it is a hard fact that the impact of Ketuanan had taken root. Why maintain when you have to dirty your hands?, when you can sell the old unit and buy new one with payments for both transactions! This is the mentality slowly oozes across the whole nation as a result of corrupt practices over the last 25 years. It started with Lori Malaysia when they sold their new truck engines for condemned units and eventually write-off those trucks eventually picked up by the local workshops which put them back on the road for a song!.
    In that respects, one would ask as to why, the 5 oligopolistic container hauliers actually failed to deliver given some 25 years of limited competition? In stead of using the scenario to learn and become more efficient, it was used to hustle all the users for free dinners and massages. Managers and supervisors would use their access to information to auction the more lucratic sectors to drivers who were willing to ‘cooperate’!!
    This Gate-keeper mentality has permeated through the whole Malaysian Society whenever they get the chance to sit at the gate. Unless this kind of mentality can change, come 2020, it would be still the same!!

61. #61 by ekompute on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 8:06 am

“The PM just announced that no senior officials were involved in the two missing jet engines.”

LOL, monkeys are monkeys. They don’t know what management is all about. When things are stolen, senior officials are responsible, even if they don’t physically steal it themselves.

62. #62 by k1980 on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 8:12 am

The RMAF has 16 F5E’s where only 7 are tactically operational. So 9 F5E’s are written off because of missing engines, landing gear, fuel tanks, ect.

Of the 2 Scorpenes in the RMN, just how many are operational? No missing periscopes or engines so far?

63. #63 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 8:57 am

“Sdr Lim, the rambutan tree outside my house is missing.” cintanegara.

64. #64 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:14 am

When d minister’s eyes were on birds of d non-feather kind
    Where got time n eyes 4 fighter engines n submarines?

65. #65 by Jong on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:31 am

RESIGN Najib! Unforgiveable!!!

You have lost control, failed the nation and its people! You kept this theft of 2 jet engines@ RM50 million each(?) = RM100 million, and many other equipment from the people/rakyat, tax-payers even when you were the Defence Minister of Malaysia. Do I take it that you also kept it away from your Prime Minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawai? Why? So that your chances of becoming his successor would not have been spoilt, taken away? You are indeed a cunning man!

Malaysian tax-payers demand to be informed of what actually happened and why there was no Court Marshall to bring the thieves to justice?

66. #66 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:47 am

The 2 engines were stolen in 2007.That’s when Najib was Defence Minister.If he says there should be no cover-ups,the first one to go is the Boss of the Defence Ministry but he is sitting pretty up there!

67. #67 by Jong on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:48 am

How much more is this UMNO-led BN government going to steal and rob this nation and its people? They have lost total control whatsoever. First it’s the oil money, now defence equipment. When are they going for the submarine and fighter planes?

That’s betrayal of a trust, faith and confidence. It’s TREASON! What’s left of Malaysia, but a failed nation at the hands of 52 years UMNO/BN rule!

68. #68 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:55 am

How come we are missing comments from the 2 baboons,cintanegara and Kasim Amat?I can’t believe that shame has taken hold on them for people like them to have a sense of shame you might as well believe thatcows can jump over the moon!

69. #69 by lowxinpui on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:06 am

Those who are covering up this fiasco should also be charge with TREASON.

70. #70 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:21 am

AhPek:

Cintanegara has found that the rambutan tree outside his house in missing. When he investigated, he found that it was cut down by Kasim Amat for sale to a chinaman as firewood. So now they can’t complain to anyone because the crime was perpetrated by one of their own kind, and it has to be covered up. Rest assured that they are cooking up a plan to blame the chinaman for inducing Kasim Amat to cut down the tree.

71. #71 by Dipoh Bous on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:29 am

BERITA TERKINI TV0

…skandal penjualan negeri Sarawak kepada Brunei telah terbongkar….

Will it be a shocking news if that happens in the near future?

Malaysian Meemanng BOOleh !!

72. #72 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:34 am

Then again Godfather you have got to be careful since kasim Amat is your partner,
    remember.He might cook up some stories to implicate you,and rest assure MACC would believe him too!

73. #73 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:34 am

How terrible it could be if we were to find that the Senior staff of Malaysia’s armed forces did not hold an effective control over his junior staff to the extent that the firefighter engine could get lost easily without the knowledge of the Senior staff until a physical count audit had been done on the firearms equipment and machineries stock?

Just imagine what disaster could have happened if the junior staff of Majidee Camp in JB were to steal some rocket launchers and fire a few grenades crossing over the Strait of Johor?

74. #74 by k1980 on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:35 am

The chinaman, after being “interviewed” by the macc for inducing Kasim Amat to cut down the rambutan tree, has been found dead after “jumping” from the 14th floor of the macc building. It seems that he was planning to get married the next day but has only RM3,000 in his bank account. Therefore according to the macc, he committed suicide because not enough money to pay for his bride’s dowry.

Had Sarawak been sold to Brunei, its people would be celebrating because no more personal income tax!

75. #75 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:48 am

D guts n talents of those who managed 2 sell n export d jet engines must b praised
    Their entrepreneurial spirit was in line with d M’sia Boleh never die spirit
    N is crucial for our national survival in the coming decade
    We must thank MMK 4 so successfully ignited this entrepreneurial spirit, syabas

76. #76 by lowxinpui on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:50 am

You believe no senior officers involved meh?

If only small rats involved this case would be in marshall court already. No need public pressing for it.

They think we are stupid!

77. #77 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 10:54 am

In BolehLand,when you mess up,you get promoted.Number one glaring example is Najib,from defence minister/DPM to finance minister/PM and the IGP has been given extension a second time (has become indispensible) in spite of the fact that crime has reached the stratosphere!
    Of course the best joke of it all must be The
    Chief of Air Force.He is promoted to be The Chief Of Armed Forces in spite of the fact that the 2 missing jet engines disappeared under his watch!

NO COVER-UPS,MY FOOT!!!!!!!!

78. #78 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 11:19 am

“Just imagine what disaster could have happened if the junior staff of Majidee Camp in JB were to steal some rocket launchers and fire a few grenades crossing over the Strait of Johor?”

No problems. Najis and his defence minister Zahid would simply shrug their shoulders and say “Bukan Gua Bikin”.

79. #79 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 11:31 am

Some one said if this is in Japan, the defense minister has to harakiri.

If this is in China, all the parties involved have to be shot (death sentence).

since this is malaysia, we need both

80. #80 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:33 pm

According to the reports IIANM, a brigadier-general and other officers were involved – that is quite a high rank but why has it taken so long for the police to act?
    Surely 2 years is enough to discover how the crime took place and arrests to have been announced – I expect 3 months is enough time for this kind of case to be brought to court. After all, it is a matter of great importance. Oh I forget – the head guy says it is a minor problem anyway.
    Also was this matter reported in the Annual Auditor-General’s report?
    This is not a simple case of grand theft – but an inside job that jeopardises national security. Can be tried as treason or selling military assets illegally.

81. #81 by donplaypuks on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:37 pm

YB

Malaysian Insider now claims the actual loss is RM100 million for 2 engines, not RM 50 million in total!!!???

There is also the possibility 1 engine was shipped to Iran against the UN and USA embargo. This is a shameful affair given that 1 of our Plc’s was also implicated in manufacturing centrifuges for Iran.

Can you please get our PM Najib (Defence Minister when the theft occurred) and Zahid (current Defence Minister) to issue a completely clear statement of the loss and why no one has been arrested under the ISA to-date?

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

82. #82 by AhPek on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 12:37 pm

pulau sibu:

There is such a thing called ‘sense of shame’ which citizens of all honourable and great nations have.The Japanese themselves have it in great abundance and that explains why whatever the Japanese
    endeavour to do it is always done with great excellence.So it is the norm to find the Defence Minister to either resign straight away without the PM pressuring him to do so
    or to commit harikiri should such jet engine thefts happen there.Even in the case of bank CEOs,it is not uncommon to hear of harikiris should their banks run into big losses.Not only that the train drivers themselves will be full of shame if their trains arrive late on schedule!They will always speed up to make up for loss time.

83. #83 by k1980 on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 1:00 pm

http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=41565

To distract attention from his ministry’s failure to stop the thefts of F5 engines, Zahid now wants the Penang CM post for Mat Ismail? And Koh to be the new gardener in Mat Ismail’s residence?

84. #84 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 1:09 pm

Wonder how many jantan r walking around in this country without knowing that their bola n batang sudah hilang 4 2 or more years

85. #85 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 1:45 pm

NR, the Defence Minister at that time, quick 2 learn fr his wife, the “women’s champion”, will soon reply when asked what action will be taken: “I don’t gossip. I don’t read uninformative articles and I don’t indulge in unproductive activities.”

86. #86 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 3:21 pm

The next target by some crooks is Bank Negera’s reserves of over RM300 billion.Junior staffs please be prepared cos again you be blamed,while the real culprits as usual would be freed.Ok lets talk straight.Remember some years ago,when certain RMAF’s Nuricopter and training fighter jet went down tragically and later the investigators found the main cause of the tragedies was used spare parts. It just proved how irresponsible the MOD has been .It’s MOD greed that endangers the lives of our young pilots and sometime tragic death.Now genuine jet engines were stolen and I may not be surprise at all that some other RMAF’s planes and vehicles genuine engines have been stolen and replaced by some used ones.I think the MOD should make a thorough check on both the engines and parts of all its planes and vehicles so that it would not endanger the lives of the pilots and other users within the RMAF.

87. #87 by vsp on Wednesday, 23 December 2009 - 9:10 pm

What’s all the hullabaloo over the theft of two jet engines. Just use Proton engines in replacement lah!

88. #88 by DemoCrazyman on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 11:27 pm

If our Ministry of Defence can’t even protect itself from internal looting, how can we expect them to protect the nation? They are not dissimilar from our police. They seemed to know about the case, but chose to condone it. Well done BN.